You can transfer a driver’s license to California in five simple steps.
- Step 1: Confirm Your Resident Status.
- Step 2: Complete a California Driver’s License Application.
- Step 3: Prepare Your Additional Paperwork.
- Step 4: Study for the Knowledge Test.
- Step 5: Visit a California DMV.
When to notify DMV of address change?
- Law states that you must notify DMV within 10 days of changing your address. There is no charge to change your address, and you may notify DMV by any of the following ways: Complete your Change of Address online. Call any DMV office at 1-800-777-0133 and request that a change of address form be mailed to you.
Do I need to change my drivers license when I move to California?
If you become a California resident, you must get a California driver license within 10 days. Residency is established by voting in a California election, paying resident tuition, filing for a homeowner’s property tax exemption, or any other privilege or benefit not ordinarily extended to nonresidents.
Can I transfer my out-of-state license to California?
Welcome to California! The procedure for transferring your out-of-state license is similar to that for applying for a new California driver’s license. You must pass a vision exam and a written knowledge test. If your out-of-state license has expired, you’ll have to pass a driving (road) test too.
How much does it cost to switch to a California license?
How much is a replacement driver’s license in California? The fee to replace a driver’s license in California ranges from $9 to $36 depending on what type of duplicate you need.
How long can you live in California with an out-of-state license?
However, if you are 16 or 17 and have an out-of-state driver’s license, you can only drive in California for a maximum of 10 days.
Do I have to retake my drivers test if I move to California?
If you’re already a licensed driver in another state you don’t have to start from square one after moving to California. You won’t have to retake the drivers test if your current drivers license is still valid.
How do I register my car when I move to California?
To register, head to the DMV and submit:
- A Completed Application for Title or Registration (Form REG 343).
- The Vehicle’s Out-of-State Title.
- The Vehicle’s Out-of-State Registration.
- Proof of Insurance.
- A Valid Smog Certificate.
- Payment for Fees (see “Fees” below).
How do I change my residency to California?
In order to change domicile from California, a taxpayer must: (1) actually move to a new residence; and (2) intend to remain there permanently or indefinitely. Applying the law to the specific facts of a case is often complicated.
Do I need proof of residency to get a California drivers license?
DMV to require two documents proving residency for new driver’s license applicants. Beginning July 1, the California Department of Motor Vehicles will require customers applying for a driver’s license or identification card for the first time to provide two documents that prove California residency.
What documents do I need for a California driver’s license?
Don’t forget to bring the following to the DMV:
- Proof of your date of birth and legal residence.
- Proof of Social Security number.
- Proof of residency in California.
- Certificate of Completion of a DMV-approved drivers ed course.
- A completed Form DL 44 available at the DMV, signed by a parent or guardian.
How much is a California ID in 2021?
The DMV has posted a list of documents that Real ID applicants may use. Typically, the cost is the same as for a regular California driver’s license, $38. The cost is $33 for state ID cards. DMV officials said the processing time should be about four weeks.
How much is the written test at the DMV in California?
The permit test at the California DMV costs $38. You will have three attempts to pass your test.
Can you have a driver’s license in two states?
1) It is not illegal to have multiple Driving Licenses from different states in India, provided they are obtained legally after having complied with requirements to obtain them.
At what age can you drive alone in California?
Be at least 16 years old. Have held your instruction permit (in California or another state) for at least 6 months. Provide proof of completion of driver education and driver training.
Do you need a California driver’s license to drive in California?
If you are a California resident and would like to drive a vehicle, you must obtain a California driver’s license. If you are over 18 years old and have a valid driver’s license from another state, you may drive in California only while visiting. To operate farm machinery, including farming vehicles.
New California Resident Portal
Congratulations on your arrival in the Golden State! Getting your driver’s license and registering your vehicle in California might be complicated if you’re a newcomer. As defined under California Vehicle Code (CVC) 516: If you have been physically present in the state for six months or more within a 12-month period, and you are not visiting on a transitory or transient basis, you are considered a resident of the state of California.
- You are a registered voter in the state of California. You have a well paying job in California, right? In the state of California, you have a company location.
Military people are not included in this category.
- In a public institution of higher education, such as a university or college, you are required to pay resident tuition. It is your responsibility to ensure that your dependents attend a primary or secondary school. You are a homeowner who qualifies for a property tax deduction. The property you rent in California is yours to keep. You have claimed residence in order to be eligible for a license, privilege, or other advantage that non-residents are not eligible to get. You possess a valid California driver’s license or identification card
- Because of acts, incidents, or events that show that your presence in the state is more than transitory or transient, you have been judged to be a resident.
Everything you need to get set up in California
A nonresident vehicle is a car that has been registered in another state or nation in the recent year or two. Payment of registration fees for nonresident automobiles must be made to the DMV within 20 days of the day on which the payments become payable.
Getting a California Driver’s License
A nonresident vehicle is a vehicle that has been registered in another state or nation in the previous 12 months or more. Nonresident car registration payments must be paid to the DMV within 20 days of the day on which they become due.
Driver’s License and Identification (DL/ID) Cards
In order to operate a motor vehicle in California, you must have a valid California driver’s license. Learn more about the several forms of driver’s licenses and identification cards available, as well as how to apply.
More Vehicle Registration
CVC 4000.4 states that a vehicle must be registered in California if it has its headquarters in the state or if it is generally operated on California roadways.
In order to board a domestic flight or visit federal institutions such as military bases, federal courthouses, and other secure government locations, you will be needed to provide a federally compatible ID such as a valid United States passport, military ID, or REAL ID DL/ID card starting on May 3, 2023.
License Plates, Decals,Placards
Vehicles registered in California require license plates that are exclusive to the state. Learn more about the several types of license plates, stickers, and placards that are used to identify cars on California highways and byways.
Update Information on Your Driver’s License or ID Card
Individuals can choose whether they want their gender identity to appear on their driver’s license or identification card (DL/ID) as male (M), female (F), or nonbinary (X). This option is available as of January 1, 2019. If you are changing your name on your driver’s license or identification card in addition to your gender category, please also follow the requirements in the section above titled “Changing Your Name.”
- In order to have their gender identity shown on their driver’s license or identification card (DL/ID), persons must self-identify as either male (M), female (F), or nonbinary (X). If you are changing your name on your driver’s license or identification card in addition to your gender category, please follow the requirements in the section above titled “Changing Your Name.”
How to transfer driver’s license to California?
If you are a new resident of California, you only have 10 days to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license to the state of California. In addition, while it may not seem like a lot of time (particularly while you’re busy moving, unpacking, and getting ready to start school or work), the procedure is rather quick and straightforward. It takes only five easy actions to transfer your driver’s license from another state to California.
Step 1: Confirm Your Resident Status
If you plan to live in California for at least six months out of the year, you are typically regarded to be a resident of the state of California. However, you are also regarded to be a California resident if you meet the following criteria:
- You are a California voter who has registered to vote. You have a job in California (or your company has a location in California)
- In order to attend a college or university, you must pay resident tuition. If you have dependents who attend elementary, middle, or high school in California, you must file a California tax return. You own a home in California and qualify for a property tax exemption. The property you rent in California is yours to keep.
Your driver’s license can be transferred to California if any of the conditions listed above are met by the applicant.
Step 2: Complete a California Driver’s License Application
You may apply for a California driver’s license online, and the process is quick and easy. Creating a new ID.me account will only be required if you want the DMV portal to preserve your information while you’re working on your application. But don’t be concerned, this will just take a minute. Additionally, the online application procedure will prompt you to establish a new account (or connect to an existing one) where it is required.
Step 3: Prepare Your Additional Paperwork
In order to transfer a driver’s license from another state to California, you’ll need to have the following documents ready:
- Identification must be provided. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has a comprehensive list of approved identification papers. For the vast majority of drivers, a valid passport or birth certificate will suffice. Make sure you have the original paperwork on hand at all times. Copies will not be accepted
- Proof of residence is required. You’ll be required to show documentation that you now reside in California. This necessitates the use of a document that contains your entire name as well as your home address. There are a plethora of documents that are acceptable. Rental agreements, mortgage bills, and utility bills are the most prevalent types of bills. The use of photocopies and online printouts as proof of residence is permissible.
Step 4: Study for the Knowledge Test
A written knowledge exam at the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is required before you may transfer your driver’s license to California. Even if you know how to drive, most drivers are unable to recall specifics from their driving lessons, such as how much distance to leave when stopping at a railroad crossing. Because of this, you will want to set up a few days to study. You can even consider enrolling in an online California driving school. Not only will this help you prepare to pass your knowledge exam, but it may also allow you to save money on your vehicle insurance premiums.
Step 5: Visit a California DMV
The DMV will need you to complete a written knowledge test before transferring your driver’s license to California. Though most drivers are aware of how to drive, they often forget the finer points of the driving manual, such as how far to pull out when stopping at a railroad crossing. As a result, you should set out a few days for studying. Taking an online California driving course may potentially be an option for you. Not only will this help you prepare to pass your knowledge exam, but it may also allow you to save money on your vehicle insurance premiums as well!
- You must provide your documentation (proof of identification as well as evidence of residency)
- Identify yourself by using your Social Security number The nonrefundable application fee ($38 as of February 2021) must be paid. Take a thumbprint scan of your hand
- Pass a vision test with flying colors
- Make an appointment to have your picture taken. Pass the knowledge test with flying colors
Provide your documentation (such as your identification and evidence of residency). Make sure to include your Social Security number. Pay the non-refundable application fee (currently $38 as of February 20, 2021). A thumbprint scan should be obtained. Pass a vision test with flying colors. Take a picture of yourself; Perform satisfactorily in the knowledge examination
Transferring Your Driver’s License to California (2022 Guide)
If you’re a new resident of California, acquiring a new driver’s license is almost certainly at the top of your list of things to do right away. While transferring your driver’s license to California is reasonably simple, there are a few formalities that must be completed first. Everything you need to know about obtaining a hassle-free experience will be covered in detail in this post.
When Are You Considered to Be a New Resident?
In the event that you’re a new resident of California, acquiring a new driver’s license is almost certainly at the top of your list of things to complete. However, there are a few tasks that must be completed before your driver’s license may be issued in California. Everything you need to know about obtaining a hassle-free experience will be covered in this post, so read on!
- Are in gainful employment in the state of California
- Paying resident tuition at a public institution of higher learning is required. • You own your house and are entitled to exemptions from property taxes. In California, you may rent out real estate. Are eligible to vote in the state of California
- Own a company in the state of California
How to Transfer Your Out-of-State Driver’s License to California
Step-by-step information on how to execute a California driver’s license transfer may be found in the sections below.
1 – Schedule a DMV Appointment
A driver’s license transfer to California will need you to arrange an appointment with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m.
to 5 p.m., DMV offices may be found throughout the state. Make careful to arrive at the correct time in order to prevent spending the entire day in one place! Take note: Don’t put it off! The state expects new residents to transfer their license within 10 days after settling in the state.
2 – Fill out New Driver License or Identification Card Application Form (DL 44)
To save time when you arrive at the DMV, you should complete this application form first. While these papers are made available at the DMV, filling out the form ahead of time will save time for everyone involved and will assist everyone save time.
3 – Surrender Your Out-of-State License
In addition, after applying for a new California driver’s license, your current out-of-state driver’s license will no longer be valid and you will be required to relinquish it at the same time.
4 – Provide Thumbprint and Have Picture Taken
In addition, after applying for a new California driver’s license, your current out-of-state driver’s license will no longer be valid and you will be required to relinquish it.
5 – Submit Necessary Documents
You will be expected to submit documents at the DMV, as is the case with the majority of trips. Bring the following items with you to complete your license transfer application:
- Proof of identification
- Proof of Social Security number
- Proof of California residency
- Proof of citizenship or lawful presence in the United States
- Proof of birthday
6 – Pass Vision Exam
Proof of identification; proof of Social Security number; proof of California residency; proof of citizenship or lawful presence in the United States; proof of birthday; and
7 – Pass Knowledge Exam
California’s written knowledge test consists of 46 multiple-choice questions that cover fundamental driving principles, as well as traffic rules and road signs in the state of California. You will be asked to answer 38 questions correctly, or to get a passing score of around 82 percent. Within a 12-month period, you have a total of three opportunities to pass the exam. Especially if you’re coming from another state or nation, comprehending all of California’s driving rules may seem like an overwhelming challenge.
Up to this point, we have supported over 250,000 students in earning outstanding results on their written examinations.
Try studying with Zutobi and you’ll notice a significant improvement!
8 – Pass the Road Exam
The road exam is intended to assess a new driver’s ability to undertake typical driving maneuvers in a safe manner on the open road. You will be evaluated on your ability to perform activities such as parallel parking, halting, reversing, and other similar tasks.
9 – Pay Application Fee
An examination on the road is used to assess a new driver’s ability to execute typical driving maneuvers in a safe manner. Driving skills such as parallel parking, stopping, reversing, and other maneuvers will be checked during this process.
What If You’re Under 18?
If you are under the age of 18 and have an out-of-state license, you will need to follow a procedure identical to the one outlined above in order to transfer your license. You will, however, be needed to hold an out-of-state minor’s driver’s license until you are 18 in order to be eligible. At the age of sixteen, you are entitled to apply for your driver’s license. It is necessary to complete a Driver LicenseID Card Applicationform and relinquish your out-of-state minors’ drivers’ license in order to get a California drivers license for minors who have moved here from a different state.
You’ll then be asked to complete a knowledge exam to establish your level of familiarity with California traffic regulations and traffic signs.
When it comes to driving tests, the DMV has the authority to test you at any time, so it is better to be prepared when you arrive at the office. In some cases, you may be needed to provide proof of driving education and training in your prior home state.
In addition, it is crucial to note that all temporary limitations apply to out-of-state minor applicants in California during the first year that they have their California out-of-state minor driver’s license, or until they reach the age of 18. Among the prohibitions are the transportation of people under the age of 20 (unless accompanied by a driver who is 25 years or older) and driving between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. There are also limits on when you can drive.
As a result of the many hassles of relocating to another state, it may appear that transferring your driver’s license to California is an overwhelming undertaking. However, this is not the case. The information in this post should answer all of your questions and concerns. Make sure to refer to this guide as much as possible when you’re settling into your new residence!
So you need transfer your out-of-state driver’s license to California?
It was last updated on January 2022. Here’s all you need to know about changing your out-of-state driver’s license to a California driver’s license. Specifically, this applies if you hold a valid United States driver’s license from another state and wish to convert it to a California driver’s license. If you have a driver’s license from another nation, you should look into how to acquire a driver’s license in the state of California.
What You’ll Need Transfer your Driver License to California
To make the $36 payment, you can use your debit card or cash. You must provide proof of your Social Security number (Social Security card or Military ID) Proof of your date of birth and legal presence is required (U.S. passport or birth certificate) You must provide proof of your California residence.
- Utility bills, mortgage bills, rental or lease agreements signed by your landlord are all acceptable forms of identification.
Mortgage statement; utility bill; or a rental or lease agreement signed by your landlord; or
What You’ll Need To Do
- Preferably, you should schedule an appointment for no later than 4:30 pm at your local DMV office. Application for a Driver’s License or Identification Card (form DL 44 – now accessible online!) must be completed. in order to obtain a Class C (noncommercial) driver’s license By taking a practice exam, you may better prepare for the written examination. Please provide the necessary identity papers. Complete the vision and writing exams (which should not be conducted after 4:30 p.m.). Take a thumbprint and a snapshot of your ID
- Pay a charge of $36 (cash, cheque, or debit card), and then Take advantage of a temporary license that is good for 90 days
- Receive your new CA license in the mail (within a few weeks) via the United States Postal Service.
Caveats and Exceptions
- Is your driver’s license from another country? If you hold a driving license from a country other than the United States, you will be required to take the road test, also known as the behind-the-wheel exam. That is something that our concierge service can assist you with
More California DMV Questions?
Visit our California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) information page. Save time by skipping the DMV queue! Obtain the services of a line waiting concierge. Are you in a hurry? Make a DMV appointment as soon as possible. All of this information is available for free on the Skip app (and you can earn a $10 credit for the app if you use this link).
I just moved to California. How do I get my California license and my vehicle registered?
California Department of Motor Vehicles information may be found on our website. Do away with standing in line at the DMV! A line waiting concierge can be hired. Want to get things done quickly and efficiently? Make an appointment with the DMV as soon as possible. This information is available for free on the Skip app (you can get $10 in app credit by using this link).
To receive your CA license if you hold a valid license from another state:
- Visit a DMVlocation and take the writing and vision tests for the state of California. If you pass these, the driving test is often skipped, and you will be issued a California driver’s license, with your previous state’s license being revoked.
It is important to note that if you hold a driver’s license from another nation, you must pass the driving abilities exam.
To get your vehicle registered
It is necessary to register your car within 20 days after arriving in California in order to avoid paying costs. When registering a car from out-of-state (as a nonresident), the following documents are required:
- A completed and signed Application for Title or Registration (REG343) (PDF) signed by all registered owners as they appear on the out-of-state registration and/or title is required. Fill out the application by entering the name(s) and address(es) of the registered owner(s) and lienholder (legal owner), if any, and answering all of the questions
- The last time an out-of-state title was given. (This is not necessary if there is no change in the registered owner and no request for a California title is made.) A California registration card will be granted if the out-of-state title is not relinquished
- But, a California title will not be issued if the out-of-state title is not surrendered. Registration certificate or renewal notice for the current year issued by the last registration jurisdiction or a letter from the last registration jurisdiction confirming the registration term
- Inspection of the vehicle by an authorizedDMVemployee, a law enforcement officer, or a qualified vehicle verifier are all requirements. The most convenient way to acquire these inspections is to bring the car to the local DMV office. The inspection is completely free of charge. Make an appointment(s) in advance for speedier service
- Smog certification, if applicable
- Weight certificate, if relevant
- Appropriate fees and any use tax that may be owed
In the event that you have just relocated to California, you may find the CADMVweb site to be of assistance. Listed below is a page dedicated to new citizens of California: link to page
Moving to California: Transferring Your Driver’s License
Yes. Your driving license from another state or nation must be transferred to California before you may drive legally in the state. This applies to new California residents, but not to persons who are regarded to be ‘visiting’ the state on a temporary basis, as defined by the California Department of Finance. If you are a foreign national who has relocated to California, you will be required to pass the vision, general knowledge, and behind-the-wheel exams in order to receive a CA driver’s license.
New residents from other states are obliged to take the general knowledge exam, but they are not needed to take the behind-the-wheel test in the majority of circumstances (this is necessary in some cases, depending on the status of your existing license and your state of origin).
Will I need to take a DMV written test to obtain a CA driver’s license?
Yes. To receive a California driver’s license, all new residents must pass the DMV’s general knowledge examination. This is true even if you have a full license from another state, as there are likely to be variances in the regulations of the road in California as compared to the rules of the road in your home state.
Do I need to pass a vision test to transfer my out-of-state license to California?
Yes. In order to get a California driver’s license, new residents must pass a vision examination.
Do I need to take a driving skills test if I am already licensed in another state?
Most of the time, if a new resident holds a valid driver’s license from another state, they are not needed to do the driving skills section of the DMV tests.
What if I move to California from another country?
If you are relocating to California from another country, you will be required to pass a vision examination, a DMV written examination, and a driving skills examination before you can acquire a CA driver’s license.
How do I transfer my out-of-state license to California?
A vision test, DMV written test, and driving skills test are required for those who relocate to California from another country in order to obtain a CA driver’s license. For those who move to California from another country, a driver’s license can be obtained after passing the DMV written test and driving skills test.
- Bring your out-of-state driver’s license with you
- To get your photo taken, you must first give a thumbprint. You must provide the required identification and residence proof
- Pass a vision examination
- Pass the written exam for the California Department of Motor Vehicles. Pay your $38 processing fee.
If you are migrating to California from a country other than the United States, you will also need to arrange and pass a driving skills test.
What documentation must I bring to the DMV when transferring my license?
To receive a California driver’s license, you will need to provide the following documentation:
- Your social security card
- Documents that prove your domicile in California (such as mortgage bills, utility bills, or bank statements)
- And a copy of your driver’s license. Identification documentation, such as a birth certificate or passport
Do I need to make an appointment to transfer my out-of-state license?
Yes. To obtain a California driver’s license, you will need to schedule an appointment with the DMV by contacting 1-800-777-0133, which is available 24/7.
How much does it cost to transfer my license to California?
The cost of obtaining a driver’s license in California is $38.
What if I move to California and have a minor’s driving license from another state?
A California driver’s license costs $38 to get.
- You are not permitted to drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
- You are not permitted to transport passengers under the age of 20 unless they are accompanied by a licensed adult over the age of 25
- And you are not permitted to transport passengers under the age of 20 unless they are accompanied by a licensed adult over the age of 25.
Once you reach the age of eighteen, these limitations will be automatically lifted.
Can I transfer an out-of-state learner’s permit to California?
Yes. In California, learner drivers who are above the age of 15 12 years old can transfer their out-of-state learner’s permit to the state if they fulfill the state’s requirements. This will entail the following for learners between the ages of 15 12 and 17 12:
- Completing a driver’s education course certified by the California Department of Motor Vehicles
- Passing the eyesight examination
- Passing the written test for the California Department of Motor Vehicles
Obtaining a driver’s education certificate from the California Department of Motor Vehicles; Getting through the eye exam with flying colors Being successful on the written test for the California DMV;
When am I considered a California resident?
If any of the following apply to you, you are considered a California resident and will require a valid California driver’s license:
- You have been a legal resident of the state for at least six months during a 12-month period
- And You are a registered voter in the state of California. You are employed in the state of California. You are the owner of a company situated in California. You pay tuition fees to a school or college in the state of California
- It is your property in California that you own or rent
- In California, you have dependants who are enrolled in school.
Keep in mind that military members are subject to a somewhat different set of restrictions than civilians.
How soon after moving to California must I apply for a license?
In California, you must get a driver’s license within 10 days after establishing residency in the state.
How soon after moving to California must I register my vehicle?
You must register your car with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 20 days after moving to the state.
Do I need a CA driver’s license to drive in California if I am just visiting?
If you are above the age of 18 and are only visiting, you may drive in California with a valid out-of-state license if you are over the age of 18.
Visitors visiting the state who are 16 or 17 years old can only drive with an out-of-state drivers license for a total of ten days unless they receive a Nonresident Minor’s Certificate from the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) before arriving.
How to Change an Out-of-State Driver’s License to California
Photograph by Scott Olson for Getty Images News courtesy of Getty Images In order to legally cruise down Rodeo Drive in the Golden State, if you’re relocating to the state, you’ll need to obtain a new driver’s license. Visitors and newcomers to California are permitted to utilize a valid license from another state, but the law places strict time constraints on those who wish to establish permanent residency in the state. Because appointments are required at the state’s DMV offices, it’s a good idea to plan ahead of time for this task before arriving.
Valid Out of State Licenses
All drivers in California are required to hold a valid driver’s license. In addition, state law requires that new residents get a California driver’s license within 10 days after assuming residence. Some activities, such as participating in a state-held election, paying tuition as a resident, or applying for a benefit that is only available to California residents, such as a property tax exemption, are sufficient proof that you are now considered a legal Californian.
Applying for the New License
Obtaining a new California license requires scheduling an appointment with a California DMV office, where you will submit a completed Form DL44, as well as having your photograph and fingerprint taken, in order to be issued a new license. In addition, you must have a Social Security number – which will be validated by the DMV – pass an eye exam, and pass a written examination consisting of 36 questions. Unless you are relocating from a foreign nation, you are not required to complete a driving test.
Penalty for Driving Without a California LIcense
Driving without a valid license is a crime in California, according to Section 12500 of the Vehicle Code. If you are still in possession of a valid license from another state, you may be given a warning and a reminder of the laws that apply to new residents in that state. It is possible that police officers may be unable to write a ticket or collect a fee because they will not have access to the date of your lawful residency in the state. They will, however, question as to the date you moved in, and a second stop for the same reason will very certainly result in a citation and a fine if you are caught again.
New California Car Registration
It is possible to drive temporarily in California with an out-of-state license that is valid, but you will need to register your car in California. This necessitates the submission of the previous registration certificate, as well as a California Application for Title or Registration, which must be signed by all of the owners listed on the previous registration. In addition, you’ll need a Verification of Vehicle form that has been completed by the proper party. If there is a change of registered owner in California, the state will also need to examine the out-of-state title.
Tom Streissguth has worked as a self-employed company owner, independent bookseller, and freelance author in the school/library sector before founding and serving as president of the pioneering reference publisher The Archive LLC.
Streissguth graduated from Yale with a bachelor’s degree in history and has written more than 100 books for young readers on topics such as history, biography, current events, and geography.
Even though it’s inconvenient, it is feasible to make changes to your California driver’s license information on the fly. You’ll learn about the adjustments you can make as well as how to go about making them in this tutorial.
To Replace A Lost/Stolen Or Damaged Driver License
Obtaining a replacement driver’s license is a two-step process. First, you must visit a DMV office and submit the Driver License or Identification Card Application (DL 44) form, which is followed by payment of a replacement cost. Along with your identity, you must show your passport. Your temporary driver’s license will not be issued if the Department of Motor Vehicles cannot verify your identification. If you are under the age of majority, your parent(s) or guardian(s) must sign the (DL 44) form on your behalf.
Following the issuance of a replacement driver’s license, the validity of the old driver’s license is terminated.
How To Make Name Changes On A California Driver’s License
If you officially change your name as a result of a marriage or for any other reason, make sure to notify the Social Security Administration (SSA) of your new name before visiting the DMV for the first time. You must appear in person at the DMV with your driver’s license, as well as a marriage certificate or other appropriate documentation of your “actual complete name” (refer to Obtaining a Driver License section). You must complete the Driver License or Identification Card Application (DL 44) form and pay the necessary charge before you may get your license or identification card.
It will be necessary to take a fresh photograph, fingerprint, and signature.
California Driver’s License Renewals
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) sends a renewal notification to the address on file for your driver’s license about two months before it expires. Follow the instructions on the notice of renewal you received. To renew your driver’s license if you have not yet received a renewal letter, click online or call the DMV to schedule an appointment (refer to the DMV Information page for details on appointments). Drivers who meet the requirements may be able to renew their driving license either online at the DMV’s website or by mail.
Unless otherwise specified, your driver license will expire on the date of your birthday in the year mentioned on the driving license.
A driving test may be necessary as part of the application process for a driver license.
Your DMV will not grant you a temporary driving license if they are unable to verify your identification with the DMV.
For information on other forms of driver’s licenses, see the California Commercial Driver Handbook (PDF), the California Recreational Vehicles and Trailers Handbook, or the California Motorcycle Handbook, among other resources.
California Driver’s License Renewal By Mail, Internet, Or Telephone
It takes roughly two months before your driver’s license expires before the DMV sends you a renewal notification to the address on file with the DMV. To renew your membership, follow the directions on the renewal notification. To renew your driver’s license if you have not received a renewal notification, click online or call the DMV to book an appointment (refer to the DMV Information page for details on appointments). Renewal of a driver’s license may be possible either online at the DMV’s website or in the mail for qualified drivers.
Otherwise noted on the driver license, your driving license will expire on the date of your birthday in the year indicated on the driver license.
If you are applying for a driver license, you may be needed to take a driving test.
Your driver’s license will not be granted if the DMV is unable to verify your identification.
- Your present driver’s license expires before you reach the age of seventy-one
- Because you do not have a probationary driving license (CVC 14250), you are in violation of the law. During the preceding two years, you have not broken a written pledge to appear in court or to pay a fine
- No suspension is imposed if you have not been convicted of driving with an unlawful Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level or of refusing or failing to perform a chemical or preliminary alcohol screening test during the past two years. If you have a total violation point count more than one point, you are in violation.
NOTE: If you want to renew your membership by phone, you must have your Renewal Identification Number (RIN) accessible when you dial the number. This information can be found on your notice of renewal.
California Driver’s License Extension
Remember that if you want to renew by phone, you must have your Renewal Identification Number (RIN) ready when you call. Your renewal notification will contain this information.
When Must You Have A Driver’s License In Your Possession?
When you are driving, you must always have your driver’s license with you at all times. It should be shown to any police officer who requests to see it. If you are engaged in an accident, you must display your insurance card to the other driver(s) involved (see “Involved in a Collision” section for further information).
Making Address Changes On Your California Driver’s License
When you relocate, you must notify the DMV of your new address within 10 days of your departure. There are no fees associated with changing your address. To update your driving license, identity card, and vehicle(s), you can do so online at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You can also download a Change of Address (DMV 14) form and submit it to the address listed on the form, or you can phone the DMV at 1-800-777-0133 and ask to have a DMV 14 form delivered to you instead. You will not be granted a new driver’s license or identity card if your mailing address changes.
If you make a change of address at a field office, the DMV agent will provide you a Change of Address Card (DL 43), which you must complete and keep with your driver license or identity card until your new address is established.
As a reminder, while the United States Postal Service transmits certain DMV communications, you are responsible for ensuring that the DMV has your right postal address on file.
California DMV Vision Examinations
All drivers are subjected to a vision screening by the DMV, which measures eyesight with and without corrective glasses. If your eyesight does not satisfy the Department of Motor Vehicles’ requirement (20/40), you will be compelled to see a vision expert. Your vision expert will fill out a Report of Vision Examination (DL 62) form that you will be given by the DMV official once your eye exam is done. If your eyesight is not poorer than 20/70, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may grant you a 30-day temporary driving license to give you time to get your vision examined.
California Medical Information Card
To get a Medical Information Card (DL 390), call 1-800-777-0133 and provide information such as your blood type, allergies, physician’s name, and other medical information. It can be carried along with your driver’s license or identification card.
Making Organ and Tissue Donation Changes In California
When you die, you have the option of donating your organs and tissue for transplantation to others in need. You can add your name to the Donate Life California Organ Tissue Donor Registration when you apply for or renew your driver’s license or identification card. To do so, tick the box that says “YES! Add my name to the donor registry.” on the renewal form. If you want further information, please check the “I do not wish to register at this time.” option and contact the organization directly.
where Representatives from Donate Life California are available to answer any questions you may have regarding organ and tissue donation in California.
If you are over the age of 13 but under the age of 18, you may register with Donate Life California if your parent(s) or guardian(s) provide their permission for the donation to take place.
However, unless you select the “YES!
California Veteran Benefit Changes
Have you ever been a member of the United States Armed Forces? If you are a veteran in California, the California Department of Veterans Affairs (CalVet) and the CalVet Connect program would like to provide you with information on benefits that you may be eligible for, such as employment, housing, education, and health care services. On the Driver License or Identification Card Application (DL 44) form, check the box that says, “I have served in the United States Military and I would want to receive veteran benefits information.” The DMV will transfer your name and postal address to the CalVet, who will then contact you with information on your benefits.
You may find a CalVet office near you by looking up the local government listing in your phone book or by visiting the DMV’s website, which includes a link to the CalVet website.
Unlicensed Drivers In California
A person who does not have a valid driving license or whose driving privileges have been suspended may not borrow your car. It is possible that your car will be detained for 30 days if an unlicensed driver is detected using it (CVC 14607.6). It is illegal for anybody under the age of majority to drive on a public roadway or park in a public parking garage without a valid driver’s license or permission. In addition, the legislation specifies that you may not hire, enable, or allow any individual to drive your car on a public street or highway unless that person holds a valid driver’s license for that particular type of automobile.
Diplomatic Driver Licenses In California
Those who hold a valid diplomatic driving license issued by the United States Department of State are exempt from the state of California’s driver licensing laws.
California Identification (ID) Cards
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offers identification cards to qualified individuals of any age. To receive an original ID card, you must produce a birth date/legal presence verification document as well as your social security number (see to the ” Obtaining a Driver License ” section for more information on this need). The ID card is valid until the holder’s sixth birthday following the date of issue. If you fulfill certain income requirements for specified public assistance programs, the charge for an ID card may be waived or significantly reduced.
Note: Whether or not an individual fits the qualifications for a reduced-fee ID card is determined by government or non-profit groups.
Free ID Cards For Physical And Mental (P M) Conditions In California
When applying for a limited-term driving license, drivers with physical or mental (P M) problems may be required to undergo periodic medical examinations by a physician or to be retested more frequently than every five years by a DMV examiner. In some cases, drivers who are unable to drive safely due to a P M condition may be entitled to exchange their legal driving license for a free ID card if they meet specific requirements. For further information, you may visit the website or contact 1-800-777-0133.
Identification (ID) Card Renewal by Mail or Internet
Physical or mental (P M) problems may necessitate periodic medical examinations by a physician or more frequent DMV testing than once every five years in order for a limited-term driving license to be issued to an individual with these conditions. Driving safely is no longer possible for drivers who have a P M condition. If certain requirements are completed, they may be entitled to exchange their legal driving license for a free ID card. For more information, visit the website or contact 1-800-777-0133.
Finding Driving Schools In California
It is recommended that you seek qualified training when learning to drive, which may be found at a public or private high school or at a state-licensed professional driving school. Professional schools and instructors in California that fulfill stringent qualification requirements are licensed by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Schools are required to have liability insurance, post a bond, and keep accurate records in order to pass a DMV inspection. Vehicles must be inspected once a year by a qualified mechanic.
To ensure that you are receiving professional driving instruction, you should request to see the instructor’s identity card. For further information, visit theSelecting a Driving School (FFDL 33) Fast Factsbrochure, which may be found on the internet at
The 4 Best Online Driver’s Ed Courses In California
The Mature Driver Program is an eight-hour training designed for drivers aged 55 and above who want to improve their driving skills. This course, which is accessible through DMV-approved course providers, covers a wide range of issues that are particularly relevant to the mature driver’s needs. If you successfully finish the course and get a completion certificate, your insurance provider may offer you a discount on your policy. The certificate is valid for three years and can be renewed by completing a four-hour refresher course during that time.
The 4 Best California Online Traffic Schools
Walking and jogging pedestrians (including joggers) should be mindful of their surroundings. When crossing a roadway, keep an eye out for oncoming traffic before presuming that you have the right of way. It’s important to remember that hybrid and electric cars are incredibly silent while operating on electricity, so you may not notice them approaching an intersection until they’ve passed by. You must yield the right of way to automobiles while crossing a street between junctions or in locations where there are no pedestrian crosswalks or traffic lights.
- Leave the curb or other safe location and walk or run directly into the path of a vehicle that is close enough to constitute a hazard to you without first checking your surroundings.
- However, even though the law stipulates that cars must always surrender the right-of-way to pedestrians, the legislation will not prevent you from being hit if the motorist is unable to stop in time to avoid hitting you while driving.
- While driving, do not use your cell phone or any other electronic device.
- Always pay attention to traffic lights.
- It is mandatory for automobiles to surrender the right of way to pedestrians within any crosswalk, whether it is marked or not, at a junction where traffic is not controlled by traffic lights.
- When crossing a street, do not cause vehicles to halt or slow down needlessly.
- If there are no sidewalks available, walk with your back to incoming traffic (see graphic).
Walking or jogging on any roadway where signs state that pedestrians are not permitted is strictly prohibited. If there is no sidewalk, you should avoid walking or jogging in a bike lane. Make yourself more noticeable at night by doing the following:
- Wearing garments made of white, bright, or reflective materials
- Having a torch on hand
How to Get Your License When You’re New to California
You’ve arrived in California, home of wonderful wine, famous celebrities, and year-round perfection in the weather. A beautiful environment in which to raise your family! As a new citizen of California, one of the first things you should consider is obtaining a driver’s license for the state. We understand that spending the majority of your day at the DMV is the last thing you want to do, and Aceable wants to make the process as simple as possible for you. That’s why we’ve put up this helpful how-to guide for obtaining your California driver’s license.
How to Get a Drivers License After Moving to California
In the event that you already hold a driver’s license in another state, you won’t have to start from scratch when you relocate to California. However, in order to continue cruising lawfully in California, you will need to obtain a drivers license. Following your successful establishment of residency in California (which may involve registering to vote, paying in-state college tuition, or filing for homeowner property tax exemption), you must apply for a California drivers license within 10 days of your residency being established (see below).
If your present drivers license is still in good standing, you will not be required to repeat the driving test.
How to Apply for a New California Drivers License
Residents of California who have never obtained a driver’s license before must go through a few more hoops in order to do so. Fortunately, the procedure isn’t very hard, and you can finish some of the processes on the internet.
1. Schedule an Appointment
The DMV is well-known for its lengthy lineups of customers. It is possible to simply come up and wait in line if you have nothing else to do; however, it is preferable to schedule an appointment with your local DMV. Appointments for in-office testing as well as the behind-the-wheel driving test can be made in advanced.
2. Complete the Driver License Application
When it comes to waiting in line, the DMV is well-known. For those who have nothing better to do, they can simply show up and wait in line, or they can save time by scheduling an appointment with their local DMV. Appointments for in-office testing as well as the behind-the-wheel driving exam can be made in advance.
3. Provide Your Personal Information
The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) wants to make sure you are who you say you are. As a result, you will be required to supply personal information in order to authenticate your identity. In order to obtain a California drivers license, you will need to supply the following documentation:
- Social Security or military identification number
- Proof of your complete and genuine name (see list of authorized papers here)
- And proof of your residency in the United States. (1) One piece of documentation (original or certified) establishing your date of birth and legal presence in the country (see list of authorized papers here)
- Two documents showing your California residency (see the complete list of acceptable documents here)
4. Fingerprints and Photos
You should expect to have your fingerprint and photograph taken. It will be used to identify you on your driver’s license. The fingerprint scan is used to verify identification and will be stored on file as evidence of such verification.
5. Pay the License Fee
Although obtaining a California driver’s license is a valuable accomplishment, the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) does charge a fee.
A $37 fee must be paid prior to being allowed to sit for the written examination. The cost entitles you to three tries at the written knowledge exam and driving test over the course of a year and a half.
6. Take the Vision Exam
The ability to see well is essential for driving safely. Before receiving a driver’s license, every candidate will be required to undergo a vision examination. In order to participate, you must have vision of 20/40 or higher (with or without contacts or glasses). Each eye is evaluated separately and as a pair to determine how well they see. The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) conducts the vision exam using a Snellen chart or an Optec 1000 Vision Tester.
7. Pass the Written Test
Driving safely requires a great deal of vision. Before receiving a driver’s license, every candidate will be required to complete a vision exam. In order to participate, you must have vision 20/40 or higher (with or without contacts or glasses). Each eye is examined separately and as a group for vision. The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) conducts the vision exam using a Snellen chart or an Optec 1000 Vision Testing Machine.
8. Get Your License (or Permit)
If you are merely replacing an out-of-state drivers license with a California drivers license and are over the age of 18, you are finished! As a temporary measure, you’ll be issued a paper drivers license that will be valid for 90 days while you await the arrival of your photo drivers license in the mail. It will most likely manifest itself within 60 days. If it hasn’t appeared after a few months, you can phone 1-800-777-0133 to inquire about its whereabouts. If you’ve never had a driver’s license before, you should go to the next stage.
9. Pass the Driving Test
Last but not least, you must pass your driving exam. This is a must-have for all first-time California license holders, regardless of their age or gender. In order to participate in the test, you must offer an insured car that is judged safe by the examiner. Before the test begins, a thorough safety examination will be carried out. Then you’ll be asked to display arm signals for turning, slowing down and stopping when the safety check is complete. After that is completed, the driving section of the examination will begin.
- Meanwhile, on a score sheet, the examiner silently keeps account of all that has taken place.
- When you return to the DMV, you’ll find out whether or not you passed the test.
- Don’t be concerned if you don’t pass your driving test on your first attempt.
- Taking it again A price of $7 is charged for retaking the driving test.
If You’re Under 18 Years Old.
Young drivers will be need to undergo a few additional stages in order to obtain their license. To begin, you’ll need to submit an application for a provisional permission. In addition to the other papers listed above, a parent’s signature on the DL 44 is required in order to get a temporary permit. If both parents have joint custody, both parents must sign the document. Other requirements include having obtained either a California driving education certificate or confirmation that you are actively enrolled in a driver education program.
At least ten of those hours must be spent at night.
During the permission time, you are not permitted to drive on your own.
That’s all there is to it!
You’ll need to maintain a safe driving record in order to prevent receiving citations or points on your license. If you are involved in an accident, attending traffic school in California will help you get back on track! * The information in this page was last updated on May 7, 2020.