To apply for a first time Utah driver license you must be at least 16 years of age, have held a Utah learner permit for six (6) months if under 18 years of age, furnish proof of a prior driver license or proof of driver education if under 19 years of age, provide two (2) proofs of your Utah residence, proof of identity
How do I transfer my out-of-state drivers license to Utah?
What You’ll Need To Do
- Visit any Utah Driver License Division Office: Have your picture taken, Submit all the required documents, Surrender your out-of-state driver’s license, Pay a nonrefundable fee of $52.00.
- Pass the eye (vision) test.
- Pass a written knowledge test and driving skills test – one or both may be required.
What counts as proof of residency in Utah?
– Must display the applicant’s name and principal Utah residence address which may include: Bank statement, Court documents, Current mortgage or rental contract, Major credit card bill, Property tax notice statement or receipt, School transcript, Utility bill or a Vehicle title.
Do I have to take a driving test if I move to Utah?
Yes, when you move to Utah you’ll need to pass the written test when you transfer your out-of-state license.
Can you take the drivers test online in Utah?
Step One: Prepare for the Written Exam The state offers a free online practice exam that you should take. Also, be sure to study the Utah Driver Handbook, which is full of in-depth information on the state’s traffic laws. The written exam will cover road signs, safe driving practices, license sanctions and more.
Do you have to get a new license when you move to Utah?
You are not required to obtain a new driver license with current residence, you can simply change your address online within 10 days of moving. It simply requires a resident to have a valid Utah driver license, when driving in Utah.
How do you get residency in Utah?
Objective evidence that you have demonstrated an intent to establish residency in Utah, which may include any one of the following:
- Utah voter registration card.
- Utah driver’s license or identification card.
- Utah vehicle registration.
- Evidence of employment in Utah.
- Rental agreement showing your name and a Utah address.
How long do I have to live in Utah to be a resident?
To fulfill Utah State residency requirements, you have to show you have lived in Utah for 12 months.
Can I register a car in Utah with an out-of-state license?
Procedure. The owner of the foreign vehicle must surrender the vehicle’s current out-of-state registration. A copy of the out-of-state registration is acceptable, especially if the customer wishes to retain registration in both states (dual registration).
How long can I drive with out-of-state plates in Utah?
If you are an out-of-state resident transporting the vehicle out-of-state you will need to prove proof of ownership and your out-of-state identification. The permit only lasts for 96 hours and starts at time of purchase. For complete information on this permit, see Temporary Permits.
How long do I have to get a Utah driver’s license?
Schedule a learner’s permit appointment here and bring your application. Provide the required documentation then pass the written knowledge test, eye exam, and pay the $19 fee. Before you can get an unrestricted driver’s license in UT, you must hold the permit for 90 days and practice driving for 40 hours.
How long do you have to change your driver’s license when you move to Utah?
Utah requires that you update your driver’s license within just 10 days with your new address when moving within the state. (And no, changing your address with the post office isn’t going to cut it.)
Is Utah driver license test open book?
If you have been previously licensed in another state or country and you are applying for your first time Utah driver license you will be required to take a 25-question open-book test.
How do I pass my road test in Utah?
Here we break down exactly what you need to know to pass your Utah road test. Before taking your road test we recommend practicing these maneuvers:
- Reverse 2-point parking.
- Observe right-of-way: allow pedestrians to cross.
- Stop quickly: be able to make a quick and safe stop when the examiner instructs you to at 20 mph.
What is a 2 point turn?
A two-point turn allows you to change direction in areas with low traffic by making use of driveways or cross streets. How to Make a Two-Point Turn. Stop at the end of a driveway or cross street and reverse your vehicle into it. Pull forward into the roadway and make your turn in the other direction.
How To Get A Utah Driver’s License (Step-by-Step Guide)
The material provided here outlines the Utah driver’s education requirements that you will need to meet in order to obtain your driver’s license.
Getting a License
Individuals under the age of 19 who wish to obtain a driver’s license in Utah must first complete an authorized driver’s education program, which became mandatory on July 1, 2012. Persons above the age of 19 are now permitted to forego driver’s education if they meet the following criteria:
- Obtain and maintain a Utah learner’s permit for a period of at least 90 days
- Complete 40 hours of practice driving, with ten of those hours being spent at night
- Successfully pass a road test, which can be taken in a Utah Driver License Division office or with a private third-party tester
It has been divided into portions to make it easier for you to understand the varying criteria for drivers based on their age, as follows: The requirements for foreign drivers and new Utah residents may be found in the sections International Drivers and New Utah Residents, respectively, further down on this page.
Step One: Getting a Learner’s Permit
Everyone who is not yet licensed to drive, whether they are new to the state of Utah or not, must first get a learner’s permit before taking the state road test. The Department of Motor Vehicles may grant learner’s permits to any qualified, future drivers above the age of 15. To be eligible for a learner’s permit, you must meet the following requirements:
- A driving license office must be visited (click here for a map of DLD locations)
- Fill out an application for a learner’s permit
- Proof of birth, social security number, and place of residence are required. (Please check the following link for a list and photographs of authorized paperwork.) Pass a written test consisting of 50 questions (click here for a sample test! )
- Pass an eye examination
- Completing a medical questionnaire is required. Pay the $15 cost for the permission
Persons under the age of 18 must be accompanied by and sign for by a parent or guardian, according to the rules. You will be photographed during this portion of the procedure, so it is a good idea to brush your hair before hand and practice flashing that winning “I’m getting my license” smile in advance of your appointment.
Learner Permit Entitlements and Restrictions:
If you are under the age of eighteen, you must:
- It is only legal for an applicant to operate a motor vehicle in the presence of an approved driving instructor or licensed parent or guardian in the passenger seat alongside him or her. Other passengers are permitted to go with you in the car. While driving, you must have the permit in your immediate possession.
If you are over the age of eighteen, you must:
- A person 21 years of age or older, who has obtained a driving license, must sit in the passenger seat alongside the applicant in order to operate a motor vehicle. While driving, you must have the permit in your immediate possession.
Step Two: The Driver’s Education Process
Anyone under the age of 19 who wishes to obtain a driver’s license in the state of Utah must first finish an authorized driving education program. Persons over the age of 19 who prefer to finish driver education as a preparation for the road or to bypass the need of waiting 90 days after receiving their permission to acquire a driver’s license may do so as a matter of convenience. An individual enrolled in driver education will be required to complete 12 hours of in-car instruction in addition to completing a classroom, home study, or online course during this time.
The course concludes with a certificate of completion.
Please keep in mind that the certificate of completion does not constitute a driving license!
Step Three: Take Online Test
Starting on the first of January, 2016, A 50 question online test will be needed of anyone applying for their first time original license before they can be issued their certificate of completion. It will be an open book test on the subject of deadly accidents. They can get more information by going to the website. They must pass the test with a perfect score, but they can retake it as many times as they need. The material will be included in the Driver License manual for this year. It is important to complete the written test BEFORE going to the Driver License Division to pick up your license.
If you have completed all of the requirements for obtaining a Utah driver’s license (driver’s ed, testing, etc.), you must complete the test BEFORE going to the Driver License Division to pick up your license or you will be turned away. Amendments to the Driver’s License Testing Program
Step Four: The Final Road Test
All prospective Utah drivers who have not previously obtained a driver’s license in another state must undergo a road test with either the state (at one of numerous Driver License Division locations) or with a third-party road tester who has been certified by the state. As part of the general knowledge exam, your tester will ask you to do the following five necessary skill moves while assessing your understanding of traffic regulations, speed limits, and safe driving.
- Reverse parking, parallel parking, U-turning, three-point turning, hill parking (which may be uphill, down hill or both)
- And more.
Here are some things to keep in mind when taking your test:
- An inordinate number of people fail their test automatically because they engage in one or more of the following undesirable habits:
- Rolling stops
- Failing to do head checks (checking your blind spot when turning, changing lanes, etc.)
- And other violations of the law
- .to mention a few examples
- Before signing the document, ensure that the tester has thoroughly explained the outcomes of your exam. Make no apprehensions about asking the examiner any queries you may have PRIOR to beginning the examination. Once the exam has began, they will not be able to respond to any inquiries on speed limits, how to perform maneuvers, or anything else related to driving. You should check your car’s lights and signals, as well as its head and taillights, brake lights, and insurance coverage before doing your tests. Relax! As a result of our expertise, we believe that nerves are to blame for as much as 50% of all failed examinations. Allow yourself to take a deep breath and get your anxieties out before the exam
Upon successfully passing your road test, your tester will provide you with advice on where and how to obtain a temporary (paper) license until your official license arrives in the mail. Keep yourself safe when you’re out and about!
How to Get a Utah Driver’s License 2022
For many teens and adults, receiving a driver’s license is a watershed moment in their lives. Every citizen of the state of Utah who operates a motor vehicle on public roadways is required to possess a valid driver’s license or permit. You can start the application procedure as early as 15 years old. Throughout this article, we’ll walk you through the full process of obtaining a Utah driver’s license!
How to Get a Utah Driver’s License
There are five phases to get your driver’s license:
- Permit for learning to drive (depending on your age)
- Driver’s education
- To pass the Utah Road Exam, you must complete the online Traffic Safety and Trends Exam. Make an appointment with the Department of Public Safety. Get Your Driver’s License
Step 1 – Learner’s Permit
A learner’s permit allows you to gain experience behind the wheel while under the supervision of a qualified driver. It’s the first of several steps you’ll take on your way to obtaining your complete Utah driver’s license.
Who Must Get a Learner’s Permit?
If you are 18 years old or younger and are a first-time driver, you must obtain a permit; if you are 19 years old or older and are a first-time driver who wishes to bypass drivers education, you must obtain a permit. If you are above the age of 21, you may be able to skip the learner’s permit process entirely by completing driver’s education and passing the road test, allowing you to proceed directly to a full driver’s license. After receiving your learner’s permit, you will be offered the choice of keeping it for 90 days or completing driver’s education.
We’ll go into further depth about these tests further down the page.
How Do I Get a Learner’s Permit?
Before you may submit an application for a permit, you must first complete the following steps:
- Obtain a vision test to determine your eyesight (you must have a vision test result of at least 20/40 or better)
- Pass the written knowledge test (you must get 40 out of 50 questions accurate in order to pass)
- Pass the oral knowledge test
In order to understand more about this portion of the licensing process, we recommend that you read our comprehensive Utah learner’s permit handbook.
- Drivers may only operate a motor vehicle in the company of an authorised driving instructor, parent, or legal guardian. The adult who provided consent (as described above) must be in attendance. Additional passengers must be accommodated in the vehicle. It is necessary to have a learner’s permit. Between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m., you are not permitted to drive. Maintain your permission for a minimum of six months.
18 Years and Older
- A licensed adult over the age of 21 who is accompanying you
- Possession of a learner permit
- A valid driver’s license
Step 2 – Complete Driver’s Education
First and foremost, you must apply for a permission, regardless of your age. Once you have completed the course, you will be entitled to enroll in a driving education course. There are three options for completing the driving education requirement.
1 – High School Classroom Instruction
Driver’s education is available in a number of public and private high schools around the state of Utah. It is necessary for you to complete 27 hours of classroom training and submit a copy of your high school transcript to the Department of Public Safety for verification.
2 – Commercial/Private Driving School
There are also several commercial and private driving schools located across the state.
The Utah Department of Public Safety mandates that colleges give students with 18 hours of training in order to comply with the driving education requirement.
3 – Online/Home Study Driving Course
For many new drivers, studying from the comfort of their own homes is a viable choice. You will be required to finish 30 hours of coursework in a state-approved program. Apart from the organized study session, you will also need to complete behind-the-wheel and observation requirements as part of your certification. Regardless of whatever driver education technique you pick, it will need to include six hours of behind-the-wheel training and another six hours of observation in addition to the other requirements.
Step 3 – Complete Online Traffic Safety and Trends Exam
The Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT) launched the onlineTraffic Safety and Trends Exam on January 1, 2016. When applying for a Utah Class D driver’s license, all drivers under the age of 21 are required to take the test. As offered by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, this exam covers critical driving safety issues, including the primary causes of traffic-related deaths. During the test, videos will be displayed, and you will be asked questions on the content of the films that you have watched.
Step 4 – Take the Utah Driving Skills Test
When drivers take the Road Exam, they are evaluating their driving behavior in order to determine if they have the fundamental skills, knowledge, and competence to operate a motor vehicle safely in the state. It will also be required to have a car that is fully registered and legally operated in order to take the exam. If your driving test administrator believes that the condition may cause injury to the examiner’s person or clothing, he or she may refuse to accept it. If you want to take the driving skills test, you have three possibilities.
Option1 – Complete at Utah DPS
Because it allows new drivers to complete numerous licensing requirements in a single visit, this is likely to be the most popular choice for the majority of new drivers. You must make an appointment with the DPS to take a driving skills test. Make your reservation as soon as possible because these spaces tend to fill up at least one to two months in advance.
Option2 – Complete with State-Approved Driving School
The skills exam may be provided for free or at a reduced charge if you completed driver’s education at your high school, so check with them first. Make sure to check with the administration of your individual school for further information.
Option3 – Complete with certified Third Party Tester
Finally, you can sit for the exam with the assistance of a licensed third-party road tester. When you pass the exam, the third-party tester will charge you a fee and give you with confirmation of completion. You will be evaluated on a variety of factors, including your driving posture, left and right turns, braking, steering, parking, and more. If you fail the driving skills exam on your first try, you will be able to retake it on your second attempt, but you will only be given three total tries before you must pay another fee.
Step 5 – Receive Your Utah Driver’s License
Having completed the appropriate criteria, you will need to arrange an appointment with the Department of Motor Vehicles to get your new Utah driver’s license.
If you are under the age of twenty-one, you must make an appointment to obtain a provisional driver’s license, as well as:
- Bring in your completed licensing application (if applicable). Take a photograph
- A valid learner’s permit (all required documentation has already been scanned and is connected to your permit)
- Pass the eyesight test
- Obtain a parent’s approval for 40 hours of supervised driving. Have a parent sign for financial responsibility if the child is 17 or younger. Pay a $39 non-refundable processing charge
Adults above the age of 21 will be required to book a driver’s license appointment as well as:
- Bring in your completed licensing application (if applicable). Take a photograph
- Proof of Driver Education must be submitted (in order to avoid having a permit suspended for 90 days)
- Pass the vision exam
- Pass the knowledge exam (if it hasn’t already been done)
- Pay a $52 non-refundable processing charge.
Congratulations! Your temporary picture license will be issued to you on the same day as your submission of the required documents and passing of both examinations. Your permanent Utah driver’s license will be mailed to you within 8-10 weeks of submitting your application.
How to Get a Utah Driver’s License and How to Transfer a License to UT
You’ve worked hard to earn your first driver’s license. Are you ready to get started? Alternatively, are you relocating and want assistance in transferring your license to Utah? If you’re prepared in advance and know what to anticipate, you’ll discover that the procedure isn’t as onerous as it appears due to the lengthy list of paperwork that must be submitted. Learn how to obtain a Utah driver’s license as a first-time driver or after becoming a permanent resident of the state.
Utah Driver’s License Document Checklist
What documents do I need to obtain a driver’s license in the state of Utah? It is essential that you have all of the necessary documentation before visiting a Utah Driver’s License Divisionoffice. You must produce identity, evidence of residency (two kinds of verification of Utah residency), proof of your Social Security number, and proof of your legal status in order to be considered. Please keep in mind that photocopied papers are not permitted. Documents must be either an original or a certified copy.
You may get a more in-depth guide to needed documentation from the Driver License Division of the Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS) by visiting this link.
Proof of identity
One of the following options is available:
- Valid U.S. passport
- Birth certificate or Consular Report of Birth Abroad
- Valid Permanent Resident Card
- Certificate of Naturalization
- Certificate of Citizenship
- Valid identification card
- Valid passport
Proof of Utah residency
In addition to your name and address, you must give two of the following:
- Court document, bank statement, utility bill, vehicle title, property tax bill, credit card bill, rental agreement, and mortgage statement are all examples of types of documents.
Proof of Social Security number
Bring your Social Security card (which must be government-issued and signed) or one of the following documents, which must include your name and Social Security number, along with you:
- If you do not qualify for a Social Security number because of your legal status, you will need to provide a W-2 form, 1099 form, pay stub, and a statement from the Social Security Administration stating that you are ineligible for a Social Security number.
Proof of name change
If your evidence of identification includes a different name than your legal name, you must produce documentation of legal name change, such as the following:
Utah Driver’s License for Undocumented Immigrants
If you are not qualified for a Social Security card in the United States or if you are unable to demonstrate lawful residence in the United States, you may be eligible for a Driving Privilege Card (DPC) in Utah. If you are undocumented, you will have the same driving privileges as if you had a valid Utah driver’s license. The following papers must be submitted with your application.
- Proof of identity must include a valid foreign passport or birth certificate, as well as court records, employee identification, insurance identification, church records, or any other document that the DPS considers as identification. Individual Tax Identification Number or Social Security Number (found on a government-issued card or on a 1099 or W-2 form). You can provide two types of Utah residence documentation: a bank statement or mortgage statement, a rental agreement, a credit card bill, a property tax notice, a school transcript, a utility bill, or a vehicle title
- And a fingerprint card and photo from the Bureau of Criminal Identification or another law enforcement agency that has been sealed
- When applying for a first license in Utah, documentation of driving experience is required, such as a license from another nation or state or proof of driver instruction.
Utah Driver’s License RequirementsSteps for a First Driver’s License
Getting your first driver’s license in Utah is a big step. Unless you are transferring an out-of-state driver’s license, the process of obtaining a new license in Utah includes the evidence listed above, as well as completing specific prerequisites and passing a number of tests and examinations. Everything you need, as well as a step-by-step guidance, is provided.
Basic Utah Driver’s License Requirements
Are you applying for your first Utah driver’s license?
You must fulfill a number of fundamental standards.
- You must be at least sixteen years old. If you are under the age of 18, you must have held a Utah driver’s license learning permit for at least six months. If you are under the age of 19, you must provide proof of a prior driver’s license or driver education. Provide two different proofs of Utah residency. Provide identification as verification of your identity. Please include your complete Social Security number. Show proof of valid, lawful presence in the United States
- If appropriate, show proof of name change (confirmed court or marriage paperwork)
- Pass an eye examination. Pass the written knowledge test in Utah
- Pass the driving skills test in Utah
Residents of Utah must be at least 21 years old in order to obtain an unrestricted Utah driver’s license, according to state law. Provisional driver’s licenses are awarded to minor drivers under the age of 21.
How to Get a Utah Driver’s License: Steps to Apply for a Driving License
Obtaining a driver’s license in the state of Utah is simple if you have all of the necessary paperwork and are confident that you fulfill the basic standards. Simply follow the instructions outlined below.
Step1: Complete Driver Education or Apply for a Learner’s Permit
A driving education course must be completed before a Utah driver’s license can be issued to anybody under the age of eighteen (18). If you are at least 19 years old, you can either enroll in a driver’s education course or obtain a learner’s permit and complete at least 40 hours of practice driving while holding the permit for at least 90 days. Fill out the Utah driver’s license application online here if you want to receive a learning permit for your driver’s license. Make an appointment for a learner’s permit here and bring your application with you.
Before you may apply for an unrestricted driver’s license in Utah, you must first retain your permit for 90 days and put in 40 hours of driving practice.
Step2: Complete the Online Knowledge Test
If you want to obtain your first driver’s license in Utah, you must first pass a 50-question online Utah driving license knowledge exam. This is an open-book exam that is based on the content in the Utah Driver’s License manual, which is available online. You may take the online test by visiting this link. Note that you must pass all of the multiple-choice questions, but you may retake each part as many times as you need to in order to achieve a passing score. The results of the examination will be forwarded to the Driver License Division.
Step3: Pass the Utah Driver’s License Written Test
Following 90 days with your learner’s permit (or completion of driver’s education) and passing the online knowledge exam, you can make an appointment to take the written knowledge test. In addition to multiple choice and true/false questions based on content from the Utah Driver’s License manual, the written knowledge test will contain a short essay. You have the option of taking the exam up to two times each day. The amount you pay entitles you to up to three retakes within six months of your initial try.
With the exception of the driver’s handbook, there is no official Utah driver’s license study guide available.
Step4: Pass the Utah Driving Skills Test
After passing the written test, you’ll be able to arrange the driving skills test with your insurance company. You must schedule an appointment online and bring your learner’s permit and supporting papers with you to the appointment. The Utah road exam will consist of five skill moves, which are as follows:
- Parking on the incline
- Three-point turns
- Parallel parking, backing up in a straight line, and other such maneuvers
If you fail to check your blind spots when changing lanes or turning, speeding up, or coming to a complete stop, you will immediately fail the exam.
Step5: Pass the Eye ExamHave Your Photo Taken
You will be required to pass an eye examination at your road test session. Following successful completion of the road test, your photograph will be taken, and you will be sent information on how to obtain your driver’s license in the mail. You will be given a temporary paper driver’s license that you can use while traveling.
How to Transfer Your License to Utah – RequirementsSteps
Are you relocating to Utah? Transferring your license to Utah is simple and only necessitates a few simple prerequisites.
Documents You Need to Transfer a Driver’s License to Utah
To transfer your out-of-state driver’s license to Utah, you will need the following documents:
- Driver’s license that is up to date
- Form for obtaining a Utah driving license that has been completed Identification documentation (see above)
- Proof of one’s legal standing
- Two kinds of identification proving Utah residence (see above)
- Verification of social security number
Steps to Transfer Your Out-of-State License
Are you interested in learning how to obtain a Utah driver’s license after relocating from another state? You’ll need to demonstrate residency in Utah, which should be straightforward if you’ve leased or acquired a property in the state.
Step1: Submit the Utah Driver’s License Application Form
The first step to transferring your license to Utah is completing the driver license application form. You can do that at a Driver License Division office oronline hereto save time. Next, schedule your original driver’s license appointment.
Step2: Submit Necessary DocumentsComplete an Eye Exam
As soon as you come for your appointment, you will be photographed, and you will also be subjected to an eye examination. In addition, you must provide all of the required documentation indicated above. In order to obtain a Utah driver’s license, you must relinquish your out-of-state license.
Step3: Pass the Written Knowledge Test
Everyone applying for a driver’s license in Utah must pass a written knowledge test consisting of 50 questions. Examine the Utah Driver Handbook and take the practice exam provided by the Utah Driver License Division prior to taking your test.
Step4: Pass the Driving Skills Test *Not Usually Required!
If you have already obtained a driver’s license in another state, you will most likely not be required to take the Utah driver’s license road test in that state. If your out-of-state license has expired, you may be forced to retake the exam to keep your license valid.
Step5: Receive Your Temporary Driver’s License
After you’ve completed these processes, you’ll be issued a temporary paper driver’s license. Your new Utah driver’s license will be mailed to the address on file for you in Utah.
Utah DLD Locations – Make an Appointment at the Driver License Division
The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Utah is responsible exclusively for vehicle registration and title issues. DLD (Utah Driver License Division) is in charge of issuing driving permits and performing written and driving examinations for Utah residents. The Driver License Division is a division of the Department of Public Safety in the state of California (DPS). You may discover a Utah Driver’s License Division location near you by visiting this page: Utah DLD locations. To make an appointment with the Utah Driver’s License Division, please click here.
- If you are over the age of 21, you must obtain an adult driving license (whether it is your first license or a transfer from another state). Minor driver license for applicants under the age of 21
- Learner’s permit
- Driving Privilege Card (DPC) for undocumented Utahns
- And Driver’s Education and Training (DET). Test of driving abilities
- Written examination (second or third try)
Take the written skills exam during your appointment for a driver’s license, which is included in your visit. A separate appointment is required for the road test.
Utah Driver’s License FAQ
Documents that prove Utah residence for the purpose of obtaining a driver’s license include the following two:
- A copy of your Utah car registration or title
- A utility bill from within the previous 60 days
- A copy of your school transcript from within the past 90 days
- A copy of your property tax notice, statement, or receipt from within the last 12 months
- Within the previous 60 days, a large credit card statement was received
- A current lease agreement or mortgage contract
- Court papers
- A bank statement from within the previous 60 days
- And other supporting documentation
How much does a driver’s license cost in UT?
The cost of a Utah driver’s license is $52.
A provisional license is available for $39 USD. A UT learner’s permit costs $19 and is valid for one year.
How can I update the address on my Utah driver’s license?
If your mailing address changes, you must notify the Driver License Division within 10 days. You can change your address at a driver’s license office or online by visiting this page.
How can I change the name on my driver license in UT?
A driver’s license office will require you to come in and produce paperwork of your name change, such as court documents or a marriage certificate, in order to have your name changed on the license.
How long are Utah driver’s licenses good?
A Utah driver’s license expires eight years after it is granted on the driver’s birthday, an increase from the previous five-year limit in place prior to 2020. A temporary license awarded to a driver under the age of 21 expires after five years of inactivity.
Are Utah driver’s licenses REAL ID compliant?
If your Utah driver’s license contains a star in the top right corner, it complies with the REAL ID Act. REAL ID compliance has been achieved by all Utah driver’s licenses issued after January 2010. If you received your driver’s license between then and October 2020, your driver’s license will be stamped with the REAL ID star when it is renewed.
Can I renew my driver’s license online in Utah?
Yes, you may renew your Utah driver’s license online, but you must first determine whether you are eligible for an online renewal. When it comes time to renew your membership, you will need to enter the PIN that was included in the letter you received.
How long does it take to get a driver’s license in the mail in Utah?
If your application is granted and you satisfy all of the conditions, you will be issued a temporary license on the same day it is authorized. You should get your driver’s license in the mail within 4 to 6 weeks.
What is a Driving Privilege Card?
Undocumented immigrants can get legal driving rights through the use of a driving privilege card issued by the state.
What does a driving privilege card allow in Utah?
A DPC enables the holder to lawfully operate a motor vehicle in the state of Utah Any Utah government entity, on the other hand, will not accept it as a form of identification.
What is the mobile driver’s license in Utah?
In 2022, the state of Utah will begin testing a mobile driver’s license. In 2022, all Utahns will be able to apply for a mobile driver license (mDL), which will be compliant with national and international security regulations. In the future, police enforcement, hospitals, banks, and other institutions will be able to accept the MDL and mobile credentials through the use of readers. Because to REAL ID compliance, you’ll be required to submit a plethora of paperwork in order to obtain a Utah driver’s license.
Are you still in the process of deciding whether or not to relocate to Utah?
You’ve already had a lot on your plate with things like transferring your license, arranging up utilities, and registering for classes.
How to Get Your Utah Driver’s License
Obtaining your Utah driver’s license is a significant accomplishment.
It’s a significant achievement that heralds the beginning of a new era of independence. You should be prepared for every stage of the procedure, which means being thorough and thorough in your research.
Step One: Get Your Permit
In order to obtain your Utah driver’s license if you are 16 or 17, you must have your learner permit for at least six months before you can apply for your license. You must be at least 15 years old in order to obtain your permit. Additional requirements include passing a 50-question written exam as well as an eye examination. Reading the Utah Driver Handbook, which is chock full of useful material, and taking the state’s online practice test are the most effective ways of preparing for the written exam, according to the state.
Violations of permit limits may result in you being denied a driver’s license when you turn sixteen.
Step Two: Take a Driver’s Education Course
In order to obtain your Utah driver’s license if you are 18 or younger, you must successfully complete a driver’s education program. If you choose to complete your driver’s education course through a private school (18 hours of classroom teaching), your high school (27 hours of classroom instruction), or on your own, there are several options available (30 hours of online instruction.) Any of the aforementioned alternatives, as well as a minimum of six hours of behind-the-wheel training, must be completed before you may begin driving.
In addition to formal driver’s instruction, you’ll be required to pass the online Traffic Safety and Trends Exam, which is offered at no cost to all Utahns.
Each video is followed by ten multiple-choice questions, all of which must be answered correctly in order to proceed.
Step Three: Take Your Behind-the-Wheel Exam
After you have completed all of the essential driver’s education requirements, the next step in obtaining your Utah driver’s license is to sit for the driving test required. When you’re ready to take the exam, you have three options for how you’ll go about it:
- You can take the exam at your local Department of Motor Vehicles. It is essential that you arrange your appointment in advance. Your high school will be able to administer the test. You can finish the exam by enrolling in a private driving school that has been approved by the state.
Each choice has its own set of advantages. Take into consideration the setting in which you’ll be most comfortable and if you’ll want to devote high school credits to driver’s education when determining which option is best for you.
Step Four: Visit the DMV
Regardless of where you choose to take your driving test, you will still need to visit the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to obtain your driver’s license. Please bring confirmation that you have finished all of your driver’s education requirements, as well as your learner permit, your practice record, and your application for a driver’s license.
Step Five: Follow All Teen Driving Restrictions
Maintaining your Utah driver’s license requires adhering to the state’s licensing requirements.
The hours between midnight and 5:00 a.m. are off-limits for drivers under the age of 18 unless they are traveling to or from employment or school, have a licensed driver who is 21 or older in the front seat, or are in an emergency situation.
Ultimate guide to getting your driver’s license in Utah
It was last updated on January 2022. The following is the definitive approach to obtaining your driver’s license from the Utah DMV. We’ve made the procedure as simple as possible for you so that you can save time. In order to obtain a Utah driver’s license, you’ll need the following documents:
- Proof of Identity and Legal/Lawful Status Verification
- Utah Residency/Mailing Verification if different from current Utah Driver License record (must give two)
- Proof of Financial Responsibility and Legal/Lawful Status Verification Verification of Social Security Number
- When applying for a first Utah driver’s license, you must provide proof of driving experience. Documents pertaining to a name change (where relevant)
- Driver License Application (Form DLD6a) that has been completed
Check out thisDocument Checklistfrom the Department of Public Safety to be sure that your documents will be accepted by the proper authorities.
- In order to prepare for the written test, step one is to study the Utah Driver Handbook and take online practice examinations. Step 2: Visit any Driver License Office (optional: make an appointment!) and complete the application.
- Photographs of you will be taken
- Please submit all of the relevant documentation. You can avoid carrying a learner permit for 90 days and taking the onlineTraffic Safety and Trends Exam if you submit proof of driver education or hold a valid driver license from another state (which you will surrender upon application), or from another country. Pay a nonrefundable fee of $52.00 if you are above the age of 21
- $39.00 if you are under the age of 20
- Step 3: Pass the vision (eye) examination. 4. Pass a written knowledge test and a driving abilities test – one or both of these tests may be necessary
- 5. Following the successful completion of all prerequisites for a driving license, you will be issued a temporary license with a photograph on the same day. The finished driver’s license will be shipped to you in approximately 8-10 weeks after it has been completed.
- Foreign nationals who have legal status in the United States will be issued a Limited-Term Driver License, which will be subject to the following conditions:
- Unless you renew your license before the expiration of your legal presence document, the license will expire on the date of expiration of your legal presence document or in 8 years, whichever is sooner. If there is no expiration date specified, the document will expire one year after it was issued.
- A maximum of two (2) written knowledge examinations may be taken in a single (1) day by each participant. You will be asked to pay a second charge after three (3) unsuccessful attempts. The driving abilities exam is mandatory, and if you fail, you will be required to train before taking another test. You are only permitted to take one (1) driving skills exam per day. If you fail to pass the requisite exams after three (3) attempts, you will be compelled to pay an additional charge. Unless otherwise specified, all tests must be performed within six (6) months of the date of payment of the price. Any individual may be required to participate in a driving skills test if the examiner believes the applicant’s competence to drive may be in dispute, and Documents that have been faxed or photocopied will not be accepted for any type of document. In addition, all papers submitted to the Division will be scanned and kept in a secure database, after which they will be returned to the applicant
- Documents in a language other than English must be accompanied by a certified translation of the document. The translated document must be translated by one (1) of the division’s designated translators, and the original document and the translation are deemed to be one (1) document for the purposes of identifying the document. Do you require a REAL ID? Afterwards, please see our Utah REAL ID website to learn more about the requirements.
More Utah DMV Questions?
Visit our Utah DMV information page to avoid waiting in line at the DMV. Get a line waiting concierge if you’re in a rush. Get a DMV appointment as soon as possible. All of this information is available for free on the Skip app (and you can earn a $10 credit for the app if you use this link). YoGov can assist you in obtaining your driving license in the United States. Make arrangements for a Road Test Concierge car and driver to assist you in passing your road test.
Ultimate guide to transfering your out-of-state driver’s license to Utah
It was last updated on January 2022.
We have updated this page – visit the latest version here.
Here’s all you need to know about transferring your out-of-state driver’s license to Utah. We’ve made the procedure as simple as possible for you so that you can save time. This article is intended for those who have relocated to Utah but have a driver’s license from another state in the United States.
What You’ll Need to Transfer your Out-of-State Driver License to Utah
- • Your existing driver’s license from another state
- Driver License Application (Form DLD6a) that has been completed Verification of legal/legally permissible status and identification of the individual
- If your existing Utah Driver License record differs from your current residence or mailing address in Utah, you must present two proofs of residency or mailing address. Verification of Social Security Number
- Documents pertaining to a name change (where relevant)
What You’ll Do to Transfer your Out-of-State Driver License to Utah
- Step 1: Go to any Utah Driver License Division office and fill out an application.
- Photographs of you will be taken
- Please submit all of the relevant documentation. Retain your driver’s license from a different state
- Pay a $52.00 non-refundable processing charge
- Step 2: Pass the vision (eye) examination. 3. Pass a written knowledge test and a driving abilities test – one or both of these tests may be necessary
- And Once all of the prerequisites for a driver’s license have been met, you will be issued a temporary license that includes a photograph on the same day that you finished your application. The finished driver’s license will be shipped to you in approximately 8-10 weeks after it has been completed.
Caveats and Exceptions to Transferring your Driver License to Utah
- Utah law does not provide for a grace period during which an out-of-state driver’s license can be converted to a Utah one. When driving in Utah, it is merely necessary for a person to hold a valid Utah driver’s license.
Do you require a REAL ID? Then go to our Utah REAL ID website to find out what you need to do to get your ID card.
More Utah DMV Questions?
Visit our Utah DMV information page to avoid waiting in line at the DMV. Obtain the services of a line waiting concierge. Are you in a hurry? Get a DMV appointment as soon as possible. All of this information is available for free on the Skip app (and you can earn a $10 credit for the app if you use this link).
Student visa holders are eligible to apply for a driver’s license within 10 days of their arrival in the United States. When visiting the DMV, students who hold a valid international driver’s license will be required to present the following documentation:
- Refusal to process Social Security Number (SSN) application or Form SSA-L676: “Refusal to Process SSN Application.” A Social Security Number will be required in order to complete this process. Proof of Utah residency (at least two of the following documents)
- Bank statements, a court document, a rental contract, a major credit card bill, and a school transcript are all acceptable forms of documentation. Utility Bill (mobile phone bills are not acceptable)
- A bank statement
- Bank account statements, a court document, a rental contract, a major credit card bill, and a school transcript are all acceptable forms of identification. Utility Bill (mobile phone bills are not acceptable)
- A bank statement
A driver’s training program will be required for students who do not have a valid international driver’s license at the time of enrollment. It is possible that applications that are denied have erroneous information stored in SEVIS. If you believe this information is incorrect, please contact International Affairs. If a dependant of a student desires to receive a Utah Driver’s License, they will be required to provide the following documents to the Utah Department of Transportation:
- The most recent I-94 for the primary and dependent
- The primary and dependent’s valid passport with visa
- Proof of identification (photo ID)
- Proof of relationship (marriage certificate)
- And proof of citizenship. $18.00 for the most recent stamped I-20/DS 2019 for the primary and dependents.
Cedar City Driver License Division is located at 91 East Canyon Commercial Avenue in Cedar City, Utah. Hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. Students are permitted to drive with a foreign license for a period of up to six months following their arrival in Cedar City. During this period, students should ensure that they have a printed copy of their I-94 with them when they are driving.
Utah driver licenses, IDs coming to Apple Wallet
Utah’s driver’s licenses are taking another step forward into the digital era, according to the state. Using the Apple Wallet platform, which will allow Apple users to access their driver’s licenses and identification cards using their phones or even watches, Apple announced on Wednesday that Utah is one of eight states that have opted into a program that will make driver’s licenses and identification cards available through the platform. According to the business, once the service is made accessible in the state, Utahns who are also Apple customers will be able to add their driver’s license or state identity card to their individual accounts by hitting the “+” button in Apple Wallet and entering their information.
An Apple client will be requested to scan their physical card with their phone once they’ve entered that information.
In the last phase, a client will be requested to execute “a series of facial and head gestures during the setup procedure” as one final security measure to ensure that the process is legitimate.
According to Apple, users can tap their iPhone or Apple Watch at a TSA station with an identification reader, prompting the scanner to show only the information that a TSA agent requires for security purposes, rather than all of their information.
According to a statement released by Apple on Wednesday, “the addition of driver’s licenses and state IDs to Apple Wallet is an important step in our vision of replacing the physical wallet with a secure and easy-to-use mobile wallet.” Jennifer Bailey, Apple’s vice president of Apple Pay and Apple Wallet, stated that the company’s vision is to replace the physical wallet with a secure and easy-to-use mobile wallet.
- Arizona, Connecticut, Georgia, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, and Oklahoma have also joined in Apple’s initiative, the firm revealed on Wednesday.
- For the time being, citizens of Arizona and Georgia will be the only ones who can access it.
- Questions have been forwarded to the Utah Department of Public Safety, which has not yet responded.
- “We receive numerous requests from customers who wish to see their driver’s license information through their smartphones.
This secure mobile license provides convenience while also contributing to the safety of the state of Utah “Part of his remark was as follows: Utah has already implemented a digital licensing option of a similar nature as a result of a cooperation with the technology company GET Group North America.
The first two businesses to accept it as identification were Utah Community Credit Union and Harmons — which has two locations — but more businesses are expected to join by the end of 2021.
The Utah Public Safety Driver’s License Division’s Ryan Williams, the quality assurance manager for the division, said mobile licenses provide Utahns with the convenience of having identification on their cellphones, as well as contactless information transfers and enhanced privacy, among other benefits.
As a result, if someone simply has to confirm that they are 21 in order to purchase alcohol, they can do so without disclosing any other information that is not required for the transaction, such as their name, address, or birthday.
I believe that the increased control over data will be beneficial for individuals in the long run as well.
A new Utah driver’s license design is in the cards
Prepare yourself for the fact that your next Utah driver’s license will appear a bit different. In a press conference on Wednesday, the Utah Department of Public Safety introduced a new design for the state’s driver’s licenses and identity cards, which they think will help prevent fraud and safeguard identities. According to Ryan Williams, the quality assurance manager for the Utah Public Safety Driver’s License Division, the replacement cards will be put into circulation as soon as this week, with the first batch of updated cards being shipped out this week.
- Furthermore, they make frequent changes to designs in order to baffle individuals who wish to forge papers from scratch.
- Every measure is taken in order to keep one step ahead of counterfeiters, and nothing is taken for granted.
- The new license will have a defined header color, which implies that different font colors will be used at the top of the license or ID card in conjunction with the type of document it is, depending on the type of document.
- Upon receiving a card, the recipient’s name and date of birth are laser-engraved in red and have a texture that can be felt when swiping over it.
- A couple of classic southern Utah landscapes are also incorporated into the design.
- Anderson explained that both were included in a way that represented different sections of the state, but that the way they were printed also served as an extra security precaution.
- When asked whether those who recently renewed their licenses or who aren’t scheduled to renew their licenses in the near future should be concerned about speeding up the process just to get the new card design, Williams said they shouldn’t have to.
- “The current license is in secure circulation until it expires, and there’s nothing different about that license other than the fact that there are some updated features,” he explained, noting that some of the licenses with the old design will remain valid for the next eight years.
- “In other words, if people renew their licenses, obtain duplicate licenses, or make changes to their documents, those will be phased out over the following eight years,” he continued.
Given the frequency with which modifications are made, people who do not need to renew their membership until 2029 may very possibly see an entirely different design from the one shown on Wednesday.
Utah rolls out new driver license design
A new design for driver licenses and identity cards is being implemented in Utah, according to the state’s Department of public safety. Although the state of Utah is introducing a new design for its driver licenses, you will not be required to replace your current license. According to a news release from the Utah Department of Public Safety, the state will begin utilizing a new design on driver licenses and identity cards it provides this month, effective immediately. Officials claim that the new design will aid in the prevention of fraud and the protection of personal information.
According to the press release, previously issued driver licenses and identification cards are remain valid until the expiration date printed on the card.
Main features of the new design include a stylized outline of Angels Landing in Zion National Park’s backdrop, as well as Delicate Arch in Arches National Park, which forms the “A” in Utah at the top of the license, which is inspired by the state’s nickname.
Other security elements include the following:
- The date of birth is printed in red and laser etched in a bigger type on the back of the bracelet. On the card, a ghost image of the driver’s picture has been laser carved onto it
- Using a guilloche security design, you may create waves and patterns that are printed in very tiny lines that cannot be scanned or readily replicated.
As stated in the press release, “the technology used in today’s driver licenses helps to fight fraud by incorporating countermeasures that are exceedingly difficult to duplicate.”
Utah Driving Laws for Seniors and Older Drivers
The plethora of laws and regulations enforced by the Utah Driver License Division (DLD) and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) apply to drivers of all ages and stages, but the state has specific requirements and limits for senior drivers. The regulations of the state of Utah are detailed in further depth below, but a number of them are concerned with detecting and dealing with senior drivers who may have become hazardous on the road. To be more specific, Utah:
- In addition, drivers over the age of 65 are required to undergo a vision exam every time they renew their licenses, and the DLD accepts requests for investigations of risky drivers from family members, neighbors, and other interested parties.
License Renewal Rules for Older Drivers in Utah
Drivers over the age of 65 who wish to renew their licenses are subject to additional requirements. Time restrictions: All drivers must renew their licenses every eight years. If you confirmed your identify after January 1, 2010, you can renew your driver’s license online. Drivers over the age of 65 are required to take a vision test at every renewal. A free exam will be conducted by DLD employees. To be eligible for a more extensive exam, drivers must have it conducted by an independent healthcare expert, who must complete aCertificate of Visual Examinationand conduct the exam within six months after submitting the renewal request.
If the DLD gets information concerning potentially risky driving, it may decide to conduct a written exam. If the DLD gets information concerning potentially risky driving, it may be necessary to conduct a road test.
Possible License Restrictions
On a person’s driver’s license, the DLD has the authority to impose limits or requirements. The most prevalent type of limitation for elderly drivers is the requirement for corrective lenses like as glasses or contact lenses. Other typical criteria that the DLD may place on elderly drivers in Utah include the following:
- Wearing a mechanical assistance or compensating device while driving
- Driving while wearing a prosthetic aid
- Driving in cars equipped with outside rearview mirrors
- No nighttime driving
- And any other limitations that the DLD considers suitable are prohibited.
How to Request an Unsafe Driver Investigation in Utah
The Utah Department of Licensing and Regulation (DLD) will take reports from family members and other concerned people who have knowledge that a motorist is potentially hazardous on the road. To voice their concerns, individuals must complete the Unsafe Driver Report form, get it notarized, and then mail it to the DLD address shown on the form, which is located on the form. An address, phone number, and signature must be included on the complaint form; anonymous complaints will not be accepted—although secrecy may be requested—in order for it to be considered valid.
Reporting Requirement for Drivers
One of just a few states that requires drivers to submit a health questionnaire to prove that they are physically and mentally competent to operate a motor vehicle. Utah is one of those rare states. Those who have significant health problems, such as diabetes, pulmonary or neurologic disease, psychiatric or emotional disorders, or other conditions that may impair their ability to drive, may be required to be examined by a healthcare professional who will complete a comprehensive Functional Ability Evaluation Medical Report before being allowed to drive.
How to Get a License Reinstated
Please contact one of the DLD offices located around the state if you have questions about how to reinstate a driver’s license that has been suspended or revoked in Utah.
How to Get Parking Placards or License Plates for a Disabled Driver
Drivers with restricted mobility may be eligible for disabled person parking placards and license plates provided their condition is certified by a registered medical practitioner. Placards and plates are offered for persons who meet the following criteria:
- Are unable to walk more than 200 feet without stopping to rest
- Require the use of, or assistance from, a brace, crutches, another person, a prosthetic device, a wheelchair, or other assistive device
- Are severely restricted by lung disease
- Use portable oxygen
- Have a severe cardiac condition
- Or are severely limited in their ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition
In order to receive a disability placard or plate, you must do the following:
- Forms for disabled persons and physicians to complete and sign are available here: Section 3 of the form should be completed by a qualified physician. Include a $21 price for disability plates in your budget. Placards are provided free of charge. Original application should be mailed to the address shown on the form.
Learn More About Utah Driving Rules for Seniors
The Driver License Division (DLD) and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) maintain websites that provide a plethora of information for Utah drivers, including information on licensing and vehicle registration rules and regulations. Special mention should be made of the “Driver Handbook,” which contains explanations of the laws and regulations that apply to Utah drivers, as well as information on local rules of the road.
Where to Find a Lawyer for Help
Use Nolo’s Lawyer Directory to discover a local attorney that specializes in defending senior clients who have been involved in vehicle accidents or received traffic citations in the state of Utah.