If you had a suspended or restricted driver license and the suspension or restriction period is over, go to your local Secretary of State branch office with sufficient identification and your Social Security number to apply for your driver’s license. You may owe a reinstatement fee depending on the type of suspension.
How do I get my license back after a DUI?
- If you license has been suspended, you may be able to get a restricted license. The best way to determine if this is the case for you is to contact a DUI attorney. After your suspension ends, you must complete a DDS-approved Drug Use Risk Reduction program and pay fines related to your case.
What do I need to reinstate my license Michigan?
To get your license back, you must pay all the fines you owe. You must also pay the $125 reinstatement fee to get your license back. You may need to request a hearing from the SOS before you can get your license back. You can use the Request for Hearing form from the Michigan Department of State.
How do I get my license back in Illinois?
Typically, the only way to get back a revoked license is to have a successful hearing with the Illinois Secretary of State. Essentially, that requires the driver to petition the Illinois Secretary of State and convince them to grant the license back.
How do I reinstate my suspended license in Ohio?
Driving privileges are suspended for a period of six months and requires a $40 reinstatement fee. Mail reinstatement fees to: Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Attn: PO BOX 16520, Columbus, OH 43216-6520. You may request an administrative hearing by writing to the BMV within 30 days of the date of the suspension notice.
How do I get my license back after suspension in California?
How to Reinstate a California Suspended Driver’s License
- Complete the suspension period.
- Pay the license reinstatement fee.
- Provide evidence of completing a required course, such as traffic school or a DUI/substance abuse course.
- Provide proof of car insurance – usually for a DUI or for driving without car insurance.
How do I see if my license is suspended in Michigan?
How to Check my Michigan Driver’s License Status
- Obtain the Record in Person. You can receive your driving record on the same day if you visit any of the branch offices.
- Order by Fax. Complete the request form and fax it to the Department of State at (517) 322-1181.
- Make Your Request by Telephone.
How do I check my drivers license status in Michigan?
Check Driver’s License Status. To obtain your driver’s license record, fill out the Michigan driving record request form found on the Secretary of State website. This form can be mailed to the Department of State, or purchased at any branch office for same day service.
How much does it cost to reinstate your license in Illinois?
File proof of financial responsibility prior to reinstatement, pay $500 reinstatement fee, pass the driver’s license exam (written, vision and driving) and pay application fee.
How do I check the status of my drivers license in IL?
If an applicant does not receive their new permanent driver’s license or state ID after 15 business days of visiting a facility, they can check the status online or call 217-782-7044.
What does order of rescind mean?
transitive verb. 1: to take away: remove. 2a: take back, cancel refused to rescind the order. b: to abrogate (a contract) and restore the parties to the positions they would have occupied had there been no contract. 3: to make void by action of the enacting authority or a superior authority: repeal rescind an act.
How long does it take to reinstate a license in Ohio?
The Ohio BMV currently does not accept payment by credit or debit cards. Once you have concluded your phone call, your payment for suspended drivers license reinstatement will be processed in up to seven business days.
How can I see if my license is suspended in Ohio?
One of the easiest ways to check and see if there are any warrant blocks or court blocks on your driver’s license is to go online to the Ohio BMV website. Once there, you can pull up your BMV driving record for the past two years. Although it is considered an unofficial record, it is generally very accurate.
Do I need an SR-22 to reinstate my license?
You will need to obtain SR-22 insurance before getting your license reinstated. An SR-22 bond is a form that your insurance company will send to the Department of Motor Vehicles on your behalf. This form states that you meet the minimum insurance coverage requirements.
How long does a suspended license stay on your record in California?
Two-point traffic ticket violations such as a DUI – VC 23152(a) or (b) or a VC 14601.2, VC 14601.4 or VC 14601.5 driving on a suspended license conviction will remain on your DMV record for 13 years – after 13 years you can make a request to the DMV to purge (remove) this violation from your record.
Free to Drive: End driver’s license suspensions for unpaid fines and fees
More than half of the states in the United States continue to suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew driver’s licenses for failure to pay traffic, toll, misdemeanor, and criminal fines and fees on time. As a result, millions of individuals are struggling to make ends meet because they were unable to pay a court fine or charge — or because they missed a court hearing — resulting in debt-related driving limitations. On February 5, 2019, more than a hundred ideologically diverse organizations came together to form Free to Drive: a coalition united by the belief that restrictions on driving privileges should be reserved for dangerous driving only, not for the purpose of coercing debt payment or punishing people who fail to appear in court.
Which states have enacted reforms in 2021?
In only one year, the governors of ten states — Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, Utah, and Washington — have approved legislation to overhaul their respective states’ legislative systems. However, there is still more work to be done in this area. In our most recent overview of changes for 2021, we provide advocates with ten essential issues to consider when evaluating current and future actions.
Read our 2021 recap and key questions for evaluating ongoing and future efforts
Check out the interactive maps provided by the Free to Drive campaign to see which states still suspend drivers for failing to pay fines and penalties, as well as failure to appear for a court hearing. The states that have approved changes as well as those that have proposed legislation may also be seen here.
Get the facts about debt-based restrictions on driving
People’s livelihoods are jeopardized when their driving privileges are suspended. 86 percent of Americans drive to work, and a driver’s license is required for many positions. You won’t be able to transport your children to school, shop for food, or seek medical attention unless you have a driver’s license. Many individuals are forced to continue driving, which means they run the risk of accruing further fines and costs, as well as being charged with a crime and being imprisoned. The suspension of licenses has a negative impact on economic growth.
License suspensions endanger the public’s well-being.
You can help us end this cruel practice in every state.
Poverty should never be a factor in determining who is allowed to drive. However, millions of people are currently losing their driver’s licenses simply because they are unable to pay penalties and fees due to financial constraints.
You may show your support for the Driving for Opportunity Act by signing the Free to Drive petition in favor of the Act’s goal of abolishing debt-based driving limitations. Take action right now.
Free to Drive Steering CommitteeCoalition
Individuals should never be restricted in their ability to drive because of their financial circumstances. Yet millions of individuals are losing their driving privileges right now because they cannot afford to pay the penalties and levies that have been imposed on them. Sign the Free to Drive petition in favour of the Driving for Opportunity Act to show your support for the repeal of debt-based driving limitations. Now is the time to act.
Introduction and explanation of the Driving for Opportunity Act 2021 Senate Driving for Opportunity Act 2021 Bill Text in its Complete Form Letter of Support for Senate Driving for Opportunity Act 2021 2017-2021 Figure 14 (Powerpoint) illustrating DLS Reforms as of March 1, 2021. 2017-2021 On 3/1/2021, the DLS Reforms Graphic was updated to include 14 states (via Twitter).
Reforms to Driver’s License Suspension are among the victories expected in 2020. Driving for Opportunity Act Explainer: What it is, what it does, and what it means for you. The full text of the Driving for Opportunity Act may be seen here. The Free to Drive Coalition sent a letter to the Senate on July 16 on the Driving for Opportunity Act. Twenty-four attorneys signed a letter of support for the Driving for Opportunity Act in 2020. 50+ organizations have signed a general letter of support for the Driving for Opportunity Act.
Poverty should never be a factor in determining who is permitted to drive.
How do I get my driver’s license back
The suspension of a driver’s license can be caused by a variety of factors, including several traffic offenses, conviction for driving while drunk, being involved in an accident while not having vehicle insurance, and being medically determined to be unfit to drive. It is important to note that just because your license has been suspended does not imply you are without choices. It is possible to get your Texas driver’s license reinstated if your license has been suspended by the Department of Public Safety.
DPS doesn’t simply mail your license back after the suspension is over
When a driver’s license is suspended, some people assume that their license will be returned to them once the suspension time has expired. Unfortunately, it is not as straightforward as it appears. It is your responsibility to obtain your license back, which may necessitate multiple procedures.
Steps for getting your license back
If your Texas driver’s license has been suspended, you must complete the following three steps in order to get it back:
- Maintain the status quo during the suspension term
- Meet the prerequisites for reinstatement
- And pay the reinstatement costs.
Every one of these three stages, which might change based on the cause for the suspension, can be completed online using the Texas Department of Public Safety’s online licensing eligibility program. You may also go there to check on the status of your license and whether or not it is still valid. The charge to restore a driver’s license in Texas is typically $125, however the amount may vary based on the type of infraction committed. You will need your driver’s license number, birthdate, last four digits of your Social Security number, payment for the reinstatement fee, and submission of any required documents, such as compliance documents or a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate, in order to reinstate your license through this service.
The Department of Public Safety accepts mail-in applications for license reinstatement if you do not choose to use the online portal to complete the process instead.
Possible Additional Requirements
Depending on the sort of suspension you got, you may be needed to complete extra criteria in order to have your driver’s license reinstated in the state of Texas. If your license was suspended for medical reasons, you may be needed to submit your medical information as well as pass a driving test before you can regain access to your driving privileges and get your license reinstated. If your license has been suspended because of a DWI or DUI, you may be required to complete an alcohol education program, a drug offender program, and/or install an ignition interlock device before your license may be restored.
I can assist you if you have questions regarding restoring your driver’s license after it has been suspended in the Waco region.
Make a phone call or send an email today to talk with someone about your situation.
Reinstating your Driver License or Driving Privilege
Those who have had their Texas driver’s license or driving privilege suspended, revoked, cancelled or refused, must go to thelicense eligibilitywebpage to find out what they must do in order to have their licensing or driving privilege restored by the Department. In order to make it as convenient as possible for you, we have provided many methods for submitting your compliance items and any reinstatement fees.
It is possible to pay the reinstatement costs online on thelicense eligibilitywebpage. This is the quickest and most convenient method of submitting your money, with processing lasting between 24-48 hours on most systems.
Compliance Documentation without Reinstatement Fees
If you do not owe any costs or if you have paid your reinstatement fees online, you must submit any outstanding compliance items by mail, fax, or email unless you have waived the requirement. It is required that any materials sent through email be in PDF format. To ensure that your driving record is accurately identified, please provide your full name, date of birth, and driver license number on each document you submit, as well as a copy of your suspension notice if one is available. Please allow for a processing time of 21 business days.
Box 4087Austin, TX 78773-0320Fax Number:512-424-2848Email:[email protected] Address:Texas Department of Public SafetyEnforcement and Compliance ServiceP.O.
Compliance Documentation with Reinstatement Fees
When paying your reinstatement cost online is not possible, you must submit your money together with your compliance documentation to the location shown below. To ensure that your driving record is accurately identified, please provide your full name, date of birth, and driver license number on each document you submit, as well as a copy of your suspension notice if one is available. Please allow for a processing time of 21 business days. Texas Department of Public SafetyCentral Cash ReceivingP.O.
Box 15999Austin, TX 78761-5999 In order to obtain further information about license suspensions and reinstatement fees, please see theFrequently Asked Questionswebpage or download theDriver License Enforcement Actions chart, which has a comprehensive list of driver license suspensions and revocations.
WA State Licensing (DOL) Official Site: Suspended Washington driver license
Learn how to obtain and prepare for an administrative hearing to challenge a driver license suspension.
Types of suspensions
Learn about driving license suspensions and how to get your license back if it has been suspended or revoked.
DUI (Driving Under the Influence)
Driver license suspensions and revocations are discussed, as well as how to reinstate a license that has been suspended or revoked.
Minor in possession
Find out what happens to your driver’s license if you are detected in possession of alcohol, drugs, or guns while under the age of eighteen (18).
Financial responsibility (SR-22)
Learn how to obtain proof of financial responsibility, as well as how long you will be required to furnish it.
Restricted driver licenses
The Ignition Interlock License (IIL) and Occupational/Restricted License (ORL), which enable you to drive while your normal driver’s license is suspended, are discussed in detail here.
Ignition interlock device (IID)
Find out when an ignition interlock device is necessary, as well as how to obtain one for your vehicle.
Learn how to reinstate your license
Enter your information into License eXpress to receive tailored instructions on what you need to do in order to reinstate your WA license. They contain everything that is necessary to obtain your license as well as step-by-step instructions.
Reinstate your driver’s license
You will need to do the following in order to get your license back:
- Check your license status and determine if any further criteria are required for your individual situation. Pay the reinstatement charge, which is determined by the kind of infraction committed
One or more of the following examinations may be needed of you in order to restore your Class D, Class M, commercial driver’s license (CDL), learner’s permit, or other driver’s license classification.
- The Class D learner’s permit exam, the Class M learner’s permit exam, the Class D road test, the Class M road test, the CDL learner’s permit exam, and the CDL road test are all available.
If you have had your learner’s permit or driver’s license suspended or revoked for more than two years, you will be forced to retake the whole exam (learner’s permit exam and road test) in order to regain possession of your license. Following a review of an operator’s record, a Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) Hearings Officer may find that the operator is needed to take a learner’s permit exam and/or a road test for suspensions or revocations that have been shorter than two years. Minor operators are needed to complete the learner’s permit exam and/or road test in order to re-apply for their driver’s license in Massachusetts, according to state statutes.
Fees for Reinstate your driver’s license
Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 90, Section 33, determines the amount of reinstatement costs that must be paid. They are priced from $100.00 to $1200.00.
How to request Reinstate your driver’s license
In order to get your learner’s permit or driver’s license reinstated, you must provide the following documents to an RMV Service Center: application that has been completed A charge that is pplicable (s) The majority of Service Centers accept cash, checks, money orders, as well as credit and debit cards. Because payment methods differ from one place to the next, be sure you know which ones are accepted at the establishment you will be visiting. If you have satisfied all of the conditions, you can pay your reinstatement costs over the internet.
More info for Reinstate your driver’s license
In order to restore your license, the RMV may ask you to complete one or more of the following classes or programs:
- NSC/Massachusetts driver retraining program
- State Courts Against Road Rage (SCARR)
- Driver Attitudinal Retraining
- Drug or alcohol therapy and/or education program
- Youth Alcohol Program (YAP)
For further information, please go to the prerequisite coursework or programs page.
Contact for Reinstate your driver’s license
The Tennessee Code of Criminal Procedure 55-10-425 states that all drivers convicted of DUI violations occurring on or after July 1, 2016 will be restricted to operating only vehicles equipped with a functional ignition interlock device for a minimum of three hundred and sixty-five (365) days after being granted a driving privilege once the conviction is overturned. Installation documentation from an approved ignition interlock supplier must be sent to the Department via electronic means. Minimum 365-day requirement using a compliance-based approach Removal The use of an ignition interlock device is needed for a minimum of 365 days or for the whole duration of the driver license revocation term, whichever is greater.
It is possible for the motorist to begin using an ignition interlock device during the statutory revocation period if he or she applies for a restricted license during that time.
If you fail to comply with this condition, the interlock requirement will be applied once your license has been reinstated.
For more information on obtaining a restricted license, please see the following links:To locate a Tennessee approved ignition interlock provider, as well as information on compliance-based removal and other ignition interlock-related questions, please see the following links:Ignition Interlock Program Help Center.
Please call our office at 866-903-7357 if you wish to obtain an out-of-state exemption.
Once authorized, you will not be required to comply with the 365-day ignition interlock requirement in Tennessee while you are a resident of another state during that time.
The minimum 365-day requirement will begin when your license is issued.
Implied Consent / Refused to Test– If you have broken the implied consent statute under T.C.A. 55-10-406, and you have not been convicted of any of the following crimes in the five years prior to the date of the offense, interlock may be waived.
- Implied Consent under T.C.A. 55-10-406
- Underage DWI under T.C.A. 55-10-415
- Open Container Law under T.C.A. 55-10-416
- Reckless Driving under T.C.A. 55-10-205 where the charged crime was T.C.A. 55-10-401
- And Reckless Driving under T.C.A. 55-10-205 where the charged offense was T.C.A. 55-10-401.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI)– If the DUI satisfies the following criteria, the interlock device may not be required.
- Your violation was due to alcohol alone, and your blood alcohol content (BAC) was less than.08 percent, or your violation was due to drugs alone, with no alcohol present. A test must have been completed and the results of that test must be available, including the percentage of blood alcohol content (BAC), AND
- You were not accompanied by a person under the age of 18
- You were not involved in a reportable traffic accident or the accident was not the proximate result of the DUI
- And you did not have a prior DUI within the 10 years prior to the date of the current DUI violation
- T.C.A. 55-10-425T.C.A. 55-10-409
- T.C.A. 55-10-409
Please call our department at 866-903-7357 if you would want to request an interlock certification waiver. Request that the court complete the waiver, and then send the completed waiver to our Department for consideration. The person shall be required by default to install and use a functioning ignition interlock device for a minimum of 365 consecutive days or for the entire duration of the driver license suspension period if the court fails to make a specific finding that T.C.A. 55-10-409(b)(2)(B) is not applicable in the instant case, if the finding made by the court is incomplete, or if the finding does not contain sufficient information to allow the department to determine the applicability.
When it comes to regaining your driving privileges, the Department of Safety and Homeland Security offers several simple options, including online, in person at driver service centers around the state, and by mail. The 1150 Foster Avenue location in Nashville is no longer accepting reinstatement requests in person. If you need to reinstate your driver’s license, please visit the Driver License Reinstatement Center listed below.
Use the internet to find the most expedient mode of reinstatement accessible. The Tennessee driver license number and the last name as it appears on the driver license must be known by the driver in order to be eligible to reinstate his or her license online. Additionally, payment for online reinstatement must be made using a valid credit or debit card. Re-establish on-line:
In Person Driver License Reinstatement Centers
To complete your driver license reinstatement in person, go to one of the Driver License Reinstatement Centers mentioned below. Please keep in mind that the days and hours of operation for reinstatements differ from place to location. Before heading to a Reinstatement Center, be sure you study the most recent Closure Advisories for any revisions that have occurred. WARNING: It is possible that it will be required to stop accepting applications prior to the closing time specified below in order to finish processing by the end of the business day.
- in order to complete all processing by 4:30 p.m.
- To get reinstatement criteria, please visit the Reinstatement Call Center website or call the toll-free number 866-903-7357 (option 1).
- Davidson County is located in the state of Tennessee.
- 135-770-5701 Antioch, Tennessee 37013615-770-5701 Monday through Friday, there will be a reintroduction of services.
- to 5:00 p.m.
- state of Ohio.
- to 5:00 p.m.
- state of Ohio.
- 423-334-3127 Chattanooga, TN 37416-416423-634-3127 Monday through Friday, there will be a reintroduction of services.
- to 5:00 p.m.
430 Montbrook LaneKnoxville, TN 37919865-690-6393 West Knoxville Driver License Reinstatement Center 430 Montbrook LaneKnoxville, TN 37919865-690-6393 Reinstatements 30 minutes before closing on Mondays and Fridays, and 30 minutes before closing on Saturdays and Sundays (Eastern Time) Obion County Driver License Reinstatement Center 1604B West Reelfoot AvenueUnion City, TN 38261731-884-2133 Obion County Driver License Reinstatement Center Reinstatements 30 minutes before closing on Mondays and Fridays, and 30 minutes before closing on Saturdays and Sundays (Central Time) Shelby County is located in the U.S.
state of Tennessee.
To reinstate via letter or email, please provide the driver’s full name, date of birth, social security number (if one has been issued), postal address, and phone number in the body of the correspondence. Please provide the driver’s license number from Tennessee as well as the cause for the cancellation, suspension, or revocation, if applicable. The United States Postal Service Taking Financial Responsibility for the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security Nashville, TN 37202 PO BOX 945Nashville, TN 37202 Delivery via Courier (UPS, FedEx, DHL, etc.) Taking Financial Responsibility for the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security The address is 1150 Foster Ave.
The processing of reinstatements in person is no longer available at this location.
Information regarding reinstatement is accessible 24 hours a day, seven days a week through the department’s automated phone system. The Tennessee driving license number must be provided in order to get reinstatement requirements through the automated telephone system. Reinstatement clerks are available to assist you Monday through Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Central Standard Time (CST). Contact us toll-free at 1-866-903-7357. IN ORDER FOR TTY OR TB USERS TO CONTACT THE RELAY SERVICE, THEY SHOULD CALL (615) 532-2281 or FAX (615) 242-3480.
Payment Plan Information
In some cases, the Department of Safety and Homeland Security will accept payments in installments for certain reinstatement costs. Driver Services Centers that accept reinstatement payment plans are limited in their ability to handle them. If you’d like additional information about the payment plan, please see ourPayment Installmentspage.
Driver’s License Issues in Kansas
The Kansas Legislature approved Senate Bill 127, which took effective on May 6, 2021, and made several modifications that can be extremely beneficial to persons who have had their driver’s license suspended for an extended period of time.
Table of Contents
To learn more about a certain issue, select it from the drop-down menu.
Among the changes
People who have an expired license are not barred from participating in the Restricted Driver’s License program because they were convicted of driving while their license was suspended. Despite the fact that you were convicted of driving while suspended and subsequently your license expired while your license was suspended, you may be able to regain your driving privileges on a limited basis. Return to the top of the page
How do I apply for this?
While a COVID emergency order (State order) is in effect, you should submit your application directly to COVID using the form provided below. In order to be eligible for this program, you must have previously had a Kansas driver’s license. You may be required to apply at a local driver’s license office to take a written exam, a vision test, and, most likely, a driving test if your license has been lapsed for more than a year and the COVID emergency has been resolved.
You’ll need access to a car for this (but you’ll need someone to drive you because you don’t have a driver’s license). Because you have an examiner in the car with you, you are not need to have your driver’s license with you when taking the driving test. Return to the top of the page
Find the form here:
While a COVID emergency order (State order) is in effect, you should submit your application immediately using the form provided below. Any Kansas license you have previously held will be taken into consideration for this program. You may be required to apply at a local driver’s license office to take a written exam, a vision test, and, most likely, a driving test if your license has been expired for more than a year and the COVID emergency has ended. As a result, you’ll require transportation (but you’ll need someone to drive you because you lack a driver’s license).
Return to the beginning of the page
An extra 90 day suspension or revocation after the terms of the original suspension are met has been removed.
Return to the top of the page On July 21, 2020, a webinar on Driver’s License Issues in Kansas was held to provide information. The presentation’s slides are available below. Here is a recording of the webinar in video format.
Driver’s License Status
If you wish to find out the current status of your Kansas driver’s license, go to this page. Return to the top of the page
Suspended Driver’s License
According to the most recent figures from the Kansas Department of Revenue, more than 213,000 Kansans had their licenses suspended, with over half of them hailing from Sedgwick County and the City of Wichita. Around 71 percent of these suspensions are the direct result of unpaid penalties and court expenses, according to the statistics. Drivers who have their licenses suspended may be eligible to apply for a limited license in certain circumstances. A limited license entitles the holder to the following privileges when driving:
- To and from work and school
- To and from drug or alcohol therapy
- To and from a medical appointment or during a medical emergency
- To and from a doctor’s appointment or during a medical emergency During the course of your job, you will Any location where you are ordered to travel by a court of law
- Those who have restricted licenses have a period of up to 12 months in which to pay off penalties and court expenses before their license is revoked. It costs $25 to apply for a limited license, and you must also submit a paperwork requesting that your suspension be modified in order to do so. It is critical that you pay any reinstatement or administrative costs owed to the DMV prior to submitting your application. You may find that form here. You can reach Driver’s Solutions at (785) 296-3671 option 3 if you have any questions about whether you are liable for reinstatement or administrative fees.
Once you have completed the form, you can either submit it online through the Department of Revenue Customer Service Center or send it together with the application fee to the following address:
- Division of Vehicles
- Driver Solutions
- PO Box 2021
- Topeka, KS 66612-2021
- Division of Vehicles
DUIs and Ignition Interlock Devices
If you have been convicted of driving under the influence, you have most certainly been advised that you must have an ignition interlock device put in your car. On January 8, 2020, the Kansas Department of Transportation announced an addendum to the Ignition Interlock Program saying that “all new ignition interlock devices will have a camera beginning on that date.” More information about the Ignition Interlock Program, including where to get the device fitted or removed, may be found at the following link:Top of page
Driving Tests and Driver’s Education
Please be advised that the DMV is not conducting driving exams at this time. All writing examinations and eye tests must be planned in advance; some appointments can be made over the phone, while others must be made online using Q-Flow (Quality Flow). Some people are apprehensive about taking their driving exams. Take practice tests online to make yourself feel better prepared for the written test. You may also get a copy of the driver’s manual online or request a paper copy from your local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
In Kansas, internet-based courses do not fulfill the requirements for obtaining a driver’s license.
A certificate of completion from an Internet Driver Education course will not be recognized as proof of completion for the purpose of obtaining a driver’s license.
When in doubt about whether a program has been approved, you can call the Kansas Department of Education at 785-296-8107 or the Kansas Department of Transportation at 785-296-3671. Driver’s education lessons are available via AbilityKC and the Kansas Department of Education. Back to top
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Please be advised that the DMV is not currently conducting driving exams. There are no walk-ins for writing examinations or vision tests; all appointments must be planned in advance through Q-Flow, which may be done over the phone or online. Some people are apprehensive about taking their driving examinations. Take practice tests online to make yourself feel more prepared for the written exam. You may also get a copy of the driver’s manual online or request a print copy from your local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
A driver’s license in Kansas cannot be obtained through the use of the internet.
It will not be possible to obtain a driver’s license if you have a certificate of completion from an Internet Driver Education course.
AbilityKC and the Kansas Department of Education both provide driver’s education lessons.
- Through the link provided below, you may construct a release of responsibility form for use in this situation. As a result, you are freeing the other motorist from any liability that may arise as a result of the accident, and you are also receiving a release from that individual. In a circumstance when this is a suitable consequence, this should be employed
- Nonetheless, Everyone who was in the automobile when the wreck happened (as mentioned on the police report) must sign a release of liability form before you can proceed. You will not be able to get a release from a minor under the age of 18. Even if the other driver was not involved in the collision, you will need a release from the owner of the other vehicle. This form should be used only if you believe the other driver was at fault and wish to recover money from them for medical bills, lost wages from work, or damage to your vehicle. Do not use this form in its current form if you believe the other driver was at fault and wish to recover money from them for these reasons. If this is the case, you should simply fill out the first paragraph of the form. In order to make this work, you must alter the title to Release of Liability and delete the last paragraph. If you click on this link, you will be able to create a document on LawHelp Interactive, a nationwide site that hosts forms developed by Kansas Legal Services personnel. You have the option of creating an account or not. You will only be able to store your answers if you register for an account. This form is available for download and printing. You may send it to yourself via email. You’ll need the names of the other people that were participating, which you can find on the list above. In order to complete the form, you will need to know the date and location of the accident. You may get the form here:
Is it possible for me to obtain a limited license if my license has been revoked?
- No, sadly, after your license has been revoked, you will be required to wait a minimum of three years before being eligible to apply for any other lawful license. The driver’s license status check will show you the precise day on which you are eligible
- However, this is not guaranteed.
What steps do I need to take in order to obtain a restricted license?
- First and foremost, you must determine whether or not you are eligible. Using our Guide Clearly tool, which can be found under the Suspended License category, you may do this task. If you are eligible, you may apply by completing the form that is linked to in the instructions.
Is there any way for me to get my reinstatement cost reimbursed?
- You can ask the court to waive the reinstatement cost if you qualify. The Reinstatement Fee Waiveras well as the Financial Affidavit will be required in order to complete this process. The Financial Affidavit must be executed in the presence of a notary public.
What is the reason for the high reinstatement charge or administrative fee?
- For repeat offenders, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) charges increased administrative costs. High reinstatement costs can result from a variety of factors, including refusals to take preliminary breath tests, DUI convictions, and driving while suspended convictions. When in doubt about why your price is more than normal, you may contact driver’s solutions for a breakdown of the costs and a copy of your driving record
- If you have any questions regarding your fee, please contact driver’s solutions.
How can I obtain an unrestricted license once I have obtained a limited license?
- Those who are granted limited licenses are given a 12-month period from the date of their award to settle any and all outstanding court charges and fees owed to the court system. You will be able to obtain your unrestricted license once you have successfully paid off all of your court fines and penalties. The suspension of your limited license will take effect if you do not pay up all of your court charges and fees within 12 months after receiving them.
Is it possible for me to take my written driver’s exam online?
- No, despite the fact that there are several practice tests and study tools available, the written driver’s exam is only available in person. Any online exam or driver’s education course will not satisfy the test criteria for obtaining a driver’s license
- This is true for both commercial and noncommercial drivers.
What should I do if the name or birthdate on my driver’s license does not match the name or birthday on my birth certificate?
- It is necessary to provide documentation of your identification to the DMV in order to have this issue resolved. If your driver’s license and birth certificate have a different name or date of birth, you will need to go to the DMV to get it corrected. If the name on your driver’s license is correct, but you require a legal name change in order to modify your birth certificate, you can find name change petitionshere
- If the name on your driver’s license is incorrect and you require a legal name change in order to modify your birth certificate, you can find name change petitionshere
What should I do if I have a problem with identity theft that is hurting my driver’s license?
- If you have a problem with identity theft that is interfering with your ability to drive, you can file a complaint with the DMV’s identity theft team for assistance. It is possible that you may need to get court documents in order to establish your identification or to demonstrate that someone else has impersonated you. Individuals’ signatures or contact information may be found in court documents, for example. If someone was arrested and booked into jail using your name, you may also wish to call the jail where they were detained and get a copy of their booking picture. It may take a number of business days to process these requests.
The DMV’s identity theft team can assist you in resolving any issues related to identity theft that are interfering with your ability to get a driver’s license. To verify your identification or to demonstrate that someone else has impersonated you, you may need to get court documents. Individuals’ signatures and contact information may be found in court documents. For those who have been arrested while using your identity, you may wish to call the jail where they were detained and ask for a copy of their booking photo.
Apply to Kansas Legal Services for Additional Help
If you have a problem with identity theft that is interfering with your ability to drive, you can file a complaint with the DMV’s identity theft team. To verify your identification or to demonstrate that someone else has impersonated you, you may need to acquire court documents. Individuals’ signatures or contact information may be found in court documents.
If someone was arrested and booked into jail using your name, you may also wish to call the jail where they were detained and get a copy of their booking photograph. It may take a number of business days to process these requests;
Reinstating Your Driving Privileges
Your driver record contains information regarding the current state of your driver’s license, which you may access by reading it. When it comes to seeing your driving record, the BMV provides two options:
- It is possible to examine your driving record online for free using the Viewable Driver Record(VDR) system. Official Driver Record(ODR) is a service that allows you to download and print a certified copy of your driving record. The BMV has certified the ODR certified copy, and this letter is included with the copy. Having a verified driver’s record is required by several workplaces and school admissions departments. Obtaining an ODR costs $4, and you may obtain one by submitting a completedRequest for Certified Records – State Form 53789 to the BMV.
It is possible to see your driving record online for free using the Viewable Driver Record(VDR). It is possible to download and print a certified copy of your driving record using the Official Driver Record (ODR). A letter of certification from the BMV is included with the ODR certified copy. Having a verified driving record is required by several workplaces and school admissions departments. Obtaining an ODR costs $4, and you may obtain one by submitting a completedRequest for Certified Records – State Form 53789to the BMV.
Steps to Reinstate Your Driver’s License
The Reinstatement Conditions section of your Driver Record outlines the requirements you must meet in order to restore your driving privileges after a period of suspension. You should check the Suspensions Information section for further information since you may be subject to a court-ordered or administrative suspension, which may include insurance suspensions, that has unfinished business with the Department. Those who have been suspended by a court must contact the court in which they were suspended to find out what they must do to regain their license.
By purchasing SR22 insurance, you may be able to prevent the court-ordered ban from taking effect.
If you are subject to an insurance suspension and have proof of insurance for the vehicle and date in question, the suspension can be lifted by requesting that your insurance provider submit a Certificate of Compliance (COC) to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), which will then remove the suspension.
This is accomplished by purchasing SR22 coverage.
STEP TWO: Proof of Financial Responsibility
Your insurance company is required to send proof of financial responsibility immediately to the BMV via electronic submission. Only your insurance provider has the authority to submit evidence of insurance on your behalf. Drivers are not permitted to bring their insurance policy documentation to the BMV. For those who are subject to an insurance suspension, the submission of an SR22 from your insurance provider will allow you to resume your driving rights, and the continued submission of an SR22 for 180 consecutive days will result in the termination of the insurance suspension.
When facing a Failure to Appear/Pay suspension, you have two options: either settle the suspension with the court or submit an SR22 to have the penalty stayed (staying the suspension).
Proof of financial responsibility must be sent directly to the BMV by your insurance provider via an electronic submission system. Only your insurance company has the authority to submit proof of coverage on your behalf. Automobile insurance policy documentation is not accepted by the BMV. For those who are subject to an insurance suspension, the submission of an SR22 from your insurance provider will allow you to resume your driving rights, and the continued submission of an SR22 for 180 consecutive days will result in the termination of that insurance suspension.
- Logging onto your myBMV account
- Dialing 888-692-6841 (using the access number given on your notification)
- Or visiting your local DMV office. Using the reinstatement voucher included in the Reinstatement notification, or by visiting one of our self-serviceBMV Connect kiosks.
If you do not have your reinstatement voucher, you can download theReinstatement Fee Submission Form to submit your reinstatement fee. Note:When determining whether to pay the reinstatement fee instead of keeping SR22 coverage for 180 days, you may want to examine the cost comparison.
STEP THREE: Check Your ODR Status
If you want to keep track of your license status, you may do so by checking your ODR in your myBMV account which is completely free. Obtaining a replacement driver’s license will require you to visit a BMV branch or log into your myBMV account if your driver’s license was taken away by law enforcement as a result of your suspension. Obtaining a replacement driver’s license will require you to visit a BMV branch or order a replacement driver’s license online.
Still Have Questions?
Send us an email if you have any questions about driver education programs. Send an email to [email protected]