How to Apply for Your Full (Adult) Driver’s License
- 1Apply in person. You can apply at your local MVD office or authorized third-party driver license provider.
- 2Complete the application form.
- 3Provide required documentation.
- 4Pass a written knowledge test.
- 5Pass a road test.
- 6Pay the licensing fee.
- 7Get your temporary card.
What do I need to transfer my driver’s license to Arizona?
Documents for an Arizona Driver’s License
- Proof of identity (birth certificate U.S. passport, military ID card, etc.)
- Proof of social security number.
- A completed AZ Driver’s License application (you can also fill one out at our office)
- Current and valid driver’s license from your previous state, if applicable.
Can I get an Arizona driver’s license online?
You can replace your Arizona driver license or ID online at AZMVDNow.gov. Continue with online license replacement.
Do you have to be an Arizona resident to get a driver’s license?
Resident Definition State law requires that Arizona residents who drive and/or own a vehicle(s) obtain an Arizona driver license and vehicle registration(s) as applicable.
How long can I drive in Arizona with out-of-state plates?
If a customer was unable to leave the state within the 90-Day period, a 30-Day general use permit may be issued. A 90-Day Non-Resident Permit is valid in Arizona or any other state. These permits are issued for vehicles sold by new and used motor vehicle dealers, and private parties.
Can I register a car in Arizona with an out-of-state license?
Vehicles. To title and register your out-of-state vehicle, you will need an out-of-state title (or registration, if title is held by lienholder), a lien clearance, if applicable. An emission test compliance form (Phoenix and Tucson areas only) if required.
What counts as proof of residency Arizona?
Approved documents are: Valid Arizona driver’s license, Arizona identification card, or motor vehicle registration. Real estate deed or mortgage documents. Property tax bill (most recent) Valid Residential lease or rental agreement (signed by both landlord & tenant)
Can you take the written driving test online in Arizona?
Teenage Arizona drivers who need to take the written driver test to get an Instruction Permit can now take that test online with appropriate supervision.
Do you have to take a written test to get your license in Arizona?
The written test for a regular driver license consists of 30 multiple-choice questions. Questions are taken from the Arizona Driver License Manual. Please thoroughly study the manual before taking the test. A score of 80 percent or higher is required to pass the examination.
How do I transfer my out-of-state driver’s license to Arizona?
I’ve Got a Valid Out-of-State Driver’s License
- Apply in person. You can apply at your local MVD office or authorized third-party driver license provider.
- Complete the application form.
- Provide required documentation.
- Turn in your out-of-state driver’s license.
- Pass a vision test.
- Pay the licensing fee.
- Get your temporary card.
How long do you have to change your driver’s license when you move to Arizona?
If You’re Moving Within Arizona You have 10 days after your move to update your Arizona driver’s license with your new address when moving within the state (and no, changing your address with the post office isn’t going to cut it).
How do I become a Arizona resident?
- You work in Arizona (other than for seasonal agricultural work).
- You are registered to vote in Arizona.
- You place children in school without paying the tuition rate of a nonresident.
- You have a business with an office in Arizona that bases and operates vehicles in this state.
Can you register a car online in Arizona?
Renewing online is the fastest, most convenient and secure way to renew your vehicle registration. Note: You do not need a renewal notice to renew your registration online.
What documents do I need to register my car in Arizona?
In order to register your car in Arizona you need:
- Valid Arizona Driver’s License.
- Emissions Test (if applicable)
- Proof of Insurance.
- Proof of Ownership.
- Lien Details.
- Signed Application.
How long do you have to live in Arizona to be considered a resident?
And the Arizona Department of Revenue considers a person who lives in Arizona for nine months of a taxable year to be a resident.
Obtaining a Driver License
MVD provides various different sorts of licenses.
Where To Go
- Official MVD Offices
- Authorized Third Parties- These are privately owned and run businesses that have contracted with the MVD to offer driver license, title, and registration services.
The MVD Offices and Authorized Third Parties are privately owned and run businesses that have contracted with the MVD to offer driver license, title, and registration services.
Proof of Identification, Age and Authorized Presence
In accordance with Arizona Revised Statutes sections 28-3158(D)(5) and 28-3165(F), which operate under the authority of 42 U.S.C. sections 405(c)(2)(C) and 666(a)(13)(A), you are obliged to submit your Social Security number. In order to comply with federal and state child-support enforcement regulations, your information will be utilized to authenticate your identification. It will not be utilized in conjunction with your driver’s license or identity card.
Arizona law necessitates the submission of documentation demonstrating that your presence in the United States is allowed by federal law.
- Driver’s license, identification card, Arizona Travel ID, commercial driver’s license, and other documents
The requirements may change at any time without prior notice.
New to AZ – Welcome!
Thank you for visiting and welcome to Arizona. As you begin to settle into our wonderful state, one of the first things on your to-do list will be to get an Arizona driver license and car title, as well as to register your automobiles. That’s our department, the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) of the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), and we want to make the transactions as quick, easy, and secure as possible. It is possible to finish your transactions at one of the more than 40 state offices located across Arizona.
- These businesses have agreements with the Arizona Department of Transportation to provide motor vehicle services.
- Hours and locations are shown below.
- You should become familiar with the websites ServiceArizona.com and AZ MVD Now.gov.
- Sincerely, Director of the Motor Vehicle Division, Eric R.
State law mandates that you get an Arizona vehicle registration and driving license as soon as possible if any of the following circumstances apply:
- You are employed in Arizona (except from seasonal agricultural employment)
- You are a registered voter in the state of Arizona. You enroll children in school without having to pay the higher tuition cost charged to nonresidents
- You own a company that has a branch office in Arizona and bases and operates cars in the state. You pay the same costs for a state license or school tuition as an Arizona resident when you move to the state. You own a company that operates cars to transport products or passengers throughout the state of Arizona. Regardless of where you live permanently, you must spend a total of seven months or more in Arizona during any calendar year.
Irrespective of whether or not they are employed, out-of-state students enrolled in at least seven semester hours are not considered Arizona citizens. Residents of Arizona who are active duty military personnel stationed in the state and who qualify for an exemption under the Service Members Civil Relief Act of 2003 are not considered residents of the state.
How to Get an AZ Drivers License
Packing boxes, loading the truck, and dealing with motor vehicle officials are all part of the moving process to another state. In Arizona, changing your address is simple, and acquiring a new driver’s license is a simple process that will be completed quickly. Before you can properly establish yourself as a resident of the Grand Canyon State, you’ll need to immediately update your driver’s license and car registration information to reflect your new address.
GG Dis is a third-party motor vehicle department with locations around the greater Phoenix region that may assist you in applying for a new driver’s license.
How Long Can I Wait to Establish Residency?
Upon establishing residency in the state of Arizona, you are required to have your motor vehicle division (MVD) address changed immediately. If you intend to live in Arizona for at least seven consecutive months, register to vote, work in the state, or operate a company in the state, you can consider yourself a resident-to-be. Schedule a visit to a GG D office during the week after your move-in to complete the documentation necessary to make your residency official.
Documents for an Arizona Driver’s License
You should keep in mind that you will need to go to a real motor vehicle department rather than completing the process online if you want to obtain your Arizona driver’s license. Because federal rules will require an acceptable form of identification for travel beginning in October 2021, we will assist you in obtaining Travel ID. Keep in mind, however, that if you have another kind of federal identification, such as a passport book or card, you are not required to have a Travel ID denotation on your license.
The Arizona Department of Transportation provides information and tools for new residents who are relocating to the state.
- Identification documents (birth certificate, U.S. passport, military ID card, etc.)
- Proof of citizenship A copy of your social security card
- Proof of your identity. An application for an Arizona driver’s license that has been completed (you may also fill out an application in our office)
- If appropriate, you must present a current and valid driver’s license from your prior state. two pieces of identification proving your residence
If the name on your proof of identity does not match the name on your driver’s license or identification card, you will need to provide extra documentation to prove your name change. All of these papers will help to ensure that the procedure runs well and that everything is in order. Our driver’s license and identification website will provide you with all of the information you want.
Car Registration Process
Along with the application for a driver’s license, you will be needed to register your automobile in the state where you live. The renewal of your license can be completed at the same time as your renewal of your license. Make sure you bring the following items:
- They require proof of ownership (auto title)
- If the vehicle is financed, they will require o/s registration.
You may also be needed to take an emissions test, which may be completed at the location where you are staying. If you require additional time to finish your car registration, Arizona will issue you with a temporary automobile registration for up to 30 days to allow you to settle in until your permanent registration is completed. GG D Motor Vehicle Services offers offices in Phoenix, Mesa, and Glendale to assist you in completing the procedure much more quickly and efficiently. Convenience and efficiency are our specializations when it comes to getting clients in and out as quickly as possible so that they can get situated into their new home state and complete their move.
Ultimate guide to getting your driver’s license in Arizona
The most recent revision was made in February 2020. The following is a step-by-step guide to obtaining your driver’s license through the Arizona DMV. We’ve made the procedure as simple as possible for you so that you can save time. Obtaining your driver’s license in Arizona will necessitate the acquisition of certain documents.
- Completed Driver License/Identification Card Application (Form 40-5122)
- Proof of identity, age, and legal presence in Arizona
- And a copy of your driver license or identification card.
- A minimum of two papers from the entire list of approved documents (both originals and certified copies must be submitted)
- Proof of Social Security number
- Proof of out-of-state driver’s license (if applicable)
- And proof of citizenship. Payment for a Class D driver’s license cost is calculated depending on your age and is as follows:
- 16 to 39 years old: $25
- 40 to 44 years old: $20
- 45 to 49 years old: $15
- 50 years old and older: $10
- 16 to 39 years old: $25
- Payment of the $7 charge for the Learner’s Permit (if applicable)
What You’ll Have to Do in Order to Get Your Arizona Driver’s License
- Take written practice tests online and read the Arizona Driver Manual as a first step. Step 2: Submit an application for your Learner’s Permit.
- Take written practice exams online and read the Arizona Driver Manual in Step 1. Apply for your Learner’s Permit at the second step.
- Involving yourself in a driver’s education program
- • Completing supervised driving training, including 10 hours at night (must be accompanied by an adult front-seat passenger who is at least 21 years old)
- Step 4: Start the license procedure by submitting an application to the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) online.
- Fill out the preliminary application form
- And Make a list of your unique identification requirements. Obtain a copy of the application papers to submit to the MVD.
- Step 5: Go to your local Motor Vehicle Division office (optional: arrange an appointment! )
- Please submit all of the necessary documentation and identification. Perform satisfactorily on the eyesight test (if applicable)
- Pass the written examination (if one is required)
- Pass the driving test (if one is required)
- Obtain a replacement for your out-of-state license (if appropriate). Submit the relevant payment information. You will be issued a temporary driver’s license.
- Step 6: You will get your new Class D driver’s license via the mail.
Cautionary Notes and Exceptions
- Do you have a valid out-of-state driver’s license? The MVD will most likely waive the written and road exams at that point. No need to practice driving before taking the road test, is that correct. If this is the case, you do not require a Learner’s Permit. Are you under the age of eighteen? Afterwards, either a parent or guardian will need to sign your application with the MVD as a witness, or the application signature will need to be notarized. Do you require a REAL ID? Please see our Arizona REAL ID website for more information on the requirements.
Need other Arizona DMV help for free?
Use the above invite link to get 15 days of free Skip* *service, which includes unlimited DMV appointments and DMV chat help.
This offer is valid just this week. YoGov can assist you in obtaining your driving license in the United States. Book a car and driver with Driving Test Concierge to assist you in passing your road test.
How To Get An Arizona Driver’s License & What Are The Requirements
There are a slew of compelling reasons to consider relocating to Arizona. There’s a lot to like about the Grand Canyon State, from the pleasant weather to the breathtaking scenery, the innovative economy to the numerous cultural attractions and activities. If you’re intending to relocate to Arizona, you should create a checklist of the tasks you’ll need to complete once you’ve established into your new surroundings. One of the first tasks on your to-do list should be to obtain a new driver’s license in the state of Arizona.
Choose the right type of driver’s license.
The state of Arizona offers a slew of compelling reasons to relocate. There’s a lot to like about the Grand Canyon State, from its pleasant weather to its breathtaking scenery, its innovative economy to its cultural attractions. You should create a checklist of the things you’ll need to complete once you’ve moved into your new house in Arizona if you’re thinking of making it your permanent residence there. A new Arizona driver’s license should be one of the first things on your to-do list when you move to Arizona.
- Operator license (Class D): Drivers with a class D license are permitted to operate any vehicle, with the exception of motorcycles and commercial vehicles. You must be at least 21 years old to obtain this license. Travel ID: Beginning on October 1, 2020, the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) will tighten its limitations on airport travel. If you do not have an authorized travel ID, you will be required to travel within the United States using a passport issued by the United States. It is important to note that, even with a travel ID, you will require a passport for foreign travel. Motorbike license: To apply for a motorcycle license, you must be at least 16 years old.
Arizona has both DMV offices and third-party suppliers of vehicle services that have been approved by the state. Providers such as Arizona Motor Vehicle Express, who specialize in third-party services, are often more convenient. Extensive weekend and holiday hours, as well as availability on minor holidays, are available upon request.
Bring the necessary documents.
If you’re unclear about what to bring, you can contact the approved third-party source to find out more. A valid out-of-state driver’s license will be required in the majority of circumstances. It is permissible if your license has expired, but only if you apply for a new license within one year of the date on which your current license expired. You can also bring an official Motor Vehicle Record to show that you previously held a driver’s license in another state. Additionally, you will be required to produce one of the following documents to confirm your identity:
- Original birth certificate
- United States certificate of birth abroad
- Enhanced tribal card
- United States passport
- Active duty, reserve, or retired United States military identification card
- United States certificate of naturalization or citizenship
Additional documentation with your Social Security number must be brought to the interview. You have a choice between the following options:
- Social Security card
- W-2 form
- SSA-1099 form
- Non-SSA 1099 form
- Pay stub
- And other related documents.
You must also provide documentation proving your Arizona residence. Bring a document or piece of mail that provides your entire name and residence address, as well as any supporting documentation. In order to carry mail, it must have been issued by a business, corporation, or government institution.
Prove a legal change of name.
When applying for a driver’s license, some applicants use a name that is different from the name that appears on their primary form of identification. Assuming this is the case, you will be required to demonstrate that the name change was lawful. You should have notified the Social Security Administration of your name change at least 24 hours before applying for a driver’s license in order to avoid delays. Then you can produce one of the following documents to establish that you have changed your name:
- Documents such as a marriage license or certificate, a divorce decree, an adoption decree, and a court-ordered name change paperwork
Complete the application process.
If you want to save time when you go to the approved third-party provider, you can start your driver’s license application online first. Following that, and if you have collected all of the necessary documentation, you may proceed to the DMV facility to complete the procedure. It is possible that you may require a vision exam, which can be conducted in the office. If you already have a valid driver’s license from your former state, you will most likely not be required to take the written and driving exams in this state.
With our handy location in Tucson and our extended hours, drivers may get the services they need promptly and effectively at a reasonable cost. We invite you to contact us immediately at (520) 219-8852 to learn more about our world-class driver’s license processing services.
How to Get an AZ Driver’s License and How to Transfer a License to Arizona
It doesn’t matter if you’re getting your license for the first time or transferring your license from another state; there are a few procedures you must follow in order to discover how to receive an Arizona license. Driving a motorbike in Arizona necessitates the acquisition of an Arizona driver’s license, which is accessible to new drivers who are 16 years old or older. If you are relocating to Arizona from another state, you can also seek assistance with transferring your license. While you will not be needed to provide as many documents as you would be if you were applying for a passport, you will still require documentation to confirm your identity.
Check out the information provided below to learn more about the specific stages involved in obtaining an Arizona driving license.
Arizona Driver’s License RequirementsSteps
Whether you’re getting your license for the first time or transferring your license from another state, there are a few procedures you must follow in order to understand how to acquire an Arizona driver’s license in Arizona. Driving a motorbike in Arizona necessitates the acquisition of an Arizona driver’s license, which is accessible to new drivers who are 16 years old or above. If you are relocating to Arizona from another state, you can also seek assistance transferring your license. You will still require documentation to confirm your identity, even if you do not need as many documents as you would for a passport.
Check out the information below to learn more about the specific stages required in obtaining an Arizona driving license.
A new Arizona driver’s license may only be obtained if the applicant meets a few basic standards. The Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) sections 28-3158(D)(5) and 28-3165(F) require you to give ADOT with your social security number if you wish to obtain your driver’s license. Your social security number will be utilized by ADOT to verify that you have made all of your child-support payments once you have provided it to the agency. In addition to your social security number, you will be required to provide proof that you are legally permitted to be in the United States.
If you want to learn more about how to obtain an Arizona driver’s license, you should visit the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) department that is nearest to your area.
Applying for Your License
The written knowledge exam and the driving test are both required to obtain a new Arizona driver’s license. Additionally, you must pass a vision exam in addition to your driving practice. In the following step, the sort of AZ license application you’ll require will differ based on your current age. Applicants who are between the ages of 15 12 and 18 years old will be required to apply for an instruction permission.
Individuals who are between the ages of 16 and 18 who satisfy the qualifications can apply for a graduated license in the state of California. Anyone above the age of 18 can obtain a complete driver’s license at the time of application.
- If you want to drive big commercial vehicles, you can earn a commercial driver’s license in one of three classes: Class A, B, and C. The weight of the vehicle determines its classification. Those between the ages of 16 and 18 are eligible to get a Class G driver’s license under the graduated licensing program. It functions essentially in the same way as a conventional driver’s license, however it has additional restrictions than an adult license. Operator License: Also known as a class D license, this license allows you to operate any vehicle other than a motorbike or a commercial vehicle. You must be at least 18 years old in order to obtain this license. Class M Motorcycle License:A Class M motorbike license allows you to operate a motorcycle, however you must be at least 18 years old to obtain a new Arizona driver’s license for motorcycles
- Instruction Permit: Teens can obtain an instruction permit if they are at least 15 12 years old and have completed their high school education. Applicants can also submit an application for a motorcycle instruction permit. If the kid wishes to apply for this license, they must do it in the company of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old. The permission is valid for a period of 12 months. Arizona Travel ID: An Arizona Travel ID serves as both a driver’s license and a travel identity card for traveling inside the state. If you are traveling within the United States, you can use it at any TSA checkpoint operated by the Transportation Security Administration (TSA). By October 1, 2021, you will only be permitted to travel within the United States with a form of government-issued identification. Driver’s License for Those Under the Age of 21: Until you reach the age of 21, all licenses in the state of Arizona are displayed horizontally on the windshield. Once you reach the age of 21, all of your new licenses will be shown vertically on your driving license.
The Process of Applying for a License
What documents are required to obtain an Arizona driver’s license? In order to discover how to apply for an Arizona driver’s license, the fundamental stages are uncomplicated and easy to understand.
1. Fill Out an AZ License Application
You can apply for your license online before visiting your local MVD office. Anyone under the age of eighteen will require the agreement of their parent or guardian. This consent must be witnessed by a notary public or an agent of the Motor Vehicle Division.
2. Provide Proof of IdentityAZ Residency
Arizona license requirements state that you must bring along a proof of identification document as well as two other documents to confirm your residency in the state of Arizona. You can provide the MVD with your passport, passport card, or a certified copy of your birth certificate as identification. To prove your Arizona residence, you must present two pieces of documentation that contain your residential address in Arizona. Bank accounts, insurance policies, electricity bills, and credit card statements are examples of what you could find.
3. Pass the Vision Test
Following the presentation of your identification and residence documents, you will be required to supply your social security number and to undergo a vision examination. You must have uncorrected vision of 20/40 in at least one of your eyes in order to pass the test.
4. Pay the Fee for your AZ Driver’s License
Following the presentation of your identification and residence documents, you will be required to supply your social security number as well as conduct a vision examination. It is necessary to have uncorrected vision of 20/40 in at least one of your eyes in order to pass the test.
- People between the ages of 16 and 39: $25
- People between the ages of 40 and 44: $20
- People between the ages of 45 and 49: $15
- People between the ages of 50 and older: $10
- Military and student licenses: $10
Transfer Driver’s License to Arizona – RequirementsSteps
Obtaining a new driver’s license in Arizona is distinct from transferring your license from another state or jurisdiction. Is it possible to transfer your driver’s license if you were issued it in another state? Fortunately, obtaining an Arizona driver’s license while traveling outside of the state is a basic process. If you are relocating from another state, you may be able to transfer your license without having to retake either the road test or the written exam. According to Arizona licensing standards, you just need to complete the following steps in order to begin the process of obtaining an AZ driving license right now.
Step 1: Gather the Requirements
To obtain your Arizona driver’s license, you will need to collect the items listed below.
- Two pieces of documentation from the list of acceptable papers to prove your age, identity, and Arizona residence
- Your driver’s license from another state
- You must provide proof of your social security number. Fee for a Class D driver’s license
Step 2: Prepare Your Application
What documents are required to obtain an Arizona driver’s license? You should begin by completing the online application for an Arizona license. Prepare a list of the types of identification documents you’ll need, and then bring it all to the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).
Step 3: Go to the MVD
After locating the nearest MVD document, you should submit your identification and supporting documentation. After that, you’ll have to undergo a vision exam. Because of your out-of-state license, it is quite likely that you will not be required to take a written or road test.
At this point, you must present your out-of-state license to the MVD and pay the applicable licensing charge. In this step, if everything has been done successfully, you will be issued a temporary driver’s license.
Step 4: Get Your Class D License
Now that you have obtained your temporary license, you are prepared to begin driving in Arizona. Your permanent license should arrive in the mail within a few weeks.
Agency Locations – Make an Appointment at the Agency
You must visit the MVD in person if you want to learn more about how to obtain an Arizona driver’s license. You can schedule an appointment with the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division online at AZMVDNow.gov. Appointments for road tests, driving license renewals, Travel IDs, and other MVD services can be scheduled in advance. However, while you may submit your AZ license application in person at the Motor Vehicle Division, Arizona is one of the few states that allows you to obtain your license via a third-party.
Alternatively, you can visit an MVD branch near you.
Before visiting any of the MVD offices in person, you must schedule an appointment with the branch manager.
Nothing but showing up at your scheduled appointment time and waiting for your turn is required.
You are permitted to drive in Arizona with an out-of-state license under certain conditions. To distinguish itself from other states, Arizona will even allow overseas tourists to drive if they have a valid driver’s license from their native country.
What is proof of residency in Arizona for getting a driver’s license?
The name of the adult driver, or the name of the driver’s parent if the driver is a juvenile, must be displayed on the residence document. Additionally, it should provide a physical description or the address of the driver’s place of residence. The documents listed below have been authorized.
- A valid Arizona driver’s license, AZ motor vehicle registration, or identity card
- A property tax bill
- Payroll stubs
- A Section 8 agreement with the state of Arizona
- And other supporting documentation. a credit card or a bank account statement a charge for services
- Documents pertaining to a real estate transaction or mortgage
- On-base lodging
- And other benefits Rental agreement or lease that is in good standing
- Veterans Administration documents, Arizona Department of Economic Security documents, tribal agency documents, state documents, federal documents, and Social Security Administration documents are all acceptable.
How long do you have to live in Arizona to get a driver’s license?
Arizona considers you to be a resident if you dwell in the state for at least seven months out of the year. Technically, none of the licensing criteria specify how long you must have been in the state before you may apply for a license. If you already have leases, utility bills, and other comparable papers to show your presence in the state, you can proceed with the application process without delay.
Is an Arizona driver’s license valid for travel?
The driver’s license issued by the state of Arizona will be valid until October 20, 2021. After October 2021, the TSA will only accept identification that has been approved by the federal government. If you have an Arizona Travel ID, you will be able to pass through any TSA checkpoint.
Can I renew my driver’s license online in Arizona?
The process of renewing your Arizona driver’s license is straightforward. When you sign up for AZMVDNow.gov, you can complete almost the whole procedure from the comfort of your own home. Then all you have to do is pick the option to renew your membership right now and follow the on-screen instructions.
How long does it take to get your license in the mail?
It is possible to receive your Arizona driver license in the mail in as little as five days, but you should plan on it arriving in your mailbox for up to 15 days.
You can lawfully drive with your temporary license until your permanent license is delivered to your address.
How do you replace a lost driver’s license in Arizona?
If you lose your driver’s license, replacing it is a simple process. The website AZMVDNow.gov will provide you with all of the information you need to know about applying for an Arizona driver’s license. Replacement of your driver’s license is made simple by using the internet.
How can I update the address on my Arizona driver’s license?
In the state of Arizona, changing your address is absolutely free of charge. After moving, you must notify the city of your new address within 10 days after the move. To update your address, visit AZMVDNow.gov or get in touch with the MVD. You will need to submit your driver’s license number, your name, and your date of birth in order to alter your address.
How long is an Arizona license good for?
Arizona is unique in that you may keep your driver’s license for more than a decade without having to renew it. Once you have obtained your license, it will remain valid until you reach the age of 65. All you have to do is get your photo taken again every 12 years.
Take the Next Steps to Get Your AZ Driver’s License
For the first time in the nation, Arizona allows drivers to keep their licenses for more than a decade. You will be able to drive till you are 65 years old if you have obtained your driver’s license. Everything is simple; you only need to get your photo taken every 12 years or such.
How to Obtain a Driver License in Arizona
Article in PDF format Article in PDF format To lawfully operate a car in the state of Arizona, you will require an Arizona driver’s license, regardless of whether you have just migrated or are just starting to drive. It makes a difference whether you are a first-time driver or a transfer from another state when it comes to the process of obtaining an Arizona driving license. In addition, if you are replacing a driver’s license that has been lost or stolen in Arizona, you will need to follow particular procedures.
- 1 Determine the eligibility standards for participation. When you move to Arizona, you must obtain a driver’s license in the state of Arizona as soon as possible. It is necessary to attend your local Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) office as soon as possible if any of the following conditions apply:
- First, determine whether or not you are eligible. When you move to Arizona, you must obtain a driver’s license from the state of Arizona as soon as possible. It is necessary to attend your local Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) office as soon as possible if any of the following circumstances apply:
- Preparing for your visit to the MVD office will need you to collect approved forms of identification in order to confirm your age, identification, and legal presence in the United States before you can proceed. In order to obtain a license from your local MVD office, you will be asked to present two papers, one of which must be a photocopy. If you do not have a photo identity card, you will be required to provide three different types of documentation. Unless otherwise specified, every document you provide must be an original or a certified copy.
- It is necessary for one of your papers to be a main document, which must include your date of birth and may include upgraded driver licenses from other states, birth certificates, passports, and military identification cards. Among the additional papers that can be used are secondary documents that do not have to include your birth date, such as Social Security cards, selected service cards, W-2 forms, concealed carry permits, credit cards, and school identification cards.
- 4Scanning and printing your completed package. If you didn’t finish your application online, you can print off your completed form to bring with you. You should take the completed form, together with your different pieces of identification, and your current license to your nearest Arizona MVD office. 5Return your out-of-state driver’s license. At the MVD, you will be asked to relinquish your existing license from another state
- This will be done at the time of your appointment. 6 Pass a vision test with flying colors. When you visit the MVD office, you will almost always be subjected to a vision examination. The test is basic and is intended to determine the health of your eyes for the purpose of driving safety. 7 Make the needed payment. In Arizona, licensing costs are calculated depending on your age at the time of application. Due to the fact that Arizona licenses expire on the day of your 65th birthday, this is necessary. Consequently, the older you are, the sooner your license will expire and the less expensive your license will be
- The price is $25 if you are between the ages of 16 and 39. It costs $20 if you are between the ages of 40 and 44. If you are between the ages of 45 and 49, the charge is $15
- Otherwise, the fee is $25. If you are 50 or over, the charge is $10
- Otherwise, the fee is $25.
- 1You must be at least the required minimum age. In order to be eligible for any driving privileges in Arizona, you must be at least 15 years and six months old. You can get a learner’s permit if you are under the age of majority. If you are 16 years old and complete all of the other conditions, you can apply for a Class G graduated driving license. When you reach the age of eighteen, you will be eligible for a Class D regular driver’s license. 2 Enroll in a driving education program. If you are at least 15 years and six months old, you can enroll in and complete a driver education course that has been approved by the state. Your course will include 30 hours of classroom teaching as well as six hours of hands-on training in the vehicle.
- If you successfully finish this course, it will fulfill the criteria for 30 hours of supervised driving that you must meet in order to obtain your Class G driver license.
- 3 Obtain a learner’s permit in order to drive. Even if you do not enroll in a driver education course, you can still apply for a learner’s permit at your local Motor Vehicle Division office. It is necessary for you to complete a Driver License Application (Form 40-5122), which must be signed by your parent, when you visit your local Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) office. You will also be required to provide identification in the same manner as you would if you were applying for a standard driving license. Following that, you will be required to complete a vision and writing exam. Following successful completion of these examinations, you will be required to pay a fee of $7 in order to obtain your learner’s permit.
- The written test is rather lengthy, so you should prepare thoroughly before going to the MVD.
- 4Keep track of the number of hours you spend driving under supervision. It is legal to drive with a learner’s permit so long as you have a licensed driver who is 21 years or older in the passenger seat in the front of the vehicle at all times. With your learner’s permit, you should strive to accumulate a total of 30 hours of driving time. Ten of the hours should be spent sleeping
- 5 Learn to drive with a Class G license. A Class G driving license will be available to you once you have reached the age of sixteen and have kept your learner’s permit continuously for six months. Additional requirements include logging the requisite 30 hours of supervised driving time or passing the driver education course. Visit your local Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) office and complete the following requirements:
- Time-tracking hours spent with a supervising driver Your learner’s permit will allow you to drive as long as you have a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older with you in the front seat at all times while you are behind the wheel. With your learner’s permit, you should aim to accumulate 30 hours of total driving time. It is recommended that 10 of those hours be spent at night. 5 Obtain your Class G driver’s license by passing the required tests. A Class G driving license will be available to you once you have reached the age of 16 and have kept your learner’s permit continuously for six months. Additional requirements include logging the requisite 30 hours of supervised driving time or passing the Driver Education course. Visit your local Motor Vehicle Division office and complete the following steps:
- 4Keep track of the hours you spend driving under supervision. Your learner’s permit will allow you to drive as long as you have a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older with you in the front seat at all times. With your learner’s permit, you should aim to accumulate a total of 30 hours of driving time. Ten of those hours should be spent sleeping. 5 Obtain your Class G driver’s license by passing the driving test. A Class G driving license will be issued to you once you have reached the age of sixteen and have kept your learner’s permit continuously for six months. Additional requirements include logging the requisite 30 hours of supervised driving time or passing the Driver Education Course. Visit your local Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) office and complete the following steps:
- Despite the fact that it is highly advised that you do so, it is not a legal obligation, and failure to complete this step will not affect your ability to obtain a replacement.
- 2Visit the MVD office in your area. If your name has changed, or if your license was issued before to July 1995 (in order to receive a new photo), you must replace your old license in person if your name has changed. 3You must provide identification as verification of your identity. The same pieces of identification that you would need to submit if you were renewing an out-of-state license will be required when you visit your local Motor Vehicle Division office. Make the needed payment. The cost of replacing a lost or stolen license with a duplicate card is $12. Most MVD offices will accept cash, checks, and credit cards
- However, some may not. 5 Make use of the internet system in Arizona. If you do not have to go to an MVD office in person, you might want to think about ordering a duplicate license online instead. To begin, go to the website and click on the option that says “double driver license.”
- Go to your local Motor Vehicle Department office. If your name has changed, or if your license was issued before to July 1995 (in order to receive a new photo), you must replace your old license in person if your address has changed. Proof of your identification must be provided in Step 3. The same pieces of identification that you would need to submit if you were renewing an out-of-state license will be required when you visit your local MVD office. Obtain payment for the charge. Obtaining a duplicate of a driver’s license will cost you $13. A cash, check, or credit card will be accepted at most MVD offices. 5 Make use of the online system provided by Arizona State University. If you do not have to go to an MVD office in person, you might want to think about ordering a duplicate license on the internet instead. Begin by visiting and clicking on the icon for a “second driver’s license.”
- 6Make a phone call to the MVD. In the event that you do not have access to a computer and do not wish to visit the MVD office, you can contact them at 800-251-5866. Inform them that you need to submit an application for a duplicate and they will assist you from there. Using your credit card, you will pay the $12 service charge over the phone. Your driver’s license should come in approximately four weeks. 7 Send your application through the mail. Motor Vehicle Division, P.O. Box 2100, MD 510, Phoenix, AZ 85001. You can also send a written request, together with a check for $12 (made payable to Motor Vehicle Division), to the following address: Motor Vehicle Division, P.O. Box 2100, MD 510. Your request should contain your name, date of birth, Social Security number, Arizona address, and the reason for why you want a copy of your identification. Your new driver’s license should come within four weeks after placing your order. Advertisement
Inquire about something There are 200 characters remaining. Include your email address so that you may be notified when this question has been resolved. SubmitAdvertisement
About This Article
Summary of the ArticleXTo receive a learner’s permit in Arizona, you must be at least 15 years and 6 months old. You must also have completed a driver’s education course. In addition, you must complete a minimum of 30 hours of supervised driving experience. To obtain your permit, you must first complete all of the requirements and then submit an application to your local Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) along with the $7 application fee. If you have just relocated to Arizona from another state, you must complete Form 40-5122, which may be accessed on the website of the Arizona Department of Transportation.
Then you must relinquish your out-of-state license and pay the $10 to $25 charge to be issued a new license in your home state.
Did you find this overview to be helpful?
Did this article help you?
Arizona Auto License Service is responsible for all aspects of the issuance of your driver’s license.
There is no need to schedule an appointment for any service at AZ AUTO. (Appointments are required for ADOT State offices.)
- Exams of the eyes
- Written and verbal tests
- And driving ROAD TESTS (restricted to four places). Avondale, Bell, Carefree Hwy, and Flagstaff are among the locations. ROAD TESTS for driving are NOT AVAILABLE AT ANY of the LaveenThomas locations. The following services are available: Driver License Renewal, Driver License Renewal Reinstatement, Driver License Replacement
- Name Changes
- Commercial License Duplications
- Address Changes
- And Medical Certification Updates. There are no other commercial driver’s license services offered
- On-site photographing — we make certain that you are satisfied with your photograph
Simply refer to the page on needed Identification credentials to ensure that you are bringing in the right information and credential documents to the meeting. We’ll take care of the rest. Resources that aren’t included on this page
- Frequently Asked Questions about the ADOT Drivers Service
- ADOT Non-Travel Identification Requirements
- ADOT Voluntary Travel Identification Requirements
- Travel ID Guide
Driver’s License for Non-Travel Situations Arizona Voluntary Travel Identification Card New Requirements for Driver’s Licenses and Identification Cards Beginning in October of 2021 An endorsement for your Arizona Driver License or Identification Card will be required in order to use your license or identification card at TSA security checkpoints, as well as for entry to restricted areas of federal buildings, nuclear power plants, and military bases.
We provide all of the same services as the Arizona Department of Transportation’s Motor Vehicle Services.
- Bring only one document: identification proof (birth certificate, U.S. passport, or passport card)
Ordering an Arizona birth certificate online with expedited processing is now available through the Arizona Department of Health Services if you want a certified copy of your state’s birth certificate.
- Bring one piece of documentation: proof of social security number (social security card or W-2 form)
To order a replacement Social Security card, go to the Social Security Administration’s website and create an account with the agency.
- Bring the following two documents: Documents showing proof of Arizona residency (utility bills, credit card or bank statements, insurance policy, etc.) must be included with your application. Note: If your current legal name differs from the name that appears on a document, you must provide legal documentation of the name change, such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order to prove the name change.
Those who do not have the appropriate residence documentation must fill out anArizona Residency Affidavit and provide additional proof of residency before they may be admitted. Information on the Background A valid Arizona Travel ID is the only credential that conforms with the federal REAL ID Act of 2005, which was passed in 2005. In addition to the driver’s license, it is also available as an identification card. In the card, there is a gold star placed in it to indicate that the cardholder has submitted additional proof of identity in order to guarantee that the license or ID fulfills stringent government standards.
Please keep in mind that the rules for foreign travel remain the same, and that a valid passport or equivalent will be necessary for travel outside of the country.
- The Practice Tests are divided into three categories: Practice Test1, Practice Test2, Practice Test3, and Practice Test1 – Spanish. The Practice Tests are also divided into three categories: Practice Test1 – Spanish, Practice Test2 – Spanish, and Practice Test3 – Spanish.
Did you know that?. You Can Now Take the Permit Test at Home. Then come on over to visit us. Upon completion of the application form and administration of the written test, we will award you with your permit. Individuals above the age of 18 will be required to take the exam in person, and there is no additional charge. Under 18 Permit applications will require the signatures of a legal guardian on the application, as well as their presence to sign and authorize. Please keep in mind that at this moment, Permit Test @ Home is only available to youth under the age of 18.
Following the creation of a free, personalized account on the MVD’s new portal, AZ MVD Now, parents or legal guardians can administer the Permit Test @ Home program to their children.
Teens should familiarize themselves with the Arizona Driver Manual and complete the online practice exams before trying the Permit Test @ Home in Phoenix.
An examiner will accompany you in your car and provide you with detailed driving instructions.
It is possible that road tests will be postponed owing to inclement weather or safety concerns. It is necessary to have paper copies of the Insurance Card and the Registration. Parking exam:You will be needed to pass a parking test before you are allowed to drive on the open road.
It is important to note that a parent or legal guardian will be needed to accompany a young driver who is applying for a driver license in most states.
How to Get an Arizona Driver’s License
Obtaining a driver’s license in Arizona may be an exciting moment for teens and young people alike. The state of Arizona, like many other states, has implemented a Graduated Drivers License scheme. In order to help younger drivers through the process of learning to drive, the GDL program gradually increases their driving privileges after each level they complete. You will discover all you need to know about getting your driver’s license in Arizona, whether you are a teen or an adult, in this blog.
Driver’s Permit (Ages 15 ½ to 18)
You will be eligible for your Arizona learner permit when you become 15 and a half years old. With your permit, you will be able to practice driving with an adult who is 21 years old or older and who has a valid driver’s license in your presence. For those above the age of 18, you can skip this stage and begin with a full license instead of a provisional license. To apply for your permit, you’ll need to go to your local Arizona Motor Vehicle Division. If you are under the age of 18, you will need to have your parent or legal guardian accompany you and give their approval.
Provide two instances of primary documentation in your response.
These documents must demonstrate your identity, date of birth, Arizona physical address, and legal presence or citizenship in the United States.
Your vision will be evaluated to guarantee that your eyesight will not give you any problems when driving on the highway or in traffic. You must have a vision score of 20/40 or greater in at least one eye in order to be considered. The Arizona Department of Motor Vehicles (MVD) will test you on road signs and traffic rules around the state. The knowledge test consists of 30 multiple-choice questions. To pass, you must get 24 accurate answers out of a possible 30 for an overall score of 80 percent.
Zutobi, on the other hand, has you covered!
To guarantee that your eyesight will not give you any problems while driving, your vision will be examined. Applicants must have 20/40 vision or greater in at least one of their eyes. Your knowledge of road signs and traffic rules will be tested by the Arizona MVD all around the state. The knowledge test consists of 30 multiple-choice questions about various topics. If you want to pass, you must get 24 right answers out of a possible 30. However, there is no reason why you should be penalized for making a mistake on the test.
Zutobi, on the other hand, has your back! In addition to a comprehensive manual and practice exams for the Arizona driver’s license, Zutobi provides a variety of interactive modules to ensure that users pass their examinations with flying colors.
- Unless they are direct relatives (siblings, parents, or legal guardians), it is illegal to drive on public roads with more than one passenger under the age of eighteen. You are not permitted to drive between the hours of 12am and 5am unless you are:
- You are accompanied by an adult who is 21 years old or older and has a valid driver’s license
- You’re on your way to or from the office. You’re traveling to or from school, or to or from a school-sponsored activity
- You’re on your way to or from a religious gathering. It is necessary for you to drive because of a family emergency.
In the company of a licensed driver, you must be 21 years old or older to enter the country. You’re on your way to or from the office; You’re driving to or from school, or to or from a school-sponsored activity. While travelling to or from a religious event, consider the following scenarios: It is necessary for you to drive because of a family emergency;
Graduated Arizona Driver’s License (Ages 16 to 18)
The Graduated Driver License (GDL) program is the next stage after obtaining your GDL. You will be granted a few additional rights, but you will still be required to drive supervised for the most of the time in order to be legally permitted to operate.
To be able to proceed to this level of the licensing procedure, you will need to satisfy the standards outlined in this document.
- Maintain your permission for a minimum of six months. Drive under supervision and submit one of the following documents.
- Completion of 30 hours of supervised driving practice, in addition to 10 hours of night driving
- Proof of successful completion of an Arizona MVD-approved driver education program
How to Get a Graduated License
In order to apply, you will need to go to your local Arizona MVD with a parent or legal guardian present with you. To plan a road test, you will need to make an appointment with the testing center.
Step 2: Complete Application Form
Form 40-5122will need to be completed and turned in to the MVD agent in order to proceed. You may either fill out the form online and print it, or you can just pick up a copy of the form in the office. For the paperwork to be legitimate, your parent or legal guardian must sign it in front of a representative from the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).
Step 3: Provide Required Documentation
You’ll be required to submit two different types of main documents. They will be required to give the following information:
- Proof of identification
- Proof of date of birth
- And other documents. Proof of Arizona residency or citizenship
- Proof of lawful residence or citizenship in the United States
Step 4: Pass Road Test
Driving skill in a range of conditions is tested during the Arizona road test, which is mandated by law. Park in a designated parking space, make three-point turns, maintain a safe following distance, and other skills will be tested during your interview. It is expected that you will be monitored and assessed on particular acts as well as your overall competence to operate a motor vehicle safely.
Step 5: Pay Licensing Fee
In Arizona, the charge for a graduated driver8217;s license is $25 each year. It will be evaluated at the time of the application process. You can pay for this charge by cash, cheque, credit or debit card, or money order if you live in the United States.
Graduated Driver’s License Restrictions
For the first six months, you are not permitted to drive between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m., unless you are driving with a parent, or unless you are driving to or from job, school, church, or in an emergency situation. You are not permitted to drive with more than one passenger over the age of 18 without the consent of a parent or guardian, unless the passenger is a sibling.
Full Adult Arizona Driver’s License (18+)
You can apply for a full Arizona driver’s license at the age of 18, regardless of whether you completed the GDL program or not. In the event that you have finished the GDL, you will be allowed to skip any examinations and obtain your license.
New Drivers Over 18
In the case of new drivers who have not yet completed the GDL, they will be required to pass both the written and road tests before they may be awarded a license. When you travel to the Arizona MVD, you will be required to submit Form 40-5122as well as the necessary paperwork.
Are you concerned about your next test? Although the test might be challenging, there is no reason why you should fail. Our interactive courses, summary manual, and Arizona permit practice tests will assist you in passing your permit exam.
Arizona Driver License Fees
If you are under the age of majority at the time of your application, you will be levied a license cost. The Arizona Department of Motor Vehicles accepts cash, checks, credit cards, and money orders. Ages 16-39: $25 per person $80 for those aged 40-44; $90 for those aged 45-49; and $90 for those aged 50 and beyond.
Everything you need to know about obtaining your driver’s license in Arizona is covered in this article. With all of these stages, you’ll want to be certain that you adhere to the directions to the letter in order to prevent any issues at the MVD office.
Arizona Drivers License: Your Step-By-Step Guide
If you’ve come this far, it’s safe to assume that you’re really excited about taking Arizona drivers ed. It’s true that you’re not very enthusiastic about drivers’ education, but we can see that you are quite enthusiastic about acquiring your driver license. You must either enroll in a drivers education class or complete 30 hours of driving practice before you can begin the actual “cruising down the Arizona highways” aspect of the experience. There are a few more requirements, which we’ll go over in greater depth later in this post, including as passing a written test, having an instruction permit, bringing certain paperwork to the DMV office, and a few other things.
Let’s get this party started!
Obtain Your Arizona Driver License in Three Steps
- Earn your learner’s permit and pass the Drivers Education course. Pass the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department’s road test
Step 1: Get Your Learner’s Permit
Let’s start at the very beginning. You are entitled to obtain an instruction permit, often known as a learner’s permit, when you are 15 years and 6 months old. All you have to do to get started is gather some identification documents and bring them to the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division location that is most convenient for you. Easy. Take a look at this list of all the paperwork you’ll need to bring with you. Once you arrive at the Arizona MVD office, you’ll be required to have your parent or legal guardian sign a learner permit application in the presence of an Arizona MVD representative before you may proceed.
Simply having a good pair of eyes will enough in the first instance.
The permit test itself is made up of multiple-choice questions, so you shouldn’t have any trouble with it, young scholar, especially if you’ve taken a couple of practice tests beforehand.
So it’s virtually the same price as a Starbucks Frappuccino, if not more.
Step 2: Take Drivers Ed
With your instruction permit in hand, you are now legally permitted to operate a motor vehicle (with an adult in the passenger seat, of course.) First and foremost, you’ll need lots of driving practice before you can throw your driver’s license in the trash and toss your parents to the curb (not literally, please). When it comes to obtaining an Arizona driver license, you can either log 30 hours of behind-the-wheel practice or enroll in a state-approved drivers education course to meet the requirements.
- There are several causes for this.
- Driving school might really save you money on your auto insurance premium.
- 3) What’s the harm in trying?
- Everything is excellent.
- There are several online drivers education programs available, many of which include behind-the-wheel instruction.
You may see a list of approved driving schools in Arizona by clicking here. If you opt to have a parent verify that you’ve completed 30 hours of driving practice instead, please sure to utilize this form to document your accomplishment.
Step 3: Pass the Road Test
You are now legally permitted to drive because you have obtained your instruction permit (with an adult in the passenger seat, of course.) First and foremost, you’ll need lots of driving practice before you can throw your driver’s license in the trash and kick mum and dad out the door (not literally, though). When it comes to obtaining an Arizona driving license, you may either accumulate 30 hours of behind-the-wheel practice or enroll in a state-approved drivers education school to meet the requirements.
- Many factors come into play.
- Driving school can really save you money on your auto insurance premiums.
- 3) Isn’t it possible?
- Every single thing was fantastic!
- Many online drivers education programs are supported with hands-on instruction in a real-world driving environment.
- Make sure to use this form if you want your parent to certify that you’ve completed 30 hours of driving practice instead of using this form.
Step 4: Drive On
Freedom. FREEDOM.FREEDOM. You have to make a sacrifice in exchange for what you receive. Welcome to the open road, my companion.