How Do I Replace A Lost Driver’S License In Texas? (Solution found)

Once the loss or theft is reported, you will need to request a new driver’s license by: Going to the local driver’s license office closest to you. Submitting your filled out Application for Renewal, Replacement, or Change of a Texas Driver License Form. You will use Form DL-43 to complete this step.

  • Visit your local Driver License Office. Submit a completed Application for Renewal/Replacement/Change of a Texas Driver License or Identification Card (Form DL-43). Bring acceptable proof of ID, which could include: 1 primary document (e.g. passport, military ID, etc.).

Can you replace a lost driver’s license online in Texas?

If you need to obtain a replacement without changing any information on the front of the card, you may use the Online Card Replacement feature, provided you have the following information: Your driver license or identification card number, Your date of birth, The last four digits of your social security number, and.

How long does it take to get a replacement drivers license in Texas?

Your new driver license or ID card will be mailed to you in two to three weeks. If you renewed, replaced or changed the address for a driver license, you need to print your temporary driver license (valid for 60 days) from the receipt page.

What documents do I need to get a replacement ID in Texas?

Texas Driver’s License or Identity Card

  1. Apply in person at any driver license office.
  2. Bring completed application (form DL-43) (also available at any driver license office)
  3. Pay the required fee.
  4. Provide documents to verify identity (for example, unexpired passports, marriage licenses, birth certificates, etc.).

Can I print my temporary license Texas?

A printer to print your temporary driver license or ID, which is valid for 60 days. You may also choose to receive the temporary driver license or ID by email, but you must print it in order for it to be a valid document.

How can I get my drivers license number without my card?

Typically, you’re required to keep a copy of your registration in your vehicle, so you may be able to find your driver’s license number that way. You also may be able to find your license number on any correspondence you received related to your registration, such as a renewal notice.

What should you do if you lose your driver’s license?

Request a Replacement Driver’s License In-Person

  1. Report Your License Lost or Stolen. Some states require you to file a police report if your driver’s license has been lost or stolen.
  2. Request an Appointment at the DMV.
  3. Complete the Replacement Request Form.
  4. Drop Off Your Paperwork at the DMV & Pay the Associated Fee.

How do I renew a lost drivers license?

How to replace a lost driver’s license

  1. Step 1: Secure an Affidavit of Loss.
  2. Step 2: Go to the nearest Regional LTO Branch.
  3. Step 3: Get and submit the forms.
  4. Step 4: Pay at the cashier.
  5. Step 5: Get your license card.

How do I get a temporary driver’s license in Texas?

You may purchase a 72- or 144-Hour Permit in the following ways:

  1. Purchase Online Now.
  2. At your local county Tax Assessor-Collector office.
  3. At your nearest TxDMV Regional Service Center.

Can you drive with a picture of your license in Texas?

Texas is one of 21 states that allow this use of DL photos for federal law enforcement.

Is a Texas identification card the same as a driver’s license?

A Texas driver’s license is not only a document demonstrating authorization to drive but it is also a nationally accepted form of identification that can be used to prove your identity. The Texas State ID is only used as an identification card.

Can I get my Texas ID online?

You can get your ID from your local driver license office, which also issues ID cards. To apply for your ID, get an application online or in person. Then, collect documentation to prove that you’re eligible to get a Texas ID.

Can you get a replacement state ID online?

You have the option of replacing a lost, damaged or stolen ID card online through online services. You must be a U.S. citizen with a valid Social Security number to replace an ID card online. Replacement ID cards will only be mailed to your residential address.

How can I get my ID online?

How to apply for a Smart ID online

  1. Step 1: Go on to the e-Home Affairs website and register.
  2. Step 2: You will receive an OTP (one-time pin) to confirm your cellphone number.
  3. Step 3: You will receive another OTP to login to your profile.
  4. Step 4: Complete your application form for a smart ID card.

How do I get a certified copy of my Texas drivers license?

Request a duplicate copy of my license?

  1. Log in to eLICENSING.
  2. Select “My Licenses and Plates” and follow the prompts to print or reprint a copy of your license.

How to Replace your Driver License, Commercial Driver License or ID Card

The Online Card Replacementfeature may be used if you need to receive a replacement without changing any of the information on the front of the card. You must have the following information to utilize the feature, however:

  • The number on your driver’s license or identity card
  • Your date of birth
  • Your gender
  • Those final four digits of your social security number, as well as the audit number on your most recently issued identification card

You will be needed to provide extra verification information if you do not have the audit number from your most recently issued card and wish to utilize theOnline Card Replacementfeature. This additional verification information comprises the following:

  • Your first and last names as they appear on your most current driver’s license or identification card
  • Your current mailing address as it appears on your most recent driver’s license or identification card, as well as
  • Providing answers to four distinct security questions

Name and surname as they appear on your most current driver’s license or identification card; In addition, please include your current mailing address as it appears on your most recent driver’s license or identification card, and four distinct security questions must be answered.

  1. Complete the application before to your arrival. In addition, all driver licensing offices have this paperwork on hand.) Make an appointment with the driving licensing office in your area. The following paperwork should be provided to the licensing and permit specialist:
  1. Replacement of the application, as well as identification (just one primary, secondary, or supporting document is necessary)
  • The following paperwork will also be required if you have not already submitted it:
  1. Citizenship in the United States alternatively, if you are not a citizen of the United States, proof of authorized residence in the country, as well as your Social Security number
  1. Please submit your thumbprint. Take a photograph of yourself
  2. Make payment for the application cost.

* You can find your audit number on your driver’s license or identity card by looking at it like this:

Report Stolen Cards

It is necessary to register a police complaint if your driver’s license or identity card has been stolen and is being used by someone else. To replace your stolen card, complete the steps outlined in the replacing your card section of this guide and bring a copy of your police report along with you. When the driver license office officials analyze your case, they will assess whether or not it is required to issue a new number to you. For additional information on preventing and combating identity theft, please see the website of the Texas Attorney General.

For further information, please see our Frequently Asked Questions on Lost or Stolen Driver’s Licenses and Identification Cards.

Section 4: Lost or Stolen Driver License/ID Card

It is necessary to register a police complaint if your driver’s license or identity card has been stolen and is being used by another party. To replace your stolen card, follow the steps outlined in the replacing your card section of our website and bring a copy of your police report along with you. When your case is reviewed, the driver license office staff will assess whether or not it is required to issue a new number. More information about identity theft may be found on the website of the Texas Attorney General.

Frequently Asked Questions about Lost or Stolen Driver’s Licenses and Identification Cards provides further information.

3. Can I order a replacement for my driver license/ID card online?

Yes. If you want to order a duplicate driver license or identification card online, you will need to know your name, date of birth, most recent audit number, and the last four (4) digits of your social security number or be able to answer security questions to verify your identity in order to log into the online system and place your order. Visit our webpage on How to Replace Your Driver’s License, Commercial Driver’s License, or ID Card for further information.

4. I am a resident of Texas who is currently in another state and I have lost my driver license or identification card. What do I need to do to get it replaced?

Obtaining a replacement driver’s license or identity card online is the most convenient method of replacing a lost driver’s license or identification card. Visit our Driver License Renewal, Replacement, or Change of Addresswebpage to see if you have all of the information you need to submit an online request for a replacement driver’s license.

It is possible to submit an application for replacement by mail, if you do not have the information required to replace it online. We will handle your application after it is received and reviewed.

5. I have been a victim of identity theft. Is it possible to get a new driver license/ID card?

It is necessary to register a police complaint if your driver’s license or identity card has been stolen and is being used by someone else. To replace your stolen card, complete the steps outlined in the replacing your card section of this guide and bring a copy of your police report along with you. When the driver license office officials analyze your case, they will assess whether or not it is required to issue a new number to you. For additional information on preventing and combating identity theft, please see the website of the Texas Attorney General.

For additional information about replacing your driver’s license, commercial driver’s license, or identification card, please see our webpage on How to Replace Your Driver License, Commercial Driver’s License, or ID Card.

7. If I need to replace my license, do I have to go to a driver license office in the county that I reside in?

No. To receive a replacement driver license or identity card in the state of Texas, you can go to any driver licensing office in the state. You may potentially be qualified to receive a replacement over the internet. In order to obtain further information, please see our webpage on How to Replace Your Driver License, Commercial Driver License, or ID Card.

8. I am not a resident of Texas. However, an officer took my license during a traffic stop in Texas and failed to return it. What should I do?

The Department of Motor Vehicles in your home state can provide you with more information on replacing your driver’s license. Alternatively, you can contact the law enforcement department in the city or county where the event happened while you were traveling.

9. I still cannot find the answer to my question, what do I do?

Even if you don’t find the solution to your issue in our FAQs, you can always reach out to our Customer Service Center for more assistance.

Texas Drivers License Replacement

Please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Service Center if you do not find the solution to your question in our FAQs or elsewhere on our website.

When You’re in Texas

It is extremely straightforward to obtain a replacement driver’s license if you have misplaced yours. Given that you no longer possess a main form of identification, the state will be forced to rely on alternate means of confirming your identity. A driver’s license office will require you to attend in person, along with another approved form of identification as well as your Social Security number. These can include the following:

  • Birth certificate, Social Security card, passport, proof of U.S. citizenship or naturalization, and a valid U.S. military identification card are all required.

Following your satisfactory identification, you can complete the form that will be provided to you and pay a price of $11 for a duplicate license, which is a one-time fee. After that, you’ll be good to go again.

When You’re Out-of-Town

What’s more difficult is figuring out what to do if your license is lost or stolen while you’re traveling out of state. If you’re traveling and want your license urgently, there isn’t much you can do at this time, regrettably. However, if you are willing to wait a few weeks and have relatives or friends who are willing to assist you in the meanwhile, there is an option available to you.

You’ll need to complete and submit:

  • A Texas Driver License and Identification Renewal/Duplicate Application
  • An Out-of-State/Country Application
  • A check or money order for the appropriate cost
  • And a copy of your Texas driver license and identification. Males between the ages of 18 and 26 will also be required to complete a United States Selective Service Registration form.

It’s also worth noting that if you’ve received a traffic citation within the previous year, you’ll be required to submit to an eye test at a local driver licensing office or by a doctor who is readily available.

If you live in Texas, your new license will be mailed to you, or it will be mailed to the address you specify on the Out-of-State/Country form if you live elsewhere. Wait three to four weeks, and your troubles will be resolved.

What About a Stolen License?

If you feel that your driver’s license has been taken, you should contact the police immediately. As soon as you are able, go to a driver’s license office and file a police report about the theft. You’ll be required to present proof of fraudulent conduct, and if the DPS accepts your evidence, you’ll be awarded a new drivers license number after completing the normal procedures for replacing a lost or stolen drivers license.

Replacement Of Lost Drivers License Texas

Have you misplaced, stolen, or damaged your license? Replace your Texas Drivers license right away to prevent a trip to the Department of Public Safety. In Texas, you may renew your license or permit in one of three ways: online, via mail, or in person. Among your alternatives are the following: Through the mail, in person at a DPS branch, or by sending an email. Every motorist has the option of going to any driver licensing office in person to obtain their license. Register with our website to receive your missing drivers license checklist, which you may print off.

See also:  How Much Is It For A Driver'S License? (TOP 5 Tips)

Please complete the form below to begin the process of replacing your Texas driver’s license.

In State Texas Drivers

  1. Preparation: Collect your identification and legal resident documents in this country (see the list of needed documents below for more information). You should be prepared to attend any of the Texas driver licensing offices. Look up the most recent costs and bring your payment with you. You should fill out the placement DL-43 application form ahead of time and bring it with you to the appointment. Please keep in mind that further identifying information about you will be requested for your protection. In some cases, you may be requested for information such as your birth date.

Stolen Texas Drivers License

You must report the theft of your driver’s license as soon as you become aware of it by going to your local police station and filing a police complaint. In order to acquire a new license with a new identification number, you will need to provide a police report number or evidence that the license has been improperly used in the past. Ensure that you jot down the names and phone numbers of everyone who has been of assistance to you. Visit any local Texasdriver licensing office and submit an application for the issue of a new drivers license number as the next step in the process.

The Texas Department of Public Safety will make the final decision.

It includes useful information about who to call in the event of an emergency.

Out of State Drivers

The Department of Public Safety can ship a replacement package to your out-of-state postal address using any of the following procedures:

By Mail

In order to have the product sent to you, please complete the following steps:

  1. Send an email to [email protected] with your request. In your email, please provide the following information:
  • Fill out the form and send it to [email protected] et al. Ensure that you include the following information in your email:

Non Military Drivers

  • The Out of State RIS-50, DL-43, and DL-15 Forms must be downloaded, completed, and signed by you. Please keep in mind that only male drivers between the ages of 18 and 26 are required to complete the DL-15 (Selective Service Registration part). Please keep in mind that you must sign using black ink. Only questions 1 through 4 should be answered on the DL-43 form. Make a note of your residence’s address. Make a note of your current out-of-state address (your license will be mailed to this address)
  • If the DPS does not have your Social Security number on file, you will be required to provide proof of your identity. Drivers who are not permanent lawful residents, United States citizens, United States nationals, refugees, or asylees are required to show proof of their legal status. Only if you’ve had any traffic citations in the last four (4) years is a vision examination necessary. The option of registering to vote will also be made available to you. It is possible that your photo will be used on your duplicate license if the DPS already has it on file. If this is not the case, your duplicate license will be issued with the designation “Valid Without Photo.” The Texas Department of Public Safety may be reached at P.O. Box 15999AUSTIN, TX 78761-5999, and payment (check or money order) can be sent to them.

Military Drivers

  • Download, fill out, and sign the Out of State RIS-50 and DL-43 Forms before you may proceed. Please keep in mind that you must sign using black ink. Only questions 1 through 4 should be answered on the DL-43 form. Make a note of your residence’s address. Make a note of your current out-of-state address (your license will be mailed to this address)
  • If the DPS does not have your Social Security number on file, you will be required to provide proof of your identity. Drivers who are not permanent lawful residents, United States citizens, United States nationals, refugees, or asylees are required to show proof of their legal status. Only if you’ve had any traffic citations in the last four (4) years is a vision examination necessary. The option of registering to vote will also be made available to you. It is possible that your photo will be used on your duplicate license if the DPS already has it on file. If this is not the case, your duplicate license will be issued with the designation “Valid Without Photo.” Pay the cost of a duplicate driver’s license if you need one
  • The Texas Department of Public Safety may be reached at P.O. Box 15999AUSTIN, TX 78761-5999, and payment can be sent there as well (by check or money order).

After you have completed the actions outlined above, your license will be delivered to you through postal mail no later than forty-five (45) days. The Texas Department of Public Safety can be contacted by clickingHERE if you have not received your license within this time frame.

Documents Required

When visiting your local DPS office in person, please bring the following documentation with you.

  • Documentation of identification
  • Documentation of social security number Only necessary if your Social Security Number (SSN) is not already stored in the DPS’s computers. Documentation proving one’s legal presence in the United States

How to Replace a Texas Driver’s License

Article in PDF format Article in PDF format In Texas, replacing a driver’s license that has been lost or stolen is a rather straightforward process. Fill out an application for a new license and bring it in person to your local department of motor vehicles (DMV) office, along with identification and a processing fee, to get your license.

If you need to replace your driver’s license due to a change of address, go to the Driver License Division website of the Texas Department of Public Safety to complete the application process.

  1. 1 Find a DMV office that is convenient for you. It is necessary for you to visit a DMV office in person in order to replace your lost or stolen driver’s license. To find the nearest Texas location, enter your city or postal code into the search bar on the website. Visit the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles website at
  2. For a searchable directory of all Texas DMV offices.
  • Before visiting a certain office, make sure to check the hours of operation for that particular site, as they might differ between locations.
  • 2 Complete form DL-43 in order to apply for a replacement driver’s license. At the time of your visit to the DMV, you will be required to present a completed application for the renewal, replacement, or change of a Texas driver’s license. Enter your personal and contact information, as well as your answers to all of the questions below by selecting “yes” or “no” as appropriate. You may download and print this form from the Texas Department of Public Safety website.
  • DL-43, Application for a Replacement Driver’s License, must be completed. Whenever you go to the DMV, you’ll need to have a completed application for a Texas driver’s license renewal, replacement, or change with you. Enter your personal and contact information, as well as your responses to all of the questions below by selecting “yes” or “no” as appropriate. Obtain a copy of this form from the Texas Department of Public Safety website
  • Advertisement
  • s3 Please bring valid identification or accompanying documentation. Bring a main identification document that shows your identity, such as a passport or military identification card, in order to be verified. You should also bring two secondary identity documents, such as your birth certificate and your health insurance card, if you do not have one of these types of identification. You should bring two supporting papers if you only have one secondary identification document, such as a voter registration card and a social security card.
  • If you would like to see a comprehensive list of all of the approved papers for both main and secondary forms of identification, go to the Texas Department of Safety website at: Please keep in mind that photocopies of these papers will not be accepted. For those who do not hold a valid U.S. passport, permanent residence card, or foreign passport with a temporary I-551 form attached, you will be required to provide proof of citizenship in the United States.
  • 4To complete your application, you must pay the $11 processing charge. Payment for a replacement license must be made once your application form and identification have been examined and accepted by a DMV worker. The charge for a replacement license is $11. You can pay with cash, check, money order, or a major credit card, among other methods. Make sure you keep your receipt as proof of your payment. 5 Obtain a photograph of yourself and submit a thumbprint. Once you have paid for your new license, you will be required to show photographic identification in order to get your new card. Follow the directions provided by the DMV representative in order to get your photo taken. You must submit a thumbprint, which will serve as a confirmation of your identification on the card.
  • If you are required to wear glasses while driving, you should also wear them for your ID photo
  • Otherwise, you will be fined.
  1. 1 The Texas Driver License Renewal and Change of Address system may be accessed at this link. For those who need to replace their Texas driver’s license in order to change their residence, they can do it via the state’s official website. The most recent copy of your driver’s license is required in order to utilize this online service. To gain access to this service, go to the Driver License Division of the Texas Department of Public Safety’s website at
  • This online service cannot be used to replace a license that has been lost or stolen.
  • 2 To log onto the service, you must enter the information from your current license. When asked, enter your date of birth as well as the last four digits of your social security number to gain access to the Driver License Renewal and Change of Address system in the state of California. Refer to your existing license for the license number you need to input. In addition, enter the audit number that appears towards the bottom of your license
  • Please keep in mind that all of these fields are needed. If you do not have any of this information, you will be required to go in person at the DMV office to have your address changed on your driver’s license.
  1. 3Input your new mailing address. Choose the option to change your driver’s license address once you’ve checked in and completed the process. Fill up the blanks with your new address in its entirety. Before moving on to the next step, double-check the information you’ve entered. 4 Pay a $25 cost with a valid credit card to avoid a late fee. The cost of your new card will be charged to your account once you have updated your address and verified it. To pay the $25 charge, you must use a valid Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express credit or debit card. Completely and accurately type in the credit card number, as well as the cardholder’s name and three-digit security code
  2. 5 Create a temporary license to keep you going until your new license arrives in the post. Once you have renewed your license with the right address, you will be able to print a temporary license to use while your license is being processed. This temporary license will be valid for 45 days from the date of issuance. Use your temporary license until you get your new license in the mail, which should come within the same 45-day time frame as your temporary license. Advertisement

Inquire about something There are 200 characters remaining. Include your email address so that you may be notified when this question has been resolved. SubmitAdvertisement

  • It is important to report your lost or stolen driver’s license to the police as soon as possible in order to avoid identity fraud
  • It is important to note that when you replace a driver’s license that has been lost or stolen, the expiration date on the license will remain the same. Make sure to carry extra pieces of identification to the DMV to ensure that you have enough appropriate documents to confirm your identity just in case.

Advertisement

About This Article

Summary of the ArticleXIf you live in Texas, replacing a driver’s license that has been lost or stolen is a reasonably straightforward process. The Department of Motor Vehicles website or your local office will include an application form for a new license, which you can fill out and bring with you. Submit your application in person so that you may additionally provide approved identification, such as a passport or military identification card. If you do not have any of these papers, you should bring two other forms of identification, such as your birth certificate and health insurance card, with you.

A processing fee of 11 dollars will also be charged at that time, which you will be responsible for paying.

Continue reading to find out how to update the address on your driver’s license.

Thank you to all writers for contributing to this page, which has been read 39,217 times so far.

Did this article help you?

WITH THE OFFER, YOU CAN SAVE 15 PERCENT OR MORE! SALE ENDS IN00HRS00MIN00SECL IN00HRS00MIN00 Replace your license is a pain, which is why we created a step-by-step tutorial to make the entire process of changing your license a lot simpler.

Replacing a Lost Driver’s License In Texas

We understand how frustrating it is to lose your license, so we created a step-by-step guide to help you through the process of replacing your license. In Texas, you can report your driver’s license as lost or stolen. Immediately after losing or having your license taken, contact your local Texas Police Department to file a report. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) mandates that you report your license as lost or stolen to your local police department if you believe it has been lost or stolen.

See also:  What Is The Common Driver'S License Class? (Correct answer)

In person at the DPS, submitting an application for a Replacement Driver’s License.

Please keep in mind that the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) are two separate organizations.

The Department of Public Safety (DPS) is in charge of certification and enforcement for things like drivers licenses, non-driver identity cards, and driver license replacement.

(/texas/parent-taught-drivers-ed/) (/texas/instructor-taught-drivers-ed/)(/texas/adult-driver-education/) You will need to bring the following items with you (for a complete list of ID and types of ID check the bottom of the page)

  • A payment of $11 for the fee
  • A social security number (SSN) and proof of social security number (if it is not already on file with the DPS)

When you arrive at the DPS, you will fill out this form and deliver the things listed above. If you are not a citizen of the United States, you will be required to carry one of the extra kinds of identification listed below:

  • Valid United States passport with the statement “THE BEARER IS A UNITED STATES NATIONAL AND NOT A UNITED STATES CITIZEN” on the other side
  • Permanent Resident card (also known as a green card) in good standing
  • Foreign passport in good condition with an immigrant visa and an ADIT stamp

Primarily, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) classifies the following papers as Primary Identity Documents:

  • Proof of citizenship will be required if it has not been previously established
  • Texas driving license or Texas identity card that has not been expired for more than 2 years
  • An unexpired U.S. passport book or card
  • A valid U.S. Certificate of Citizenship or Naturalization (N-560, N-561, N-645, N-550, N-55G, N-570, or N-578)
  • An unexpired Department of Homeland Security or U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services document with verifiable data and an identifiable photo, such as one of the following:
  • U.S. Citizen Identification Card (I-179 or

Secondary Identification Documents: According to the DPS, the following documents qualify as secondary identification documents:

  • Original or certified copy of a birth certificate
  • Certificate of Report of Birth or Consular Report of Birth for US citizens born overseas
  • Certificate of Report of Birth or Consular Report of Birth for US citizens born in the United Kingdom From a state, territory, the District of Columbia, or a Canadian province, an original or certified copy of a court order stating a name and/or gender change, together with the person’s name and birth date

Supporting Identity Papers: The Department of Public Safety (DPS) defines the following documents as supporting identity documents:

  • Social security card
  • Form W-2 or 1099
  • And a copy of your birth certificate a driver license or identification card issued by another state, territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or Canadian province (that has not expired or that has not been expired more than two years)*
  • A Texas driver license or identification card that has been expired more than two years
  • School records* (e.g., report cards, photo ID cards)
  • An unexpired U.S. military dependent identification card
  • A temporary Texas driver license or ID card A certified copy of the original or certified copy of the marriage license or divorce decree (if the document is not in English, a certified translation of the document must be included)
  • Voter registration card*
  • Pilot license*
  • Concealed handgun license or License to Carry*
  • Professional license issued by a Texas state agency
  • Non-driver ID card issued by a government agency*
  • Consular document issued by a state or national government
  • Texas Department of Criminal Justice parole or mandatory release certificate
  • Federal inmate identification card
  • Federal parole or mandatory release certificate
  • Texas Department of Criminal Justice parole or mandatory release certificate Immunization records*
  • Tribal membership card from a federally recognized tribe
  • Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood
  • Unexpired foreign passport
  • Unexpired insurance policy valid for the past two years (e.g., auto, home, or life insurance)
  • Current Texas vehicle registration or title
  • Current Texas boat registration or title
  • Abstract (shortened) birth certificate
  • Hospital-issued birth record*
  • Military discharge papers*

*The document must be issued by an institution, corporation, or government from a state in the United States, a territory in the United States, the District of Columbia, or a province in Canada.

How to Replace a Lost Texas Driver’s License

Home Texas Drivers License Identification Number More Common Tasks (License)Replacing a Lost LicenseReplacing a Lost License

Replacing Your Lost Driver’s License in Texas

If your Texas driver’s license or identification card has been misplaced, stolen, or destroyed, you must move swiftly to get it replaced. You might also consider reporting it to the authorities in order to prevent identity theft. It’s important to note that when you replace a lost, damaged, or stolen driver’s license, your expiration date remains the same.

Report a Lost or Stolen TX Driver’s License

The first step in resolving a lost or stolen driving license is to report it to the authorities. This is the first step towards safeguarding your personal information. It is especially vital to report a lost drivers license if the license has been stolen. As a matter of fact, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)requiresTexas citizens to report their missing driver’s license to the police if they suspect that it has been stolen and is being used by another person.

Requests for a New Texas Driver’s License or ID Number

Instead of merely replacing your lost drivers license, you may apply for a new Texas drivers license or identification number, which can help to further safeguard your identity.

  • Paying a visit to your local driving licensing office
  • Applying for a replacement license in accordance with the procedures outlined in the section below
  • Including a copy of your police report with your submission

The Texas Department of Public Safety will determine whether or not a new phone number will be supplied.

Apply for a Replacement Driver’s License

REAL IDs and Replacement Driver’s Licenses If you intend to replace your current Texas REAL ID with a new one, you must follow the procedures for submitting a first-time REAL ID application. For further information, please see ourlicense guide. Unless you are currently going out of state or are stationed outside of Texas as a member of the military (see ” Out-of-State Military License Replacement ” below), the DPS requires that you apply for a replacement (duplicate) driver’s license in person.

  • Make an appointment with your local Driver License Office
  • Submit a completedApplication for Texas Driver License or Identification Card Form (Form DL-14A) online
  • And attend a driver education course. Bring approved identification, which may contain one or more of the following:
  • 1 primary identification document (e.g., passport, military identification card, etc.)
  • 2 secondary identification documents (e.g., birth certificate)
  • 1 secondary form of identification AND 2 supporting papers (such as a Social Security card, voter registration card, 1099, or other tax-related documents)
  • The Texas Department of Public Safety provides a comprehensive list of approved forms of identification
  • Pay the fee of $11 (cash, check, money order, or major credit card) and submit it.

Please keep in mind that you will be required to verify important personal information such as your birth date and Social Security number. If your Social Security Number (SSN) is not on file with the DPS, you will be required to show evidence of your SSN.

The Department of Public Safety (DPS) provides a comprehensive list of approved papers to verify your SSN. Documents proving your Social Security number are required for driver’s licenses, but not for ID cards.

Additional ID Requirements for Non-U.S. Citizens

If you are not a citizen of the United States, you will additionally need to bring the following items with you:

  • One document that serves as evidence of your legal presence in the United States. Examples include the following:
  • You must have at least one document proving your legal status in the United States. For instance, consider the following examples:
  • The Texas Department of Public Safety provides a comprehensive list of authorized papers.

Out-of-State and Military License Replacement

In the event that you have a permanent home in Texas but are temporarily absent from the state (for example, when traveling overseas or serving as a military member stationed out-of-state), you can request that a duplicate drivers license be shipped to your current out-of-state address. To apply for a replacement Texas driver’s license or identification card from outside the state, follow these steps:

  • A package for those traveling from another state or country can be downloaded. Packet for Travelers Leaving the State or Traveling Outside of the Country (Form DL-16P)
  • Specify your permanent Texas mailing address in the “address” section. You should fill in your current out-of-state mailing address in the shipping address form.
  • Make a check or money order for $11 payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety
  • In the event that you haven’t previously done so, please submit photocopies of any papers that prove your Social Security number. Send everything to the following address:

Texas Department of Public SafetyP.O. Box 149008Austin, TX 78714Texas Department of Public Safety Following receipt of your application by the DPS, your license will be mailed to you within 45 days.

Replace Lost Drivers License

Replace a misplaced driver’s license

Have you lost your Texasdrivers license?

Is it possible that someone stole it? Did you unintentionally throw it into a bonfire or flush it down the toilet? Whatever the case, we can assist you with replacing it! Obtaining a new driver’s license (or duplicate driver’s license, as it is sometimes referred as) is a simple process. All you have to do now is follow the instructions to the letter. Though this may appear to be a complex process, if you are aware of the processes involved (as well as the many standards that must be met), replacing your lost Texas drivers license is a piece of cake.

Replacing Your Texas Driver’s License – A Step-by-Step Guide

Though restoring your misplaced Texas driver’s license isn’t exactly as simple as counting to three, it’s quite close! Perhaps the only change is that there are more than three phases involved in the procedure this time around! You must complete the following procedures to obtain a new or duplicate Texas driver’s license:

  • Visit a Texas Department of Public Safety driving licensing office
  • Bring a completed license replacement application (which may be downloaded as a PDF document from the Internet)
  • The mandatory replacement price of $11 must be paid (your license expiration date will not be changed)
  • Provide identification (a valid passport is acceptable, or you can provide a birth certificate together with a social security card and a W-2 or 1099 form)
  • Ensure the accuracy of your personal information (for a drivers license replacement, you will be requested to validate your social security number or present evidence of identification)

In person at a Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) driver licensing office Bring a completed license replacement application (which may be downloaded as a PDF document from the Internet); and The mandatory replacement price of $11 must be paid (your license expiration date will not be changed). Provide identification (genuine passports are allowed, or you can provide a birth certificate together with a social security card and a W-2 or 1099 form); and Ensure the accuracy of your personal information (for a drivers license replacement, you will be needed to validate your social security number or present evidence of citizenship);

Don’t Hesitate Any Longer!

Now that you’ve learned everything there is to know about replacing your misplaced Texas driver’s license, there is no excuse not to take action! Download the application online, complete it, and bring it to your local Texas Department of Public Safety driver licensing office today. If your driver’s license has been taken, you should make a report with the appropriate law enforcement department in your area.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

a link to the page’s load

Replacing Lost Documents

It is important to note that, while this article was developed with disasters in mind, it offers advice on replacing lost papers that may be beneficial at any time.

Will I have to pay to replace lost, important documents?

One thing to keep in mind concerning replacement costs and late payments: Some organizations will eliminate fees for replacing lost papers or identification cards if the loss or damage was caused by a natural catastrophe.

Depending on the severity of the disaster, some creditors will eliminate late penalties, extend payment deadlines, and provide other types of payment adjustments. If you want a fee waiver or additional time to settle your debts, please inquire.

Birth or Death Certificates

Marriage licenses are received from the County Clerk (in the case of marriage) or the District Clerk (in the case of divorce) in the county or district in which the license was obtained. To locate a Texas County or District Clerk, use the following information: County and District Clerks, Local Registrars, and Remote Access Issuance Listings are all included in this directory. Notes:

  • Copies are frequently charged by the page, and copy fees may differ from one county to the next. Certified copies are normally priced at least $1 per page
  • Nevertheless,

Marriage or Divorce Verification Letter

Because information supplied to Vital Statistics by the county or district clerk is reliable, theVital Statistics Unitof the Texas Department of State Health Servicescan send a letter certifying whether a Texas marriage or divorce has been registered. The sufficiency of verification letters as alternatives for marriage certificates or divorce decisions will depend on your specific requirements. Check ahead of time to check if a verification letter will be sufficient for the purpose for which it is intended.

Manufactured Homes: Statement of Ownership And Location (SOL)

The Texas Department of Public Safety is a state agency.

  • You must be prepared to provide personal information (such as your date of birth, social security number, or documentation proving your social security number)
  • Identification cards, on the other hand, do not require the verification of your social security number.
  1. Make an in-person application at any driver licensing office. Bring the completed application (DL-43) (which can be obtained from any driver license office)
  2. And Make the needed payment
  3. Provide identification documents (e.g., passports that have not expired, marriage licenses, birth certificates, etc.) to prove your identity. Provide proof of legal presence (for non-citizens of the United States)
  • Replace your driver’s license or state identification card. Discover where you can get a driver’s license.

Passports

  • Forms DS-11 and DS-64, if you are currently in the United States and will not be departing within two weeks, should be submitted in person at an approved Passport Application Acceptance Facility. Visit the Passport Acceptance Facility Search Page to find the office that is closest to you based on your zip code.
See also:  When Do The King Salmon Run In Alaska?

Green Card (Proof of Lawful Permanent Resident Status)

  • As a permanent resident who needs to replace your green card or as a conditional resident who needs to replace your two-year green card for any of the reasons indicated below, you may begin the application process for a replacement green card by doing one of the following things:
  • Form I-90, Application to Replace Permanent Resident Card, can be filed online, or it can be filed on paper. Form I-90, Application to Replace Permanent Resident Card, may be obtained through the mail.

Social Security Card

  • There will be no online substitutes
  • Only in person or by the mail
  • Visit the Social Security Office Locator to find the location of the nearest office.
  1. Alternatives cannot be found on the internet. The only ways to submit a request are in person or by letter. The Social Security Office Locator may be used to find the nearest office.

Medicaid / Texas Benefits Card

  • Visit Discover how Your Texas Benefits can be of use to you
  • Form 1027-A – Temporary Medicaid Eligibility Verification can be generated by HHSC employees
  • However, you must apply for the temporary form in person at an HHSC benefits office.
  • For a replacement card, use the following information: Will want evidence of insurance coverage.
  • By checking the provider website, contacting (800) 925-9126, or accessing TexMedConnect on the TMHP website, the provider can determine whether or not the patient is eligible for Medicaid benefits.

Medicare Replacement Card

  • Select “New Documents” from the drop-down menu, then “Mail my replacement Medicare Card.” The Medicare card will be mailed to you in about 30 days at the address you have on file with Social Security. In person: Make an appointment with your local Social Security office. By phone: Call (800) 772-1213, TTY (800) 325-0778 weekdays from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. or (800) 772-1213 on weekends.

Income Tax Returns – Copies

  • Form 4506 of the Internal Revenue Service
  • Additional Information
  • For taxpayers who live in a federally declared disaster region, the Internal Revenue Service will waive costs and expedite the request. Form 4506, IRS Request for Copy of Tax Return, must be completed in order to get an accurate copy of your tax return with all attachments (including Form W-2).
  • If you are not in a federally designated disaster region, you will be charged a $50 fee for each return you seek, and it will take up to 75 working days to complete your request.
  • In the case of jointly filed tax returns, both spouses have the option of requesting a copy, with only one signature necessary

Transcript of Tax Returns

  • An IRS transcript of your tax return will fulfill the majority of requirements, and it is completely free
  • The IRS may prepare several types of transcripts based on what you want.
  • By phone: dial (800) 908-9946 and follow the on-screen instructions. Online: Go to www.IRS.gov/Transcript/GetTranscript/
  • Forms can be obtained through the Internal Revenue Service at IRS.gov or by calling (800) TAX-FORM (800-908-9946).

Savings Bonds

  • Replacement bonds are no longer available in paper form
  • Instead, they are only available in electronic format. Accepting payment for missing bonds or ordering electronic replacements are also options
  • You will need to supply the bond serial number in order to do so. If you do not have the serial number, please supply the following information:
  • Date of purchase (specific month and year)
  • Social security number
  • Names (including middle names or initials)
  • Address for correspondence
  • Please take the completed form to your banking institution so that they may verify your signature.
  • Completed forms should be mailed to the following address: Treasury Retail Securities Site, PO Box 214, Minneapolis, MN 55480-0214

Credit Cards

  • Make contact with the card’s issuer. Obtain a list of all of your accounts
  • Additional Information
  • Every 12 months, you are entitled to a free copy of your credit report from each credit reporting company, as provided by federal law (TransUnion, Equifax, and Experian). Seewww.annualcreditreport.com
  • Obtaining account and creditor information in order to report a loss, verify that the information on your credit reports is accurate, and protecting yourself against identity theft are all possible uses for this tool. Online visit to obtain a free credit report

Related Articles

  • Helpful for obtaining account and creditor information in order to report a loss, verify and safeguard your identity against identity theft, and check that the information on your credit reports is accurate. To obtain a free credit report, go to www.annualcreditreport.com
  • And

Texas Drivers License Renewal and Replacement

In Texas, you must renew your driver’s license every six years if you want to drive. Texans can renew their driver’s licenses and identity (ID) cards until two years before or after the expiration date on their cards, on most occasions. When it comes to renewing your Texas driver’s license or identification card, you have a few options:

  • Online or over the phone
  • Sending a letter
  • Visiting your local driver’s license office in person

You may order online or by phone. If you wish to renew your Texas driver’s license online or by phone, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Through the internet or by telephone When renewing your Texas driver’s license online or by phone, you must meet the following criteria.

You may check your license eligibility status on the Texas Department of Public Safety’s website to see if you have any outstanding citations to pay or if there are any other measures you need to do to make your license eligible for renewal. You will need the following information in order to renew your driver’s license or identification card online or over the phone:

  • A printer to print your temporary license or ID, as well as a receipt for your purchase. An electronic temporary receipt will be mailed to you when you renew online
  • However, if you renew by phone, you will not receive an electronic temporary receipt. MasterCard, Visa, Discover, or American Express are all acceptable forms of payment. Your Social Security number’s last four digits

If you fulfill all of the conditions listed above, you may begin the online renewal process by calling 1-866-DL RENEW (866-DL RENEW) (1-866-357-3639). Using the postal service If you got an invitation to renew by mail, the form will provide information on how to complete the renewal process. If you have received this invitation, you may also renew your membership online or by phone. When you’re there in person If you are not qualified to renew your driver’s license or identification card online, by phone, or by mail, you can renew your license or ID card in person at your local driver’s license office.

What do I need to bring to renew my driver’s license in Texas?

You will need to bring the following items:

  • It is necessary for you to bring the following items:

If you need further information on what documents is acceptable as proof of Social Security number, proof of identification, proof of citizenship, or evidence of lawful presence, see the Texas Department of Public Safety’s checklist on the subject. When you have obtained the necessary documentation, you will need to:

  • Complete the driver’s license renewal application before visiting your local driver’s license office. Locate your local branch office. Bring all of the necessary papers (as outlined above)
  • Pass a vision test with flying colors
  • Make a thumbprint of your hand
  • Take a photograph of yourself
  • Pay a fee for the application

Do I need my Social Security card to renew my license in Texas?

Both a driver’s license and an identification card need you to provide your Social Security number.

If your Social Security Number (SSN) is not already on file with the DMV, you will be required to present documentation to prove your identity. The following papers serve as evidence of Social Security Number (SSN):

  • Social Security card, W-2, SSA-1099 form, a non-SSA-1099 form, a pay stub with your name and SSN on it, and a W-9 form are all required. Identification from the military
  • Certificate of release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD-214)
  • Certificate of college or university transcript displaying the SSN
  • Certificate of graduation from military school (DD-214)
  • Identifiable Social Security numbers (SSNs) on documents such as health insurance cards, Veterans Administration cards, and pilot’s licenses

You’ll need your Social Security card, a W-2, an SSA-1099 form, and one that isn’t an SSA-1099 form. You’ll also need a pay stub with your name and SSN on it, and a W-2 form. Identity document issued by the military; Release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD-214); Certificate of college or university transcript displaying the SSN; Certificate of military service (DD-214); Identifiable Social Security numbers (SSNs) on documents such as health insurance cards, Veterans Administration cards, and pilot’s licenses;

Does Texas have a grace period for an expired driver’s license?

In Texas, you can renew your driver’s license for a period of up to two years if it has expired. You must retake the driving exam after two years if you have not passed the first time.

What happens if you drive with an expired license in Texas?

For a period of up to two years, you can renew a driver’s license that has expired in Texas. You must repeat the driving exam after two years if you wish to keep your license.

Replace Drivers License

Have you been unable to drive because you have lost your license? Don’t go behind the wheel of your automobile without it. If you have misplaced your Texas drivers license, you shouldn’t be too concerned. For the most part, the process of having it updated is rather straightforward. This is also true if your driver’s license has been lost, stolen, or damaged. The following are the actions that you must do in order to obtain a new driver’s license. If you have lost your original driver’s license and get it replaced, the first thing you should understand is that the expiration date of your license will remain same.

First Step: Report the loss to the police

Immediately notify the authorities that you have misplaced your driver’s license. This is the most important action you can take. Any police station that was close to you at the time the license was lost would suffice as a replacement location. The most essential thing to remember is that the incident should be reported as soon as possible when it occurs. Keep in mind that if a criminally motivated someone obtains your driver’s license, he or she may use it in violation of the law, putting you in legal jeopardy.

This is mandated under the law.

As a result, it is your obligation to notify the authorities of the theft of your license.

Second Step: Request for a new driver’s license

Because there is a possibility that other individuals will be able to use your missing license, you must take steps to protect your identity. You can accomplish this by getting a new drivers license as well as a new identification number by following the steps outlined below:

  • Given the possibility that someone else may be able to exploit your missing license, you should take steps to safeguard your identity. If you want to do this, you need seek a new drivers license as well as a new identification number by following the steps outlined below.

It will be up to the DPS TX whether or not it will provide you a new identification number.

Third Step: Apply for a new driver’s license

This decision on whether or not to supply you with a new ID number will be made by the DPS TX.

  1. Pay a visit to the licensing office in your neighborhood
  2. Submit an Application for Renewal, Replacement, or Change of a Texas Driver License or Identification Card that has been completely filled out. You must utilize the DL-43 form for this purpose
  3. Otherwise, you will be in violation of the law. Bring identification to prove your identify, which should include one primary ID, such as a government-issued professional identification card, a military identification card, a passport, and two secondary IDs, such as a birth certificate or other documentation. It is also possible to utilize your Social Security card and voter registration card as supporting papers to confirm your identification. Cash, credit card, money order, or check are all acceptable methods of payment for the $11 licensing cost

The Texas Department of Public Safety may request that you confirm your personal information, such as your date of birth or Social Security number. It is possible that you may be required to provide the original documents to prove their legitimacy. There is a list of approved papers that the Texas Department of Public Safety demands in order to confirm your Social Security number.

The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires documentation proving your Social Security number in order to issue drivers licenses. They are not necessary for the issuance of ID cards.

If You Are Out Of The State

In the event that you are a Texas resident who is currently out of the state and have misplaced your driver’s license, you can still apply for a new license. Even if your present address is outside of the state, the new license will be mailed to you at your expense. The following are the actions to take in order to apply for a replacement license or ID:

  1. Download the package for anyone traveling from out of state or out of country. Fill out the Application for Renewal or Change of a Texas Driver License or Identification Card While Residing Out of State or in a Foreign Country. This is the DL-16 form. Make a note of your permanent address in Texas in the address box and your current postal address in the mailing address field. Make a money order or check for $11 payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety and attach a copy of your Social Security card. All of these documents should be sent to the Texas Department of Public Safety, P.O. Box 149008, Austin, TX 78714, as follows:

After receiving your request for a license replacement, the Texas Department of Public Safety will process your application, and you may anticipate to get your new license within 45 days of submitting your request.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *