What You’ll Do to Transfer your Out-of-State Driver License to Washington
- Step 1: Visit your nearest DOL office (optional: make an appointment!) Submit the required documents ID. Pass the vision test.
- Step 2: Receive your Washington Class D driver’s license via U.S. mail within 10 days.
How do you get Washington drivers license?
- In order to earn your drivers license, you must: Be a Washington resident at least 16 years old. Enroll in and complete a driver training course. Hold your Washington instruction permit for at least 6 months. Not be convicted of drug or alcohol offenses while holding a permit.
Do I have to take a driving test if I move to Washington State?
Yes, when you move to Washington you’ll need to pass the written test when you transfer your out-of-state license. While much of the information on the written test is very similar from state to state, there are some nuances you’ll need to know.
What documents do I need to get a Washington state drivers license?
Proof of your identity (e.g., a valid driver’s license or passport) Proof of a valid Social Security number (e.g., a Social Security card or W-2 with your SSN) Proof of Washington state residency. (e.g., a Washington ID or utility bill dated within two months)
Can I drive in Washington with an out-of-state license?
If you carry a license from another state, you must apply for a driver license within 30 days of becoming a Washington resident. You are considered a resident when you establish a permanent home in this state, register to vote, receive state benefits, apply for any state license, or seek in-state tuition rates.
How do I register an out-of-state vehicle in Washington state?
How to Register an Out-of-State Vehicle in Washington
- A Vehicle Certificate of Ownership (Title) Application (Form TD-420-001) that is signed by all owners of the vehicle.
- The out-of-state vehicle title (If the vehicle is held by a lienholder, ask them to send to you a copy of the front and back of the title).
How do I prove residency in Washington state?
Examples of acceptable documents include home utility bills or hook-up work order dated within 60 days of the time you apply for a license (gas, electricity, water, garbage, or telephone), Washington instruction permits or ID cards, or Washington voter registration cards.
What is a residency document Washington state?
Documents Providing Your Local Address You must provide documents that verify that you live in Washington state. This can include: * Home utility bill (gas, electric, water, garbage, land-line telephone). Not acceptable: cable, internet, or TV bills.
Is Washington a good state to move to?
The pros of moving to Washington… an ultra high quality of life and the great outdoors. With Washington being home to over 100 mountains, it’s safe to say (or not so safe to say) that it’s a paradise for the outdoor enthusiast that adores hiking, mountain biking and climbing.
What is a REAL ID Washington state?
In Washington state, there are two types of REAL ID-compliant documents: enhanced driver licenses and enhanced ID cards. Both can be obtained by visiting a driver licensing office. To receive either, you’ll need to present proof of citizenship, identity, Social Security number, and residence. U.S. Military ID.
Do you need a Social Security number to get a driver license in Washington?
The licensing department issues around 1 million first-time and renewed licenses a year. State law requires those who apply for a driver’s license or state ID card to be a resident of Washington. They must also provide a Social Security number.
How long does it take to get an enhanced driver’s license in Washington state?
When someone applies, they must be able to establish, or re-establish U.S. citizenship and Washington residence. Once approved, residents should allow two to three weeks to receive their card.
Can I have two driver license for different states?
More Than One Driving License Means Penalty In case any driver has more than one driving license, issued from different states, then traffic police can impose fines. As per a report, 25% of all drivers in India have multiple driving licenses.
What is an enhanced driver’s license in Washington state?
What is an enhanced driver’s License? Starting in January 2008, Washingtonians can apply for an Enhanced Driver’s License (EDL), a new kind of driver’s license that can be used instead of a U.S. passport for some border crossings. The EDL is optional and may not be right for all drivers.
WA State Licensing (DOL) Official Site:Moving? Get a Washington State driver license
- You have 30 days from the date of your relocation to Washington (WA) to obtain your WA driving license. Before you may register any automobiles in Washington, you’ll need to provide proof of your WA driver’s license. The licensing of drivers and vehicles is handled at various sites. Prepare to make two journeys if necessary.
- Establish a permanent residence in Washington
- Determination of whether you desire a normal driver’s license or an upgraded driver’s license. Pre-apply on the internet
- Organize a visit to the driver license office. If appropriate, obtain WA license plates for your car.
1. Establish residency in WA
If you meet the following criteria, you are considered a resident of Western Australia:
- Create a voter registration form and mail it to the appropriate address. Register in person at the county elections office of your choice.
- Benefits from the state are received
- Receive tuition costs for in-state students
- Any Washington state license (fishing license, hunting license, etc.) can be obtained at resident prices.
2. Decide if you want a standard driver license or an enhanced driver license (EDL)
An EDL can be used in place of a passport card in certain circumstances. After going to Canada, Mexico, Bermuda, and the Caribbean, you can use it to re-enter the United States by land and water, as well as by air. Additional conditions must be met in order to obtain an EDL. See the procedure for obtaining your EDL/EID.
3. Pre-apply online
Pre-apply online in order to be able to schedule an appointment. In this case, you will be assigned a Washington ID or driving license number. There may be certain restrictions in place.
4. Make an appointment to visit a driver licensing office
Visit complete the application you began online, go to a driver license office in person. To come into the office, you must schedule an appointment. Bring the following items with you:
- Identification documentation, including your out-of-state driver’s license
- Reimbursement of the fees
- Additional documentation, if necessary, for an EDL or a change in name
You’ll be expected to do the following at work:
- Please provide us with your Social Security number (SSN). Fees to be paid (cash, cheque, or credit card)
- Make a decision on whether or not you wish to register to vote or become an organ donor (optional). Pass any tests that may be required:
|If you have||Pass these tests|
- Another state in the United States (with a driving record that dates back less than 30 days)
- District of Columbia
- United States territory or control
- United States Department of State
- British Columbia – Class 5 only
- Class 7 does not transfer
- South Korea
- Taiwan – If you need a Washington driver’s license, please contact the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Seattle (TECO) at 206.441.4586ext. 311 or via e-mail at [email protected]
- Japanese drivers licenses are available via the Consulate-General of Japan in Seattle, which may be reached by phone at (206) 682-9107 or by email at [email protected]
|No tests required if you’re 18 years old or older. SeeTeensif you’re under 18.|
|Anexpired licensefrom another state||Knowledge and drive test|
|No driver license||Knowledge and drive test|
|AWashington learning permit||Knowledge and drive test|
|A valid license, but have amedical or physical conditionthat shows testing is required||Knowledge and drive test|
If you are under the age of 18 and have a valid driver license or permit from another state or nation and wish to obtain a WA driver license, please see theTeenspage for additional information on your options.
If you’re from another country
- If you have relocated to Washington from a nation or Canadian province that is not listed above, you must complete all of the requirements necessary to obtain your first driver’s license. If you are from one of the countries listed above and hold motorcycle or commercial endorsements, it is possible that they may not be transferred.
- Motorcycle endorsements may only be transferred from the following organizations:
- States of the United States
- Territories of the United States
- The District of Columbia
- British Columbia
- A motorcycle-only license cannot be transferred
- Thus, it is not recommended. Customers under the age of 18 are required to produce evidence of training. Commercial endorsements are only transferable across states and the District of Columbia in the United States. Complete the processes necessary to transfer your CDL.
Get your license
Your out-of-state driver’s license/identification card will be punched by our staff before you leave the licensing office and will be returned to you. You’ll be issued a temporary license that will enable you to drive for 45 days after you complete the course. It’s likely that you won’t be allowed to utilize your temporary license for identification reasons. Some firms may do the following:
- Accept your out-of-state identity card with a hole punched in it as identification
- Request that you submit another kind of identification as confirmation of your identity
Accept your out-of-state identification card with a hole punched in it as proof of your identity. You will be asked to produce more identification;
5. Get WA plates for your vehicle, if needed
SeeMoving to the state of Washington? Get your hands on some plates to figure out what you need to accomplish.
- Driver’s manual
- How to obtain a motorbike endorsement or permit
- And more. New inhabitants are defined under RCW 46.20.021. Tips for visiting a government agency include: driver’s license offices
Questions? Need help?
Please contact us at 360.902.3900. (TTY: Call711)
Ultimate guide to transfering your out-of-state driver’s license to Washington
This page was last updated on January 20, 2022.
We have updated this page – visit the latest version here.
Here’s all you need to know about transferring your out-of-state driver’s license to Washington. We’ve made the procedure as simple as possible for you so that you can save time. This article is intended for those who have relocated to Washington but still have a driver’s license from another state in the United States.
What You’ll Need to Transfer your Out-of-State Driver License to Washington
- Identification, Social Security number, and proof of Washington residence are required.
- Having a driver’s license from another state
- Payment of all fees and taxes due
- Applicants must pay a $35 application fee, as well as $54 for a Class D driver’s license (valid for six years).
What You’ll Do to Transfer your Out-of-State Driver License to Washington
- Step 1: Go to your local Department of Labor office (optional: schedule an appointment! )
- Step 1: Go to your local Department of Labor office (optional: schedule an appointment! )
- 2. You must get your Washington Class D driver’s license in the mail within 10 days after completing Step 1.
More Washington DMV Questions?
Visit our Washington DMV information page for more information. Save time by skipping the DMV line! Get a line waiting concierge if you’re in a rush. Get a DMV appointment as soon as possible. All of this information is available for free on the Skip app (and you can earn a $10 credit for the app if you use this link).
Ultimate Guide to Transferring your Driver License to Washington
Here’s all you need to know about changing your out-of-state driver’s license to a Washington driver’s license. This is intended for people who hold a United States driver’s license from another state and want to convert it to a Washington driver’s license, as described above. In the event that you have a driver’s license from another nation, you should look into how to obtain a driver’s license in Washington.
What You’ll Need to Transfer your Driver License to Washington
- Identification, Social Security number, and proof of Washington residence are required. a comprehensive list of papers that are acceptable Having a driver’s license from another state
- Making a payment for the fees that are due: Applicants must pay a $35 application fee, as well as $54 for a Class D driver’s license (valid for six years).
What You’ll Need To Do
- Visit your local Department of Labor office (optional: schedule an appointment!) Please submit the necessary documentationID
- Pass the eyesight exam with flying colors
- Retain your driver’s license from a different state
- Make an appointment to have your picture taken. Make your payment
- You will be issued a temporary driver’s license. Within 10 days, you will get your Washington Class D driver’s license via the mail.
Do you need to transfer your driver’s license from another state to Washington?
Need other Washington DMV help?
We’re here to assist you. Start a free 15-day trial of Skip Plus to receive one-on-one guidance and support right away. We’ll even assist you in obtaining DMV appointments and obtaining priority access to our line waiting service if necessary. Great! Your subscription has been successfully completed.
Great! After that, finish the checkout process to have full access. Hello, and welcome back! You’ve successfully logged into your account. Success! Your account has been completely activated, and you now have full access to all of the content available.
Washington: DMV Moving FAQs
The written test required for the transfer of an out-of-state license to Washington will be required when you relocate to the state. While much of the content on the written test is the same from state to state, there are certain differences that you should be aware of before taking the test. The official driver’s handbook for Washington state, as well as various online practice exams, should be studied thoroughly before taking the actual exam.
What do you do about your out-of-state driver’s license when moving to Washington?
When you relocate from another state, you’ll need to contact the Washington DMV to get your out-of-state driver’s license transferred to your local license. The steps are as follows:
- Upon moving to Washington from another state, you’ll be required to attend the Washington Department of Motor Vehicles to get your out-of-state license transferred. It consists of the following steps:
It is possible that you may be needed to pass both the written exam and the driving skills test before you can be issued a new Washington driver’s license if your out-of-state license has expired.
How long do you have to apply for a driver’s license when moving to Washington?
It is possible that you may be needed to pass both the written exam and the driving skills test before you can be issued a new Washington driver’s license if your out-of-state license is expired.
How long do you have to apply for a title and registration for your vehicle when moving to Washington?
As soon as you become a resident of Washington, you’ll have 30 days to visit the Department of Motor Vehicles and transfer your out-of-state automobile registration and title.
Is there anything you need to do with your old state DMV after moving to Washington?
You can tell your prior state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) that you have relocated by filing a change of address form. While it is not required in most cases, it does assist in avoiding receiving things like renewal letters in the future, for example. If you do receive a notification from your former state DMV and you no longer reside in that state, you will frequently find an opportunity to tell them that you have relocated on the notice itself.
How long do you have to notify the DMV when you change your address within Washington?
If you are relocating inside the state and need to change your address, you must inform the Washington DMV within 10 days of the relocation.
How To Do a Washington DMV Change of Address
Moving to, from, or within the lovely state of Washington will require you to be familiar with the requirements of the Washington Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in order to avoid any surprises down the road. You’ll need to have your Washington DMV Change of Address documents in order before you can completely settle in as a resident, just as you would in any other state. This includes updating your address on your driver’s license and car registration, if applicable. To be on the safe side, it’s usually a good idea to complete all of your documentation as soon as possible, especially if you plan on driving in the state or applying for jobs.
Looking for ideas but not sure where to begin?
In order to complete your Washington DMV change of address and car registration forms, we’ve compiled all of the information you’ll need to know in one place. So, take a look at the information below and then head over to a Washington Department of Licensing office to get started.
If You’re Moving to Washington from Another State
If you are relocating to Washington from another state, would you be required to obtain a new driver’s license? Yes. What is the procedure for obtaining one? If you were formerly a resident of another state and want to obtain a Washington driver’s license, you must visit a Washington Department of Licensing office in person to complete the application (find one near youhere). Although you are unable to make a change of address with the Washington DMV online or over the phone, you may be able to pre-apply for a change of address online.
The Washington Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) expects that new residents to the state will only be able to obtain a driver’s license if they do not have any outstanding suspensions, revocations, or cancellations on their out-of-state driver’s license and have not previously been deemed unfit or unsafe to drive by the WA DMV or an outside court.
- Proof of identity (for example, a passport or military identification card, among other things)
- Your present driver’s license issued by another state
- A copy of your social security card
Specific paperwork needs differ depending on the age of the child. Check out this page to find out exactly what you’ll need to bring for your age group. Important: If your name on your proof of identification does not match the name on your current driver’s license, you will be required to bring along documentation of name change, such as your marriage license, divorce decree, or court order granting you legal name change authorization. Is there a charge for this service? Yes. The cost of a non-commercial driver’s license in Washington state is $45 dollars.
- No, it’s simply a simple eyesight test.
- Residents of Washington are required to obtain a state driver’s license within 30 days of establishing residency, which can pass rapidly if you don’t move immediately.
- Within 30 days of becoming a resident, you must submit an application.
- To make changes to your vehicle’s registration, you’ll need to visit a DMV office in person in Washington state.
- The following items are required: Vehicle Title Application (Form 420001)
- Your present out of state title
What is the cost of the registration? In Washington, the charge to register a regular non-commercial car is $30 per vehicle.
If You’re Moving Within Washington
When moving inside the state of Washington, you have just 10 days after your move to update your driver’s license with your new address (and no, altering your address with the post office will not suffice). When it comes to altering your address on your Washington driver’s license, you have three options: 1. Complete an online change of address form with the Washington DMV. Change of address requests can be submitted online using Washington’s License eXpress online change of address system. Always keep your existing Washington driver’s license number and the last four digits of your social security number on hand when applying for a driver’s license.
- Find a Washington driver’s license office in your area and complete a Washington DMV change of address form in person to avoid having to mail it.
- Send it in the mail.
- Box 9030, Olympia, WA 98507.
- Unless you specifically request one.
- An change to your Washington state address with the DMV is completely free, but if you want them to mail you a new driver’s license, you’ll have to fork up an additional $20.
What information do you need to supply in order to have your driver’s license updated with your new address? If you want to update your address on your Washington driver’s license or identity card, you must supply the following information:
- In the case of a relocation inside the state of Washington, you have just 10 days after the move to update your driver’s license with your new address (and no, altering your address with the post office will not suffice). In order to change your address on your Washington driver’s license, you have three options: 1. Change of address forms for the Washington DMV are available online. Washington’s License eXpress online change of address system makes it simple to update your address information online. Always keep your current Washington driver’s license number and the last four digits of your social security number on available in case you need to prove your identity. Visit a Washington Department of Licensing office in person to complete your application. 2. Find a Washington driver’s license office in your area and complete a Washington DMV change of address form in person to avoid the post office line. 3. Send it to the address on the envelope. Washington Address ChangeRequest Form (Form 500039) should be printed and filled out before being mailed to: Driver Records, Washington Department of Licensing, P.O. Box 9030, Olympia, Washington 98507. If you’re relocating inside the state of Washington, will you need to obtain a new driver’s license? There will be none until you specifically request it. Do you want to know how much it costs to move to Washington, DC? A change of address with the DMV in Washington is completely free, but if you want them to mail you a new driver’s license, you’ll have to pay a cost of $20. When it comes to changing your address on your driver’s license, what information do you need to supply is as follows: The following information will be required in order to update the address on your Washington driver’s license or state identity card:
What information would you be need to give in order to get your car registration updated? For the purpose of reregistering your car, you’ll need to present the following documentation: For the purpose of updating your car registration, what information do you need to provide? The following papers will be required for the purpose of renewing your vehicle’s registration:
If You’re Moving From Washington to Another State
Does the Washington Department of Licensing need notification if you are relocating to another state without a vehicle that is currently licensed in Washington? No. When you obtain your new license, the state of Washington will instantly revoke your previous one. Is it necessary to notify the Washington Department of Licensing if you plan to drive your registered car to another state? Nope. Is it necessary for you to return your Washington registration plates? No, you’re free to keep them if you like.
Have any questions?
Does the Washington Department of Licensing need notification if you are relocating to another state without a vehicle that is licensed in that state? No. When you obtain your new license, the state of Washington will instantly revoke your old one. When transferring to another state with your registered car, do you have to tell the Washington Department of Licensing of your plans? Nope. Need to return your Washington license plates? We can help you. It’s fine to keep them if you so choose.
Need to hire movers for your move to, from, or within the state of Washington?
That is something we can assist you with! Make use of Moving.com to find trustworthy interstate movers in your region in a quick and easy manner. Because relocating out of state can be expensive, we recommend receiving estimates from at least three different interstate moving firms so that you can be sure you are getting the best deal possible on your move. Make use of our moving cost calculator to get an idea of how much your Washington relocation will set you back.
Washington Relocation Guide & Moving Guide
SUMMARY: New Residents in the State of Washington In order to receive a Washington driver’s license, you must go to your local Department of licensing office in person. In addition, you will need to register your automobile in person, which may include passing an emissions examination. To be eligible to vote, you must first register, which can be done by mail, online, or in person. To register as an organ donor, you can do it online or in person at the nearest donation center. This website will assist you in locating all of the information you require to fulfill your assignments with the Washington Department of Licensing (Washington DOL) (DOL).
Washington State Departments
Despite the fact that most people associate the term “DMV” with a state’s licensing and motor vehicle agency, the Department of Licensing and Regulation in Washington is officially known as the Department of Licensing and Regulation (DOL). The Department of Labor in Washington State provides services such as:
- Licensing and state identification cards
- Motorcycle endorsement
- Driving records
- Commercial driver’s licenses
- Vehicle registration and titling
In addition to the Washington Secretary of State, whose State Elections Division is responsible for elections and voter registration, you may get acquainted with theWashington court system if you acquire a traffic ticket or commit another form of infraction while in the state.
WA Driver’s License/ID Card
When migrating to Washington, if you hold an out-of-state driver’s license, you must exchange it for a Washington license within 30 days of arriving in the state. You’ll need to go to your localWashington DOL office in person and present a variety of paperwork, as well as pay the driver’s license price. Instructions on how to apply for a driver’s license may be found on our Applying for a Driver’s Licensepage. A youngster who has obtained their driver’s permit from another state will be allowed to exchange it for an instructional permit in Washington as long as they meet the state’s standards, which include completing the necessary driver’s education courses.
NOTE: If you require a commercial driver’s license (CDL), you may find information on how to apply on ourApplying for a New CDLpage.
A Washington identity card can be obtained if you are a new resident of the state and do not intend to drive while in the state. You’ll need to go to a Washington Department of Labor office and submit the necessary documentation. More information regarding this process may be found on ourIdentification Cardspage.
Register Your Car in Washington
A Washington identity card can be obtained if you are a new resident of Washington and do not intend to drive while in the state. A visit to a Washington Department of Labor office and the submission of the necessary documentation will be needed of you. Visit our Identification Cardspage to learn more about this procedure.
Special Vehicle Registration
It is possible that the registration procedure for a special vehicle, such as an off-road vehicle, recreational vehicle (RV), trailer, or moped, will be different from the process for a normal automobile. Our comprehensive guide to Other Vehicle Registrations in Washingtonprovides all of the necessary information.
It is possible that the registration procedure for a special vehicle, such as an off-road vehicle, recreational vehicle (RV), trailer, or moped, will differ from the process for a normal automobile. You can find out all you need to know in our guide to Other Vehicle Registrations in Washington.
Required Vehicle Inspections
You may be required to submit your car for an emissions check depending on the type of vehicle you drive and the county in which you live. Please see our article on Car Inspections in Washington to determine whether or not you are exempt from this requirement.
Organ DonationsVoting in Washington
When it comes to organ donation, there is a lot of good that can happen. Every day, people’s lives are being saved. When moving to Washington from another state, even if you were previously registered as an organ donor in that state, you’ll need to re-register with the state’s organ donation registry. If you have already registered, you can do so again or learn more about the issue by visiting ourOrgan Donation in Washingtonpage.
In a similar vein, even if you were a registered voter in your former state, you’ll need to register to vote in Washington before you may vote. Voter Registration in Washington is available on our website, so that you don’t miss any essential ballots.
Military Members Stationed in Washington
Active-duty military personnel and their families may be excused from some of the state’s driver’s licence and car registration requirements if they are serving in the military on active duty. For additional information, please see our website dedicated to WashingtonMilitary Drivers.
DMV Office LocationResources
OurOffice Findercan assist you in locating any DMV office in the state when you’re ready to make your appointment with the DMV. Prepare yourself for driving with your new Washington driver’s license by familiarizing yourself with the state’s traffic laws, which may be found in the DOL’s driving manuals:
- Driver’s Guide (520-400)
- Motorcycle Operator Manual (520-407)
- Commercial Driver’s Guide (520-408)
- Driver’s Guide (520-400)
- Driver’s Guide (520-408)
- Driver’s Guide (
How Long do You Have to Get Your License Changed Over in Washington State?
(520-400); Motorcycle Operator Manual (520-407); Commercial Driver’s Guide (520-408); Driver Guide (520-400); Driver Guide (520-408); Driver Guide (520-400); Driver Guide (520-408); Motorcycle Operator Manual (520-407); Motorcycle Operator Manual (520-407); Motorcycle Operator Manual (520-407); Motorcycle Operator Manual (520-407); Motorcycle Operator Manual (520-407); Commercial Driver’s Guide (520-408); Commercial Driver’s Guide (520-408); Motorcycle Operator
Overview of Procedure to get Washington License
- Driver’s Guide (520-400)
- Motorcycle Operator Manual (520-407)
- Commercial Driver’s Guide (520-408)
- Driver’s Guide (520-400)
- Driver’s Guide (520-408)
- Driver’s Guide (
Driver Licensing Office
- When you go to the drivers licensing office to receive your license, be prepared to do the following: provide your Social Security number
- Pass a visual screening exam
- And pay any fees that may be applicable. You can register to vote or declare your intention to be an organ donor (both are optional). Pass any exams or tests that may be necessary. In the event that you hold a valid driver’s license from another state, you will not be required to take the written or driving tests.
What if I get a Ticket for Not Changing License Over?
Technically, you might face a traffic citation if you are caught driving without a current Washington State drivers license. In the event that you relocate to Washington, you have 30 days to convert your existing license to a new Washington state license. The charge for driving without a legal license is $250, but if you appear in court with a valid Washington State drivers license, the fee is lowered to $50. Crary, Clark, Domanico, and Huang P.S. is a law firm that represents clients in Spokane, Washington, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho, and the surrounding areas.
You may reach us by phone at (509) 926-4900 or by sending us an email.
New to Washington State?
Driving without a valid Washington State drivers license is technically illegal, and you might be penalized for it. If you relocate to Washington, you will have 30 days to convert your previous license to a new Washington state license once you have arrived on the island. The charge for driving without a legal license is $250, but it can be lowered to $50 if you show up to court with a legitimate Washington State drivers license in your possession. Crary, Clark, Domanico, and Huang P.S. is a law firm that serves clients in Spokane, Washington, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho, and the surrounding areas.
You can reach us by phone at (509) 926-4900 or by sending us an e-mail.
The Process Is Simple
- Driving without a valid Washington State drivers license might result in a traffic citation, according to the law. In the event that you relocate to Washington, you have 30 days to transfer your previous license to a new Washington state license. Drivers who fail to show up in court with a valid drivers license in the state of Washington will have their punishment lowered to $50. We are a law firm in Spokane, Washington, that represents clients in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho, and the surrounding areas. If you have been issued a ticket for driving without a valid Washington State license—or for any other traffic or criminal violation—we can assist you with your situation. Call us at (509) 926-4900 or send us an email now.
To begin, you must first get your Washington State Drivers License, after which you may begin the registration process (s). This must be completed within 30 days of your arrival in the country.
- Our office is solely responsible for vehicle licensing. Visit the Washington State Department of Licensing website if you have any questions about driver licenses in the state of Washington. If you have any questions, please contact us at (253) 588-7786 or [email protected] You will not be able to get your license and register your vehicle at the same location.
2. Understand what you need
|If you’re registering an out of state vehicle||You will need:|
|If the vehicle is less than 10 years old…||Include an Odometer Disclosure Statement with your application. You may pick one up atour office.|
|If it’s a 2009 or newer:CarLight-duty TruckSUVPassenger Van||It must meet California emission standards to be registered, leased, rented, licensed, or sold for use in WA. SeeClean Car emission requirementson the state DOL site.|
|In these counties, Clark, King, Pierce, Snohomish, or Spokane…||You may need to pass an emissions test before you register your vehicle. See Emissions testing.|
|That’s been registered in another state AND owned for less than 90 days…||IncludeVehicle/Vessel Bill of Saleor Dealership purchase agreeement showing proof of any taxes paid.|
|Where the vehicle weight doesn’t show on the title…||You may be required to show the vehicle weight slip. You could get the weight from our office or weight your vehicle at a scale house in WA.|
|Where any owners listed on the title are deceased or need to be removed…||Contact our officefor further instructions.|
|That’s an RV, motor home, or trailer…||You may be required to present proof of sales tax. If you don’t have proof you’ll be required to payuse tax.|
3. Submit Proper Documentation and Fees
Please mail or deliver the following items to our office: Application for a Certificate of Ownership for a Motor Vehicle In our office, we do the following: Sign the document in the presence of a Title Clerk.
If you are sending a letter, please include the following information: Sign the form in the presence of a notary public. The most recent copy of your vehicle’s Certificate of Title
- You should request that your lending institution transmit a copy of your title to our office at (253) 581-5366 if you are still making payments on your car. As soon as you’ve paid off your debt, you may file for a WA title. If you don’t have the title, please get in touch with our office. Contact our office to find out how much your costs will be
- Payment for the services rendered
4. Receive your license plates
If you come to our office, you will be able to obtain them immediately. If you submit your application by mail, it may take up to three weeks from the date your application is received to process it. If you have any questions, please call our office and we would be pleased to assist you. To obtain further information and paperwork, you may also want to check out the website for the Washington State Department of Licensing. More information about military discounts may be found here. Active serving and retired military personnel now have a designated service window.
Convert Out-of-State Driver Licenses
After residing in the District for more than 60 days, you must change your out of state driver’s license or provisional license to either a DC DMV REAL ID driver license or a REAL ID provisional license, depending on your residency status. The District of Columbia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) produces a driving license and identity card that is nationally compatible, known as “REAL ID.” As a result, you must determine which papers you must collect and bring with you in order to obtain your new REAL ID driver license or REAL ID identity card.
- Documentation of identity
- Documentation of Social Security Number
- Documentation of current DC residency (2)
Provided you do not qualify for a DC DMV REAL ID license, you may still be eligible for a DC DMV Limited Purpose driving license if you meet the other requirements. More information about the Limited Purpose credential can be found at the following link: Provided you do not qualify for a DC DMV REAL ID license, you may still be eligible for a DC DMV Limited Purpose driving license if you meet the other qualifications. Please see the following link for further information on the Limited Purpose credential:
- Application, documentation, vision screening, knowledge test, road test, photograph, fees, and mailing are all part of the process.
By following the link below, you may access the DC DMV’s online Document Verification Guide to identify which papers you will need in order to receive a REAL ID driving license.
It is necessary to print and complete the driver license/identification card application form before applying for a REAL ID driver license, or learner permit, in order to receive one. Unless you choose to reject, you will be automatically registered to vote as of June 26, 2018, once you have completed the application process. The application form may be found at the website provided below: After that, take your completed application form to a DMV service facility in Washington, DC. A list of service centers may be found at the URL provided below: You will be required to surrender your current driver license or provisional license to the DC DMV; if you do not have a current driver license or provisional license, the DC DMV will accept a certified driving record (issued by the state from which your license is issued within the last 30 days) that reflects that your license is in good standing and has not been expired for more than 90 days; if you do not have a certified driving record, the DC DMV will accept a certified driving record (issued by If your out-of-state driving license has been expired for more than 90 days, you will be required to take the DC DMV knowledge and road skills exams in order to obtain a new license.
More information about the tests may be found by clicking on the following links:
After receiving a REAL ID driving license, you will be able to make specific statements on voting, organ donation, Selective Service eligibility, veteran status, and special designation indicators such as autism, hearing impairment, and intellectual disability, among other things. Instructions for using these designations may be found at the website provided below:
- Donor Status, Selective Service, Voting, Veteran, Autism, Hearing Impaired, and Intellectual Disability are all included in the license designations.
Along with the application, you must include the documentation proving your eligibility for a driver license. These are the documents that must be submitted, and the DC DMV will not accept any other documents that are not on this list: You will require the following materials:
- Identification and proof of age are required. You must be at least 16 years old to participate. Please see the link below for further information on which identification papers DC DMV recognizes as evidence of identity: REAL ID Proof of Identity—Full legal name and date of birth on the identification card
- Proof of one’s legal presence. Both US citizens and non-citizens are needed to show documentation of their legal presence in the country. The following is a list of documentation that the District of Columbia Department of Motor Vehicles recognizes as proof of lawful presence: Proof of legal presence using a REAL ID
- You must provide proof of your Social Security number. The following link can provide you with further information about your Social Security number: Identification with a REAL photo and proof of Social Security Number
- Your Social Security number must be presented as proof of your identity. The following link will provide you with information about your Social Security number: Identification with a REAL photo and proof of Social Security number
- Please provide proof of your Social Security number. The following website will provide you with further information about your Social Security number:
- A REAL ID that includes proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of driving competency is required. For further information on proving your driving ability, please see the link below:
- Proof of Driving Ability
- Documentation proving one’s driving skills Please see the following link for information on proving your driving ability: Proof of Driving Ability
It is important to note that if you owe money to the District or if you have unpaid penalties for moving traffic infractions in other jurisdictions, you may be denied a DC DMV REAL ID driving license.
After submitting your application form and supporting documentation, you will be required to complete and pass a vision screening exam in order to be given a driving license by the DC DMV service facility. More information on the screening may be found at the website provided below:
Your picture will be taken at the service center once your paperwork have been authorized and processed. District law and policy demand a full frontal digital shot that shows either the ears or the hairline up to the hairline without displaying the hair, as determined by the photographer.
Once your photograph has been taken, you will be required to pay the necessary cost for your license to be issued. Fees for driver licenses and identity cards in the District of Columbia may be found at the website provided below:
After you have finished the application procedure and paid the required costs, the DC DMV will issue you a temporary, paper DC DMV driving license. Your temporary ID will be valid for 45 days, and your official license will be delivered to you within 10 business days after receiving this temporary identification. The District of Columbia Department of Motor Vehicles does not mail licenses to PO boxes. You may check the progress of your license’s mailing by visiting the website listed below: After you have finished the process and paid the costs, the DC DMV will issue you a temporary, paper DC DMV driving license.
The following URL will allow you to check the progress of your license’s mailing:
- Obtain a DC DMV REAL ID Driver License, a DC DMV Limited Purpose Driver License, or a combination of the two.
Washington State ID or Driver License
For those who reside in Washington State, the Department of Licensing (DOL) is in charge of issuing driver licenses and identification (ID) cards to those who qualify. A driver’s license gives you the authority to drive in Washington and acts as proof of your identity in the state. Despite the fact that the ID card does not grant driving privileges, it functions as official identification.
For activities such as banking, domestic travel, demonstrating your age (for example, at 21-and-over venues), and other similar activities, having legal identification from Washington may be beneficial.
Driver License or Identification (ID) Card Application
A driver’s license and a photo identification card (ID card) are issued by the Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL) to residents of the state of Washington. Permission to drive in Washington is granted through a driver’s license, which also acts as identity. Despite the fact that the ID card does not grant driving privileges, it acts as formal identification in many situations. Banking, domestic travel, establishing your age (such as at 21-and-over establishments), and other activities can be made easier with valid identification from Washington.
DMV Seattle Guide – Drivers License Knowledge Test or Written Test
According to state law, you have 30 days to obtain your Washington driving license after establishing your domicile in the state of Washington.
How to establish residency in Washington
A resident is defined as someone who does any of the following activities:
- When you accomplish any of the following, you are considered a resident:
How to get a Washington State driver license
- Identification and proof of residency, including your out-of-state driver’s license
- To pay the $45 charge for your first Washington driving license (which includes $20 for your application and $25 for your license), you must use cash or a check. Your social security number, which is required in order to assist in the enforcement of child support laws. You will be asked to provide your social security number, which will not show on your driver’s license.
- Complete an application for a driver’s license, which must include the following information:
- The following information is required: your address
- A medical and mental fitness statement
- Previous driver license information (if any)
- And any suspensions, revocations, or cancellations of previous driver licenses.
- Pass a vision screening as well as a demonstration of color recognition ability
- Unless you have a medical or physical condition that necessitates taking a knowledge exam or a driving test after completing the stages above, you will not be needed to take a knowledge test or a driving test. The Department of Licensing must receive your out-of-state license before it may be cancelled
- Otherwise, your license will be revoked.
If you have an expired driver license from another state
In addition to completing all of the stages outlined above, you must pass the knowledge exam and driving test.
If you have valid license from another country
Germany and British Columbia are the only two countries that have reciprocity agreements with Washington State, according to the Washington State Department of Commerce.
- The only countries that have reciprocity agreements with Washington State are Germany and British Columbia.
Germany and British Columbia are the only two countries that have reciprocity agreements with Washington State, according to the state’s website.
When you’ll get your new driver license
You will be issued a temporary license at the driver licensing office, which will allow you to drive for a period of 45 days after receiving it. After you apply for your permanent Washington driving license, the application will be completed and mailed to you within 7–10 business days. If, for whatever reason, you have not received your replacement license within 30 days, please contact any driver licensing office for more assistance.
How to get an enhanced driver license
Check out Steps to Obtaining Your EDL/EID for information on how to obtain a Washington State enhanced driving license, which serves as an acceptable substitute for a passport for re-entry into the United States at land and sea border crossings.
Adults in Washington who wish to obtain a driver’s license have a variety of possibilities. First and foremost, if you wish, you can follow the exact same procedures as teens – obtain an instruction permit, complete a driver training course, and pass knowledge and driving tests. However, while an instruction permit is required for all teen drivers between the ages of 15 and 17, it is not required for adults seeking to obtain their Washington state drivers license. A permit is only required if you desire to practice driving prior to taking the driving test.
Although it is not necessary if you have never operated a motor vehicle before, it is highly recommended.
How to Get an Adult Drivers License in Washington
If you want to get your adult drivers license as quickly as possible, you can forego both the instruction permit and the driving training course.
To obtain a Washington drivers license in this situation, passing both the knowledge and behind-the-wheel driving tests is all that is required of the applicant. Even if you aren’t enrolling in a driver training school or applying for an instruction permit, the process is straightforward:
- Pre-apply for a driver’s license via the internet. Using a pre-application saves time at the licensing station and allows you to establish a record with the Washington Department of Licensing, which will help you conduct future transactions more smoothly. Pass the knowledge test at a testing center where it is offered. Getting 20 out of 25 questions accurate is required to pass the test. At the licensing office, fill out an application for a license.
- Bring your Social Security number as well as identification with you. Pass an eye examination. Pay any fees that may be applicable
- Make an appointment to take a driving test at a testing center and pass the exam
- Complete the process of getting your driver’s license. You have the option of completing this process online or in person at a licensing agency.
- Licensees who have had an instruction permit and have not received any infractions, suspensions, or revocations are not eligible to apply for online licensing.
It is necessary to print your online receipt since it will function as your temporary license. If you want to complete the process in person, you will be issued a temporary license at that time. To receive your permanent license, allow 7-10 days from the date of purchase.
How do I transfer my driver’s license to Washington?
To drive in Washington, you must first get an out-of-state driver’s license and then transfer it to a Washington license within 30 days after relocating to the state. The driver’s licence fee must be paid in person at your localWashingtonDOL office, together with a variety of supporting documentation. How to Obtain a Driver’s License
- Drivers must successfully complete a training course. Obtain a learner’s permit in the state of Washington
- All new drivers must complete at least 50 hours of practice to ensure their safety and obtain valuable driving experience. Obtain a valid driving permit from any state-approved testing institution.
In addition to the above, how much does it cost to transfer your license from one state to another? What you’ll need is the following: Out-of-state driver’s license, photo identity, social security card or evidence of social security number, two proofs of address, and proof of lawful presence in the United States of America are required. Fees: $28 for renewing your license and $11.50 for obtaining a new identification card. In addition, how can I transfer my driver’s license to a another state?
- A valid driver’s license from another state
- An additional means of identifying
- You must provide proof of your Social Security number. You must provide proof of your new abode, including your new address. Pass a vision examination
- Reimbursement for a replacement driver’s license
What is the cost of obtaining a driver’s license in the state of Washington? A regular driver’s license and identification card costs $54. The cost of an improved driver’s license or I.D. card is $78.
A policy regarding residence documentation is in place at the Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL), and you will be required to provide them when you apply for a driver’s license or ID card there. This publication tells you what papers you’ll need to complete your application. 9349EN
- Should I take a look at this? What kind of evidence do you require? I am a recipient of public assistance. I am unable to obtain a driver’s license due to financial constraints. What should I do
- What should I do if I have questions
Should I read this?
When applying for a driver’s license or identification card in Washington State and you do not have a Social Security number, you should consult with the Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL) to determine what documentation you must provide. * Whenever you provide a Social Security number, the Department of Labor (DOL) confirms it with the Social Security Administration.
What proof do I need?
*The Department of Labor will double-check your documentation.* In addition to your name and current home location in Washington, your evidence must include the following information: Bring one of the following:
- A charge for services (gas, electric, water, garbage, landline phone, or ISTA). Bills for cable, internet, and satellite TV are not to be brought. Document from your institution or university indicating that your current home address has been recorded
- Students who are not enrolled on campus: Bring a printout from the SEVIS database that contains all of the following information:
- Your mailing address
- In a well marked, sealed envelope with the college’s return address on the outside
- Proof that it was sent by the “Designated School Official” or “Responsible Officer.”
- A digital ID letter from the Washington Department of Corrections (DOC) that includes your current home address
- Your Washington car registration number, as well as one of the following: your
- You will get an electronic ID letter from the Washington Department of Corrections (DOC) with your current home address. In addition to your Washington car registration, you must provide one of the following:
- An electronic ID letter from the Washington Department of Corrections (DOC) that includes your current home address
- Your Washington automobile registration, as well as one of the following:
When you apply for a license, the Department of Labor (DOL) will also need you to provide identification. For further information, see Identification Documents for Washington Driver’s Licenses. * If you are unable to prove your identity but can demonstrate your residence, you may be issued a license that is marked “not valid for identification.”
I get public assistance. I cannot afford a driver’s license. What can I do?
Instruct your DSHS caseworker to complete the form 16-029 “Request for Identicard,” which you may see here or ask your caseworker to provide you with it. After you have completed the form, you should present it to the Department of Labor to obtain a Washington State ID card. It will cost you five bucks to use this service.
I still have questions.
If you need legal counsel or a referral to further resources, call CLEAR at 1-888-201-1014 between 9:15 a.m. and 12:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, or visit one of our local offices: PROJECT FOR JUSTICE IN THE NORTHWEST Phone numbers for Wenatchee and Yakima are 1-888-201-1021 and 1-888-201-1018, respectively.
COLUMBIA LEGAL SERVICES is a law firm based in Columbia, South Carolina. Wenatchee:1-800-572-9615Yakima:1-800-631-1323 1-888-201-9735 (Kennewick, WA)
Download | Printer-friendly
The most recent review and update occurred on November 24, 2020.
Washington Drivers License Renewal
On the 7th of July, 2021, an update was made. A little more than 5.7 million drivers are licensed in Washington State, which is not to be mistaken with Washington, D.C., which is located on the east coast. All teenaged drivers between the ages of 15 and 17 are required to have a driving permit, however if you are an adult, you are not required to have one.
Use eTags ©to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
The Toyota RAV4 and the Ford F-Series are the most popular automobiles in Washington State, according to GoBankingRates website. The Subaru Forester is ranked fifth in this category. For several years, Washington has seen a decrease in the number of automobile accidents. In fact, during the previous five years, the number of incidents involving intoxicated drivers, distracted drivers, and young drivers has all decreased. In order to renew my Washington driver’s license, I must first determine what I need and how to go about doing so.
How to Renew a Washington Driver’s License
When it comes to renewing your driver’s license in Washington, the state Department of Licensing (DOL) makes the process straightforward. If you are qualified, you may be able to renew your membership online. If this is the case, you can renew your membership by mail or in person. Continue reading for additional information on how to renew a driver’s license in Washington.
Renewing an Expired License in Washington
In Washington, a driver’s license is good for six years, and it expires on the day of your birth. If your driver’s license is about to expire, you can renew it up to a year before it does so. If you fail to renew your Washington drivers license by the deadline, you will have an additional 60 days to finish the process.
Expired Driver’s License Renewal Fees
Although there is no late charge, it is important to remember that if you are discovered driving with an expired license, the consequences may be quite expensive. If you wait more than 60 days after the expiration date, you will be charged a $10 late fee, and if you wait more than six years after the expiration date, you will be required to start again as a brand new driver, which includes completing the driving exams.
Washington Driver’s License Renewal Requirements
Make sure your mailing address is up to date by double-checking it. If you are certain that you need to alter your license, you can utilize the online license eXpress tool. In addition, you can alter your address in person. One thing to keep in mind is that both your driver’s license and your vehicle’s registration information must be up to date. In the event that you registered a car at a new location but did not update your driver’s license address at the same time, you are most likely out of current.
Renewing Your Driver’s License Online
If you are between the ages of 24 and 70 and do not have any additional limitations, you can utilize License eXpress to fulfill your Washington license renewal requirements. Visit the Washington DOL website and utilize their eligibility tool if you are unsure if you qualify for unemployment benefits. Here’s everything you’ll need to get started:
- The number on your driver’s license
- The last four digits of your social security number
- Date of birth
- A brief biography Your license specifies the color of your eyes
Numéro de permis de conduire Last four digits of social security number; birthdate; name of the person; Your license specifies the color of your eyes.
In Person DMV License Renewal
If you are under the age of 24 or over the age of 70, you will be required to complete your Washington driver’s license renewal in person at the DOL office. Additionally, if you need to pass the vision screening test or if you require a new photo, you will be required to come in person to the office.Be sure to bring your current driver’s license with you when you visit the DOL office. When you reach there, the following will take place:
- Pass the eyesight exam with flying colors
- Take a fresh photo for your driver’s license
- Pay the requisite renewal money for your license
Renewing Your Washington License by Mail
Drivers who have received a notice of license renewal in the mail are able to complete the Washington driver’s license renewal procedure through the postal service. The renewal notification includes step-by-step directions for completing the process. Simply follow the on-screen instructions and include the appropriate payment information.
Required Driver’s License Renewal Fees in Washington
The cost of a basic Washington driver’s license is $54 and it is good for six years.
Renewing a Military Driver’s License in Washington
Military personnel’s Washington driver’s licenses are valid for as long as they are on active service in the United States. The following are the requirements:
- Driver’s licenses in Washington state are valid for military members for the duration of their while on active service. This is a list of the requirements:
Because the state makes it so simple to renew your driver’s license in Washington, you should never have to worry about being pulled over for driving without a license. If you haven’t gotten a renewal letter, double-check to be sure you still have a valid license. Failure to do so might result in significant fines and costs if your license becomes invalid.