Colorado License Renewal Rules for Older Drivers Time limits: Drivers age 61 and older must renew every 5 years; younger drivers renew every 10 years.
- Time limits: Drivers age 61 and older must renew every 5 years; younger drivers renew every 10 years. No renewal online for drivers 66 and older, who can check eligibility to renew by mail by submitting name, date of birth, and license number to the Colorado Department of Revenue online.
How long do you have to renew your license in Colorado?
Your license in the Centennial State will expire every five (5) years if you are over twenty (21) years of age. If you were issued the license when you were younger than twenty one, it will expire twenty (20) days after you turn 21. The expiration will always fall on your birth day (if you are older than 21).
Can I drive with an expired license in Colorado?
In Colorado, it’s against the law to drive on an expired license. However, if your license has been expired for less than a year, you face only a fine of up to $100. A second offense may have more serious consequences.
How often do US drivers licenses expire?
Every five years, on your birthday, your California driver’s license will expire. You will receive a renewal notice through the mail from the DMV office around the 2-month mark before it expires.
Are driving licence expiry dates being extended?
The extension will apply to driving licences expiring from 1 July 2021 to 31 October 2021 with 10 months added to the expiry date in cases where the driving licence has not benefited from an extension previously. If the date is between 1 July 2021 and 31 October 2021 then the extension of ten months will be applied.
Can seniors renew drivers license online in Colorado?
Coloradans ages 66 and older can renew their driver license or ID online at myDMV.Colorado.gov or via the myColorado™ app. From March 2020 to August 2021, more than 136,000 Colorado seniors have renewed their license or ID online.
How do I get my 21 year old license in Colorado?
Applicants turning 21 years of age must apply for their adult driver license, permit, or identification card on or after their 21st birthday to receive an adult credential. Your new driver license, permit or ID card will be mailed to the address you provide.
Can seniors renew drivers license online?
Licence centres in the Western Cape do not use the online system for driver’s licence renewals; however, most centres have special queues to assist the elderly. It’s also important to note that you can’t send someone else on your behalf to renew your driver’s licence as biometrics are required for renewal.
How do I renew my Colorado driver’s license at 65?
Coloradans age 66 and older can renew their driver license or ID online at myDMV.colorado.gov or via the myColorado app. Anyone who is concerned about a senior family member’s ability to drive can email [email protected] for information about a re-examination request due to physical or mental constraints.
How often do you have to renew your license in Colorado?
Time limits: Drivers age 61 and older must renew every 5 years; younger drivers renew every 10 years. No renewal online for drivers 66 and older, who can check eligibility to renew by mail by submitting name, date of birth, and license number to the Colorado Department of Revenue online.
What state has the longest license renewal?
Most states require drivers to renew every four years. Even if you consider the requirement to update license photos every 12 years, Arizona still has the longest renewal period.
At what age do you need to renew your driving Licence?
Driving licences expire at 70 years of age, so when you reach 70, you need to renew your driving licence if you wish to continue driving. You then need to renew it every three years afterwards.
Can I take the written driving test online in Colorado?
The program can be completed either in-classroom or online. You will need to present the certificate of completion when you apply for a driver’s permit, alongside other requirements.
How much is a Colorado license renewal?
To renew online, visit the DMV Renew a Driver License or ID webpage and follow the instructions. The renewal fee is $26.00 for a regular license or $79.58 for an SB251 license, which you pay with a credit card: American Express, Discover Card, MasterCard, or Visa.
Can I get my Colorado ID online?
Award-winning myColorado™ App Offers Digital ID & Vaccine Record. The app’s contactless Colorado Digital ID™ is an electronic version of your driver license or state-issued identification (ID) card to show proof of ID, age and address within the state.
FAQ – Driver License
- Information about identification requirements, card information, photograph, renewal, making changes, drivers under the age of 21, drivers from other states, process, testing, rehabilitation permits, interpreters for hearing-impaired customers, organ and tissue donation, rules and regulations Individuals over the age of 65
- Active Duty Military and Veterans
- Individuals who did not get a license, identification card, or permit in the mail
What documents do I need to bring with me in order to obtain a Colorado driver license, permit, or identification card? We have a page dedicated to identification requirements, which covers the documents you will need to bring to your licensing appointment. These documents serve as proof of your entire legal name, date of birth, identification, and right to be in the country. Some situations may just necessitate the use of a single document. You may, however, be required to provide a number of papers in order to show all four aspects.
If you are unable to establish each of the needed aspects using the papers listed in the chart, you may be directed to Exceptions Processing, where you will be requested to show the required elements using additional or alternative documents, as detailed in the chart.
It is also necessary to provide proof of residence as well as the relevant payment.
If I don’t have one, what should I do?
To get a driving license or identification card in the state of California if you do not have a Social Security number, you must first complete the CO-RCSA (SB 251) criteria.
When you arrive for your appointment, bring the completed and printedRequest for Waiverform(DR 4678)along with you, as well as an affidavit stating that you are lawfully present in the United States, proof that you are lawfully present in the United States, and at least one form of identification from the identification requirements chart.
- If your information fails all of the checks, the office will contact you to discuss your options.
- Was the star on my driver’s license, instruction permit, or identity card meant to denote something specific?
- For federal reasons such as boarding an airplane or accessing a government building, this card may be used as proof of identification.
- Born-in-the-United States birth certificates are frequently used to validate an applicant’s complete legal name, date of birth, and legal presence in the country.
- With the exception of Washington, D.C.
and the five boroughs of New York City (Brooklyn/Kings, Bronx, Queens, Staten Island, and Manhattan), city- or borough-issued birth certificates are not recognised for identification purposes. We are unable to accept birth certificates that have been laminated or that are in wallet size.
What criteria does the DMV use to determine what information should be included on a driver license, instruction permit, or identification card? The Colorado DMV adheres to the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) guidelines for the information that must be contained on a driver license, instruction permit, or identity card. What information is included on the magnetic strip of my credit card? The information on the magnetic strip corresponds to the information on the actual card, as well as any ethnicity information you have willingly submitted to the card issuer.
Is it permissible to wear a religious hat in a driver’s license or identification card photo? As long as the photograph fits the REAL ID Act’s criteria for driver license photographs (i.e., it does not include religious symbols), religious headgear may be worn for photographs taken for driver licenses, instruction permits, or identity cards.
Is it possible to renew my driver’s license or identification card online? Adults with normal driver’s licenses and ID cards who meet the eligibility requirements can renew their licenses and ID cards online. When you renew your driver’s license or identification card, your prior photo, signature, and fingerprint are utilized. Visit our renewal link to find out if you are eligible for online renewal as well as what evidence you will need to bring with you when you renew your document in person.
How can I update my driver’s license or identification card with a new address? No appointment is necessary, and you do not need to purchase a new card unless you wish for your new address to be printed on your driver’s license, permit, or ID card. You have the option of doing any of the following: You may update your address online. Following your online address change, print a label with your new address (for example, a return address label) and attach it to the back of your driver’s license, permit, or other identification card.
- Fill out the form and send or present it to the appropriate driver licensing office.
- A driving licensing office can provide you with a paperwork for changing your address.
- After that, you may print your own label (for example, a return address label) with your new address on it and attach it to the back of your license, permit, or identification card.
- It will be shipped to the address you enter in order to obtain a new license, permit, or ID card.
- Before visiting a driving license office, be sure that any name changes have been submitted to the Social Security Administration.
- Once that has been accomplished, you must go to a driver license office and provide one of the documents listed below that shows your name change has been finalized.
Original marriage certificate that has been certified (foreign marriage licenses are not accepted) Original civil union certificate that has been certified Original tribal court marriage certificate that has been certified by the court Original divorce decree that has been certified Original divorce decree with the name restored that has been certified by the court certified copy of the original court decree authorizing the name change If you are reverting to your maiden name, you will need a certified original state or county issued birth certificate.
When I renew my driver’s license or identity card, how can I modify the gender designation? Coloradans may easily alter the gender designation on their driver’s license or identity card by following a few simple procedures.
Drivers Under 21
What is the procedure for submitting an application for a permit? Please see our page on Minor Permits for further information. How long does an adolescent have to have a permit before he or she may receive a license? Please see our page on Minor Permits for further information. What are the regulations if I’m under the age of 18 and have only recently obtained my driver’s license? If you are under the age of eighteen, you must:
- You are not authorized to operate a vehicle transporting a single passenger under the age of 21 until you have held your driver’s license for at least six months. Driving a vehicle with more than one passenger under the age of 21 is not authorized unless you have held your driver’s license for at least one year prior to driving the vehicle.
- Exceptions to the prohibition on transporting multiple passengers or passengers under the age of 21 include: if an adult passenger is in the vehicle who is 21 years of age or older, who has a valid driver’s license and has held a driver’s license for at least one year
- If an adult passenger is in the vehicle who is 21 years of age or older, who has a valid driver’s license and has held a driver’s license for at least one year
- If a traveler under the age of 21 need immediate medical attention
- You may be exempt from this requirement if the passengers under 21 are members of your immediate family who are all wearing seatbelts.
- When transporting people, only one passenger may travel in the front seat with you, and there can be no more passengers in the rear seat than there are seat belts
- When transporting cargo, only one person may ride in the back seat with you. It is mandatory for you and all of your passengers to wear seat belts. The hours during which you are authorized to drive are also restricted:
- Driving between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. is not permitted unless you have held your driving license for at least one year, save in the following situations:
- There is an adult passenger in the car who is 21 years old or older, who has a valid driver’s license and has had it for at least one year
- Because the school does not provide transportation, you must drive yourself to school or to an activity allowed by the school.
- You will require a signed statement from a school representative confirming the date of the activity
- In the event that you are driving for work, you must provide a signed declaration from your employer confirming your employment. You’re driving because you’re in a hurry to get somewhere.
Is it possible to transfer my CDL from another state to Colorado? Yes, any valid (or expired less than one year) out-of-state CDLs will transfer to Colorado, with the exception of HAZMAT and school bus endorsements, with no restrictions. I wish to maintain my out-of-state driver’s license; can I apply for a Colorado identification card while keeping my license? You cannot have a valid driver’s license and a valid identification card at the same time. Applicants who are new residents of Colorado must submit an application for a Colorado identification card and relinquish their out-of-state identification card.
What is the best way to go about it?
- PLEASE NOTE: Due to the medical and testing requirements for CDL drivers, only a 30-day extension is possible. There is no charge for this additional 30-day period. Please submit your request to the following address:
Colorado Department of RevenuePO Box 173350 Room 164Denver, CO 80217-3350 Colorado Department of Revenue
- WARNING TO CDL OWNER/DRIVER IN THE MILITARY: If you hold a Colorado CDL license and are stationed outside of the state or overseas, your license is automatically extended for up to three years under Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-118(2), provided that you present a military identification card or military orders along with the license. Please do not request an extension, since you will not receive a sticker in the mail.
If I relocate to Colorado, would I be required to take a test in order to transfer my driver’s license? If you have a valid driver’s license from any state in the United States, Canada, France, Germany, the Republic of South Korea, or Taiwan, you will not be needed to take any tests. You will, however, be asked to provide the necessary documentation and pay the corresponding price. If you are a newcomer to Colorado from another nation, please visit this page.
What is the expected delivery time for my driver’s license or identification card? All licenses, permits, and ID cards are shipped from a secure central location to provide enhanced security and compliance with REAL ID requirements. Licenses, permits, and ID cards typically arrive in 8-10 days, but it may take up to 30 days for delivery. If you want to know where your driver’s license or identification card is, go to myDMV.Colorado.gov and use the “Where is my driver license/ identification card?” option.
If my license expires, would I be required to retake the test in order to renew it?
If your driver’s license has been expired for more than one year, you will be forced to retake both the written exam and the driving skills test to regain your privileges.
Please see our fees page for further information. Are there any driver’s license offices in my county of residence that I should visit? No. To schedule an appointment at any state driver licensing office that provides the service you require, call the number shown on the website.
Is it possible for me to take my written exam or driving test at a school? Yes. See our comprehensive list of driver education institutions that provide both written and driving tests, as well as driver training and instruction. In which languages will the written test be available? Driver license exams are available in both English and Spanish at state driver licensing offices. Other languages may be available through third-party schools. Translators are permitted for the written examination.
Everyone who applies for a Colorado driver license or permit is required by Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-111(1)(a) to have their eyesight tested for minimum standards established by the Colorado Department of Revenue in collaboration with the Colorado Optometric Association, the American Optometric Association, and the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators, among others.
Vision in either or both eyes must be at least 20/40, which is the minimum prescribed by the FDA.
What is the procedure for obtaining a rehabilitation permit? The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles gives step-by-step directions on how to get a rehabilitation permit in the state of Colorado.
Interpreters for Hearing Impaired Customers
I am deaf and hard of hearing. What steps do I need to take to secure a sign language interpreter? Please see our page on lodging requests for more information.
Organ, Eye and Tissue Donation
Is it possible for my driver’s license, permit, or ID card to indicate that I am an organ, eye, or tissue donor? A heart with a “Y” in the center will appear on the front of your license, permit, or ID card if you responded affirmatively to the question about being an organ, eye, or tissue donor when you applied for your license, permit, or ID card. If you answered affirmatively to the question about being an organ, eye, or tissue donor when you applied for your license, permit, or ID card. Additionally, by responding affirmatively, your name is automatically included into the confidentialDonate Life Colorado Registry.
Rules and Regulations
What do the restriction codes on my driver’s license denote and what do they mean? When there is a good reason, Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-116 authorizes the Department to restrict, limit, or place special conditions on a license to allow a person to continue to operate a motor vehicle, regardless of the condition or situation that resulted in the restriction being placed on their license. The following are examples of restriction codes, as well as the explanations that go along with them:
- In the event that the client is physically unable to properly drive an automatic transmission car, this limitation is put on his or her driving privileges
- When a vision specialist determines that a license should be restricted, the restriction is imposed.
- When the 20/40 vision criterion can only be reached by wearing spectacles or contact lenses, this limitation is placed on a driver’s license.
- As noted on the DR2401 (medical form) or DR2402 (eye examination form), this limitation is imposed on the license of the individual.
- When a client is physically unable to operate a vehicle safely with standard factory-installed equipment, this limitation is imposed on their license. In order to demonstrate their ability to operate the car safely without using hand controls, the client must have their driver license restricted until they can demonstrate their ability to do so.
- G = Rear-view mirror or corrective lenses on the left-side of the vehicle
- This limitation is put on a license in accordance with the information on a DR2401 (medical form) or DR2402 (eye examination report)
Active Duty Military and Veterans
What types of military identification do you have on your driving license or ID card in Colorado?
To find out more, please visit our section dedicated to active duty troops and military veterans. The military identity and veteran indication do not apply to spouses or dependents of active duty military personnel.
Individuals older than 65
I’m above the age of sixty-five. May you tell me where I can access information that is unique to my age group? Drivers 65 and older can find additional information on our Drivers 65 and older webpage.
- If you are unable to renew your driver’s license because you are unable to travel to Colorado, you may request an extension of your expiration date as long as your license has not expired at the time of the request and there are no outstanding fines or other active restrictions on your driving privileges. When a person’s license expires, a sticker is granted to extend the expiration date if they are out of state or nation, or if they are temporarily unable to apply in person due to physical handicap.
- Unless the applicant is abroad of the country, a civilian extension is valid for one year from the date of expiration and may only be obtained once. If you are out of the country, you may be granted a second extension if you submit a separate request within 90 days after the expiration of the first extension. You may find out if you are eligible to have your license extended online. If you do not renew your license online, the department will require the following information:
- A written, signed Request for Extension (DR2342), with an out-of-state postal address, signed by you
- Fill out the request form completely, including your full legal name, date of birth, and out-of-state mailing address, as well as payment of the necessary cost. Check or money order should be made payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue
- You can also send your request by postal mail to the following address: Department of RevenueDivision of Motor VehiclesPO Box 173345Denver, CO 80217-3345
Active Duty Military Extension
- The automatic three-year extension applies to Colorado residents on active duty
- If military personnel choose to apply for the extension sticker, the extension is free
- However, the application must include a letter from his or her commanding officer stating that the individual is on active duty and currently stationed outside of Colorado. Alternately, offer a copy of his or her military orders, which say that he or she is stationed outside of Colorado
- As long as their license has not been expired for more than three years, active duty military service personnel are eligible to renew their license.
- You can either apply online or submit a writtenRequest for Extension (DR2342) to the appropriate authority.
You can also send your request by postal mail to: Department of RevenueDivision of Motor VehiclesPO Box 173345Denver, CO 80217-3345.
Colorado Drivers License Renewal
Avoid going to the DMV by renewing your Colorado driver’s license right now. Get all of the documents, rules, and procedures you’ll need to renew your Colorado drivers license. Residents of Colorado can choose from a number of various renewal choices available to them. For example, the most convenient approach is to renew your membership online. If you would prefer to renew your membership by mail, that is your second best option. For those who do not qualify for any of these options, they can always choose to present in person.
We can assist you in preparing for your renewal, whether it is done online, via mail, or in person.
You’ll get a checklist, as well as any applications, instructions, and processes that may be required.
Sign in here.
Colorado Drivers License Renewal Information
If you are over the age of twenty-one (21) in the Centennial State, your driver’s license will expire every five (5) years. If you were given your license when you were under the age of twenty-one, it will expire twenty (20) days after you reach the age of twenty-one. The expiry date will always occur on the same day as your birthday (if you are older than 21). If you are unsure about your license’s expiration date, check your physical license, which will always display the date.
The Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (CO DMV) may mail you a renewal reminder. However, you are not needed to get this letter in order to renew your membership, so don’t be concerned if you do not. Possible reasons for not receiving one include that the Department of Motor Vehicles is not currently mailing out notices to drivers. However, in order to ensure that relevant messages are sent to you in the future, please ensure that your most recent address is on file. Changes of address in Colorado must be reported to the DMV as soon as possible.
When To Renew
As long as you are twenty-two (22) years or older, there are no restrictions on when you may renew your driver’s license in the state of Colorado. You may choose from any of the available renewal options as soon as you like, at your discretion. The sole exemption is for drivers under the age of majority who do not possess an adult license (under 21).
In such situation, you will have to wait until you reach the age of 21 before you can renew your license. Because you have been given plenty preparation time, there should be no reason for you to let your license lapse. If, on the other hand, this occurs, please refer to the section below.
Expired Colorado License
Licenses that have expired should never be used to operate a motor vehicle. If you are pulled over by the police, you will be issued a ticket by the officer. The possession of an expired license will also have significant ramifications upon re-certification. For example, if you allow your license to expire for more than one (1) year, you will only be able to renew it in person since you will be forced to retake both the knowledge test and the road test. If you have thrown or misplaced your expired license, you will be required to provide the same documentation as a new application.
After satisfying the requirements, you must apply to have your license reinstated.
There are certain DMV offices that are specifically set up to help you get your license back if your license was suspended for reasons such as unpaid tickets, child support issues, or the accumulation of points.
If you compare prices from a number of different insurance companies, you are sure to find savings.
Renew Colorado Drivers License Online
As long as you complete the standards outlined below, you will be able to renew your license online in a simple manner. If you see any form of error screen, it is likely that you did not satisfy the requirements. Let’s have a look at them:
Requirements to Renew Online
- If you have exceeded your expiry date by more than one (1) year, you will be unable to use this technique. If you are not between the ages of twenty-one (21) and sixty-five (65), you will be unable to renew your membership online. CDL (commercial driver’s license) renewals are not permitted to be completed online. It is not permitted to renew online (or by mail) in the same month twice. If you renewed your license last year online or by mail, you will not be able to do so this year
- It is not possible to alter your name (address changes are allowed). Using the online site will not be permitted if your name differs from the one that is entered in the DMV database
- Instead, you will be required to complete the name change and renewal in person. For those who are lawfully residing in the United States as a result of animmigrationstatus, you must appear in person with your evidence of legal status documentation. This option is not available to you if you do not have an SSN (social security number). If you are required to comply with a medical condition, you will not be permitted to utilize this option. Using this option will not be available to you if you are needed to sit for a driving examination. If the DMV is still deciding whether or not to take action against your driving record, you will not be permitted to continue using this approach. It will not be possible for drivers who have outstanding judgments, warrants, or nonsufficient funds checks with the DMV to continue to use this mode of payment. To complete the transaction, a credit card is necessary. In addition, you must have an email address.
- The first web page will require you to enter your driving license number, birth date, and the last four digits of your Social Security number. The following step will ask you to respond to a series of questions in order to ensure that you are eligible to renew online. After that, you’ll be prompted to provide a postal address. Also at this stage, you have the opportunity to change your mailing address
- In addition, you can register to vote in Colorado.
- Last but not least, you must pay the$21.00renewalFee. The only credit cards that are accepted are American Express, Visa, MasterCard, and Discover
- A receipt will be issued to you after your purchase. Your license will be delivered to you in the mail no later than one (1) month.
Note: If you have any issues about your transaction, please contact us at 303-205-5613 or 303-205-5940. (TDD).
Colorado Drivers License Renew by Mail
This is just another of the “convenience” alternatives for completing your renewal application (when are you located in the state of Colorado). You can renew your license if you live outside of Colorado; please read the section below for details. Please review the military section if you are a member of the armed forces.
Requirements to Renew By Mail
- You must be older than twenty-one years old (21). You must have an adult Colorado driver’s license in order to participate in this activity. CDL (commercial driver’s license) renewals are not permitted via mail. It is not permitted to renew by mail in the same month twice. If you completed your last renewal online or by mail, you will not be able to do it by mail this time
- You must not owe any money to the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles. For the purpose of verifying this, your driving record will be verified. You will not be allowed to modify your name or your profile image
- This is a must.
- To begin, go to the following DMV page: You will be required to provide your driving license number, first and last name, and date of birth. After determining whether or not you qualify, you will be given permission to download and print your renew by mail application. Last but not least, you must pay the$21.00renewalFee. Then, according to the packet’s directions, mail both the check and application to the address provided on the envelope
- Your replacement license will be delivered to you in the mail no later than one (1) month.
Out of State Renewal By Mail
If you are out of the state of Colorado when your driving license expires (either inside the United States or abroad), you may request an extension sticker to be placed on your driving license. This extension will allow you to continue driving for an additional twelve (12) months. There is a fee, and you must be eligible to receive it. Please continue reading for more information:
Requirements to get an Extension
- If your license has been expired for more than twelve (12) months, you will not be able to obtain an extension. In order to be eligible for the extension, you must be out of state or abroad (out of the nation). In order to qualify, your license must expire within the next ninety (90) days. One (1) extension request can be placed per person, per day. When traveling abroad, however, there is an exemption (away from country). In this case, you may request another extension
- But, it must be requested ninety (90) days or less before the expiration of your first extension
- Request and download the DR2989extension form from the link below. In order to complete the application, you will need to provide your name, postal address (in-state or out-of-country), birth date, and drivers license number. Fill out the application
- Sign it. Include payment for the $3.00 cost of the extension in your total. The check should be made payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue. Send your completed forms, along with your money, to the address printed on the form or to the following address: Rm 136, Denver, CO 80261-0016
- Department of RevenueDivision of Motor Vehicles, Denver, CO 80261-0016
- The sticker will be valid for a period of twelve (12) months after it has been applied. If you live outside of the state, it will be shipped to you at that address.
Colorado Drivers License Renewal for Military Drivers
Colorado expresses gratitude to all of our citizens who are currently serving in the military. That’s why the DMV can grant you an additional three (3) year license extension so that you won’t have to worry about your driving privileges while you’re on active service. It is also possible for your dependents to request for this extension. There is no charge.
- You are presently serving in the military at a location other than the state of Colorado.
Renewal Steps for U.S. Military Drivers Extension By Mail
- Fill out and print the DR2989extension form, which is provided below. It is possible to complete it online. You will be required to provide your name, mailing address (whether it is in another state or another country), birth date, drivers license number, and signature. In addition, your Commanding Officer will be required to write a letter explaining your current situation. This addon is completely free. Driver Control SectionColorado Department of RevenueRoom 164 – ROSDenver, CO 80261-0016
- Driver Control SectionColorado Department of RevenueRoom 164 – ROSDenver, CO 80261-0016 The extension sticker will be valid for three (3) years from the date of purchase. If you live outside of the state, it will be shipped to you.
Renew Colorado Drivers License In Person
You are welcome to attend in person at any time at your leisure at any of our offices.
If you hold a minor’s driver’s license, you will not be able to renew it until you reach the age of 21.
Requirements to Renew In Person
- You must have a social security number in order to participate. This means that your license cannot be suspended, revoked, or cancelled
- Because of the new secured license regulations, you must bring your current drivers license (which is required) as well as evidence of your Colorado residency. See the following section for a list of the real papers. Consult a map to find the location of a driving licensing office in your neighborhood
- Please surrender your present driver’s license. Pass an eye examination. Unless your license has been expired for more than twelve (12) months, you will not be required to take any more examinations. Bring the right cash to pay the$21.00renewalFee to the appointment. The only acceptable modes of payment are checks and cash. Your fingerprint will be taken down and kept in a database. You will be photographed and your image will be saved. New nationally secured driver’s licenses are not printed on the spot at any of the locations. Instead, you will be issued a temporary license by the office. Your finished card will be mailed to you by postal mail and will arrive within one (1) month after ordering it. Please make use of the interim license till then.
If you have not received your license after 4 weeks, please return to the office where you renewed your license and get an update on the status of your application.
Colorado Drivers License Renewal Documents
You must present the following documents while renewing your license in person at an office:
- To get admitted, you must present your current (or expired) driver’s license. To obtain a driver’s license, you must provide the DMV with your social security number. You must present one (1) document that serves as verification of your residence in Colorado.
- Credit card bills, energy bills, phone bills, bank statements, pay stubs, rent or mortgage payments, school report cards or transcripts, tax paperwork, automobile registration documents, and home insurance documents are just a few examples of the types of documents you can encounter.
- If you do not have your existing driver’s license with you, you must provide all of the documentation necessary for new applicants. Please see the following chart for a downloadable PDF version of the needed identity documents: Identification Documents Chart. Chart
According to ColoradoC.R.S. 42-4-1409, all drivers of motor vehicles are required to have evidence of insurance on them at all times. If you breach this regulation, you will be charged with a misdemeanor and your driving privileges will be temporarily terminated. Renewal of your driver’s license is an excellent opportunity to shop around for a cheaper pricing. Every insurance provider establishes its own rates based on your prior claims history. We’re here to assist you in obtaining a discount on your insurance by utilizing our Colorado Insurance Guide.
Colorado Driver’s License Renewal Guide
If you live in Colorado and want to renew your driver’s license, the process is basic, but it will require some preparation on your side. Any time before to the expiration date of your adult driver’s license, you may apply to have your license renewed. You will, however, be required to re-apply for your license if your current one has been expired for more than one year. Make sure to go through our guide from beginning to end so that you are aware of all of your options when it comes to renewing your Colorado drivers license.
What Documents Do You Need to Bring?
In order to complete your license renewal, you will be needed to produce specific documentation to the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles. The following is a complete list of the documents that must be submitted:
- Your valid Colorado driver’s license
- Proof of your Social Security number
- Proof of your current Colorado location
- Proof of your US citizenship or lawful status in the United States
- And your payment method
How to Renew a Colorado Driver’s License
Everyone who lives in Colorado has the option to renew their driver’s license in person. Certain categories of persons, on the other hand, are needed to visit their local DMV in order to finish the procedure. For those who qualify for any of the following exemptions, you will be required to renew your driver’s license in person:
- The license you are upgrading from is a minor driver’s license to an adult driver’s license. It has been determined that you are over the age of 65
- You are in possession of an SB251 license. You do not have a Social Security number on file with the DMV
- Your given name has been modified
- You must repeat either the written or the road exam. This is the second time that you have performed two online renewals in a row. You would want to get a fresh photo taken for your ID
The following are the actions to take in order to accomplish an in-person renewal:
- Make an appointment with your local Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles. Bring all of the required documents. Examining your vision is a must
- Pay the $26 renewal charge ($80 for SB251 license) — this may be done with cash, check, or credit card
- And Take a photograph and a fingerprint of yourself
- Your license will be delivered to you within 30 days
Renewal By Mail
Drivers who are qualified to renew their licenses by mail will get a letter informing them of their eligibility. Every other renewal period, you will be able to renew your Colorado driver’s license over the mail. If you want to check your eligibility on your own, you may do so by visiting the Colorado DMV website. If you want to renew your license by mail, take these five steps:
- Ensure that you are eligible for the program or that you have received information from the DMV
- Fill out this license renewal form to the best of your ability. Include a check or money order for $26 ($80 for SB251 license) to cover the renewal price, with the 9-digit DL number inscribed on the check or money order. Send the completed application, together with payment, to the following address:
Colorado Department of RevenueDivision of Motor VehiclesPO Box 173345Denver, CO 80217-3345State of ColoradoDepartment of RevenueDivision of Motor Vehicles
- You should expect your application to be completed and your license to be mailed to you within eight weeks.
Please keep in mind that your application will be denied if you do any of the following:
- Failure to provide the appropriate fee
- Failure to sign the application. Failure to complete the completed form
- Failure to submit all necessary papers
- Failure to accurately register your license number
Applicants who are not required to conduct an in-person renewal and who had their most recent renewal done at a Colorado DMV center may complete an online renewal. In addition, be certain that you meet the following requirements:
- Have all outstanding tickets been paid
- Are above the age of 21
- And have all outstanding tickets been paid Maintain a clean driving record with no pending convictions
- There is no requirement to pass a knowledge or road test.
Once you have determined whether or not you are eligible for online renewal, go to the Colorado DMV website and follow the on-screen instructions to complete your license renewal.
To pay the $26 in fees (plus administrative expenses) for your new license, you must have a credit card with you at all times.
Renewing Expired License
Renewal of a license that has expired is not ideal, but it is essential in a few specific instances. After their license expires, drivers in Colorado are given a 30-day grace period to renew their license. Your written and road examinations will both need to be retaken after one year, if your license has expired during that time. Do you require assistance with your studies? Try out our free Colorado practice exams to see how well you perform!
There you have it: all you need to know about renewing your Colorado driver’s license! Make a note of this advice and refer to it whenever your license’s expiration date is approaching. Take our whole course, which includes examinations and theory. 550+ questions that are similar to those in an exam You’ll have everything you need to ace your test. Ideal for first-time visitors, repeat visitors, and older adults
How to Renew Your Colorado Drivers License Online in 15 Minutes
By Ryan Nicholson| Published on January 26, 2022. It is possible that the material of this website will contain affiliate links, for which we will be reimbursed (at no additional cost to you!). Thank you very much for your help! What documents do you need to renew your Colorado driver’s license or identification card? If you have recently relocated to Colorado or simply want to avoid making a trip to the DMV, this article is for you! Everything you need to know about renewing your Colorado drivers license may be found in less than 15 minutes on this website.
According to the Colorado DMV website, you may renew your adult driver license at any time as long as you do it before the expiration date of your current license is reached.
Renewing a Colorado drivers license online
The state of Colorado provides a website called myDMV, which ensures that you are always at the front of the queue when seeking DMV services. The majority of Coloradans have reported that renewing their driver’s license online is simple and can be completed while “still in their pajamas.”
Online renewal requirements
In order to be eligible to renew your license online, you must meet the following requirements:
- You must be a legal adult between the ages of 21 and 65. Since the latest renewal, there has not been a formal name change
- Be a citizen of the United States or have permanent residence status
- It is necessary that you do not have any outstanding tickets or infractions on your record. Have a valid driver’s license or identification card that has not expired
- Whether you’ve had your eyes examined by an optometrist or an ophthalmologist within the previous three years
- Make sure your Social Security number or ITIN is on file with the DMV. Have an excellent payment history with no bounced checks on your record
- Be ineligible for membership in the ACP It should be possible to print a copy of your renewal receipt.
When renewing your drivers license online, you must be able to print a copy of the receipt for your records. In the meanwhile, you can use this to obtain a temporary renewal of your license until you receive your actual copy in the mail. When applying for a new job or presenting identification, a temporary license is acceptable. However, you will not be awarded the same temporary license as someone who goes to a DMV office in person to complete the application process. This article will walk you through the processes to renew your Colorado drivers license online in less than 15 minutes, step by step.
1. Start with the myDMV website
To begin, go to the website for the Department of Motor Vehicles in Colorado. Beginning with the first step, the full process of renewing your Colorado drivers license online will take around 10-15 minutes.
That’s preferable to spending the entire day waiting in line at the DMV! Before you begin, make sure you have read and understood all of the information on the criteria to ensure you are qualified to renew your license online.
2. Verify your identity
Your driver’s license number or Colorado Customer Identifier will be required to be entered on the next page in order to validate your identity. Then enter your last name, date of birth, and the last four digits of your Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN). Examine the certification statement to ensure that all of the information is factual and accurate. If you agree, please check the box.
3. Input your driver information
Following the click of the “Next” button, you will be presented with some renewal information, including the date on which your license is slated to expire. You will also be required to tick the box confirming your identity or to update your information if your name has changed. Complete the remaining fields with information about your residential or home address. Input any other information, such as whether or whether you reside in an apartment building. Once you’ve made your selection, click on the “Verify Address” button to confirm your address.
4. Confirm your mailing address
The following two windows will require you to confirm relevant information. If your postal address is different from your residential / home address, you will be asked to confirm this on the first screen. Afterwards, you must decide whether or not you wish to add or alter your emergency contact information. To confirm your selections, select “Yes” or “No” from the drop-down menus.
5. Fill in your demographic info
To complete this page, you will be required to respond to a series of questions, beginning with verifying your gender, eye color, and hair color preferences. After that, you’ll select a measuring system and enter your height and weight information. The following question will require you to confirm your race and ethnicity, which you must do. Choosing “Yes” will allow you to enter your race / ethnicity and then validate your height, weight, and eye color information. Finally, you must confirm whether or not you have had an eye examination within the previous three years, as well as whether or not your prescription has been revised.
6. Update voter registration
If you register to vote on the Motor Voter website, you will be eligible to vote in the following election. If you do not want to register, you may indicate your preference by ticking the appropriate box. Confirm whether or not you are a citizen of the United States by selecting “Yes” or “No” from the drop-down menu. If you select “Yes,” a drop-down menu will appear, from which you can select your political party of preference. Once you’ve completed this, many additional boxes will appear, asking you to confirm your residence in the county in question and if you wish to receive election information in the form of an email.
If you select “No,” you must indicate your agreement with each item by checking the corresponding box.
7. Answer statutory questions
Following that is a set of “Yes” or “No” questions that must be answered about a variety of different topics. The first question pertains to registering to be an organ or tissue donor, as well as other related topics. The following question is about making a gift to a charity that promotes awareness. After that, you will be asked questions concerning your driving rights as well as your physical, mental, and emotional well-being during the last two years.
The last question asks you to confirm that, because you are renewing your driver’s license, you accept that any other cards or pieces of identification that you may have will be cancelled. To confirm your selections, simply click the corresponding “Yes” or “No” box on the right.
8. Get a renewal reminder
You have the option of signing up for an automated renewal reminder if you so wish. This will be delivered to you 45 days before to the expiration of your next drivers license or identification card. Following your selection of the “Yes” option, you will be requested to enter your email address and then to confirm it a second time.
9. Provide email confirmation
It is necessary to enter your email address twice on this page if you wish to obtain email confirmation of your drivers license renewal application. This is what you will print out once the procedure is complete so that you may use it as a temporary confirmation of your renewal eligibility. The Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles will also send out renewal instructions by postal mail for those who prefer not to renew online.
10. Renewal feepayment
On the last page, you will see an estimate of the fees (before any administrative fees are applied) that it will cost you to renew your license online. As part of this process, you must confirm that all of the information you have provided on this online form is accurate and complete. To make an online payment for a Colorado license renewal, use the “Make a Payment” button from the menu bar. You will be redirected to the state of Colorado’s payment processing website after completing this action.
The ultimate charge is determined by the method of payment you choose, whether it’s a credit card or a bank account withdrawal.
Your session will expire after 30 minutes, so make sure you have enough time to complete the full procedure in one session.
How much does it cost to renew a Colorado drivers license?
A Colorado driver’s license renewal used to cost $28 as a regular charge, however that has now increased to $32. On the other hand, starting of July 1, 2020, that amount has raised by 10%, and it now costs $31.87, which includes a $1.00 service fee, whether you renew online, by mail, or in person. The cost of ID cards has also gone higher, with the current price of $12.67 (up from $11.50 earlier) reflecting the rise. Also keep in mind that there are additional administrative costs that you will be needed to pay in order to make your payment online.
Various costs apply, including instruction permits, commercial drivers licenses, and other licenses and permits.
When will you receive your renewed license in the mail?
Your new drivers license or identification card will be mailed to you once the form has been submitted and payment for the renewal has been received and processed. It will be delivered to the email address that you provided when completing the online form. You may anticipate receiving your new license in about 10-14 business days. It is possible that it will take up to 30 business days to complete and deliver your order. Make careful to have your temporary license receipt on you at all times as identification and proof that you have renewed your license till then.
It’s as simple as filling out the “Where has my driving license gone?” form, which can be found on the Colorado DMV website.
As long as you renew your license or identification card before it expires, you may complete the process online today and cross it off your to-do list!
Because he is a rare unicorn who has grown up in Colorado, he has a unique viewpoint on the state’s changes and is well-versed in the state’s secret areas for getting outside.
Ryan is a classically educated French chef who enjoys discovering new dishes and dining establishments. His favorite method to get away from it all is to go hiking, camping, and backpacking when he isn’t experimenting in the kitchen or working as a personal chef around the Front Range of Colorado.
While it may not appear to be a major concern if your Colorado drivers license has expired, it is important to consider the consequences. Driving with an expired license is against the law, and if you are pulled over by an officer for whatever reason, you will only aggravate your situation further. Do not take that chance; instead, renew your drivers license as soon as you are able. An adult Colorado drivers license may be renewed at any time. The following are the options for renewing your Colorado drivers license.
Renew Colorado Drivers Licensein Person
Any Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles site where you can renew your license in person is available. You should schedule an appointment as soon as feasible. You’ll have to complete the following tasks:
- Bring your license or permit that has expired
- Obtain your Social Security number (it is recommended that you carry your Social Security card)
- Provide documentation proving your current home address. Pay the $21.00 license renewal fee in the state of Colorado
It is possible that you may be needed to pass a vision exam as well as be fingerprinted and photographed if you choose to renew your Colorado drivers license in person.
Renew Your Colorado Drivers License by Mail
Drivers with a clean driving record in Colorado can also renew their licenses over the mail. For further information on whether or whether you are qualified, you may check out the Colorado DMV’s Renew by Mail page. Then you’ll be able to submit your information so that they can decide whether or not you qualify. To apply for Colorado Renew by Submit, you must first print off the Colorado Renew by Mail application and mail it (along with your renewal cost) to the Colorado Department of Revenue.
Renew Your Colorado Drivers License Online
Many drivers in Colorado will be able to renew their drivers licenses online in the near future. This is something you should be aware of, though, prior to undertaking this task:
- This service allows you to update your address on file with the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles when you renew your Colorado driver’s license. You will not be able to use this application to renew your commercial drivers license over the internet.
- In the United States, if you are a male between the ages of 18 and 25, you will be immediately registered for selective service. It might take up to 30 days for a driver’s license or other identification document to appear in the mail.
There are a few more things you should be aware of when renewing your license online:
- You must have a credit card from one of the following companies: Visa, Mastercard, Discover, or American Express. In order to participate, you must have a valid email address. All transactions are subject to an administrative processing cost
- However, some transactions are exempt from this fee. To renew your driver’s license or state identification card online, you must first ensure that you satisfy all eligibility criteria.
If you have all of the information listed above, you may now renew your Colorado drivers license online on the state’s website.
Colorado Driver’s License Points FAQ
If you have all of the information listed above, you may now renew your Colorado drivers license online through the Colorado Department of Transportation.
What is a “Point”?
When it comes to traffic violations, a point is just a number that is awarded to the infraction. The amount of points allocated to a transgression increases in direct proportion to the severity of the crime. A driver’s license suspension will be imposed if you accrue too many points against your driving record during a specified period of time. The number of points you receive for some violations, like as speeding, is depending on how many miles per hour over the speed limit you were going at the time.
- Other infractions, such as driving under the influence (DUI), are assigned a specific amount of points.
- Receiving the maximum amount of points that can be assessed against your driver’s license results in your license being suspended.
- This is where the expertise of an experienced attorney may be of great use.
- A lawyer can also offer facts that may persuade the hearing commissioner to reduce the length of your suspension because of the hardship it would cause you.
To wrap things up, depending on the circumstances, your attorney can assist you in receiving a probationary license, which will allow you to continue driving throughout the period of time your license suspension is in effect.
What are the Point Values for Traffic Violations?
A list of the more common transgressions, as well as their point values, is provided below.
- Leaving the scene of an accident results in 12 points
- Driving while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs results in 12 points
- Driving while ability is impaired by alcohol results in 8 points
- Speed contests result in 12 points
- Eluding or attempting to elude a police officer results in 12 points
- Reckless driving results in 8 points
- Careless driving results in 4 points
- Failure to yield right-of-way results in 3 points
- Failure to Speeding over the posted limit of 5–9 mph earns one point
- Speeding over the stated limit of 10–19 mph earns four points
- Speeding over the posted limit of 20–39 mph earns six points
- And speeding over the posted limit of 40–or more mph earns twelve points. Not making a halt in time for a school bus the number of points is six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six
- Drivers who drive on the wrong side of the road will receive four points
- Drivers who fail to maintain or show proof of insurance will receive four points
- Drivers who improperly pass will receive four points
- Drivers who fail to observe traffic signs or signals will receive four points
- Drivers who make an improper turn will receive three points
- Drivers who drive through a safety zone will receive three points
- Drivers who fail to signal or improperly signal will receive two points
- Drivers who fail to dim or turn off their lights will receive four points
How Many Points are Allowed Before License Suspension?
Colorado law states that drivers between the ages of 16 and 18 can accrue six points in a 12-month period or seven points for the term of their license if they are caught speeding or running a red light. During the period between the ages of 18 and 21, a driver can accrue nine points in a 12-month period, 12 points in a 24-month period, or 14 points during the course of his or her license’s expiration. The accumulation of 12 points in a 12-month period and 18 points in a 24-month period is possible for drivers who are 21 years old or older.
How Do I Know How Many Points are on My License?
Simply keeping track of the traffic convictions that you’ve gotten, as well as their corresponding point values, is the most straightforward approach to answer this issue. If you are unable to do so, you may submit a request to the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles for a non-certified copy of your driving record. You can complete this process in person at any DMV office location. If you would like a certified copy of your driving record, you can obtain one from the Division of Motor Vehicles at 1881 Pierce St.
Box 173345 in Denver, CO 80217-3345.
What Happens at a DMV Point Hearing?
If your license has been suspended owing to a disproportionate number of points, you will get a notice in the mail advising you of your right to a hearing before the DMV. This hearing is an administrative hearing that may be held either in person or over the phone, and it is less formal than a judicial hearing in terms of procedure. The hearing officer will go over the material with you, evaluate your points of contention, and you will be allowed to introduce evidence such as witnesses if you choose to do so.
Please keep in mind that the hearing officer is unable to provide legal advice, and as a result, you should plan on bringing your attorney with you to the hearing in order to be properly represented.
How Can I Reinstate My Driving Privileges?
During your hearing or via letter, you will be informed of the date on which you will be able to drive again if your driver’s license has been suspended owing to an excessive number of points. Paying the $95 reinstatement fee and submitting the Application for Reinstatement are the first two steps in the procedure. It is possible that your license will be suspended indefinitely if you do not follow the proper procedures. At Schwaner Law, we are experienced in challenging license revocation or suspension decisions.
We will make every effort to ensure that you are able to continue driving as well as to get your license reinstated as soon as feasible. To get started, call us at 719-577-9700 or send us an email for a free and private evaluation of your situation.