Duration of License Normally, your Virginia driver’s license is valid for eight years and expires on your birthday. Your first driver’s license will expire on your birthday in the eighth year of license validity. If you are age 75 or older, your driver’s license will be valid for five years.
- Normally, your Virginia driver’s license is valid for eight years and expires on your birthday. Your first driver’s license will expire on your birthday in the eighth year of license validity. If you are age 75 or older, your driver’s license will be valid for five years.
How often must a licensed driver renew their driver’s license in Virginia?
Special rules apply to drivers who are 75 and older who seek to renew their licenses. Time limits: Drivers age 75 and older must renew every five years; drivers younger than 75 must renew every eight years. Drivers age 75 and older must renew in person.
How often do US drivers licenses expire?
Every five years, on your birthday, your California driver’s license will expire. You will receive a renewal notice through the mail from the DMV office around the 2-month mark before it expires.
Is Virginia extending driver’s license renewal?
According to a release from Northam, the Fifth Executive Directive 7 specifically sets the following: The validity of driver’s licenses, learner’s permits and identification cards originally expiring in August, September and October 2020 is extended for 60 days beyond the expiration date displayed on the credential.
Is there a grace period for expired drivers license in Virginia?
There is no grace period for expired driver’s licenses in Virginia. Driving without a valid license is a Class 2 misdemeanor that can result in fines, penalties, and up to 90 days suspension on your license.
What’s the oldest age you can drive?
The youngest age in any state that a driver can obtain a learner’s permit is 14 years old, and the highest age is 16 years old. Restricted licenses can be obtained anywhere from 14.5 years to 17 years old, and full licenses are granted between 16 to 18 years old.
What state has the longest license renewal?
Most states require drivers to renew every four years. Even if you consider the requirement to update license photos every 12 years, Arizona still has the longest renewal period.
Can seniors renew drivers license online?
Licence centres in the Western Cape do not use the online system for driver’s licence renewals; however, most centres have special queues to assist the elderly. It’s also important to note that you can’t send someone else on your behalf to renew your driver’s licence as biometrics are required for renewal.
How long does a driver’s license expire?
A week following the pilot run at the LTO Central Office-Licensing Section, and at the Quezon City Licensing Center (QCLC), driver’s licenses that are valid for 10 years will be issued by other LTO offices in Metro Manila.
Why can’t I renew my license online VA?
You cannot renew your driver’s license online or by mail IF: Your license has expired and you have not proved legal presence. You hold a learner’s permit. You hold a Virginia identification card.
How far in advance can I renew my Virginia driver’s license?
You may renew your driver’s license as early as one year prior to the expiration date on your license. DMV will mail you a renewal application prior to the expiration date of your driver’s license or you can opt to receive an electronic renewal reminder.
Can I drive with expired licence?
The DVLA says if your licence expires while it is processing your renewal application, you can continue driving as long as you meet certain conditions including only driving vehicles you were entitled to drive on your previous licence, not being told by a doctor or optician that you shouldn’t drive, and you aren’t
What happens if you let your drivers license expire in Virginia?
You can renew your license up to a year after it expires without any penalties. If it has expired for more than a year, you must retake the vision exam, driving knowledge test and driving skills test to renew it. This is similar to applying for a license like a new applicant.
Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Renewal of your driver’s license is possible as early as one year before the license’s expiration date. If your driver’s license expires before you get a renewal application, you can choose to receive an electronic renewal reminder from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You must ensure that your current mailing address is on file with the DMV if you wish to receive your renewal notification in the mail. If your mailing address has changed, you must notify the DMV of the change.
Renew and Upgrade to a REAL ID
Virginia’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) wants to make sure you’re prepared for an anticipated, significant change in federal identification standards known as REAL ID before you renew your driver’s license or identity card. On or before May 3, 2023, Virginians who intend to use their state-issued driver’s license to board a domestic aircraft will be required to display a REAL ID compliant version of the license, which will be distinguished by a tiny star in the upper-right corner. Other types of identification that have been recognized by the federal government will also be allowed, such as a United States passport or some military identification.
All applicants for a REAL ID-compliant credential, including current Virginia credential holders, must submit their applications in person; however, you can begin the process by completing an online application.
For further information, please see the REAL ID page on the DMV website.
The charge for renewing a license is the same as the amount for obtaining a license. For example, a driver’s license with no lessons or endorsements that is valid for eight years costs $32. Payment for your fees can be made in cash, money order or check, as well as with a debit card or a major credit card. If you want to upgrade to a REAL ID license, you will be charged an extra $10 price.
If you renew your license, it will be valid for a further eight years and will expire on the day of your birthday. However, if you are 75 years or older, your renewed license will be valid for an additional five years after it is renewed (Virginia code 46.2-330) The Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry (Virginia Code Chapter 9 of Title 9.1) will issue licenses to those who are obliged to register with the registry. These licenses will be valid for a period of five years.
Temporarily Living Outside of Virginia?
License extensions of up to three years may be granted to military, diplomatic, or civilian employees or contractors stationed outside of the United States in lieu of license renewal if they are stationed outside the country. For further information, please see the section under “Temporarily Outside of Virginia.”
You have the option of renewing your driver’s license online or by mail every other renewal cycle. Your renewal notice will specify whether you are eligible to renew using one of these methods or whether you must renew in person at a customer service facility. NEW: As a result of COVID-19, the DMV is now providing most current eight-year credential holders who are required to renew in person with the option to use online services and obtain a new two-year driver’s license or ID card instead of renewing in person.
If you want to renew your driver’s license for another eight years or if you need a REAL ID compliant driver’s license, you must still schedule an appointment at dmvNOW.com/appt to visit the DMV office in person. For further information, please see dmvNOW.com/2YRDL.
There are a number of factors that will prevent you from renewing your membership online or in the mail. Refer to Ineligibility to Renew by Mail or Online for further information on whether any of these conditions apply to you. NOTE: If you want to renew online and upgrade to a REAL ID compatible credential, you may begin the process online, but you must complete it in person at a customer service center with your supporting documentation and documentation.
2. Renewing at a Customer Service Center
You can renew at a customer care center at any time throughout a renewal period. The vision screening exam will be needed of you, and a fresh photograph will be taken when you pass the test. Also available are DMV 2 Go and DMV Connect mobile offices, where you may renew your driver’s license on the go. Check the calendar to see if any visits are scheduled in your region.
Suzy QA Explains How to Renew Online
Suzy QA is a new member of the team.
Proving Legal Presence When Renewing
- If your valid, unexpired license was issued before January 1, 2004, you are considered a “grandfathered” license and do not need to provide proof of lawful presence while renewing your license. In order to obtain a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL), you will be needed to show proof of citizenship, lawful permanent resident status in the United States, or specific temporary status that is acceptable to the federal government. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will not ask you to submit acceptable proof of U.S. citizenship or Legal Permanent Resident status if you have done so before since January 1, 2004. If your license has been expired for more than one day, you will be required to present proof of legal presence when requesting to renew your license. However, if you have presented DMV with evidence since January 1, 2004, showing you are a citizen of the United States or a lawful permanent resident of the United States, this need is waived
- If required, you must produce proof of legal presence in person
- If you are permitted to stay in the United States temporarily and have been given a driver’s license with a restricted duration, you will not be able to renew the license. A subsequent license will be treated in the same way as an original licence. In contrast, if your approved stay in the United States is fewer than 30 days from the date of your application, you will not be able to get an original driver’s license.
- When you apply for an original driver’s license, you must provide one evidence of identification, one proof of legal presence, and two proofs of Virginia residency at the time of your application. If you have been granted a social security number, you will be needed to show proof of your identity. More information on identification and residence criteria may be found in the section titled “Applying for a Driver’s License.”
- It is possible to obtain a limited-duration license that is good for one year if you are temporarily permitted to enter the United States and produce a valid legal presence document with no expiration date.
If you want further information, please see “How to Get a Virginia Driver’s License or Identification (ID) Card” (DMV 141).
The vision screening, two-part knowledge exam, and road skills test must all be taken again if your license has been expired for more than one year and you do not have documentation that you previously held a license in Virginia, another state, or a United States territory.
Possessing a License and/or an ID or CDL
The renewal of your driver’s license will not be possible if you are currently in possession of both a driver’s license and an ID card; thus, you must relinquish your ID card before you may renew your driver’s license. You may only have one driver’s license or one commercial driver’s license (CDL) at a time; you may not have both.
How to Renew an Expired Virginia Drivers License
Photograph by Scott Olson for Getty Images News courtesy of Getty Images Generally, you may renew your Virginia driver’s license up to one year before it expires in the state of Virginia. Customers can register their vehicles with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles online, by mail, or in person. If your license has expired, on the other hand, you must renew it in person. Verification of your identification and legal presence is required as part of the procedure. After your application for renewal has been granted, you will get a valid license within seven to ten business days.
There are certain exceptions to the general rule that a Virginia driver’s license is good for eight years and expires on the holder’s birthday, though. For example, if you received your driver’s license when you were 16, it is only valid for four years, or until you reach the age of twentieth. If you are 75 years or older, it will expire in five years from the date of purchase.
Possible Repercussions for an Expired License
You can renew your license without incurring any fines for up to a year after it has expired. The vision exam, driving knowledge test, and driving skills test must be taken again if your license has been expired for more than a year before it may be renewed. This is identical to the process of applying for a license as a first-time applicant.
Visit the DMV and fill out an application for a license, being sure to tick the box for renewal when you do. Proof of your legal presence is necessary unless you have provided proof of your legal presence before or after January 1, 2004, in which case you are not required to provide proof of legal presence. Your birth certificate from the United States, your passport from the United States, your naturalization paperwork, and your permanent residency card are all acceptable documents. You must present two types of identification, such as the primary papers specified above and secondary identification such as your Social Security card and a photo ID card issued by your company.
Pay the processing cost of $32 (as of 2015), and then take a vision test to confirm your eligibility. Your license will be sent to you via mail from the department.
Extending a License
Individuals working outside the country, such as military personnel on active duty, members of the diplomatic service, and employees or civilian contractors working for the United States government or an agency representing the United States government, can have their driver’s licenses extended for up to three years by the Department of Motor Vehicles. This also applies to their spouses and children who are dependents on them. If you are eligible, you can submit a request for an extension on the DDMV’s website.
The DMV will provide you an extension card, which you must keep with you at all times when driving with your expired license.
References Since 2006, Tina Amo has been creating business-related articles for a variety of clients.
Amo has a Bachelor of Science in business administration with a specialization in information systems from the University of California, Los Angeles.
The Department of Motor Vehicles reopens facilities and needs appointments. ROCKY MOUNTAIN, Va.– In the midst of a coronavirus epidemic, renewing your driver’s license, learner’s permit, or identification card might be difficult, but you’ve recently been granted an additional 60 days and different ways to make it happen. During a press event on Tuesday, Gov. Ralph Northam said that there is a fresh extension for credentials that expired during the epidemic, which is in accordance with Fifth Executive Directive 7.
- Any driver’s licenses, learner’s permits, and identification cards that were originally issued in August, September, and October 2020 will be valid for an additional 60 days after they expire. Customers who have not yet updated their driver’s license, learner’s permit, or identification card, and whose documents have already expired in August, are still eligible for this extension without incurring any penalties. Vehicle identification cards, such as drivers’ licenses, learner’s permits, and identification cards, that expire in November will remain valid until November 30, 2020.
DMV is also enabling drivers licenses to be renewed online or by mail, rather than having to go to a DMV office in person. People who need to renew their licenses will have two alternatives starting in the middle of September:
- Option 1: Make an in-person appointment to renew your driver’s license or identification card for the full eight-year period
- Or Option 2: Renew your driver’s license or identification card remotely, either online or by mail, but keep in mind that the license or ID will only be valid for two years. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will mail your license or identification card to your residence.
This does not apply to expired car extensions, but it does apply to other credentials that expired between March 15 and July 31. Your 180-day extension is still in force until October 31 if your other credentials expired between March 15 and July 31. To see a comprehensive list of services or to make an appointment, please visit this page. WSLS 10 retains ownership of the copyright 2020 and reserves all rights.
Get your Virginia Driver’s License
Gradually graded driver’s licence (GDL) is implemented in Virginia. Essentially, this implies that you must follow a specified set of procedures in order to obtain your driver’s license. So, let’s take each step one at a time:
1) Virginia Learner’s Permit
You can apply for your Virginia learner’s permit when you reach the age of 15 years and six months. For your permit application to be processed, you will need to complete the Virginia Driver’s License Application Form (DL1P) and submit evidence of your identify and domicile. In addition, you must pass a two-part sign and knowledge test as well as a vision test. You can only operate a motor vehicle with a learner’s permit if you are accompanied by a driver 18 years of age or older who is a parent or legal guardian who is lawfully permitted to operate a motor vehicle, or if you are accompanied by a driver 21 years of age or older who is lawfully permitted to operate a motor vehicle.
Unless you are traveling with family or household members, or engaging in a DOE or DMV approved driver education program, you are not permitted to drive between midnight and four a.m. or with more than one passenger under the age of 21 while holding your learner’s permit.
2) Virginia Driver’s License
Before you may apply for a driver’s license, you must be at least 16 years and 3 months old and have had your learner’s permit for at least nine months before you can submit an application. For those under the age of eighteen, you must additionally finish a state-authorized driver education program at a driver training school, a public or private school, or through an online course provider that has been certified by the Department of motor vehicles. It is not necessary to attend a Virginia public or private driver training school to complete the in-car teaching sessions unless you are homeschooled.
For the road skills exam, you must bring a vehicle that has a valid safety inspection sticker, license plates, registration card and decals, functioning brakes, safety belts, horn, lights, turn signals, mirrors, and a speedometer, as well as working brakes, turn signals, mirrors, and a speedometer.
If you are under the age of 18, you are not permitted to operate a motor vehicle between the hours of midnight and 4 a.m., with the exception of the following:
- For emergencies
- When going to and from a place of employment where you are employed
- And when commuting between homes. In the course of traveling to or from an activity that is supervised by an adult and is sponsored by a school or a civic, religious, or public group, In the front passenger seat, if accompanied by a parent or other adult acting in the place of a parent, or by a spouse who is at least 18 years old
If you are under the age of 18, you are only permitted to transport one person under the age of 21 unless you are accompanied by a licensed parent, or another adult acting in the place of a parent, in the front passenger seat of your vehicle. After one year of having your license, you are permitted to transport up to three people under the age of 21 in the following circumstances:
- Traveling to and from a school-sponsored activity
- There is a licensed driver 21 years of age or older in the front passenger seat
- Or there is an emergency situation.
Virginia Teens Receive Their Driver’s Licenses in a Unique Courthouse Rite of Passage
Being able to drive is an important milestone in the lives of most teens, since it permits them to achieve a higher level of self-reliance. It is common for parents to experience anxiety and panic when their children begin to drive, fearing that they may sustain terrible injuries if they are involved in a vehicle accident. Vehicle accidents are the biggest cause of mortality among teenagers and young people between the ages of 15 and 20 years old, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
Virginia law, on the other hand, has enacted a provision that serves to remind young drivers that driving is a privilege, not a right, to be on the road.
Virginia Requires Teens to Attend a Court Ceremony to Obtain Their License
To acquire a driver’s license in Virginia, teens must attend a ceremony at the local courthouse, which is in contrast to the majority of other states that enable them to receive their license at the Secretary of State’s office or by mail. This hearing is a somber occasion that normally takes place within the last 30 days of the teenager’s temporary license’s validity period. The goal of this hearing is to educate new drivers about the dangers they face in the event that they cause or are a victim of a catastrophic accident, as well as to promote safe and responsible driving.
According to a story in the Washington Post, the following items were presented at a recent ceremony:
- A film illustrating the dangers of inebriated driving
- In addition to sharing his own experiences with deadly adolescent crashes, a local officer will speak on the increased risks of accidents that new teenagers face as a result of their inexperience, distracted driving habits, and lack of fear. This is a devastating presentation given by the mother of a kid who was the designated driver but became distracted and died while driving home from a party
- It is also available on YouTube.
Katherine Fogarty’s Unique Perspective as an Attorney and Parent
During a recent visit to one of these ceremonies with her 16-year-old daughter, KFFJ partner Kate Fogarty shared her thoughts on the occasion: “For years, I have represented people injured in accidents involving teen drivers and am well aware of the dangers faced by teen drivers, their passengers, and other motorists.” The experience of sitting in the courtroom as a parent of a young driver and listening to the police officer and judge speak about the hazards of novice drivers and statistical statistics on the amount of accidents involving young drivers was quite different.
Further, Kate states, “It definitely gave me pause and provided a chance to address safe driving behavior and my expectations with Cara.” I feel it is a worthwhile initiative that serves to warn parents and kids of the hazards that new drivers encounter, as well as the dangers that they themselves cause, on our roadways.”
Keep Your Teen Safe: Join the ‘5 to Drive’ Campaign
The week of October 16-22, 2016, is designated as National Teen Safety Week. It is the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s recommendation that parents and guardians of young drivers spend time discussing safe driving habits with their adolescent drivers and to use the ‘5 to Drive’ Campaign guidelines to lead the dialogue. These are the five most fatal and harmful activities that young drivers should avoid, according to this campaign:
- Driving while under the influence of alcohol is prohibited, as is chatting on a smartphone or texting. It is prohibited to drive or ride as a passenger without a seat belt in place
- There will be no speeding
- There will be no driving with additional passengers.
The Allstate Foundation also urges parents to talk to their children about driving safety so that they can make informed decisions whether they are behind the wheel or riding in a vehicle with other young drivers, according to the foundation. An agreement between a parent and a teen driver was developed by the Allstate Foundation to assist you in starting the conversation with your kid. As a contract between parents and their teenage driver, it can address crucial concerns like as seat belt use and speeding, as well as the relationship between excellent grades in school and driving privileges.
If your adolescent has been injured in a vehicle accident that was caused by another driver’s negligence, contact our office at 877-652-1553 to book a free case review with one of our expert car accident lawyers.
Keeping Your Driver’s License – Virginia Rules
Learn about the responsibilities of juvenile drivers in order to maintain their driving privileges, the repercussions of driving offences, Virginia’s “zero tolerance” legislation, the power of parents in relation to driving privileges, and driving safety advice.
Getting your driver’s license
The procedure of obtaining a driver’s license for the first time is a significant achievement. It is seen as a “rite of passage” for many and is seen as an essential first step toward obtaining independence and maturing into a young adult. Driving is not recognized as a “right” under the Virginia Constitution or by the statutes of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Driving is a “luxury” that parents provide to their children as a form of education. If a privilege is misused, it may be withdrawn or removed from the individual.
The act of driving is a difficult one, even for the most experienced drivers. When it comes to young drivers, it is particularly challenging and can be fatal. Vehicle accidents are the biggest cause of mortality among people between the ages of 15 and 20.
When can I get a learner’s permit?
Applicants seeking a learner’s permit must be at least 15 years and six months old and must submit an application to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You will be required to complete a knowledge and eyesight exam before starting your job. If you’re learning to drive on public roads, you’ll need a learner’s permit to get started. In the presence of an experienced licensed driver who is at least 21 years old, you are permitted to operate a motor vehicle with a learner’s permit. In some cases, such as if the driver is your legal guardian or brother or sister, half-brother or half-sister, step-brother or step-sister, the driver must be at least 18 years old to accompany you.
Your learner’s permit application will also serve as your application for a driver’s license, which you will complete at the same time.
What happens if I don’t pass the knowledge test?
After failing the knowledge test three times, a person is required to enroll in and successfully complete the classroom component of a driver education course before being permitted to repeat the knowledge exam at the Department of Motor Vehicles. Before being permitted to retake the test, the DMV must be given with documentation of successful completion of the previous test.
What are the requirements for getting a driver’s license?
A driver’s license can be obtained if you are under the age of 19 and have completed a state-approved driver education program and have had your Virginia learner’s permit for at least nine months before applying for a driver’s license in Virginia.
Where can I find a driver education program?
Driver education programs are accessible in public and private institutions, as well as commercial driver training schools, across the state of California. During the program, there must be 36 classroom sessions as well as 14 in-car training sessions, which must be divided into seven driving sessions and seven observational sessions. Alcohol safety, drug addiction awareness, motorcycle awareness, and organ and tissue donation awareness are all topics that should be covered in the classroom during instructional time.
When you have completed all of the criteria for driver education, you will be awarded a certificate.
How will the DMV know that I have completed the requirements for driver education?
Following your successful completion of the required driver education courses, the instructor will submit a certificate of completion to the DMV on your behalf. You will be required to sign this certificate, which will also include the number of your parent or guardian’s driver’s license or identity card, which was granted to you when you received your learner’s permit. The parent, guardian, or foster parent of a minor who is under the age of eighteen must verify that the minor drove for at least 45 hours and that at least 15 of the 45 hours were completed after sunset.
When can I drive by myself without a licensed driver beside me?
A valid learner’s permit and a driver education certificate signed by a parent or legal guardian give you the authority to drive without a licensed driver beside you while you are between 16 years, three months and 18 years old.
You must have held your learner’s permit for at least nine months and the certificate must be signed by a parent or legal guardian to be eligible.
Do I have to take a road test at the DMV?
To obtain your driver’s license, you will not be needed to take a road skills exam at the Department of Motor Vehicles if you successfully complete the mandatory state-approved driver education program. The final road test will be administered by the driving education instructor in the car. You will receive a completion certificate if you successfully complete the test. When used in conjunction with your learner’s permit, this certificate serves as a valid driver’s license for 180 days.
If I am 18 years old, do I have the same requirements as those under age 18?
If you are under the age of 19, you must possess a learner’s permit for at least nine months or until you reach the age of majority in your state before you may apply for a driver’s license. When you successfully finish a driver education program, you will be awarded a certificate. For the purpose of obtaining your driver’s license, you will not be needed to complete a road skills exam at the DMV.
Are the driver education requirements the same for me if I am being home schooled?
If you are homeschooled, you can complete the classroom and/or behind-the-wheel components of the course at your convenience. Visit the DMV website to find out where to find authorized courses. To get more precise information, you may wish to look at the “Home-Schooled In-Car Driver Education Information Sheet,” HS-3. This form is also available on the DMV’s official website. A parent or legal guardian may conduct in-car training to his or her own kid if the parent or legal guardian has applied for and received clearance from the DMV in advance.
When will I get my official driver’s license?
After you have held your permit for nine months, reached the age of sixteen and three months, and completed driver education, you will receive a notice informing you of the date and time you must appear in court for a licensing ceremony, during which you will be issued your permanent driver’s license, if you are eligible. When applying for a permanent first-time driver’s license, you must be accompanied by a parent, custodial parent, or legal guardian who must sign the application.
Will there be restrictions on my license?
Yes. Drivers under the age of 18 who have a learner’s permit or driver’s license in Virginia are prohibited from driving between the hours of midnight and 4:00 a.m. under Virginia’s curfew rules. In the event that you hold a driver’s license, you are only permitted to drive during the following hours:
- In the event of an emergency
- When commuting to and from employment or a school-sponsored event
- While accompanied by a parent or another adult acting in the place of a parent
- And when responding to an emergency call as a volunteer firefighter or rescue squad personnel
In accordance with Virginia Code Section 46.2-334.01(C), In addition, there are limitations on the number of passengers. As a driver under the age of 18, you are only permitted to transport one passenger under the age of 21 during the first year that you get your driver’s license. If you have a parent in the passenger seat alongside you (who is also a licensed driver), the limit is two passengers under the age of 21. For the first year after you have your license and until you become 18, you may transport up to three passengers under the age of 21 when driving to or from a school-sponsored activity, when a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old is in the passenger seat alongside you, or in an emergency.
In the case of family members, the passenger limitations do not apply. In accordance with Section 46.2-334.01 (B) of the Code of Virginia, In addition, it is crucial to understand that violating the curfew or passenger limitations might result in the suspension of your driver’s license.
Keeping a driver’s license
You must abide by traffic regulations, avoid getting into problems, and attend school on a regular basis. Follow the rules of the road. Fines, license suspension or revocation, possibly jail time, and/or points against your driving record are all possible consequences for certain traffic violations. When you are convicted of a traffic violation, the courts notify the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The DMV next awards points to your driving record and records the conviction(s) on your driving record.
When a juvenile is found to be delinquent, a court has the authority to impose a variety of punishments, including the suspension of the juvenile’s driver’s license or the imposition of a curfew on the juvenile about the hours during which he or she may operate a vehicle.
In addition, a minor who is convicted of an alcohol, drug, or firearm violation may lose his or her driving rights.
In accordance with Virginia Code 46.2-334.001, anybody under the age of 18 who has ten or more unexcused absences from public school on consecutive school days may have their driver’s license suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
What are demerit points? How do they affect me as a teen driver?
The DMV uses demerit points to keep track of the number of moving offenses it receives. Every time a driver is convicted of breaking the law while operating a moving vehicle, points are assessed against their driving record. In the case of a first offense of violating the passenger and curfew limits, three demerit points will be deducted from your score. Your driving privileges may be suspended for up to six months if you are convicted of a second or third offense in the same year.
What are the other consequences for demerit points?
Driving under the influence will result in a demerit point conviction for drivers under the age of 18 (including seat belt or child restraint infractions). These drivers will be compelled to attend a driver improvement clinic. If you are under the age of eighteen and are convicted of a second offense, the DMV will suspend your driving privileges for a period of 90 days. Following a third demerit point conviction while under the age of 18, the DMV will cancel your permit or license for one year or until you reach the age of eighteen, whichever is the longer period.
I’ve heard about “Zero Tolerance.”What does that mean for me?
Virginia has implemented some of the most stringent rules in the United States when it comes to kids who are found driving under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs. According to Code of Virginia 18.2-266.1, it is unlawful for anybody under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle after taking alcohol or drugs without a valid driver’s license. A breach of this statute is punishable by a Class 1 misdemeanor conviction. Loss of your driver’s license for one year from the date of conviction, as well as a mandated minimum fine of $500 or the completion of a minimum of 50 hours of community service, are all possible punishments for this offense.
What does implied consent mean?
If you drive a motor vehicle, you automatically consent to having samples of your blood and/or breath collected for a chemical test to evaluate the presence of alcohol or drugs in your system, according to Code of Virginia 18.2-268.2. If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated or under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you may be eligible for a driver’s license suspension.
The consequences for refusing to take the exam are outlined in Code of Virginia 18.2-268.3 (Code of Virginia). If you are convicted of a first violation, you may lose your driving privileges for a term of one year. Increased numbers of infractions result in significantly more severe sanctions.
Can my parents take away my privilege to drive?
Yes. Obtaining a learner’s permit or a driver’s license and driving on Virginia’s roadways was provided to you by your parents as a privilege. They have the authority to revoke the privilege. Your parents can opt to revoke your learner’s permit or driver’s license if you are under the age of 18. They can do so by simply filing form DL 18, “Cancellation of Minor’s Driving Privilege,” which is available online. If your application is denied, neither you nor your parents will be allowed to reapply for at least six months after it is denied.
What about cell phones? Can I use one while driving?
No. It is illegal for a motorist under the age of eighteen who has a learner’s permit or driver’s license to use any cellular telephone or other wireless communications device, regardless of whether the device is hand-held or not, according to Virginia’s cellular telephone legislation (46.2-334.01 (C)). According to Code of Virginia 46.2-1078.1, texting while driving is also unlawful. Only a mobile phone or other telecommunications equipment may be used to communicate:
- In the event of a driving emergency
- Or, when the vehicle is properly parked or stopped
A violation of any provision of this section is considered a traffic infraction and is punished by a fine of $125 for the first offense and a fine of $250 for the second or subsequent offense.
What should I do if a law enforcement officer stops me while I am driving?
In the course of their duties, law enforcement officials are responsible for maintaining the public’s safety and upholding the law. Law enforcement officers should always be treated with decency and respect. If you are directed to pull over, pull over at the first safe location you come across. Use your directional signal to alert the officer that you have seen his or her signal and plan to pull over if you have to travel only a short distance to get there. Follow the officer’s orders to the letter and to the point.
Prepare to display your driver’s license as well as the registration for your vehicle.
The vast majority of traffic offenses result in a summons to appear in traffic court.
Why is all of this important to me?
It is imperative that you are familiar with the driving rules and regulations in Virginia before you get behind the wheel. The development of safe and responsible driving habits is equally necessary in order to maintain your learner’s permit or driver’s license. Keep in mind that driving is a privilege. If the privilege is abused, the privilege may be revoked.
What are some good driving tips for me?
- Hold on to your hats! Check to see that you are always wearing your seat belt and that everyone else in the car is as well. This is your finest line of defense against anything that may go wrong on the road while you’re driving. Facts: (1) air bags are designed to operate in conjunction with safety belts, and (2) the vast majority of collisions occur close to home. Always wear your seat belts on any trip, no matter how long it may take you to get there. Make sure you get enough sleep! Teenagers require more sleep than younger children and adults, according to research. Teens require a minimum of nine hours of sleep every night to function properly. The majority of teenagers suffer from sleep deprivation, averaging less than seven hours of sleep every night. With school, schoolwork, jobs, sports, and social activities, getting nine hours of sleep may be difficult
- Nonetheless, getting enough sleep assists you to remain awake when driving. Taking motorcycle safety training and always wearing your protective gear is a must if you are an adolescent riding a motorbike. In Virginia, motorcycle helmets are required to be worn at all times. Always drive when under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Not only are alcoholic beverages and illicit narcotics, but they can also impair response speed and distort perception of reality. It’s also possible for them to make you feel you’re a fantastic driver. Regardless of your age, you should never drink and drive
- Only ride with sober motorists instead. It is possible to lose your life if you are traveling with a motorist who has consumed alcohol or used illegal substances. Youths who die in car accidents are frequently passengers
- Single-vehicle wrecks are the most prevalent form of accident involving teens. Speed, failure to use a seat belt, inexperience, and alcohol consumption are all variables that contribute to the deaths and serious injuries that occur in these collisions.
- From the outset, parents and caregivers play an important role in the safety of young drivers. It is critical that they take their kid out for a drive to allow them to practice driving abilities and establish clear ground rules. Also critical is that they serve as excellent role models by wearing their seat belts, following speed limits, and refraining from driving aggressively. Always keep your headlights on when driving. You want to be seen as well as seen
- Don’t get caught tailgating. Make an effort to maintain a four-second following space between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of it. Concentrate solely on your drive. While driving, refrain from playing loud music, talking on the phone, eating, studying, or applying cosmetics. Follow the rules on the number of passengers allowed, and avoid packing your automobile with too many pals. Maintain your concentration while driving and avoid distractions and peer pressure
- Don’t get too worked up over it. Imagine that everyone else on the road is a close, intimate friend of yours. Ensure that you check your rearview mirror before and after you brake at all times. Obey all traffic safety regulations, and don’t go faster than the posted speed limit. Keep an eye on your pace
Virginia Drivers License and Identification Card
Virginia Drivers License and Identification Card – Resources/Virginia Drivers License and Identification Card If you hold a valid driver’s license from your home country or an international driver’s license, you will be able to legally drive in Virginia for the first six months after your arrival. The Commonwealth of Virginia also needs you to get a driver’s license in the state of Virginia after that. To be eligible to apply for a Virginia driver’s license, you must have the following documents on hand: Passport, I-94, DS-2019, and proof that you live in Virginia, such as an apartment contract or lease, a bank or utility statement, or other documentation that demonstrates your Virginia residence address.
More information on the Charlottesville DMV, including a map and driving directions, may be found on the DMV’s Web page.
Nationals of most nations are required to complete both, however citizens of Canada, France, Germany, and Korea are frequently excluded from this requirement.
A copy of the DMV handbook is accessible from the DMV, on their website, and at the International Standards Organization.
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles also offers Virginia ID cards, which may be used as a government-issued picture identity document that you can carry with you at all times. The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website has information on how to get a Virginia ID card.
Virginia Driver’s License or State ID Card
Driver’s licenses and state identity (ID) cards are both issued by the state in which you reside, and they serve the same purpose. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) of the Commonwealth of Virginia is where you may get a Virginia driver’s license or state identification card. Full-time F-1/J-1 Students: It is legal to drive in Virginia with an out-of-state (or another nation) driver’s license if you are enrolled as a full-time student at Old Dominion University and are not working. For those who are working in the Commonwealth of Virginia, you must get a Virginia driver’s license within 60 days after starting your job.
After six months, you must apply for a driver’s license in the state of Virginia.
Dependents: You are permitted to drive using your driver’s license and license plates from your native state or country for a maximum of six months.
Employees: You must get a Virginia driver’s license within 60 days of your arrival in the state.
two days after checking in with the VISA office.) As part of the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE)Program, which determines whether a noncitizen is eligible to receive a Social Security Number (SSN), a driver’s license, and other public benefits, Virginia requires that arrival data be processed before any benefits can be provided.
The following documents are required: one proof of identification document, one evidence of legal presence, and at least two proofs of Virginia residency (please see page 3 of the accompanying paper), as well as a social security number (if you have one). All documents must be originals in order to be accepted. Use the interactiveDocument Guide or the DMV publicationObtaining a Driver’s License or ID Card to identify which papers to bring with you when you apply for a driver’s license or identification card (DMV 141).
It is possible to get a learner’s permit for those who are learning to drive for the first time. When presenting your legal driver’s license from your home country, you will be needed to complete a two-part knowledge exam, a road skills test, and a vision screening before being admitted. If you already have a valid Taiwanese driver’s license, you will just be required to take the road skills exam. The two-part knowledge exam and the road test will not be necessary if you already hold a valid driver’s license issued by a state or territory in the United States, a province in Canada, France, Germany, or South Korea.
A representative from the DMV will inform you about the exams that you must take.
Frequently Asked Questions
What happens if I am turned away or if I am unable to submit all of the required documentation? Providing your visa, passport, I-94 card, I-20 form, and evidence of Virginia residency should be sufficient for obtaining a license or identification card in the state. Alternatively, if the DMV employee requests another paperwork or is unable to verify your documents, please gently request their name and call the VISA office directly. Possibly, we will be able to settle the situation soon. During my grace period (60 days for F visa holders and 30 days for J visa holders), is it possible to get an extension on my driver’s license?
- The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires this letter from F1 students as proof that you have successfully finished your studies.
- For F1 visa holders, the DMV can extend your driving license for 60 days, and for J1 visa holders, the DMV can extend your driving license for 30 days.
- What papers do I need to give in order to extend my driver’s license while on OPT/STEM OPT Extension status?
- You will be granted a 60-day extension until you obtain your new employment authorization card, if you have not yet gotten your new employment authorization card.
- As an additional supporting document, you might obtain a letter from VISA.
Virginia Drivers License Renewal
On the 7th of July, 2021, an update was made. According to Wikipedia, the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) services around 5.9 million licensed drivers and ID card users, with over 7.5 million vehicles registered. With a tiny number of drivers, the Commonwealth of Virginia has some of the most stringent drunk driving regulations in the country. In fact, a new rule passed in 2012 requires that first-time DUI offenders have an IID implanted before regaining control of their vehicle.
Use eTags ©to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
Although deaths from drunk driving have decreased dramatically over the past 30 years, impaired driving remains a serious public safety problem, with the Commonwealth of Virginia incurring over $425 billion in annual costs as a result. In Virginia, drunk driving is not just a safety hazard on the road, but it is also a financial liability.
In the state of Virginia, nearly 4,400 people were wounded and 264 people died in road accidents involving alcohol in 2019. To learn more about driving in Virginia, continue reading this article.
How to Renew a Driver’s License in Virginia
You might consider renewing your license before the expiration date. You must present documentation of lawful presence in Virginia if your driver’s license expires before you may renew it.
How do I renew my Virginia driver’s license?
In order to verify your citizenship or authority to be in the United States, you will need to appear in person at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). No matter how short an amount of time your driver’s license has been expired, you must go through this procedure.
Online Driver’s License Renewal
In Virginia, renewing a driver’s license may be accomplished quickly and easily online. In order to determine whether or not you are qualified to renew your license online, the Department of Motor Vehicles will mail you a notification. If you meet the requirements, the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles offers a webpage where you may enter the necessary information to finish the application process. Except in cases when the VA requires you to physically attend for your license renewal, there is a charge associated with renewals in person.
Renewing Your Driver’s License In Person
In order to renew your Virginia driver’s license in person, you must pay a modest charge to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You will be required to pass a vision screening exam, as well as have a new image taken, in order to renew your driver’s license. If your driver’s license has not expired, you will not be required to provide proof of citizenship.
Renewing an Expired Driver’s License
What should you do if your driver’s license is no longer valid? If you let your driver’s license to expire, you will be required to provide proof of “legal presence.” You must be able to demonstrate that you are a legal resident or citizen of the United States before you can apply. In order to proceed with your renewal, you will be required to produce official identification such as a Social Security card, passport, or a green card. It is only with the right identity that you will be able to begin the process of renewing your Virginia license or state identification card.
DMV License Renewal Test
It is necessary to retake the two-part knowledge test as well as the road skills examination if you have left your license to lapse for more than a year before you can finish the renewal process. When you visit the customer service facility, a computer will be available to assist you with the two-part knowledge exam. Detailed information about the test may be found in the Virginia driver’s manual, which can be accessed through the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles’ online resource. It is possible to obtain the handbook in both textual and audio versions.
At the customer service center, you will be required to undergo a road skills exam.
In addition to having a valid safety inspection sticker, the vehicle must also have functioning brakes, headlights, turn signals, a valid registration card, safety belts, and mirrors.
In order to take the road test, you will need to show proof that you have completed a state-approved driver education course beforehand.
Scheduling an Appointment to Renew Your License
If you have any issues about renewing your driver’s license or making an appointment, you should call the Virginia DMV office closest to you for assistance.
Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
- Instructions on how to complete an application for a driver’s license or identification card, as well as sample exams, the new licensing process, legal presence, and information on the EAD (I-766).
- The Virginia Driver’s Manual is also known as the Virginia Conductor’s Manual, the Virginia Commercial Driver’s Manual, and the Virginia Motorcycle Operator Manual.
- Obtaining a driver’s license
- Renewing a driver’s license
- Replacing a driver’s license
- And meeting the requirements for driver education.
Driver’s License Reinstatement
- Reinstating Driving Privileges
- Medical Information
- Points and Violations
- Restricted Driving Privileges
- Terminating License Suspensions for Unpaid Court Fines and Costs (F C)
- Ending License Suspensions for Unpaid Court Fines and Costs (F C)
- Information on obtaining a Learner’s Permit
- How to Apply for a Learner’s Permit
Commercial Driver’s License
- What is a commercial motor vehicle
- Who are commercial drivers
- And what is the purpose of a commercial motor vehicle A commercial driver’s license or a commercial learner’s permit is something you want to get. A description of the CDL classifications, endorsements, and restrictions, as well as the HAZMAT requirements, new medical certification requirements for CDL drivers, CDL disqualifications, CDL skills test eligibility requirements, and more. To Trucks, with Troops
- Taking the CDL Examinations
- Operating a motorcycle in Virginia
- Obtaining a motorcycle license
- Obtaining a motorcycle learner’s permit
- Registering your motorcycle
- Motorcycle safety
- Virginia Rider Training Program
- And more.
- Teen Driver Information
- Teen Driver Safety
- Teen Driver Information
- Parents in the Driver’s Seat
General Driver Information
- Licensing and identification photograph policy
- Zero fraud hotline
- Counterfeit drivers’ licenses, identity theft, and organ donation
- Traffic crash statistics in Virginia
- High occupancy vehicle (HOV) lane rules, online record request
- Schools for driver training, including three exam failures
- CDL driver training schools (including three exam failures)
- Speed and aggressive driving
- Driver safety
- CDL driver training schools (containing three exam failures)
- Insurance discounts for drivers 55 and older
- Mature Driver Safety
- Insurance discounts for drivers 55 and older
- A driver improvement program is comprised of driver improvement clinics, commercial driver improvement clinics, computer-based driver improvement clinics, and other related services and programs.
Getting a U.S. Driver’s License or ID card
Covid Update: COVID-19 has had an impact on the operation of DMV facilities. For the most up-to-date information, please refer to the DMV’s website. In the United States, driving permits and identity cards are granted by the state in which you reside; the regulations in each state vary. It is possible to receive a Virginia driver’s license or state identification card through the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (DMV). The following are the addresses and phone numbers to reach us.
Do I need a Virginia driver’s license?
If you are a full-time student with a valid foreign driver’s license, you are permitted to drive with that license. Check to see whether you have an English translation of your foreign driver’s license, or think about acquiring an international driving permit. You must, however, obtain a Virginia driver’s license within 60 days if you meet the following criteria:
- If you are employed in the United States, or if you have a car registered in Virginia
I am a scholar
You will be able to drive with your valid foreign license for a maximum of six months. Check to see whether you have an English translation of your foreign driver’s license, or think about acquiring an international driving permit. If you intend to continue driving in the United States beyond six months, you must get a Virginia driver’s license first. You must, however, obtain a Virginia driver’s license within 60 days if you fall into one of the following categories:
- If you are employed in the United States, or if you have a car registered in Virginia
I am a W M employee
If you wish to drive in Virginia, you must apply for a VA license within 60 days of moving here.
I just need a State Identification (ID) Card; I don’t need to drive
If you want just an ID card (does not allow you to drive but is useful when proving age for buying alcohol), you can obtain one at the DMVwiththesame required documentsneeded for a license. The fee is $10.
I just want to drive: Driver Privilege Card
The only persons who can take advantage of this option are those who have earned money and filed a Virginia tax return within the previous 12 months. A driver privilege card is not the same as a standard driver’s license, and you cannot use it as identification to board aircraft or visit federal buildings, but it will allow you to operate a motor vehicle. Requirements (a complete list may be found on the DMV website):
- Copy of your Virginia tax return, which must have been submitted within the recent 12 months (one of the following options):
- Va. Resident Form 760 – Individual Income Tax Return
- Va. Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return (Form 760PY)
- Va. Nonresident Income Tax Return (Form 763)
- Va. Nonresident Income Tax Return (Form 763).
- Licence to drive
- Employment authorization document
- Official transcript
- Health insurance card
- Social Security Card
Proof of Virginia residence is required (two documents) Proof of Social Security Number or ITIN (if you have been issued one)
Driver’s License Application Process
If you are 18 years old or older, you must provide proof of successful completion of a state-approved driver education programoryou must have held a learner’s permit at least 60 days before you can take the road skills test.If you are under age 18, you must complete a state-approved driver education programandhold your Virginia learner’s permit for at least nine months.
I have a license from another state or country
Regardless of age,you may be required to take a written test, or take both a written and driving test, depending on the country that issued your license. You will need to ask directly at theDMV.If you have a license from another U.S. state, Canada, Germany, or France, then you may simply obtain a Virginia license by completing the application and paying the fee. Licenses from other U.S.
states or Canada will be invalidated when you receive your Virginia license.The driver’s license will be issued for the period listed on your I-20 or DS-2019, not to exceed 5 years. The cost of the license is $4 for each year issued,minimumfee is $20.
Complete your Immigration Check-in
In order to be eligible for a Virginia driver’s license or identification card as a new student or scholar, your immigration record must first be registered with theRevesCenter.com. You can only complete your immigration check-in once you have crossed the border into the United States.
- In order to seek registration, students must complete the student immigration check-in form, which is available here:
- AccessiStart by logging in with your W M ID and password Pre-Arrival may be found in the left-hand menu. Select Pre-Arrival Checklist and fill out theImmigration Check-In andImmigration Responsibilities sections.
Filling out thescholar immigration check-in form is the only way for scholars to request registration. Once your immigration record has been registered, you will get an email notifying you of the registration.
Gather the Required Documents
In order to be considered for a driver’s license, learner’s permit, or state ID card, applicants must bring the following documentation to the DMV:
- Two pieces of identification
- One piece of documentation proving legal presence
- Two pieces of documentation proving your Virginia residence
- One piece of documentation proving your Social Security number (if you have been issued one)
All documents must be originals in order to be accepted:
Proof of Identity
Applicants are required to submit two forms of identification. The documents you provide must include your entire legal name as well as your date of birth. They may both be drawn from the primary list of documents, or one may be drawn from the primary list and the other from the secondary list of documents, for example. Documents of First Instance
- Foreign passport having an unexpired or expired visa, as well as a valid I-94 card or print out
- Driver’s license or learner’s/instruction permit (with photo) from the United States or Canada that is not more than 60 days old and has not expired
- A valid picture identification card issued by a state in the United States that is not more than 60 days old
Documents of Secondary Importance
- In addition to the I-20 and DS-2019, Form I-797 (if appropriate) and a certified copy of school records/transcript issued by WilliamMary are required.
Proof of Legal Presence
Applicants must provide one piece of documentation proving their legal existence. Documents that have been accepted include:
- An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired or expired visa, as well as a valid I-94 card or printout are required. Holders of F1/F2 visas must submit a valid I-20
- Holders of J1/J2 visas must present a valid DS-2019
- And Form I-797 (which must include the applicant’s name).
- It is important to note that if W M has filed an H1B, TN, O-1, or E-3 petition with USCIS on your behalf, or if W M has filed an extension of one of those statuses, you will be able to get a driver’s license valid for 12 months after receiving the I-797 Receipt Notice. As soon as your petition is authorized, you will be able to extend your license for the whole duration of the petition.
Proof of Virginia Residency
Applicants are required to submit two evidence of Virginia residency at the time of application. Accepted papers must include the following information: the current street address (not a PO Box, CSU Box, or GSH box) and the following information:
- You may seek a letter from the Reves Center confirming the official on-campus address that has been provided to immigration authorities.
- AccessiStart by logging in with your W M ID and password In the left-hand menu, select International Office from the drop-down menu. Then, select DMV On-Campus Formal Address Letter from the drop-down menu and complete the form.
- The following instructions are for students who live on campus: Instructions for students who live off campus
Monthly bank or credit card statements that are no more than two months old are acceptable. Agreement for a residential rental or lease Payroll check stub from an employer that was issued during the past two months. A valid Virginia driver’s license or Virginia state identification card that has not expired. You have received a utility bill that is no more than two months old (examples include gas, electric, sewer, water, cable or phone bill). The use of a cell phone bill is not permitted. Invoice for automobile or life insurance now outstanding (cards or policies are not accepted).
- mail with a forwarding address label sent to the recipient.
- It is possible to request an address change through the Postal Service either online ($1) or in person (for free), and the Postal Service will mail you an address confirmation.
- Tax return from the prior year in the United States or Virginia.
- It is also possible to utilize other papers.
Requesting an Official Transcript with Virginia Address if You are Living On-Campus
To acquire a transcript that includes your on-campus street address, you have two alternatives.
You can either: The following steps are required in conjunction with the transcript request form (pdf):
- Make a note of your on-campus street address and list it at or near the top of the form, then select “For Pickup.” To make a payment, visit the cashiers in Student Accounts, Blow 108 (open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.), and pay $7 per transcript. Credit and debit cards are not accepted
- Only cash, check, and money order are accepted. Keep your receipt for future reference. Bring the receipt and the transcript form to the Registrar’s Office, Blow 240 (open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.)
- Transcripts will be available for collection the next business day after 12 noon
- Students who wish to receive their transcripts immediately can do so for a cost of $25. (This can also be completed at the cashier’s window.) The issuance of transcripts is prevented by certain student account holds, which must be resolved before the Registrar may provide your transcript.
Ordering may be done online at www.getmytranscript.com.
- When placing your order, be sure you choose “For Mail” as the delivery method. Make a note of your on-campus street address and include it in your list. You can make your payment with a credit or debit card. Transcripts are $7 per page, plus a $2.95 processing fee each page. For a fee of $25, expedited processing is possible. It is imperative that you immediately notify [email protected] that you have placed an order to have your transcripts shipped, but that you would prefer to pick them up in person. The issuance of transcripts is prevented by certain student account holds, which must be resolved before the Registrar may provide your transcript.
Proof of Social Security Number (you need one from this list only if you have a Social Security Number)
Applicants are only need to provide one evidence of SSN if they have been issued with one.
- Social security card (Individual Taxpayer Identification Numbers are not acceptable)
- W-2 form or 1099 form from the United States Internal Revenue Service for tax reporting
- Payroll check stub issued by the employer
Renewing Your Driver’s License or ID card After Graduation
Find out more about this procedure.
Virginia law requires children to be restrained in a child safety seat (such as a car seat) until they reach the age of eight. There are many various types of car seats available, and it is critical that you choose the correct car seat for your kid based on his or her age and size. In addition, car seats must be correctly mounted.
For additional information, contact:
Customer Service Center for the Department of Motor Vehicles in Williamsburg 5235 John Tyler Highway, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (804) 497-7100 Hours of operation: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 12 p.m. Except on holidays, Saturday is a working day. DMV Customer Service Center- Gloucester2348 York Crossing Drive, Hayes, VA 23072(Food Lion Shopping Center)(804) 497-7100 Department of Motor Vehicles Customer Service Center- Gloucester Hours:9amto5pm Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Directions to the Williamsburg DMV by Bus
The Jamestown Line of the Williamsburg Area Transit System is a good option (free with your W M ID). Using Google Transit, you may look for routes that take use of public transit.