How Long Is An Alabama Driver’S License Good For? (Perfect answer)

Your Alabama driver’s license expires four years after it is issued and the expiration date is shown on the license. The license may be renewed at any time within 180 days prior to expiration.

How long can you drive with an expired license in Alabama?

  • If your AL drivers license has been expired for no more than 3 years, you can renew it without examination. Please remember you can only drive with your expired drivers license in Alabama as long as it’s within the grace period of 60 days. After that, you can no longer legally drive.

Does Alabama State ID expire?

Non-Driver’s ID are only good for 8 years and then must be renewed. If you are 62 or older, it is good for a lifetime. A list of additional acceptable documents is available here.

Does Alabama drivers license expire on your birthday?

Expiration Date Alabama Class D Operator licenses are valid for four (4) years from the date at which you received it. Your expiration date will always fall on your date of birth. When you are operating a motor vehicle you must always carry your license as it is against the law to drive without a license.

Is there a grace period for renewing drivers license in Alabama?

Reminds everyone all Alabama driver licenses and non-driver IDs holders have a 60-day grace period following expiration date (Code of Alabama, Title 32-6-1). Customers may wait to renew.

Can I renew my driver’s license online in Alabama?

Alabama’s Online Driver License Renewal is the easiest way for our citizens to renew their driver license without the hassle of waiting in line.

Is the star ID mandatory in Alabama?

From Alabama Law Enforcement Agency. Americans will have more time to get the Real ID that they will need to board a flight or enter federal facilities. The Department of Homeland Security on Tuesday extended the Real ID deadline until May 3, 2023.

What does the star mean on Alabama drivers license?

What is a STAR ID? “Secure, Trusted, And Reliable,” STAR ID is part of a nationwide effort to improve the integrity and security of state-issued driver licenses and identification cards, which, in turn, will help fight terrorism and reduce fraud.

What if my driving license has expired?

If more than two years has passed since your driving licence expired, you may be made to retake your driving test in order to get a new licence. This is especially the case if your licence has expired due to age (driving licences need to be renewed when you reach seventy years of age) or for medical reasons.

How do I check the status of my driver’s license in Alabama?

Alabama – Check License Status (or call 334-242-4400 )

What do I need to renew license in Alabama?

The state of Alabama only requires drivers to provide three documents (in addition to a renewal fee) when renewing their driver’s license – your current Alabama Driver’s License, Proof of Identity, and Proof of Residency. Documents to prove identity and residency must be valid and current.

How do I renew my expired Alabama drivers license?

To renew your driver’s license in person.

  1. Step 1: Visit your local driver’s license office.
  2. Step 2: Provide your current Driver’s license.
  3. Step 3: Pay $36.25 driver’s license fee.
  4. Step 4:Have your photo taken.
  5. Step 5: DPS will issue you a temporary Driver’s License – until you receive one in the mail within 30 days.

Is there a late fee for expired license in Alabama?

If you renew after the expiration date, though, you will be charged additional fees on top of the regular renewal fee of $36.25. To avoid these late fees, people who already have a valid license can renew it up to 60 days in advance of the expiration date.

Can I get my driver’s license online Alabama?

Online driver license renewal, digital licenses available for first time in Alabama. The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency today unveiled new initiatives, including online driver license renewals, which it says will reduce wait times for residents and help it do more with a shrinking budget.

How much does it cost to renew Alabama drivers license online?

Go to ALEA online services. Have your current driver license and SSN ready. Pay the fee of $36.25 by credit card at the end of the transaction.

How much is the star ID in Alabama?

Even better news- it only took ten minutes for them to review and process the paperwork, take a new photo, take payment ($32.50) and issue the STAR ID.

How much is a driver’s license in Alabama?

Driver or Learner License (age 16 and older) $5 test fee (no checks). Applicants 18 or older who wish to complete all testing for a license must have a licensed driver, proof of car insurance and a vehicle that will pass inspection. $36.25 to purchase license (no checks).

Alabama Drivers License Renewal

Renewal of your Alabama Drivers license is required. Make a list of all of your DPS information. Learn about the forms, rules, and procedures that must be followed in order to renew your AL drivers license. It is necessary for the vast majority of drivers to renew their Alabama driver’s license in person. Please discover the location of the driving licensing office that is nearest to you. Unless you are temporarily absent of the state of Alabama (as defined by the restrictions indicated below), you will be permitted to submit your renewal through the mail.

For your convenience, we’ll provide you with all of the necessary forms, rules, and procedures so that you’ll be fully prepared for your licensing visit.

Alabama Drivers License Renewal Information

Your license card’s expiration date will always be shown on the front of the card. All Alabama Class D Operator licenses have a 4-year validity period beginning on the day that you got your license. Every year, the day of your expiry will occur on the same day as your birthday. When operating a motor vehicle, you must always have your driver’s license with you since it is against the law to operate a vehicle without a valid license.

When To Renew

Always prepare ahead of time and make every effort to renew your license before it expires or on the day of expiration if possible. The Alabama Department of Public Safety does allow you to apply for an early renewal. You have up to sixty (60) days before the expiration date to renew your license. Simply go to the driving licensing office that is closest to you. You will be able to renew your license without having to go through any additional testing requirements if you take advantage of the grace period.

After the expiration date, it should not be utilized for driving.

Expired Alabama License

You may still renew your license in person at any License Commissioner Office in Alabama, even if you were unable to do it on time. You will have three (3) years to complete the renewal procedure after your license has expired. Any driving or written examinations that are taken less than three years following the expiry of your license will not be subject to retesting. Please keep in mind that you will not be able to drive if your license has expired. If you are detained by law authorities, you will be issued a citation.

If your driving rights have been suspended, you will get a written notice from the state.

Do not operate a motor vehicle while your license is suspended. To be able to get back behind the wheel, you must first complete your suspension time and then pay a reinstatement charge. The fines range from $75.00 to $275.00, depending on the circumstances surrounding the suspension.

Renew Alabama Drivers License Online

You may still renew your license in person at any License Commissioner Office in Alabama, even if you were unable to do it on time. You will have three (3) years from the date of expiration to complete the renewal procedure. Any driving or writing exams taken fewer than three years after the expiration date will not be required to be retaken. Please keep in mind that you are not permitted to drive if your license has expired. If you are stopped by law enforcement, you will be issued a citation.

If your driving rights have been suspended, you will get a notification in the mail.

Driving privileges must be reinstated when your suspension time has expired, and a reinstatement fee must also be paid.

Alabama Drivers License Renew by Mail

You have up to sixty (60) days before the expiration of your license to take advantage of this option. However, you are only permitted to renew by mail if you fall under one of the following categories:

Requirements to Renew By Mail

  • In order to qualify, you must presently be serving in the United States Military. In this area, you’ll find your dependents as well. You are currently enrolled in a college or university outside of the state of Alabama
  • And Because of an out-of-state job, you are unable to work in Alabama. You haven’t renewed your license in fewer than four (4) years, according to your records. The reason for this is that the DPS will require your photo and signature to be on file
  • Otherwise, your application will be denied. If you are a foreign national, you are not permitted to use this option. This option does not allow for the renewal of a commercial driver’s license.
  1. You must download and complete the one-page Out of State License Renewal Form, which may be found below. You must mention your home address in Alabama as well as your present out-of-state address in your application. It is necessary to input your Social Security Number. Along with this, you will need to put out your present reason for being out of state (which can be any of the reasons listed above)
  2. In the case of drivers in the military, they must submit a copy of their military identification as well as their orders
  3. Drivers in school must submit a copy of their student identification as well as their university or college enrollment documents. Employers must create a statement on business letterhead stating that the driver will be working out of state
  4. You have the option to register to vote
  5. However, this is not required. For veterans, be sure to send your Certificate of Release form (DD-214) in order to obtain a license that identifies you as a military veteran. This legislation was first presented on May 1, 2013. If you send the payment of$23.50 (only money orders are accepted) made payable to Driver License Divisionfor theCost, it should be sent to the following address:Driver License DivisionPO Box 1471Montgomery, Alabama 36102-1471
  6. Your license will be mailed to you through mail.

Please note that if you have not yet received your renewed license, you should contact the Alabama Department of Public Safety at the contact information provided below. Your Full Name, Email, License Number, and Birth Date will all need to be entered. If you like, you can also contact them by phone at the following number: Call (334) 242-4400 for a driver’s license (Menu Option).

Alabama Drivers License Renewal for Military Drivers

Military drivers and dependents in the United States can renew their licenses by mail if they can produce documentation of their current Military ID as well as valid Military Orders. The procedures for renewing your Alabama drivers license by mail are mentioned above under the heading “Alabama Drivers License Renew by Mail.”

Renew Alabama Drivers License In Person

If you do not qualify for a renewal by the mail, this is the sole alternative open to you in the state of Alabama. It will cost $23.50 to renew a normal four-year operator’s license, which is the current rate.

Requirements to Renew In Person

  • To find out what hours the driver license office is open, look for a nearby driver license office location. Bring your valid driver’s license that is about to expire, as it will be used as identification. If your present license has not expired for more than three (3) years, you will not be needed to take any further tests. Provide evidence of your Social Security number (see below for further information)
  • In order to drive legally, your vehicle must be properly insured. Pay the $23.50 fee that is necessary for your license renewal (checks will not be accepted). See the most recentFEEShere.

To find out what hours the local driver licensing office is open, look up the address of the office. Bring your valid driver’s license that is about to expire, since it will be used for identification. It is not necessary to take any further tests if your present license has not expired for more than three (3) years. Provide evidence of your Social Security number (see below for further information); and Car insurance is required for your vehicle. In order to renew your license, you must pay the necessary fee of $23.50.

Here’s where you can find the most recentFEES.

Alabama Drivers License Renewal Documents

If you want to visit your local DPS office in person, you must bring documentation of your Social Security number with you.

  • Proof of Social Security Number (SSN) is required. Examples of acceptable papers include your social security card, military identification card, military Form DD214, Medicare or Medicaid identification card, W2, or a letter from the Social Security Administration (SSA) that includes your name and social security number Drivers who do not have a Social Security number must contact the Social Security Administration and request that they provide them a letter of ineligibility. For veterans, be sure to send your Certificate of Release form (DD-214) in order to obtain a license that identifies you as a military veteran. This legislation was first presented on May 1, 2013.

Auto Insurance

You must provide documentation proving your Social Security number. Social security cards, military identification cards (DD214s), Medicare or Medicaid identification cards, W2s, and letters from the Social Security Administration (SSA) with your name and social security number are examples of acceptable documentation. People who do not have a Social Security number must call the Social Security Administration and request that they create a letter of ineligibility. For veterans, make sure to send your Certificate of Release form (DD-214) in order to obtain a license that identifies you as a military veteran.

ALEA Continues to Modify its Driver License Division Operations in Response to COVID-19

Montgomery– The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency is continuing to monitor its reaction to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) and making modifications to the Driver License Division’s statewide operations, according to the agency. “Serving the public is a top priority for our organization,” ALEA Secretary Hal Taylor said in a statement. We are committed to ensuring the public safety of the state and its citizens, and this commitment will not change as we respond to COVID-19 and other emergencies. State agencies have been tasked by Governor Ivey with identifying the most effective way to ensure that activities continue without endangering the health of the public or our employees during this epidemic,” the governor said.

Driver License Division has announced the following changes, which are effective immediately:

  • Has closed several of its Driver License locations that were housed in county facilities that had been closed by county officials
  • Offices in Birmingham, Pelham, and Columbiana will close on Tuesday, March 24, the agency said today. Has halted road testing (including CDL) and other activities. Those who are immunocompromised or have a weakened immune system should avoid visiting any Driver License locations
  • Reminds everyone that all Alabama drivers license and non-driver ID holders have a 60-day grace period following the expiration of their license or non-driver identification card (Code of Alabama, Title 32-6-1). Customers may choose to postpone renewing their subscriptions. Encourages the use of online services for anybody who needs to renew or get a duplicate driver license/STAR ID or non-driver ID at the Department of Motor Vehicles. Customers must visit an ALEA Driver License office in order to get their initial issue of a STAR ID
  • Encourages everyone who plans to come to call their local Driver License office ahead of time to check that the site is open. (Because information is subject to change on a daily basis, please check back frequently.) A list of office phone numbers may be found at www.alea.gov. At ALEA’s Driver License offices, curbside check-in and screening has been implemented. Everyone is requested to adhere to the directions placed at each venue and to remain in their vehicles in order to minimise the risk of exposure
  • Nonetheless, In the process of contacting Driver License clients who have made appointments for services
  • The company is also retaining data in order to fulfill these appointments at a later date. Is shutting Reinstatement Offices around the state and delivering these services over the phone.
See also:  How Many Counties In Alaska?

The following are the phone numbers for the Reinstatement Office:

  • 205.52.0426 in Birmingham
  • 334.983.5616 in Dothan
  • 256.536.2365 in Huntsville
  • 256.782.1322 in Jacksonville
  • 251.660.2330 in Mobile
  • 334.242.4400 in Montgomery
  • 334.737.1665 in Opelika
  • 256.383.9991 in Sheffield
  • And 205.553.3511 in Tuscaloosa

If county commissions decide to shut down local operations, the agency’s Driver License offices located in county premises will be forced to shutter. Closed stores and hours of operation are updated in real time on the list, which is updated on a continuous basis. ALEA Secretary Taylor urges that the public be patient and to cooperate with the Driver License Division of the agency in order to guarantee that the health and safety of both the general public and ALEA employees is not jeopardized.

Driver License Information

Every individual (with a few exceptions) who wishes to operate a motor vehicle on public streets or highways must get a valid driver’s license from the state of Alabama. ALEA is in charge of issuing driver’s licenses. This chapter explains who may be eligible for an Alabama driver’s license as well as the steps you must take to receive one. It is also recommended that you go through the motorbike operator’s manual before applying for a motorcycle driving license.

License Requirements

To operate a motor vehicle on public streets and highways in Alabama, every individual (with few exclusions) must possess a valid driver’s license. ALEA is in charge of issuing driver’s permits. To receive an Alabama driving license, you must first determine whether or not you are eligible. Then, you must complete the necessary paperwork. It is also recommended that you go through the motorcycle operator manual before applying for a motorcycle driver’s license.

  1. Any individual when driving or operating a motor vehicle owned or leased by the United States Federal Government who is in the employ or service of the United States Federal Government
  2. When operating or moving a farm tractor or other agricultural implement on a public roadway, any individual is prohibited from doing so. A non-resident who is at least 16 years old and who has in his immediate possession a valid driver’s license issued by his native state or nation may drive in the United States. Included in this category are service members from other states and their families who are stationed in Alabama, even if their deployment in Alabama is for an extended period of time. In any calendar year, a non-resident who is at least 16 years old and whose home country does not require driver licensing may operate a motor vehicle in the capacity of a driver for a total of no more than 90 days if the vehicle operated is properly registered for the current year in the non-home resident’s country
  3. A non-resident who possesses a valid driver’s license from his or her previous state of residency is permitted to drive without obtaining an Alabama driver’s license for the first 30 days after becoming a resident of the state. Any non-resident full-time student who is officially enrolled and registered in a school, college, university, or trade school in this state and who possesses a valid driver’s license from his or her native state or country is eligible to participate.

An Alabama driving license will not be granted to any of the following individuals:

  1. Following individuals are not eligible for an Alabama driver license:

The Learner’s License and Restricted License

The minimum driving age in Alabama is sixteen years old. There are, however, several exceptions and limits, which include: 15-year-olds can obtain a learner’s permit. A limited Learner’s License may be obtained for the purpose of learning how to operate a motor vehicle in a safe and effective manner. The material in the Alabama Driver’s Manual is used to create the examination for the driver’s license. Following successful completion of the necessary examination, the applicant will be awarded a standard Alabama driving license with the letter “Y” restricted on the back of the license.

This Learner’s Permit is good for a period of four years.

Any individual 16 years of age or older who, but for his or her lack of instruction, is otherwise qualified In the event that you are operating a motor vehicle and would otherwise be qualified to receive a driver’s license, you may be eligible to obtain a Learner’s License upon completion of the necessary examination.

Following successful completion of the necessary examination, the applicant will be awarded a standard Alabama driving license with the letter “Y” restricted on the back of the license.

This license is valid for four years from the date of purchase.

Both Learner’s Licenses and Driving’s Licenses may be suspended or revoked in the same manner and for the same reasons as a driver license. They may also be revoked if the learner’s license or driver license holder violates the terms and conditions under which it was given.

Veteran License Designation

Veteran drivers in Alabama have had the option of posting proof of military service on their driving licenses since May 1, 2013. An Alabama veteran must visit one of the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency’s Driver License examining offices, or one of the state’s license commissioner’s offices or probate offices, and present a DD-214 form from the United States Department of Defense indicating that he or she served in a “honorable” or “general under honorable conditions” capacity. Other papers that can be used to get a veteran designation include:

  • “honorable” or “general under honorable conditions” on Form 22 (Report of Separation and Record of Service) of the National Guard Bureau
  • ID Card for Active Duty (green)
  • DD Form 2 (green Active Duty ID card)
  • ID card that has been retired (in the colors blue and pink)

“honorable” or “general under honorable conditions” appears on NGB Form 22 (Report of Separation and Record of Service); (green Active Duty ID card) DD Form 2 (Department of Defense Form 2). ID card that has been retired (in the colors blue and pink)

Renewing Your Alabama Driver’s License

Every four years, if you have a driver’s license in the state of Alabama, you will be required to renew your identity. Fortunately, the state provides a number of choices for maintaining your driving privileges. Because the Alabama Department of Motor Vehicles no longer sends renewal letters before to your expiration date, you must maintain track of this information to prevent any costs or penalties from the DMV. Let’s take a look at how to renew your Alabama driver’s license step by step, shall we?

How Often Do You Need to Renew Your Alabama Driver’s License?

You will have four years to use your driver’s license from the date you first acquire it. The DMV will only send you a renewal notification if your license has expired more than 30 days. In the event that you are not paying attention, your renewal date will arrive much sooner than you could anticipate.

What Documents Are Needed to Renew Your License?

When renewing their driver’s license in the state of Alabama, drivers are only need to produce three papers (in addition to the renewal fee): their current Alabama Driver’s License, proof of identity, and proof of residency. Valid and current identification and residence documentation must be shown. A valid United States passport, an original birth certificate, or other applicable citizenship documents are all acceptable forms of identification. Alabama, on the other hand, permits drivers to establish their residency by presenting utility, mortgage, or lease paperwork that include your name on the front of them.

How Much Does It Cost to Renew Your Driver’s License?

Alabama drivers license renewal fees are now set at $36.25 per license renewal, according to the most recent information available. Drivers can make payments to the DMV in a variety of methods, including cash, credit/debit card, and money order. The particular options that will be available to you will be determined by the form of renewal that you select.

How To Renew Your Alabama Driver’s License

Renewal of your driver’s license can be accomplished in three distinct ways. –By mail–By internet–By person As an added convenience, you can now renew your license in any county in the state, which increases convenience throughout the renewal process.

License Renewal by Mail

Renewing by mail is a common choice for out-of-state citizens and military personnel who are stationed temporarily outside of their home state. For Alabama drivers who are temporarily out of state, you will also need to fill out an Application for a Renewal or Duplicate License for Alabama Drivers Who Are Temporarily Out of State. The $36.25 renewal fee must be paid with a money order and mailed to the address shown on this page. Along with the documentation necessary to renew your Alabama driver’s license, you will need to send in a copy of your military identification, employment identification, or student identification card that shows your eligibility for renewal through mail.

Completed applications should be mailed to:Alabama Department of Public Safety, Driver License DivisionPO Box 1471Montgomery, AL 36102.

Alabama License Renewal Online

When it comes to renewing their driver’s licenses, online renewals are becoming increasingly popular as a convenient option for drivers to save time. In contrast to mail-in renewal, all drivers are eligible for online renewal. sunless: 1. There is a need to modify the address. 2. It is necessary to change one’s name. 3. A fresh photograph is required. 4. You completed your most recent renewal online. Driver services are available online through the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, allowing you to quickly renew your license.

Proceed to the ALEA website and follow the instructions after you have your current license and payment method in hand.

You will be given the option to download and print your temporary license at the conclusion of the site.

License Renewal in Person

Visiting the DMV in person to renew your driver’s license is the most conventional method of doing so. It is quite basic, but it will almost certainly take far longer to complete than the other two techniques. However, submitting your license renewal in person will undoubtedly provide you with the peace of mind that everything has been completed properly. If you need to renew your driver’s license in Alabama, you may do it at any DMV location in the state of Alabama. Paying the renewal cost will be needed of you and can be done with cash, credit card, or money order.

Following the presentation of your renewal paperwork and payment of the price, you will be issued a temporary license that will be valid for 30 days while your permanent license is being mailed to you.

What If My Alabama Driver’s License Has Expired?

The process of renewing a driver’s license that has expired is the same as the process of renewing a valid driver’s license. After your license has expired, you will be granted a 60-day grace period, which will give you a little extra time to finish the process. Following the expiration of this grace period, you will be charged a late fee. Drivers in the state of Alabama are permitted to renew their licenses without incurring any penalties up to 180 days after they expire. The DMV will send you a reminder notice 30 days following your license expiration date to serve as a reminder.

Instead of expiring four years from the date of issuance, licenses renewed under these conditions will be scheduled to expire four years from the date of your prior expiration date.

Despite the fact that the DMV provides a pretty generous grace period, you must keep track of your license expiration date and renew your license on time. Make use of our tips to ensure that the process is as smooth as possible when the time comes.

Ultimate guide to renewing your driver’s license in Alabama

Getting a driver’s license renewed after it has expired is no more difficult than getting one renewed after it has expired. You will be given a 60-day grace period once your license has expired, which will give you a little extra time to finish the procedure. After this grace time, you will be charged a late fee. A driver’s license can be renewed without penalty in the state of Alabama for up to 180 days after it expires. In order to remind you of your license expiration date, the DMV will send you a notice 30 days after it has passed by.

Instead of expiring four years from the date of issuance, licenses renewed under certain conditions will be scheduled to expire four years from the date of issuance.

The DMV provides a very generous grace period; but, you must keep track of when your license expires and renew it on time to avoid losing your license.

What You’ll Need to Renew your Alabama Driver License

Renewals can be completed online.

  • Driver’s License Number
  • Date of Birth
  • Last 4 digits of Social Security Number
  • Your current address must be the same as the address on your driver’s license, credit card, or other identification document.
  • The printer will print your temporary license, which will be valid for 30 days from the date of the purchase.
  • A printer to print your temporary license, which will be valid for 30 days after it is issued
  • To apply for a renewal license for Alabama drivers who are temporarily out of state, complete the Application for a Renewal License for Alabama Drivers Who Are Temporarily Out of State. Preparing a money order in the amount of $36.25 made payable to the Driver License Department
  • Collect evidence that you have a legitimate reason for being out of state, such as a copy of your military identification and orders, or your student identification and enrollment papers, or a certification letter from your employer on company letterhead Please include your full name, birth date, AL driver’s license number, and Social Security number (SSN) in your submission.

What You’ll Do to Renew your Alabama Driver License

To renew your driver’s license online, visit this page.

  • Step 1: Go to the ALEA website, which is located at
  • Step 2: Fill out the form with your license type and details. The second step is to make your payment using your credit card. Step 3: Get a copy of your temporary driver’s license. You will get your license in the mail within 30 days after submitting your application.

For those who wish to renew their driver’s license in person.

  • Visiting the DMV in person to renew your driver’s license

For those who want to renew their driver’s license in person. Postal Address: P.O. Box 1471 Montgomery, AL 36102 Driver License Department of the Alabama Department of Public Safety

Caveats and Exceptions to Renewing your Alabama Driver License

  • The ability to renew online is only available once every eight years. You have the option to renew your membership 180 days before it expires. At the conclusion of your online purchase, a non-refundable charge will be collected from you. Even if the transaction is not completed, your card will not be charged as a result of the failure to complete it. If you are renewing your license online, your address must match the address on your license. It will be shipped to the address that you have on file for your license card. It is possible to renew your license by mail if you have received an Alabama driver’s license with your photo and signature within the past four years
  • And If you are one of the following, you may renew your license by mail:
  • Military people or those who are dependents of someone who is serving in the military A college student who is away from home for the first time
  • Alternatively, a resident who is temporarily absent from the state owing to job
  • Driver License renewal is possible through the Alabama Department of Safety’s Driver License Department 180 days before your license expires, and you will also have a grace period of 60 days after your license expires during which your license will remain valid. Every eight years, a fresh photograph is necessary. If your Alabama driver’s license has been expired for no more than three years, you are eligible to renew it without having to go through an examination. If your license has been expired for more than three years, the Alabama Department of Public Safety will demand you to retake the written and/or road tests.
See also:  How Much To Go To Alaska?

Get unlimited DMV appointments and DMV chat help with a 15-day free trial of Skip* *Use the above invite link to get your 15-day free trial this week only.

2006 Alabama Code – Section 32-6-1 — Required; expiration date; renewal; identification cards for nondrivers.

Before operating a motor vehicle on a public roadway in this state, every individual, with the exception of those who are explicitly excused by statute, must get a driver’s license from the department. Upon establishing residency in the state of Alabama, every new resident is required to get an Alabama driver’s license within 30 days after moving to the state. Each original driver’s license issued to a person born in a year ending in an odd number expires on the second anniversary of the licensee’s birth date that occurs in an odd-numbered calendar year after the date on which the application for the license was filed, and each original driver’s license issued to a person born in an even number expires on the second anniversary of the licensee’s birth date that occurs in an even-numbered calendar year after the date on which the application for the license was filed.

  • The validity of a driver’s license after its initial expiration should be for a period of four years from the indicated expiration date of the immediately preceding license, regardless of when the license is reissued after the initial expiration.
  • If a driver’s license has not been renewed by the time it expires, the Department of Public Safety will mail renewal reminders to each licensee 30 days following the expiration date if the license has not been renewed.
  • When applying for a driver’s license, the applicant must do so at any time throughout the period beginning 30 days before the expiration date of their then-current license and ending three years after the expiration date of their then-current license.
  • The first day of March after the person’s birthday must be treated as the person’s birthday for the purposes of this section if the person’s birthday falls on February 29.
  • Unlike a driver’s license, a nondriver identity card will only be granted upon the application of the nondriver and will look and function similarly to a driver’s license, with the exception that it will contain the phrase “nondriver” in large letters on the front of the identification card.
  • The nondriver shall immediately upon receipt of the card endorse his or her usual signature in ink upon it in the space provided thereon, unless a facsimile of the nondriver signature appears on the card.

Nondriver identity cards will be issued only to those who can provide the same level of identification that is necessary for driver’s license applications in this state.

(Acts 1975, No. 539, p. 1192, §§2, 6; Acts 1981, No. 81-154, p. 177; Acts 1992, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 92-678, p. 59, §1; Acts 1997, No. 97-554, p. 985, §1.)

Before operating a motor vehicle on a public roadway in this state, every individual, with the exception of those explicitly exempted by statute, must get a driver’s license. Upon establishing residency in the state of Alabama, every new resident is required to get an Alabama driver’s license within 30 days after moving to the state. Each original driver’s license issued to a person born in a year ending in an odd number expires on the second anniversary of the licensee’s birth date that occurs in an odd-numbered calendar year after the date on which the application for the license was filed, and each original driver’s license issued to a person born in an even number expires on the second anniversary of the licensee’s birth date that occurs in an even-numbered calendar year after the date on which the application for the license was filed.

  1. ( Immediately following the expiration of an initial driver’s license, all future renewals should be valid for a period of four years from the indicated expiration date of the immediately preceding license, regardless of when the renewal is granted.
  2. If a driver’s license has not been renewed by the expiration date, the Department of Public Safety will mail renewal letters to each licensee 30 days after the expiration date if the license has not been renewed.
  3. When applying for a driver’s license, the applicant must do so at any time within the period beginning 30 days before the expiration date of his or her present license and ending three years after the expiration date of his or her previous license.
  4. To the extent that a person’s birthday falls on February 29, the first day of March following that date shall be considered that person’s birthday for the purposes of this section.
  5. Unlike a driver’s license, a nondriver identity card will only be granted upon the application of the nondriver and will look and function similarly to a driver’s license, with the exception that it will display the phrase “nondriver” in large letters on the front of the identification card.

Alabama Driver’s License Renewal

What do I need and how do I go about renewing my Alabama driver’s license in the state of Alabama? These are excellent questions. Residents of Alabama are obliged to renew their Alabama driver’s license every four years, as mandated by state law. If you intend to renew your driver’s license, becoming familiar with the Alabama driver’s license renewal procedure is a good first step.

Required License Renewal Documents

To make things a little simpler for yourself, you should have the following paperwork ready before you begin:

  • Your current driver’s license from the state of Alabama Additional identification and evidence of residence are required. Making a payment for the required renewal cost

Adding a STAR ID to your Alabama driver’s license renewal application will need the submission of extra papers to authenticate your identity and date of birth, which are listed below. A valid, current United States passport, an original or certified copy of your birth certificate, or a Certificate of Naturalization or Citizenship issued by the Department of Homeland Security are examples of acceptable identification papers. In addition, you’ll need to provide proof of your primary address, such as a recent lease agreement or utility bills in your name.

Alabama Driver’s License Renewal Fees

The Alabama Department of Public Safety costs $36.25 to renew your driver’s license in the state of Alabama. Checks are not accepted by the Alabama Department of Public Safety, while other acceptable ways of payment will vary depending on how you choose to renew your license. For the processing of renewal applications, some offices may levy an extra cost.

How to Renew Your Alabama License

You have three options for completing the Alabama driver’s license renewal process: you may renew your license by mail, you can renew your license online, or you can renew your license in person. If you need to submit your Alabama drivers license renewal application early, you must do it within 180 days of the expiration date of your present drivers license.

Renewing Your License by Mail

In the event that you are required to go out of state for job, school or military deployment, you can renew your Alabama driver’s license by mail. To complete your driver’s license renewal, you will need the following documents:

  • Completed application for an Alabama driver’s license renewal for those who are temporarily out of state
  • The Driver License Division must receive a money order in payment of the mandatory license renewal cost. Proof of eligibility for out-of-state renewal must be sent in the mail (a copy of a student ID, a military ID, student enrollment documents, or a certification letter from an employer on company letterhead)
  • Proof of residency must be sent in the mail (a copy of a student ID, a military ID, or student enrollment documents)
  • Proof of residency must be sent in the mail

Completed an application for an Alabama driver’s license renewal for those who are temporarily out of the state. The Driver License Division must receive a money order in order to collect the mandatory license renewal cost; a copy of your student ID, military ID, student enrollment documents, or certification letter from your employer on company letterhead; proof of your eligibility for out-of-state renewal by mail; proof of your eligibility for out-of-state renewal by phone; proof of your eligibility for out-of-state renewal by email; and proof of your eligibility for out-of-state renewal by phone.

Online Driver’s License Renewal

By visiting the Alabama Online Driver License Issuance page on the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency website, you will be able to renew your license in the most convenient manner. You’ll need a valid credit card to pay the renewal price, as well as a printer to print off your temporary license, which will be valid for 30 days after payment.

Your permanent driver’s license will be mailed to you within 30 days of receiving your application. An Alabama license renewal may only be completed online once every eight years, according to the state’s rules.

Renewing Your License In Person

You can renew your Alabama driver’s license in person at any DMV driver’s license office, including those located around the state. Keep in mind that office hours may vary based on the region and amount of customers served by the company. The Driver License Office normally provides services on a first-come, first-served basis, so arrive early if you need something. When you renew your driver’s license in person, you’ll need to bring the following items with you:

  • A valid driver’s license and two kinds of identification are required. Fee for renewing a license in cash or via money order

When you renew your driver’s license, the Driver License Office will issue you a temporary driver’s license valid for 30 days. Your permanent license will be mailed to you within 30 days of receiving your application.

Renewing an Expired Driver’s License

In the event that your driver’s license is about to expire, you’ll have a 60-day grace period from the date of expiration to submit your application for a driver’s license renewal. While you are in the grace period, your driver’s license will continue to be valid, which will allow you to lawfully operate a motor vehicle across the state of Alabama. The 60-day grace period expires at the end of which point you will lose your driving privileges indefinitely unless your license is renewed. Unless your driver’s license has expired more than three years ago, you may still renew it without having to redo all of your driving examinations as long as you do it within three years of the expiration date on your license.

How to Renew an Alabama Drivers License

If you want to drive in Alabama, you must have a driver’s license that is currently valid. In the event that you fail to have a current, valid license, you may face financial penalties as well as legal consequences. Licenses in Alabama expire on the licensee’s birthday, with renewal required every four years after that. Fortunately, renewing your Alabama driver’s license is a safe and simple process that may be completed online in many situations.

Who Regulates Alabama Licenses?

ALEA (Alabama Law Enforcement Driver License Department) is the state organization in charge of overseeing all aspects of automobile licensing in Alabama. A renewal application can be processed at any ALEA office around the state. It’s crucial to note that they do not send out notices to drivers before their licenses expire, as is the case in certain states. They do, however, issue a warning 30 days after the license’s expiration date, and drivers then have another 30 days to renew their license before it becomes invalid.

People who currently hold a valid license can renew it up to 60 days before it expires in order to avoid the late costs associated with doing so late.

Renewing Online

You can renew your driver’s license, state ID card, and Star ID card online, but only for renewals that fall on a regular schedule. For each subsequent renewal, you must renew your license in person at the Department of Motor Vehicles. Online renewal is possible by visiting the ALEA online driver’s services site and following the on-screen instructions. Keep your current license number and a valid credit card on hand in case you need to pay the fee. Use a computer that has a printer attached to it to access the renewal website so that you may print off your temporary license after you’ve completed the renewal process.

When you renew your license, be sure the DMV has your current postal address on file, otherwise you may not receive your new license. To update your postal address if you relocate, you must visit an ALEA office in person to complete the process.

Renewing by Mail

For those who are temporarily residing out of state or serving in the military, it is possible to renew your Alabama driver’s license by postal mail. You must go to the ALEA website and submit a form for out-of-state renewal. Personal checks are not accepted as payment for the fees; thus, you must use a money order. Remember to include any supporting evidence that demonstrates your eligibility for mail renewal, such as a copy of your student ID from an out-of-state university or your military identification card, with your application.

Renewing In-Person

You can renew your Alabama driver’s license by mail if you are temporarily residing out-of-state or if you are a member of the military. You must go to the ALEA website and complete a renewal form for those who live outside of the state. Personal checks are not accepted as payment for the fees; thus, a money order is required. Remember to include any supporting evidence that demonstrates your eligibility for mail renewal, such as a copy of your student ID from an out-of-state university or your military ID card, with your renewal package as well.

State Drivers License Renewal Laws Including Requirements For Older Drivers

(1) Each renewal of a driver’s license in the states listed in this column requires proof of adequate vision for older drivers at the age indicated. Most states require all drivers to show proof at every renewal, including in-person renewals, in order to maintain their license. Eight states (Alabama, Connecticut, Kentucky, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, and Vermont) do not require drivers to produce proof of acceptable eyesight at any age, including those under the age of twenty-one.

  1. (1) Defines dementia as a condition that doctors must report when they make a diagnosis.
  2. (5) The date of implementation is July 1, 2022.
  3. Note: Specific criteria differ from state to state; as a result of COVID-19, several states have implemented interim operating modifications.
  4. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and the Governors Highway Safety Association provided the information.

Alabama Driver’s License Renewal Guide

If your driver’s license is about to expire, you’ll want to be sure to renew it as soon as you can to avoid any inconvenience.

This article will provide you an outline of the process of renewing your driver’s license in the state of Alabama. Learn about the criteria, your renewal alternatives, and answers to frequently asked questions by visiting this page.

How to Renew Your Alabama Driver’s License

In Alabama, you will have the following options when it comes to renewing your driver’s license: You have up to 180 days before your license expires to renew it before it becomes invalid.

Online Driver’s License Renewal

Many drivers may renew their licenses online, which is convenient. To renew your membership online, you’ll need the following information:

  • Personal information about you
  • The number on your driver’s license
  • Your Social Security Number
  • Your date of birth Reimbursement of the renewal payments
See also:  What Is A Type A Driver'S License? (Perfect answer)

You should get your updated license within around 30 days of submitting your request. Please keep in mind that you will not be eligible for online renewal if you do any of the following:

  • You must update your mailing address. You’re temporarily out of the country

For official resources on renewing your driver’s license in Alabama, please visit the following link: Long is an Alabama Driver’s License Good For?

Driver’s licenses in Alabama are valid for four years from the date of issuance. The date of expiration will be listed on your driver’s license.

How Long Do You Have to Renew Your Driver’s License After it Expires in Alabama?

After your license expires, you will have a 60-day grace period during which you can renew it and continue driving. If your driver’s license has been expired for more than three years, you will be obliged to retake the DMV examinations. If you let your driver’s license to expire, you’ll want to make certain that you renew it as soon as possible after that. If you continue to drive after your license has expired, you may face legal consequences.

Do You Have to Pass the DMV Written Exam to Renew Your Alabama Driver’s License?

Many individuals believe that the last time they would be required to take the knowledge exam is when they apply for their learner’s permit. This is not the case. However, this is not always the case. When renewing your driver’s license, you may also be required to pass the DMV written exam. The following are some examples of situations in which you may be needed to take a written examination in order to renew your license:

  • For many, the last time they will need to take the knowledge exam is when they apply for their learner’s permit. This is not necessarily the case. Obviously, this is not always the case! The DMV written test may also be required while renewing your driver’s license. For example, in order to renew your driver’s license, a written examination may be necessary.

The DMV will normally advise you whether you will be needed to pass a written exam in order to renew your driver’s license before it can be renewed. Consider studying the driver’s manual and taking some of our free DMV practice tests to prepare for the test if you are required to take it.

Save Money on Car Insurance When You Renew Your License

Getting your Alabama driver’s license renewed is also an excellent opportunity to shop about and compare insurance prices. Every year that you get more driving experience, the likelihood of your base rates decreasing increases. This, however, will not happen on its own. Today is the day to compare free quotations online and start saving money!

Drivers License & ID Renewals & Replacements

** Brand-new ** Beginning on October 1, 2020, all air travelers will be required to provide a STAR ID or Passport while traveling within the United States. State employees at Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Driver License exam offices are the only ones who can issue you a STAR ID. STAR IDs cannot be issued by license offices that are controlled by counties. County employees can continue to issue driver’s license renewals and duplicates. You can download the flyer HERE. If you would like more information on the types of documentation required to receive a STAR ID, please visit the ALEA website.

NOTE: If the name of the car’s owner changes, the name must be updated on both the driver’s license/ID and the vehicle title in order for the vehicle to be registered.

The name on your vehicle title does not change as a result of updating your driver’s license. A copy of the title must be presented to the licensing official in order for the name to be changed.

Renewing or Replacing Your ID

The renewal of your Alabama driver’s license is required every four years. Within six months after the expiration of your present license, you may apply to have your license renewed. The processing of standard renewals, replacement licenses, as well as name and address changes to an existing license, may be completed at any site within the state where renewals are handled. Please keep in mind that if you desire to make a change to your driver’s license, you will be charged a $31.25 duplication fee unless the change is handled at the same time as your renewal.

Documentation Needed

Originals of all documents are required (no copies). A duplicate of your license or state-issued identification card can be obtained at any Shelby County license office in the event that your original is lost, destroyed, illegible, or your name or address has changed. If your driver’s license or identity card is lost, damaged, or unreadable, you will be needed to provide valid identification (no photocopies) in the form of two or more of the following papers to replace it:

  • State Department-issued birth certificates (FORM FS-545)
  • Certificate of Naturalization (FORM N-570)
  • Certificate of Citizenship in the United States (FORM N-560)
  • And other official documents.
  • Current United States passport
  • Original certified birth certificate
  • Social Security Card
  • US Citizen Born Abroad (FORM DS-1350)
  • Current United States passport

For Name Changes

You must have both of the following:

  • License that is currently valid
  • The Social Security Card must be changed to reflect the new name (this is essential)
  • And

License that is now valid. Update your Social Security card to reflect your new name (this is required).

  • Divorce documents (must say that you are entitled to your maiden name)
  • Adoption papers
  • Court order for name change
  • Marriage license

Please keep in mind that photocopies and fax copies are not acceptable.

Accepted Methods of Payment

  • The use of photographic or facsimile reproductions is prohibited.

Information about voter registration, as well as an online application

Basic Terms and Definitions

The term “driver license” refers to any license to operate a motor vehicle granted under the statutes of the state of California. A driver license or driving privilege in Alabama can only be issued, suspended, cancelled, or revoked by the Department of Public Safety, which has exclusive and exclusive power under Alabama legislation and case law1. Driver licenses in Alabama are granted according to their categorization. The standard, or general, driver license is a class D license that entitles the holder to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle on public highways in this state, subject to certain restrictions that may be in place.

An applicant for a CDL must first possess a valid class D driver’s license, be at least 21 years old3, possess a valid medical certificate that meets the requirements of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, and pass the written and driving examinations designed for the class of CDL being sought, among other requirements.

When a 14 or 15-year-old applies for a class M license with a ‘B’ restriction, the license is designed specifically for motor-driven cycles.

Suspension of a driver’s license is a serious offense.

A driver’s license can be reinstated after it has been suspended if certain compliance requirements are met, such as paying a fine for an unpaid or ‘outstanding’ traffic violation or serving a limited duration license removal following a conviction, as well as the payment of an administrative fee to the Department of Public Safety.

It is almost typically the outcome of a significant traffic crime conviction that results in a revocation, and it is generally considered a necessary responsibility of the Director of Public Safety4.

Additional requirements for re-licensing after revocation include compliance with the Safety Responsibility Law5, payment of the applicable reinstatement fees, and passing the driver license examination.

According to Section 760-X-1-.02 of the Alabama Administrative Code, Reinstatement of Driving Privileges After Revocation, “The Director of Public Safety may, at any time after the expiration of six months from the date of revocation, reinstate a person’s driving privilege who has had his or her driving privilege revoked.”.

Any subsequent license removal actions must be served in sequence, with the first license removal action being completed in its entirety before the second removal action can be initiated, even if the second (or third) license removal action is entered before the first removal action is completed in its entirety.

Barbour, which was a first-of-its-kind decision in this state, that driving license suspension periods should be counted sequentially rather than continuously, rather than concurrently.

Cancellation of Driving License: The annulment or termination of a person’s driver license by official action of the Director of Public Safety as a result of a mistake or fault in the application procedure.

Cancellation is neither a suspension nor revocation; rather, it is a sort of license removal that requires the disqualified licensee to clear the prior state before being able to possess an Alabama driving license.

Driver License Compact (now in use): There are several interstate compacts in place, including the Driver License Compact (DLC), which allows the various states to exchange information about license suspensions and traffic violations of non-residents and forward that information to the state where the motorist’s license is issued, also known as the home state.

As of right now, 45 of the 50 states are participants in the Driver License Compact.

Since 1966, Alabama has been a member of the Democratic Leadership Conference.

Nonresident Violator Compact (currently in effect): There are 45 states that have signed on to the Non-Resident Violator Compact (NRVC), which allows for the processing of traffic citations that transcend state lines.

Whenever a motorist is cited for a traffic violation in another member state and fails to respond to the citation (for example, by failing to appear in court or by settling the case prior to court), the state where the violation occurred notifies the driver’s home state, which in turn suspends the driver’s license until the driver resolves his or her case in the other state.

Sixth, the DLA’s objectives are to require each state to recognize licenses issued by other member states, to require each state to report traffic convictions to the licensing state, to prohibit a member state from confiscating an out of state drivers license or from jailing an out of state driver for a minor violation, and to require each state to maintain a complete driver’s history, including withdrawals and traffic convictions from non-DLA states.

  1. Any report about a licensee that is received by a DLA member state from a non-DLA member state shall be treated as if it had come from a member state.
  2. Foreign countries will not be subject to the Drivers’ Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), which means that other jurisdictions will be able to access motor vehicle records and transfer the driver’s history if the driver transfers his or her license.
  3. Individuals who have lost their driving privileges or who have been convicted of a significant traffic offence are identified by the National Driver Registry (NDR), which receives this information from state driver licensing bureaus.
  4. This is a collection of information about problem drivers that has been submitted by all 51 jurisdictions in the United States.
  5. Working in collaboration with the Commercial Driver License Information System (CDLIS), the PDPS will notify licensing authorities that the subject of the inquiry has previously been subjected to a license revocation proceeding in another state.
  6. The Administrative License Suspension Act of Alabama went into force in 1996 and was rewritten in 1999, with the majority of the changes being in the licensee’s favor.

The Administrative License Suspension Act’s intended purpose is to expeditiously remove the arrested subject’s driver’s license through an informal, non-judicial administrative process, thereby eliminating the incentive for the arrested motorist to delay license removal while waiting for the final disposition of a criminal prosecution.

The law was enacted as a means of ensuring compliance with the state’s Chemical Test for Intoxication Act.

The Administrative License Suspension Act has rendered much of the Implied Consent law obsolete in terms of application; however, many of the important concepts have survived, including the following:

  • The Implied Consent Law applies exclusively to alcoholic beverages
  • The Implied Consent Law does not have any relation to restricted drugs. If a driver refuses a blood, breath, or urine sample, the sole penalty is an administrative license suspension
  • The motorist cannot be physically coerced into providing a sample. The driver can legitimately decline to submit to a blood draw and instead seek a breath test or urine sample without incurring any consequences to his or her driving privileges if law enforcement authorities demand one. Motorists must be informed that refusing the breath test will result in a 90-day suspension of their driving privileges or their license or permit (or one year, if the second refusal in the past five years). If the motorist has an out-of-state license or is driving without a license, the Director has the authority to suspend the motorist’s ability to drive a vehicle on public roadways for refusing to take the exam.

One caveat: Section 32-5-316 of the Code of Alabama (1975) authorizes “any court of competent jurisdiction” trying a case involving the operation of a motor vehicle and the violation of any criminal statute or ordinance to enter an order, in its discretion, prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle on any public road or highway for a period specified by the court or for an indefinite period of time, as the court may decide.

In the more than three decades that this editor has worked in traffic law and law enforcement, I have only witnessed one such court-ordered entry, which occurred in the case of a DUI-related death that was prosecuted as murder, and upon conviction, the trial court entered a lifetime revocation of the defendant’s driver’s license.

  1. a “combination” vehicle with a gross combined weight rating (GVWR) of 26,000 pounds or more is needed to have a class A license.
  2. In most cases, the car being towed cannot weigh more than 10,000 pounds.
  3. CDL endorsements are necessary for unique transportation needs such as double/triple trailers, hazardous products, and other special transportation requirements.
  4. For the hazardous materials endorsement, federal regulations provided by the Department of Homeland Security/Transportation Safety Administration demand a background check and fingerprints, which is performed by the Transportation Safety Administration.
  5. 4 See, for example, Section 32-5A-195 (j) of the Code of Alabama, which states: It is the Director of Public Safety’s obligatory obligation to terminate a driver’s license or privilege upon obtaining information about a previous criminal conviction for any of the following crimes:
  • Automobile-related homicide or manslaughter
  • In the case of a second or subsequent conviction for driving under the influence within a five-year period
  • Any offense in which a motor vehicle was utilized
  • Any felony in which a firearm was used
  • An individual’s failure to stop (also known as ‘Leaving the Scene of an Accident’) results in the death or serious harm of another. In any driving license or registration requirement, perjury or the submission of a false affidavit to the Director of Public Safety is prohibited. Verdicts on three (3) accusations of reckless driving during a 12-month period An unauthorized use of a motor vehicle that does not result in the conviction of a felon is defined as follows:

5According to Section 32-7-31 of the Code of Alabama, 1975, the Director of Public Safety must obtain proof of financial responsibility for a period of three years following the date of any revocation order. In most cases, this is referred to as the SR-22 requirement, and it necessitates the motorist posting a certificate of SR-22 insurance with the Department of Public Safety’s Safety Responsibility Unit prior to being eligible for re-licensing. 6 As a tax-exempt, non-profit organization, the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) is responsible for developing and coordinating model programs in motor vehicle administration, law enforcement, and highway safety.

The American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) was established in 1933 to represent state and provincial officials in the United States and Canada who administer and enforce motor vehicle laws.

The programs of the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) promote uniformity and reciprocity among the states and provinces. The organisation also acts as a point of contact for various levels of government as well as the private industry.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *