Your new MA driver’s license will be valid for 5 years unless the duration of your lawful status in the US is shorter.
How long is your first Massachusetts license valid for?
A Massachusetts driver’s license is valid for a maximum of five years and expires on your birthday. However, your first license will expire on your fifth birthday following the date of issue. Your driver’s license is considered a primary form of identification, showing proof of identity, residence, age, and signature.
How often do Massachusetts licenses expire?
When Does My MA Driver’s License Expire? In Massachusetts license renewal is required every 5 years. Your license will expire on your birthday and can be renewed as early as 1 year before it expires.
How long do you have to change your license in Massachusetts?
You have 30 days after your move to update your Massachusetts driver’s license with your new address when moving within the state (and no, changing your address with the post office doesn’t cut it).
How long does they keep your driver’s license?
A Driver’s Licence is valid for 5 years. You must renew it 4 weeks before its expiration date. To renew your licence, you will not be required to take a driving licence examination, but you will undergo eye testing and your fingerprints will be taken.
How long do you have to renew your license after it expires in Massachusetts?
How Long Do You Have to Renew Your Driver’s License After it Expires in Massachusetts? You’ll be able to renew an expired license up to 2 years after the expiration date. After 2 years, you’ll be required to pass the RMV tests again.
Is there a grace period for an expired license in Massachusetts?
If your license or ID expired in March or April — or if it will expire by the end of May — it will now be considered valid until September. For those whose licenses or IDs expire come June, an extension has been granted until October.
What happens if your license expires in Massachusetts?
Under Massachusetts Law, Driving with an Expired License is considered a misdemeanor offense. Possible penalties for driving with an expired license include jail time, fines, a criminal record, and a Driver’s License Suspension.
Can I still drive if my Licence is being renewed?
The DVLA says if your licence expires while it is processing your renewal application, you can continue driving as long as you meet certain conditions including only driving vehicles you were entitled to drive on your previous licence, not being told by a doctor or optician that you shouldn’t drive, and you aren’t
What documents do I need to renew my ma license?
To get or renew any driver’s license, ID card, or learner’s permit, you need documents and/or proof of your Social Security number, U.S. citizenship or lawful presence, and Massachusetts residency as required by federal and state law.
Do you have to wait 6 months to get your license if your 18 in MA?
* If you are between 16 and 18 years old, you need to have had your learner’s permit for six months before you can apply for a driver’s license. * You must complete 40 hours of supervised driving and your parent or legal guardian must participate in two hours of driving school before you can apply for your license.
Can I drive in Massachusetts with an out of state license?
If you have a driver’s license from another state, you need to convert it to a MA driver’s license upon becoming a resident in Massachusetts. The RMV will send your new driver’s license to the mailing address on record in 7-10 days.
Do I need my birth certificate to renew my license in Massachusetts?
What You’ll Need. Proof of your U.S. citizenship or lawful presence/date of birth: Certified copy of a U.S. birth certificate; U.S. passport or passport card; OR.
Can I renew my driver’s license after 2 years?
Driving licences never expire. If your driving licence card has expired, there are no penalties when you need to renew. Driving licence renewals prices vary across South Africa, starting from R140 in the Western Cape.
How do I check if my license is valid?
Use SMS Code. It is also possible to check you license validity using your own mobile phone. You can simply send a short message to the SMS code 22846 by sending the word DL follewd by drivers ID number without leaving any spaces in between. Wait for an SMS from NTSA confirming the validity of the licence.
When can you fetch your license?
1.2 The new drivers license card should be available for collection at the DLTC at which the application was submitted within approximately six weeks. If the application for a new card is submitted within 2 months of expiry, the expiry date is extended for 3 months.
Massachusetts Drivers License Renewal
Renewal of your Massachusetts driver’s license is required. Make a list of all of your RMV information. Get all of the documents, rules, and procedures you’ll need to renew your Massachusetts drivers license. In Massachusetts, you may renew your driver’s license in one of two ways: online or in the mail. Among your alternatives are the following: Either by visiting an RMV branch (or an RMV full service site), or by completing an online transaction. If you opt to visit a service office in person, use the locating tool to locate anrmv service office near you.
We’ll provide you with all of the essential forms, guidelines, and procedures to get the job done.
Massachusetts Drivers License Renewal Information
Your Massachusetts driver’s license must be renewed every year. Preparation is key to a successful RMV transaction. To renew your Massachusetts drivers license, you’ll need to know the forms, laws, and procedures that must be followed. In Massachusetts, you may renew your driver’s license in one of two ways: online or by mail. Among your alternatives are the following: By visiting an RMV branch (or an RMV full service site), or by completing an online transaction with the RMV. You can use the locating tool to find anrmv service office if you desire to come in person.
The forms, rules, and procedures that you will need will be provided to you by us.
You will not get a notification of renewal in the mail or through email unless you specifically request one. This service has been suspended indefinitely. The RMV may be contacted here if you have any questions or concerns about your renewal choices. In the event that you want to renew your license online or in person, please be sure to schedule your renewal at least seven days before your existing license expires (on your birth day). Because the state of Massachusetts is not liable if you fail to renew your license by the due date, it is critical that you double-check the date of expiration printed on the back of your license.
When To Renew
It is preferable if you renew your driver’s license on, or before, the day of its expiration. Those who choose to plan ahead of time can renew their license one (1) year before it expires in Massachusetts, if they so choose. Don’t take the chance of having an expired license since you are not permitted to drive with an expired license.
Expired Massachusetts License
Even though your expiration date has passed, you may still be able to renew your membership. But if you wait more than four (4) years after it has expired, you will be required to sit the learner’s permit examination and driving examination again. Driving with a suspended or revoked license is illegal in most states.
If you are a resident of Massachusetts and your license has been suspended, you must not drive or you will risk criminal punishment. Penalties might include imprisonment as well as monetary penalties. You must go through the reinstatement process if you want to get your driving privileges restored.
This is accomplished through the filing of a hearing request, during which the officer will examine your case. Finding affordable insurance rates after a suspension might be a difficult task to do. As a result, it is suggested that you shop about by visiting our vehicle insurance quotation page.
Renew Massachusetts Drivers License Online
Renewing your membership online is quick and simple.
Requirements to Renew Online
- You must have a social security number and be younger than seventy-five (75) years old in order to qualify. If you are over the age of 18, you must go in person. It is, nevertheless, recommended that you proceed with the online renewal. Instead of being able to renew, you will be offered the opportunity to download your application, which you will then need to submit in person. Your current driver’s license must have been issued when you were younger than twenty-one (21) years old. You will not be permitted to renew online in the same session twice. If you have previously renewed online, you will not be permitted to do so this time. If you need to have your name altered, you will not be able to renew your license online. Delinquent parking penalties, excise taxes, ezpass offenses, or unpaid child support are all prohibited from being considered. CDL drivers are unable to renew their licenses online. Your present license cannot be more than nine (9) years old at the time of application.
- There are certain requirements: you must have a social security number and be less than seventy-five (75) years old It is necessary to go in person if you are over the age of 18. It is, nevertheless, advisable to begin with the online renewal process as soon as possible. Instead of being permitted to renew, you will be offered the opportunity to download your application, which you will be required to submit in person. Your current driver’s license must have been issued when you were older than twenty-one (21) years old. You will not be able to renew your membership online in the same month twice in succession. In the event that you previously renewed online, you will not be permitted to do so this time. Changing your name will prevent you from renewing online
- You will be denied access. Delinquent parking fines, excise taxes, ezpass offenses, or unpaid child support are all prohibited from being employed. Licensed commercial drivers are unable to renew their licenses online. Your existing license cannot be more than nine (9) years old at the time of application
Please note that if you desire to ask more thorough questions regarding your options, you should contact the RMV office in your state: Please visit our website by clicking here. (800) 858-3926 is the phone number.
Massachusetts Drivers License Renew by Mail
In the state of Massachusetts, you are not permitted to renew your license via mail.
Renew Massachusetts Drivers License In Person
If you are not eligible to renew online, this is the sole alternative available to you.
Requirements to Renew In Person
- You must have a social security number that can be verified. Instead, the RMV will send you a notification advising you that you are unable to renew your license. The RMV will conduct a background check on your driving history. Any suspension or revocation must not be in effect at the time of application. Delinquent parking penalties, excise taxes, ezpass offenses, or unpaid child support are all prohibited from being considered.
- Make sure you have your identity and renewal documentation ready. For more information, please see the section below. Download and complete the License Card Application 21042 form, which may be seen below.
- Make sure you have your identity and renewal paperwork ready. Details may be found in the section below. Download and complete the License Card Application 21042 form, which is available below.
- Visit the rmv service office in Massachusetts that is most convenient for you. All drivers must pass a vision examination. Bring enough money to cover the $50.00 renewal fee for a five (5) year Class D drivers license
- Please be in mind that certain branches only take credit cards or cheques.
- Following completion of all of the aforementioned stages, the RMV will mail your new license, which should arrive in roughly seven (7) days. Please keep the receipt that was handed to you with you at all times throughout those seven days. As a temporary driving permit, it will be valid until your permanent license is issued.
Keep in mind that if more than seven (7) days have elapsed and you have not received your license, you should contact the RMV at the following address: Website: Click Here. (800) 858-3926 is the number to call.
Massachusetts Drivers License Renewal Documents
- Bring your current driver’s license (which is about to expire) and your identification. Make sure to include your Social Security number. That Social Security Number must be current and legitimate, as verified by the Social Security Administration. Note: If your Social Security number is not recognized by the Social Security Administration, you must receive a formal denial letter from them. You must also present the following materials in addition to the official letter:
- Remember to bring your current driver’s license (which is about to expire)
- And Your Social Security number must be entered here. An active Social Security Number that has been validated by the Social Security Administration is required. The Social Security Administration (SSA) must be notified in writing if your SSN is not confirmed. The following materials must be presented in addition to this official letter:
First Time Driver? Start here.
Bring your existing driver’s license (which is about to expire); Make sure to include your Social Security Number. An active Social Security Number that has been confirmed with the Social Security Administration is required. Please keep in mind that if your Social Security number is not recognized by the Social Security Administration, you must obtain a formal denial notice from them. You must also present the following materials in addition to this official letter:
Steps to Get Your Driver’s License
Learning to drive is accomplished through the successful completion of a learner’s permit exam and a road test. These exams demonstrate that you are capable of operating a motor vehicle in a safe and legal manner. Once you have obtained your driving privileges, you are solely accountable for your behavior on the road.
1st Stop on Road Trip
To be able to legally drive in Massachusetts, you must first get a learner’s permit from the state. This exam examines your knowledge of Massachusetts motor vehicle legislation as well as your ability to drive in a safe and responsible manner. A learner’s permit grants you permission to drive while you are honing your driving abilities and preparing for the road test that will follow. To submit an application for your learner’s permit, please visit this page. To obtain a driver’s manual, please click here.
It does not constitute a legal right.
Additional Resources for Steps to Get Your Driver’s License
First and foremost, you must obtain a learner’s permit in order to legally drive in the state of Massachusetts. This exam assesses your knowledge of Massachusetts motor vehicle legislation as well as your ability to drive in a safe manner. A learner’s permit grants you permission to drive while you are honing your driving abilities and preparing for the road test that follows. Please visit this page to submit an application for your learner’s permit. If you would like to obtain a driver’s manual, please visit this page.
It does not constitute a legal right of any kind.
Parent Supervised Driving Program
Designed to promote teen driver safety by offering parents and guardians with a common-sense approach to teaching driving skills, theParent’s Supervised Driving Program is a voluntary program that may be accessed online.
Junior Operator Requirements
The term “Junior Operator” refers to any driver or motorcyclist between the ages of 16 1/2 and 18 who is operating a vehicle. The Junior Operator Law imposes a number of regulations and limits on the driving of a motor vehicle by a person who holds a Junior Operator’s License, all of which have a substantial impact on the safety of the public (JOL). The primary goal of the regulation is to offer new drivers with supervised chances to learn safe driving habits while also protecting those drivers from any distractions created by friends under the age of 18 who are present while the drivers are behind the wheel.
The Junior Operator Law and the Safe Driver Law both impose fines on junior operators who are found to have violated specific rules and regulations. For a comprehensive list of Junior Operator infractions, please visit this page.
Key Actions for Parent/Guardian Information
According to Massachusetts law, drivers of motor vehicles are not permitted to use any electronic device while driving, including mobile phones, unless the device is used in hands-free mode.
Next Stop on Road Trip
Teens between the ages of 16 and 19 are involved in three times as many fatal collisions as all other drivers combined.
Additional Resources for Safe Driving Tips
The exam will include topics such as alcohol usage, suspensions, and JOL infractions, as well as traffic laws and the identification of road signs. If you want to pass the test, you must answer all 18 questions correctly in the 25 minutes given for the exam. You are not permitted to interrupt the exam once it has begun. Study the Class D driver’s handbook in order to be well prepared for the exam. Exams for the Class D learner’s permit are offered in 34 different languages. If you are required to take the permit test in person, you will be required to wear a face mask and gloves when using the touch-screen monitors to avoid being exposed to germs.
To book your road test, please visit this page. To learn more about the requirements for applicants, sponsors, and vehicles, visit this page. Watch these videos to get a feel for the moves that will be examined during the road test. Road testing are carried out in state cars when the state of emergency is in effect.
Time to take your Permit!
It is necessary for you to first visit a Service Center in order to submit your application. Customers must fulfill all of the current standards in order to be qualified to sit for the permit examination. A reservation for your visit to the Service Center must first be made using the Make or Cancel a Reservation transaction on the website before you can arrive. For complete details on how to take the exam online, please see this link.
Alternative Exam Options
When a cognitive or physical impairment prevents you from taking a conventional learner’s permit exam on a computer, you may request an alternate exam format such as an extended time period, a paper exam, or an oral examination. When you arrive to the service center, you must talk with the service center manager in order to seek an extension of time or a paper exam. Contact the RMV Service Center where you would want to take your oral test by calling (857) 368-8105 and leaving a message that includes your name, telephone number (if you have one), the nature of your request, and the day and time you would like to do your oral exam.
Documentation in the form of a letter from a doctor or social worker, an Individualized Education Plan (IEP), or a letter from a school on official letterhead all qualify as acceptable.
Also required are all of the necessary identity documents. An oral test will only be supplied if it has been planned in advance by phoning the phone number shown above. Extensions of time and paper tests are not need to be booked ahead of time.
Key Actions for Time to take your Permit!
The information in this tutorial will walk you through every step of the process so that you may renew your Massachusetts driver’s license with the least amount of worry possible. In addition, we’ve included the current particular guidelines in effect during the Covid-19 epidemic.
How Often Do You Need to Renew Your MA License?
Your driver’s license is good for five years, and you can renew it up to a year before it expires if you do so before the expiration date. If your driver’s license has been expired for more than two years, you will be required to retake both the written and the driving examinations. Licenses that were due to expire during the term of Covid-19 were automatically renewed. However, even though the cards may appear to be expired, the Massachusetts RMV systems will be updated with the new expiration date.
Where Can You Renew Your Driver’s License?
To renew your identification card, you can do it online or at any Massachusetts RMV Service Center. If your driver’s license image is less than 14 years old, you can renew it online up to two times in a single session. This means that you must renew in person at least once every 15 years, if not more frequently. During the Covid-19 outbreak, the Massachusetts Department of Motor Vehicles is attempting to reduce the number of visitors to its facilities as much as possible. You can only renew your license in the following ways:
- The Official Website is accessible online. If you have a AAA Autoclub membership, you may pick up your card in person at one of their centers.
How to Renew a Massachusetts Driver’s License
Follow along with us as we walk you through the process of renewing your Massachusetts driver’s license in person and online.
Renewing Your License in Person
- Prepare your documentation to verify your citizenship or legitimate residency in the United States. Preparing to retake the written and driving examinations if your license has been expired for more than two years is essential. Using our Massachusetts Handbook and practice quizzes, you may brush up on your knowledge of the state. Locate the RMV Service Center that is nearest to you. Schedule careful to verify the center’s hours and make an appointment if required, since some have a stringent no-walk-in policy. Take the necessary tests, if any are required. You will be needed to at the very least undergo a vision examination. Check your information and make any required changes to your name, address, and other personal information. You must pay the appropriate fees (which are shown below)
- Important Note: The majority of RMV Service Centers are only able to accept cheques and credit cards at this time. Keep in mind to carry the proper means of payment in order to avoid making a second trip
- The temporary paper license will be issued, and you will get your laminated card in the mail within 15 days of receiving your temporary paper license.
Renewing Your License Card Online
- Prepare your documentation to verify your citizenship or legitimate residency in the United States. Please go to your Online Service Center and follow the on-screen instructions to authenticate your identification. Select “Standard Massachusetts Driver’s License” from the drop-down menu and follow the directions
- Examine and, if required, modify your mailing address. Your fees (which are indicated below) must be paid. The temporary paper license will be issued, and you will get your laminated card in the mail within 15 days of receiving your temporary paper license.
The online renewal process will be unavailable if your license has been expired for more than two years or if your identification is more than 14 years old.
Can I Get a REAL ID?
While the federal government mandates that all identification be Real ID-compliant by October 21, 2021, you must visit the Massachusetts RMV in person to complete the process. You will not be allowed to travel or visit government facilities without supplementary identification if you do not have a REAL ID. During the Covid-19 Pandemic, you will be issued a conventional driver’s license, just like everyone else. When they begin Real-ID issuing services, you will be able to upgrade to a REAL ID at no additional cost if you require one.
Frequently Asked Questions About MA License Renewal
Here are a few additional things you should be aware of when renewing your driver’s license.
What Can Prevent You From Renewing Your Massachusetts Driver’s License?
You will not be able to renew your license if you do any of the following:
- Your driving privileges have been suspended or revoked. It is possible that you have outstanding parking tickets, excise tax, or EZ-Pass infractions.
You will be required to pay any outstanding tickets or taxes with the city and obtain a document to prove that you have done so. If you have received an EZ-Pass infraction, you must contact customer support at (877)-627-7745 and make arrangements to pay the fine in full before you may renew your Massachusetts license.
What if Your License Has Expired?
Normally, you have two years following the expiration of your license to renew it. After that, you’ll have to retake the learner’s permit exam and road test in order to be eligible for a new driving license. Prepare by reviewing our summarized Massachusetts DMV guidebook and practice exams; there is no quicker way to learn the state’s driving regulations!
In addition, licenses that were due to expire between March 2020 and August 2020 have been extended for an additional year. On the Online Service Center, you may view your updated status as well as your expiration date.
What if You’re Turning 21 Soon?
To renew your license, you typically have two years after it has expired. After that, you’ll have to retake the learner’s permit exam and road test in order to be eligible for a new drivers license. Prepare by reviewing our summarized Massachusetts DMV handbook and practice exams; there is no quicker way to learn the state’s driving regulations!. Aside from that, licenses that were originally scheduled to expire between March and August 2020 have been extended. On the Online Service Center, you may view your new status as well as your expiration date.
What Documents Do You Need to Bring to the RMV?
Here are a few basic objects you should keep on hand in case you need to show your identification. You may view the whole list of papers by clicking here.
- A valid, unexpired passport or passport card from the United States is required. You must provide a certified copy of your U.S. birth certificate if your passport was issued within the past six months and if your passport was issued within the last six months. An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued in the United States that fulfills the following requirements:
- Issued by the city, county, or state where the person was born
- This section contains the applicant’s full name, date of birth, and place of birth
- The entire names of the parent(s) are listed. Affixed to this document is the signature of the municipal, county, or state registrar. possesses a date that has been recorded with the registrar’s office (it must be within one year of the date of birth)
- Has the official seal of the issuing authority on it
What Are the Driver’s License Renewal Fees in Massachusetts?
Licenses for classes D and M are currently available for renewal for $50 apiece at the time of publication. It costs $65 to obtain a Class DM driver’s license. If you require a license for a period of less than five years, the renewal charge is prorated according to the length of your legal presence in the United States. An annual fee of $10 is required to obtain a license, and a fee of $5 is required to obtain a standard Massachusetts ID card.
It is not necessary to be stressed out when renewing your Massachusetts driver’s license. You will be finished in no time if you follow the instructions above.
Massachusetts Drivers License Renewal
On July 15, 2021, an update was made. Although Massachusetts drivers have a reputation for being impatient on the road, the state’s vehicle accident rate is one of the lowest in the country, which is unexpected given the state’s image. Although Massachusetts has the largest licensed driver population in the US, with over 4.9 million licensed drivers, the state has been awarded the safest state for driving in terms of road deaths per mile traveled in 2021. Not only is the Bay State safer for experienced drivers, but it was also named the safest state for young drivers in 2016, and it continues to rank in the top ten safest states in the country.
Use eTags ©to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
In order to renew my Massachusetts driver’s license, I must first determine what I need and how I would go about doing it. These are excellent questions. Renewing your driver’s license in Massachusetts is straightforward as long as you know what to anticipate. You may help the procedure go more smoothly if you prepare your paperwork, papers, and fees ahead of time and bring them with you to the RMV. This website was created to provide you with all of the information you need to know about renewing your Massachusetts drivers license.
There is a little difference between the processes and criteria for each of these approaches. The only conditions that apply are that you are under 75 years old and that there are no outstanding fees or penalties on your driving record at the time of renewal.
Massachusetts License Renewal Requirements
In addition, you must be renewing a Class D, M, or Class D/M driver’s license. You’ll need some basic information, such as your name, driver’s license number, date of birth, and social security number, to complete the application. A valid driver’s license and a completed renewal application are required when renewing in person. There is no difference in the cost that must be paid when renewing your license, regardless of how you choose to do it.
When Does My MA Driver’s License Expire?
Massachusetts requires license renewal every five years, and it is mandatory. Licenses expire on the day of your birthday and can be renewed up to one year before they expire if they are renewed in good standing. Alternatively, if your license has been expired for less than 4 years, you can apply to have it renewed. Drivers who are under the age of 21 are granted a distinctive vertical license to indicate that they are underage. It says “Under 21” on the back and may be changed with a conventional driver’s license once you reach the age of majority.
Applying for a Driver’s License: Required Forms
Applicants seeking a Class D, M, or D/M license in Massachusetts who wish to renew their license in person must complete Form T21042, which is an application for a license in the appropriate class. You can save time by printing this form at home and bringing it with you to the RMV. Once your license has expired or has been renewed within 4 years of the expiration date, you will simply need your old license or license number to reapply for a new license. If you are asked to provide extra evidence such as identity verification, you will be notified in advance.
License Renewal Fees in Massachusetts
The renewal price for a Class D, M, or D/M driver’s license in Massachusetts is $50, and it is waived for students. An additional $15 will be charged for a motorbike endorsement. Money orders, checks, and credit/debit cards are all accepted as forms of payment. If your license has been suspended or expired for more than four years at the time of renewal, you may be subject to extra costs.
Replacing a lost Driver’s License
Knowing how to renew a Massachusetts driver’s license is one thing; however, the procedure for renewing a license that has been suspended, revoked, lost or stolen, or expired is a very different story. Despite the fact that your driver’s license has been lost or stolen, you may still renew it without too much difficulty if you have your driver’s license number. The online renewal mechanism for Massachusetts driver’s licenses may be used if you know your license number. In this instance, you will not be required to present any kind of identification.
You will, however, be required to go through the usual application procedure, which includes producing proof of identification papers, if your license has been expired for more than 4 years.
Reinstating a Suspended Driver’s License
Licenses that have been suspended must be reinstated with a cost.
There are a variety of fees that range from $50 to $1,200; the amount of your cost is determined on the severity of your crime and the type of suspension you were granted.
REAL ID and Mass. driver’s licenses: What you need to know
Earlier this year, the state of Massachusetts enacted legislation to embrace REAL ID, a federal identification standard that was established by Congress in 2005. Residents of the state now have two alternatives for their driver’s license or identification card, according to the law: a REAL ID-compliant license or an ordinary Massachusetts state license. The new system went into effect on March 26, 2018, marking the first day of spring. If you already have a valid, unexpired Massachusetts driver’s license or identification card, it will remain valid until the date of its expiration.
Key differences between a REAL ID and a standard license:
- The REAL ID licenses are emblazoned with a gold star in the top right-hand corner, indicating that they are “valid for federal identification purposes.” Those who wish to apply for a REAL ID license or ID must do it in person, but those who wish to renew their five-year conventional licenses may do so entirely online in most circumstances
- On or before October 1, 2021, only licenses and identity cards that comply with the REAL ID Act will be accepted as identification at airport security checkpoints. The standard Massachusetts driver’s license or identification card will not be accepted for boarding an airplane
- However, you will be able to board flights or enter federal buildings with a valid passport (from any country), an Employment Authorization Document (EAD), or a permanent resident card (green card), among other documents. To board an airline until October 2020, you can still use your conventional driver’s license or ID
- But, to enter government facilities where identification is needed, you must already have REAL ID or one of the other federally acceptable papers indicated above.
“Valid for federal identification purposes” is stamped on the upper right-hand corner of the REAL ID licenses, along with a gold star. For a REAL ID license or identification card, you must apply in person; however, in most situations, five-year conventional licenses may be renewed entirely online. After the first of October in 2021, only licenses and identity cards that are REAL ID-compliant will be accepted as identification at airport security checkpoints in the United States. The standard Massachusetts driver’s license or identification card will not be accepted for boarding an airplane; however, you will be able to board flights or enter federal buildings with a valid passport (from any country), an Employment Authorization Document (EAD), or a permanent resident card (green card).
Key things to know:
- A Social Security number will no longer be sufficient to get a new or renewal driver’s license or a Mass ID of any kind. To be eligible for either form of license, you must have documentation proving your citizenship in the United States or that you have been given at least 12 months of legal residence in the country. Individuals who have ongoing claims for asylum, TPS, or adjustment of status, as well as others who do not have a specific “duration” to their legal stay, will be eligible for a 12-month permit. Despite the fact that all permits will expire on the same day that lawful presence ceases to exist, no license can be awarded for less than two months or for more over five years. It is necessary to apply or renew your license in person if you qualify for a limited-term license (allowed stay of less than 5 years).
Apparently, some local RMV offices have misread the length requirement, demanding at least one year of past lawful presence or one year of prospective lawful presence, rather than the more stringent two years. This is completely false. Please contact Michele Ellicks, RMV Community Outreach Coordinator, by email at [email protected] if you encounter any of these issues or have any other questions. MIRA’s Amy Grunder can assist you with your license renewal if you are a TPS holder who is experiencing issues.
A valid United States passport or passport card, a certified copy of a valid United States birth certificate, a certificate of citizenship, a certificate of naturalization, or an official consular record of a foreign birth are all acceptable forms of identification for U.S.
If you are not a citizen of the United States, the following are popular documents that you can use to confirm your lawful presence:
- Foreign passport with a U.S. visa affixed and an I-94 stamp
- Employment Authorization Card (work permit) (Form I-766 or I-688B)
- Permanent Resident Card (green card) (Form I-551)
- Visa for permanent residence in the United States (Form I-94)
- And I-94 stamp.
However, there are several other sorts of documents that can serve as proof of lawful presence, such as a refugee travel certificate, an asylum approval, documentation of a pending asylum case, TPS or adjustment of status, and others that can be used to establish legal status.
Please keep in mind that the RMV flyers shown in the box to the right do not include this information due to space constraints.
How is lawful presence determined?
The SAVE system will be used by the RMV to verify that a person is legally present. This is the same approach that MassHealth use to determine whether or not a person is eligible for health insurance coverage. Based on the information (such as document numbers) that you give, the SAVE system electronically searches the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) database for your immigration records. It does not keep any of your personal information. As a last resort, in the event that the RMV is unable to verify your status electronically through SAVE, you will be given the option to scan or bring your papers in for evaluation by expert RMV employees.
Any other documents needed?
You will also be required to provide proof of residency in Massachusetts, which includes the following documents: Two pieces of identification: one for REAL ID and one for a conventional license or ID. While all that is required for a normal license is the ability to submit scans of all of these papers, you will be required to have the originals with you in order to obtain a REAL ID. You must also bring your Social Security card, tax form, or pay stub that shows your complete Social Security number, or if you do not have a Social Security number, an SSA denial notice, as well as your foreign passport that has a valid visa for the United States and an I-94 stamp – which also serves as proof of lawful presence in the country.
Massachusetts’s Department of Motor Vehicles (RMV) suggests that everyone begin their application or renewal process online at mass.gov/rmv to identify which papers they will require.
If you need to register a vehicle in Massachusetts:
If you have a legitimate Social Security number or a valid driver’s license from any state, you do not need to provide proof of legal status in order to register a car in Massachusetts, despite fears that have been spreading on social media. The new laws allow you to register your car with only your Social Security number, as well as other forms of identification that prove your legal presence in the country, or with a valid driver’s license from any state.
Here are the big changes coming to your Massachusetts driver’s license and the RMV
MassDOTBy Gintautas Dumcius | MassachusettsLive.com Hold on tight, because this is going to be a bit complex. Beginning on March 26, 2018, the Massachusetts RMV will implement new standards and procedures for obtaining or renewing a driver’s license, an identity (ID) card, or a learner’s permit in the state. Dave Roback is a Republican political consultant. ‘Lawful presence’ refers to the presence of a person in a legal capacity. When you submit your application, you’ll need to provide proof that you’re a citizen of the United States or that you’re lawfully residing in the country under federal laws.
A choice is made between two choices, and the papers required differ based on which option is selected. MassDOT You have a choice between two routes. As a result, beginning on March 26, you’ll be able to choose between:
- MassDOTBy Gintautas Dumcius | Massachusetts Live Hold on to your hats because this is going to be a long one. Beginning on March 26, 2018, the Massachusetts RMV will implement new rules and procedures for obtaining or renewing a driver’s license, an identity card, or a learner’s permit in the Commonwealth. Republican Party Photographer Dave Roback Legal presence is defined as “the presence of a person who is not prohibited by law from doing something.” Documentation proving that you are a US citizen or that you are legally present in the country in accordance with federal rules will be required when you submit your application. This will be discussed in greater detail later. The ability to obtain any type of driver’s license or identification card without providing documents has been removed from the list of available options. A choice is made between two choices, and the papers required differ depending on which option is chosen. MassDOT It is possible to take one of two routes. You’ll have a choice between the following options starting on March 26:
The REAL ID program is a government initiative that was established following the terrorist events of September 11, 2001. Don Treeger is a Republican political consultant. You are not required to have REAL ID right away. Although REAL ID will not be required until October 2020, it will be accessible as an option starting on March 26, 2018. According to the Massachusetts Department of Transportation, “If you want to receive a REAL ID, you can apply after March 26, 2018 when your driver’s license or ID card comes up for renewal” (MassDOT).
- If you have a valid passport, you may carry it around with you and use it just like a real ID.
- The major event will take place in October 2020.
- After October 2020, the “regular” Massachusetts driver’s license/ID will no longer be recognized as a legitimate federal identification document.
- These are from the Massachusetts Department of Transportation:
- For inhabitants of the United States, a valid and unexpired U.S. passport serves as adequate proof of lawful presence. Customers who are not U.S. citizens must provide valid, verifiable immigration documents as well as proof that they have been granted permission to legally remain in the United States for at least 12 months. For permanent residents, a valid permanent resident card (green card) is sufficient proof of lawful presence. When their legal stay is completed, their license or identification card will expire.
Among the immigration documents are a certificate of naturalization (Form N-561 or N-570), a consular report of birth in another country (Form DS-1350 or FS-545), a permanent resident card (Form I-551), an employment authorization card (Form I-766 or I-688B), and a foreign passport with a US visa and an I-94 stamp. So, let’s assume you go with the REAL ID, as many people are likely to do in the future. REAL ID is the identification card that has a star in the top right-hand corner, indicating that it complies with federal regulations.
- You must produce proof of your citizenship or “lawful presence” in the United States.
- It is valid for up to 5 years, or for the duration of your stay in the United States.
- It is accepted as a federally recognized form of identification.
- Printed on the card will be a statement that it is not intended for use as a federal identification card.
- It serves the same purpose as a valid driver’s license or identification card.
- Here’s the key distinction between REAL ID and other forms of identification: After October 2020, you will not be able to use your license to board an aircraft in the United States or enter government buildings.
- Screenshot MassDOT has created a webpage to assist you in making your decision.
- There are several other documents on the document checklist in addition to the “lawful presence” document.
- You’ll also need a paper proving your Massachusetts residence.
You can also use a utility bill, credit card statement, or medical bill that is no more than 60 days old, or a lease, mortgage, or rental contract that is no more than 60 days old, or a W-2, pension statement, retirement statement, pay stub, Social Security statement, or installment loan contract that is no more than 60 days old, or a lease, mortgage, or rental contract that is no more than 60 days old.
The following school-related documents are also eligible to be considered Massachusetts residence documents: transcripts, evidence of enrollment, tuition bill, and school record for the current year.
Why are there two options?
Charlie Baker, explained that the second choice, the “normal” Massachusetts license/ID, is necessary since the state does not have the authority to amend federal regulations.
Pollack said state transportation officials are collaborating with organizations that provide outreach and assistance to people who do not necessarily have the documentation required – ranging from the homeless to people who have recently been released from prison or domestic abuse survivors who have been forced to flee their homes – in order to help them navigate the process.
Don Treeger is a Republican political consultant. Continuing reading:The Massachusetts RMV is extending its online capabilities in order to transfer thousands of office visits to the web.
The REAL ID and Renewing Your MA Driver’s License
What is the source of all the excitement surrounding this new kind of identification? Let us start with the basics. When you board a plane, including domestic flights (inside the United States), you will be compelled to show identification. someday. starting in May 2023. (Please keep in mind that the initial deadline for receiving this ID was October 2020.) Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, that deadline was initially postponed by one year, to October of 2021. In the meanwhile, it has been extended once more, this time by nearly two years, to May 3, 2023.
What does it seem like compared to your present Massachusetts driver’s license?
What is the REAL ID?
After a hiatus during the Covid epidemic, the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) will resume issuing this new sort of identification card in April 2021. Despite the fact that it is not a federal identity card, it symbolizes a new set of federal security requirements that are being implemented by governments around the nation. (Following the September 11th attacks, national leaders decided that we required more secure and standardized personal identification documentation.) Some states are already in compliance with these new criteria, and they have begun issuing REAL ID cards to all people who meet the requirements.
What’s the difference between a REAL ID and a MA driver’s license?
Going forward, the REAL ID will serve as both a driver’s license and a federally-compliant identification card, according to the Department of Transportation. In the upper-right corner, there will be a gold star, signifying that the document may be used to gain entry into federal facilities or to board domestic planes. However, you will still be able to apply for and renew a conventional Massachusetts driver’s license or identification card even until 2023. It’s possible that doing so will be more convenient for you, especially if you love the ease of being able to complete your license application online.
Which type of identification do I need?
The Massachusetts Department of Motor Vehicles created this helpful questionnaire to help you determine if you need a REAL ID now, later, or never. Basically, provided you have a valid passport and intend to keep it up to date (by renewing it when necessary), you’re good to go. The RMV does not encourage pounding on the door in order to obtain your new identification card (even though technically you can apply for one). If, on the other hand, you don’t have a passport but you do intend to travel and your license is about to expire, it may be more cost-effective to renew with an ID rather than a regular Massachusetts driver’s license.
To summarize, you will not be required to have a REAL ID until May 3, 2023. You may not even require it in the most extreme cases. In most situations, it is preferable to wait and apply for it when your Massachusetts license or identification card is ready for renewal.
How do I get a REAL ID?
The Massachusetts Department of Motor Vehicles created this helpful questionnaire to assist you determine if you need to obtain a REAL ID now, later, or at some future point. Overall, provided you have a valid passport and intend to keep it up to date (i.e., renew it when necessary), you should be OK. To get your new ID card, the RMV does not suggest that you pound on the door of the RMV (even though technically you can apply for one). For those who don’t have a passport but do intend to travel and whose license is about to expire, it may be more cost-effective to renew using an ID rather than the regular Massachusetts driver’s license.
You may not even require it in the most extreme case.
- Driver’s license with a REAL ID
- A REAL ID card
- A conventional driver’s license
- A basic Massachusetts identification card
The website will also inform you exactly which identity documents are required for each of the options available in each state. Remember, from March 26, 2018, in order to get or renew any Massachusetts driver’s license, identification card, or learner’s permit, residents of the Commonwealth will be required to provide proof of United States citizenship or “lawful presence,” as stipulated by federal and state law.
Do my kids need IDs?
The TSA does not presently require travelers under the age of 18 to show identification, but their travel companion(s) would be required to provide identification that is federally compliant. Passengers of all ages are required to display a valid passport while traveling internationally.
I still have questions about renewing my MA license. Who can help me?
If you need to renew your license in Massachusetts, you should try visiting the RMV’s website. In order to begin the procedure (and, in certain situations, complete it), the register has made it quite simple to do so online. Try contacting your local insurance agent if you are still having difficulties. One of the many advantages of working with a personal agent in your area is the opportunity to meet new people (as opposed to a national company that only knows you as a policy number.) At C S Insurance, we get a large number of phone calls from people who require assistance reading registration paperwork and other information connected to driving and driving safety.
Here’s an excellent response to the subject Do I Require the Services of an Insurance Agent?
Ultimate guide to renewing your driver’s license in Massachusetts
It was last updated on January 2022.
We have updated this page – visit the latest version here.
In January 2022, the information was updated.
What You’ll Need
This page was last updated on January 2022.
- If your current photo is more than nine years old or was taken before your 21st birthday, you will need to provide an ID photo. Driver’s license number
- $50 charge for renewing a Class D driver’s license
- And proof of residency.
If your existing photo is more than nine years old or was taken before your 21st birthday, you will need to submit a new photo ID. You will need your driver’s license number and a $50 charge to renew your Class D driver’s license.
- Form LIC100, Application for a Driver’s License, Learner’s Permit, or Identification Card (completed)
- Proof of your citizenship or lawful residency in the United States, as well as your date of birth:
- Form LIC100, Application for a Driver’s License, Learner’s Permit, or ID Card, completed
- Your citizenship or legal presence in the United States, along with your date of birth, must be demonstrated.
- Any document issued by the RMV
- Any mortgage or lease instrument dated within 60 days
- Any document issued by the federal, state, or local government, such as first-class mail
- Alternatively, a utility bill, credit card statement, or medical statement that is no more than 60 days old
What You’ll Do
To renew your driver’s license online, visit this page.
- Go to theMassachusetts RMV Online Serviceswebsite in the first step.
- Make the decision to renew your Class D license. Your entire name, driver’s license number, Social Security number, and email address must be provided. Send in a $50 payment
- Obtain your renewed Class D driver’s license in the mail within seven days of submitting your application.
In order to renew your driver’s license in person, you must.
- 1. Go to your local RMV office (optional: schedule an appointment!) and fill out the necessary paperwork.
- Bring all of the relevant documentation and identification
- Pass a vision examination
- Take a snapshot of your identification
- Send in a $50 payment
- Obtain your renewed Class D driver’s license in the mail within seven days of submitting your application.
Caveats and Exceptions
- It is impossible to renew your driver’s license on the internet if you.
- Your prior driver’s license renewal was successfully completed over the internet
- Any time in the last ten years, you have renewed your driver’s license on the internet
- Are unable to provide a Social Security number
- If you need to alter your name, go here. Are over the age of 75
- You’re applying for your first REAL ID driver’s license, and Possess a REAL ID driver’s license with the designation “limited term”
- Your prior driver’s license renewal was successfully completed on the internet. Any time in the last ten years, you have renewed your driver’s license online. Having no Social Security number is a problem. Changing your surname is necessary. Are more over 75 years old
- When applying for your first REAL ID driver’s license, please include: A REAL ID driver’s license with the phrase “limited term” on it.
More Massachusetts DMV Questions?
Visit our MassachusettsDMV information page for more details.
Save time by skipping the DMV queue! Get a line waiting concierge if you’re in a rush. Get a DMV appointment as soon as possible. All of this information is available for free on the Skip app (and you can earn a $10 credit for the app if you use this link).
Learner’s Permit & Junior Operator License (JOL) Update
|No passengers during the first 6 months of licensure, other than immediate family member, unless accompanied by a person at least 21 years old, has at least 1 year driving experience, hold’s a valid driver’s license and is in the front passenger seat.||Previous restriction, increased penalties|
|1st offense: 60 day license suspension.||Previously 30 day suspension|
|2nd offense: 180 day license suspension and required attitudinal retraining.||Previously 60 day suspension|
|Subsequent offense: 1 year license suspension and required attitudinal retraining.||Previously 90 day suspension|
Junior Operator Night Driving Restriction/Penalties
|Restrictions driving from 12:30am-5:00am for duration junior operator licensure, unless accompanied by parent/guardian. Primary enforcement 1:00am-4:00am.||Previous restriction begins at 12:00am|
|1st offense: 60 day license suspension.||New Penalty|
|2nd offense: 180 day license suspension and required attitudinal pretraining.||New Penalty|
|Subsequent offenses: 1 year license suspension and required attitudinal retraining.||New Penalty|
|Fine for unlicensed operation: $100 to $1000.||Previously between $100 and $200|
Driving Negligently or Recklessly as a Junior Operator
|Increases the minimum 1st offense license suspension for junior operators who drive negligently or recklessly to 180 days.||Previously up to 60 day revocation Previously up to 60 day revocation|
|Subsequent conviction within 3 years: 1 year suspension.||Previously up to one year suspension|
Junior Operator Speeding/Penalties
|1st offense: 90 day license suspension, $50 fine, plus additional $10 fine for each mph exceeding 10 mph over speed limit,plus $50 surcharge, completion of SCARR program and completion of an attitudinal retraining course||Previous penalty is a fine|
|2nd and subsequent offenses: 1 year license suspension, $50 fine, plus additional $10 fine for each mph exceeding 10 mph over speed limit, plus $50 surcharge, completion of SCARR program and completion of an attitudinal retraining course||Previous penalty is 180 day license suspension and fine|
|Requires $500 reinstatement fee and 2nd road test for license reinstatement||Previously $100 reinstatement fee|
Learners Permit Driving Unaccompanied Restrictions/Penalties
|Restricts driving under a permit unless accompanied by parent/guardian who is a valid driver’s license and at least 1 year driving experience.||Previous law, new penalty|
|1st offense: 60 day permit suspension.||New Penalty|
|2nd offense: 180 day permit suspension and completion of driver attitudinal retraining.||New Penalty|
|Subsequent offenses: 1 year permit suspension.||New Penalty|
|Fine for unlicensed operation: $100 to $1000.||New Penalty|
Learners Permit Night Driving Restrictions/Penalties
|If under 18, restricts driving between 12:00am-5:00am, unless accompanied by parent/guardian who is a validly licensed operator with at least 1 year driving experience.||Previous law, new penalties|
|1st offense: 60 day permit suspension.||New Penalty|
|2nd offense: 180 day permit suspension and completion of driver attitudinal retraining.||New Penalty|
|Subsequent offenses: 1 year permit suspension.||New Penalty|
|Fine for unlicensed operation: $100 to $1000.||New Penalty|
Learners Permit Speeding/Penalties
|1st offense: 90 day permit suspension, minimum $50 fine, plus additional $10 for each mph in excess of 10 mph over posted speed limit, plus $50 surcharge||Previous penalty is a fine|
|2nd or subsequent offense: 1 year permit suspension, minimum $50 fine, plus additional $10 for each mph in excess of 10 mph over posted speed limit, plus $50 surcharge||Previous law for 3rd or subsequent offense within a 12 month period is 30 day permit suspension and fine|
Junior Operator and Learner’s Permit Drag Racing Penalty
|1st offense: 1 year license or learner’s permit suspension and $250 fine and $500 license or learner’s permit reinstatement fee.||Previously 30 day suspension and fine between $100 and $500|
|2nd or subsequent offense: 3 year licenser’s permit suspension and $500 fine and $1000 license or learner’s permit reinstatement fee.||Previously 30 day suspension and finebetween $200 and $1000 with a 3rd offense penalty of 1 year suspension and finebetween $200 and $1000|
|Requires completion of SCARR program, driver attitudinal retraining course, and 2nd road testfor license reinstatement for JOL offenders.||New Penalty|
|Requires completion of SCARR program, driver attitudinal retraining course and reapplication for a learner’s permit before offender may apply for licensure.||New Penalty|
Drag Racing Technical Change
|Strikes penalties from C. 90, section 20 and establishes them in C. 90, section 17|
Operating a Motor Vehicle Without Having Been Issued a License
|Increases maximum fine for operating a motor vehicle without being duly licensed to $1000||Previously between $100 and $200|