How Much Does A Driver’S License Cost In Alabama? (Correct answer)

Driver or Learner License (age 16 and older) $5 test fee (no checks). Applicants 18 or older who wish to complete all testing for a license must have a licensed driver, proof of car insurance and a vehicle that will pass inspection. $36.25 to purchase license (no checks).

How much does it cost for Alabama drivers license?

  • Visit an Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) office. It offers drivers license services for new residents.
  • Present your out-of-state license,Social Security card and an acceptable form of identification.
  • Pay a$5 transfer fee and a$36.25 license purchase fee with a valid Credit Card.
  • Receive your valid Alabama drivers license.

How much does it cost to get drivers license renewed in Alabama?

The Alabama Department of Public Safety charges $36.25 to renew your Alabama drivers license. The Alabama DPS does not accept checks, although other preferred methods of payment will depend on how you choose to renew your license. Some offices may charge additional fees to process renewal applications.

How much does a new ID cost in Alabama?

The fee is $32.50. For a list of acceptable forms of identification, click here. If you’d like to renew or obtain a duplicate license or State ID online, please click here. A STAR ID is only issued at an Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) office.

How much does it cost to renew Alabama drivers license online?

Go to ALEA online services. Have your current driver license and SSN ready. Pay the fee of $36.25 by credit card at the end of the transaction.

Can I get my driver’s license online Alabama?

Online driver license renewal, digital licenses available for first time in Alabama. The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency today unveiled new initiatives, including online driver license renewals, which it says will reduce wait times for residents and help it do more with a shrinking budget.

How do I pass my driving test in Alabama?

Observe right-of-way: allow pedestrians to cross. Remember to pull over and stop for emergency vehicles to pass and don’t enter an intersection where you’ll interfere with other traffic. Stop quickly: be able to make a quick and safe stop when the examiner instructs you to at 20 mph.

How long are Alabama driver’s license good for?

Your Alabama driver’s license expires four years after it is issued and the expiration date is shown on the license. The license may be renewed at any time within 180 days prior to expiration.

Who is not required to have an Alabama driver’s license?

The following persons may drive a motor vehicle upon the streets or highways in Alabama without an Alabama driver license: Any person in the employ or service of the United States Federal Government while driving or operating a motor vehicle owned or leased by the United States Federal Government.

How do I get a new driver’s license in Alabama?

How to Replace Your License in Alabama

  1. Visit a county court, probate judge, or commissioner office.
  2. Provide proof of ID: Option #1: 2 documents showing your identification & 1 document with your photograph.
  3. Provide proof of Social Security number.
  4. Pay the $30 to $40 license replacement fee.

Can I register my vehicle online in Alabama?

today. Motor Vehicle registration, IFTA and IRP transactions must be submitted electronically. Title applications from designated agents may be uploaded electronically to the Alabama Title System (ALTS) or may be mailed until November 1st.

How many questions are on the Alabama permit test?

The Alabama DMV permit test will have 30 questions, and you’ll need to answer 24 of them to reach the 80% passing score.

What documents do I need to renew my license?

Go to your nearest DLTC with the following:

  1. Identity document (ID) and a copy of your ID, old driving licence card or valid South African passport.
  2. Four black-and-white ID photographs (before you have photographs taken confirm with the DLTC how many photos they require)
  3. Proof of residential address e.g. utility account.

Document Requirements And Fees

  • There must be at least two forms of identification, at least one of which has a photograph (one form must be from the “primary” list, in addition to the Social Security card), or three forms of non-photo identification (one form must be from the “primary” list, in addition to the Social Security card)
  • * Identification card such as a social security card **If you are younger than 19 and applying for the first time, you must submit an acceptable school enrollment document or evidence of graduation. 2 proofs of primary residence *** are required. $5 testing fee (no checks accepted)
  • To complete the licensing tests, applicants must be at least 18 years old and have a valid driver’s license as well as proof of automobile insurance and a vehicle that will pass inspection. $36.25 for the license purchase (no cheques accepted)
  • A certified and issued by the Bureau of Vital Statistics birth certificate in the United States
  • A Social Security card *
  • Acceptable proof of school enrollment or graduation **
  • 2 proofs of primary residence *** are required. $5 testing fee (no checks)
  • $36.25 license purchase price (no checks)
  • $5 testing charge (no checks).
  • A valid driver’s license, a Social Security card*, and two proofs of primary residence are required. If the applicant is moving from out of state, he or she must produce one document from the “main” list (in addition to the document containing the Social Security number)
  • In order to travel, you must fill out the Department of Transportation’s extensive medical form (unless you are excused due to a medical condition). The following fees and requirements apply: A $25 testing charge (no checks)
  • A Transportation Security Administration background check if transferring or receiving a hazardous materials endorsement
  • If the applicant is not a citizen of the United States, he or she must have legal permanent residence in the United States and be domiciled in Alabama. If you are updating your license or are a first-time applicant, you must take a skills exam (tests are only available by appointment
  • A $20 skills test charge applies). a copy of the insurance certificate Purchase of a class “A” license costs $66.25
  • Purchasing a class “B” license costs $56.25
  • Purchasing a class “C” license costs $36.25
  • Purchasing a commercial learner license costs $36.25
  • A certified and issued by the Bureau of Vital Statistics birth certificate from the United States, or an Alabama non-driver identity card or an Alabama vessel license
  • A Social Security card *
  • And proof of citizenship. (If the other forms of identification are not picture ID, the third type from the “secondary” list must be used)
  • Applicants under the age of fifteen must provide acceptable proof of school enrollment or graduation **
  • Two proofs of primary residence ***
  • And two copies of their birth certificate. $5 testing charge (no checks accepted)
  • $36.25 to buy a motor-driven bike license (no checks accepted)
  • $5 testing fee (no checks accepted).
  • It is necessary to be at an ALEA office. In addition to the Social Security card, you’ll need an out-of-state driver’s license and a piece of identification from the primary list. If you are younger than 19, you must provide proof of school enrollment or graduation**, as well as two proofs of your primary residence***. $5 transfer charge (no checks)
  • $36.25 license purchase cost (no checks)
  • $5 transfer fee (no checks).
  • One additional item from the “secondary” list
  • A certified and issued by the Bureau of Vital Statistics birth certificate (NO PHOTOCOPIES)
  • A Social Security card *
  • And one other item from the “primary” list 2 proofs of primary residence ***
  • $5 for the test or transfer fee (no cheques accepted)
  • $36.25 for the license purchase
  • And
  • One document from the primary list that proves the individual’s name and date of birth
  • And * Identification card such as a social security card It is necessary to provide a third form of identification from either the primary or secondary identification lists (this is required only when the primary identity document is not a photo)
  • 2 proofs of primary residence *** are required. Purchase of a non-driver identity card costs $36.25
  • The possession of a valid foreign passport, with an appropriate visa or resident alien card
  • Verification of Social Security number * or a letter from Social Security saying that you are not eligible
  • Document from the “secondary” list granting permission to remain in the United States for more than 160 days
  • $5 test or transfer charge in addition to the purchase of the license (no cheques accepted)

Acceptable Forms of Documents

  • The possession of a valid foreign passport and an appropriate visa or resident alien card
  • Verification of Social Security number * or a letter from Social Security saying that you are not eligible for benefits
  • Authorization to remain in the United States for more than 160 days based on a document from the “secondary” list Testing or transfer fees of $5 each test or transfer, plus licensing costs (there are no checks).
  • State-issued driver license or non-driver ID card issued by the United States
  • Current international driver license/permit issued by the United States
  • United States military DD-214
  • Professional license issued by a state or federal agency
  • Selective Service card
  • Veterans Administration card
  • Current medical insurance identification card
  • United States military ID card
  • ID card issued by the school with a photo
  • School enrollment form (DL-1/93)
  • School enrollment form (DL-1/93). a certified copy of one’s school record
  • A letter from school that has been certified
  • A GED certificate
  • A certificate of graduation
  • Certificate of graduation
  • A certified letter from school
  • A GED certificate.
  • A divorce decree, an adoption decree, a name-change decree, a bankruptcy decree, and other similar documents
  • Probation or release documentation produced by a state or federal department of corrections, along with a picture ID card issued by the same authority, or a felon ID card issued by the sheriff of the county in which the applicant is being released are acceptable.
  • A valid Social Security card and an employment authorization papers are required. It is necessary to have a valid visa (together with supporting documentation) in order to be present in the United States for more than 160 days. A valid I-94 arrival/departure record issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security
  • An original I-797 (notice of action) issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security, demonstrating approval for a change in status or extension of stay
  • An original I-797 (notice of action) issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security, demonstrating timely filing of an extension petition
  • And a valid I-94 arrival/departure record issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security.
  • With a valid Social Security card and an employment permission document An authorized presence in the United States for a length of more than 160 days, as evidenced by a valid visa (together with accompanying documentation). A valid I-94 arrival/departure record issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security
  • An original I-797 (notice of action) issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security, demonstrating approval for a change in status or extension of stay
  • An original I-797 (notice of action) issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security, demonstrating timely filing of an extension petition
  • And a valid I-94 arrival/departure record issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security
  • Form DL1/93
  • A diploma or GED certificate
  • A certified letter from school officials verifying that the student is currently enrolled
  • A voter registration card
  • A residential mortgage contract
  • A current lease or rental agreement for housing
  • Proof of payment of residential property taxes (Homestead exemption)
  • And Previous year’s tax returns that include the address of the applicant
  • The registration of a vehicle with the applicant’s name and address
  • Bill from a utility company (such as water, gas, or electric) that is less than 90 days old
  • Any State or Federal Court records that provide the address of the person’s domicile
  • Documentation proving enrollment at a school
  • Form 214 (Report of Separation) from the Department of Defense
  • Paperwork pertaining to sexual offenders registry
  • A copy of your current homeowners insurance policy, with your name and address
  • Military orders proving duty station and place of residence
  • Social Security benefit statements/summaries addressed to physical address
  • U.S. or state government check or other document mailed to physical address

*If the applicant’s spouse or parent’s name appears on utility bills or other similar papers, the applicant must submit a marriage certificate or birth certificate that shows the applicant’s residential address.

Alabama driver’s license fees increased by 54 percent; state ‘losing money’ on renewals

A sample driver’s license from Alabama. (Photo courtesy of AL.com and the Alabama Department of Public Safety) When it comes time to renew your driver’s license in Alabama, be prepared for some price shock when the time comes. The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency has increased the rate for renewing operative driver’s licenses by 54 percent in order to better serve the public. The increased interest rate becomes effective on Monday. The cost of renewing your driver’s license, which is valid for four years, has increased to $36.25.

When compared to Alabama’s surrounding states, the rate increase sticks out even more.

  • Renewal fees in Georgia are $20 each year for five years. Mississippi: $24 per year for four years of renewal
  • Tennessee: $19.50 per year for five years of renewal
  • Florida requires a $48 renewal fee for an eight-year period.

According to ALEA public relations director Anna Morris, there would be no increases in the renewal rates for testing costs or the issuance fees for non-driver identity cards for older people or those with physical and/or mental impairments. Morris explained that the modification was made in order to increase the efficiency of the ALEA organization. ALEA is a new state agency created as part of a broader drive to simplify state government operations. When contacted by AL.com, Morris stated that one of the areas that required improving the most was the driver’s license system.

  1. Furthermore, Morris stated that the expense to the state of producing and issuing a driver’s license “much surpasses” the cost to the individual who wishes to receive the license.
  2. Morris explained that the increase in renewal prices is meant to solve this issue.
  3. In order to make renewals more convenient, kiosks have been installed in Mobile, Dothan, Montgomery, Opelika, Tuscaloosa, Birmingham, Decatur, and Huntsville.
  4. Please keep in mind that if you purchase something after clicking on one of our affiliate links, we may receive a fee.

Alabama Driver’s License Renewal

What do I need and how do I go about renewing my Alabama driver’s license in the state of Alabama?

These are excellent questions. Residents of Alabama are obliged to renew their Alabama driver’s license every four years, as mandated by state law. If you intend to renew your driver’s license, becoming familiar with the Alabama driver’s license renewal procedure is a good first step.

Required License Renewal Documents

To make things a little simpler for yourself, you should have the following paperwork ready before you begin:

  • Your current driver’s license from the state of Alabama Additional identification and evidence of residence are required. Making a payment for the required renewal cost
See also:  What Airlines Fly Out Of Alaska?

Adding a STAR ID to your Alabama driver’s license renewal application will need the submission of extra papers to authenticate your identity and date of birth, which are listed below. A valid, current United States passport, an original or certified copy of your birth certificate, or a Certificate of Naturalization or Citizenship issued by the Department of Homeland Security are examples of acceptable identification papers. In addition, you’ll need to provide proof of your primary address, such as a recent lease agreement or utility bills in your name.

Alabama Driver’s License Renewal Fees

The Alabama Department of Public Safety costs $36.25 to renew your driver’s license in the state of Alabama. Checks are not accepted by the Alabama Department of Public Safety, while other acceptable ways of payment will vary depending on how you choose to renew your license. For the processing of renewal applications, some offices may levy an extra cost.

How to Renew Your Alabama License

The Alabama Department of Public Safety costs $36.25 to renew your driver’s license in the state of Alabama. There is no way to pay for your license renewal with a check in Alabama, but there are several alternative options available depending on how you want to renew your permit. For the processing of renewal applications, some authorities may impose extra costs.

Renewing Your License by Mail

In the event that you are required to go out of state for job, school or military deployment, you can renew your Alabama drivers license by mail. You’ll need the following documents in order to properly renew your driver’s license:

  • Completed application for an Alabama driver’s license renewal for those who are temporarily out of state
  • The Driver License Division must receive a money order in payment of the mandatory license renewal cost. Proof of eligibility for out-of-state renewal must be sent in the mail (a copy of a student ID, a military ID, student enrollment documents, or a certification letter from an employer on company letterhead)
  • Proof of residency must be sent in the mail (a copy of a student ID, a military ID, or student enrollment documents)
  • Proof of residency must be sent in the mail

As soon as you have prepared the documents listed above, you can ship them to the following location in an envelope that has been stamped with your name and address: The Alabama Department of Public Safety Driver License Division is located at P.O. Box 1471 in Montgomery, Alabama 36102.

Online Driver’s License Renewal

By visiting the Alabama Online Driver License Issuance page on the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency website, you will be able to renew your license in the most convenient manner. You’ll need a valid credit card to pay the renewal price, as well as a printer to print off your temporary license, which will be valid for 30 days after payment. Your permanent driver’s license will be mailed to you within 30 days of receiving your application. An Alabama license renewal may only be completed online once every eight years, according to the state’s rules.

Renewing Your License In Person

You can renew your Alabama driver’s license in person at any DMV driver’s license office, including those located around the state. Keep in mind that office hours may vary based on the region and amount of customers served by the company. The Driver License Office normally provides services on a first-come, first-served basis, so arrive early if you need something. When you renew your driver’s license in person, you’ll need to bring the following items with you:

  • A valid driver’s license and two kinds of identification are required. Fee for renewing a license in cash or via money order

When you renew your driver’s license, the Driver License Office will issue you a temporary driver’s license valid for 30 days.

Your permanent license will be mailed to you within 30 days of receiving your application.

Renewing an Expired Driver’s License

In the event that your driver’s license is about to expire, you’ll have a 60-day grace period from the date of expiration to submit your application for a driver’s license renewal. While you are in the grace period, your driver’s license will continue to be valid, which will allow you to lawfully operate a motor vehicle across the state of Alabama. The 60-day grace period expires at the end of which point you will lose your driving privileges indefinitely unless your license is renewed. Unless your driver’s license has expired more than three years ago, you may still renew it without having to redo all of your driving examinations as long as you do it within three years of the expiration date on your license.

Renewing Your Alabama Driver’s License

Every four years, if you have a driver’s license in the state of Alabama, you will be required to renew your identity. Fortunately, the state provides a number of choices for maintaining your driving privileges. Because the Alabama Department of Motor Vehicles no longer sends renewal letters before to your expiration date, you must maintain track of this information to prevent any costs or penalties from the DMV. Let’s take a look at how to renew your Alabama driver’s license step by step, shall we?

How Often Do You Need to Renew Your Alabama Driver’s License?

You will have four years to use your driver’s license from the date you first acquire it. The DMV will only send you a renewal notification if your license has expired more than 30 days. In the event that you are not paying attention, your renewal date will arrive much sooner than you could anticipate.

What Documents Are Needed to Renew Your License?

When renewing their driver’s license in the state of Alabama, drivers are only required to provide three documents (in addition to the renewal fee): their current Alabama Driver’s License, proof of identity, and proof of residency. The documents used to prove identity and residency must be valid and current. A valid United States passport, an original birth certificate, or other applicable citizenship documents are all acceptable forms of identification. Alabama, on the other hand, permits drivers to establish their residency by presenting utility, mortgage, or lease paperwork that include your name on the front of them.

How Much Does It Cost to Renew Your Driver’s License?

Alabama drivers license renewal fees are now set at $36.25 per license renewal, according to the most recent information available. Drivers can make payments to the DMV in a variety of methods, including cash, credit/debit card, and money order. The particular options that will be available to you will be determined by the form of renewal that you select.

How To Renew Your Alabama Driver’s License

Renewal of your driver’s license can be accomplished in three distinct ways. –By mail–By internet–By person As an added convenience, you may now renew your license in any county in the state, which increases convenience throughout the renewal process.

License Renewal by Mail

Renewing by mail is a common choice for out-of-state citizens and military personnel who are stationed temporarily outside of their home state. For Alabama drivers who are temporarily out of state, you will also need to fill out an Application for a Renewal or Duplicate License for Alabama Drivers Who Are Temporarily Out of State. The $36.25 renewal fee must be paid with a money order and mailed to the address shown on this page. Along with the documentation necessary to renew your Alabama driver’s license, you will need to send in a copy of your military identification, employment identification, or student identification card that shows your eligibility for renewal through mail.

Completed applications should be mailed to:Alabama Department of Public Safety, Driver License DivisionPO Box 1471Montgomery, AL 36102.

Alabama License Renewal Online

It is a common choice for those who are temporarily living out of state or who are serving in the military. The Application for a Renewal or Duplicate License for Alabama Drivers Temporarily Out of State, if you fall under this category, will also need to be completed by you. You must send a money order to the address listed below to cover the $36.25 charge for renewal. Along with the documentation necessary to renew your Alabama driver’s license, you will need to mail in a copy of your military identification, employment identification, or student identification card that shows your eligibility for renewal.

License Renewal in Person

Visiting the DMV in person to renew your driver’s license is the most conventional method of doing so. It is quite basic, but it will almost certainly take far longer to complete than the other two techniques. However, submitting your license renewal in person will undoubtedly provide you with the peace of mind that everything has been completed properly. If you need to renew your driver’s license in Alabama, you may do it at any DMV location in the state of Alabama. Paying the renewal cost will be needed of you and can be done with cash, credit card, or money order.

Following the presentation of your renewal paperwork and payment of the price, you will be issued a temporary license that will be valid for 30 days while your permanent license is being mailed to you.

What If My Alabama Driver’s License Has Expired?

The process of renewing a driver’s license that has expired is the same as the process of renewing a valid driver’s license. After your license has expired, you will be granted a 60-day grace period, which will give you a little extra time to finish the process. Following the expiration of this grace period, you will be charged a late fee. Drivers in the state of Alabama are permitted to renew their licenses without incurring any penalties up to 180 days after they expire. The DMV will send you a reminder notice 30 days following your license expiration date to serve as a reminder.

Instead of expiring four years from the date of issuance, licenses renewed under these conditions will be scheduled to expire four years from the date of your prior expiration date.

Despite the fact that the DMV provides a pretty generous grace period, you must keep track of your license expiration date and renew your license on time.

Driver’s License Information

You have four years from the date of issue to renew your Alabama driver’s license, and the license will display the date of expiration on it. It is possible to renew the license at any moment throughout the 180-day period previous to its expiration. The road test may be taken by any person 16 years of age or younger who has held a Learner’s License (including a comparable license issued by another state) for six months or until their 18th birthday and has demonstrated that they have acquired the necessary skills to operate a motor vehicle safely.

  1. It is necessary to submit the requisite fee ($36.25 for a normal license renewal) by cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Department of Public Safety and addressed to the Driver’s License Division, P.O.
  2. The licensee’s entire name, birth date, and driving license number, as well as their out-of-state address, should be provided on the application.
  3. You will retain your current photograph and signature.
  4. You may renew your Alabama driver’s license in any county in the state.
  5. 30 days following the expiration of your license, you will be contacted to come in and renew your license at the office.
  6. During this period, the driver’s license is valid only if and only if the driver is physically present in the state of Alabama.
  7. A license issued under these conditions will be valid for four years from the date of the most recent expiration date, rather than the original four-year period from the date of issue.
  8. Bringing your Driver’s License with you when you renew your license is a mandatory requirement.

If you have misplaced your driver’s license and it is time to renew it, you must bring a certified document with you to the renewal appointment. You’ll need to know the answers to the following questions before you can proceed:

  • You have four years from the date of issue to renew your Alabama driver’s license, and the license will indicate the date of expiration on it. Within 180 days of the license’s expiration date, it may be renewed at any time without penalty. Any person 16 years of age but under 18 years of age who has held a Learner’s License (including a comparable license issued by another state) for six months or until their 18th birthday and has developed the necessary skills to operate a motor vehicle safely may present himself to his local driver license examiner to take the road test. At the time of license renewal, any valid driver’s license in possession of a person serving on active duty with the armed services, their dependents, or a person who is temporarily absent from Alabama may be renewed by mail. It is necessary to submit the required fee ($36.25 for a regular license renewal) by cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Department of Public Safety and mailed to the Driver’s License Division, P.O. Box 1471, Montgomery AL 36102-1471, or in person at the Driver’s License Division in Montgomery. The licensee’s entire name, birth date, and driving license number, as well as their out-of-state address, should be provided on the application. It is required that the license include an address in Alabama. Both your photo and signature will remain the same. Here is the link to the form to be downloaded: You may renew your Alabama driver’s license in any county in the state. When your driver’s license is due to expire, Alabama no longer sends you a notification. In the event that your license expires within 30 days, you will be reminded to come in and renew it. Alabama law provides a grace period of 60 days following the expiration date of a driver’s license for the purpose of renewing a driver’s license, during which time the driver’s license will remain valid as long as the driver remains in the state of Alabama. Within three years of the expiration of an Alabama driver’s license, the license may be renewed without the need for an examination. A license issued under these conditions will be valid for four years from the date of the most recent expiration date, rather than the original four-year term from the date of issuance of the license. An expired driver’s license, despite the fact that it can be renewed for up to three years after it expires, cannot be used to drive a motor vehicle legally. When you renew your driver’s license, you will need to bring your driver’s license with you. It is necessary to bring a certified document to renew your license if you have lost your license and it is time to renew it. To be successful, you must know the responses to the following questions:
  • Are you interested in becoming an organ donor? Information about becoming an organ donor may be found here.
See also:  How To Get My Driver'S License Back? (Best solution)

Is it anything you’d want to do to help others? Information about becoming an organ donor may be found here; and

What does it cost?

The cost of renewing a driver’s license is $36.25, which must be paid to the License Department. If you are sending a cheque, please make it payable to: Mark Craig, License Director. All costs are subject to change without notice.

Renewal Locations

Madison County is solely capable of processing driver license or identification card renewals and replacements. None of the endorsements or limits may be changed or removed by us.

Online Renewal

With the help of the online system, you may renew or duplicate the licenses listed below:

  • Driver’s license
  • Commercial driver’s license
  • State identification cards
  • Star identification card It is only possible to renew licenses using this online application once every eight years. Driver’s licenses and identification cards can be renewed up to 180 days before their expiration date. To use this application, you must have a valid credit card on hand. At the conclusion of your purchase, a non-refundable fee will be charged to your credit card. You will not be charged if the transaction is not completed for any reason
  • Otherwise, your card will be charged. Only renewals and duplicates can be completed online
  • All other transactions must be completed in person. Please visit an examiner if you want to alter your address, or if you want to add or remove licensing classes, limitations, or endorsements. If you have recently relocated and have provided a Forwarding Address, the post office will not transmit a license or identification card to you. You MUST have access to a printer in order to print your temporary license for 30 days. Within 30 days, you will get a new permanent license or identification card in the mail. A temporary receipt will be issued, which will be valid for 30 days from the date of issue.

Veterans Driver License Designation

Veteran drivers in Alabama will be able to show proof of military service on their driver’s license starting on May 1, 2013, according to the state. DD-214 form from the United States Department of Defense indicating “honorable” or “general under honorable conditions” service status can be presented at any renewal office location in order to prove proof of service. There is no additional price for the veteran designation whether you are a first-time driver license applicant or if you are renewing your driving license with the state.

Name Changes

You must first travel to the Social Security Office, which is located at 4970 Research Drive, Huntsville 35805, and get your Social Security Card altered before you may change the name on your driver’s license or identification card. You will be given a form to complete and return to the office in order to have your name changed. Before making any adjustments to your driver’s license, you must wait at least 24 hours after visiting the Social Security Administration office. Additional documentation proving your name change is required, such as a certified copy of your Probate Judge’s certificate of name change, a marriage certificate, or a divorce decree that states you are permitted to return to your maiden name.

According to Alabama law, any marriage between people of the same sex that has occurred or is purported to have occurred because of the legislation of any jurisdiction, regardless of whether a marriage license has been obtained, is not lawful within the state’s existing legal framework.

Before their name may be changed on their Alabama driving license, an individual must first petition the Judge of Probate and get an order allowing the name change before it can be altered on their state identification card.

Fees

$31.25 for a second driver’s license

License Fees & Payment

In order to be effective on Monday, February 9, 2015, the fees for issuing driver licenses and non-driver identity cards have been revised.

Fee adjustments are detailed in the information provided below.

Class License Fee Test Fee
Class A Commercial License (CDL) $66.25 $25.00
Class B Commercial License (CDL) $56.25 $25.00
Class C Commercial License (CDL) $36.25 $25.00
CDL Duplicate $31.25 n/a
CDL Permit $36.25 $25.00
Class D Operator License $36.25 $5.00
Motor Driven Cycle License150cc $36.25 $5.00
Motorcycle License $36.25 $5.00
Vessel License $36.25 $5.00
Learner’s License $36.25 $5.00
Duplicate License $31.25 n/a
Non-Driver ID $36.25 n/a
Non-Driver ID – Duplicate $31.25 n/a
Non-Driver ID, more than 62 years old (lifetime) $5.50 n/a
Non-Driver ID, handicapped (lifetime) $2.50 n/a
Duplicate, non-driver ID (lifetime) $31.25 n/a
Out of State Transfers (Class D LicenseorNon-Driver ID) $41.25 n/a

Further information is available upon request. The following methods of payment are accepted:

Alabama: Driver’s License & Learner’s Permit FAQs

In Alabama, there is no requirement to attend driving school or receive driver’s instruction. If you are under the age of eighteen and have completed a driver’s education course, you will not be required to participate in supervised driving practice. If you decide to go to driving school in order to obtain your license, the course will need you to put in 30 hours of effort.

How much does it cost to get an Alabama driver’s license?

A noncommercial driver’s license in Alabama costs $36.25 (plus fees).

How much does it cost to take the Alabama driving test?

The Alabama driving test is $5 and is administered by the Department of Public Safety.

What are the different types of driver’s license and endorsements in Alabama?

The following are the many types of driver’s licenses and endorsements available in Alabama:

  • Class A, B, and C commercial driver’s licenses
  • Class D noncommercial driver’s license Motorcycles of the Class M kind
  • Powered boats of the Class V variety

What are the Alabama driver’s license restriction codes?

Driving license restriction codes may be applied to your license to indicate that you are only permitted to drive under particular conditions or that you qualify for just certain sorts of driving. The following are examples of Alabama driver’s license restriction codes:

  • The following are prohibited: B: Corrective lenses
  • C: Mechanical devices (such as hand controls or other Adaptive Devices)
  • D: Prosthetic aid
  • E: No CMV with manual transmission
  • G: Daylight only
  • J: Other – See Separate Card
  • K: CDL for intrastate travel only
  • L indicates that there is no CMV equipped with air brakes
  • M indicates that there is no Class A passenger vehicle
  • N indicates that there is no Class A and B passenger vehicle. O: There will be no tractor-trailer CMV
  • P: There will be no passengers in a CMV bus. X: No cargo in a CMV tank vehicle
  • Y: No CMV with full air brakes
  • Z: No CMV with full air brakes
  • T: Ignition Interlock Device
  • V: Medical Variance

What are the Alabama provisional license rules?

You will be subject to the following regulations if you have a provisional driver’s license in the state of Alabama:

  1. No driving between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m.
  2. No more than one passenger other than family members
  3. And no more than one passenger other than family members.

What is the driving age in Alabama?

The following are the minimum driving age restrictions in Alabama:

  • Learner’s Permit: 15, Provisional License: 16, Driver’s License: 17, and Commercial Driver’s License: 18.

What is the Alabama driving log?

New drivers in the graded driver license (GDL) program will be required to complete an Alabama driving log as part of their supervised driving practice requirements while they are in possession of a learner’s permit. Before completing your road test, your parents or legal guardians will normally be required to complete and submit a driving log to the department of motor vehicles. Teen drivers who do not enroll in driver’s education will be required to complete 50 hours of supervised driving, with at least 10 hours of that time spent driving at night.

Do you have to retake the driving test if your license expires in Alabama?

If you have had your Alabama driver’s license expired for an excessive amount of time, you may be compelled to repeat the road test. It is possible that you could be fined a late fee and that you will be subject to further suspension and fines if you are caught driving with a suspended license after it has expired. In Alabama, there is a 60-day grace period for renewing a driver’s license.

Can I drive alone with an Alabama permit?

The road test may be needed of you if your Alabama driver’s license has been lapsed for an extended period of time. If you allow your license to expire, you may be fined a late fee, and if you are caught driving with it, you may face additional suspension and fines as a result. In Alabama, license renewals are subject to a 60-day grace period.

Can I drive with an out-of-state permit in Alabama?

In most cases, you will not have any problems driving in Alabama with an out-of-state learner’s permit as long as you are accompanied and supervised by a competent, licensed supervisor.

Does the DMV drug test you for your permit in Alabama?

The answer is no, you will not be subjected to a drug test while applying for a learner’s permit in Alabama.

How long do you have to have your permit in Alabama?

The Alabama GDL program requires that you hold your learner’s permit for a minimum of six months before taking the road test and receiving your provisional license.

How much does an Alabama permit cost?

The cost of an Alabama learner’s permit is $36.25.

What are the Alabama learner’s permit rules?

During the time you have a learner’s permit in Alabama, you will be required to drive under the supervision of a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old.

What do I need to bring to get your permit in Alabama?

Visiting your local DMV office and submitting the following documents will suffice to obtain a learner’s permit in Alabama:

  • • Completing and signing an application for a new learner’s permit Provide identification, evidence of age, proof of domicile, and proof of your Social Security Number or legal presence
  • Please provide documentation of your enrolment in school. Pass an eye exam or provide documentation from a physician confirming your vision
  • Pass the written knowledge test with flying colors
  • Pay the application and testing expenses for your learner’s permit.

In most cases, if you are under the age of 18, you will be required to be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, and their signature will be required to be included on your applications.

Alabama Drivers License

Congrats! Following your successful completion of the requirements for your Alabama Stage I license (also known as the learner license), it’s time to consider obtaining your Stage II license. There are a number of states, including Alabama, that have implemented a graduated driver licensing scheme, which means that your first drivers license will have some restrictions. After that, we’ll move on to the next item on our list. First, let’s have a look at what you’ll need to accomplish in order to satisfy the requirements for your drivers license.

Alabama Drivers License Requirements

Before you can sit for your Alabama drivers license exam, you must first complete some behind-the-wheel instruction. It is possible to go behind the wheel with a certified adult riding beside you for the purpose of driving practice and training while holding your learners license. The state of Alabama does not need you to finish a state-approved drivers ed course; but, doing so will ensure that you fulfill the minimum 30 hours of behind the wheel time in the state. TheAlabama Graduated Driver Licenseform (Form DL-31) must be completed and signed by your parent or legal guardian if you want to have them teach you how to drive.

Alabama Drivers License Test

You must first complete some behind-the-wheel instruction before you can sit for your Alabama drivers license exam. When you get your learners license, it permits you to go behind the wheel and practice driving with the assistance of a licensed adult passenger. While taking a state-approved drivers ed course is not mandatory in the state of Alabama, doing so will ensure that you fulfill the requisite 30 hours of behind-the-wheel experience. TheAlabama Graduated Driving Licenseform (Form DL-31) must be completed and signed by your parent or legal guardian if you decide to have them teach you how to drive.

  • Your learners permit is still valid
  • A copy of your high school enrollment or graduation certificate One of the following papers is required:
  • You’re in possession of a valid learners permit a copy of your high school transcript or diploma
  • Choose from one of the papers listed below:
  • Two pieces of identification: your Social Security card and one other type of primary identification
  • And It is necessary to have the vehicle’s registration and evidence of insurance before taking the exam. Payment of the $36.25 driver’s license application cost

A parent or legal guardian must accompany anyone under the age of 16 who is not a minor.

Alabama Stage II Restricted License

Your Stage II license will be provided to you once you have successfully completed your test. After then, the real fun begins! However, before you go behind the wheel without supervision, you should be aware that the Stage II license comes with a number of limitations.

  • You are not permitted to drive between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m. unless you are:
  • It is necessary that you travel with your parent or guardian, or with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and has been designated by your parent or guardian. You’re traveling to or from school, work, church, or for any other reason that requires your attention
  • You may only have one passenger in the car who is not a member of your immediate family. While driving, you are not permitted to use a mobile phone or any other portable electronic device.

Applicants seeking Stage III drivers licenses must be 17 years old and have had their Stage II license for at least 6 months before they may apply for an unrestricted (Stage III) license.

How to Renew an Alabama Drivers License

If you want to drive in Alabama, you must have a driver’s license that is currently valid. In the event that you fail to have a current, valid license, you may face financial penalties as well as legal consequences.

Licenses in Alabama expire on the licensee’s birthday, with renewal required every four years after that. Fortunately, renewing your Alabama driver’s license is a safe and simple process that may be completed online in many situations.

Who Regulates Alabama Licenses?

ALEA (Alabama Law Enforcement Driver License Department) is the state organization in charge of overseeing all aspects of automobile licensing in Alabama. A renewal application can be processed at any ALEA office around the state. It’s crucial to note that they do not send out notices to drivers before their licenses expire, as is the case in certain states. They do, however, issue a warning 30 days after the license’s expiration date, and drivers then have another 30 days to renew their license before it becomes invalid.

See also:  What Terminal Is Alaska Airlines At Dia?

People who currently hold a valid license can renew it up to 60 days before it expires in order to avoid the late costs associated with doing so late.

Renewing Online

You can renew your driver’s license, state ID card, and Star ID card online, but only for renewals that fall on a regular schedule. For each subsequent renewal, you must renew your license in person at the Department of Motor Vehicles. Online renewal is possible by visiting the ALEA online driver’s services site and following the on-screen instructions. Keep your current license number and a valid credit card on hand in case you need to pay the cost. Use a computer that has a printer attached to it to access the renewal website so that you may print off your temporary license after you’ve completed the renewal process.

When you renew your license, be sure the DMV has your current postal address on file, otherwise you may not receive your new license.

Renewing by Mail

For those who are temporarily residing out of state or serving in the military, it is possible to renew your Alabama driver’s license through postal mail. You must go to the ALEA website and submit a form for out-of-state renewal. Personal checks are not accepted as payment for the fees; thus, you must use a money order. Remember to include any supporting evidence that demonstrates your eligibility for mail renewal, such as a copy of your student ID from an out-of-state university or your military identification card, with your application.

Renewing In-Person

In order to renew your license in person, you must visit any Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office located throughout the state. Make sure to bring your current driver’s license as well as one additional piece of identification, as well as cash or a money order to cover the charge for the renewal. It is possible that you may be asked to present documentation of your state residency. The temporary license will be valid for 30 days from the date of renewal if you are renewing in person.

This will allow you to wait for your permanent license to come in the mail. In case you missed it, Aceable offers the BESTAlabama Drivers Ed Study Guide available. Make use of our test preparation strategies to ensure that you pass the Alabama drivers license exam with flying colors.

Ultimate guide to renewing your driver’s license in Alabama

This page was last updated on January 20, 2022. Here’s all you need to know about renewing your driver’s license in Alabama. We’ve made the procedure as simple as possible for you so that you can save time.

What You’ll Need to Renew your Alabama Driver License

Renewals can be completed online.

  • Driver’s License Number
  • Date of Birth
  • Last 4 digits of Social Security Number
  • Your current address must be the same as the address on your driver’s license, credit card, or other identification document.
  • The printer will print your temporary license, which will be valid for 30 days from the date of the purchase.
  • Valid driver’s license from the state of Alabama
  • Pay the $36.25 price for a driver’s license
  • Pass all necessary examinations (if any are required)
  • Your current driver’s license from the state of Alabama Pay the driver’s license fee of $36.25 (including taxes). To pass any needed examinations (if any are necessary).

What You’ll Do to Renew your Alabama Driver License

To renew your driver’s license online, visit this page.

  • Step 1: Go to the ALEA website, which is located at
  • Step 2: Fill out the form with your license type and details. The second step is to make your payment using your credit card. Step 3: Get a copy of your temporary driver’s license. You will get your license in the mail within 30 days after submitting your application.

For those who wish to renew their driver’s license in person.

  • Step 1: Go to the driver’s license office in your neighborhood. In step two, you must present your current driver’s license
  • Step 3: Pay the $36.25 price for a driver’s license. Take a picture of yourself in step four. Step 5: The Department of Public Safety will offer you a temporary driver’s license, which will be valid until you obtain a permanent license in the mail within 30 days.

1st step: Go to the driver’s license office in your neighborhood. Providing your current driver’s license is step two. Third, pay the $36.25 price for a driver’s license. Take a photograph of yourself in step four. Fifth, the Department of Public Safety will grant you a temporary driver’s license that will be valid until you obtain a permanent driver’s license in the mail within 30 days; Postal Address: P.O. Box 1471 Montgomery, AL 36102 Driver License Department of the Alabama Department of Public Safety

Caveats and Exceptions to Renewing your Alabama Driver License

  • The ability to renew online is only available once every eight years. You have the option to renew your membership 180 days before it expires. At the conclusion of your online purchase, a non-refundable charge will be collected from you. Even if the transaction is not completed, your card will not be charged as a result of the failure to complete it. If you are renewing your license online, your address must match the information on your license. It will be shipped to the address that you have on file for your license card. It is possible to renew your license by mail if you have received an Alabama driver’s license with your photo and signature within the past four years
  • And If you are one of the following, you may renew your license by mail:
  • Military people or those who are dependents of someone who is serving in the military A college student who is away from home for the first time
  • Alternatively, a resident who is temporarily absent from the state owing to job
  • Driver License renewal is possible through the Alabama Department of Safety’s Driver License Department 180 days before your license expires, and you will also have a grace period of 60 days after your license expires during which your license will remain valid. Every eight years, a fresh photograph is necessary. If your Alabama driver’s license has been expired for no more than three years, you are eligible to renew it without having to go through an examination. If your license has been expired for more than three years, the Alabama Department of Public Safety will demand you to retake the written and/or road tests.

Get unlimited DMV appointments and DMV chat help with a 15-day free trial of Skip* *Use the above invite link to get your 15-day free trial this week only.

Drivers License – Lauderdale County Government

Alabama Law Enforcement Agency office located at 4500 Hatch Boulevard Sheffield, AL 35660 must be visited in order to obtain a star identification card. (256) 383-2923 is the number to call. Star ID – New regulations will take effect on May 3, 2023, and will be implemented in phases. FOR APPLICANTS TO BE ISSUED A STAR ID, they must provide one of the following papers in order to prove their identity and date of birth:

  • A certified birth certificate
  • A valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551) issued by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) or the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS)
  • An unexpired employment authorization document (EAD) issued by DHS (Form I-766 or Form I-688B)
  • And an unexpired foreign passport with a valid, unexpired US Visa affixed, accompanied by the approved I-94 form documenting

Applicants must provide one of the following papers in order to verify their Social Security Number:

  • Applicant must provide one of the following papers in order to verify their Social Security Number:

A minimum of two of the following papers must be submitted by applicants in order to verify their primary dwelling address:

  • A voter registration card, a residential mortgage contract, a current lease or rental agreement for housing are all acceptable forms of identification. Homestead residential property tax receipt as evidence of payment Tax returns from the previous year that show the applicant’s residence address
  • The registration of a vehicle with the applicant’s name and address
  • Bill from a utility company (water, gas, electric) that is less than 90 days old
  • Any State or Federal Court records that provide the address of the person’s domicile
  • Documentation proving enrollment at a school
  • Form 214 (report of separation) from the Department of Defense Documents pertaining to the registration of sexual offenders
  • A copy of your current homeowners insurance policy, with your name and address
  • Postal delivery of Social Security benefit statements/summaries to the applicant’s actual address
  • Delivery of a US or state government check, or other document, to the applicant’s physical address
  • The military orders that document the duty station and the location of domicile.

Visit this page if you require any more information for your driver’s license.

Morgan County License: Driver’s License

The Morgan County Commissioner of License office serves as a driver’s license renewal center for residents of Alabama. For those who presently hold an Alabama driver’s license, we offer the option to renew your license at our office. Obtaining a second driver’s license Your existing Alabama driver’s license may be replaced if it is lost or stolen; however, you must provide the following paperwork in order to receive a duplicate driver’s license: IT IS REQUIRED THAT YOU HAVE TWO DOCUMENTS: ONE WITH YOUR NAME AND DATE OF BIRTH, and another WITH YOUR NAME AND FEDERAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER.

  • Marriage application from the Probate Office
  • History printout from the Social Security Office with Social Security Number
  • Birth certificate
  • Social security card
  • Voter registration card W-2 document with your Social Security Number Picture identification from current place of employment or school picture identification badge
  • Payroll check stub with Social Security Number
  • Medicaid card with date of birth
  • Passport or military identification
  • Pistol permit
  • Medical record with date of birth and social security number

Marriage application from the Probate Office; history printout from the Social Security Office with Social Security Number; birth certificate; social security card; voter registration card. With Social Security Number on W-2 form Picture identification from current place of employment or school picture identification badge; payroll check stub with Social Security Number; Medicaid card with date of birth; passport or military identification; pistol permit; medical record with date of birth and social security number;

  • A certified birth certificate
  • A valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551) issued by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) or the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS)
  • An unexpired employment authorization document (EAD) issued by DHS (Form I-766 or Form I-688B)
  • And an unexpired foreign passport with a valid, unexpired US Visa affixed, accompanied by an approved I-94 form documenting

Applicants must provide one of the following papers in order to verify their Social Security Number:

  • A certified letter (on letterhead) from the Social Security Administration indicating the person’s identity and Social Security Number
  • A copy of the person’s Social Security card
  • U.S. Military Identification Card, U.S. Military Form DD-214, Medicare/Medicaid Identification Card (if Social Security Number is preceded by the letter A), and a copy of your birth certificate. Form W-2 (Tax Return)

A certified letter (on letterhead) from the Social Security Administration indicating the person’s identity and Social Security Number; a copy of the person’s Social Security card U.S. Military Identification Card, U.S. Military Form DD-214, Medicare/Medicaid Identification Card (if Social Security Number is preceded by the letter A), and other documents as required by law. W-2 Tax Form (Wide-Valued Income Statement).

  • A voter registration card, a residential mortgage contract, a current lease or rental agreement for housing are all acceptable forms of identification. Homestead residential property tax receipt as evidence of payment Tax returns from the previous year that show the applicant’s residence address
  • The registration of a vehicle with the applicant’s name and address
  • Bill from a utility company (water, gas, electric) that is less than 90 days old
  • Any State or Federal Court records that provide the address of the person’s domicile
  • Documentation proving enrollment at a school
  • Form 214 (report of separation) from the Department of Defense Documents pertaining to the registration of sexual offenders
  • A copy of your current homeowners insurance policy, with your name and address
  • Postal delivery of Social Security benefit statements/summaries to the applicant’s actual address
  • Delivery of a US or state government check, or other document, to the applicant’s physical address
  • The military orders that document the duty station and the location of domicile.

By the beginning of January 2020, all students (with a permit) who have successfully completed Driver’s Education and have been issued a yellow card or certificate will be able to have the (Y) restriction automatically removed at the Commissioner of License office. Please refer to the following documentation as it is necessary:

  • Yellow card or certificate from Driver’s Education dated 2020, as well as a driver’s license

The Commissioner of License office will immediately update the license in the event of a Vessel Endorsement (V) being issued after January 2020. Please keep in mind that there is a $5.00 fee to include the endorsement. If your driver’s license is not expired, you will be charged a duplicate price of $31.25. Please refer to the following documentation as it is necessary:

  • The completed test certificate, dated 2020, and a driver’s license are required.

A new cost for the issue of driver’s licenses and non-identification driver’s cards has been implemented by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, effective February 9, 2015. Please review the following material for details on the modifications:

Class A Duplicate Class B Duplicate Class C Duplicate Class A New or Renew Class B New or Renew Class C New or Renew Class A CLL Duplicate Class B CLL Duplicate Class C CLL Duplicate Class D New or Renew GDL Duplicate GDL New or Renew ID Duplicate ID New or Renew Class D LL Duplicate Class D LL New or Renew Class M Duplicate Class M New or Renew Class V Duplicate Class V New or Renew Out of State Transfer $31.25 $31.25 $31.25 $66.25 $56.25 $36.25 $31.25 $31.25 $31.25 $36.25 $31.25 $36.25 $31.25 $36.25 $31.25 $36.25 $31.25 $36.25 $31.25 $36.25 $41.25

PLEASE CHECK FOR ANY ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REQUIRED FOR DRIVER’S LICENSE APPLICATION.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *