How much are vehicle registration fees in NC?
- Fees to renew your vehicle registration in North Carolina differ depending on the type of vehicle you own: Passenger vehicles: $36. Trucks under 4,000 lbs.: $36. Trucks under 5,000 lbs.: $56.50. Trucks under 6,000 lbs.: $67. Motorcycles: $24.
How much does it cost to get a drivers license in North Carolina?
The DMV fees apply to new or renewed licenses, titles and registrations, as well as obtaining copies of various types of records. For example, a regular Class C driver’s license good for eight years will go from $40 to $44. A duplicate copy of a license or ID will cost $14 instead of $13.
What documents do I need to get a North Carolina driver’s license?
- One document (with full name) proving identity and date of birth.
- A Social Security card or one document proving they have a Social Security number.
- One document verifying physical address in North Carolina (two are required if getting an NC REAL ID)
How much is it to get your license in NC for the first time?
At that time, they’ll ask you to present documents; proof of identity, date of birth, social security, and two documents proving North Carolina residency. After you paid the $40 license fee, the DMV will give you a temporary certificate and your license will arrive in the mail within 20 days.
How much does a North Carolina ID cost?
IDs are available at no cost for qualified customers. North Carolina residents who are either: Legally blind. At least 17 years old.
Can I get my NC drivers license online?
The state Division of Motor Vehicles quietly added the license renewal option to its website (ncdot.gov/dmv/online) last week. By state law, online renewal now is available every other time your license expires.
How long does it take to get a driver’s license in North Carolina?
North Carolina issues learner permits from a central location and mails them to applicants within 20 days. Driver license applicants receive a Temporary Driving Certificate to use until their permit arrives.
Do you have to take a test to get your license in NC?
To apply for your first driver license in North Carolina, you must gather documentation and pass a vision, knowledge, traffic signs and driving skill test. This is your complete plan of action depending on your age.
Do I need insurance to get my license in NC?
You must have liability insurance to get a driver’s license in North Carolina. If you don’t own a car, you must get “non-owner’s liability insurance”. Collision Insurance: Payment for repair of your car when it is damaged in a collision, even if you are at fault.
Can I get my license after 6 months in NC?
You only need your learner’s permit for 6 months to get a driver’s license in 2021!” The law temporarily shortens the minimum length of time required for holding a driving learner’s permit before getting a license from 12 to six months; all other requirements are the same.
Can you drive at 15 in NC?
GENERAL REQUIREMENTS You must be at least 15 years old to obtain a NC Limited Learner Permit or Provisional License.
What is NC teen driver level1?
Limited Learner’s Permit – Level 1 A person at least age 15 and under age 18 may obtain a limited learner’s permit if the person has passed a driver education course and a written test administered by DMV. Drivers with limited learner’s permits must: Have the permit in his or her possession.
How much does it cost to renew your driver’s license in North Carolina?
What does it cost to renew a driver’s license in NC? It currently costs $5.50 per year to renew a license. For a license that is good for eight years, it will cost $44 to renew. For a license that is good for five years, it will cost $27.50 to renew.
How much does license renewal cost?
In Gauteng, the total annual license fee for a car of 1 000 kilograms, but not exceeding 1 250 kilograms is R432. 00. In the Western Cape it will cost you R420.
Official NCDMV: Licenses & Fees
For those who renew their driver’s license before turning 21, they will be issued a vertical license with the words “Under 21” written on the back. For the next five years, that license will be valid. For those who renew their license on or after their 21st birthday, a conventional horizontal license will be issued to them instead of one with the words “Under 21” written on it.
For those who renew their driver’s license before turning 21, they will be issued a vertical license with the words “Under 21” written on it. This license will be valid for a period of five years. If you renew your license on or after your 21st birthday, you will receive a regular horizontal license with the words “Under 21” printed on it, rather than the shortened version.
- While using corrective glasses
- During daytime hours
- At specific driving speeds
- And other circumstances
Drivers who violate traffic laws are regarded to be driving without a driver’s license, regardless of their age or nationality.
Official NCDMV: New Drivers
Road TestsRoad Test Waivers
All drivers who do not qualify for a waiver will be subjected to road tests once again. Temporary road test exemptions, on the other hand, are offered to qualified drivers aged 18 and older who want a normal Class C license, as well as to 16 and 17-year-old drivers who are seeking a Level 2 limited provisional license. More information may be found here. To obtain a North Carolina driver license for the first time, an individual must be at least 18 years old and submit an application in person at a driver licensing office of the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles.
Teens between the ages of 15 and 17 are required to apply for a restricted learner permit as part of the graded licensing procedure.
- Only one piece of identification (with complete name) that verifies your identity and date of birth
- Social Security card or other documentation demonstrating that they possess a Social Security number
- One piece of documentation proving a physical address in North Carolina (two pieces of documentation are necessary if applying for an NC REAL ID)
- For those who were not born in the United States, one document (with complete name) demonstrating legal presence or legal status
- For a learner’s permit, you just need one document demonstrating liability insurance coverage from a source permitted to conduct business in North Carolina (this is not necessary for a learner’s permit).
Only one piece of identification (with full name) that verifies your identity and dates your birth; Social Security card or other documentation demonstrating that they possess a Social Security number. The following documents are required: one document proving a physical residence in North Carolina (two documents are necessary if applying for a North Carolina REAL ID); In the case of persons who were not born in the United States, one document (with the complete name) showing legal presence/legal status is required.
Make an Appointment
By scheduling an appointment online, you may avoid the long lines at driver licensing offices. If you are unable to locate a suitable appointment time, please keep checking back as new open appointments are posted on a daily basis to the system.
- Make an appointment online to avoid the long lines at driver licensing offices. Even if you don’t see a suitable appointment time right away, please keep checking back as new appointments become available on a regular basis.
- Candidates who are applying for their first driver’s license may also register to vote, sign up to be an organ donor, or register for Selective Service at the same time.
- The North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles provides drivers with the option of adding a deaf or hard of hearing designation on their license.
Adult driving licenses granted to those between the ages of 18 and 65 are valid for eight years, while licenses given to those aged 66 and over are valid for five years.
- Additionally, depending on the kind of license and individual needs, additional conditions may apply. For example, an individual who does not own or drive a presently registered car may still be able to apply for a license, but may be restricted to driving only fleet vehicles. Individuals suffering from a mental or physical condition that may prevent them from driving safely must provide proof of financial liability insurance and pay a duplicate-license fee in order to be released from the restriction. The NCDMV may refuse to license individuals who suffer from a mental or physical condition that may prevent them from driving safely. A limited license may be awarded to a person who has a handicap if the condition does not prevent them from driving safely on the open road.
This page was last updated on January 20, 2022. The following is a comprehensive guide to obtaining your driver’s license from the North Carolina DMV. We’ve made the procedure as simple as possible for you so that you can save time.
What You’ll Need to Get your North Carolina DMV Driver License
- This page was last modified on January 20, 2022. Obtaining your North Carolina driver’s license is made simple with our comprehensive guide. In order for you to save time, we’ve streamlined the entire procedure.
- Vehicle that has been registered and insured (for the driving test)
- (For the driving exam) A legally registered and insured car
What You’ll Do to Get your North Carolina DMV Driver License
- Vehicle that is registered and insured (for the driving test)
- Obtain a Temporary Driving Certificate after submitting the relevant documentation (i.e., identification, passing the written exam, passing the eye test, having your photo taken, and making payment).
- Within 15 days, you will get your Learner’s Permit in the mail from the United States.
- Step 3: Put in some driving time to get ready for the road test. Step 4: Schedule a road test appointment with the DMV location closest you. Step 5: Make your way to the DMV office on the day of the examination.
- Present the necessary documentation
- Pass the vision exam (if applicable)
- Pass the writing test (if applicable)
- And submit the needed paperwork. To be successful in the road test, you must submit money. Obtain a Temporary Driver’s License (TDL)
- Step 6: You will get your new Class C driver’s license in the mail within 15 business days after placing your order.
Caveats and Exceptions to Getting your North Carolina Driver License
- Is it not necessary to practice driving prior to taking the road test? If this is the case, you will not require a Learner’s Permit. Do not have a Social Security number? In order to demonstrate legal presence in the United States, you will be required to present documents (Permanent Resident Card, 1-94 Form, Employment Authorization Card). Are you under the age of eighteen? Once you have completed the Graduated Driver Licensing program, you will be eligible to acquire your full Class C driver’s license
- Do you require a REAL ID? Afterwards, visit our North Carolina REAL ID website to learn more about what is needed
More North Carolina DMV Questions?
Is it not necessary to practice driving prior to taking the road exam? Don’t have a Social Security number? No problem; you may get by without a Learner’s Permit. In order to establish legal presence in the United States, you will be required to produce paperwork (Permanent Resident Card, 1-94 Form, Employment Authorization Card). Not quite eighteen (18) years of age Once you have completed the Graduated Driver Licensing program, you will be eligible to get your full Class C driver’s license.
Afterwards, visit our North Carolina REAL ID website to learn more about what is needed.
NC Driver’s License Renewal in 2022 – All You Need to Know
Drivers in the state of North Carolina are needed to renew their driver’s license every two years in order to be able to continue driving lawfully within the state. According to your age at the time of issuance, the expiration date on your license will be different:
- 16 years old or above 65 years old equals 5 years
- 17 years old equals 4 years
- 18-65 years old equals 8 years.
As a courtesy reminder, you will get a renewal notification two months before your driver’s license expiration date, two months before the expiration date. In addition, you’ll have 180 days before your license expires to fulfill your license renewal requirements.
How to Renew Your NC Driver’s License
It might be confusing to go through all of the possibilities for renewing your North Carolina driver’s license, but there’s no need to be concerned about it. In accordance with state regulations, drivers may complete their renewal in one of the three ways listed below.
- Renewal options include: renewal by mail, renewal online, and renewal in person.
Online driver’s license renewal is a handy option to finish the procedure without spending a significant amount of time at your local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Skip all of the long queues and finish the entire procedure from the privacy and convenience of your own home. In order to be eligible for online renewal in North Carolina, you must be a citizen of the United States and you cannot have any of the following:
- Have a suspended license or outstanding debts with the Department of Motor Vehicles. Have a limitation on their driver’s license that is not “Corrective Lenses” in nature
- Whether you’re renewing your commercial driver’s license, normal Class A or B driver’s license, limited provisional license, learner permit, or state identification card, we’ve got you covered.
If you are eligible to renew your license online based on the standards outlined above, go to the North Carolina DMV website and complete the necessary procedures. Keep a copy of your current driver’s license, as well as your Social Security number and email address, on hand since you’ll need these to complete the renewal process.
In order to complete your driver’s license renewal in person, you must first schedule an appointment with the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Following that, you’ll need to obtain all of the necessary documentation.
- When you visit the DMV, you will be required to supply the following information:
- Two pieces of identification (a driver’s license is allowed)
- And two letters of recommendation. A copy of your social security card
- Proof of your identity.
- In addition, you will be required to take the following tests:
- Vision Exam– Drivers in North Carolina are required to have 20/40 vision or better in order to pass the vision exam element of both new license applications and license renewals. Knowledge Test– The knowledge test will cover the most essential road signs and traffic legislation in the United Kingdom. A passing score of 80 percent is required to complete the test, which consists of 20 right answers out of a total of 25 questions.
Adults who want to renew their North Carolina driver’s license can use Zutobi’s interactive platform to prepare for the knowledge exam that will be required. We provide an easy-to-understand driver’s manual as well as online practice exams, which will help you to be completely prepared before your DMV visit.
Furthermore, drivers are advised to renew their knowledge of the regulations of the road and driving safety practices on a regular basis in order to remain safe on the roads.
- At the conclusion of your session with the North Carolina DMV, you will be charged a driver’s license renewal cost. Paying using a check, cash, or money order are all acceptable methods of payment.
Renewal By Mail
Residents of other states and military personnel who have a permanent address in the state of North Carolina are eligible to renew their driver’s licenses by mail in the state. In order to renew your membership by mail, you must satisfy the following requirements:
- You are younger than 72 years old
- You do not intend to renew your commercial driver’s license. You must be absent from North Carolina for a period of at least 30 days. You cannot have a photo taken with the DMV that is older than 5 years. You must submit to an eye examination. You must have your social security number on file with the Department of Motor Vehicles.
You will need to first call the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles and obtain a mail kit. You may also contact them by phone, using the number that is mentioned on their website. It is important for you to give a valid out-of-state mailing address in order to receive and complete the appropriate paperwork.
NC Driver’s License Renewal Cost
It is depending on how long you intend to keep your driver’s license current in North Carolina that the cost of renewing your license is determined. The DMV costs $5 each year, which equates to $40 for the vast majority of drivers in the United States.
Renewing an Expired License
After your North Carolina driver’s license expires, you will be eligible to renew it for another two years. If possible, it is advised that you renew your membership online. If this is the case, you must renew in person at the Department of Motor Vehicles.
In order to board commercial airplanes or visit some government facilities, North Carolina citizens will need to be REAL ID compliant by October 1, 2021 in order to travel to other states. Fortunately, all citizens may easily update to a REAL ID with a simple process. To do so, you will need to go to the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles and present the required documentation:
- Proof of legal name
- Proof of US citizenship or lawful presence in the United States
- Proof of North Carolina residence
- Proof of Social Security Number
It is not necessary to meet any additional requirements or pay any more costs in order to obtain a REAL ID.
It is possible to renew your driver’s license while serving in the military in a few different ways. As opposed to the customary 180 days, you’ll have one year before the date on which your license expires to renew your registration. You will automatically receive an extension from the DMV if your license expires while you are serving in the military. It is necessary that you complete the following standards in order to renew your military driver’s license:
- It is necessary to produce proof of residence in North Carolina. It is necessary to have a social security number or proof of legal presence on file. It is not permitted to be older than 69 years. Must have a photo that has been registered with the DMV and is no more than 8 years old
- Have a license that was issued less than two years ago and has not expired
For military purposes, contact the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles and obtain a renewal via mail. You will be required to supply a copy of both sides of your military identification card as well as a copy of your military orders in order to complete the application process. Phone calls to the DMV are also accepted.
That is all there is to it when it comes to renewing your North Carolina driver’s license. If you need assistance with preparing for examinations or staying on top of the latest traffic regulations, we’ve got you covered!
How to Get Your North Carolina Driver’s License: The Ultimate Guide
For teens and young adults, obtaining a driver’s license may be an exciting and memorable experience. To get full driving rights, however, some procedures must be completed. For example, in the state of North Carolina, the Graduated Driver’s License Program is necessary for new drivers and can be initiated by anybody who is above the age of 15 years.
In this tutorial, you’ll discover all you need to know about getting your North Carolina driver’s license, from start to finish.
Limited Learner Permit
If you are over the age of 15, you can apply for a restricted learner permit, which is a requirement for all new drivers until they reach the age of 18. Obtaining your provisional driver’s license in North Carolina is the first (of many) steps toward receiving your full driver’s license. You must fulfill the following steps in order to obtain a permit:
- This course is a state-approved driver’s education program that includes 30 hours of classroom teaching and 6 hours of practical behind-the-wheel training. In order to confirm that your visual acuity is at least 20/40, you must have a vision exam. A written knowledge and road recognition test that assesses your ability to comprehend North Carolina traffic rules as well as typical road signs found around the country. To pass, you must get a score of at least 20/25.
This course is a state-approved driver’s education program that includes 30 hours of classroom teaching and 6 hours of on-the-road training. In order to confirm that your visual acuity is at least 20/40, you must take a vision test. One-hour written test that measures your understanding of North Carolina traffic regulations and your ability to recognize typical road signs found around the country. Passing requires a minimum of 20/25 on the examination;
- You must have your permit with you at all times when driving. You must have a supervising driver in the driver’s seat at all times. Within six months, you will only be permitted to operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 5am and 9pm but will be permitted to operate a motor vehicle at any time under supervision after that period. All passengers in the car are required to wear seatbelts at all times.
Read our in-depth North Carolina learner’s permit guide if you want to learn more about this step in the licensing process.
North Carolina Limited Provisional Driver’s License
In the case of teens, the LimitedProvisional Driver’s License (LPDL) is the second step in the GDL process. Drivers between the ages of 16 and 17 are permitted to operate their vehicles unattended. In order to be eligible for a restricted temporary license, you must have held your permit for at least 12 consecutive months. Moving offenses or other traffic infractions must not have been committed during the six-month period preceding the submission of your application. Aside from that, you must complete 60 hours of driving, with ten of those hours taking place at night.
How to Get a Limited Provisional Driver’s License
Once you have confirmed that you are qualified, you will need to arrange an appointment with the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. If you want to stroll in, you are welcome to do so as well. You will, however, have to wait for your turn. Bring your driver’s license, completed driving record, and a safe vehicle to utilize for the exam when you come in for your appointment. To give evidence of insurance on the car and sign off on your application, you will need to bring a parent or adult with you to the dealership.
This exam will assess your driving abilities as well as your ability to drive a motor vehicle in a safe and responsible manner.
Driving exams are often performed best by those who have the most hands-on experience behind the wheel.
While having a restricted temporary license, you will be subject to the following restrictions:
- It is necessary to keep one’s license on hand at all times. From 5 a.m. to 9 p.m., you may drive without a supervising driver unless you are traveling to school, work, or an emergency situation
- All passengers must be required to wear seat belts.
Full North Carolina Provisional Driver’s License
The driver’s license must be kept on him or her throughout the day. Unless going to school, work, or for emergency circumstances, you may drive alone from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily. There must be a seat belt requirement for every passenger.
Full Provisional License Requirements
It will be necessary for you to keep your limited provisional license for six months without receiving any driving violations or traffic infractions in order to be eligible for a full provisional license.
In addition, you will be needed to complete 12 more hours of driving, with half of those hours taking place at night time. You will be need to keep track of these hours and submit them to the NCDMV.
How to Get a Full Provisional Driver’s License in North Carolina
You can submit your application at your local NCDMV office. At that point, they’ll require you to provide documentation, including identification, date of birth, social security number, and two papers establishing your presence in North Carolina. You will get a temporary certificate from the DMV after paying the $40 licensing cost, and your permanent license will come in the mail within 20 days after paying the price.
Unrestricted North Carolina Driver’s License
If you have successfully finished the graduated driver’s license program, please accept my congratulations! The North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will issue you an unrestricted driver’s license as soon as you reach the age of 18.
New Drivers Over 18
There are a few procedures you must take before you may earn your unrestricted driver’s license if you are above the age of 18 and have not yet completed the graduated driver’s license program in your state. However, this procedure is far less complicated than the one that kids must go through. To begin, you’ll need to go to the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles with the necessary papers. In addition to the written knowledge test, you will be required to undergo the traffic sign identification test, eye test, and hearing test.
Following that, you’ll be subjected to a road test to determine your ability to drive a motor vehicle safely and to complete critical driving maneuvers on the highway.
Everything you need to know about acquiring your driver’s license in North Carolina is contained inside this article. It may appear to be a lengthy and tough process, but it is not need to be such. As you begin your journey towards obtaining full driving privileges in the state, make sure to refer to this handbook frequently and early on. And when it comes time to take your knowledge test, be sure to study our exam-likepermit practice tests completely so that you may pass on your first attempt.
North Carolina Drivers License Renewal
On July 5, 2021, the information was updated. North Carolina is home to a significant portion of the breathtaking Blue Ridge Parkway, a gorgeous highway surrounded by mountains and forests that runs through the state. These twisting, mountainous, and narrow highways are used by 7.6 million licensed North Carolina drivers each year to get about. When it is foggy, North Carolina roadways can also have poor visibility, making it difficult for even the most experienced drivers to traverse the roads.
Use eTags ©to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
Despite the fact that North Carolina is one of the top 15 safest states for young drivers, the state is plagued with an epidemic of unbuckled minors. In the year 2019, 47 percent of youths involved in a fatal collision did not have their seatbelts fastened.
That’s over half of the total! These tragedies can be averted with a single click of the mouse. Keep your wits about you, North Carolina! Continue reading for more information on driving in North Carolina.
How to Renew a North Carolina Driver’s License
In order to renew my North Carolina driver’s license, I need to know what I’ll need and how to do it. These are excellent questions. Every motorist in North Carolina will, at some point, be perplexed as to how to renew his or her driver’s license. A guide to the North Carolina DMV driver’s license renewal process that covers everything you need to know about the process including online renewal options, renewing your driver’s license in person or by mail, required license renewal fees, renewing an expired driver’s license, North Carolina REAL ID regulations, required license renewal documents, military ID renewal and other topics.
If you have any other questions or concerns, you can reach out to them at (919) 715-7000 or through their official website here.
Online Driver’s License Renewal
Is it possible to renew your North Carolina driver’s license online? North Carolina allows you to renew your driver’s license online, and you can do it at any time of day or night. Avoid the long lines and crashing computers of the past by simply visiting the e-DMV site to renew your North Carolina driver’s license online now. Despite the fact that this is a quick and easy choice for North Carolina drivers to renew their license, there are a few reasons why you may not be allowed to utilize the online service in this case.
North Carolina REAL ID Requirements
Is my North Carolina driver’s license compliant with the REAL ID Act? Alternatively, you may choose to replace your present license with one that complies with the federal standards imposed for REAL ID compliance by updating your current license. When you upgrade, replace, or renew your driver’s license, you will be required to do it in person at your local branch, and you will be required to provide extra paperwork. The following documents are required in order to renew your driver’s license in North Carolina:
- Proof of North Carolina residency
- Proof of lawful presence in the United States
- Proof of North Carolina citizenship. Documentation of your Social Security Number
- Identification that includes your birth date and complete name
For a comprehensive list of approved paperwork, please see this page. Obtaining a REAL ID driver’s license or state identification card does not incur any additional costs.
In Person Driver’s License Renewal
Is it possible to renew my North Carolina driver’s license in person at the DMV? Yes. Bring your renewal notification that you got in the mail from the United States Postal Service, as well as your existing driver’s license, to a convenient North Carolina DMV facility near you. The North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles has a location in every county in the state, and its location search tool makes it simple to discover a driver’s license renewal site near you. Every store does not have hours of operation that are consistent with those of the state, so contact ahead to ensure they are open as well as to arrange an appointment to renew your driver’s license.
After you present your identification, the clerk will take your photo, administer a vision test, and award you with a paper license. Your permanent license will be shipped to you by the United States Postal Service and will arrive in approximately 14 days (2 weeks).
Required License Renewal Fees
When renewing a driver’s license in North Carolina, what should you expect to pay? It costs $5 every year to renew one’s driver’s license in the state of North Carolina.
Renewing an Expired Driver’s License
To renew a driver’s license in North Carolina, you must pay a fee of $10.00. To renew a driver’s license in North Carolina, you will have to pay $5 every year in fees.
Military ID and Out-of-State License Renewal
Unless you plan on traveling outside of North Carolina at the time of your license expiration, you will need to submit your NC license renewal through the mail. To begin, call the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles and obtain a mail renewal kit. If you are applying for an out-of-state license or renewing your state ID by mail, you must include proof of your employment or enrollment in school.
Driver’s License Renewal Test
Those who want to renew their license in person at a North Carolina DMV facility will be required to pass a vision and traffic sign recognition exam. If you have trouble completing the road sign exam, you may be requested to arrange a road skills test with the Department of Transportation.
Scheduling a DMV Appointment to Renew Your License
If you have any more concerns about how to renew a driver’s license in North Carolina, you may call the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles at (919) 715-7000 or fill out one of their online contact forms.
What You Need to Know About N.C. REAL ID – REQUIREMENT POSTPONED
***Please keep in mind that this blog has been updated for July 2021 due to the requirement being postponed until May 2023*** If you’ve been paying attention over the past year, you’ve probably heard about something called “REAL ID.” This blog will go over some commonly asked questions concerning the North Carolina REAL ID program and will explain how you may be prepared for the changes that will be made to traveler identification regulations.
The implementation of these new regulations will begin on May 3, 2023.
- The North Carolina REAL ID is a driving license that complies with the REAL ID Act. It looks and functions just like a standard license or ID, with the exception of a star at the top. Driver licenses and identification cards that do not have a gold star are labeled “Not for Federal Identification.”
- Individuals who perform the following are needed to have a North Carolina REAL ID (or similar federally acceptable ID, such as a United States passport):
- Board a commercial airline
- Travel to nuclear power plants
- Travel to military bases
- Travel to federal courthouses, federal prisons, or other government facilities that demand identification
- Board a commercial flight
- Travel to nuclear power plants
- Travel to military bases
- Travel to federal courthouses, federal prisons, or other government facilities that demand identification
- And more.
- In the near future, I intend to go by plane. When do I need to obtain a North Carolina REAL ID?
- A real identification card (REAL ID) will be required starting on October 1, 2021. People who board a commercial airline after this date will be required to show either their North Carolina REAL ID or supplemental documentation (such as a United States passport) before passing through the TSA security checkpoint
- And Despite the fact that the federal law will not take effect until October 1, 2021, anybody may apply for a North Carolina REAL ID right now. The Department of Transportation recommends that travellers obtain their North Carolina REAL ID as soon as possible in order to assure that they will be allowed to fly when the deadline arrives and to avoid last-minute congestion at North Carolina DMVs.
- I’m in possession of a passport. Is it necessary for me to obtain a North Carolina REAL ID?
- Although your United States passport will serve in lieu of your driver’s license, it may still be helpful to obtain your North Carolina REAL ID in case you decide to travel inside the country without your passport.
- What do I need to do in order to obtain my North Carolina REAL ID?
- Go to an office of the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles and bring along the following appropriate documentation:
- One document (with complete name) showing one’s identification as well as one’s date of birth Only one piece of documentation (containing the person’s complete name and full SSN) that confirms the SSN
- Proof of North Carolina residence must be shown by two papers (one with the current physical address)
- For non-citizens of the United States, one document (with full name) demonstrating legal presence/legal status
- If relevant, one or more papers attesting to the fact that the name has changed
- Click here to see a list of papers that are eligible for each category
- There is no alternative to getting your license from a driver license office, where all of the necessary papers will be scanned and permanently saved in your NCDMV record, as required by federal law
- It costs the same as acquiring any other license or ID card for the first time in North Carolina, and the process is the same
- If the REAL ID is received within six months of expiration, it costs the same as getting a renewal license or ID card. You will be required to undergo a vision test as well as a new photo
- If you obtain an N.C. REAL ID outside of the renewal period, the fee is $13 – the same as obtaining a duplicate license or ID card in North Carolina. You will need to take a fresh photo, but there will be no exams necessary.
- My North Carolina driver’s license already has a gold star on it. Is there anything else I need to do to help?
- No, your driver’s license satisfies the criteria of the North Carolina REAL ID Act, and you are already prepared for when the law takes effect in October 2020.
- Where can I get more information on the North Carolina REAL ID?
NC Drivers License Renewal – NC DMV License Renewal
Several actions will need to be completed in order for your driver’s license to be valid once again. It is critical that you do not disregard the expiration of your license. Fortunately, the North Carolina DMV sends out reminders to drivers when it’s time to renew their NC drivers license. It is likely that you will receive a reminder card in the mail (please keep in mind that you do not need to wait until you receive this card before renewing your license).
What Do I Need to Bring to the DMV?
So, what do you need to do in order to renew your driver’s license in North Carolina? Before you go to the DMV, you’ll need to make sure you have all of the necessary documentation. You will require the following materials: Identification as evidence of one’s identity Unless you have your current or expired license when it is time to renew, you will be required to provide two pieces of identification from the following list to the renewal office to confirm your identity. Your entire name and birth date must be clearly displayed on the paperwork.
- Tax paperwork (W-2 or 1099)
- Your North Carolina Motor Vehicle Record
- Educational documents (such as school transcripts, high school graduation, and so on)
- And a birth certificate are all acceptable forms of identification. Identification from the United States military
- A valid, unexpired passport
- A certified marriage certificate
- North Carolina Limited Driving Privilege
- United States government documentation
- Court documents such as adoption paperwork
Tax paperwork (W-2 or 1099); your North Carolina Motor Vehicle Record; school documents (such as school transcripts, high school graduation, and so on); and a copy of your birth certificate and social security card. Identification from the United States military; a valid, unexpired passport; a certified marriage certificate; North Carolina Limited Driving Privilege; United States government documents; court paperwork such as adoption papers
- Payroll records
- The 1099 form or the W-2 form
- The DD-214 form
- A military record that has your Social Security number
- A social security document that contains your Social Security number It is necessary to have a Medicaid or Medicare card that contains your Social Security number.
What Do I Need to Do at the DMV?
In order to renew your North Carolina driving license, you will be required to take several exams and pay certain fees at the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles.
- The DMV will need you to pass a vision exam, so if you wear glasses or contacts, make sure you bring them with you to the appointment. You will be need to be able to detect traffic signs and understand what they are indicating. Before taking the exam, go over Chapter 5 of the North Carolina Drivers Handbook with care. Road test to assess driving abilities (this may or may not be required): This is a behind-the-wheel exam that determines whether or not you possess the required abilities to be a safe motorist.
Your fees must be paid in cash, by money order, or by personal check in order to be processed.
Can I Renew By Mail?
You must meet the requirements to renew your North Carolina driver’s license in the mail. The license will be renewed for a limited time period. To be eligible, you must be one of the following:
- Applicants for North Carolina license renewal by mail must meet certain requirements. There will be a temporary extension of the license. Applicants must meet one of the following criteria:
For additional information about renewing your license by mail, you can contact the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Getting a NC State ID/ Driver’s License
In the United States, a driving license has two functions: it grants authorization to drive and it acts as identity. To be able to drive lawfully in North Carolina, you must have a valid (not expired) driver’s license. North Carolina driver’s license, OR driver’s license from another state in the United States, OR driver’s license issued by the government of your home/residence country (Anyone whose legal residence is outside the state of North Carolina is considered a “non-resident” and may drive on the license issued by their home country or home state.
Keep in mind that you must first register with the Duke Visa Services Office before visiting the DMV office.
It is necessary to wait three days after registering with Duke Visa Services before visiting a DMV office to obtain a Learner’s Permit, State Identification Card, or Driver’s License.
|South Durham Driver License Office3825 South Roxboro Street (at MLK Parkway) Suite 119Tel. 919.560.3378 or 919.560.3379Open: Monday to Friday, 8am – 6pmSaturdays 8am – 12 noon||East Durham Driver License Office101 South Miami BoulevardTel. 919.560-6896Open: Monday to Friday, 8am – 5pm|
|*** For Chapel Hill or other cities, go to:|
1) REQUIREMENTS FOR APPLICATION FOR A STATE IDENTIFICATION PHOTO ID (NON-OPERATOR ID CARD) 1. Identification – All of the goods specified below are required as proof of identity.
- Valid passport
- I-20 for F-1F-2 visa holders –DS-2019 for J-1J-2 visa holders –I-797 for H-1H-4 visa holders
- I-797 for H-1H-4 visa holders
- I-797 for H-1H-4 visa holders Your Social Security card (if you have one) or your Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) (if you have one). If you do not have a Social Security number or an ITIN, this is OK
- An I-94 card would suffice. Visit your I-94 and print off your electronic arrival/departure record as proof of your arrival/departure
Passport in good condition; I-20 for F-1F-2 visa holders; DS-2019 for J-1J-2 visa holders; I-797 for H-1H-4 visa holders; I-797 for H-1H-4 visa holders; I-797 for H-1H-4 visa holders; I-797 for H-1H-4 visa holders; I-797 for H-1H-4 visa holders; I-797 for H-1H-4 visa holders; I-797 for H-1H-4 visa holders; I-797 for H-1H-4 It is necessary to present your Social Security card (if you have one) or your ITIN (if you have one).
The I-94 card will suffice if you do not have a Social Security Number or an ITIN.
- Your signed lease agreement, as well as a utility bill or bank statement addressed to you at a street address (not a post office box number)
- The Housing Assignments Office at 218-C Alexander Avenue (tel. 684.4304 or email:[email protected]) must be visited by undergraduates residing in dorms in order to get a letter identifying your Duke address.
3.Pay the $13 charge in cash or by check (NO DEBIT OR CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED). GETTING READY TO GET YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE TESTS IN WRITING Hard versions of driving handbooks (rules of the road) are available at the International House, and they may also be accessed online in both English and Spanish on the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tests can be taken in any of the following languages: English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, or Spanish. NCDOT: Driver’s license and identification Obtaining a Driver’s License or Identification Card Our license and identification cards now have a more modern appearance.
- The new design is beneficial in the following ways: The requirements for a LEARNER’S PERMIT are as follows: 1.Proof of Identity: the same as for the NC STATE ID – read the previous section.
- 3.Succeed in a vision examination, traffic sign identification examination, and understanding of motor vehicle legislation (the written test on computers).
- 4.Pay the $20 processing fee in cash or check (NO DEBIT OR CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED).
- 1st, you must provide identification in the same manner as you did for your NC STATE ID (see above).
- 3.An insurance certificate for automobile liability.
- A copy of the original liability insurance policy binding document.
- 4.Successful completion of the tests: When applying for an original driver’s license, you will be examined on the following:a.
traffic and regulatory signs (see handbook)c.
the ability to drive (road test in your car with a DMV examiner) The charge for an additional license is $5 per year and must be paid by money order or check (NO DEBIT OR CREDIT CARDS) – the maximum number of years is 8.
(License for use with rental cars ONLY) All of the criteria are the same as those for a complete Driver’s License (see above under 3)—with the exception of the photo.
However, it can only be utilized with rental automobiles.
IMPORTANT: If you are detected driving a private vehicle while holding a limited license, you will face the same penalties as if you were caught driving without a license.
EFFECTIVE The month of September 2009: All applications for a state identification card, learner’s permit, or driver’s license are transmitted to the Raleigh Department of Motor Vehicles for Homeland Security verification on the same day they are submitted to the department.
For help, please call 919.861.3555 if you have not received your State ID or License within 14 days of submitting your application.
A basic, white envelope with the words “Mail Service Center” printed in the left-hand corner will be used to deliver the package.
EFFECTIVE The month of September 2007: Before you may register your automobile in the state of North Carolina, you must first get a North Carolina State ID Card, a North Carolina Learner’s Permit, or a North Carolina Driver’s License from the state of North Carolina.
You can find more information in our brochure, Registering Your Car in North Carolina.
Getting to the DMVIHouse organizes excursions to the DMV once a month throughout the academic year in the IHouse van, which is available to students.
Student Affairs to find out when the next trip will be taking place.
On Wednesdays, at 10 a.m., IHouse staff members make the trip to the Durham Social Security Office.
To get to the DMV, take a short stroll along ERWIN Road.
Alternatively, you may go to Durham Bus Station by using the Bull City Connector bus.
As soon as the bus driver drops you off at the Kroger at MLK Parkway bus stop, cross the street over to the Shopping Plaza and you will be at the Roxboro Road DMV in less than an hour.
The DMV is located directly across the street from the Kroger grocery store.
Automobile Insurance for the Short Term You can obtain auto liability insurance (also known as Non-Car Owner’s Insurance) for up to six months if you do not have a vehicle.
A Non-Owners Auto Insurance Policy will cost around $1200 for a period of six months.
This is not available from all auto insurance companies, so shop around to see who does provide it.
School of Motor Vehicles Driving schools give instruction and practice for people who are new to the road.
For further information, please see the handoutDriving Lessons.
Then, no less than 20 days before your license’s expiration date, you must take your license to the DMV for renewal.
You must visit the DMV by July 10th to request an extension that will keep your license valid for the remainder of you grace period (if you are staying in the USA).
If you are extending your NC Driver’s License for Optional Practical Training (OPT), you will need to show your OPT-approved documentation, such as an Employment Authorization Document (EAD) or a new I-20 with OPT approval dates, in order to have your NC Driver’s License’s expiration date extended.
The Principal Visa Holder is also required to present his or her original EAD.
The North Carolina Child Passenger Safety Law stipulates that*
- 3.Remit the $13 processing fee in cash or check (NO DEBIT OR CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED). COMPLETING THE APPLICATION FOR A DRIVING LICENSE TES WHICH ARE WRAPPED Hard copies of driving handbooks (rules of the road) are available at the International House, and they can also be found online in English and Spanish at the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles website. It is possible to take tests in any of the following languages: English
- And Spanish No license or identification required by the NCDOT. Obtaining a Driver’s License or a Photo Identification Document Licensing and identification cards now have a more modern look. Our driver’s licenses and identification cards have been completely redesigned by us. Following are some benefits of the new design: The requirements for a LEARNER’S PERMIT are as follows: 2) As with the NC STATE ID (see above), you must provide proof of your identity. The same as for the NC STATE ID – see above – is required for proof of residency. 3.Fail a vision test, a traffic sign identification test, and a test to determine your understanding of motor vehicle laws (the written test on computers). It is not necessary to take a driving exam. Fee: $20 payable in cash or check (no debit or credit cards accepted). The requirements for obtaining a full North Carolina driver’s license are listed in Section 3 of this section. 1st, you must provide identification in the same manner as you did for your NC STATE ID, as described above. 2nd, proof of residency must be presented in the same manner as for the NC STATE ID (see above). 3.An insurance certificate for automobile liability 1. A copy of the original liability insurance policy binding document. If you do not have an auto insurance card, you can use your driver’s license to obtain one. The examinations were passed with flying colors. When applying for an original driver’s license, you will be tested on the following:a. your visionb. traffic and regulatory signs (see handbook)c. your understanding of motor vehicle regulations (seehandbook) d. knowledge on how to drive (road test in your car with a DMV examiner) 5.Pay the $5 annual charge for a new license in cash or check (NO DEBIT OR CREDIT CARDS) – the maximum number of years is eight (8). RESTRICTED OR FLEET LICENSE REQUIREMENTS FOR APPLICATION (License for use with rental cars ONLY) Unless otherwise specified, all criteria are the same as for a complete Driver’s License (see above under 3)—with the exception of the photo. Auto insurance is not required for a limited or fleet license. Only rental automobiles are permitted to be utilized. If you plan to drive a rental automobile, you must acquire liability auto insurance from the rental car company before driving the vehicle. IMPORTANT: If you are detected driving a private automobile while holding a limited license, you will face the same penalties as if you were caught driving without a license. If you are issued a limited license, you can get it removed at the DMV by paying a fee of $10 and presenting proof of car liability insurance (either owner’s or non-coverage). owner’s EFFECTIVE 2009 (Septembre): All applications for a state identification card, learner’s permit, or driver’s license are forwarded to the Raleigh Department of Motor Vehicles for Homeland Security verification on the same day they are submitted to the office. This implies that you will receive your card (which will be delivered to your home address in Durham/Chapel Hill) once a 7–10 day wait period has occurred. For help, please call 919.861.3555 if you have not received your State ID or Driver’s License within 14 days after applying. WARNING: Your ID or Driver’s License will be mailed to you at your home address after you have submitted your application. A basic, white envelope with the words “Mail Service Center” written on the left-hand side will be used to deliver it to you. While waiting for your ID or license, many individuals will mistake this letter for junk mail, so be sure to examine all correspondence carefully. EFFECTIVE In September of 2007, the following occurred. Before you may register your vehicle in the state of North Carolina, you must first get a North Carolina State ID Card, a North Carolina Learner’s Permit, or a North Carolina Driver’s License. It is possible to get these products from the DMV offices indicated above. See our brochure on how to register your car in North Carolina for further information. DEPENDENTS of J-2, F-2, and H-4 visa holders include the following: To obtain a state identification card, learner’s permit, or driver’s license, it takes around 20 business days. In order for students to visit the DMV on a regular basis during the academic year, the IHouse organizes visits once a month in the DMV van. Stay tuned for updates from our listserv or visit: IHouse Services | Student Affairs to find out when the next trip will be taking place. A Visit to the Social Security Administration (SSA) On Wednesdays, at 10 a.m., IHouse staff members make the trip to the Durham Social Security office. If you like to ride along with us in our van, please meet us at International House (300 Alexander Ave.) by 9:45 a.m. The Roxboro Road Department of Motor Vehicles is accessible via the GoDurham (DATA) Bus. For the DMV, walk to ERWIN Road and then turn right. Attend the GoDurham (DATA) Bus 6 or Bus 11 to Durham Bus Station while waiting at the bus stop in front of Duke Hospital. To get to Durham Bus Station, you may either walk or take a bus called the Bull City Connector (see below). Take the GoDurham Bus 7 from Durham Station (Fayetteville RoadSouth Point Mall). As soon as the bus driver drops you off at the Kroger at MLK Parkway bus stop, cross the street over to the Shopping Plaza and you will be at the Roxboro Road DMV in no time. There is a Kroger grocery store just across the block. A few steps away from the Kroger grocery store, you’ll find the Department of Motor Vehicles. Because it isn’t particularly noticeable, you can always ask someone if you aren’t seeing something. Auto Insurance for the Short Term In the event that you do not have access to a vehicle for six months, you may obtain auto liability insurance (also known as non-car owner’s insurance). See the handoutAuto Insurance for a list of firms that provide Auto Insurance. It costs around $1200 for a six-month non-owners auto insurance policy. The total sum must be paid in advance. You should shop around to find out which auto insurance companies provide this service. Inquire about your available options and pricing structure. Driver’s Education Center Inexperienced drivers might benefit from driving schools’ instruction and practice. If you wish to earn your North Carolina Driver’s License, they will also offer you with a car for a cost. For further information, refer to the handoutDriving Lessons. Adding a grace period to your North Carolina license is a good idea (60 days for F-1
- 30 days for J-1) Obtain the DMV letter by visiting Duke Visa Services first. Then, no less than 20 days before your license’s expiration date, you must take your license to the DMV. Suppose your North Carolina Driver’s License expiration date is July 30th. You must visit the DMV by July 10th to request an extension that will keep your license valid for the remainder of you grace period (if you are staying in the USA). When you visit the DMV, be sure to bring all three pages of your I-20 or DS-2019, as well as your passport and I-94. For the purpose of extending the expiration date of your North Carolina Driver’s License, you must present the appropriate OPT-approved documents (such as an employment authorization document or an updated I-20 that shows the dates of OPT approval) as proof of your eligibility for Optional Practical Training (OPT). They can visit the DMV without bringing the permission paperwork with them if they bring the major visa holder along with them. An EAD must also be brought along by the Principal Visa Holder. Obligation to Wear a Seat Belt All drivers and passengers, including those in the back seat as well as those in the front seat, are required to wear seatbelts under North Carolina law. This law applies to children under the age of sixteen who are traveling with their parents. In accordance with the North Carolina Child Passenger Safety Act,
If you are detected driving without the required restraints, you will be penalized and will incur points on your driver’s license. * This document provides a complete review of all applicable regulations: Because rules are prone to change, it is important that you get familiar with the most recent regulations. The content contained in this handout is not the responsibility of International Hosue.
NC DMV To Increase Fees Effective 01/01/2016
RALEIGH, N.C. — Customer service representatives at the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles are advising them to plan ahead since many driver and vehicle services are going to be more expensive starting in January. On New Year’s Eve, the NCDMV online services website will be briefly unavailable in order to submit the new fee schedule. Customers should prepare to finish online DMV transactions and payments before the DMV closes its doors at 9 p.m. on December 31st. The website will reopen at 12:01 a.m.
Vehicle registration renewals, driver license renewals, orders for duplicate vehicle registration cards or driver licenses, requests for driving records, payments for insurance lapses, and orders for personalized and special license plates are all available through the NCDMV’s online services website.
They are the first fee hikes at the DMV in 11 years.
After that date, the interest levied on late registration costs will be computed on the new fee amount in addition to the original fee amount.
The yearly registration price for a normal private passenger car will rise by $8, to a total of $36 for a standard private passenger vehicle.
A 10-Day Temporary Registration Permit will be provided to cars that require temporary registration for reasons such as transfers, sales, trips, or inspections.
The following is a fee schedule that outlines the new costs in detail: Fees for the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (Per Session Law 2015-241, House Bill 97) For payments processed on or after January 1, 2016, new costs will be charged.
|North Carolina DMV Vehicle Fees|
|Certificate of Title||$52|
|Corrected or Substitute Certificate of Title||$20|
|Duplicate Certificate of Title||$20|
|Duplicate Certificate of TitleRemoval of Lien(s)or Duplicate Certificate of Title with Correction||$20|
|Duplicate or Additional Registration Card||$20|
|Duplicate Title with Reassignment||$72|
|Failure to Transfer Title Within 28 Days||$20|
|Financial Responsibility Civil Penalty||$50, $100, $150|
|Financial Responsibility Restoration Fee||$50|
|Financial Responsibility Service Fee||$50|
|Manufacturer or Dealer Certificate of Title||$20|
|Recording of Supplemental Lien(s) or Recording Assignment of LienApplication of Transfer of Lien||$20|
|Removal of Lien(s) from Certificate of Title||$20|
|Replace Registration Plate||$20|
|Repossessor Certificate of Title||$20|
|Salvage Title (Form MVR-40 – Raleigh Office Only)||$20|
|Stock Car Replacement||$25|
|Transfer of Registration||$20|
|SAFETYON-BOARD DIAGNOSTIC INSPECTIONS|
|On-Board Diagnostic Emissions Inspection||$30|
|One Signature (Contract Agent)||$5|
|One Signature (DMV State Office)||$2|
|Two Signatures (Contract Agent)||$6|
|Two Signatures (DMV State Office)||$3|
|Three or More Signatures (Contract Agent)||$7|
|Three or More Signatures (DMV State Office)||$4|
|For Vehicles Registered in DURHAM County:– Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax– County Vehicle Registration Tax||$5$10, $15|
|For Vehicles Registered in ORANGE County:– Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax– County Vehicle Registration Tax||$5$10, $15|
|House Trailer and/or Camping Trailer||$14|
|PermanentState Owned Plates||$6|
|For Vehicles Registered in RANDOLPH County– Piedmont Authority for Regional Transportation Tax||$1|
|Plate Fee (Private Passenger Vehicles)||$36|
|Plate Fee (Private Truck Under 4,000 pounds)||$36|
|Plate Fee (Private Truck Under 5,000 pounds)||$56.50|
|Plate Fee (Private Truck Under 6,000 pounds)||$67|
|Plate Fee (Trailer or Semi-Trailer)||$25|
|Private Bus (16 passengers and more)||$40|
|For Vehicles Registered in WAKE County:– Regional Transportation Authority Registration Tax||$5|
|Special Plates||Fees vary|
|Transfer of Plate||$20|
|North Carolina DMV Driver License Fees|
|Class A License||$5 per year|
|Class B License||$5 per year|
|Class C License||$5 per year|
|Motorcycle Endorsement||$2.30 per year|
|Motorcycle Learner Permit||$20|
|COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE|
|CDL Endorsement (per endorsement)||$4 per year|
|Class A License (CDL)||$20 per year|
|Class B License (CDL)||$20 per year|
|Class C License (CDL)||$20 per year|
|Learner Permit (CDL)||$20|
|Limited Learner Permit (Level 1)||$20|
|Limited Provisional License (Level 2)||$20|
|Full Provisional License (Level 3)||$5 per year|