It is $10.00 (under 21 or older than 70) or $20.00 (age 21-69). Pay by cash, personal check, cashier’s check, money order or card. Note that there is the convenience fee of $1.25 if you pay by card.
- Pay the driver’s license fee: $13.50 for 3 years OR $19.50 for 6 years. You should receive your MO driver’s license in the mail within 10 business days.
How much does REAL ID cost in Missouri?
The Department of Revenue has a full list of eligible documents and an interactive guide to help people determine what they need to bring. Getting a Real ID driver’s license or nondriver’s license could cost between $3.50 to $45, depending on the applicant’s age and the duration of license.
What do you need to apply for a Missouri driver’s license?
New Missouri residents or residents applying for a first -time instruction permit or driver license must provide acceptable documents of the following:
- Proof of Identity;
- Date of Lawful Status;
- Proof of Social Security number;
- Proof of Missouri residential address; and.
How much is a Missouri out of state license?
What You’ll Need to Transfer your Out-of-State License to Missouri. Fee of $10.00 (under 21 or older than 70) or $20.00 (age 21-69). Note that there is the convenience fee of $1.25 if you pay by card.
Can you fly without a REAL ID?
Starting May 3, 2023, every traveler will need to present a REAL ID-compliant license or an acceptable form of identification to fly within the U.S. Passengers who do not present an acceptable form of identification will not be permitted through the security checkpoint.
How much is a REAL ID?
Normal driver’s license and ID card fees apply. There is no additional cost for a REAL ID-compliant license or ID card when a person renews normally.
How many times can you take the drivers test in Missouri?
Before you drive, you must apply and obtain a license at a license office. The test result form itself is not valid for driving. If you fail the driving test, the examiner will suggest that you practice before retaking the test. You may take only one driving test per day.
Can I get a Missouri state ID online?
You can apply for a REAL ID at any Missouri license location. You cannot apply online or by mail. You will need to bring proof of identity, proof of Missouri residency, proof of lawful status in the United States and your social security number.
What is the deadline for the REAL ID in Missouri?
Mayorkas extended the REAL ID full enforcement date from Oct. 1, 2021, to May 3, 2023, due to circumstances resulting from the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.
How do I transfer my out of state driver’s license to Missouri?
What You’ll Need to Do
- You must transfer your out-of-state license once established residency in Missouri and visit your local DOR office.
- Show proof of your name/date/place of birth.
- Provide proof of your identity and residency.
- Pass the Vision and written test.
- Pass your road test.
How do I register a new car in Missouri?
What do I need to do to register my car in Missouri?
- Certificate of Title or a Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin document.
- Application for Missouri Title & License.
- Identification number and odometer inspection OR a safety inspection not more than 60 days old for titles issued by another state or country.
When can you get your license in Missouri?
Missouri’s Graduated Driver License law requires that all first-time drivers between 15 and 18 years old complete a period of driving with a licensed driver (instruction permit), and restricted driving (intermediate license), before getting a full driver license.
Can I use my Social Security card to fly?
A school ID, library card, Social Security card, birth certificate or an organization ID all suffice, as do the allowed identification forms for an adult, such as a state ID. Children younger than 14 do not require identification when traveling alone.
What do I need to fly in 2021?
Do I Need a Passport to Fly Domestically in the US in 2021? According to the Transportation Security Administration (TSA), all adult passengers (18 and above) must show valid identification at the airport to travel. The identification must show your picture, name, and state.
Can I fly with an expired ID 2021?
TSA will accept expired driver’s licenses or state -issued ID a year after expiration or 60 days after the duration of the emergency, whichever is longer.
The cost of getting a driver’s license in Missouri is about to jump
JEFFERSON CITY, MO (KMOX) – When it comes time to renew their driver’s licenses and license plates in Missouri, motorists may encounter sticker shock as early as next month. Gov. Mike Parson signed legislation that would increase the amount of processing fees that privately managed licensing offices can collect in order to assist them stay viable in rural regions, in a move meant to help them stay afloat. These offices will be able to charge a fee for managing an annual registration, which will increase from $3.50 to $6, and a cost for handling a biannual registration, which will increase from $7 to $12.
The charge for a driver’s license that has been valid for more than three years increases from $5 to $12.
The legislation was sponsored by Rep.
Other states, such as California, require all licensing offices to be operated by a government agency.
- As the first in 20 years, the hikes are expected to help offset growing expenditures, such as a rise in the minimum wage and increased prices for office supplies, according to operators.
- Genevieve licensing office.
- As a result, residents of the community may be forced to travel to Farmington, Perryville, or Festus in order to obtain their driver’s licenses.
- Because the majority of the expenses are constant or growing, operators are frequently limited to manipulating their labor costs in order to earn profits.
- Because foot traffic is slower in rural locations, contractors face the double whammy of having to keep their personnel on the payroll even when there are fewer consumers in the area.
- Genevieve office processed around 26,000 transactions.
- Crystal Webster, executive director of the Breast Cancer Foundation of the Ozarks, located in Springfield, said the fees will benefit the organization’s smaller charge offices in Nixa, Ozark, and Republic, among other locations.
- In fact, “the smaller offices are practically losing money,” according to Webster.
- According to Webster, “I believe that politicians recognized the serious severity of the situation.” “Raises in fees are seldom well received.
However, in this particular instance, they were absolutely necessary.” House Bill 499 is the legislation in question. Our newsletter will keep you up to speed on the latest developments in local and national government and political themes.
DMV Written Test 2022 Missouri – DMV Practice Test 2022 – Real DMV Questions!
Real Questions and Answers from your local Department of Motor Vehicles. The structure and rules will be the same as they would be on the day of your exam.
Authentic DMV Questions and Answers from your neighborhood DMV office. There are no differences between today’s format and rules and tomorrow’s format and rules
Real questions and answers from your local Department of Motor Vehicles. The structure and rules will be the same as they will be on the day you take your test.
High Passing Rate
People who trained with us passed their official DMV driving test in 95 percent of cases.
Our students passed their official DMV driving test 95% of the time they train with us.
Frequently Asked Questions
People who trained with us passed their official DMV driving test in 95 percent of the cases.
Missouri – Tests Per State
On the 19th of July, 2021, an update was made. Missouri is a landlocked state that is surrounded by eight other states, which is a fun fact. It shares the distinction with Tennessee as the state with the most number of neighboring states. Its 277,504 miles of road infrastructure place it sixth in the nation in terms of total road miles. Surprisingly, the number of licensed drivers in the United States is only slightly higher than the national average, with little more than 4.2 million drivers on the road.
Continue reading if you want to find out more about driving in the Cave State!
Use eTags ©to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
The procedure of renewing your Missouri driver’s license is rather uncomplicated, making it simple to keep your license up-to-date at all times. Individuals residing in the state are required to renew their license with the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR). Even though the Department of Revenue sends out renewal reminders, you may not get yours until fifteen days before your license is up for renewal. Especially if you have to produce documents, this may be seen rushing the process. Take the initiative and finish your Missouri license renewal well in advance of the expiration date in order to remain legal and avoid fines for driving with a suspended or expired driver’s license.
This article will walk you through the process of renewing your Missouri driver’s license.
When to Your Driver’s License
If I live in Missouri, when do I need to renew my driver’s license? That’s a good question. Your Missouri driver’s license expires on the day of your birthday and is good for three or six years, depending on how old you are. The length of time that it is valid is determined by your age. Depending on the age bracket you fall into, the following table displays how long your driver’s license will be valid in the state of Missouri:
- 3 years if you are between the ages of 18 and 20 or if you are 70 or older
- If you are between the ages of 21 and 69, you have six years.
You must complete the Missouri driver’s license renewal procedure even if you do not get a renewal notification in the mail at least fifteen days before the expiration date of your license. Otherwise, your driver’s license may be suspended.
Renewing an Expired Driver’s License
If your license has been expired for more than six months, you will be required to retake the eyesight, road sign, written knowledge, and driving skills examinations in order to obtain another one.
Reinstating a Suspended Driver’s License
If your license has been expired for more than six months, you will be required to retake the eyesight, road sign, written knowledge, and driving skills examinations in order to obtain another license.
Renewing Your Driver’s License In Person
In Missouri, you must renew your driver’s license in person at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). There is just one exemption to this law: active duty military personnel, their wives, and/or dependents who are stationed outside of the state of Missouri are exempt from this restriction. Members of the military stationed out of state and their dependant family members can renew their Missouri drivers’ licenses over the mail. Gather the following papers before travelling to the Department of Revenue office to prevent making several journeys and further delaying your renewal.
As long as your driver’s license is valid, you may skip this step and go to the next stage, which is supplying your Social Security number and evidence of residence.
Required License Renewal Documents
You can utilize a variety of papers to show confirmation of your identity to the Missouri Department of Motor Vehicles, including the following ones:
- A certified birth certificate from the United States
- A valid or expired U.S. passport
- A Certificate of Citizenship, Naturalization, or Birth Abroad from the United States
- Checking the validity of your Social Security Number
Providing your Social Security number can be done either orally or by providing your Social Security card to the agent. Residents of Missouri are also needed to provide proof of residency. The following are examples of acceptable address verification documents:
- Rental, lease, or mortgage contract
- Driver’s license renewal postcard
- Recent utility bill
- Bank statement
Rental, lease, or mortgage contract; Driver’s license renewal postcard; Recent utility bill; Paystub; Bank statement; Recent utility bill;
Required License Renewal Fees
To renew a six-year Missouri driver’s license, you must pay a charge of $35. The mandatory renewal price of $17.50 is due every three years. If your Missouri driver’s license is about to expire, don’t put it off any longer. If your license is still valid, the process might be straightforward; however, the longer you wait, the more complex and expensive the process becomes. Don’t wait until you receive a notification of renewal. Complete your Missouri license renewal before your license expires by following the recommendations in this article.
Scheduling a DMV Appointment
If you choose to renew your license in person, making an appointment with the Missouri DMV location closest to you can help you save time and avoid long lines. It is advised that you contact your local driver’s license renewal agency or DMV office if you have any more questions on how to renew your license or make an appointment.
Get a Missouri Driver’s License
If you intend to drive a car in Missouri, you must first obtain a new Missouri driver’s license before you may do so. In order to apply for your driver’s license, you do not need to have a learner’s permit if you are over the age of eighteen (18). To be eligible to apply for a new Missouri driver’s license, you must first pass the following exams at a Missouri State Highway Patrol (MSHP) office in your community:
- Written examination for Missouri driver’s license
- Vision examination
- Road sign examination
Once you have passed the test, you will be given a Driver Examination Record, which you must submit to the Missouri Department of Revenue in order to obtain your first driver’s license in the state.
Pay a visit to your local driver’s license office and do the following:
- Name, date and place of birth, Social Security number, and place of residence
- Pay for your driver’s license
- Pass your road test/driving test.
Under 18 – Apply for a Missouri Driver’s License
Teens in Missouri must first receive a Missouri learner’s permit, followed by an intermediate driver’s license, before being awarded a full Missouri driver’s license, according to the Missouri Department of Transportation.
Driver’s Education in Missouri
In Missouri, there is no requirement for formal classroom driver’s education. Teens, on the other hand, are required to complete 40 hours of supervised driving with a qualified licensed adult or driving instructor, with at least 10 hours of that driving taking place at night.
Missouri Driver’s License Age Requirements
- In Missouri, there is no requirement for formal classroom driver’s training. To be eligible for a driving permit, teenagers must complete 40 hours of supervised driving with a competent licensed adult or driving instructor, which must include 10 hours of nighttime driving.
Get a Missouri Instruction Permit
In Missouri, you must be at least 15 years old in order to obtain an instruction permit. Visiting a State Highway Patrol (MSHP) examination station to take the following tests is required before you can apply for your permit. A Driver Examination Record will be sent to you if you have passed all of your permit examinations. This document confirms that you have successfully completed all of the relevant tests. Visit your local Missouri licensing office with your parent or guardian and present this paperwork, which will allow you to:
- Please submit documentation proving your identity, birth date, and place of birth. Identify yourself by using your Social Security number Provide evidence of your Missouri address and/or residence
- Obtain a driver’s license or instruction permit by completing an application. Driver Examination Record (Form DOR-100) must be submitted. The $7 permit fee has been paid in full.
Your instructor will provide you with an instruction permit, which will allow you to begin your driving practice under the supervision of a certified driver. This permit is valid for one year from the date of issuance, and you must retain it for a minimum of 182 days before you are eligible to apply for an intermediate driver’s license in Missouri. As part of the requirements for obtaining your Missouri learner’s permit, you will be expected to complete 40 hours of behind-the-wheel practice, which will include 10 hours of practice driving at night between the hours of sunset and morning.
Get a Missouri Intermediate Driver’s License
It is possible to apply for an intermediate Missouri driver’s license and take your behind-the-wheel road test after you have reached the age of 16 in Missouri. In addition, you must have satisfied the following requirements:
- You must have had your learner’s permit for a minimum of 182 days before applying. Having completed 40 hours of supervised driving practice, including 10 hours of night driving, you must be eligible to test.
At the very least, you must have had your learner’s permit for 182 days. Having completed 40 hours of supervised driving practice, including 10 hours of night driving, you must be qualified to drive.
- Your learner’s permit that is valid and has not expired
- I have submitted my driver’s license application in its entirety. Certificate indicating that you have completed the requisite behind-the-wheel driving hours
- Proof of identity, including proof of name, birth date, and birthplace
- Number of Social Security cards
- Proof of Missouri residence/address is required. The $11 licensing fee has been paid in full.
Your learner’s permit, which must be valid and not yet expired. submitted a driver’s license application in its entirety Proof that you have completed the requisite behind-the-wheel driving hours; and A copy of your identification, including your name, birth date, and birthplace; Identification number (SSN); Documentation of Missouri residence/address; The $11 licensing fee has been paid.
- If you are driving, you must have your intermediate license with you at all times. You are not permitted to drive between the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. unless you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old, or unless you are driving to or from school, work, or an emergency situation. Seat belts must be worn at all times by both you and your passengers. Unless you are driving for an immediate family member, you may only have one passenger under the age of 19 in your car for the first six months. After the first six months, you are only permitted to transport up to three passengers under the age of 19 who are not immediate family members in your vehicle.
Full Missouri Driver’s License
To apply, go to your local driver license office and complete the following steps:
- Present your Missouri intermediate driver’s license in good standing
- Produce identification that demonstrates your identity and where you were born (for example, a certified United States birth certificate or an original United States passport or a certificate of citizenship)
- Identify yourself by using your Social Security number Provide proof of Missouri residency/address (bank statement, paycheck, utility bill from a parent’s residence)
- Pay the cost for a driver’s license
Driver’s License CostExpiration Dates in Missouri
|State||Driver’s License Cost||License Expires|
For further information, including the most up-to-date fees, please see the official DMV website at the following address:
Ultimate guide to transfering your out-of-state driver’s license to Missouri
This page was last updated on January 20, 2022. Here’s all you need to know about transferring your out-of-state driver’s license to Missouri. We’ve made the procedure as simple as possible for you so that you can save time.
This article is intended for persons who have relocated to Missouri but still have a driver’s license from another state in the United States. If you have an overseas driver’s license, please see our page on Missouri driver’s licenses.
What You’ll Need to Transfer your Out-of-State License to Missouri
- Proof of identification
- The date on which one’s legal status was established
- A copy of your Social Security card
- Proof of your birthdate. Proof of Missouri residence address (if applicable). Fee of $10.00 (for those under 21 or older than 70) or $20.00 (for those between 21 and 69)
- Please keep in mind that there is a $1.25 convenience fee if you pay with a credit card.
What You’ll Do to Transfer your Out-of-State License to Missouri
- Step 1. Once you have established residency in Missouri, you must transfer your out-of-state license to the state of Missouri and visit your local DOR office. Step 2: Provide identification that includes your name, date of birth, and place of birth. Step 3: Provide documentation proving your identity and residency. Step 4: Pass the written exam as well as the driving and eyesight tests. 5th step: Pay the money for a class F driver’s license.
Caveats and Exceptions to Transferring your Driver License to Missouri
- The Missouri Department of Revenue (MO DOR) graduated driver license (GDL) program must be completed if you are 18 years old or younger.
Get unlimited DMV appointments and DMV chat help with a 15-day free trial of Skip* *Use the above invite link to get your 15-day free trial this week only. ❗ YoGov can assist you in obtaining your driving license in the United States. Book a car and driver with Driving Test Concierge to assist you in passing your road test.
How Do I Renew or Update My Missouri Driver’s License
Greetings and best wishes on your birthday! Not only will you have a reason to rejoice, but it is also probable that your Missouri driver’s license will expire on this day. A brief trip to your local DMV is no longer considered regular practice. Not only is it critical to have the proper documentation, but you should also be prepared to wait in line or, if an appointment is available, to schedule one. When you renew your driver’s license, you will be asked if you would prefer a REAL ID-compliant license or one that is not.
The following is a list of the requirements for renewing a normal Missouri driver’s license.
The most frequently encountered are listed below.
- You will be required to provide identification. The majority of the time, this is satisfied by your existing Missouri driver’s license. If you are a new resident of the state, an out-of-state driver’s license that is currently valid is also allowed. You can also utilize a verified U.S. birth certificate or a valid, unexpired U.S. passport or passport card to prove your citizenship. if you are not a native-born citizen of the United States, acceptable identification documents include a valid permanent resident card or an expiring foreign passport
- You will also need to provide proof of your legal status in the country. The use of a valid passport or passport card, a verified birth certificate from the United States, or an unexpired permanent resident card can also be utilized to meet this criteria. You will also need proof of your Social Security Number, which may be obtained from your unexpired work or student visa, a current Military ID as well as a U.S. birth certificate, naturalization or citizenship certification. This is normally satisfied by showing your social security card, but it can also be satisfied by presenting a recent W-2 or paycheck stub that has your name and social security number printed on it
- You will also require confirmation of Missouri residency. Numerous papers will serve, such a utility bill, voter registration card, bank statement, property tax or real estate tax receipt, insurance policy card, and other similar documents.
If you want to alter your name, you’ll need to provide documentation such as a verified marriage certificate, divorce decree, or adoption documents. Following the current epidemic, local DVM offices have implemented significant modifications to their operating hours and business procedures. If you don’t have an appointment, expect to spend some time waiting outside the DMV facility, where social distancing techniques will be in effect. If you need to find a DMV office in Missouri, you may go to the state’s website, which is atdor.mo.gov.
If you have a first-time driver in your family, or if you need a refresher course, please contact us at (314) 849-4590 now for more information.
Columbia Regional Airport
It is anticipated that REAL ID-compliant driver licenses and nondriving license identity cards will be accessible on October 1, 2021, according to the Department of Revenue (DOR). More Detailed information on Missouri Real ID is available from the Missouri Department of Revenue. Driver’s licenses that are not compatible with REAL-ID regulations can be used until October 1, 2020. In order to implement a comprehensive national security plan, drivers’ licenses and identity documents must be secure as well as easily identifiable.
A concerted effort by the states and the federal government to improve the reliability and correctness of state-issued identity cards is underway.
- Driver licenses and nondriver license identification cards that are REAL ID-compliant, according to the Department of Revenue, will be available on October 1, 2021. More The Missouri Department of Revenue provides information about Missouri Real ID requirements. Driver’s licenses that are not REAL-ID compatible can be used until the first of October 2020. In a comprehensive national security policy, secure driver’s licenses and identity cards are essential components. Law enforcement officers must be able to depend on government-issued identity papers and be confident that the person who presents such a document is who he or she claims to be in order to protect the public. Terrorists’ ability to evade detection by using fraudulent identification should be hampered as a result of a coordinated effort by the states and the federal government to improve the reliability and accuracy of state-issued identification documents.
The brochures listed below are the most recent versions of Missouri Department of Revenue materials as of May 1, 2019.
Requirements for REAL ID on the Front Cover Requirements for REAL ID on the Inside of the Cover Getting Down to Business with REAL ID – Cover The actual scoop on REAL ID – Inside the Cover of the Book
How To Get A Real ID In Missouri — And Why You Might Need One
Published on March 28, 2020 at 12:00 a.m. Central Daylight Time (CDT). Updated at 11:42 a.m. Central Daylight Time on September 1, 2021. The article was updated on May 19 to reflect the new Real ID deadline. As with the rest of the country, Missourians who wish to continue to use their driver’s licenses or other state identity cards to board domestic flights or access federal facilities after May 2023 will be required to get Real IDs. Because of issues resulting from the coronavirus pandemic, the Biden administration has decided to extend the countrywide Real ID mandate by an additional two years beyond the initial October 2021 deadline.
Real ID-compliant licenses are distinguished by the presence of a gold star in the upper right corner of the card.
How do I get a Real ID license?
Visit the DMV licensing office in your area. The state of Missouri must expressly request a Real ID, or otherwise the state will provide a normal driver’s license.
What documents do I need?
Four items must be verified by applicants: their identity, their immigration status, their social security number, and their Missouri residency. The process necessitates the submission of at least four papers.
- One document that clearly demonstrates their entire legal name, such as a certified copy of their birth certificate or a United States passport. Some papers can be used to authenticate both an individual’s identification and their immigration status
- For example, a passport. An identification document that verifies their social security number, such as a social security card or a W-2 form
- And Utility bills, cancelled checks, and pay stubs are examples of evidence that can be used to establish Missouri residence.
If a person has changed their legal name, they must also produce documentation proving their previous and current legal identities. The Department of Revenue maintains a comprehensive list of acceptable papers as well as an interactive guide to assist people in determining what they should bring. The cost of obtaining a Real ID driver’s license or nondriver’s license ranges from $3.50 to $45, depending on the applicant’s age and the length of time the license will be valid.
What do I do if I’ve renewed my license since Real IDs became available, but I didn’t get a real ID?
You have the option of renewing and upgrading your license. Normally, if you require a new license outside of the six-month period preceding the expiration of your current license, you will be charged a fee by the Missouri license office. Individuals who are upgrading to a Real ID, however, will not be charged a cost, as determined by the Department of Revenue. You will still be required to pay processing costs, which are $6 for a three-year license and $12 for a six-year license, respectively.
Do I have to update my license?
No. Residents of Missouri are not required to apply for a Real ID license, according to state law. If you want to travel, or if you intend to attend federal courthouses or military facilities, you will be required to show another acceptable form of identification, such as a passport or driver’s license.
Airline passengers with noncompliant licenses can show a valid passport, passport card, or other forms of identification that have been accepted by the airline.
When should I get the new ID?
In a statement, Joey Plaggenberg, head of Missouri’s Motor Vehicle and Driver Licensing Division, stated that his department anticipates higher wait times at licensing offices as more individuals apply for the new IDs, which became available in March, according to the department. As long as your ID is not about to expire, Plaggenberg suggests avoiding the queues and waiting till the rush has passed. The Illinois Secretary of State’s Office is also now issuing licenses that are consistent with the Real ID Act.
A previous version of this story indicated wrongly which office is responsible for issuing Real ID cards.
Kae Petrin may be found on Twitter at @kmaepetrin.
Driver Examination Division
A successful driver testing program is provided by the Missouri State Highway Patrol’s Driver Examination Division. This program helps to ensure that Missouri licensed drivers have a level of competency consistent with safe driving habits and practices, and that they have demonstrated skills and knowledge of Missouri laws relating to traffic safety. It is the responsibility of the Driver Examination Division to administer the written and driving examinations to individuals seeking a Missouri Instruction Permit, Intermediate License, Full Driver (Operator) License, For-Hire (Chauffeur) Licence, or Commercial Driver License (CDL).
This division is responsible for all workers who give exams, ensuring that they are conducted fairly and professionally, as well as procuring examination stations for use by drivers throughout the state of Missouri.
While appointments are not required for the driving skills element of the Full Driver (Operator) License, they are required in order to take the driving skills portion of the Commercial Driver License (CDL) driving test.
Individuals should familiarize themselves with what will be necessary at an examination station as well as the hours of operation for that particular station before they arrive.
Written and driving skills examinations are administered dependent on the availability of test administrators and the number of test candidates. You may get information about examination stations, including their hours of operation, by visiting the following link:
Please click on the links below to access the Missouri Department of Revenue’s Driver Guide, Commercial Driver’s License Manual, and Motorcycle Manual. We’ve also provided a link to information on the papers that are necessary by Missouri law in order to receive a Missouri driver’s license.
- Driver’s Guide
- Commercial Driver License Manual
- Motorcycle Operator Manual
- Documents Required to Obtain a Missouri Driver License or Instruction Permit
Teen drivers and their parents should be aware of the following: The provision of excellent customer service at all of our Highway Patrol Driver Examination Stations is our primary objective. Please aid us by sharing information about your recent experience by clicking on the following Customer Service Survey link: Please click here to complete the Customer Service Survey.
- Customer Service Survey
- Customer Service Survey Instructions
- Customer Service Survey Results
We’ve provided a link to the Department of Revenue’s LICENSE PLATE RENEWAL system for your convenience and/or information: LICENSE PLATE RENEWAL SYSTEM
- Rhonda L. Czarnecki is the Assistant Director and Senior Chief Examiner.
- Contact Information
- Phone: (573) 526-6221 or (573) 751-2341
- Email: [email protected]
Call (573) 526-6221 or (573) 751-2341 for further information.
Obtain or Renew a Drivers License
State of Missouri, not the City of St. Louis, provides services such as driver’s licenses, driving examinations, and motor vehicle licensing and titling. See the instructions below for information on how to get, renew, or replace a driver’s license or identification card. Beginning in May of 2022, the Real IDwill be a federally compliant identification card that will be necessary to travel domestically and enter government sites or nuclear power plants.
To get, renew, or replace a driver’s license or identification card, you will need to bring the necessary papers with you. Birth certificates, social security cards, passports, utility bills, and other official documents are examples of what is considered acceptable documentation. Check out the Drivers License Checklist or the Real ID Checklist to discover what papers you’ll need to get your license. In some instances, you will be required to take a driving test. Examine the information on Driver Examinations to determine whether or not you are required to take an exam.
Find an Office Near You
The Missouri Department of Revenue maintains a list and map of all of the offices where you may get or renew your driver’s license throughout the state. The following are the places that are inside the city borders. All three of these sites are walk-in only (there are no appointments), however the downtown location has a virtual lobby, which allows you to wait outside until you receive a text message indicating that it is your turn to enter. Please call ahead to ensure that the business is open.
St. Louis City Collector of Revenue1200 Market Street, Room 111ST LOUIS, MO 63103-0000ST LOUIS, MO 63103-0000 Phone: (314) 622-4231Fax: (314) 622-4177stlouiscollector.com Website: stlouiscollector.com Virtual Lobby Days are open from 8:00 a.m. to 4:45 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Central West End
St. Louis, Missouri 63103-00001200 Market Street, Room 111ST LOUIS, MO 63103-0000City of St. Louis Collector of Revenue The St. Louis Collector can be reached by phone at (314) 622-4231 and through fax at (314) 622-4177. Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:45 p.m., Virtual Lobby Days
ST. LOUIS, MO 63109-0000 4628 South KingshighwayST. LOUIS, MO 63109-0000 Call (314) 752-3177 or send a fax to (314) 752-1386 Send a text message to (314) 884-1378 or email [email protected] Days of operation: Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m.
to 6:00 p.m., Saturday, 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. The Missouri State Highway Patrol maintains a list of driver exam locations, which includes both written and on-the-road tests.
- Saint Louis, Missouri 63109-0000 4628 South KingshighwayST. LOUIS, MO 63109-0000 4628 South KingshighwayST. LOUIS, MO 63109-0000 4628 South KingshighwayST. Call (314) 752-3177 or fax (314) 752-1386 to make an appointment. Text: (314) 884-1378email: [email protected] South Kings Highway License Office Opening hours: Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Saturday, 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., Sunday, 2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. A list of driving exam sites in Missouri is available from the Missouri State Highway Patrol, which includes both written and road examinations.
Call (573) 526-2407 for more information.
The cost of DOR services varies depending on the type of service. Take a look at the licensing fee table.
What to Expect
The cost of DOR services is determined by the type of service requested. The licensing fee chart may be viewed here: License Fee Chart
Driver’s License Information from the Missouri Department of Revenue Missouri The Department of Transportation’s State Highway Patrol Motor Vehicle Information from the Missouri Department of Revenue Disabled Placards (both temporary and permanent)
Missouri Driving Laws for Seniors and Older Drivers
Even though the plethora of rules and regulations enforced by the MissouriDepartment of Revenue (DOR) apply to drivers of all ages and stages, the state imposes some special requirements and restrictions on those who are 65 and older. Several Missouri state regulations are discussed in further depth below, but a number of them are concerned with detecting and dealing with elderly drivers who may have become dangerous. Missouri, to be more specific:
- Drivers over the age of 70 are required to renew their licenses every three years, and the Department of Transportation (DOR) accepts requests from family members and others to perform risky driver investigations.
License Renewal Rules for Older Drivers
Drivers above the age of 70 who wish to renew their licenses are subject to additional requirements. Drivers above the age of 70 must renew in person every three years, while those between the ages of 21 and 69 must renew in person every six years. Drivers under the age of 21 are also required to renew their licenses every three years. However, if the person renewing their license is not a citizen of the United States, the license’s expiration date may be earlier, depending on the expiration date of the document they submit to prove their identity and eligibility for a driver’s license, according to the Department of Transportation.
If a motorist fails the test, DOR officials will provide a free examination, or they may request that the driver have an examination by an outside qualified ophthalmologist or optometrist, who will write aReport of Eye Examination.
A road test is only required if the DOR obtains evidence that the motorist may be impaired on the road.
Possible License Restrictions
The Department of Revenue (DOR) has the authority to impose limits or conditions on a person’s driver’s license. The most prevalent type of limitation for elderly drivers is the requirement for corrective lenses like as glasses or contact lenses. Other typical restrictions that the Missouri Department of Revenue may place on elderly drivers include:
- Driving only in daylight
- Driving a vehicle with automatic transmission or power steering
- Traveling at no more than 45 mph
- Driving within a 25-mile radius
- Additional outside rearview mirrors on a vehicle
- And other restrictions specified by a law enforcement officer, a judge, or a physician
How to Request an Unsafe Driver Investigation in Missouri
Missouri DOR will accept information about a potentially unsafe driver from a driver examiner, license clerk, family member, law enforcement officer, medical professional (including but not limited to physicians, physical therapists, occupational therapists, chiropractors), registered nurse (including but not limited to psychologists, social workers, professional counselors), optometrist, or emergency medical technician.
It is the claimant’s responsibility to complete theDriver Condition Reportand return it to the Driver License Bureau as instructed on the form.
If a motorist has experienced epileptic seizures, convulsions, or blackouts within the past six months, he or she must additionally produce a completed Driver Condition Report while renewing their license. Please visit “How to Report an Unsafe Driver in Missouri” for further information.
How to Get a License Reinstated
The procedures for regaining possession of a license in Missouri that has been suspended or revoked vary depending on the circumstances. If you want specific information on a specific issue, you should call one of the DORlicense offices, which are located throughout the state.
How to Get Parking Placards or Plates for a Disabled Driver
Driving placards for disabled people can be awarded to drivers who have limited mobility, provided that the condition is certified by a registered medical practitioner. Temporary or permanent disability placards are provided for persons who meet the following requirements:
- Drivers who have restricted mobility may be eligible for disabled person parking badges provided their condition is certified by a registered medical practitioner. Disablement placards are available for persons who meet the following criteria:
In order to receive a disability placard or plate, you must do the following:
- Obtain an Application for Disabled Person Placard and complete and sign it. Prepare a Physician’s Statement for Disabled License Plates or Placards with the help of a qualified physician, chiropractor, optometrist, physician’s assistant, podiatrist, physical therapist, or advance practice registered nurse. Send the original application and statement to the Department of Revenue office
View the ” Permanent Disabled Placard ” or the ” Temporary Disabled Placard ” for additional information.
Learn More About Missouri Driving Rules for Seniors
The Missouri Department of Revenue website has a plethora of information for drivers, including links to comprehensive explanations of titling and registration procedures. The ” Driver Guide,” which includes descriptions of driver license and testing procedures, as well as safe driving suggestions and an explanation of local regulations of the road, is particularly noteworthy. In addition, there is an audio driver guide.
Where to Find a Lawyer for Help
You may use Nolo’s Lawyer Directory to discover a local lawyer who has expertise representing older persons who have been involved in vehicle accidents or received traffic citations in Missouri. Nolo’s Lawyer Directory is free and easy to use.
Missouri Drivers License Replacement
Any Missouri license office will accept your application and payment for a replacement driver’s license.
- If your driver’s license is not due to expire within the next six months, the transaction will be handled as a duplicate with the same expiration date as your existing license. If your driver’s license is due to expire within the next six months, the transaction will be processed as a duplicate. One acceptable identity document is necessary (it is preferable, but not required, that the document feature your photo
- For example, a work, military, or student ID card.) One acceptable identification document is required. Other papers that may be used if a photo is not available include, but are not limited to, a social security card, a document containing the person’s name and date of birth, or a document containing the person’s name and signature. a social security card The transaction would be processed as an early renewal if your driving license was expected to expire within the next six months. You would be asked to produce appropriate documentation to prove your identity, date of birth, place of birth, and Missouri home address. As well as providing your social security number, you would be expected to do so.
*Class A, B, or CMinimum age requirement: 18 years.
- The price is $22.50 (valid for up to 3 years) and $25.00 (valid for up to 6 years).
*Class A, B, or C with the letter “S” endorsement is acceptable. Age restriction: 70 years. Class EMinimum age requirement: 18
- $17.50 (valid for up to three years)
- $20.00 (valid for up to six years).
*Class E with a “S” endorsement is available. Age restriction: 70 years. Class FMinimum age: 18 years old
- Prices are as follows: $10.00 (valid for up to 3 years)
- $12.50 (valid for up to 6 years)
*Class A, B, or CMinimum age requirement: 18 years. Class EMinimum age requirement: 18 Applicants must be 18 years old or older to be considered for Class E. Class MMinimum age requirement: 15 1/2 Class MMinimum age requirement: 16
Acceptable Documents that you will NEED
One identity document – It is preferable, but not needed, that the document feature the applicant’s photo, such as a work, military, or student ID card, however this is not required. It is possible to utilize alternative papers if a photo-based document is not accessible. These documents include, but are not limited to, a social security card, document containing the person’s name and date of birth, or document containing the person’s name and signature.
Commercial Driver’s License
It is recommended, but not needed, if the identity document feature the applicant’s photo, such as a work, military, or student ID card; however, this is not a requirement. Other papers that may be used if a photo is not available include, but are not limited to, a social security card, a document containing the person’s name and date of birth, or a document containing the person’s name and a signed signature.
|Chapter 6PROPERTY, EQUIPMENTFACILITIES||Section: 6:085Commercial Driver’s License|
According to the Uniform Commercial Driver’s License Act, University employees who operate a vehicle that weighs more than 26,000 pounds, hauls hazardous materials, or is designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, are no longer exempt from the requirement to hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL).
Drivers who currently hold a chauffeur’s or operator’s license from the State of Missouri may continue to perform their jobs in accordance with the law until their license is renewed or until April 1, 1992, whichever comes first.
Application for Commercial Driver’s License
- The Missouri Driver’s License Bureau will mail an application to commercial vehicle drivers who currently hold a chauffeur’s license
- Drivers of commercial vehicles who currently hold an operator’s license will be provided with an application form by the University
- And drivers of commercial vehicles who currently hold a chauffeur’s license will be mailed an application by the University.
License fees are the responsibility of the driver. The CDL license fee will not be covered by the University. Please keep in mind that, as of April 1, 1992, both employers and employees are liable to hefty fines for failure to comply with the law.
Commercial Motor Vehicle Drivers
Before renewing their Missouri driver’s license, drivers of commercial motor vehicles in any of the following classifications are needed to undergo a series of tests before renewing their license.
- If the gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of the vehicle(s) being towed is greater than 10,000 pounds, a combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) or registered gross weight of 26,001 pounds or more is classified as Class A. Holders of a Class A license are also permitted to operate all vehicles classified in Classes B, C, and H, with the required endorsements. Class B: Any single vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating or a registered gross weight of 26,001 pounds or more, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating or a registered gross weight of less than 10,000 pounds GVWR. The holder of a Class B license may also operate all vehicles in the Class C classification with the required endorsements. Class C: Any single vehicle with a gross weight rating of less than 26,001 pounds, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle with a gross weight rating of less than 10,000 pounds. This category applies exclusively to vehicles that are placarded for hazardous chemicals or that are meant to transport 16 or more passengers, including the operator. In order to pull a trailer or flatbed with a gooseneck connection or similar type combination, a Class H license must be held by the driver of a pickup truck with fifth wheel mounting and a gross vehicle weight rating or registered gross weight of 26,001 pounds or greater. Class H: The holder of a Class H license may also operate all vehicles classified in Classes B and C, if the relevant endorsements are obtained.
If the gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of the vehicle(s) being towed is greater than 10,000 pounds, a combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) or registered gross weight of 26,001 pounds or more is classified as Class A. Class B: Holders of a Class A license may also operate all vehicles classified in Classes B, C, and H with the required endorsements; and Single vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating or a registered gross weight of 26,001 pounds or more are classified as Class B, as is any vehicle towing a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating or a registered gross weight of 10,000 pounds or less is classified as Class A.
The holder of a Class B license may also operate all vehicles in the Class C category with the required endorsements.
This category applies solely to vehicles that are placarded for hazardous chemicals or that are meant to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver.
All vehicles in Classes B and C may be operated by holders of a Class H license if they have the relevant endorsements;
- Transportation of Hazardous Materials: Any vehicle that is required to carry a placard from the Department of Transportation. Vehicle meant to transport 16 or more people, including the driver, is referred to as a passenger vehicle
- Truck-mounted tank with a rated capacity of 1,000 gallons or more, used to carry liquid or gaseous commodities. Double/Triple Trailer: Any vehicle capable of pulling two or three trailers at the same time.
The commercial driver’s license may also be subject to additional restrictions, such as the following:
- There may also be specific restrictions associated with the commercial driver’s license, such as
If a driver already holds a chauffeur’s license or an operator’s license, he or she will not be entitled to receive a commercial driver’s license (CDL) until the expiration of the present license or until April 1, 1992, whichever comes first.
The number of written examinations that a driver must pass is determined by the classes, conditions, and limitations that the driver want to obtain or maintain. In order to pass, the driver must achieve an 80 percent or above on each of the three tests. Drivers cannot expect to pass the exam only on the basis of their previous driving experience. Manuals are accessible at examination stations operated by the Highway Patrol.
If the pre-trip, basic controls, and road tests are not waived, the driver must make an appointment with the State Highway Patrol in advance to arrange the tests.
- Although a University employee is permitted to use a University car for the CDL road exam, if the employee fails the first road test, he or she will not be allowed to use the University vehicle for the second road test.
Traffic Violation Convictions
Any conviction for traffic violations, other than parking violations, that occurs while a staff member is operating a commercial vehicle must be reported to the Missouri Department of Revenue, Driver’s License Bureau, Jefferson City, Missouri, as well as the employee’s University supervisor within 30 days of the conviction.
Where to Find More Information
Contact Operations (573-882-4097), 305 Jesse Hall, for more information on commercial driver’s licenses and other related matters.