Generally, every person who operates a motor vehicle or auto-cycle on a Mississippi highway must possess and be able to display a valid driver’s license. Driving without a valid license. Unlicensed driving is a misdemeanor. The court can issue a fine of $200 to $500 and/or jail of two days to six months.
What happens if you are caught driving without a license?
If you have been charged with driving without a licence, you could face serious punishment such as a fine, penalty points and a driving ban. However, with the help of JMW’s expert motoring solicitors you may be able to build a strong defence that will reduce the penalties you ultimately receive for the offence.
Is driving without a license a misdemeanor?
Unlicensed Driving Driving without ever having been issued a license is typically a misdemeanor or an infraction, depending on the state. An infraction normally carries only a fine of around $25 to $200, and some states will also assess demerit points to the driver’s record.
Can you pay a ticket online in Mississippi?
Subject to the following, under Mississippi law, you have the option to pay certain citations online via credit card before your court date. Citations that may be paid online are those which do not have time in jail as a possible punishment and include but are not limited to, TRAFFIC and PARKING citations.
Why you shouldn’t drive without a license?
Depending on these factors, you could be fined, you could be charged with a misdemeanor or felony, your vehicle could be impounded, your license may be revoked, your plates could be taken away, and you could even face jail time.
What’s the punishment for driving without insurance?
The court’s adopt a very strict stance towards motorists charged with driving without insurance and it is considered a strict liability in that you either had valid insurance at the time of driving or you didn’t. The penalty for this offence is between 6 – 8 penalty points in addition to a fine.
Can you go to jail for driving while banned?
Driving whilst disqualified is a very serious offence and one that carries up to 6 months in prison as well as a further period of disqualification. If you have been convicted of disqualified driving before then you are more likely to be sent to prison.
What happens if you drive without a license in Mississippi?
Unlicensed driving is considered a misdemeanor and the court can issue a fine of $200 to $500 and jail time of two days to six months for this violation. Valid car insurance is also required to drive legally in Mississippi.”
Can you get insurance without a license in Mississippi?
If you don’t have a valid driver’s license and cannot provide a valid driver’s license number, you won’t be able to finalize a policy. Use a borrowed car for work. A commercial non-owner policy might be better suited to this situation. If you drive a company car, the vehicle likely has enough coverage.
How do you get out of a speeding ticket in Mississippi?
Traffic Tickets in Mississippi
- Option 1 – Pay Your Ticket. Payment options differ per jurisdiction.
- Option 2 – Plead Not Guilty and Request Trial. Fighting a ticket in Mississippi is relatively easy if you have the patience.
- Option 3 – Appeal Your Case.
- Option 4 – Take an Online Defensive Driving Course.
Is driving barefoot illegal?
If you’re wondering is it illegal to drive barefoot, the answer is “no”. In fact, in all 50 states, there are no barefoot driving laws that prohibit this particular practice. However, some states may have recommendations or specific policies in place. Is it illegal to drive barefoot?
Can I drive without my license on me?
Contrary to popular belief, you do not have to carry your driving licence with you when you are driving. However, it is strongly recommended. A Police Officer can ask to see your licence at any time and if you do not produce it immediately, then you will have to produce it to a Police Station within 7 days.
Driving Without a Valid (or on a Suspended) License in Mississippi
Driving without a license and driving with a suspended license are both prohibited in Mississippi. This page describes what constitutes these infractions, what fines may be imposed, and if there are any exceptions to the necessity for a license.
Driving Without a License
Everyone who runs a motor vehicle or an auto-cycle on a Mississippi highway is required to have and be able to display an appropriate driver’s license in order to be on the road. Driving while not in possession of a valid license. Driving without a valid license is a crime. The court has the authority to impose a fine ranging from $200 to $500 and/or prison time ranging from two days to six months. The license is not in the ownership of the player. Driving without displaying a valid driver’s license to a police officer or driving with a valid license but not having it in his or her immediate possession can result in a fine of $5 to $250 and a sentence of one to six months in jail, depending on the severity of the offense.
However, Mississippi age limitations apply to non-resident drivers.
Finally, many electric personal mobility devices do not require the use of a license in order to be operated.
Driving While Suspended or Revoked
Drivers convicted of operating a motor vehicle while their licenses have been suspended, cancelled, or revoked are subject to jail time, fines and a longer driver’s license suspension. The misdemeanor offense of driving while suspended carries a required fine of $200 to $500 as well as a sentence of 48 hours to six months in prison in Mississippi. In addition to any license suspension or revocation that has already been issued, the court will impose a six-month license suspension as well. Non-residents who drive while their license is suspended in Mississippi will be condemned to a mandatory two-day to six-month prison sentence, as well as a fine ranging from $200 to $500, depending on their criminal history.
Traffic Ticket Fines & Penalties in Mississippi
Home Ticketing for Violations and Safety in Mississippi Fines and Penalties for Unpaid Parking Tickets
Mississippi Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
Mississippi’s traffic ticket fines differ from county to county. Thus, a ticket for failing to yield in Isaquena County will not have the same price as a ticket for failing to yield in Chickasaw County, and vice versa.
In addition, each county imposes assessment costs (see below), which vary from one county to the next. You will not be able to find out how much you owe in fines on your ticket. You must contact the court on your ticket in order to obtain the complete amount of the fine.
All traffic infractions are subject to a fine in addition to the fine. Assessment fees are used to support initiatives at the local and state levels.
Fight Ticket(Plead Not Guilty)
- Contesting a traffic ticket through a court of law
- You have the option of representing yourself or hiring a counsel. It is possible that the opportunity to plea bargain for lighter fines may be lost. If found guilty, there are no fines, but the defendant must pay court and attorney expenses.
Find out more about defending yourself against a traffic ticket »
Car Insurance Rate Increases
Convictions for traffic violations are typically accompanied by a rise in auto insurance premiums. You should browse about online and compare vehicle insurance quotes from a number of auto insurance companies if you feel that your premiums are getting too expensive for your budget to support.
MS Traffic Ticket Penalties
Mississippi does not use a point system to determine its citizens’ standing. As a result, the most prevalent sort of penalty is the loss of driving privileges, which may be suspended or revoked. When calculating the severity of a punishment, a number of variables are considered, including the driver’s driving record and license type (commercial driver’s license, learner’s permit, etc.).
MS Driver’s License Suspension and Revocation
If the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) suspends or revokes your driving privileges, it’s important to understand the difference between a suspended and a revoked license. A suspended license is defined as follows: License SuspendedThis indicates that your Mississippi driver’s license has been suspended for a period of time. The majority of the time, paying a $100 charge is required for reinstatement. If your Mississippi driver’s license has been revoked, it indicates that it has been suspended for a lengthy period of time, generally at least one year.
- Your involvement in an accident that results in the death or serious harm of another person, or in the destruction of major property, is a criminal offense. Convictions for significant traffic infractions on a regular basis
- You have been identified as a motorist who is consistently careless or irresponsible
The following are driving violations that result in a mandatory one-year revocation for a first offense:
- Drunk driving conviction
- Failure to stop and offer help following a collision that results in injury or death Becoming a criminal in any felony case in which a motor vehicle was involved
- Being found guilty of manslaughter or negligent homicide as a result of an accident you caused
- Being sentenced to prison
Refer to Mississippi’s Driver’s License Manual for a comprehensive list of offenses that can result in suspension or revocation of your license.
Mississippi Teen Driver Penalties
In addition to the penalties listed above, you may have your driving privileges suspended if you violate any of the restrictions (driving without a licensed passenger, driving during curfew hours) associated with your learner’s permit or intermediate driver’s license, such as driving without a licensed passenger.
Penalties for MS Commercial Drivers
Any traffic-related convictions should be reported to your employer as soon as possible. This applies to all cars, even being fined while driving one’s own automobile. As a commercial driver, every traffic infraction might result in the loss of your work if you are convicted. When there is so much at risk, it is important to understand the rules by which you are ruled. There is a comprehensive list of driver disqualifications and fines available from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA).
Written bynovaeditoron for novaeditoron. Posted inCourt Administration
General Types of Offenses
|Driver’s License – Suspended||$512.50|
|Driver’s License – none/expired||$327.50|
|Failure to Yield/Emergency Lights||$263.50|
|Following too Closely||$227.50|
|Improper Tag/Out of State||$649.25|
|Leaving the Scene of an Accident||$227.50|
|Parking in a Fire Lane||$227.50|
|Parking in Handicap||$349.25|
|Parking Zone Violation||$227.50|
|Passing Stopped School Bus||$503.50|
|Running Red Light||$227.50|
|Running Stop Sign||$227.50|
|Tag – none/expired||$249.25|
|Window Tint Violation||$249.25|
|in a Construction Zone||$327.50|
|in a School Zone||$227.50|
|10 – 12 over||$197.50|
|30 and over||+Mandatory Court Appearance|
Traffic Tickets in Mississippi
When you receive a traffic ticket in Mississippi, you must reply quickly in order to safeguard your driving record and keep your insurance premiums from rising. Aside from that, the regulations governing Mississippi traffic tickets are straightforward: Pay your bills on time and/or engage with the courts, and you’ll avoid getting into trouble.
Mississippi does not use a point system for traffic offenses, unlike many other states. Mississippi does not have any shades of gray or hoops to jump through, but it does have a lot of paper.
What to do If You Get a Traffic Ticket in Mississippi
Mississippi traffic citations are handled on an individual basis by the city or county in which you were issued the citation, not the state. You must contact the clerk of the courts within ten working days, according to the state’s procedure. The phone number to contact will be provided in your citation. You will be given spoken instructions on how to pay your traffic citation at this point in the process.
Is A Court Appearance Required?
A small number of drivers who receive traffic citations in Mississippi may be required to appear in court. If you fail to comply with this, your officer will not be hesitant about reminding you. Depending on the nature of your crime and your driving record, you may choose to retain an attorney to defend your best interests. If you know you were at fault, it’s best to go the safe route and hire an attorney. If you decide to retain an attorney, he or she will explain the many plea options open to you and which one is most appropriate for your situation.
When it comes to dealing with traffic fines in Mississippi, you have a number of alternatives. Here are a few things to think about:
Option 1 – Pay Your Ticket
Payment choices vary from one jurisdiction to the next. Some counties give you up to 30 days to make restitution for your citation, but most counties require that you pay your fine as soon as possible. In contrast to other states, if you fail to pay your ticket by the due date, you will receive a ten-day written warning in the mail from the court. However, if you continue to fail to react, you will no longer be able to lawfully drive on the roads of Mississippi. You can then prepare to spend more than three hundred dollars to kick-start the tedious and arduous reinstatement procedure, which will take many months.
If you’re paying your citation in person, bring cash with you.
When sending in your payment, make it payable to the clerk of the courts and include a stamped, self-addressed envelope if you would like a receipt as proof of receipt.
Option 2 – Plead Not Guilty and Request Trial
If you have the patience, fighting a traffic citation in Mississippi is a rather simple process. When you receive the ticket, remember to be kind. In order to ensure that you lose in court, don’t offer the police a cause to desire to appear in court. Because Mississippi is a paper-based state, the key to avoiding a conviction for a small offence is to prolong the case as long as possible.
There is a good chance that the cop will not appear since he may be overburdened with paperwork or possibly retired. Allow an attorney to handle your case if you have committed a serious offence. Sit back and wait, because his or her strategy will almost certainly be to delay as well.
Option 3 – Appeal Your Case
When you receive a traffic ticket in Mississippi, you have the right to file a Notice of Appeal with the appropriate local court, asking a hearing on your case. It is essential to retain the services of an attorney to assist you with this, and it will most likely be a time-consuming procedure once again. Your attorney will advise you whether or not it is worthwhile to go through the inconvenience, and he or she may advise you to simply pay the ticket and go on with life. More information may be found in the Mississippi Driver’s Handbook, which is available online.
Option 4 – Take an Online Defensive Driving Course
Mississippi offers a one-time opportunity to complete an online driving course in exchange for which they would remove any violations from your driving record, according to the company (excluding major infractions such as DUIs). Driving school is a no-brainer in Mississippi, as is getting your license. If taking an online defensive driving course appeals to you, you may do it quickly and effortlessly. Take advantage of the fact that a few hours of your time may result in a clean driving record if you have the opportunity.
An online driving school might also assist you in avoiding future traffic violations.
Top 10 HOW MUCH IS A NO INSURANCE TICKET IN MISSISSIPPI Answers
13th of January, 2021 — As a result, a $500 base fine can rapidly balloon to a total of $2,500 if the offense is repeated. Furthermore, if you only get one answer, your license may be suspended for up to four years. The best response: Driving without insurance in Mississippi has a range of consequences, including fines and the suspension of your driving privileges. You have the ability to prevent these effects. (1)… 21st of January, 2021 — If you are discovered driving without insurance in Mississippi, you will be fined $1000 for each offense.
Driving without insurance in Mississippi is punishable by a $1,000 fine as well as the suspension of your driver’s license and car registration for (1)(3) months.
2.STATE OF MISSISSIPPI
Any infraction that does not fall within the scope of this clause. (3). Amount: THERE HAS BEEN NO ASSESSMENT SINCE JULY 1, 2012. $.00. The American Library Association assessment of $50.00 must also be charged.39 pages(4).In this post, we’ll cover: How Much Does a Ticket for Driving Without Insurance Cost in Every State? (Updated in 2021). (2).Dec 2, 2019 — Mississippi — First offense: $478 fine; second offense: $578 fine; third offense: $678 fine.(6).
3.Mississippi Cracks Down on Mandatory Insurance Law
10th of August, 2017 — The following are the current penalties in Mississippi for driving without proof of insurance: A criminal record is defined as follows: As of the 13th of April, 2018, driving(7).
6th of November, 2018 — If drivers are detected driving without evidence of liability insurance, they will be subject to a $500 fine immediately. The perpetrator will also be subjected to a driver’s license suspension(8).
4.How much is a ticket for no insurance in MS? – SidmartinBio
Mississippi Penalties for Driving Without Automobile Insurance on February 24, 2020 Driving without insurance in Mississippi is punishable by a $1,000 fine(9). Mississippi state troopers will issue you a speeding ticket on November 9, 2020. How much will it cost you? Driving without auto insurance in Mississippi is punishable by law. If you are among the ten. 28th of December, 2020 — If you are found driving without proof of insurance for the first time, you may expect to face a fine of $100 to $300 in addition to any other penalties.
20th of September, 2021 — Getting pulled over for speeding has a long-term financial impact on every motorist, regardless of their age or gender.
What is the amount(12).
You might save money by contesting this ticket.
5.Is It Illegal to Drive Without Insurance and What’s The Penalty?
What is the cost of a traffic citation for driving without insurance? Our guide to choosing low-cost auto insurance in Mississippi has been compiled for your convenience. Missouri. (14)… fight or pay your Mississippi traffic ticket, avoid an insurance rate rise, have too many traffic tickets on your driving record, or conduct a serious(15) traffic offense. What is the average increase in insurance rates following a violation for driving without insurance? — This guide will assist you in determining what penalties you may be subject to(16).
6.Ticket Prices – City of Olive Branch MS
Events at the City Court on January 8, 2016. At this moment, there are no planned events to mention. Please get in touch with us. 662-892-9200(17)… Read the most up-to-date information on how much auto insurance coverage you require on September 23, 2021. Driving without proof of insurance in Mississippi has serious consequences. (18) … Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance will be implemented on November 18, 2021. If you are found driving without vehicle insurance in Mississippi, you might face a $1,000 fine and(19).
This implies that you must answer as soon as possible in order to safeguard your driving record and keep your insurance premiums stable.
7.Driving Without a License in Mississippi | DrivingLaws.org
This page describes what constitutes these infractions, what fines may be imposed, and if there are any exceptions to the necessity for a license. Driving without a valid driver’s license. (21)… The following are frequently asked questions about the Municipal Court in Ocean Springs, Mississippi. This lesson is different in that you must pay the price of the ticket as well as an extra fee(22). To find out what the consequences are for driving without insurance in your region, go here. If you do not have additional insurance, you will be responsible for any repair or replacement charges for the rental.
8.Fine Payment | City of Clinton, MS
Payment of Traffic Tickets Prior to the Date of Court Appearance That you have not been convicted of a moving infraction in this state or in any other state within the last(24) months; and. Drivers who fail to produce proof of insurance may be charged with a misdemeanor and fined $500, according to Mississippi Code Section 63-15-4.
Drivers in Mississippi Who Have Received Tickets — Drivers who do not receive citations pay an average of $1,112 in fines each year. increased auto insurance prices due to the fact that many Mississippi(26).
9.Mississippi Defensive Driving – DefensiveDriving.org
1st of December, 2021 — Whether you are required to complete the course in order to have your ticket handled or you opt to do so willingly in order to receive an insurance discount, you will benefit(27). A disclaimer is provided: these codes may not be the most up-to-date versions. Mississippi may have information that is more up to date or accurate. We make no representations, warranties, or assurances regarding(28).
10.How long does a speeding ticket stay on record in Mississippi?
In Mississippi, how much does a no insurance ticket cost? — The state of Mississippi Driving without auto insurance has serious consequences. If you are discovered driving without insurance, you will face serious consequences. (29)… For example, you may be subject to license suspension or revocation if you have certain criminal convictions, receive too many traffic fines, or even for reasons that are unrelated to driving(30). Although not wearing a seatbelt is considered a moving offense, you will not receive any penalty points because there is no point system in place.
- 26th of May, 2021 — Insurance rates can fluctuate substantially from one insurer to another for apparently no reason, and they might change depending on characteristics such as your age, gender, and marital status.
- would need further information about (34) or if you have any queries concerning the penalty for non-compliance.
- Get Your Traffic Ticket Dismissed Earn a discount on your insurance.
- (35)… If you fail to pay traffic citations that have been issued to you, your license will be suspended.
- All motor vehicles operating in Mississippi must meet the requirements of Section 36.
- When you drive without proof of insurance, you’re breaking the law in most states, and you’ll get a ticket.
- (37)… Find out more about Mississippi traffic tickets for driving without insurance right now.
Mississippi Drivers Face a Penalty for Driving Without Insurance, according to WalletHub (2). If you are caught driving without insurance in Mississippi, you will face legal consequences. (3). Insurance for Mississippi Automobiles | FastFree Quotes | Good2Go (4). MISSISSIPPI STATE OF MIND (5). What Is the Cost of a Ticket for Driving Without Insurance in Every State? (By the year 2021. (6). No Proof of Insurance Tickets | Direct Auto | State-by-State Guide | Direct Auto (7). Law on Mandatory Insurance in Mississippi Is Strictly Enforced (8).
- What is the cost of a citation in Mississippi for driving without insurance?
- In Jackson, Mississippi, how much does a no insurance ticket cost?
- What is the cost of a traffic ticket for not having proof of insurance?
- The Implications of a Speeding Ticket on Your Insurance in Mississippi (13).
- DMV.ORG (14).
- Every state has a different penalty for driving without insurance (17).
The Zebra (19).
In Mississippi, traffic tickets are issued by IMPROV® (21).
What happens if you get pulled over while driving without proper insurance?
Payment of a Fine |
Insurance Requirements for Mississippi Automobiles – Nolo (26).
Defensive Driving in Mississippi |
63-15-4 – Insurance card; exemptions; card must be stored in a safe place; card to be.
In Mississippi, how long does a speeding ticket remain on a person’s record?
Driving with a Suspended License in Mississippi is a serious offense (31).
(36). Mississippi Driver’s License Suspended or Revoked Due to Speeding. (37). What You Should Know If You’re Driving Without Insurance Documentation (38). Tickets for driving without insurance in the state of California are subject to legal advice. Category:Insurance
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Mississippi
Violation of the Mississippi Code for Motor Vehicle Safety and Responsibility is classified as a misdemeanor in the state of Mississippi. After just one breach of the vehicle insurance legislation, a driver may be subject to a $500 fine and a one-year driving license suspension, or until he or she can demonstrate that he or she has obtained the required car insurance. The cost of regaining one’s driving privileges will be a financial strain as well.
|Type of Penalty||First Offense|
|Driving Privilege||License suspension for 1 year or until Proof of Insurance is provided|
|Penalties Reduced/Waived||If proof of future financial responsibility (SR-22) is submitted before the hearing, fine will be reduced to $100; If proof of current insurance policy is submitted before the hearing, fine, court costs, and suspension will be waived|
|Reinstatement Requirements||SR-22 to be maintained for 3 years; $25 reinstatement fee plus applicable fees related to renewing a license of varying validity length; and $10 for a suspension related to writing a bad check|
Penalties for driving uninsured in Mississippi
In order to drive in Mississippi, you must have liability insurance in an amount equal to or more than the state’s statutory coverage limits. Failure to present proof of insurance coverage that equals or exceeds the mandatory 25/50/25 limits, in the form of a valid insurance ID card or equivalent proof, may result in you being convicted and punished with a $500 fine and a one-year suspension of your driving privileges, or until you can provide the court with valid proof of insurance. In contrast to other jurisdictions, where the penalties for violating the insurance legislation increase with each subsequent violation, Mississippi simply has a single sentence that applies to both your first and subsequent violations.
When you’re pulled over for a small traffic infringement, or even when you pass through a regular roadblock, police officers may ask for your insurance ID card to verify your coverage.
Waving or dismissing your penalties
This swift decision, on the other hand, does not rule out the possibility of motorists regaining their license. It is possible to decrease your fine to $100 if you are able to provide a recently acquired insurance policy or an SR-22 certificate submitted by your insurance agency on or before the day of your court hearing. If you are able to demonstrate that you had an active insurance coverage at the time of the citation, your fine, court fees, and suspension will be waived, and your case will be dismissed.
Reinstatement procedures and fees
Another method by which the state of Mississippi attempts to persuade you to cease driving without insurance is by increasing your fines when your driving privileges are restored. In order to get your license reinstated, you will need to present the court with an SR-22 form completed by your insurance company. If the court finds that this is sufficient, you will be required to maintain the SR-22 for a period of three years without a single lapse in your policy’s premium payments. In addition, you will be required to pay a $25 reinstatement charge.
If you’re paying your fines and fees with a check, be sure the check is legitimate before mailing it in. In addition, if your check bounces while you are making these reinstatement payments, the State will impose a $10 charge.
Re-applying for auto insurance in Mississippi
A misdemeanor violation of Mississippi insurance law will result in a blemish on your driving record, which will be difficult to erase. Car insurance companies will notice this and will classify you as a motorist who is too risky to insure on their policies. However, even if you intend to acquire an insurance coverage in order to prevent getting convicted again, you may be refused by the carriers in the voluntary market, where you will have a better chance of obtaining the cheapest Mississippi auto insurance rates.
As long as you have a valid Mississippi driver’s license and a motor vehicle that is currently registered in the state, the Mississippi Automobile Insurance Plan (MSAIP) can assist you in obtaining auto insurance.
Driving on a Suspended License in Mississippi
As in all jurisdictions, motorists can lose their driving privileges for a variety of different reasons in Mississippi, as well as in other states. For example, you might lose your driving privileges if you have certain criminal convictions, receive too many traffic fines, or even for reasons that are unrelated to driving. If you are discovered operating a vehicle when your license is suspended or revoked, you will almost certainly face misdemeanor criminal charges.
Reasons for Suspension or Revocation
A driver’s license in Mississippi can be suspended or revoked for a variety of different reasons, according to state law. For example, these are some of the reasons why your license may be suspended (and you may lose your driving rights temporarily):
- Possessing a felony conviction for certain controlled drug offenses
- Being the driver of an accident that resulted in death, injury, or significant property damage
- Driving in a reckless or negligent manner on a regular basis
- Have been convicted of serious traffic offenses frequently enough that the state believes you disrespect traffic laws and disregard the safety of others
- Are incompetent to operate a motor vehicle
- Have been convicted of driving under the influence
- Have refused to submit to an alcohol test in violation of the state’s implied consent requirements
- And have failed to pay child support
If you are guilty of any of the following offenses, your license may be revoked (and your driving privileges terminated).
- Three convictions for reckless driving within 12 months
- Vehicular murder
- Use of vehicle in conduct of a felony
- Refusal to stop after an accident that results in someone’s death or injury
- Or three convictions for vehicular homicide within 12 months
But keep in mind that these are only limited lists of the grounds for suspension and revocation. There are a variety of different scenarios that might result in the termination of driving privileges.
Reinstating Your License
After your term of suspension or revocation has passed, you may be required to pay fees or comply with other requirements before you are permitted to drive lawfully again. Reinstatement costs $100 in most cases ($175 if the suspension was based on an implied consent violation) and is subject to certain restrictions.
Charges for Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License
In the majority of cases, if you drive while your license is suspended or revoked, you will be charged with an amisdemeanor offence. A conviction can result in a sentence ranging from two days to six months in prison and penalties ranging from $200 to $500.
Legal Help for Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License
Driving after a suspension or revocation is a severe infraction that carries hefty penalties. It is critical that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible if you have been arrested for one of these charges. The advice of an attorney who has dealt with these sorts of allegations in the past can help you understand how the law relates to your circumstances and assist you determine what to do next.
Getting A Speeding Ticket In Mississippi
Any time you go behind the wheel, you face the chance of being involved in a traffic violation.
This is something that may happen when driving in Mississippi. If you receive a speeding ticket in Mississippi, the information provided below might assist you in determining your next steps.
Mississippi Speeding Ticket
In the state of Mississippi, there is no defined penalties for exceeding the speed limit. Instead, the amount of the fee changes depending on the county you are prosecuted in. Aside from that, levies and court costs differ from one county to the next. For further information on the penalty you are subjected to, you should see your specific ticket. There will be a lot of crucial information on your ticket, so keep it safe. The charge against you will be specified in detail on the ticket you get.
Learn more about how to pay this fine by visiting this page.
It’s possible that none of these alternatives will be available to you.
In addition to a fine, you may be subject to other penalties. Motor vehicle infractions in Mississippi are subject to further levies by the state. The assessments are in the form of penalties. The money collected from these penalties is used to fund state and local services. They also differ according on the jurisdiction in which you are charged with the crime. A point system for drivers does not exist in the state of Mississippi, unlike the state of Connecticut. However, if you are found guilty of a traffic offence, this information will be recorded on your driving record.
If you engage in a defensive driving course, the court may be willing to dismiss your speeding ticket penalty under certain circumstances.
Challenging the Charge
You have the option of entering a not guilty plea to the traffic ticket. This indicates that you intend to contest the speeding ticket. This will necessitate your appearing in person in the county where you were accused and presenting your case. If you want to contest the ticket, consulting with an attorney is a wise idea. In order to obtain further information about a Mississippi speeding ticket, please contact our office. Your inquiries will be answered, and we will put you in touch with an experienced Mississippi traffic violation attorney.
2010 Mississippi Code : TITLE 63 – MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC REGULATIONS : : Chapter 11 – Implied Consent Law. : 63-11-40 – Driving while driving license or privilege cancelled, suspended or revoked.
Driving while one’s driving license or privilege has been cancelled, suspended, or revoked is prohibited under Section 63-11-40. Upon conviction, any person whose driver’s license or driving privilege has been cancelled, suspended, or revoked pursuant to the provisions of this chapter and who drives any motor vehicle on the highways, streets, or public roads of this state while such license or driving privilege has been cancelled, suspended, or revoked is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than forty-eight (48) hours nor more than six (6) months, as well as a fine of For an additional six (6) months, the commissioner of public safety must suspend any individual convicted under the provisions of this section from possessing a driver’s license or exercising any driving privileges.
Any such suspension must commence at the conclusion of the initial cancellation, suspension, or revocation and continue indefinitely afterwards.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most up-to-date versions available at this time.
Neither we nor the state make any representations or warranties as to the accuracy, completeness, or suitability of the material included on this site or on any other site to which it is connected. Please refer to official sources for information.
New Mississippi law carries heftier punishment for ignored traffic tickets
SOUTHAVEN, Miss. (WMC) – The town of Southhaven, Mississippi, is a popular tourist destination. Drivers in Mississippi should be on the lookout. A relatively recent state legislation imposes harsher penalties on drivers who fail to comply with traffic summons. It will no longer result in a suspension of your driving privileges. Drivers will now be issued with a bench warrant for their actions. “Because a bench warrant is for an endless period of time, which we have been working towards for a long time, they do not expire like an ordinary warrant.” When it comes to bench warrants, there is no statute of limitations,” stated Deputy Chief of Police Mark Little of the Southaven Police Department.
- House Bill 1352 reduces the severity of punishments for those Mississippians who have been suspected or convicted of crimes by prohibiting the immediate suspension of driver’s licenses for failure to pay fines or for minor drug possession, among other things.
- From then, you have two options: either pay the fine or contest the ticket at the next court date, which is the most common.
- They will think, now that the new legislation is in effect, that they are no longer required to collect the money, that they cannot suspend my license, and that everything is going to be OK.
- According to the Local of Southaven, the amount of drivers who refuse to pay traffic fines has resulted in a backlog of cases in the city court.
Tickets Received in Another State
If you have a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) or were operating a Commercial Motor Vehicle at the time of the ticket’s issuance, the tables below will not apply to you.
Drivers License Compact States
It is possible that you may be issued a ticket in any of the states shown in gray below, and the conviction will be recorded on your driving record, with points being awarded in accordance with Nebraska law. The complete list of Compact States may be seen here.
- Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington
Nonresident Violator Compact States
If you are issued a ticket in any of the states highlighted in gray below and do not comply with the requirements of the citation, your Nebraska operating rights will be suspended forFailure to Comply, and your driving privileges will be suspended forFailure to Comply. The complete list of Nonresident Violator Compact States is available here.
- Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Driving with a Suspended or Expired License or No License at all?
Do not operate a vehicle while driving without a valid license or while driving with a license that has been suspended, revoked, or expired. Getting behind the wheel without a valid driver’s license is punishable by law in every state in the country. These punishments might vary from fines to having your vehicle towed to criminal jail and anything in between. The repercussions of “failure to produce” can be costly, even if you hold a legitimate license to do business.
(However, the majority of the time, they are dismissed when evidence is produced.) Every state has its own set of rules and regulations. The majority of states will raise the penalty if the lack of a license was a deliberate infringement.
What if it’s a first-time offense?
Has the offender committed the crime for the first time without previous knowledge (for example, when operating with a suspended license)? It is likely that you will be penalized. According on the state and the number of acquired crimes, fines can range from $50 to $25,000 or more. If you have never had a driver’s license or if you forget to renew your license, you will most likely be charged with a misdemeanor. By repairing the problem and maintaining a clean record, this may frequently be lowered to an infraction.
If you merely fail to present a valid driver’s license, you will most likely be charged with an offense.
It is always simpler to deal with the police officer if you are not involved in an accident and have a second form of identification.
- Not submitting an application for a license in a new state where you are residing within the time limit
- Driving with a license that has expired, been revoked, or been suspended
- Having never obtained a driver’s license
- Not having your driver’s license with you at all times when driving
In some places, if you are arrested for DUI while driving without a license, the penalties can be upgraded to an aggravated DUI offense. Increased penalties are imposed for aggravated DUI. These include the possibility of jail time and a lifelong criminal record. If you are driving with a suspended or revoked license, you should expect to be arrested. In addition, there is a significant risk that the police will impound your vehicle rather than leaving it at the scene of the accident. You will extend the duration of the suspension or revocation by your actions.
Suspended – Revoked License in Mississippi
Unlike normal licenses, CDLs are more readily revoked than ordinary licenses. This is due to the fact that commercial drivers are held to exceptionally high standards. The length of your MS CDL disqualification/suspension, as well as any additional penalties, may vary based on the nature of the violation. Please call or visit your local Mississippi Department of Public Safety office for further information regarding your individual circumstances. Federal laws govern your commercial driver’s license (CDL) and your permission to operate a commercial vehicle.
You may be subject to one or more of the following disqualifications:
- DUI or drug-related offenses are prohibited. A blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04 percent or above
- Refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Using a vehicle in the commission of a criminal
- Operating a commercial vehicle when your commercial driver’s license is suspended, revoked, or disqualified
The first violation for a severe infraction occurred while carrying hazardous items over a period of three years. Second violation for a big offense in one’s life. For several major traffic infractions within three years, a sentence of 60 to 120 days may be imposed. The following are examples of violations:
- Speeding at least 15 miles per hour beyond the posted limit
- Driving without regard for the consequences
- Driving without the appropriate endorsements
- Driving without a valid license Lane shifts that be erratic
- Keeping up with the Joneses
- Driving without a commercial driver’s license
For railroad highway grade crossing offences, the penalty ranges from 60 days to one year, depending on the amount of offenses you’ve committed within three years. The following are examples of violations:
- Failure to slow down or come to a complete halt near train rails
- Not having adequate room to clear the tracks when crossing the trains is dangerous. The act of disobeying railroad crossing signals.
For breaking out-of-service orders, you might face a sentence ranging from 180 days to 5 years in prison, depending on how many infractions you’ve committed in the previous 10 years. NOTE: Additional court penalties, including as jail time, fines, and completion of an alcohol/drug safety education program, may be imposed in addition to the above. You must tell your employer within 30 days of incurring a traffic citation, and you must notify your employer before the end of the next day if your MS CDL is suspended, revoked, or otherwise rendered ineligible.
NOTE: You must tell your employer within 30 days after getting a traffic violation conviction or by the end of the following business day after receiving a CDL disqualification notification, whichever is sooner.