Driving Age by State
|State||Learner’s Permit||Restricted License|
|Arizona||15, 6 mos.||16|
|California||15, 6 mos.||16|
How old do you have to be to get drivers license?
- The minimum age to get a driver’s license is dependent on state law, but is most often between 14 to 17 years old. Most states also have other requirements, such as driver’s education and driving experience, in order for a citizen to obtain a license.
Can you drive at 16 in the UK?
Overview. You can apply for a provisional driving licence when you’re 15 years and 9 months old. You can start driving a car when you’re 17. You can drive a car when you are 16 if you get, or have applied for, the enhanced rate of the mobility component of Personal Independence Payment (PIP).
Can you start driving at 16?
If you want to drive a car, you’ll need to be at least 17 before you can do so on UK roads. There are, however, exceptions to the age limit. You can get a provisional licence and take your car driving test at 16 if you receive the Personal Independence Payment (PIP) that’s made to long-term sick or disabled people.
What states can you drive at 14?
You can obtain a learner’s permit in Alaska, Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, North and South Dakota at just 14 years old.
Can you get your permit at 14 in Louisiana?
You must be at least 15 to get your learner’s permit in Louisiana. Complete a learner’s permit application and have it signed by a parent or guardian. Collect the necessary ID documents and bring them to your local Louisiana OMV office.
Can a 14 year old drive UK?
How old do you have to be to drive in Britain? You can apply for a provisional licence from the age of 15 years and nine months. But you have to wait until you turn 16 before riding a moped or light quad bike and 17 before driving a car on a public road in Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
What age can I drive till?
There is no upper age limit for driving a car. However, all drivers have to renew their driving licence when they reach the age of 70 and every three years from then on.
What is the best car for a 16 year old?
The best cars for teenagers
- Honda Civic (2012-2016)
- Toyota Camry (2012-2014)
- Hyundai Sonata (2011 or newer)
- Nissan Altima (2014 and newer)
- Volkswagen Jetta (2016-2017)
- Ford Focus (2015-2017)
- Ford Escape (2018-2019)
Can you do your theory test at 16?
You can take the theory test from your 17th birthday onwards. You can take it from your 16th birthday if you get, or have applied for, the enhanced rate of the mobility component of Personal Independence Payment (PIP).
What cars can I drive at 17?
6 Good First Cars for a 17 Year Old
- Stylish SEAT Ibiza. There’s loads of room for you and your mates in the SEAT Ibiza and more than enough tech to impress them!
- Versatile VW Polo.
- Vibrant Vauxhall Corsa.
- Fab Ford Fiesta.
- Hot Hyundai i10.
- Funky Fiat 500.
Can a 13 year old drive?
You may let a 13 year old drive on YOUR PRIVATE property, but not in PUBLIC. Each state has its own driving laws.
Can 15 year olds drive?
Teens wishing to drive must first obtain a learner’s permit from the California Department of Motor Vehicles. They can do this after they have completed an approved drivers’ education course and reaching the age of 15 years and six months. The course should include at least 30 hours of classroom instruction.
Should 13 year olds be allowed to drive?
Kids should not drive when they’re thirteen because young teenagers have a LOT to learn about driving and can be bad idea if those young teenagers get hurt. Letting kids drive this age is a really bad idea. They may crash into other cars, trees, or other, things that can harm them.
Can 15 year olds drive at night?
During the first 12 months after you are licensed, you cannot drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. and cannot transport passengers under 20 years old, unless accompanied by a California-licensed parent or guardian, a California-licensed driver 25 years old or older, or a licensed or certified driving instructor.
Can a 15 year old drive alone in Louisiana?
A minor 15 or 16 years old may be issued a Class E Learner’s Permit in Louisiana. This license enables the teen to drive while accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian, licensed adult at least 21 or older or a licensed sibling who is at least 18.
How can a color blind driver compensate?
Drivers Ed Unit 4Vhow color-blind drivers can compensate for their condition. they can compensate for their condition by using special glasses and also remembering the order of lights in a traffic signal.
Driving Age by State 2021
Each state in the United States has its own set of driving regulations. Speed restrictions, mobile phone use, and seat belt legislation are examples of such regulations. Despite the existence of legislation designed to improve road safety, certain states continue to have the worst drivers. States have implemented graded licensing systems to assist teenagers in learning and adapting to safe driving practices. Each state develops its own driving regulations, and the minimum driving age varies significantly from one state to the next.
A driver’s license in their state of residence is necessary, however all states accept each other’s licenses as legitimate forms of identification for non-resident age requirements when traveling outside of their home state.
After seeing how beneficial graduated licensing systems have been, states are contemplating implementing similar programs for older youths (18 to 20 years old) who are becoming first-time drivers in the near future.
Some states require all drivers to complete some form of driver’s education before they can acquire a learner’s permit, while others do not.
- In most cases, restricted licenses forbid the driver from driving at night after a specified hour or from transporting more than one passenger under a specific age.
- Some jurisdictions require that the motorist has not been convicted of a traffic violation while driving under a limited license in order to be eligible for a full license before they will issue one.
- In other places, such as California, drivers must hold their restricted license for at least one year before they are eligible for a full license.
- Any state has different minimum and maximum ages for drivers to receive a learner’s permit, with the youngest being 14 years old and the highest being 16 years old.
Restricted licenses can be obtained between the ages of 14.5 and 17 years, while full licenses can be obtained between the ages of 16 and 18 years.
Special Section – Minors
A minor is defined as a person under the age of eighteen. Minors must have their applications (for a DL or for any change in DL class) signed by their parent(s) or legal guardian before they may be processed and approved (s). Each parent or guardian must sign the document if they have joint custody. It is important to note that minors are not permitted to work as bus drivers for money or to drive a school bus transporting students. You must meet the following requirements in order to obtain a permit:
- Be at least 151 and a half years old
- The Driver LicenseID Card Application (DL 44/eDL 44) must be completed in its whole. Obtain the signature of your parent(s) or guardian(s) on the application
You can complete the Driver LicenseID Card Application online, and your parent(s) or legal guardian(s) can electronically sign the document.
- Pass the knowledge test with flying colors. To retake the test if you fail it, you must wait seven days (1 week), not including the day on which the test was failed, before trying again. If you are between the ages of 1512 and 1712 years, you will be required to present proof that you:
- Are enrolled in and actively engaged in an approved integrated driver education/driving training program OR have successfully completed driver education (Certificate of Completion of Driver Education) (Certificate of Enrollment in an IntegratedDriver Education and Driver Training Program). The Provisional Licensing (FFDL 19) Fast Factsbrochure contains further information.
The provisional permit is only valid until you begin behind-the-wheel driver training with an instructor or until you reach the age of 1712 (whichever comes first). If you have a permit and want to drive outside of California, be sure you are aware of the licensing requirements of the state or nation you will be visiting. If you are at least 1712 years old, you may be eligible to receive a driver’s license without having to complete driver education or driving training courses. However, you will not be able to obtain a DL until you are 18 years old.
Minors’ Permit Restrictions
Your permit will not be valid until you commence driving instruction, at which point your teacher will sign the permit to confirm that it has been validated. The following individuals must supervise your practice sessions: your parent or guardian, a qualified California driver (including a driving instructor), your spouse or an adult who is 25 years old or older. The individual must be seated near enough to you to be able to take control of the car at any point. A provisional permit does not grant you the right to drive alone at any time, not even to a DMV field office to take a driver’s examination.
Minors’ Driver License Requirements
- To qualify, you must be at least 16 years old and must demonstrate that you have completed both driving education and driver training. A minimum of six months’ experience with either a California teaching permit or an instruction permit from another state is required (see the Out of State Minors section below). Provide your parent(s) or guardian(s) with their signature(s) on your instruction permit, confirming that you have completed 50 hours of supervised driving practice (of which 10 hours must be at night), as described in the California Parent-Teen Training Guide (available online) (DL 603). In order to obtain this brochure, please visit the teen website or call 1-800-777-0133. Pay an application fee that is non-refundable
The fee is valid for a period of 12 months. If you do not complete all of the requirements within 12 months, your application will be considered invalid and you will be required to reapply.
- Perform satisfactorily on each of the relevant knowledge examinations. if you fail the knowledge exam three times, your application will be deemed invalid and you will be required to reapply
- Pass the driving exam on the first try (within three tries)
To be retested after failing your driving test, you must pay a retest fee and arrange a subsequent exam, as well as wait 14 days (2 weeks) from the date of your failure before being retested. If you fail the driving test three times, your application is no longer valid, and you must submit a new application for consideration. Once you have obtained your provisional driving license, you are permitted to drive on your own as long as you do not have any accidents or traffic infractions on your driving record.
and 5 a.m.
You must be accompanied by a California-licensed parent or guardian, a California-licensed driver 25 years or older, or a licensed or certified driving instructor during the first 12 months after receiving your license.
When you reach the age of eighteen, the “provisional” portion of your driver’s license comes to an end. You have the option of keeping your provisional picture driver’s license or paying a price for a duplicate driver’s license that does not contain the term “provisional.”
Exceptions – Minors’ Driver License Restrictions
For situations where appropriate transit is not available and it is necessary to drive, the law provides the following exceptions: For the following exceptions (emancipated minors are exempt from this need), you must keep a signed statement in your possession outlining the necessity to drive as well as the date when this driving necessity will end:
- When there are no feasible transit alternatives available due to a medical necessity, driving may be the only option. The note must be signed by a physician and include the diagnosis as well as an estimate of when the patient will recover. Schooling or activity that has been approved by the school. The message must be signed by the principal, dean, or designee of the school
- And Employment is required, as is the requirement to operate a car as part of your job responsibilities. The memo must be signed by the employer who is confirming the employee’s employment. The need of transporting a member of one’s personal family. A note signed by your parent(s) or legal guardian(s) is necessary, indicating the cause for the need to drive the immediate family member and the anticipated end date of the need to drive the immediate family member.
Exception: These criteria do not apply to a juvenile who has been granted his or her independence. Children who have been granted emancipation must present the Department of Motor Vehicles with court documentation proving that the petition for emancipation has been granted, as well as a California Insurance Proof Certificate (SR 22/SR 1P) form in lieu of their parent(s) or guarantor(s) (s). Even if a child is legally emancipated, they are still subject to the requirements of integrated driver education and training programs.
To obtain a basic Class C driver license, out-of-state minor applicants must meet the requirements outlined in the “Application Requirements for a Basic Class C Driver License” section, as well as have their parent(s) and/or legal guardian(s) sign the Driver LicenseID Card Application (DL 44/eDL 44).
Out-Of-State Minors’ Permit
To get a basic Class C driver license, out-of-state minor applicants must meet the requirements listed in the “Application Requirements for a Basic Class C Driver License” section, as well as have their parent(s) and/or legal guardian(s) sign the Driver LicenseID Card Application(DL 44/eDL 44).
Out-Of-State Minors’ Driver License
As part of the application procedure, you will be required to submit your out-of-state driver’s license and complete a knowledge exam. Holders with out-of-state driver’s licenses are usually exempt from taking the behind-the-wheel driving exam. Any sort of DL application, however, may be subject to a behind-the-wheel driving test by the Department of Motor Vehicles. In accordance with California law, out-of-state minor applicants are subject to all temporary limitations during the first year of their driver’s license or until they are 18 years old.
Actions Against The Provisional Driver License
The average number of crashes per teen driver is double that of an adult driver, although travelling half the distance. The collision rate per mile traveled by teenagers is four times higher than the collision rate per mile traveled by adult drivers. New drivers die in traffic accidents because of a fatal mix of factors including their inexperience behind the wheel, lack of knowledge with the vehicle, and a desire to push themselves and the car to the maximum.
Keeping Your Provisional Driver License
The DMV will keep track of your driving record and take the following steps if you are involved in a collision or violate the law:
- If you receive a traffic citation and do not appear in court, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your driving privileges until you appear in court. Within 12 months, if you are involved in one “at fault” collision or are convicted of a traffic law infraction, the DMV will issue you a warning letter. Within 12 months, you are prohibited from driving unless you are accompanied by your licensed parent or another licensed adult who is at least 25 years old
- If you are involved in two “at fault” collisions or convictions (or a combination of both) for a traffic law violation, you are prohibited from driving for 30 days. If you are found guilty of three “at fault” crashes or convictions (or any combination thereof) for a traffic law violation within a 12-month period, your license will be suspended for six months and you will be placed on one year of probation. During your probationary period, if you are involved in four or more “at fault” crashes or are convicted of four or more traffic law offenses with a point count, you will be suspended again (traffic law violations settled in juvenile court are also reported to the DMV). You will lose your driver’s license for one year if you are convicted of underage use of alcohol or use of a controlled substance when between the ages of 13 and 21 years. If you do not have a driver’s license, the court directs the Department of Motor Vehicles to postpone your ability to apply for one. Additionally, you may be compelled to undergo a DUI program.
Any limitation, suspension, or probation will remain in effect for the duration of the whole period after your 18th birthday. It is possible that further, more severe penalties will be taken if your driving record merits them. It is important to remember that if your driving privileges have been suspended or revoked, you are not permitted to drive in California.
Minors and Cell Phones
- Using a mobile phone or other electronic wireless communications device while driving is against the law for anybody under the age of majority. Do not pick up the phone or send or react to text messages. Fines are levied on those who are convicted of violating this law.
Except in an emergency circumstance, you may only use your mobile phone to call law enforcement, a health-care practitioner, the fire department, or any emergency body while you are driving.
Driving Age by State – Learner’s Permit Limits – United States
Getting a Driver’s License: Driving Age by State You may be unclear as to what the legal driving age is in your state. If this is the case, don’t be concerned; keeping track of the numerous ages at which driving privileges are awarded might be difficult. If you live in a state where you may obtain a learner’s permit, limited driver’s license, or an unrestricted driver’s license, you may be able to do so at different ages depending on the requirements of your state. For your convenience, we have prepared the following information about the legal driving age in each state:
Learner’s Permit – Driving Age by State
After earning your learner’s permit, you will be allowed the privilege of driving on public roads for the first time. Your learner’s permit, which is a form of temporary license, allows you to drive under the supervision of a licensed driver under regulated conditions so that you can obtain the experience and knowledge necessary to be a safe, responsible, and polite driver. It is possible to apply for your learner’s permit when you reach the following ages:
- Alabama– 15 years
- Arizona– 14 years
- California– 15 years, 6 months
- Colorado– 15 years
- Connecticut– 16 years
- Delaware– 16 years
- Florida– 15 years
- Georgia– 15 years
- Hawaii– 15 years, 6 months
- Idaho– 14 years, 6 months
- Illinois– 15 years
- Indiana– 15 years
- Iowa– 14 years
- Kansas– 14 years
- Kentucky– 16 years
- Louisiana– 15 years
- Maryland– 15 years
- Massachusetts– 16 years
The fact that every state is different, and that every state has its own driver’s education requirements, should not be overlooked. Important to keep in mind is that you must have your learner’s permit for a minimum of six months before you can apply for your limited driver’s license in most states. You should speak with your state’s department of motor vehicles if you want to find out more about the nuances of licensing in your particular state.
Complete Your Driver’s Ed Requirements Online!
At Virtual Drive USA, we provide state-approved driver’s education classes as well as useful study aids to assist you on your journey to becoming a licensed driver in the United States of America. Taking these courses can spare you from having to attend in-person sessions or from failing your licensing exam on the first attempt. Make use of these opportunities while you still have the chance! It was simple, enjoyable, and convenient to use Virtual Drive! I aced my test with flying colors and thoroughly enjoyed myself throughout!
- Virtual Driver Ed Instructor was a fantastic course for me.
- How quickly everything went was beyond my comprehension, and collecting my certificate of completion was a breeze.
- – Erica C., a.k.a.
- Not expecting driver’s education to be so convenient, I was surprised.
- This is something I would suggest to anyone who is attempting to complete their driver’s education!
- The training provided me with a wealth of fresh information that I required in order to keep up to date with new regulations and processes that had been enacted.
- – Kathleen A., Ph.D.
- He suffers from serious learning impairments, and this course was an excellent fit for him in this regard.
- Daniel G.
I simply wanted to express my gratitude for Virtual Drive’s excellent service. It was particularly difficult for me to attend actual lessons since I was a busy parent who was also attending school and doing other things. Thank you very much, Kevin! – The new L.
Get a driver license
Residents of New York State who are 16 years old or older can apply for a New York driving license.
Step 1:Determine what license class and type you need
- D-Operator – this is what the majority of individuals have (or DJ-Junior Operator if they are under the age of 18)
- A, B, and C are commercial (CDL) designations (required to drive tractor trailers, buses etc.) discover more about CDLs M- Motorcycle – find out about motorcycle licenses and how to get one. E-Taxi or Livery-discover more about the requirements for taxi and livery licenses.
See the information on the many types of driver’s licenses.
- Beginning on May 3, 2023, you will not be allowed to board a domestic aircraft (inside the United States) or access certain federal facilities. The face of the card states, “NOT FOR FEDERAL PURPOSES.”
- It may be used to board a domestic (inside the United States) aircraft
- It has a white star in a black circle on the front
- And it has a black circle on the back.
- A domestic flight (inside the United States)
- A land border crossing (from Canada, Mexico, and several Caribbean nations)
- Features a U.S. flag on the front
- Costs an extra $30
- Can be used to board a domestic aircraft (within the United States)
A domestic flight (inside the United States); a land border crossing (from Canada, Mexico, and several Caribbean nations); features a U.S. flag on the front; costs an extra $30; can be used to board an international flight (within the United States);
Step 2:Get a learner permit
The DMV requires that you must apply for a learner permit and pass the written exam before you can receive your license. Reading the New York State Driver’s Manual and completing practice tests are two ways to prepare for the exam. Find out how to obtain a learner’s permit. See the DMV’s location, procedures, and reservation information by clicking on the link below.
Step 3:Practice driving and take a pre-licensing course
Once you have obtained your learner’s permit, you must engage in supervised driving practice as well as a pre-licensing course or a driver education course before taking your road test. Locate a driving school where you may practice supervised driving. Find out how to enroll in a pre-licensing course and prepare for your road test in this article.
Step 4: Pass a road test
Once you have obtained your learner’s permit, you must engage in supervised driving practice as well as a pre-licensing course or a driver education course before taking your road examination. To learn to drive under supervision, locate a driving school. Find out how to enroll in a pre-licensing course and prepare for your road test in this lesson.
In order to pass the road test, you must have supervised driving practice and complete either a pre-licensing course or a driver education course. Locate a driving school where you can get some supervised practice. Find out how to enroll in a pre-licensing course and prepare for your road examination.
Replace, renew, restore, or exchange
Learn how to renew your driver’s license.
Learn how to reinstate your driving privileges and reapply for your driver’s license once your license has been revoked.
Exchange out-of-state license
If you have a driver’s license from another state, learn how to exchange your out-of-state driver’s license here. If you are visiting or relocating to New York from another nation (abroad), check the information on visiting or relocating to New York.
If you are under 18
You must comprehend the Graduated Driver License (GDL) Law and the restrictions that apply to drivers under the age of eighteen if you are a driver under the age of eighteen or the parent of a driver under the age of eighteen.
Senior license before 18
For those over the age of 17, if you already have a junior driver license or limited junior driver license and have successfully completed an approved state-approved high school driver education course or college driver education course, you may be eligible for a senior driver license (Class D or M). You must go to a DMV office in order to convert your junior license to a senior license. You must have your junior license as well as the Student Certificate of Completion (MV-285), which you got from your instructor, with you.
If you do not upgrade your junior license to a senior license before reaching the age of eighteen, you will be subject to the limitations that apply to junior drivers until you reach the age of eighteen.
This is true even if you have the completion certificate with you. You can also provide your certificate together with your junior permit to the licensing examiner when you take your road examination.
When you turn 18
In the event that you are not qualified for a senior license before the age of 18, you will automatically get a senior license in the mail after you reach the age of 18.
Following the successful completion of your road test or restoration of a revoked driving license, you will be subject to a 6-month probationary term. If you are guilty of any of the following during this period, your license will be suspended for 60 days.
- Taking part in a race against the clock driving when intoxicated
- Too close follow-up
- Using a mobile phone as an example using a portable electronic device (such as a smart phone, tablet computer, navigational aids, or an MP3 player)
- Any two additional moving infractions
After the suspension term has ended, you will be subjected to a second six-month probationary period. You will lose your driving privileges for at least 6 months if you are convicted of one of the offences listed above (or two additional moving infractions) during your second probation period. When the revocation period is through, you will be required to serve another six-month probationary period.
Your first license is valid for 5 years
Upon the completion of the suspension, you will be placed on an additional six-month probationary term. You will lose your driving privileges for at least six months if you are convicted of one of the offences listed above (or two additional moving infractions) during your second probation period. The probationary term will be extended for another six months once the revocation period is completed.
Drivers from other countries
If you have a valid driver’s license from another nation, you are permitted to drive in New York State. You will not be required to apply for a New York State driving license until you become a resident of the state. 1If you want to obtain a New York driver license (by following the procedures outlined on this page), after passing your road test, you must present your international driver license to the DMV road test examiner who will record your results.
Still haven’t found what you’re looking for?
See a comprehensive list of all driver’s license subjects.
- 1.According to Section 250 (5) of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law, a resident is defined as: “This section defines the word “resident” as one who resides in this state with the goal of making it his or her permanent residence. Presumptive proof of residency in this state must be established by the fact that a person has maintained a place of habitation in this state for at least ninety days during that time.” It is considered “presumptive proof” that you have lived in New York State for 90 days if you have lived in a house, a residence, an apartment, a room, or other comparable location for at least 90 days during that time. This can be used as evidence by a police officer to give you a traffic citation if you are driving in New York State without a valid New York State driver license or vehicle registration card. A court will evaluate the legislation as well as the evidence of your purpose before determining whether or not you are a resident of New York. If you pay taxes in another state or your children attend school in another state, a judge will examine these factors while determining whether or not you intend to make New York State your “fixed and permanent” home. Students from other states or from other countries who attend school in New York State are generally not regarded to be citizens of the state, according to this statute. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) does not determine whether you are a resident of New York State, whether you must get a New York State driving license, or if you must register your car in New York State.
List of minimum driving ages – Wikipedia
|State||Minimum driving age||Notes|
|Austria||17 for cars 15 for mopeds||(Start with 15,5 under L17 attendant driving training|
|Belgium||18 16 for mopeds|
|Bulgaria||1816 for mopeds|
|Czech Republic||18 15 for mopeds|
|Denmark||24 for heavy bus21 for heavy truck 17 for cars15 for mopeds, quads and snowmobiles*||The minimum age for driving a car without supervision is 18.The minimum driving age for heavy truck and heavy bus can go down to 18, if the license is obtained during military service * It is only possible to obtain a license for snowmobiles on Greenland.|
|Estonia||16 (14 for mopeds)||Driving age for cars is 16 with supervision.Unrestricted licence available at 18.|
|Finland||18 for cars (17 with exception permit)15 (mopeds, micro cars, tractors)|
|France||18 (15 with supervision)||Driving age for cars is 15with supervision. Unrestricted licence available at 18|
|Germany||17||Driving age for cars is 17 with supervision. Unrestricted licence available at 18. Licenses for mopeds25 km/h are available at 15, for scooters45 km/h and motorcycles under 126ccm at 16.|
|Greece||17||Driving age for cars is 17 with supervision.Unrestricted license is available at 18.|
|Hungary||17 16 for motorcycles under 125ccm 14 for vehicles under 50ccm||Driving age for cars is 17 with supervision. Unrestricted license is available at 18.|
|Iceland||16||Driving age for cars is 16 with supervision. Unrestricted licence available at 17.|
|Ireland||17||16 for work vehicles, tractors etc. and motorbikes125cc|
|Italy||17||Driving 17 with supervision of a person under 60 years in possession of full B licence (or superior). Unrestricted licence available at 18.|
|Latvia||18 for cars(B), trailers(C1, BE, C1E),/ 24 motorcycles (A), / 21 motorcycles(A2) 16 for motorcycles(A1), resting boats 14 for mopeds(M) 10 for bicycle||16 for cars(B), 21 for motorcycles(A2), trailers(C1, BE, C1E), 16 for motorcycles(A1), 14 for mopeds(M) – if supervised by a person holding a B category licence for at least three years (also known as training driving)|
|Lithuania||18 for cars15 for mopeds|
|Luxembourg||16 for motorcycles 18 for cars||Driving age for low power motorcycles and tractors 16. Driving licence for cars available at 18.|
|Netherlands||17 for cars 16 for mopeds and tractors||Driving age for cars is 17 with supervision. Driving lessons available at 16½. Unrestricted licence available at 18.|
|Norway||18 for cars 16 for mopeds and light motorcycles|
|Poland||18 16 for motorcycles up to 125 cc 14 for mopeds and quads|
|Portugal||18 for cars16 for motorcycles|
|Romania||18 16 for motorcycles up to 125 cc|
|Slovakia||17||Driving age for cars is 17 with supervision. Unrestricted licence available at 18.|
|Slovenia||16 for cars and motorcycles||Driving age for cars is 16 with supervision. Unrestricted licence available at 18.|
|Spain||15 for mopeds and quads16 for motorcycles up to 125 cc18 for general licence|
|Sweden||18 for cars15/16 for mopeds and tractors||Driving age for cars is 16 with supervision. Unrestricted licence available at 18.|
|Switzerland||Driving age for cars is 17 with supervision. 14 for mopeds and tractors|
|United Kingdom||17 (cars)16 (mopeds and tractors)(cars if disabled and in receipt ofPIPorDLA) 16 (Light Quadricycle)|
What it takes to get a drivers license around the US
The process of obtaining a driver’s license varies based on where you live in the United States. Bret Hartman/The Associated Press National Safety Council and The Allstate Foundation promotional photographs. Obtaining your driver’s license is a life milestone, but it is also a time-consuming procedure. Most states have some type of graded license scheme in place to guarantee that you are prepared to be on the road before you get your license. Before you may gain a full-privilege license, you may be required to complete a supervised study period and obtain a limited license, among other things.
Here are ten facts you should know about acquiring a driver’s license in the United States, ranging from how old you must be to how frequently you must renew it.
Most states require you to obtain a permit before getting your license.
It’s likely that you’ll need to apply for a permission first. Estrada Anton/Shutterstock Teen drivers must first get a learner’s permit, which permits them to drive under the supervision of an adult under certain conditions, before they may be awarded a limited, or temporary license.
Most states need that you be at least 15 years old in order to receive a learner’s permit, however some, such as Iowa, only require that you be 14 years old. To find out the specific permission requirements for your state, visit this page.
You’ll most likely have to go driver’s education.
It is possible that you will be required to attend a training course. Shutterstock Aside from possessing a learner’s permit, most states need you to complete driver’s education and pass the state’s driving test before you may drive legally. In Maine, for example, a driver is required to finish a driver’s training course that comprises 30 hours of classroom teaching and 10 hours of behind-the-wheel training before being permitted to drive. Different states, on the other hand, have their own criteria.
In the majority of US states, you can get a restricted driver’s license at 16.
In certain states, such as California, you must be 16 years old before you may receive a driver’s license. Photograph courtesy of Justin Sullivan/Getty Images In the majority of states, you can obtain a limited license at the age of 16, which means that you may not be authorized to drive during specified hours or with passengers, depending on your state. California, Colorado, Texas, and a slew of other states are included in this group.
Some states, like South Dakota, have lower age requirements.
South Dakota allows drivers under the age of 15 to operate a vehicle. Photograph courtesy of J. Stephen Conn In South Dakota, you may obtain a limited license at the age of 14 years and 3 months, which is the youngest age of any state in the United States. Drivers 15 years old and older can obtain limited licenses in North Dakota, Montana, and Idaho, among other states.
Other states require you to be over 16 years old to get a restricted license.
People in New Jersey must be 17 years old before they may obtain a driver’s license. Walter Hickey / Bureau of Internal Revenue In states like as Kentucky, Maryland, and Rhode Island, the minimum age for obtaining a restricted license is 16 years and 6 months. In New Jersey, a limited driver’s license can only be obtained by those who are 17 years old or older. If you want to obtain a limited license in Connecticut, you must be 16 years and 4 months of age. In Indiana and Virginia, the median age is slightly younger (16 years and 3 months).
Some states issue a hardship license to minors.
Hardship permits are granted to those who have suffered a specified set of conditions. Maryna Khomenko is a photographer who works for Shutterstock. According to the DMV, a hardship license is a special license that is provided in situations when a teen driver who would otherwise be too young to drive is permitted to do so, such as when the juvenile driver requires transportation to and from school or work. This form of license is not widespread in the United States, although it is available in select states, including California and Ohio.
You can get an unrestricted (full) license in the US between the ages of 16 and 18.
With an unrestricted license, you have the freedom to drive at any time of day or night. Photograph courtesy of David McNew/Getty Images At the very least, states such as Idaho and Montana impose certain limits on drivers aged 16 and higher.
Other states, such as Maryland and Texas, do not let you to obtain an unrestricted license until you are 18 years old. To find out how old you must be in order to receive an unrestricted license, go to this page.
The rules are different for adults 18 and older who are applying for their first driver’s license.
For persons above the age of 18, the procedure of acquiring a license is different. Reuters (Thomson Reuters) As with limited licenses, the requirements for obtaining a full license differ from state to state, particularly if you are beyond the age of 18. In Illinois, for example, new drivers between the ages of 18 and 20 who have never previously held a driver’s license are required to complete an adult driver’s education course. The only time you’re compelled to attend driver’s education in Virginia is if you fail the knowledge examination three times.
State laws such as Colorado and Pennsylvania require new drivers of all ages to obtain a permit before they are allowed to apply for their driver’s license.
Getting a US driver’s license costs money no matter which state you live in.
Expect to pay a fee for your permit. flickr/brianholcomb In the United States, like in many other nations throughout the world, there is a charge to obtain a driver’s license. Licenses in the United States can cost as little as $10 (in Missouri) to as much as $89 (in California) (Washington). To find out how much it will cost you to obtain a license in your state, go here.
Excluding Arizona, US driver’s licenses are valid for between four and eight years.
To obtain your license, you will have to pay. flickr/brianholcomb There is a charge to obtain a driver’s license in the United States, much like in other nations throughout the world. It can cost as little as $10 (in Missouri) to upwards of $89 for a driver’s license in the United States (Washington). If you want to find out how much it will cost you to acquire a license in your state, go to this link.
Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
To obtain your license, you should expect to spend. flickr/brianholcomb In the United States, like in other nations throughout the world, there is a charge to obtain a driver’s license. Licenses in the United States can cost as low as $10 (in Missouri) to as much as $89 (in New York) (Washington). To find out how much it will cost you to obtain a license in your state, visit this page.
- It is required that you have completed an authorized driver education course or that you have maintained a learner’s permit for at least 60 days before to taking the DMVroad skills exam.
Any age, and as a first-time driver, you will be needed to present identification, legal presence, Virginia residency, and a Social Security number if you have one, as well as proof of your financial responsibility. If you are unsure of which papers to bring to DMV when you apply, consult the “Acceptable Documents for Obtaining a Driver’s License or Photo ID Card” section of the interactive document guide (DMV 141).
You must get a Virginia driver’s license within 60 days of your arrival in the state. If you presently have a commercial driver’s license (CDL), you must get a Virginia CDL within 30 days of your existing license expiring. If you are exchanging a foreign driver’s license from France, Germany, Japan, Taiwan, or South Korea, the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) must first verify that your driver’s license is valid with the foreign nation before providing you a Virginia driver’s license.
After your driver’s license has been confirmed, you will get a letter from the DMV.
If you produce adequate evidence that you previously held a foreign license, you may not be required to present proof of successful completion of driver education or to retain a learner’s permit for a period of 60 days after completing driver education.
- If you are 18 years of age or older and have a valid driver’s license issued by a state or territory of the United States, a Canadian province, France, Germany, Japan, or South Korea, you must pass a vision screening exam before entering the country. However, you may not be obligated to do any of the following:
- Show proof of successful completion of a driving education course or possess a learner’s permit for a period of 60 days
- Take the two-part knowledge exam or the road skills test
- See How to Schedule a Driver’s License Service Appointment for further information. find out how to book an appointment online
- If you are 18 years old or older and have a valid Taiwanese driver’s license, you must pass the vision screening and knowledge exam in order to get your license. However, you may not be obligated to do any of the following:
- Take a road skills exam
- Provide confirmation of successful completion of a driving education course
- Or have a learner’s permit for a minimum of 60 days
- For information on scheduling an appointment to submit your DL7 application and a copy of your foreign license in person, read How to Book a Driver License Service Appointment for instructions on how to schedule an appointment online to submit these documents in person. Following receipt of your permission letter, follow the guidelines in How to Plan a Road Skills Test for information on how to schedule an online appointment
- If you are 18 years old or older and have a valid driver’s license from a nation other than Canada, France, Germany, Japan, South Korea, or Taiwan, you must pass a two-part knowledge exam, a road skills test, and a vision screening in order to be eligible for a commercial driver’s license. If you have successfully completed driving education, you may not be needed to present proof of completion or to have a learner’s permit for the first 60 days. Instructions on how to arrange an appointment for a knowledge test may be found atHow to Schedule a Knowledge Test.
It is possible that a Virginia license will not be awarded until your driving record in your previous state has been cleared and you have met all of the requirements for the state in which the license was suspended or revoked.
Active-duty military personnel stationed in Virginia, as well as their spouses and dependent children who are 16 years and 3 months of age or older, may drive with a valid driver’s license issued by their home state or country if they have a valid driver’s license issued by their home state or country. If you are the only owner of the car, you may drive it with valid out-of-state license plates if the vehicle is registered in your name. Co-owners must all be active duty members of the Armed Forces if a vehicle is registered in more than one state or if out-of-state plates are utilized.
You are not need to get a Virginia driver’s license in order to register your vehicle in Virginia.
As long as you are enrolled as a full-time student in an approved institution in Virginia and not working, you are permitted to drive in Virginia with a valid out-of-state (or out-of-country) driver’s license and valid out-of-state license plates displayed on your car. Only for the purposes of motor vehicle legislation, if you are a full-time student who is also employed, you are deemed a Virginia resident for the purposes of the law. The fact that you live in the state does not automatically entitle you to in-state tuition rates.
Even if the car is owned by someone else, you are required to register it in Virginia.
If you are a non-resident who is temporarily residing in Virginia, you may drive with your driver’s license and license plates from your home state or country for a period of no more than six months. Drivers of commercial vehicles are exempt from this requirement. If you get gainful employment, you will be obliged to obtain a driver’s license in the state of Virginia. As long as you are not gainfully employed and engaged in full-time church service or proselytizing mission for a period of no more than 36 months, and as long as you are the owner(s) of a vehicle that is titled and registered in another state, you are not required to title or register your vehicle in Virginia.
Identification and Residency Requirements
To be eligible for a driver’s license, learner’s permit, or commercial driver’s license (or to be eligible for each subsequent visit until your license is awarded), you must have the following documents with you when you apply for a license:
- One piece of identification
- One piece of documentation proving legal presence
- Two pieces of documentation proving your Virginia residence
- When applying for a commercial driver’s license (CDL), you must provide documentation of your social security number, if you have been issued one. If you are applying to exchange a driver’s license issued by another state, territory, or jurisdiction in the United States for a Virginia driver’s license, you must include a copy of your current driver’s license. If your name appears differently on your proof papers, you must provide proof of your name change.
Use the interactiveDocument Guide or the DMV publicationObtaining a Driver’s License or ID Card to identify which papers to bring with you when you apply for a driver’s license or identification card (DMV 141). If you know your social security number and the DMV is able to electronically verify it, you will not be asked to submit documentation proving your identity. Make certain that your name appears on all evidence papers in the same manner. Your papers may still be approved even if your middle name is not represented or if only the first letter of your middle initial appears on some of them.
- Your proof documents may need you to provide further evidence to prove that your names are the same.
- Please keep in mind that marriage licenses and marriage certificates that are simply signed by the wedding officiant (for example, a member of the church) will not be accepted.
- It will not be permitted to provide temporary papers or photocopies of documents.
- Documents recognized by the DMV as proof of identity, legal presence, Virginia residency, and social security number are subject to change at any time without notification.
Additional documentation may be required by the DMV. You may have either a driver’s license or a commercial driver’s license, but not both. Having any type of license disqualifies you from receiving an identification card.
- Use the interactiveDocument Guide or the DMV publicationObtaining a Driver’s License or ID Card to figure out which papers you’ll need to bring with you when you apply (DMV 141). If you know your social security number and the DMV is able to electronically verify it, you will not be asked to show evidence of your identification. Make certain that your name appears on all evidence papers in the same fashion. Your documents may still be approved even if your middle name is not represented or if only the first letter of your middle initial appears on them. There will be no consideration for nicknames. If your name appears differently on your proof papers, you will be required to provide further evidence to link the names, such as a marriage certificate submitted with a government agency or court, a divorce decision, or a court order, among other things. Please keep in mind that marriage licenses and marriage certificates that are solely signed by the wedding officiant (for example, a member of the church) will not be recognized. All papers must be originals, and all will be subject to verification
- However, printouts of online residency documentation that are indicated on Form DMV 141 are accepted as proof of residency in the state of Michigan. There will be no acceptance of temporary papers or photocopies of documents. When there is evidence to think a document has been changed, obtained illegally, or is false, forged, counterfeit, or otherwise non-genuine or illegitimate, the DMV will not accept it as proof of identity, legal presence, residency, or social security number. Identity, legal presence, Virginia residency, and social security number documentation approved by the DMV are subject to change without notice. Additional documentation may be required by the DMV. Only one of the two licenses is valid: a driver’s license or a commercial driver’s license. An ID card is not available to anyone who holds any type of license. This includes drivers’ licenses.
Learner’s Permits & Driver’s Licenses Overview
That is something we can assist you with. The BMV provides an Express Credential service, which allows you to receive your credential in as little as a few days. Read on to find out more Some credentials can be renewed online, while others must be renewed in person at a branch location near you. Examine the requirements for each sort of credential and the criteria that must be met. With a learner’s permit, Indiana citizens may get some practice behind the wheel before they apply for their driver’s license.
- Drivers under the age of 21 are awarded a probationary driver’s license, which they must hold for six months before earning their regular driver’s license.
- Have you just relocated to Indiana?
- Learn about the requirements for obtaining an Indiana driver’s license.
- If any of your personal information (such as your name, date of birth, gender, or residence) has legally changed, you must update your information at any BMV branch location.
- If you are currently serving in the United States Armed Forces or are a veteran of the United States Armed Forces, you may opt to have an indication added to your credential.
- Find the forms you’ll need to complete in order to receive a credential or an official driver’s record.
- In Indiana, citizens who have not yet applied for a Real ID card should do so at the time of their next driver’s license renewal.
Be a Hero. Save a Life.
When you renew or update your identity card with the BMV, you can indicate that you wish to be an organ, tissue, or eye donor by checking the appropriate box. By visiting DonateLifeIndiana.org, you can also register your choice to donate at any time in the future. Now is the time to register.
Our branches are located throughout the state and are responsible for issuing new driver’s licenses. It is explained on this page how to receive your driver’s license for the first time as well as how to renew or replace your driver’s license.
This page also contains a description of the prerequisites for renewing or replacing your driver’s license. If you are a new resident of Indiana, we recommend that you examine ourNew Resident Packet, which has a checklist that will assist you in preparing for your visit to the branch.
Driver’s License Types
The age at which you receive your Indiana driver’s license is deemed to be under 21. If you are under 21, your license is considered to be probationary. To be eligible for a probationary driver’s license in Indiana, you must be at least 18 years old and have held a learner’s permit for a minimum of 180 days (approximately six months). If you are under the age of eighteen, you may additionally be required to have a co-signer for financial responsibility as well as a record of supervised driving.
- For a Probationary Driver’s License, you must be at least 18 years old. For those who have successfully completed an approved driver education program, the minimum age to receive a driver’s license is 16 years and 90 days, unless you are a minor. If you have not finished a driving education program that has been recognized by the state, you must be at least 16 years and 270 days old in order to receive a driver’s license. A probationary driver’s license is valid until the date of your 21st birthday and cannot be renewed. Following the day of your 21st birthday, you will have 30 days to renew your driver’s license before you will be subject to an administrative penalty. Learn more about obtaining a provisional driver’s license
- Keep a record of your supervised driving. Persons holding a learner’s permit in Indiana are required to complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice with a qualified instructor, or they may choose one of the following options: If the individual is under the age of eighteen (18), the following rules apply:
- The driver must be a licensed driver with current driving privileges who is at least 25 years old and connected to the passenger by blood, marriage, or legal status. A spouse who has valid driving rights and is at least 21 years old
- A child under the age of 21 who has legal driving privileges
- Driver education instructors are individuals who have legal driving privileges and are employed by a driver training institution to teach drivers education classes. Driver rehabilitation specialists are individuals with valid driving privileges who have completed a driver rehabilitation specialist certification program authorized by the BMV and are employed by a driver rehabilitation program.
If the individual is over the age of eighteen (18), the following applies:
- Drivers must be at least 25 years old and have proper driving privileges in order to be eligible. A spouse who has valid driving rights and is at least 21 years old
- A child under the age of 21 who has legal driving privileges
Someone who is at least 25 years of age, who is a licensed driver with current driving privileges at least 21 years of age and has valid driving privileges; a spouse who has valid driving privileges and is at least 21 years old;
- It is the parent who has physical custody of the minor applicant, or a designee of the custodial parent who has been designated by the custodial parent. The noncustodial parent (as defined in IC 31-9-2-83) of the minor applicant, or a designee of the noncustodial parent selected by the noncustodial parent, is required to sign the application. The guardian of the minor applicant who has care of him or her
- Anyone else who is prepared to take on the responsibilities imposed by the requirements of this chapter (IC 9-24-9), in the absence of a person mentioned in one (1) through three (3) above
Unaccompanied minors are not permitted to co-sign for financial liability, and adults who do so agree to share responsibility for all harm that arises from driving in a motor vehicle on a joint and several basis with the juvenile applicant (also known as joint and several liability). The adult who co-signs for financial obligation must produce a legitimate form of identification, such as a picture identity card issued by the United States government and bearing the address of a location in the United States.
Any form of identification must be a government-issued identification document from the United States.
Standard Driver’s License
Unless you are younger than 21 years of age, your Indiana driver’s license is not subject to the probationary period.
- What is the validity of my driver’s license? If you are a citizen of the United States, you may renew your driver’s license up to twenty-four (24) months before it expires. You are not needed to take a written exam while renewing your driver’s license unless you have collected six or more points on your driving record since your previous renewal or your license has been expired for more than 180 days at the time of renewal. It is possible to renew your driver’s license at any BMV location up to 30 days before the expiration of your license if you hold valid permanent or temporary resident status. If you have Temporary Lawful Status, your license is valid until the end of the period of your lawful presence OR until the end of the period of your lawful presence.
- Approximately how long is the validity of my driver’s license? It is possible to renew your driver’s license until twenty-four (24) months before it expires if you are a citizen of the United States. You are not needed to take a written exam while renewing your driver’s license unless you have collected six or more points on your driving record since your previous renewal or your license has been expired for more than 180 days at the time of your renewal. It is possible to renew your driver’s license at any BMV location up to 30 days before it expires if you have valid permanent or temporary status in the United States. It is valid until the end of your legal presence in the United States, whichever comes first. If you have Temporary Legal Status, your license is valid until the end of your legal presence in the United States, whichever comes first.
Be a Hero. Save a Life.
When renewing or updating your identity card with the BMV, you have the option of registering your intention to become an organ donor. You can also sign up to be an organ donor at any time by visiting the Donate Life Indiana website, which is available 24/7. Become a member of Donate Life now.
Examinations and Screening
When renewing or updating your identity card with the BMV, you have the option of registering your choice to become a donor. If you wish to become an organ donor, you can do it at any time by going to the Donate Life Indiana website. Donate Life is accepting registrations now.
It is quite likely that if you are an Indiana resident and apply for a driver’s license, you will already have passed your written exam. However, there are several circumstances in which you may be required to take another written test, such as the following:
- You have six or more points on your driving record and are renewing from a probationary driver’s license to a driver’s license
- A driver’s license application is being processed for you since you have just relocated to Indiana from another nation. Your driver’s license has been expired for more than 180 days
- You have a suspended license. Your driver’s license or business driver’s license has been revoked, and you want to add endorsements to it
With effect from July 1, 2019, if you are migrating to Indiana from another state and have a current driver’s license in that state, you will no longer be needed to take a written exam. Please keep in mind that some written examinations are necessary when transferring a CDL, motorcycle endorsement, or for-hire endorsement. If you want to take a written test, you must arrive at least one hour before the branch closes. The only time you need to arrange an appointment is if you need to have the exam read aloud, or if you are deaf or hard of hearing and need the test read to you.
The BMV’s Contact Center at 1-888-692-6841 can schedule appointments for applicants who are deaf or hard of hearing, or a branch manager can schedule an appointment for you. Find Out More About the Written Examination
To take a driving test, you must arrive at least 15 minutes before your planned appointment time. Please see the following list for BMV branch locations if you need to make a visit.
Renewing or Replacing a License
If any of the following apply to you, you may renew or replace your driver’s license online:
- There are no restrictions or endorsements in place that hinder online processing, and you are not needed to take an examination
- Your last renewal transaction was done in a branch
- And your previous renewal transaction was conducted in a branch
In order to renew or replace your driver’s license online, you will need to submit your date of birth and Social Security number.
Endorsements and Restrictions
In some cases, endorsements and limitations alter the conditions under which an individual is permitted to operate a motor vehicle. Identification cards are subject to the same endorsements and limits as other forms of identification. Additional Licensing and Endorsement Arrangements Indiana also provides business driver’s licenses, as well as motorcycle and for-hire endorsements, in addition to other types of licenses. A for-hire endorsement, in lieu of a public passenger chauffeur’s (PPC) or chauffeur’s license, became available on January 1, 2017, when the BMV implemented this policy.
Drivers with Disabilities
If you are at least 18 years old, disabled, and have successfully completed driver rehabilitation training conducted by a certified driver rehabilitation specialist recognized by the BMV, you may apply for a driver’s license without having a learner’s permit on your record or without having a completed Log of Supervised Driving on file with the department. Upon completion of the driver rehabilitation specialist’s course, you will be expected to submit a report to the local BMV branch.
If you are at least 18 years old, disabled, and have successfully completed driver rehabilitation training conducted by a certified driver rehabilitation specialist recognized by the BMV, you may apply for a driver’s license without having a learner’s permit on your record or without having a completed Log of Supervised Driving on file with the BMV. Upon completion of the driver rehabilitation specialist’s course, you will be expected to submit a report to your local BMV branch.
Translated Document Requirements
All papers in a language other than English, as well as those without English subheadings, must be translated into English before they may be published. The following are the specifications for translated documents:
- On a separate sheet of paper, the translation must be typed on the letterhead of a government agency, an approved educational institution, or a translation service. a signed declaration from the translator attesting to his or her competency as a translator, and stating that the document has not been translated for the benefit of a family member, friend, or business colleague
- And b.