Basic Out-of-State Transfer Requirements
- Current out-of-state driver’s license.
- Another form of identification.
- Proof of your Social Security number.
- Proof of your new residence with your new address.
- Pass a vision test.
- Payment for a new driver’s license.
Can I change my driving Licence from one state to another?
You will usually get your updated driving licence via post within 30 days of filing an application. In case you change States, the application will require a NOC. However, if you are moving to a different locality within the same state, a CC will be enough to get the changes made.
How do I change my ID from one state to another?
How to Transfer Your Out-of-State Driver’s License to California
- 1 – Schedule a DMV Appointment.
- 2 – Fill out New Driver License or Identification Card Application Form (DL 44)
- 3 – Surrender Your Out-of-State License.
- 4 – Provide Thumbprint and Have Picture Taken.
- 5 – Submit Necessary Documents.
- 6 – Pass Vision Exam.
Do you need a new driver’s license if you move?
Do I need a new driver’s license when I move to a new state? Yes, if you’ve moved across state lines, the rules are a little different, and you’ll need a whole new license. You should make an appointment with the DMV in your new home state to exchange your out-of-state driver’s license as soon as you can after moving.
How long can I drive without NOC?
Once issued, NOC remains valid for a maximum of 6 months. Thus, if you have obtained the certificate, make sure to re-register the vehicle to your new jurisdictional RTO within this span when moving a vehicle from one state to another.
Can dl be transferred?
Either the applicant gets a physical NOC or the officer concerned can send a request to the authority which can issued the DL to send the NOC so that new application can be processed. Now with the details available online, the fresh DL can be issued instantly.”
Can you get ca ID online?
Driver’s License / ID Card Application. This online driver’s license and ID card application saves you time by letting you complete the application before visiting a DMV field office. When you arrive, DMV employees can quickly access your completed form and begin to process it.
How do I change my driver’s license from California to Texas?
What You’ll Do to Transfer your Out-of-State Driver License to Texas
- Step 1: Make an appointment to visit the DMV. Submit the required documents and identification. Surrender your out-of-state driver’s license. Submit $25 payment.
- Step 2: Receive your Texas Class C driver’s license via U.S. mail within 3 weeks.
Do I need to change my driver’s license when I move to California?
If you become a California resident, you must get a California driver license within 10 days. Residency is established by voting in a California election, paying resident tuition, filing for a homeowner’s property tax exemption, or any other privilege or benefit not ordinarily extended to nonresidents.
Is it illegal to not change address on driving license?
They can be used by disqualified and perhaps dangerous drivers impersonating drivers entitled to be on the road. Failing to update simple information such as your name, title or address could also be enough to warrant a fine so you should update them regularly.
What is the charge of NOC?
The fee to apply for NOC is Rs. 100.
Can I pay 1 year road tax?
The road tax for private or non-commercial vehicles is paid once, but for commercial and passenger vehicles, the road tax can be paid on monthly, yearly and half-yearly basis.
Can I drive car with NOC?
According to the latest ruling, a person with a non-Karnataka vehicle can drive in the state for a year without shifting to Karnataka registration. They have to pay a lifetime tax within a year. However, if anyone fails to do so, the vehicle owner has to face the consequences and pay a fine.
Exchange your out-of-state driver license
Your out-of-state driving license (from another state or territory in the United States, a federal district in the United States, or a Canadian province) must be exchanged within 30 days after becoming a resident of New York. 1
Who is eligible
Your existing license must be from another state or territory in the United States; an out-of-state license is required (see instructions below if you are student or a driver from another country), Your current driver’s license must be valid.
- If you currently have a license from another state or territory in the United States, your current license must be valid in that state or territory (see instructions below if you are student or a driver from another country), In order to continue to operate under your present license, you must
If your license is expired, you will not be able to alter it.
- Suspended or revoked3
- Lost or stolen4
- A hardship or “employment only driver license”5
- Tagged “non-renewable” or “non-transferable”6
- Or a hardship driver license or “employment only driver license”
Your New York driver’s license will be valid for a period of five years.
DMV offers three types of licenses: Standard, Enhanced, and REAL ID
- Beginning on May 3, 2023, you will not be allowed to board a domestic aircraft (inside the United States) or access certain federal facilities. The face of the card states, “NOT FOR FEDERAL PURPOSES.”
- It may be used to board a domestic (inside the United States) aircraft
- It has a white star in a black circle on the front
- And it has a black circle on the back.
- A domestic flight (inside the United States)
- A land border crossing (from Canada, Mexico, and several Caribbean nations)
- Features a U.S. flag on the front
- Costs an extra $30
- Can be used to board a domestic aircraft (within the United States)
Find out more about Enhanced, REAL ID, and Standard identification documents.
You must exchange your out of state license at the DMV
This transaction may only be completed in person at a Department of Motor Vehicles office. You will be required to
- Pass a vision test at the DMV or submit a completedEye Test Report (PDF)(MV-619) to the DMV
- Relinquish your out-of-state license, unless it has been lost or stolen
- And pay the required fees. bring identification with you
- It is necessary to take a vision test at the DMV or present a completedEye Test Report (PDF)(MV-619) to the DMV
- Relinquish your out-of-state license, unless it has been lost or stolen
- Evidence of identity must be brought with you
Pass a vision test at the DMV or present a completedEye Test Report (PDF)(MV-619) to the DMV; relinquish your out-of-state license, unless it has been lost or stolen; Bring identification with you;
|Standard Driver License (class D, DJ, and N)||$65 or $75 *|
|Motorcycle (class M and MJ)||$70 or $80 *|
|Taxi, Livery, Limousine (class E)||$95 or $105 *|
|Commercial Driver License (class A, B, and C)||$127 or $137 *|
*Residents of the following counties are required to pay the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD) charge ($10): the Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Queens, Richmond (Staten Island), Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester counties An extra $30.00 fee is charged for enhanced papers. We are willing to accept
- A personal cheque or money order made payable to “Commissioner of Motor Vehicles”
- A credit card
- A pinless debit card
- A prepaid card (American Express, Discover Card/Novus, MasterCard, VISA)
See the DMV’s location, procedures, and reservation information by clicking on the link below.
In most cases, students from other states, countries, or nations who attend school in New York State are not considered residents of New York State, and so do not need to convert their existing driving license for a New York State license. The general rule is that you cannot hold both a New York State driver’s license and a driver’s license from another state at the same time, although there are several exceptions. The possession of more than one commercial driving license, on the other hand, is a violation of Federal law (CDL).
Drivers from other countries
If you have a valid driver’s license from another nation, you are permitted to drive in New York State. You will not be required to apply for a New York State driving license unless and until you become a resident of the state. To obtain a driver’s license in New York State, you must pass a written test, complete a 5-hour pre-licensing course, and pass a driving test on the open road. See Obtain your driver’s license. Following your successful completion of the road test, you must present your international driver’s license to the DMV road test examiner.
- Definition of the term “residential property” Section 250 (5) of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law reads as follows: “This section defines the word “resident” as one who resides in this state with the goal of making it his or her permanent residence. Presumptive proof of residency in this state must be established by the fact that a person has maintained a place of habitation in this state for at least ninety days during that time.” It is considered “presumptive proof” that you have lived in New York State for 90 days if you have lived in a house, a residence, an apartment, a room, or another comparable location for at least 90 consecutive days. This can be used as evidence by a police officer to give you a traffic citation if you are driving in New York State without a valid New York State driver license or vehicle registration card. A court will evaluate the legislation as well as the evidence of your purpose before determining whether or not you are a resident of New York. If you pay taxes in another state or your children attend school in another state, a court will take these factors into consideration when determining whether you intend to make New York State your “fixed and permanent” residence. As a result of this statute, students who come from other states or other countries to attend school in New York State are generally not regarded to be citizens of the state of NY. The DMV does not determine whether or not you are a resident of New York State, whether or not you are required to obtain a New York State driving license, or whether or not you are required to register your car in New York State. 2.If the date on your out-of-state photo driver license does not appear to be the same as the day it was issued, obtain a certified driver license record or letter from the state that granted the license that shows the date the license was issued. If you are unable to get a letter or abstract, you will be required to apply for a new, original driving license instead. See You should obtain your first driver’s license
- It is not possible to obtain a NY State driver license if the suspension or revocation of your out-of-state or Canadian driving license has been issued or renewed. You must get the suspension or revocation lifted and present a valid driving license that satisfies the standards specified above at a New York State Department of Motor Vehicles office. (4) If your out-of-state driver license is lost or stolen, you must apply to the prior state for a replacement picture driver license. (5) The new driver’s license must have the following information:
- Show that your out-of-state driver’s license was valid for at least six months and that you have a picture driving license.
Instead of requesting a replacement driver license from the preceding state, you can request a letter or certified driver abstract from that state. The letter or abstract must be written in formal language.
- We require an original document on the letterhead of the licensing body that granted your driving license, and it must have been issued by another state within six months of when you submit the letter or driver abstract to us. It is necessary for the letter or driver abstract to include all of the following information:
- Identifying information such as your name, address, date of birth, and driver license identification number
- The type or class of driver license you hold, including any restrictions
- Any convictions, suspensions, or revocations
- The date your driver license was issued, as well as the expiration date of your most recent driver license
- And other information
- A letter or a driver’s abstract is worthless as identification or as proof of date of birth. 5.You must submit an application for an original New York State driver license
- 6.You must submit an application for an original New York State driver license
Moving to Texas
Individuals who are transferring a valid out-of-state driver’s license and/or applying for a new Texas driver’s license or identification (ID) card should review the following information. For a comprehensive list of criteria, as well as further information on how to apply for a Texas driving license, please see the following website. the steps involved in applying for a Texas driver’s license Our interactiveREAL ID Document Check Application can aid you in preparing for your visit to the DMV driving license office.
Simply follow the instructions, and at the conclusion of the process, you will receive a tailored checklist of the papers you need to bring with you to your appointment.
Transferring an Out of State Driver License to Texas
A valid, unexpired driver license from another state, territory, Canadian province, or qualified nation is permissible for new Texas residents to use while driving for up to 90 days after relocating to the state. A new Texas citizen must apply for a Texas driver’s license in person at any driver licensing office before the end of the 90-day grace period in order to continue to drive legally in the state. When applying for a new Texas driver’s license, an individual must relinquish any valid driver’s license from another state, territory of the United States, or Canadian province that they may have in their possession.
- Adults are those who have reached the age of majority (18 and Older) The applicant must surrender their out-of-state or out-of-country driver license if they hold a valid, unexpired driving license from another state, territory, or nation other than the United States or Canada.
- Texas also enjoys reciprocity in the issue of licenses with France, Germany, South Korea, and Taiwan, but exclusively with these countries.
- To avoid surrendering his or her foreign driver’s license, the applicant must first sit for and pass all of the necessary examinations in their home country.
- Foreign licenses that are not in English or Spanish will need to have the information on the driver’s license translated by a translation agency or their embassy prior to arrival in the United States.
- Applicants who already have a valid, unexpired learner license from another state or territory in the United States, or from Canada, France, South Korea, Germany, or Taiwan, and who are seeking for a Texas learner license do not have to take the knowledge exam for the state of Texas.
- Individuals under the age of 25 are also required to undergo driver education courses.
- A comprehensive list of prerequisites, as well as further information on how to apply for a Texas driver license, may be found atHow to Apply for a Texas Driver License.
- The following documents must be presented: identification (a valid out-of-state driver’s license can be utilized as a supporting document)
- Citizenship or lawful presence
- Social security number
- And proof of Texas Car Registration* for each vehicle you possess. The registration must be up to date. For further information, go to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles’ automobile registration page. Proof of Insurance* for each car you possess (this is only required for new residents who are relinquishing an out-of-state driving license)
*If you do not have access to a car, you will be required to sign a declaration stating as much. Applications for candidates 18 and older who have a valid out-of-state driving license, as well as the ITD and adult driver education requirements, are exempt from the skills and knowledge examinations. Minors (If you are under the age of eighteen) Applicants under the age of 18 who hold a valid driver license or valid learner license from another state, territory, or province of the United States or Canada are exempt from taking the knowledge exam.
- If you are under the age of 18 and applying from a nation other than the United States or Canada, you must take and pass a knowledge exam.
- To be clear, anybody who receives a Texas learner license must hang onto that license for at least six (6) months or until he or she reaches the age of eighteen (18), whichever comes first.
- There is no credit provided for any months the applicant had their permit from another state in the previous year.
- For additional information about driver licenses given to teen drivers, please see How to Apply for a Texas Driver License as a Teen for more information.
In order to be eligible for the exemption, candidates must meet the following requirements:
- Must produce a valid military identification card, as well as documentation that the state in which the driver’s license was issued has a military extension policy for which the individual meets the requirements. (The individual must contact the issuing state in order to obtain the proper documentation.) Visit our article on How to Obtain a Driver’s License for further information. for a comprehensive list of prerequisites as well as further information on how to apply for a Texas driver’s license, go here.
Applicant’s who are a member of a NATO country’s armed forces or civilian component and exhibit orders proving their status are exempt from the knowledge and skills tests for the same or lower class of licensure.
Obtaining a Texas Identification (ID) card
For new Texas residents seeking a Texas ID card, they must complete all of the requirements for obtaining a Texas ID card, which include providing proof of Texas residency and meeting the identity standards. For a comprehensive list of qualifications, as well as further information on how to apply for a Texas identity card, please see the website provided below. Obtaining an identity card in the state of Texas is simple.
Transfer your out of state driver’s license to Massachusetts
To convert your out-of-state driver’s license into a Massachusetts driver’s license, you must do the following:
- Consider if you want a REAL ID driver’s license (valid for federal purposes only) or a Standard Massachusetts driver’s license (valid for state and local purposes only) (not valid for federal purposes). To make a decision, visit mass.gov/id.
- You will need to go to an RMV Service Center and provide evidence of the following documents:
- Providing documentation of a legal name change is also required if your name is different from the one on your lawful presence document.
- Social Security number (one piece of documentation)
- Massachusetts residency (two pieces of documentation)
- Start your application by submitting it online. Bring along your needed identification as well as your completed application to an RMV Service Center.
If you are under the age of eighteen, you must convert your driver’s education certificate or finish driver’s education in order to drive in Massachusetts. It is necessary to produce a driving record that is no more than 30 days old if you have a license from Canada, Mexico, or any United States territory (including Puerto Rico). If your Driving Record is not printed in English, please go to the Further Info section for more information.
Fees for Transfer your out of state driver’s license to Massachusetts
*Class D and M licenses can be awarded for a period of less than 5 years, depending on the length of the applicant’s authorized residence in the United States during that period. In this instance, the charge will be prorated according to the length of time the license is in effect. It will cost $10.00 per year to obtain a license.
|Class D Driver’s License Conversion Fee||$115||each|
|Class M Driver’s License Conversion Fee||$115||each|
|Class D and M Driver’s License Conversion Fee||$130||each|
How to transfer Transfer your out of state driver’s license to Massachusetts
You must make a reservation in order to complete this transaction successfully. To make a reservation, please visit this page. Bring in all of the needed documentation, fees, and the completed application to any RMV Service Center for processing. Cash, check, money order, credit card, and debit card are all acceptable forms of payment. Because payment methods differ from one business to the next, be sure you know what is accepted at the establishment you will be visiting. Your driver’s license cannot be transferred using the internet.
At the conclusion of the questionnaire, you will be presented with a complete application as well as a list of the papers that you will need to bring with you to an RMV Service Center for completion and processing.
To make a reservation, please visit this page.
More info for Transfer your out of state driver’s license to Massachusetts
If you do not have your out-of-state license with you when you turn it in to the RMV, you will be required to supply the following information:
- Select an appropriate picture identification document from the list of eligible documents
- The driving record must be certified and must be less than 30 days old.
Select an approved picture identification document from the list of acceptable documents. Not more than 30 days old, certified copy of driver’s license;
Contact for Transfer your out of state driver’s license to Massachusetts
By scheduling an appointment for a transfer from out-of-state, you will be able to transfer both your license and your registration in one process.
Make sure to bring all of the necessary documentation. (The same site is available in Spanish.)
To drive legally in New Jersey, you must obtain a new license and vehicle registration from your previous state within 60 days of your arrival (120 days during a Public HealthEmergency), or before your current license and vehicle registration expire, whichever occurs first. If you have recently relocated to New Jersey, you must transfer your out-of-state license and vehicle registration within 60 days of your arrival (120 days during a Public HealthEmergency).
To transfer yourout-of-state license (17 and over)
- Make an appointment at a motor vehicle license center with a current, valid driver’s license that is in good standing, as well as the necessary legal documents to meet the 6 Points of Identification criteria.
- A valid Medical Certificate and any appropriate fingerprint documentation are required to be submitted with a CommercialDriver License (CDL) transfer at the time of the transfer. Make an appointment to purchase a transfer permit ($10 for a motorcycle, auto, or CDL
- $5 more for a motorcycle endorsement on an auto license)
- If you have a current, valid, non-provisional driver’s license issued by any of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. territories of American Samoa and Guam, Puerto Rico, or the United States Virgin Islands, you will not be required to take the knowledge and road tests (although Hazardous Materials endorsement holders will be required to take the written test).
- This license will be awarded to you for a period of four years in New Jersey (fee information is available), and you will be forced to surrender your out-of-state license.
A customer’s whole face must be captured while they are photographing for a driver license or non-driver ID card; consequently, we must have the ability to view from the top of their forehead tothe bottomof their chin when photographing for either of these documents. If you have a medical or religious requirement to wear a head covering in your photograph, please inform the MVC staff at the agency’s camera station in advance.
If you are not a citizen of the United States and have just relocated to New Jersey, you may be able to exchange your out-of-state driver’s license for a normal New Jersey license. To arrange for a transfer from another state, schedule an appointment.
Non-driver Identification (ID) card
In the event that you do not currently possess an out-of-state or New Jersey driver’s license, you may apply for and be issued a non-driver identification (ID) card. Our company is obliged to photograph every customer’s whole face in order to process their driver license or non-driver ID card; consequently, we must be able to see from the top of your forehead down to the bottom of your chin while taking their image. Please notify the MVC staff at the agency camera station if you have a medical or religious requirement to wear a head covering in your photo.
According to New Jersey law, you must transfer your car’s title and registration (with or without a lien) within 60 days of the day the vehicle was purchased (120days during a Public Health Emergency). To accomplish this, follow these steps:
- Make an appointment for a new title or registration
- Don’t forget to bring the following items:
- Prepare for your appointment for a new title or registration
- Don’t forget to bring the following documents:
- UniversalTitle Application (Form OS/SS-UTA) has been completed. Vehicle RegistrationApplication (Form BA-49) that has been completed If the car is owned by a business, you must obtain an Entity Identification Number (EIN – previously CorpCode)
- Otherwise, you must obtain a business license. If you have financed or leased your car, you must bring a completed Auto Title Lien Release Form (FormOS/SS-54) with you to the dealership. The lien holder or leasing business will then transmit the title to the MVC, and you will be notified when it is safe for you to return to finish the procedure. Fee for transferring title
- A normal car costs $60
- A financed vehicle costs $85 (all lien holders and leasing businesses must have an EIN)
- And a financed vehicle costs $110 (there are two liens).
- A regular vehicle costs $60
- A financed car costs $85 (all lien holders and leasing businesses must have an EIN)
- And a financed vehicle costs $110 (there must be at least one lien).
Related Vehicle Title Information
Unless the client’s postal address is a P.O. Box, in which case the title will be stored for 10 days and then shipped to the customer, the customer will get their title, license plates, registration card, and temporary inspectioncard along with their temporary inspectioncard. Those who have liens against their titles or who have leased their automobiles will get a letter from the title firm or lien holder. An official title receipt, vehicle registration, license plates, and a temporary inspectioncard are all provided to the purchaser in this situation.
Refer to the foreign vehicle instructions if you are transferring a car from another nation.
How to Switch Your Driver’s License Between States
Is it really necessary to transfer your driver’s license when you relocate to a different state? Unfortunately, the answer is yes since each state has its unique set of rules and regulations when it comes to the issuance and renewal of licenses.
Continue reading to learn how to transfer your driver’s license from one state to another in the real world. Follow the instructions outlined below if you wish to drive without any hassles.
How long do you have to switch your driver’s license?
Is it really necessary to transfer your driver’s license while relocating to a different state? When it comes to granting and renewing licenses, the answer is unfortunately yes, because each state has its unique set of rules. Find out how to transfer your driver’s license from one state to another by continuing reading this article! The techniques outlined below will assist you in driving smoothly.
Steps for switching a driver’s license from state to state
Is it really necessary to transfer your driver’s license when you relocate to a different state? When it comes to granting and renewing licenses, the answer is unfortunately yes, as each state has its unique set of rules. Continue reading to learn how to transfer your driver’s license from one state to another. Follow the instructions outlined below if you wish to drive without any problems.
1. Collect the necessary paperwork
Is it really necessary to transfer your driver’s license when you relocate to a different state? Unfortunately, the answer is yes since each state has its own set of rules and regulations when it comes to granting and renewing licenses. Continue reading to learn more about how to transfer your driver’s license from one state to another. Follow the instructions outlined below if you wish to drive without trouble.
- A copy of your current driver’s license
- The use of a second means of identification
- A copy of your social security card a copy of your new address proof
- Payment for your newly acquired driver’s license
2. Go to the DMV
After then, it’s time to visit your local Department of Motor Vehicles. Check with your state to see whether you may register online in advance, as wait periods are sometimes significant in several states. Attempt to plan your trip on a Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday that falls between noon and 2:00 PM on a weekday during the middle of the month to escape the lunch hour rush.
3. Take the required tests
Depending on where you live, you may be needed to take one or more exams in order to get your driver’s license renewed or upgraded. You will be required to declare if you wear glasses or contacts, as well as complete a quick screening, as part of this process. You may also be required to sit for a written exam, which will assess your knowledge of both local and national driving regulations. Fill out the DMV study guides online to brush up on your knowledge before your exam date arrives.
4. Wait for your new license to arrive
As soon as you’ve completed your DMV appointment and filed the necessary papers to transfer your driver’s license to your new state, you’ll likely have to wait a few of weeks before receiving your new driver’s license in the mail. In the meanwhile, you’ll be granted a temporary license, which you’ll be required to keep on you at all times when traveling. This will demonstrate to law enforcement officials that you have a valid driver’s license and that you are currently in the process of upgrading it, if you are stopped by them.
Check with your landlord to ensure that you have gotten the correct keys and that your name is posted in the proper location on the lockbox.
Fully furnished and fitted apartments provide a move-in-ready experience for their residents.
As a result, when you arrive, you won’t have to worry about time-consuming tasks like setting up the utilities. As an alternative, you may use that time to inform friends and family members about your recent relocation.
Know when to renew your license
Remember that each jurisdiction has its own set of rules governing driver’s license renewal periods, so keep this in mind when exchanging your driver’s license from one state to another. You’ll need to acquire a new license every time you move inside the state, and you’ll need to do it far before the card’s expiration date, to avoid any penalties. However, it is possible that you will not need to visit the DMV in person to complete these modifications. Many states now allow drivers to renew their licenses online if their records are in good standing.
Driver’s licenses for foreigners
When traveling between states in the United States, foreign drivers will still be required to complete all of the above-mentioned procedures. If you’re a non-citizen applying for your first American driver’s license in the United States, see our guide on driving in the United States as a foreign national for further information. Keeping your current address on file not just with the DMV, but also with USCIS (United States Citizenship and Immigration Services) is very crucial because of the possibility of identity theft.
WA State Licensing (DOL) Official Site:Moving? Get a Washington State driver license
- You have 30 days from the date of your relocation to Washington (WA) to obtain your WA driving license. Before you may register any automobiles in Washington, you’ll need to provide proof of your WA driver’s license. The licensing of drivers and vehicles is handled at various sites. Prepare to make two journeys if necessary.
- Establish a permanent residence in Washington
- Determination of whether you desire a normal driver’s license or an upgraded driver’s license. Pre-apply on the internet
- Organize a visit to the driver license office. If appropriate, obtain WA license plates for your car.
1. Establish residency in WA
If you meet the following criteria, you are considered a resident of Western Australia:
- Create a voter registration form and mail it to the appropriate address. Register in person at the county elections office of your choice.
- Benefits from the state are received
- Receive tuition costs for in-state students
- Any Washington state license (fishing license, hunting license, etc.) can be obtained at resident prices.
2. Decide if you want a standard driver license or an enhanced driver license (EDL)
An EDL can be used in place of a passport card in certain circumstances. After going to Canada, Mexico, Bermuda, and the Caribbean, you can use it to re-enter the United States by land and water, as well as by air. Additional conditions must be met in order to obtain an EDL. See the procedure for obtaining your EDL/EID.
3. Pre-apply online
Pre-apply online in order to be able to schedule an appointment. In this case, you will be assigned a Washington ID or driving license number. There may be certain restrictions in place.
4. Make an appointment to visit a driver licensing office
Visit complete the application you began online, go to a driver license office in person. To come into the office, you must schedule an appointment. Bring the following items with you:
- Identification documentation, including your out-of-state driver’s license
- Reimbursement of the fees
- Additional documentation, if necessary, for an EDL or a change in name
You’ll be expected to do the following at work:
- Please provide us with your Social Security number (SSN). Fees to be paid (cash, cheque, or credit card)
- Make a decision on whether or not you wish to register to vote or become an organ donor (optional). Pass any tests that may be required:
|If you have||Pass these tests|
- Another state in the United States (with a driving record that dates back less than 30 days)
- Another state in the United States (with a driving record that is no more than 30 days old)
- British Columbia – Class 5 only
- Class 7 does not transfer
- South Korea
- Taiwan – If you need a Washington driver’s license, please contact the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Seattle (TECO) at 206.441.4586ext. 311 or via e-mail at [email protected]
- Japanese drivers licenses are available via the Consulate-General of Japan in Seattle, which may be reached by phone at (206) 682-9107 or by email at [email protected]
|No tests required if you’re 18 years old or older. SeeTeensif you’re under 18.|
|Anexpired licensefrom another state||Knowledge and drive test|
|No driver license||Knowledge and drive test|
|AWashington learning permit||Knowledge and drive test|
|A valid license, but have amedical or physical conditionthat shows testing is required||Knowledge and drive test|
British Columbia – Class 5 only; Class 7 does not transfer; Germany; South Korea; Taiwan – If you desire a Washington driver’s license, please contact the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Seattle (TECO) at 206.441.4586ext. 311 or via e-mail at [email protected]; Germany; South Korea; Contact the Consulate-General of Japan in Seattle at 206.682.9107 or [email protected] if you wish to obtain a driver’s license in Washington state.
If you’re from another country
- If you have relocated to Washington from a nation or Canadian province that is not listed above, you must complete all of the requirements necessary to obtain your first driver’s license. If you are from one of the countries listed above and hold motorcycle or commercial endorsements, it is possible that they may not be transferred.
- Motorcycle endorsements may only be transferred from the following organizations:
- States of the United States
- Territories of the United States
- The District of Columbia
- British Columbia
- A motorcycle-only license cannot be transferred
- Thus, it is not recommended. Customers under the age of 18 are required to produce evidence of training. Commercial endorsements are only transferable across states and the District of Columbia in the United States. Complete the processes necessary to transfer your CDL.
Get your license
Your out-of-state driver’s license/identification card will be punched by our staff before you leave the licensing office and will be returned to you. You’ll be issued a temporary license that will enable you to drive for 45 days after you complete the course. It’s likely that you won’t be allowed to utilize your temporary license for identification reasons. Some firms may do the following:
- Accept your out-of-state identity card with a hole punched in it as identification
- Request that you submit another kind of identification as confirmation of your identity
We’ll mail your permanent license to you within 7–10 days of receiving your application. If you have not received your order within 30 days, please contact us at 360.902.3900. (TTY: call711).
5. Get WA plates for your vehicle, if needed
SeeMoving to the state of Washington?
Get your hands on some plates to figure out what you need to accomplish.
- Driver’s manual
- How to obtain a motorbike endorsement or permit
- And more. New inhabitants are defined under RCW 46.20.021. Tips for visiting a government agency include: driver’s license offices
Questions? Need help?
Please contact us at 360.902.3900. (TTY: Call711)
Drivers License New Resident Requirements
Please keep in mind that this service is only available by appointment at specific DMV Hub Offices and the Enfield office.
Make an Appointment at DMV
For further information, please check Central Issuance. You will not obtain your permanent driver’s license at the DMV; it will be sent to you through the mail. Following your visit to the office, you may follow the delivery of your new card online. The period of time in which you have to transfer your out-of-state license to Connecticut is 30 days from the date you first established residency in the state. APPLICANTS WHO ONLY WANT TO DRIVE: If you wish to apply for a Drive Only License (for undocumented persons), please follow the steps outlined below.
Before a Connecticut driver’s license may be issued, a vision exam must be completed by the applicant.
You will be required to give the following information:
- For further information, please check Central Issuance. You will not obtain your permanent driver’s license at the DMV
- It will be sent to you. You can trace the delivery of your new card once you have visited an office. The period of time in which you have to transfer your out-of-state license to Connecticut is 30 days from the date you first established residency in this state. APPLICANTS WHO ARE ONLY INTERESTED IN THE DRIVE If you want to apply for a Drive Only License (for undocumented persons), please follow the steps outlined below. An out-of-state driver’s license that has not expired for more than two years must be held by the motorist in this situation. To be eligible for the Connecticut license, you will need to pass a vision examination. It is recommended that you bring your glasses or contact lenses if you require them for the exam. Following information will be required of you:
Situations that are unique:
- Obtaining a Learner’s Permit is necessary if your out-of-state license has been expired for more than two years. You will also be required to complete an 8-hour safe driving practices course at a Connecticut-licensed driving school before taking the abilities test at the DMV. If you have misplaced your out-of-state driver’s license, you must get a certified copy of your out-of-state driver history or abstract that is dated within 60 days of the date of loss. A notification will be sent to the prior licensing state informing them of the issue of the Connecticut license, and your former state license will be terminated. Full-time students who live in Connecticut but who retain permanent residence in another state or country do not need to get a Connecticut license as long as they are enrolled as full-time students at a recognized educational institution. The period of time you have to get a Connecticut license begins when your full-time student status is discontinued (according to school records). Connecticut does not require military personnel and dependents stationed in the state to get an occupational license in the state. For Connecticut licensees, please see Military Personnel in Connecticut. Their Connecticut driver’s license was being renewed. Foreign visitors with a visitor’s visa are permitted to drive a motor vehicle in Connecticut for a period of one year if they have a valid out-of-country license and an International Driver Permit that they got from their home country. Obtaining an abstract of your driver record from your home territory prior to transferring your license to Connecticut is the same as obtaining an out-of-state license (same requirements as above). However, you must obtain an abstract of your driver record from your home territory prior to transferring your license to Connecticut. When transferring a non-commercial driver’s license from Guam to another state, the DMV will waive the need that the applicant provide an abstract. This applies to active duty military personnel and their family members. It is necessary to produce the applicant’s military identity or the identification of a family member who is a dependant. To obtain a license from Puerto Rico, follow the same procedures as for obtaining an out-of-state license (see above). However, the DMV office you visit will check to see if your Puerto Rico license is valid in your home area before transferring the license from Puerto Rico to Connecticut. The DMV will send you a letter informing you of the status of your Puerto Rico driver’s license. It is in the letter that you will get from the DMV that you will find instructions on how to complete the licensing process. A valid license from Canada, Germany, or France can also be transferred to Connecticut utilizing the same processes as for an out-of-state license
- However, the process is more time consuming.
Reminder: If you are a new Connecticut resident, you must transfer your out-of-state registration to Connecticut within 60 days after moving to the state. For further information, please visit the section under “Requirements to Transfer Your Out of State Registered Vehicle.”
Anyone moving to Tennessee or returning to the state who has a driver’s license from another state must get a Tennessee driver’s license no later than thirty (30) days after establishing residency. Visitors to the state who are new residents will need to stop by one of our full-service driver service centers, which are conveniently situated across the state. To get a Tennessee learner’s permit or driver’s license, new citizens who have a valid learner’s permit from another state must complete additional requirements specific to Tennessee.
Instructions for new or returning Tennessee resident
New residents and individuals returning to Tennessee with a driver’s license from another state are required to get a Tennessee driver’s license no later than thirty (30) days after establishing residency in the state. New residents will be required to visit one of our full-service driver service centers, which are strategically situated around the state to complete the necessary paperwork. To get a Tennessee learner’s permit or driver license, new residents who already have a valid learner’s permit from another state must complete additional criteria.
- Your current driver’s license or certified copy of your driving record, or another acceptable form of identification. The certified copy of your driving record, known as a Motor Vehicle Record (MVR), must be an original and must have been issued no more than 30 days before to the date on which you submit your application to the state of Tennessee. The following documents are required: proof of United States citizenship, proof of lawful permanent resident status, and proof of approved stay or temporary legal presence in the United States. If the name on the Proof of U.S. Citizenship or Legal Presence submitted has changed, a certified legal document proving the name change must be presented as well. This may necessitate the presentation of a number of papers. Examples of supporting documentation include:
To give you an example, consider a court order, a marriage certificate, or a divorce decision.
- (2) Proof of Tennessee residency with your name and residence address – NO P.O. BOXES (documents must be current.) (It must have been taken within the past four months.)
- Proof of your Social Security Number in its entirety
Ex: Social Security card, W-2 (within the past 12 months), payroll check stub, 1099 (within the last(12) months) are all acceptable forms of identification.
Please keep in mind that all papers must be verified with the originating agency or source before they may be used. You may experience a delay in receiving your permit, driving license, or identity only license if your documents are subject to additional verification.
Info For New Residents
In order to drive in Pennsylvania, all new residents holding out-of-state non-commercial driver’s licenses must get a Pennsylvania Driver’s License within 60 days of establishing residency in the state. In order to submit your application, you must attend in person at one of our Driver Licensing Facilities. Please be advised that some state-to-state services may not be accessible on Saturdays in particular jurisdictions or regions. Before PennDOT can give you a Pennsylvania Driver’s License, you will be asked to relinquish your out-of-state driver’s license (which must be valid or expired for less than six months).
Along with your identification and evidence of residency, you will be required to present your Social Security card as verification of your identity.
However, even though a knowledge test is not required for new residents who have been out of state for less than six months and have valid or expired driver’s licenses in Pennsylvania, the Pennsylvania Driver’s Manual (PDF) is designed to help you become a safe driver and enjoy your driving privileges in our beautiful state.
- All documents must have the same name and date of birth, or there must be some sort of connection between the information on the documents in order to be valid.
- Marriage Certificate, Court Order of name change, Divorce Decree, etc.) Learner’s permits issued in another state cannot be transferred to Pennsylvania.
- In order to receive a Pennsylvania Driver’s License, you must first obtain a Pennsylvania Learner’s Permit(PDF) and then pass all required knowledge and skills examinations.
- As of October 31, 2010, birth certificates issued by the government of Puerto Rico and issued before July 1, 2010 are no longer accepted as identification in Pennsylvania.
Birth certificates may now be ordered online or by mail, and they are more secure than previous versions. For further details on how to apply for new certificates, please see the Puerto Rico Federal Affairs Administration website.
Photo Identification (ID) Card
Individuals 10 years of age and older can obtain a photo identity card, which is a legitimate form of identification. You must appear in person at a PennDOTDriver License Center and present proof of identification and residency (Please note that if you are under the age of 18, proof of residency is not required; however, a parent, guardian, or person in loco parentis must accompany you to a PennDOT Driver License Center), as well as a completedForm DL-54A (PDF), “Application for Initial Photo Identification Card.” Applicants who already have a valid driver’s license or photo identification card from another state must relinquish that document when applying for a Pennsylvania Photo ID card.
We encourage you to review our fees page to learn more about how much the product you’re interested in will cost.
All documents must have the same name and date of birth, or there must be some sort of connection between the information on the documents in order to be valid.
Marriage Certificate, Court Order of name change, Divorce Decree, etc.)
Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)
All new residents holding out-of-state CDLs are required to get a Pennsylvania CDL within 30 days of establishing residency in the state. In order to submit your application, you must attend in person at one of our Driver Licensing Facilities. You will be required to take a vision screening exam as well as complete FormDL-180RCD(PDF), “Application for Pennsylvania Commercial Driver’s License by Out-of-State CDL Driver,” which is available online. In addition, you will be required to provide proof of identification and residency, as well as your Social Security card.
Before residing customers who are returning to Pennsylvania must fulfill all of the same identification and residence criteria as customers who have never previously resided in the state.
If it is not possible to establish a relationship between the papers, more documentation may be necessary (e.g.
Visit our HAZMATpage for more information on how to transfer your CDL with a Hazardous Materials endorsement.
Temporary Driver’s License/Photo ID Card
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) offers temporary driver’s licenses and picture identification cards that are valid for 15 days in order to reduce the risk of fraud, including identity theft. The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation uses state-of-the-art facial recognition technology, FaceEXPLORER, to verify that the individual’s image does not match another photograph in our database that has been assigned a new name within that 15-day period (s). The temporary driver’s license/photo ID card is identical to the current driver’s license/photo ID card, with the exception of the blue and yellow banners, which are gray, the word “temporary” emblazoned across the front in red, and the expiration date, which is also red.
The product may be used by any business to authenticate information such as name, age, residence, and so on, in the same way that a permanent driver’s license or photo ID card can.
Voter Registration and Organ Donor Designation
PennDOT offers temporary driver’s licenses and picture identification cards that are only valid for 15 days in order to reduce the risk of fraud, including identity theft. FaceEXPLORER, a cutting-edge facial recognition tool, is used by PennDOT throughout that 15-day period to ensure that the individual’s image does not match another photograph in our database that has the same or a similar name (s). It is virtually identical to the present DL/photo ID card, with the exception of the blue and yellow banners, which are gray, the word “temporary” emblazoned across the front in red, and the expiration date, which is also underlined in red on the temporary DL/photo identification card.
New Resident – Welcome to Florida!
When you do any of the following, you may be deemed a resident of Florida:
- A resident of Florida is someone who meets the following criteria:
Driving on Florida roadways is a requirement for new Florida residents who have not yet obtained a valid Florida driver’s license within 30 days of moving to the state. Obtaining insurance from a Florida insurance agent who is licensed to sell insurance in Florida is also a requirement in order to title and register your vehicle(s), vessel(s), and mobile home(s) within 10 days of establishing residency.
Driver’s License/ID Cards
A driver’s license or identification card application must be submitted in person at any municipal office that provides driver licensing services. The vision exam will be administered when you apply for a driver’s license; however, you may be qualified to acquire a license without having to take a written or road test. Florida’s first Class E license (which includes a learner’s permit) costs $48.00, whereas a commercial driver’s license (Class A) costs $75.00, with each additional endorsement costing $7.00 per license.
In addition, the majority of municipal Tax Collector offices impose a $6.25 service fee.
Please choose your appropriate residence status from the drop-down menu below to get a list of the documents you will need in order to receive a Florida driving license or Florida identification card. Non-Immigrant Canadian Citizen of the United States Immigrant Non-Immigrant Canadian
For automobiles that have a lien against them:
- It is necessary to contact the lienholder if the out-of-state title is currently in the possession of an out-of-state lienholder in order to request that the title be transferred to Florida
- Regardless of whether the lienholder will transfer the title to Florida or not, you must have your vehicle registered in Florida.
- If the lienholder refuses to transfer title from the prior state, insist that they issue you a written letter on their letterhead stating their reasons for refusing to transfer title. If the lienholder agrees to have the title transferred to Florida, you may visit a localmotor vehicle service center to complete theApplication for Certificate of Title with/without Registration (HSMV form 82040)
- If the lienholder does not agree to have the title transferred to Florida, you may visit a localmotor vehicle service center to complete theApplication for Certificate of Title with/without Registration (HSMV form 82040)
- If the lienholder does not agree to have the title transferred to Florida, you may visit
For automobiles that are not subject to a lien:
- Put together a bundle with the following items: (Please keep in mind that extraordinary circumstances may need the submission of additional paperwork.)
- Proof of identification (needed for all owners)
- Proof of Florida insurance
- And proof of residency in Florida. It was originally registered in another state. If you want to get a title, you must have all of the following: a completedApplication for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration(HSMV form 82040)
- Verification of physical inspection of the motor vehicle’s vehicle identification number (VIN), completed on anApplication for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration(HSMV form 82040) orVehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification(HSMV form 82040)
- And proof of ownership (HSMV form 82042). It is necessary for the VIN to be physically viewed and validated by one of the following parties:
- A member of the law enforcement community
- A member of the military police force
- A Florida-licensed automobile dealer
- One of the following: a county tax collector employee or a Division of Motorist Services Compliance Examiner (which may be found at any local service facility that provides motor vehicle services)
A member of the law enforcement community; a member of the military police A Florida Dealer who is properly licensed. An employee of the county tax collector or a Compliance Examiner from the Division of Motorist Services (who may be found at any local service facility that provides motor vehicle services); and