- Hold an instruction permit for at least 12 months.
- Practise supervised driving.
- Complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training if you are under 16 ½
- Apply in person.
- Bring documentation.
- Pass a vision examination.
- Pass the drive skills test.
- Pay the license fee.
What are the requirements to get a driver’s license in Colorado?
You must successfully complete a drive skills test with an approved driver education school, per Colorado Statute 42-2-104:
- You must be at least 16 years old.
- You must hold a valid permit for at least 12 months.
- You must complete Drive Time Log Sheets (DR 2324)
Can I get my drivers license online in Colorado?
Renewing a Colorado drivers license online What is this? The state of Colorado maintains a website called myDMV, so you’re always first in line for DMV services. Many Coloradans have stated that renewing their license online is easy and can be done while they are still “in their pajamas”.
How long do you have to get a Colorado license after moving?
Colorado requires that you update your driver’s license within 30 days with your new address when moving within the state (and no, changing your address with the post office doesn’t cut it).
Do you have to be a resident of Colorado to get a drivers license?
Basic Requirements of Residency You must either own or operate a business in Colorado, be employed in Colorado, or have lived in Colorado for 90 consecutive days to be considered a resident.
Can I take the written driving test online in Colorado?
The program can be completed either in-classroom or online. You will need to present the certificate of completion when you apply for a driver’s permit, alongside other requirements.
How do I get Colorado license plates?
How to order personalized plates
- Visit the State of Colorado’s website to complete an application for personalized plates.
- Mail your application to the address shown on the application form.
- You will receive an approval letter by mail with a billing notice requesting payment for the appropriate fees.
What is needed to register a car in Colorado?
In general, you may need:
- Secure and Verifiable Identification.
- Proof of Colorado Auto Insurance on vehicle to be registered.
- Vehicle Title or “Title Complete Card” for a new registration.
- Proof of Emissions, if applicable.
- VIN Verification, if applicable.
- Form of Payment: Credit Card, Debit Card, Cash, Check or Money Order.
How long is a Colorado driver’s license good for?
Colorado License Renewal Rules for Older Drivers Time limits: Drivers age 61 and older must renew every 5 years; younger drivers renew every 10 years.
How do I get a Denver driver’s license?
Start with Step 7.
- 1Apply in person.
- 2Bring documentation:
- 3Pass a vision examination.
- 4Pass the written knowledge test.
- 5Have you picture and fingerprints taken.
- 6Pay the permit fee.
- 7Get your permit and practice supervised driving.
- 8Pass the drive skills test.
Do I have to retake driving test if I move to Colorado?
Do drivers moving to Colorado have to retake the written test again? Yes, when you move to Colorado you’ll need to pass the written test when you transfer your out-of-state license.
How long do you have to live in Colorado to be a resident?
In order to establish a domicile for tuition purposes, there must be 1) physical presence for at least 12 months within the state along with 2) demonstrated intent to make Colorado one’s permanent home.
Do I have to take a drivers test if I move to Colorado?
You may transfer your valid, out-of-state driver license to Colorado. If you do not have your out-of-state driver license, you may provide a motor vehicle record from your previous state of residence to waive the written exam and drive tests, but you are still required to meet identity requirements.
Do I need a Colorado driver’s license to register my car in Colorado?
You will need 2 forms of state-issued IDs, 1 of which must be a photo ID. All of the following are considered valid forms of identification in Colorado: Colorado driver’s license. U.S. birth certificate.
What qualifies you as a resident of Colorado?
What qualifies you as a Colorado resident? As a general rule, you are considered a Colorado resident when you work in Colorado, own a business in the state, or live in Colorado for 90 consecutive days. Colorado residency requirements differ for tuition, income taxes, driver’s licenses, and hunting licenses.
How do you prove residency in Colorado?
To prove your residency, you need to provide two of the following that include your name, address, and are dated within the last year:
- Utility bill or phone bill.
- Lease agreement, mortgage statement, or rental receipt in your name (receipt cannot be handwritten)
- First class mail dated with postmark.
New to Colorado
- You must be an owner or operator of a business in Colorado OR you must be employed by a company in Colorado OR you must have lived in Colorado for 90 consecutive days.
After relocating to Colorado, you must transfer your driver’s license within 30 days and register your car within 90 days of your move to the state. The registration of your vehicle is performed in the county where you live. return to the beginning
New Resident with a Valid License 16 Years of Age or Older:
If you have a driver license that is active or expired less than one year ago, was granted by another state or territory in the United States, and is currently in your possession, you will not be needed to take the written exam or the driving skills test in most cases. In the event that your physical aptitude analysis or eyesight screening reveal that you have a difficulty, driver license personnel have the authority to request that you take a drive test. You will be asked to provide your legal out-of-state driver’s license in order to be identified and to waive any testing requirements you may have.
(it will be marked with a single hole punch in the upper right corner).
- The expiration or validity of your driver’s license has been shorter than one year
- Identification and evidence of residency documents are required. It is important to note that the acceptance of a birth certificate is contingent on the certifying body, which verifies the document by stamping it with its own seal. Birth certificates must bear the seal of a state or county, not the seal of a municipality. AnAffidavit of Liability or Guardianship (DR 2460) must be signed by your parent or legal guardian in front of a driver license employee or notary public if you are under the age of majority in your state. Fees that are applicable
Remember that if you have a legal license from another state but do not have a physical copy, you can either get and submit a motor vehicle record from the state where you obtained your license, or requalify by passing written and driving examinations. Attention: If you previously possessed a Colorado license and have changed your name, you will be required to bring your name change documentation with you on your first visit.
- Colorado Driver License -Exemption: Active duty United States military members and their spouses are excused from getting a Colorado driver license if they hold a valid driver license issued by another state at the time of their application. Personnel in the military serving on active duty in Colorado who are claiming a different state as their home state of residence are permitted to register their vehicle(s) in Colorado. Obtaining an exemption from paying the Specific Ownership Tax requires active duty military members to be the sole or joint owner of the vehicle and to submit formDR2667 in order to qualify for this exemption. When renewing a car registration or registering a newly bought vehicle, the affidavit must be completed and submitted with the application for registration. These persons are in Colorado because their branch of service has mandated that they be present in the state. In order to obtain further information, consult Colorado Revised Statute 42-6-139.
- A Colorado law enforcement officer
- A Colorado motor vehicle dealer with a valid license
- A Colorado emissions testing station with a valid license
Vehicles – Fast Facts
- Before you register your car in Colorado, you must first convert your out-of-state title to a Colorado title. The title and registration costs must be paid at the county Motor Vehicle office when you arrive. If there are no liens recorded against the car, you will get a copy of your Colorado title in the mail. If there is a lien on the property, the title will be forwarded to that party. It is recommended that you wait 4 to 6 weeks for delivery.
Out of State Student Driver License
Any nonresident who is temporarily residing in Colorado for the primary purpose of furthering his or her education and who is at least 16 years of age, has a valid driver license from his or her state of residence, and is considered a non-resident for tuition purposes by the educational institution he or she is attending is exempt from obtaining a Colorado driver license under the Colorado Driver License Exemption Act.
Out of State Student Plates
When it comes to the legitimacy of out-of-state license plates for students, Colorado has reciprocity with all other states. There will be no requirement to register a car for students whose major reason for being in Colorado is to further their studies in the state of Colorado.
Almost every Colorado driver licensing office offers voter registration services to the public. It is then transmitted to the exact county for which you have registered your vote when your voter registration information has been completed at the driver license office. Please keep in mind, however, that all Driver License personnel are banned from expressing personal thoughts about voting information or political party affiliation.
Organ and Tissue Donation in Colorado
Voter registration services are available at all Colorado driver licensing bureaus. It is then transmitted to the exact county for which you have registered to vote when your voter registration information has been finalized at the driver license bureau.
Important: Please be aware that all Driver License personnel are forbidden from expressing personal opinions about voting information or political party affiliation. –
Return to the top of the page
How to Get a Colorado Driver’s License
Gaining access to your first Colorado driver’s license is a significant milestone, but it doesn’t have to be a major bother. Follow these steps to make the procedure as simple as possible.
Step 1: Get a Learner’s Permit
In Colorado, obtaining a learner’s permit is the first step in becoming a licensed driver. Everyone who applies for a permit in the state of Colorado will be required to submit the following information:
- A learner’s permit is required in Colorado before you may legally drive a car. Each and every applicant for a permit in the state of Colorado will be required to submit the following information:
In addition, there are extra criteria based on your age, which are as follows:
- Driving instructors in Colorado require that drivers aged 15 to 1512 years complete a 30-hour driver’s education course before they may apply for a Colorado license. A list of authorized schools may be found on the internet. Before applying, drivers between the ages of 1512 and 16 must finish either a 30-hour driver’s education course or a 4-hour driving awareness course. Drivers who are 16 years old or older do not need to complete any formal schooling before applying for a license.
Step 2: Apply for a Minor License
The moment has come for you to apply for your Colorado driver’s license after you’ve held your permit for at least twelve months. Applicants under the age of 18 who wish to get a Colorado driver’s license must meet the following requirements:
- Provide log books demonstrating that they have logged at least 50 hours of driving time, including at least 10 hours spent driving at night
- Provide evidence that they have completed an approved behind-the-wheel training program (if they are under the age of 1612) All of the papers that was requested when they applied for their permission should be brought along with them, as well as their valid Colorado learner’s permit You must pay the $26 driver’s license cost in Colorado. Pass a driving exam with flying colors
Provide log books demonstrating that they have logged at least 50 hours of driving time, including at least 10 hours spent driving at night. Provide evidence that they have completed an approved behind-the-wheel training program (if they are under the age of 1612); As well as their valid Colorado learner’s permit, they must provide all of the same papers that was necessary when they applied for their license. Pay the $26 driver’s license fee in Colorado. Obtain a driver’s license;
Step 3: Get an Adult License
Minor licenses are valid for 20 days after the driver reaches the age of 21. Once you’ve reached that age, you’ll need to visit the DMV to obtain an adult license. Minor license holders, on the other hand, must use extreme caution in order to comply with the state’s standards for young drivers until then. It is possible that breaking them will prevent you from obtaining an adult license. These rules are as follows:
- Keeping your minor license in your possession between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. during the first year that you have it
- During the first six months that you have your minor license, you must only transport passengers who are 21 years or older. During the second six months of your minor license, you must not transport more than one passenger under the age of 21. It is not permitted to chat on the phone or text while driving.
Keeping your minor license in your possession between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. for the first year that you have it. During the first six months of your minor license, you must only transport passengers who are 21 years or older. During the second six months of your minor license, you may only transport one passenger under the age of 21. Using a cell phone or sending texts while driving is strictly prohibited.
Colorado DMV Drivers License—Quick Summary
The procedure for obtaining a Colorado drivers license differs depending on the age of the applicant. A legal drivers license will not be issued to anybody under the age of eighteen unless they have obtained their instructional permit. The following is a basic description of the stages you’ll need to complete in order to obtain your driver’s license:
- Pass the DMV-approved driver’s education course
- Preparing for and taking the written instruction permit test are essential. Driving under supervision is a good idea. Prepare for your Colorado drivers license exam by traveling around the state of Colorado
For further information, please see our step-by-step guidelines for obtaining a Colorado drivers license. Following your successful completion of the driving test, you will be granted a minor drivers license. If you are under the age of eighteen, you will be subject to the following restrictions on your license:
- For further information, see our step-by-step directions for obtaining a Colorado driver’s license. A minor drivers license will be granted to you once you have passed your driving test. The following limitations will apply to your license if you are under the age of 18.
If you are a first-time driver above the age of 18, you must undergo a process that is identical to the one described above, with a few small differences. You are not required to complete drivers education or drivers training programs, nor are you required to present any documentation that allude to such programs. Because your instructional permit will not be held for any amount of time, you can apply for your drivers license the same day you obtain your permit. If you want to take your driving test with the DMV, it is extremely recommended that you practice driving before scheduling an appointment with them.
- Whether you already have a driver’s license from another state or nation, please contact the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles to find out if you may have any exams waived for you.
- Please keep in mind that this information was correct at the time it was written.
- For further information, you may visit the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles website or call the DMV.
- All external hyperlinks are given only for the purpose of informing you about other resources and for the benefit of the general public.
DriversEd.com does not vouch for, support, or advocate the accuracy of the material included on externally linked pages, nor does it sponsor or endorse the content of such pages.
Ultimate guide to transfering your out-of-state driver’s license to Colorado
This page was last updated on January 20, 2022.
We have updated this page – visit the latest version here.
Here’s all you need to know about transferring your out-of-state driver’s license to Colorado. We’ve made the procedure as simple as possible for you so that you can save time. This article is intended for persons who have relocated to Pennsylvania but still have a driver’s license from another state in the United States.
What You’ll Need to Transfer your Out-of-State Driver License to Colorado
- Your out-of-state driver’s license in good standing. When you arrive, please bring your certified original state or county issued birth certificate, U.S. passport (if applicable), or military ID (if applicable) to verify your middle name if it does not contain your entire legal name. -Proof of identity documentation
- Your certified original state- or county-issued birth certificate to prove your legal presence in the United States (also known as “proof of legal presence”) (if U.S. citizen or permanently lawfully present in the U.S.). If you have changed your name, you will also require legitimate name change documentation (such as a marriage or divorce certificate) to complete the process. In the United States, you may present a legitimate, unexpired passport that shows your complete, current legal name. -Proof of identity documentation
- You must have an Affidavit of Identity (DR2304) signed by your parent or legal guardian in front of a driver license employee or a notary public if you are under the age of 21 or if you do not have any other identification documents. If you are transferring a driving license, you will also need to complete an Affidavit of Liability or Guardianship (DR2460). a copy of your Social Security card or acceptable proof of your Social Security number
- Two copies of your current physical Colorado address documentation
- And the applicable fee
What You’ll Do to Transfer your Out-of-State Driver License to Colorado
- Step 1: Make an appointment with a doctor. SB251 appointment for the CO-RCSA
- Step 2: Finish your written examination. Step 3: Have your eyes examined. The fourth step is to pay any required fees after passing the written test. To complete Step 5, schedule and take a road test, and then pay the necessary price after passing the driving test.
More Colorado DMV Questions?
Visit our Colorado DMV information page to avoid waiting in line at the DMV. Get a line waiting concierge if you’re in a rush. Get a DMV appointment as soon as possible. All of this information is available for free on the Skip app (and you can earn a $10 credit for the app if you use this link). Follow
Getting a Driver’s License
If you want to drive in Colorado and will be in the country for more than 90 days, you must obtain a Colorado driver’s license, even if you already have an International Driver’s License. Anyone who operates a motor vehicle, motor-driven bike, or moped on Colorado’s public streets and highways must be at least 16 years old and possess a valid driver’s license in order to do so. While studying in the United States, many overseas students choose to obtain a driver’s license. This information pertains to any resident alien, not only “students,” who will be in Colorado for more than 90 days and who will remain a resident alien for more than 90 days.
- Please provide the following documents: a valid foreign passport, I-94 information printed from the Customs and Border Protection website, and either F-1 or J-1 school documentation (I-20 or DS2019). The use of photocopies or notarized copies is not permitted
- Proof of a Colorado residential address is required. Bring an official piece of mail (bill, statement, or other official document) that has your name and address
- Only for the purpose of obtaining a driver’s license: You must pass all of the relevant exams. (This is not required in order to receive a Colorado State ID.)
Driving Record Analysis
Before granting a new driver’s license, the Motor Vehicle Division reviews your driving record and existing driver’s license status to determine whether you are eligible.
Physical Aptitude Analysis
This is a decision made by the driver license staff as to whether or not you have a physical disease or impairment that might impair your driving abilities. Many physical diseases or impairments, such as epilepsy or paralysis, need the submission of a Confidential Medical Examination Report.
Your eyesight will be examined to assess whether or not you have sufficient vision to drive safely. If the test results suggest that you require corrective lenses in order to fulfill the minimal visual criteria, this limitation will be noted on your driver’s license. Failing to reach the required minimum vision standard of 20/40 will result in initial rejection and referral to a vision specialist for correction and suggestions, which will be covered by the applicant’s own insurance. Please remember to bring your glasses or contact lenses to the DMV with you.
Basic Written Test
Your eyesight will be examined to see if you have sufficient vision to operate a motor vehicle safely on the highway. It will be indicated on your license if the test results suggest that you require corrective glasses to fulfill the minimal visual criteria. Failing to reach the required minimum vision standard of 20/40 will result in initial rejection and referral to a vision professional for correction and suggestions, which will be borne entirely by the applicant. Please remember to bring your glasses or contact lenses with you to the DMV appointment.
This is the most crucial portion of the test since you must demonstrate that you are capable of driving safely (see Drive Test 13 for details).
You will be in your car with an examiner who will evaluate your driving abilities and situational awareness, among other things. For the driving test, you must schedule an appointment in advance. On the DMV website, you may make an appointment to see the clerk.
- Make an appointment to be fingerprinted and photographed (under C.R.S. 42-2-107), and pay the appropriate charge. The cost of getting a State of Colorado identification card is $14.00 at the time of writing this article (August 2014). For the time being (August 2014), the cost of acquiring a Colorado driver’s license is $50.50, while the fee for obtaining an instruction permit is $14.00. It is necessary to pay separate fees for both the Instruction Permit and the Driver License.
In Fort Collins, there are several private firms that will give Driver’s Education Instruction; the Colorado Department of Transportation (DMV) provides a list of neighboring driving schools on its website.
- People with temporary lawful presence in the United States who have obtained a Colorado driver’s license, instruction permit, or ID card are not permitted to use their Colorado ID card for federal identification reasons, such as entering a government facility or traveling on an airline. You will still be required to present your passport as identification for federal reasons. To apply for a Colorado driver’s license, instruction permit, or ID card after arriving in the United States, please wait 10 days after arriving. Students no longer require a Social Security number or a rejection letter before visiting the DMV, but the DMV will still check their status in SAVE, so they should wait at least 10 days after arriving in the United States before applying for a driver’s license. In order to drive in Colorado, students who currently hold a license from another state must switch to a Colorado license (although they are not required to take the written or driving exams so long as their out-of-state license is still valid). When you submit your application, you will be awarded a temporary driver’s license or instruction permit. Your official license or permit will be mailed to you within 30 days of receiving your application. If you have not received it after 30 days, you should contact the Driver’s License Office, which will re-issue it to you at no cost as long as it is within 60 days of the original due date. A Colorado driver’s license, instruction permit, or identification card is valid for three years (or until the date of your 21st birthday), regardless of the expiration dates on your I-20 or DS-2019. For this reason, if you want to apply for Optional Practical Training (OPT) or STEM OPT, it is preferable to renew your driver’s license first. Students who already hold a driver’s license from South Korea, Canada, Germany, Taiwan, or France are exempt from taking the written and driving examinations to get a Colorado driver’s license. The written and driving exams are not required if you are renewing or transferring your Colorado driver’s license from another state as long as your present license is still valid or has not expired for more than one year. In order to facilitate the appointment or written exam, you may bring an interpreter with you if you desire. The interpreter must be at least 16 years old and have a current license in order to be hired. You are not permitted to bring an interpreter with you to the driving exam
- However, there are several private firms in Fort Collins that will give Driver’s Education Instruction, written tests, and driving tests for a charge. Driver’s Education may be found in the Yellow Pages of your phone book if you need further information. Insurance for motor vehicles is required in the state of Colorado. It is necessary to present evidence of insurance to your county clerk and recorder before your car may be officially registered. As proof of insurance, you may provide your insurance card, a copy of your insurance policy, or a letter from your insurance company (written on the firm’s letterhead paper) to the court. It is necessary to register a car once it has been purchased with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Visit the DMV website for extra information on how to register your car.
Visit the state website or call the Colorado Department of Revenue, Driver’s License Office, at (303) 205-5600 for additional information about acquiring a driver’s license or permit in the state of Colorado. The Fort Collins office is situated at 3030 S College Ave, Suite 100, and is open Monday through Friday. Their office is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, except on holidays. Federal holidays are observed by the company as closed.
Colorado Driver’s License Points FAQ
To keep track of traffic violations for licensed drivers in the state of Colorado, the state employs a “point system,” which is similar to that used by most other states. If you accumulate an excessive number of points within a specified amount of time, you run the risk of losing your driver’s license. It goes without saying that this might have severe consequences on your daily life, preventing you from doing things such as getting to and from work, sending your children to school, and driving to entertainment, errands, and events to name a few examples.
We’ll also talk about the point value of certain traffic violations and how they might damage your ability to drive in the future.
What is a “Point”?
When it comes to traffic violations, a point is just a number that is awarded to the infraction. The amount of points allocated to a transgression increases in direct proportion to the severity of the crime. A driver’s license suspension will be imposed if you accrue too many points against your driving record during a specified period of time. The number of points you receive for some violations, like as speeding, is depending on how many miles per hour over the speed limit you were going at the time.
- Other infractions, such as driving under the influence (DUI), are assigned a specific amount of points.
- Receiving the maximum amount of points that can be assessed against your driver’s license results in your license being suspended.
- This is where the expertise of an experienced attorney may be of great use.
- A lawyer can also offer facts that may persuade the hearing commissioner to reduce the length of your suspension because of the hardship it would cause you.
To wrap things up, depending on the circumstances, your attorney can assist you in receiving a probationary license, which will allow you to continue driving throughout the period of time your license suspension is in effect.
What are the Point Values for Traffic Violations?
A list of the more common transgressions, as well as their point values, is provided below.
- Leaving the scene of an accident results in 12 points
- Driving while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs results in 12 points
- Driving while ability is impaired by alcohol results in 8 points
- Speed contests result in 12 points
- Eluding or attempting to elude a police officer results in 12 points
- Reckless driving results in 8 points
- Careless driving results in 4 points
- Failure to yield right-of-way results in 3 points
- Failure to Speeding over the posted limit of 5–9 mph earns one point
- Speeding over the stated limit of 10–19 mph earns four points
- Speeding over the posted limit of 20–39 mph earns six points
- And speeding over the posted limit of 40–or more mph earns twelve points. Not making a halt in time for a school bus the number of points is six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six six
- Failure to maintain or show proof of insurance carries a four-point penalty. Improper passing carries a four-point penalty. Failure to observe traffic signs or signals carries a four-point penalty. Improper turn carries a three-point penalty. Driving in the wrong lane or direction on a one-way street carries three points. Failure to signal or improper signal carries two points. Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle carries four points. Improper backing carries two points.
How Many Points are Allowed Before License Suspension?
Colorado law states that drivers between the ages of 16 and 18 can accrue six points in a 12-month period or seven points for the term of their license if they are caught speeding or running a red light. During the period between the ages of 18 and 21, a driver can accrue nine points in a 12-month period, 12 points in a 24-month period, or 14 points during the course of his or her license’s expiration. The accumulation of 12 points in a 12-month period and 18 points in a 24-month period is possible for drivers who are 21 years old or older.
How Do I Know How Many Points are on My License?
Simply keeping track of the traffic convictions that you’ve gotten, as well as their corresponding point values, is the most straightforward approach to answer this issue. If you are unable to do so, you may submit a request to the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles for a non-certified copy of your driving record. You can complete this process in person at any DMV office location. If you would like a certified copy of your driving record, you can obtain one from the Division of Motor Vehicles at 1881 Pierce St.
Box 173345 in Denver, CO 80217-3345.
What Happens at a DMV Point Hearing?
If your license has been suspended owing to a disproportionate number of points, you will get a notice in the mail advising you of your right to a hearing before the DMV. This hearing is an administrative hearing that can be held either in person or over the phone, and it is less formal than a courtroom hearing in terms of procedure. The hearing officer will go over the material with you, evaluate your points of contention, and you will be allowed to introduce evidence such as witnesses if you choose to do so.
Please keep in mind that the hearing officer is unable to provide legal advice, and as a result, you should plan on bringing your attorney with you to the hearing in order to be properly represented.
How Can I Reinstate My Driving Privileges?
During your hearing or via letter, you will be informed of the date on which you will be able to drive again if your driver’s license has been suspended owing to an excessive number of points. Paying the $95 reinstatement fee and submitting the Application for Reinstatement are the first two steps in the procedure. It is possible that your license will be suspended indefinitely if you do not follow the proper procedures. At Schwaner Law, we are experienced in challenging license revocation or suspension decisions.
We will make every effort to ensure that you are able to continue driving as well as to get your license reinstated as soon as feasible. To get started, call us at 719-577-9700 or send us an email for a free and private evaluation of your situation.
With more than half a million downloads, myColoradoTM delivers safe and simple access to state services from any device, at any time, from any location. The app’s contactless functionality Using your Colorado Digital IDTM, which is an electronic version of your driver’s license or state-issued identity card, you may provide proof of identify, age, and residence in the state.
Convenience in the palm of your hand
- With more than half a million downloads, myColoradoTM delivers safe and simple access to state services from any device, at any time, from any location! The contactless functionality of the application It is an electronic version of your driving license or state-issued identification (ID) card that may be used to prove your identity, age, and residence in the state.
- IPhone with iOS version 11 or above
- Android smartphone with OS version 8.1 or higher
- And other compatible devices. Location access is enabled, allowing you to find DMV offices and other state services in your area. Camera access is allowed so that you may scan the barcode on the back of your Colorado driver license or state-issued ID, as well as take a selfie for identity verification during account setup, and to add critical documents to your electronic wallet.
|Locations||Customers Waiting||Waiting Time of Last Customer Served||Total Customers Served Today|
|Castle Rock||No Wait|
PLEASE SELECT FROM THESE AVAILABLE SERVICES
Renewal of a driver’s license or identification card costs $31.87 (plus $2 if the renewal includes a motorcycle endorsement). Requirements:
- If your driver’s license has been expired for less than one year, you will need:
- Current driver’s license
- Two proofs of residence that include the applicant’s name, full physical address, and are dated within a year (if the address is different from the address on the front of the license)
- And a copy of the applicant’s birth certificate.
* There is no Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) available at this location. CLICK HERE TO REnew your driver’s license or identification card online. Permission to Operate (Permission to Operate) It is the process through which a person with a learner’s permit becomes eligible for a driver’s license. Please keep in mind that this site does not conduct driver’s exams or grant learner’s permits. This transaction may only be completed in person at a Full-Service Driver License Office if the individual seeking for the license has previously failed a driving test.
The cost is $30.87.
- You must be 16 years old or older to participate. Passed the driving exam with flying colors A valid learner’s permit is required. It is necessary to be able to document the following:
- The following documents are required: two forms of identification proving physical address (if the address is different from the address listed on the FRONT of the permit)
- The last four digits of your Social Security Number
- Driving logs (on a state-approved form) signed by a parent or legal guardian are required. Certificate of 6 hours of driving experience (if you are under 16 1/2)
- Service is not provided by appointment
- Instead, walk-ins are accepted.
Price for duplicating a license or permit: $12.00 for the first, $16.00 for the second (with a $2.50 extra county charge). Requirements:
- You must submit the last four digits of your Social Security Number, as well as at least one of the papers listed below:
- Original/certified birth certificate issued by the state or county
- US passport that has been expired for less than ten years
- Valid US passport
- Valid Permanent Resident Card
- Valid birth certificate
Update Existing Motorcycle License with New Motorcycle Endorsement There is no motorcycle testing available at this site. For a complete list of Full Service Driver License Offices that provide these services, please see the State’s official website. It will cost you $29.88 to renew your license as well as $3 to add the Motorcycle Endorsement. Requirements:
- Update Existing License to Include New Motorcycle Endorsement There is no motorcycle testing available at this facility. For a complete list of Full Service Driver License Offices that provide these services, please see the State of California website. It will cost you $29.88 to renew your license as well as $3 to add the Motorcycle Endorsement. The following are the requirements:
- A second evidence of physical address (if the address shown on the front of the license differs from the one on the back)
- Complete legal name and identification
- Possession of a legal presence in the United States
- Please enter the last four digits of your Social Security Number. See the list of eligible papers for further information.
Transfer from one state to another A person who has recently relocated to the state of Colorado can have their driver’s license from their former place of residency transferred to the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles. To expedite the process, you can apply for a driver’s license or identification card online by clicking here. Fill out the necessary information, print out the barcode, and bring it to a Driver License office to complete the process. The cost is $30.87. Add $2 if your license is from another state and has a Motorcycle Endorsement.
- Driver’s license from the preceding state
- Original or certified birth certificate issued by the state or county
- Valid passport (not expired)
- Or valid permanent resident card
- Two proofs of physical address, one with the applicant’s name and the other with the applicant’s entire physical address, both dated within a year
- Social Security Number in its entirety
- Full legal name and identification (Unless you bring in an original or certified copy of a State or County birth certificate or a valid Passport with an entire middle name, your full middle name must be filled out on your prior driving license.) All of your original or verified name change documentation are also necessary if your marital name does not correspond to your legal birth name on your birth certificate. Proof of age
- Proof of authorized residency in the United States
- And proof of citizenship. See the list of eligible papers for further information.
ID Card An Identification card, rather than a driver’s license, can be carried by anybody of any age at any time. It is not permissible for anybody to operate a motor vehicle with an identity card. Cost: $17.67 (which includes a $5 county charge). Requirements:
- Two proofs of address, each of which must include the applicant’s name, entire physical address, and be dated within a year of the application
- Complete legal name and identification
- Possession of a legal presence in the United States
- See the list of eligible papers for further information.
ID replacement services are available. Walk-in service is not offered; appointments are not accepted. Change of Surname or Address To add or alter a driver’s license or identification card address online, go to this page. Requirements for a Name Change:
- It is necessary to change your name with the Social Security Administration at least 24 hours before visiting a Driver License Office. For name changes, the original or certified name change paperwork, as well as a letter or new social security card from the Social Security Administration indicating that the name change has been performed, are necessary.
- The Social Security Administration must be informed at least 24 hours before visiting a Driver License Office. Name changes need an original or certified name change paperwork, as well as a letter from the Social Security Administration or a new social security card indicating that the name change has been successfully done.
- Two proofs of address, each of which must include the applicant’s name, entire physical address, and be dated within a year of the application
- Complete legal name and identification
- Possession of a legal presence in the United States
- See the list of eligible papers for further information.
- Please enter the last four digits of your Social Security Number.
The cost is $31.87. (Include an additional $2 if your driver’s license has a Motorcycle Endorsement) Service is not provided by appointment; instead, walk-ins are accepted. Identifying Number for Veterans and Military Personnel A veteran indication, a military identifier, or both, can be added to a driver license or identification card in Colorado provided the applicant meets the requirements.
If the applicant is a veteran of the United States Armed Forces and provides one of the following papers at a Driver License Office, the term “VETERAN” may be put on his or her driver license or identification card: “VETERAN”
- Military identity card that is current and in good standing
- DD214 paperwork issued by the United States government certifying an honorable discharge (either a photocopy or an electronic version of the form is acceptable)
It is possible to have an AMILITARY IDENTIFIER added to a driver license or identification card for those who have served or are currently serving in the United States Armed Forces. Any document may only have one military identity attached to it (Air Force, Army, Coast Guard, Marine Corps, National Guard or Navy). A military identification card from another state does not transfer – to obtain a military identification card, applicants must produce one of the following documents at a Driver License Office:
- A valid military identification card
- A DD214 document issued by the United States government (either a photocopy or an electronic version is acceptable)
- And a valid military identity card Valid identification card for shared access
It is not necessary to provide extra evidence when renewing a driver license or identification card if a veteran indication and/or military identifier have already been applied to the license or card. Additional Active Duty and Military Veterans Driver License/ID Information can be found by clicking here.
ServicesNotOffered at This Location:
- The following services are available: commercial driver license (CDL) services, driving tests, first time permit, immigration licenses/identification cards (I-94s, Employment Authorization cards), license reinstatement, restricted licenses, written tests, and other services. For a list of Full Service Driver License Offices that can provide these services, please visit this page.
In Colorado, if you are 14.5 years old but less than 15 years and 6 months, you must comply with the following requirements.
- Attend and successfully finish a 30-hour Driver Education course certified by the state
- Once you reach the age of 15, you must pass a written test.
Attend and successfully finish a 30-hour Driver Education course that has been authorized by the state. Once you are 15, you must pass a written test.
- Attend and successfully complete a 4-hour Driver Awareness Program that has been authorized for pre-qualification
- OR Attend and successfully finish a 30-hour Driver Education course certified by the state
- Pass a written examination
In Colorado, if you are 16 years old, the state requires you to perform the following:
What The State Of Colorado Requires You To Do To Get Your Colorado License:
If you are under the age of eighteen (18), the State of Colorado requires you to complete the following:
- Be at least 16 years old or older to obtain a Colorado driver’s license in Colorado
- Maintain your Colorado Instruction Permit for a period of one year (beginning on the date the Colorado Instruction Permit was issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles)
- If you are under the age of 16, you must complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a State-certified instructor. Have a Drive Time Log sheet that has been completed and signed (by the parent or legal guardian who signed the Affidavit of Liability for the Instruction Permit) with a total of 50 hours of drive time, which must include at least 10 hours of night driving
- The Behind-the-Wheel Driver’s Test must be passed.
In Colorado, if you are 18 years old or older, you must comply with the following requirements:
- It is necessary to pass the written Instruction Permit examination as well as the Behind-the-Wheel Driver’s Test.
NOW THAT YOU HAVE YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE:
If you are under the age of eighteen, you are subject to the following laws.
- It is mandatory that all passengers in your car be restrained by a safety belt or child restraint device.
The following laws are also applicable, although they are excluded from application in the event of an emergency.
- You are not permitted to operate a motor vehicle between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. You are not permitted to use a cell phone. For the first six months after receiving your driver’s license, you are not permitted to transport any passengers under the age of twenty-one. (Siblings are exempt from this requirement.) You may only have one passenger under the age of 21 in your vehicle between the six-month and one-year period following the issuance of your drivers license. (Siblings are exempt from this requirement.)
Unless otherwise stated, all state laws and regulations are subject to change without notice. Check out the CDOT’s Teen Driving Page for more information on these laws and regulations.
Renew Colorado Drivers License
While it may not appear to be a major concern if your Colorado drivers license has expired, it is important to consider the consequences. Driving with an expired license is against the law, and if you are pulled over by an officer for whatever reason, you will only aggravate your situation further. Do not take that chance; instead, renew your drivers license as soon as you are able. An adult Colorado drivers license may be renewed at any time. The following are the options for renewing your Colorado drivers license.
Renew Colorado Drivers Licensein Person
Any Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles site where you can renew your license in person is available. You should schedule an appointment as soon as feasible. You’ll have to complete the following tasks:
- Bring your license or permit that has expired
- Obtain your Social Security number (it is recommended that you carry your Social Security card)
- Provide documentation proving your current home address. Pay the $21.00 license renewal fee in the state of Colorado
It is possible that you may be needed to pass a vision exam as well as be fingerprinted and photographed if you choose to renew your Colorado drivers license in person.
Renew Your Colorado Drivers License by Mail
Drivers with a clean driving record in Colorado can also renew their licenses over the mail. For further information on whether or whether you are qualified, you may check out the Colorado DMV’s Renew by Mail page. Then you’ll be able to submit your information so that they can decide whether or not you qualify. To apply for Colorado Renew by Submit, you must first print off the Colorado Renew by Mail application and mail it (along with your renewal cost) to the Colorado Department of Revenue.
Reminder: In order to get a new drivers license photo and have your name changed, you must go to a Colorado DMV office in person to renew your driver’s license.
Renew Your Colorado Drivers License Online
Many drivers in Colorado will be able to renew their drivers licenses online in the near future. This is something you should be aware of, though, prior to undertaking this task:
- This service allows you to update your address on file with the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles when you renew your Colorado driver’s license. You will not be able to use this application to renew your commercial drivers license over the internet.
- In the United States, if you are a male between the ages of 18 and 25, you will be immediately registered for selective service. It might take up to 30 days for a driver’s license or other identification document to appear in the mail.
There are a few more things you should be aware of when renewing your license online:
- You must have a credit card from one of the following companies: Visa, Mastercard, Discover, or American Express. In order to participate, you must have a valid email address. All transactions are subject to an administrative processing cost
- However, some transactions are exempt from this fee. To renew your driver’s license or state identification card online, you must first ensure that you satisfy all eligibility criteria.
If you have all of the information listed above, you may now renew your Colorado drivers license online on the state’s website.
How to Get a Colorado Driver’s License [Guide]
Obtaining your Colorado driver’s license may appear to be an unnecessary effort that may be put off. This guide will provide you with all of the information you require, including:
- Driver Permits and Minor Licenses
- How to Qualify for a License
- How to Apply for a Driver Permit and Minor License
Types of Permits and Licenses
The numerous steps involved in acquiring a driver’s license might appear to be overwhelming at times. Let’s take it step by step!
For persons who are learning to drive, a permit provides them with limited driving privileges. As a result of your age, the training that will be required to progress to a license will be as follows:
- Driver Education Permit (Age 15 to 15 12)
- Driver Awareness Permit (Age 15 12 to 16)
- Instructional Permit (Age 16 and above)
- Instructional Permit (Age 16 and up).
If you’re interested in learning more about obtaining a Colorado Driver’s Permit, check out our comprehensive guide. Drivers under the age of 21 who hold a valid permit can exercise restricted driving rights under the supervision of a licensed driver. If the individual does not have a valid license, they can nominate a substitute to supervise in their place until they obtain one. Alternatively, they can assign substitute supervisors for regular driving, but these hours will not be recorded in your practice driving log.
Colorado Minor Driver’s License (Age 16-21)
A minor license permits you to drive, but only under specified conditions:
- For the first six months, no passengers under the age of 21 are permitted, unless accompanied by a parent or other licensed adult driver over the age of 21. For the next six months, you can bring one passenger under the age of 21 along with you. After that, the limitation is abolished
- Nevertheless, during the first year, no driving between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. is permitted unless you are driving with an adult age 21 or older in the passenger seat alongside you. A declaration from work or school indicating that it is necessary for you to do so for your commute may also be accepted as proof of eligibility for an exemption.
- Curfews are enforced in some cities and counties in addition to the state minimum. Check with your local government to ensure that you are adhering to all of the rules and regulations.
Drivers under the age of 18 are not permitted to use cell phones, including hands-free ones, while driving, with the exception of calling emergency assistance. Zero Tolerance: Driving with even a tiny amount of alcohol in your system is illegal and punished by law. If you turn 21 before your minor license expires, you will have 20 days to renew it. You will have the opportunity to upgrade to an unrestricted license during this period.
Unrestricted Colorado Driver’s License (Age 21+)
Once you reach the age of 21, you can apply for a Colorado driver’s license with no restrictions. If you already have a limited driver’s license, you will be able to upgrade to an unrestricted driver’s license without having to do any further steps. Without a permit and before scheduling your behind-the-wheel exam, you will need to complete the application process and pass the written knowledge exam. You will not be needed to complete a driving log or keep your permit for a specified amount of time before you can submit your application.
How Do I Qualify For a Driver’s License in Colorado?
The application for an unrestricted Colorado driver’s license can be made after you reach the age of twenty-one. A minor driver’s license will immediately convert to an unrestricted driver’s license if you currently have one. If you do not have a permit, you will need to apply for one and pass a written knowledge exam before you can arrange your behind-the-wheel test. Before applying, you will not be needed to complete a driving log or maintain your permit for a specified length of time.
- You must be at least 16 years old and a resident of the area. If you meet the following criteria, you are considered a resident:
- You must either live in the state for 90 consecutive days or find gainful work in the state or own and run a company in the state of Colorado.
Have you fulfilled the appropriate tests and criteria for your age?
You must not have a license that has been suspended or revoked in another state to be eligible.
How to Apply For a Colorado Driver’s License
Consider how much time you will need to spend waiting in line for processing and for each test when planning your driver’s license application. Appointments are available at the majority of Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles offices.
- You will be required to present documentation that demonstrates your identity, date of birth, complete legal name, and lawful presence in the United States of America. You may discover a comprehensive selection of suggested documents on this page.
- A valid United States passport
- A certified birth certificate
- A prior driver’s license or identification card
- A Social Security card
- And two bills or other documentation proving residency in the United States. The name on your papers must be the same as the name that will appear on your driver’s license.
Finish filling out your application and passing all of the relevant examinations. (Physical, vision, written, and driving examinations are required.) Pay the Fees That Are Required Take a fingerprint sample from you. You will be given a temporary paper license that will be valid for 30 days, and your genuine license will arrive in the mail around 15 days after receiving your temporary license. This exam is essential if you have specific medical issues that make driving dangerous, such as an epilepsy history or other neurological disorders.
You must have a vision of at least 20/40 in order to take the Vision Exam.
The Written Test comprises of 25 multiple-choice questions, and you must correctly answer at least 20 of them in order to pass the test.
With Zutobi’s incredible manual and study program, you’ll be able to pass on your first try.
Obtaining your driver’s license does not have to be a difficult process.
In order to enhance learning and memory retention, our educational specialists design the curriculum.