How To Get A Driver’S License In Kansas? (Solution found)

Getting a Driver’s License

  1. Present acceptable proof of identity and proof of residence.
  2. Not be canceled, suspended, or revoked in any state.
  3. Pass a vision examination.
  4. Pass all applicable written examination(s)
  5. Pass driving examination (vehicle provided by you)
  6. Pay applicable fees.
  • You must apply for a KS driver’s license in person at a DOR office. You will need to pass vision, written knowledge, and driving tests, and pay the required fee. Continue reading this page to learn how to obtain your first driver’s license from the Kansas Department of Revenue (DOR).

What documents do I need to get a Kansas driver license?

Documents Required For A Kansas Driver’s License or Non-Driver ID Card

  1. One document from list A or B.
  2. One document from List D.
  3. If you are younger than 16, you need to have a parent or guardian present with photo identification.
  4. Provide two proofs of Kansas residency from List C.

Can I get a Kansas drivers license online?

(KSNT) – The Kansas Department of Revenue’s Division of Vehicles has launched KnowTo Drive Online, a web-based version of its driver’s testing exam. The new online platform is powered by Intellectual Technology, Inc. With this addition, Kansans can now take their written driver’s test from home.

How much does it cost to get a driver’s license in Kansas?

The Kansas license cost is broken down into four different parts. There is the primary license fee, a fee for the photo, and the exam fee. A teenage driver can expect to pay $31, while a regular four-year license for adult drivers will cost $23 if an exam is required and only $20 if there is no exam.

When can you get a driver’s license in Kansas?

Drivers are eligible for a Full License when they turn 17 years old.

How soon must you obtain a Kansas driver’s license when you move to Kansas?

New Kansas residents are required to obtain a Kansas driver’s license and vehicle registration within 90 days of establishing residency (e.g. starting a job in Kansas, buying or leasing property, enrolling children in school, registering to vote, etc.).

How do I register a car in Kansas?

Take the title*, the pink copy of the MVE-1 and proof of insurance with you to the county treasurer’s motor vehicle office to make application for a Kansas title and registration. ** The process at * is at each individual county’s discretion. Please contact your local county treasurer’s office for their local process.

Can I get a driver’s license online?

To get your provisional driving licence you must meet the minimum age and eyesight requirements and live in Great Britain. You can then complete the application form, either online or by ordering a hard copy from the DVLA, provide proof of identity and pay the fee.

Can you take the written driving test online in Kansas?

Kansas is the newest state to offer the exam online. The test can be taken 24/7 at the KnowTo Drive Online testing portal here. Fees for the first test are $10 and $8.50 for any re-test.

What is on the Kansas driving test?

The exam will contain 25 multiple-choice questions and you must answer 20 correctly to pass. For all of these types of permits and licenses, though, you will still need to pass a vision exam and the written exam, which will cover topics such as Kansas’ rules of the road, vehicle laws, driver safety, and more.

How long does it take to get a new driver’s license in Kansas?

Your license will not be renewed for 4-6 business days, as the Kansas Department of Revenue must wait to receive exam confirmation from your optometrist/ophthalmologist. A temporary license cannot be provided through the online renewal application. It will take 14-45 days for your new license to arrive in the mail.

Do you have to parallel park in a driving test in Kansas?

In Kansas, applicants are not required to parallel park before they can get their license. However, even if you don’t think you’ll be parallel parking after you get your license, it’s an important skill to practice and learn.

How long is Kansas license?

Kansas driver’s licenses expire either every 4 years or every 6 years. Below is the criteria for driver’s license expiration: Drivers over the age of 65 will renew their license every 4 years. Drivers over the age of 21 and less than age 65 will renew their license every 6 years.

Do you have to take a drivers test in Kansas?

If you’re aged 18 or over, you must still pass the written, vision and road test, and present the necessary documents. However, you are not required to take driver’s education or log any practice time. If you’re ready to take your test, schedule an appointment at a testing office near you.

How do you get a driver’s license?

Get a driver license

  1. Step 1: Determine what license class and type you need. Class.
  2. Step 2: Get a learner permit. Before you can get a license, you must apply for a learner permit at DMV office and take the written test.
  3. Step 3: Practice driving and take a pre-licensing course.
  4. Step 4: Pass a road test.

What age can you drive by yourself in Kansas?

At the age of 17, teens are allowed to apply for and unrestricted Driver’s License. By passing a vision test and driving test, teens will be allowed to drive without restriction.

How to Get a Kansas Driver’s License: The Ultimate Guide

If you are under the age of 17 and have never previously held a Kansas driver’s license, you will be required to complete the graduated driver’s licensing program in Kansas. You’ll first obtain a learner’s permit, which will allow you to practice driving under the supervision of an experienced driver. With a limited driver’s license, you’ll be able to drive on your own for the first time. Finally, once you get a full license, you will no longer be subject to any driving limitations. In this tutorial, we’ll walk you through each stage of the procedure to ensure that you understand everything.

The Learner’s Permit

For the state of Kansas, you must be at least 14 years old in order to apply for a learner’s permit. After that, you’ll have to

  • Pass a written test that contains 25 questions concerning traffic regulations and road signs that are fundamental to driving. For a passing grade, you must earn at least 20/25 (or 80 percent). Pass a vision exam in which one eye must have a vision of at least 20/40 in order to pass

We highly advise you to devote adequate time to preparation for the written test. Because over 50% of those who take the test fail, showing up unprepared will almost certainly result in you having to retake the test. We at Zutobi make preparing for your exam simple by providing a simplified driver’s manual, up-to-date Kansas practice tests, and a gamified learning experience that is fun and engaging. Take note that if you have passed a driver’s education course certified by the state of Kansas, you will not be required to take the written exam.

Permit Restrictions

After completing a vision examination as well as a written knowledge examination, you will be granted your learner’s permit. If you have a permit in Kansas, you must be aware of the restrictions that apply to permit holders in the state. They are as follows:

  • To drive, you’ll need a licensed driver in the front passenger seat who is at least 21 years old
  • Except in an emergency, you are not permitted to use any form of mobile device.

Restricted Kansas Driver’s License

The limited driver’s license is the second stage of the Kansas graduated license scheme, following the provisional driver’s license. Another set of conditions must be met in order to obtain your limited license.

Restricted License Requirements

More limited driver’s licenses are available to those between the ages of 15 and 16 who meet the requirements. Please double-check that you have met all of the following requirements:

  • Completed and passed a driver’s education course certified by the state of Kansas
  • A minimum of one year of experience with a learner’s permit Drivers must log and verify a total of 25 hours of driving (excluding any driver’s education behind-the-wheel time).

A LESS limited driver’s license can be obtained if you are between the ages of 16 and 17, and you will be exempt from the requirement to finish a driver’s education program. Please double-check that you have met all of the following requirements:

  • A LESS limited driver’s license can be obtained if you are between the ages of 16 and 17, and you will be exempt from the need to finish a driver’s education course. Check to see that you have met all of the conditions listed below.

How to Get Your Restricted Driver’s License

You can apply for a driver’s license in person at any driver licensing office, or you can apply online for specific locations. You’ll need to bring your social security number, identification, and two pieces of documentation proving that you live in Kansas. If you’re under the age of majority, you’ll need permission from a parent or guardian, who must also have a valid identification card. Don’t forget to bring your completed driver’s education course certificate and your signed driving log, if you participated in one of the courses.

Unless you have completed driver’s education, you will be required to pass another written exam.

Finally, you’ll be required to take a road test, which will entail driving through a variety of traffic conditions with an instructor who will evaluate your driving skills.

Please keep in mind that if you have completed driver’s education and brought a DE-99 completion form, you will not be required to take the road test.

Driving Restrictions with a Restricted License

With the more restricted form of the restricted license, you are only permitted to drive on your own for the purpose of going to school or working. Driving anyplace else will need the presence of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old in the front seat. You are not permitted to drive other children around, with the exception of siblings, and you are not permitted to use any mobile device except in an emergency. During this period, you’ll need to finish the 50 hours of driving that you’ve already documented.

and 9 p.m., as well as at any time to employment, school, or religious ceremonies in your community.

Getting Your Full Kansas Driver’s License

You can obtain your full Kansas driver’s license after holding a less limited license for six months or reaching the age of seventeen, whichever comes first. In the case of a learner permit and limited license, all that is required is your signed driving log (which must contain a total of 50 driving hours), identification, and the appropriate costs. The DE-99 completion slip from your driver’s education course will be required in addition to passing a road test if you don’t have one already.

New Drivers Over 17

If you are 17 years old or older, you are eligible to apply for a full driver’s license without first obtaining a permit or a limited driver’s license. Bring identification, your social security number, and proof of residency documents to the Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You’ll be required to pass a written knowledge test, a vision test, and finally a road test before receiving your full driver’s license, which will be valid until you turn 21 or for four or six years, depending on your age.

That’s It!

All that is necessary to know about acquiring your driver’s license in Kansas is contained inside this article. We hope that this advice has been of use and that you are now comfortable with the measures to be taken moving forward.

How to Get Your Kansas Drivers License

Applicants seeking limited Kansas drivers licenses must have held their Kansas learners permit for at least 12 months and have completed 25 hours of supervised driving before they may submit an application. You can then work towards obtaining your full unrestricted Kansas driver’s license once you’ve obtained that. Here’s what you’ll need to accomplish in order to complete both tasks.

Kansas Restricted Drivers License Requirements

To be eligible for a limited Kansas license, you must be at least 15 years old and have held your instruction permit for at least one year before you may apply for one. Along with completing a Kansas-approved drivers education course (which will be provided at your high school), you must also have documented a total of 25 hours of supervised driving on top of any time spent behind the wheel during the course. You’ll need to keep track of it on your Kansas Supervised Driving Affidavit, and you’ll need to have a parent or legal guardian sign it to certify that it was done correctly and legally.

Proper identity, confirmation that you’ve completed your drivers education course, 25 hours documented on the Kansas Supervised Driving Affidavit (signed by your parent or guardian), and the appropriate costs will be needed of you upon registration. You’ll also be subjected to a vision examination.

How the Kansas Restricted License Works

Once you’ve obtained your Kansas limited drivers license, you’ll be able to take advantage of your newfound driving freedom. The following limitations will apply to your driving privileges.

  • You can drive unattended from your house to your school or place of employment, taking the shortest and most direct route possible. Any other reason for driving is only permitted with a licensed adult driver (over the age of 21) in the front passenger seat
  • After you have completed the remaining 25 hours of your minimum 50 hours of supervised driving, you must complete the remaining 10 hours in the evenings
  • Other than your siblings, you are not permitted to transport any other passengers. In order to report an emergency, you must call or text from your mobile device
  • Otherwise, you are not permitted to use your mobile device.
See also:  What Do I Need To Renew Driver'S License In Ohio? (Question)

Some of these limitations will be abolished after you reach the age of sixteen and have completed the requisite 50 hours of supervised driving. Between the hours of 5am and 9pm, you’ll be able to drive anywhere, including to and from work, authorized school activities, and religious worship services held by religious organizations. You’ll be able to drive anywhere between the hours of 5am and 9pm, as well as at any time going to or from work or going to or from any religious worship service held by a religious organization.

Getting Your Full Unrestricted Kansas Drivers License

Get your Kansas drivers license with no restrictions after completing the remainder of the Kansas drivers license requirements. In any case, you will be allowed to apply for your unrestricted license after turning 17 or after having had your limited license for six months. The procedure is fairly identical to the one you went through to obtain your limited license. You’ll need to get in touch with your local Kansas DMV testing office and make an appointment to take your drivers license examination.

Both a behind-the-wheel driving exam and a vision test will be administered to you.

Driver’s License in Kansas

A new Kansas Drivers License or an extension of your existing Kansas Drivers License must be applied for and received from the Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles, together with all of the required documents. State Motor Vehicle Administration (SMVA)8200 Southport Drive, Suite 105 Manhattan, KS 66502 Department of Motor Vehicles Hours are from 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. Tuesday through Friday. 785-537-2140 is the number to call. Located at 2910 Arnold Avenue in Salina, Kansas, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is responsible for licensing and registration of vehicles.

  • to 5:45 p.m.
  • 785-825-0321 is the number to call.
  • When applying for SAVE verification, students who are on post-completion OPT should note this and request that the A number on the EAD be utilized instead of the SEVIS number on the I-20.
  • For H-1B visa holders, a copy of the I-797 (Approval Notice), an I-94, and a passport are required.
  • Also required are evidence of residency in the area, as well as cash or a check to cover the charge of $125 per person.

It is advised that you make an appointment with the DMV so that you do not have to wait for a long period of time. For further information, please see the website. Visit if you have never held a driver’s license previously.

To prove residency and address you needtwoof the following and it must be in the applicant’s name and have a Kansas residence noted:

  • A Kansas school form, such as a tuition invoice, receipt, class schedule, report card, DE-99, or transcript is one type of school document. (Cell phone and pager bills are not acceptable.) Utility bill that is no more than two months old
  • A bill or receipt for Kansas real estate taxes
  • Rental and/or lease agreement for a residential property
  • Credit card statement from within the past 90 days
  • Payroll check stub from within the previous two months
  • And a copy of your driver’s license. Original monthly bank statement produced by a financial institution that is not more than two months old
  • A printed copy of KSIS information that includes the organization’s current address

Dependents will be required to follow the same processes as the primary caregiver. Furthermore, you will be required to provide the documentation of the F-1, J-1, or H1B visa holders in addition to the dependant paperwork you brought along. It is also advised that you bring your F-1, J-1, or H-1B visa with you when you go to the DMV. Please keep in mind that F-1J-1 students and J-1 scholars are only entitled to receive a license or identity card that is good for a maximum of one year while visiting the DMV.

If you have an H-1B extension application pending, the license will be provided for a period of 240 days only.

Driver’s License Examination (Class C)

Your initial driver’s license examination is broken into three parts: vision, written, and driving. Vision is the first portion of the examination. Make sure you study well because if you fail the written or driving exam four times, you will have to wait six months before taking the exam again. It is necessary to produce the proper papers and pay the corresponding costs in order to renew an expired or expiring license, as well as pass both a vision and a writing exam.

  • Examine your vision: If you wear corrective lenses, make sure to put them on for the whole assessment
  • Otherwise, you will be disqualified. Examination in Writing: The written examination will consist of questions regarding Kansas driving rules as well as questions about the shape and meaning of traffic signs. You will need a Kansas driving manual in order to do your research. You may either get one from the website provided below or pick one up at the exam station. Taking the Driving Exam: You may only take the driving exam once you have successfully completed the other tests. It is necessary to bring an automobile (if the car is hired, it must be in your name) to the testing center to complete this phase.
Motorcycle License (Class M)

Drivers of mopeds (scooters) with engine capacities of 130 cubic centimeters (cc) or less are able to get a standard Class C license (see the preceding section for details). In contrast, if the engine size is greater than 130 cubic centimeters, the driver must have a Motorcycle License (Class M). You must pass both a written knowledge exam and an on-cycle competence test in order to obtain your motorbike license. More information about acquiring a motorcycle license may be found in the Kansas Motorcycle Operator Manual, which can be found here: Manhattan Exam StationDepartment of Motor Vehicles 8200 Southport Drive, Suite 105 Manhattan, KS 66502 Manhattan Exam StationDepartment of Motor Vehicles Hours are from 7 a.m.

  1. Tuesday through Friday.
  2. Exam Station for the Department of Motor Vehicles in Salina is located at 2910 Arnold Avenue in Salina, Kansas 67401.
  3. to 5:45 p.m.
  4. 785-825-0321 is the number to call.
  5. If you want to drive in another state, you should familiarize yourself with the legislation of that state.

Obtain a Driver’s License

To get a Kansas Driver’s License or Non-Driving Identification credential (“Kansas ID”), the applicant must first attend a driver’s license exam station that provides a full range of driver’s license services. The “DMV” is the abbreviation for this particular station. You will be needed to present identification and proof of residency at the DMV. Consider the following examples:

  • You will need to bring your passport, I-20, or DS-2019, as well as your most recent certificate of ongoing attendance. I-20 or DS-2019
  • I-94 (either the paper I-94 card stapled to your passport or a printout of your electronic I-94 which can be obtained from the Customs and Border Protection website)
  • WSU Shocker Card (Washington State University)
  • Two papers to use as proof of residency/address– A recent utility bill, rental agreement/contract, or Kansas school records are examples of documents that may be used to show your domicile.

Please bring your passport as well as your most recent I-20 or DS-2019 confirmation letter. It is necessary to have the following documents: Form I-20 or DS-2019; I-94 (either the paper I-94 card stapled in your passport or a printout of your electronic I-94 which can be obtained from the Customs and Border Protection website); I-94 (either the paper I-94 card stapled in your passport or a printout of your electronic I-94 which can be obtained from the Customs and Border Protection website); and a valid passport.

Card for the Washington State Shockers To confirm your residence/address, you will need two documents: (1) a recent utility bill (2) a rental agreement (3) Kansas school records (4) a recent utility bill (3) Kansas school records (4) Kansas school records

Please Be Aware

  • Passport
  • I-20 or DS-2019 — You will be required to carry your most recent certificate of continuing attendance with you. I-20 or DS-2019
  • I-94 (either the paper I-94 card stapled in your passport or a printout of your electronic I-94 which can be obtained from the Customs and Border Protection website)
  • WSU Shocker Card (WSU Shocker Card)
  • Two papers to use as proof of residency/address– A recent utility bill, rental agreement/contract, or Kansas school records are examples of documents that can be used to demonstrate your domicile.

Local DMV Offices:

Location of the office: 640 N. Andover, Andover, Kansas 316-733-0106 is the phone number. Weekdays and evenings from 7 a.m to 4:45 p.m., Saturday from 7:30 a.m. to 11:15 a.m., Sunday from 7:30 a.m. to 11:15 et seq. There will be no testing after 4:00 p.m.

Wichita/Sedgwick County

Office Address: 1873 W 21st St North, Suite 42A, Wichita, KSPhone Number: 316-337-6066Hours of Operation: Tuesday – Friday, 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. Office Location: 1873 W 21st St North, Suite 42A, Wichita, KS on Friday till 4:45 p m, and on Saturday from 7:30 a.m. to 4:45 p m. till 11:15 a.m.There will be no testing after 4:00 p.m.

How to Get a Driver’s License in Kansas

Making an appointment with the Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles and completing the required exam are only the beginning of the process. Depending on your age and whether you already have a license from another state, the requirements may differ slightly. For those of you who are applying for your first driver’s license in Kansas, here’s what you should know about the procedure.

License Requirements and Fee

Permits for Instructional Driving for Teens and Young Adults New drivers require a significant amount of practice time behind the wheel before they are ready to take the driving test. It is possible to obtain an instruction permit as early as 14 years old and begin recording hours behind the wheel. For this permit, the State of Kansas does not require formal driving education; nonetheless, parental agreement is necessary by law. It is also necessary to provide identification. Before they can be awarded a Kansas Learners permit, these young drivers must first pass a vision examination.

  1. When they are driving a vehicle, they must have a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old in the front seat to supervise their activity.
  2. Prior to applying for a normal driver’s license, they must first get a temporary driver’s license that must be retained for one year.
  3. They must provide identification and pass an eyesight test before being admitted.
  4. The most significant distinction is that parental consent is not necessary.
  5. FeesThe cost of a Kansas license is divided into four distinct categories.
  6. In contrast, a conventional four-year license for adult drivers will cost $23 if an exam is necessary, and only $20 if no exam is required.
  7. These licenses restrict the number of hours they may drive and the types of vehicles they can drive.
See also:  What To Bring When You Replace A Driver'S License? (Solution found)

If they are accompanied by a legally responsible adult, there are no restrictions.

They are not permitted to carry underage passengers, and they must pass written, driving, and eye examinations before they can begin working.

They must hold their instructional permit for a period of one year and have logged a total of 50 hours of driving time.

They have the freedom to drive whenever they choose between the hours of 5:00 a.m.

In addition, they must be traveling to or from employment, a school-approved activity, or have a licensed driver in the car with them outside of those hours.

You’ll need to pass written, driving, and eye examinations to get into the program.

Driving rights are not restricted, and parental consent is not necessary.

Newly Appointed Resident If you’re relocating to Kansas from another state, you’ll be required to relinquish your previous license and provide acceptable evidence of identification and address to the Kansas Department of Revenue.

If your license has expired, you will simply be needed to take a written exam.

Getting Ready for the Exam Preparing for the written exam using a driver’s license practice test is highly recommended if you intend to take it.

In addition to assisting students in becoming more familiar with Kansas driving rules, the practice exams help them prepare for the questions that will be asked on the official form.

Locations Tests are administered at Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles sites.

There are various Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) facilities around the state.

This website also contains crucial information such as hours of operation, fees, practice exams, and other pertinent information about the company.

If you have this information, you will be well prepared to pass the test and receive your license.

Take a Free Practice Exam Right Now!

Kansas Graduated Drivers License – Restricted License

Restricted License Requirements – KSA 8-2, 101
Ages: 15-16Duration: 12 Months
  • Necessary to be at least 15 years old
  • Written application from parent or guardian required
  • Must have held an instruction permit for at least one year and completed a minimum of 25 hours of supervised driving before applying. Must have successfully completed an authorized Driver Education course (this is not necessary if applying at the age of 16)
  • Must have a clean driving record
  • To and from any job, occupation, or farm-related work, or in conjunction with any of these
  • For the purpose of attendance, the most direct and easily accessible route between home and school should be used. When accompanied by an adult* in the front seat who is in possession of a valid driver’s license
  • When This period includes the following activities:
  • It is necessary to complete an extra 25 hours of supervised driving (of which 10 of the total 50 hours must be at night)
  • There are no exceptions for minor passengers who are not siblings. Using a wireless communication device while driving is strictly prohibited, with the exception of reporting criminal behavior or summoning emergency assistance.
  • If you are over the age of 16, you may drive at any point throughout the first six months:
  • Between the hours of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m.
  • To and from any job, occupation, or farm-related work, or in conjunction with any of these
  • Traveling to and from permitted educational activities or a religious worship session hosted by a religious group
  • When accompanied by an adult* in the front seat who is in possession of a valid driver’s license
  • When This period includes the following activities:
  • One minor passenger (younger than 18 years old) who is not a member of the immediate family is permitted. Using a wireless communication device while driving is strictly prohibited, with the exception of reporting criminal behavior or summoning emergency assistance.
  • Teen drivers are subject to the same penalties as other motorists
  • KSA 8-291 is susceptible to suspension or revocation in the same manner as any other driver’s license
  • If you are under 16 and have two or more collisions, you will not be able to drive until you are 17
  • The first offense carries a 30-day punishment
  • The second offense carries a 90-day suspension
  • The third offense carries a one-year ban.

Get Drivers License

How to Obtain a Driver’s License in Kansas Located on the second floor of the Girard, Kansas Courthouse. Hours of Operation: Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Phone:620-724-8222 Only cash or check will be accepted as forms of payment (No Debit or Credit Cards) Please Take the Time to Read: Here at this location in Girard, Kansas, the following services are available:

  • Renewal of Kansas drivers’ licenses
  • Renewal of Kansas identification cards
  • Issuance of duplicate Kansas drivers’ licenses and identification cards
  • Change of address
  • Changes in names
  • MVR reports
  • And test booklets are provided.

This office is unable to conduct any transactions on the following items:

  • Transactions on the following items are not permitted by this office.
  • Individuals with a Concealed Carry Permit
  • Instructional Permits
  • Restricted Licenses
  • Individuals with a Concealed Carry Permit

In exchange for these services Inquiries about anything else should be sent to the Main Driver’s License Station at 202 E Centennial Dr C-11APittsburg, KS 66762 (phone: 620-231-0711). Hours of operation: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Weekdays (Tuesday-Friday) If you have never had a license before, you must first:

  • Provide valid identification as well as confirmation of residency
  • This license shall not be revoked, suspended, or canceled in any state
  • Pass a vision test with flying colors
  • Pass all writing examinations that are applicable
  • Driving test (in a car provided by you) successfully completed
  • Fees must be paid if appropriate.

Obtain approved identification and proof of residency documentation In no state may it be canceled, stopped, or revoked; It is necessary to pass a vision test. Pass all writing examinations that are required; Driving test (in a car provided by you) successfully completed. Fees must be paid in whole.

  • Provide valid identification as well as confirmation of residency
  • This license shall not be revoked, suspended, or canceled in any state
  • Pass a vision test with flying colors
  • Pay any fees that are due.

If you hold an out-of-state license that has been expired for one year or less, you must comply with the following requirements:

  • Provide valid identification as well as confirmation of residency
  • This license shall not be revoked, suspended, or canceled in any state
  • Pass a vision test with flying colors
  • Pass all writing examinations that are applicable
  • Pay any fees that are due.

If you hold an out-of-state license that has been expired for more than one year, you must do the following:

  • A license from another state that has been expired for more than one year must be used in conjunction with the following requirements.

Driver’s License

Customers will be able to renew their Driver’s License or Identification (ID) card in the Miami County Treasurer’s Office beginning on August 1, 2017, assuming they meet the requirements of the Real ID Act. What exactly is Real ID? The Real ID Act of the United States federal government provides basic security requirements for state-issued driver’s licenses and identification cards. When Congress passed the Real ID Act in 2005, it was the culmination of a coordinated effort by the states and the federal government to improve the reliability and accuracy of state-issued identification documents.

When flying domestically or entering certain government facilities, you will need a driver’s license or ID card that complies with the Read ID Act by May 1, 2023.

For a list of approved identity documents, please see tsa.gov/travel/security-screening/identification/identification.

If you are renewing your license on the same day that it is due for renewal, only the standard renewal fees will apply.

A Read ID can be obtained prior to your renewal date for $11.00 if just the Real ID indicator is being added. Required DocumentationPlease see the picture below for a checklist of the documents you will need to submit in order to get your Real ID. To get certified vital records, go to this link.

Driver’s License

  • Renewal of Kansas driver’s licenses
  • Issuance and renewal of identification cards
  • Issuance of duplicate Kansas driver’s licenses
  • Changing one’s residence.

The Treasurer’s Office does not grant commercial driver’s licenses or concealed carry permits. On request, tests and test booklets are made accessible to students. The Treasurer’s office charges an extra cost of $2 each transaction, in addition to the regular fees.

Renewing Driver’s License

You must supply a current driver’s license as well as proof of Kansas residency that is no more than two months old in order to renew a Kansas driver’s license. If you do not have the driver’s license that is about to expire, you must present two forms of identification. If you wish to learn more about upgrading to the new Real ID, please see the section under “Real ID Information.” Information on a valid ID Beginning on August 1, 2017, the State of Kansas began providing credentials that were Real ID compliant.

  1. Those who hold Real-ID/DL credentials will have a “Gold Star” printed on their credentials, whereas those who hold non-Real-ID credentials will have the phrase “Not for Federal ID” printed on their credentials.
  2. In the absence of a designation, they will be unable to board an airline or enter federal buildings.
  3. -An original copy of your Social Security card (i.e.
  4. -In addition, the applicant will be required to submit a certified birth certificate or a current United States passport.
  5. certified marriage license, divorce decree, court order of adoption, or court order of legal name change).
  6. utility bill, bank statement, hospital invoice).

Driver’s LicenseID Fee Schedule

Driver’s licenses expire every 4-6 years; for more information, see the Fees for Licenses and Identification.

Kansas Legal Services

The Kansas Legislature approved Senate Bill 127, which took effective on May 6, 2021, and made several modifications that can be extremely beneficial to persons who have had their driver’s license suspended for an extended period of time.

Table of Contents

To learn more about a certain issue, select it from the drop-down menu.

Among the changes

People who have an expired license are not barred from participating in the Restricted Driver’s License program because they were convicted of driving while their license was suspended.

Despite the fact that you were convicted of driving while suspended and subsequently your license expired while your license was suspended, you may be able to regain your driving privileges on a limited basis. Return to the top of the page

How do I apply for this?

While a COVID emergency order (State order) is in effect, you should submit your application directly to COVID using the form provided below. In order to be eligible for this program, you must have previously had a Kansas driver’s license. You may be required to apply at a local driver’s license office to take a written test, a vision test, and, most likely, a driving test if your license has been expired for more than a year and the COVID emergency has been resolved. You’ll need access to a car for this (but you’ll need someone to drive you because you don’t have a driver’s license).

Return to the top of the page

Find the form here:

Even if the form specifies that a $25 fee will be charged, please complete it. It is not necessary for you to send in the fee. For those who fail to pay a traffic ticket and wish to be considered for the Restricted Driver’s Program, the application cost has been eliminated. This charge used to be $25, and it was non-refundable even if you were not eligible for the program at the time. If you are having difficulty paying your penalties and court costs, you may be able to petition the Judge to lessen or waive those fees.

In addition, the Judge can waive the reinstatement cost that is required to get your driver’s license restored.

Detailed instructions and a packet of driver’s license applications Return to the top of the page

An extra 90 day suspension or revocation after the terms of the original suspension are met has been removed.

Even if the form specifies that a $25 fee will be charged, you should submit it. This charge is not required to be submitted. For those who fail to pay a traffic ticket and wish to be considered for the Restricted Driver’s Program, the application cost has been waived. If you didn’t qualify for the program, you were required to pay a $25 fee that was not refunded. The Judge may grant your request for a reduction or waiver of penalties and court expenses if you are unable to pay. It is possible to get your driver’s license reinstated if you have paid or waived your fines (ordered not due by the Court).

Detailed instructions on how to complete each of these requests are included with the forms that may be seen below.

Return to the beginning of the page

Driver’s License Status

If you wish to find out the current status of your Kansas driver’s license, go to this page. Return to the top of the page

Suspended Driver’s License

According to the most recent figures from the Kansas Department of Revenue, more than 213,000 Kansans had their licenses suspended, with over half of them hailing from Sedgwick County and the City of Wichita. Around 71 percent of these suspensions are the direct result of unpaid penalties and court expenses, according to the statistics.

Drivers who have their licenses suspended may be eligible to apply for a limited license in certain circumstances. A limited license entitles the holder to the following privileges when driving:

  • To and from work and school
  • To and from drug or alcohol therapy
  • To and from a medical appointment or during a medical emergency
  • To and from a doctor’s appointment or during a medical emergency During the course of your job, you will Any location where you are ordered to travel by a court of law
  • Those who have restricted licenses have a period of up to 12 months in which to pay off penalties and court expenses before their license is revoked. It costs $25 to apply for a limited license, and you must also submit a paperwork requesting that your suspension be modified in order to do so. It is critical that you pay any reinstatement or administrative costs owed to the DMV prior to submitting your application. You may find that form here. You can reach Driver’s Solutions at (785) 296-3671 option 3 if you have any questions about whether you are liable for reinstatement or administrative fees.

Once you have completed the form, you can either submit it online through the Department of Revenue Customer Service Center or send it together with the application fee to the following address:

  • Division of Vehicles
  • Driver Solutions
  • PO Box 2021
  • Topeka, KS 66612-2021
  • Division of Vehicles

DUIs and Ignition Interlock Devices

If you have been convicted of driving under the influence, you have most certainly been advised that you must have an ignition interlock device put in your car. On January 8, 2020, the Kansas Department of Transportation announced an addendum to the Ignition Interlock Program saying that “all new ignition interlock devices will have a camera beginning on that date.” More information about the Ignition Interlock Program, including where to get the device fitted or removed, may be found at the following link:Top of page

Driving Tests and Driver’s Education

Please be advised that the DMV is not conducting driving exams at this time. All writing examinations and eye tests must be planned in advance; some appointments can be made over the phone, while others must be made online using Q-Flow (Quality Flow). Some people are apprehensive about taking their driving exams. Take practice tests online to make yourself feel better prepared for the written test. You may also get a copy of the driver’s manual online or request a paper copy from your local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

In Kansas, internet-based courses do not fulfill the requirements for obtaining a driver’s license.

A certificate of completion from an Internet Driver Education course will not be recognized as proof of completion for the purpose of obtaining a driver’s license.

Driver’s education lessons are available via AbilityKC and the Kansas Department of Education.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

I was involved in an uninsured vehicle collision. I was advised by Driver’s Solutions that I required a release of liability from the other driver in this particular situation. What information does the release of liability need to include?

  • Uninsured motorist coverage was not available to me in this situation. Driving Solutions informed me that I would require a release of liability from the other motorist in this particular situation, which I did. Which clauses should be included in the release of liability?

Is it possible for me to obtain a limited license if my license has been revoked?

  • No, sadly, after your license has been revoked, you will be required to wait a minimum of three years before being eligible to apply for any other lawful license. The driver’s license status check will show you the precise day on which you are eligible
  • However, this is not guaranteed.

What steps do I need to take in order to obtain a restricted license?

  • First and foremost, you must determine whether or not you are eligible. Using our Guide Clearly tool, which can be found under the Suspended License category, you may do this task. If you are eligible, you may apply by completing the form that is linked to in the instructions.

Is there any way for me to get my reinstatement cost reimbursed?

  • You can ask the court to waive the reinstatement cost if you qualify. The Reinstatement Fee Waiveras well as the Financial Affidavit will be required in order to complete this process. The Financial Affidavit must be executed in the presence of a notary public.

What is the reason for the high reinstatement charge or administrative fee?

  • For repeat offenders, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) charges increased administrative costs. High reinstatement costs can result from a variety of factors, including refusals to take preliminary breath tests, DUI convictions, and driving while suspended convictions. When in doubt about why your price is more than normal, you may contact driver’s solutions for a breakdown of the costs and a copy of your driving record
  • If you have any questions regarding your fee, please contact driver’s solutions.

How can I obtain an unrestricted license once I have obtained a limited license?

  • Those who are granted limited licenses are given a 12-month period from the date of their award to settle any and all outstanding court charges and fees owed to the court system. You will be able to obtain your unrestricted license once you have successfully paid off all of your court fines and penalties. The suspension of your limited license will take effect if you do not pay up all of your court charges and fees within 12 months after receiving them.

Is it possible for me to take my written driver’s exam online?

  • No, despite the fact that there are several practice tests and study tools available, the written driver’s exam is only available in person. Any online exam or driver’s education course will not satisfy the test criteria for obtaining a driver’s license
  • This is true for both commercial and noncommercial drivers.

Despite the fact that there are several practice tests and study tools available, the written driver’s exam is only available in person.

Any online test or driver’s education course will not satisfy the test criteria for obtaining a driver’s license; however, they may be used to prepare for the written exam.

  • It is necessary to provide documentation of your identification to the DMV in order to have this issue resolved. If your driver’s license and birth certificate have a different name or date of birth, you will need to go to the DMV to get it corrected. If the name on your driver’s license is correct, but you require a legal name change in order to modify your birth certificate, you can find name change petitionshere
  • If the name on your driver’s license is incorrect and you require a legal name change in order to modify your birth certificate, you can find name change petitionshere

What should I do if I have a problem with identity theft that is hurting my driver’s license?

  • If you have a problem with identity theft that is interfering with your ability to drive, you can file a complaint with the DMV’s identity theft team for assistance. It is possible that you may need to get court documents in order to establish your identification or to demonstrate that someone else has impersonated you. Individuals’ signatures or contact information may be found in court documents, for example. If someone was arrested and booked into jail using your name, you may also wish to call the jail where they were detained and get a copy of their booking picture. It may take a number of business days to process these requests.

Driver’s Solutions

The DMV’s identity theft team can assist you in resolving any issues related to identity theft that are interfering with your ability to get a driver’s license. To verify your identification or to demonstrate that someone else has impersonated you, you may need to get court documents. Individuals’ signatures and contact information may be found in court documents. For those who have been arrested while using your identity, you may wish to call the jail where they were detained and ask for a copy of their booking photo.

Apply to Kansas Legal Services for Additional Help

If you have a problem with identity theft that is interfering with your ability to drive, you can file a complaint with the DMV’s identity theft team. To verify your identification or to demonstrate that someone else has impersonated you, you may need to acquire court documents. Individuals’ signatures or contact information may be found in court documents. If someone was arrested and booked into jail using your name, you may also wish to call the jail where they were detained and get a copy of their booking photograph.

Driver’s License

Identification that is acceptable Fees for License Renewals and Driver’s LicensesFrequently Asked Questions The Real ID Act of 2005

Driver’s License Get in Line!

We built this Driver’s License Station to provide services to established residents of Butler County and to assure that people who get licenses from this station are responsible and competent drivers to the best of our abilities. However, the driver’s license has evolved into a document that is accepted as proof of lawful presence and identification in addition to being used to exercise the right of driving. Services that are provided The renewal and replacement of current Kansas Driver’s License and Kansas Identification Card are available.

a current DE-99 permit from a current class, birth certificate, Social Security card or evidence of a Social Security number (a parent’s income tax return with the child’s name and Social Security number can serve as proof), and a parent or guardian (cannot process transactions for medical restrictions or exchange students).

* Changes of address are permitted with a current drivers license and proper proof of residence.

When deemed necessary, we have the right to send you to a Full-Service Driver’s License Facility for further processing.

Driver’s License

A primary goal of our Driver’s License Station is to provide services to long-term residents of Butler County while also ensuring, to the best of our ability, that people who get licenses from this station are responsible and qualified drivers. It is now recognized as a document that may be used to prove one’s legal presence and identify, in addition to being utilized to get the right of driving. the services that are made available The renewal and replacement of current Kansas Driver’s License and Kansas Identification Cards are available.

* A first-time learner’s permit with a DE-99 permit from a current class, a birth certificate, a Social Security card or proof of a Social Security number (a parent’s income tax return with the child’s name and Social Security number can serve as proof), and a parent or guardian must accompany the child (cannot process transactions for medical restrictions or exchange students).

A current drivers license and a valid proof of residence are required for address changes to be processed successfully.

When a Full Service Driver’s License Facility is required, we reserve the right to recommend you to them.

  • Reno County: 125 W. Second St., Hutchinson
  • Sedgwick County: 1873 W. 21st St., Wichita
  • Butler County: 640 N. Andover Rd., Andover
  • McPherson County: 322 N Main St., McPherson
  • Butler County: 620 N. Rock Rd., Derby
  • Sedgwick County: 620 N. Rock

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *