- Book an appointment with a Driver’s License Service Center.
- Fill out a Hawaii Class 3 License Application Form ahead of time or at the center.
- Pass a vision screening with or without corrective lenses.
- Pass the written knowledge test.
- Pass the driving skills test.
- Pay the required fees.
How do I get a Hawaii drivers license?
New License Requirements
- Complete a driver license application for an Instruction Permit.
- Present Identifying documents for proof of name, date of birth and social security number (See list of Acceptable Documents)
- Present original or certified copies of document(s) for proof of legal presence.
How long do you have to live in Hawaii to get a license?
Hold your provisional drivers license for at least 6 months (and don’t get any traffic tickets). Wait until you are at least 17 years old. Return to a drivers licensing office in your county to receive your full Hawaii driver license! Your driving is no longer restricted.
What are 2 proofs of Hawaii residency for drivers license?
Become a Resident of Hawaiʻi A Hawaiʻi driver’s license, voter or automobile registration, the appearance of a person’s name on a city or town street list, and rent, utility, mortgage or telephone bills normally provide tangible proof of residence.
Do I have to get a new license when I move to Hawaii?
After you become a resident of Hawaii, you’ll have to visit the DMV and transfer your out-of-state driver’s license as soon as possible.
How long does it take to become a resident of Hawaii?
Except as otherwise provided by the Board of Regents, in order to be considered a resident for tuition purposes, you must be a U.S. citizen or a permanent resident for one calendar year (365 days).
Can I have a Hawaii state ID and driver’s license?
According to Federal and State laws, individuals may hold only one REAL ID compliant credential. If you have both a Driver’s License and a Hawai’i State Identification credential, you must choose which credential will be your compliant REAL ID Credential.
How do I get a gold star on my Hawaii drivers license?
You may visit your county DMV office prior to October 1, 2021 and apply for a duplicate Hawaii State Identification Card with the star-marking and pay the appropriate duplicate card fee. The county DMV staff will verify that you have presented all the required documents to qualify for the card with the star marking.
What is a Type 3 driver’s license in Hawaii?
What is a Type 3 driver’s license in Hawaii? Type 3 driver’s license is also known as Class 3. Class 3 refers to the non-commercial license for drivers operating a vehicle with less than or equal to a GVWR of 18,000 pounds. As a non-commercial license, the vehicle shouldn’t be designed to carry more than 15 people.
Can you be a resident of two states?
Yes, it is possible to be a resident of two different states at the same time, though it’s pretty rare. Filing as a resident in two states should be avoided whenever possible. States where you are a resident have the right to tax ALL of your income. This is regardless of where it was earned.
What makes you a resident of Hawaii?
A Hawaii Resident is an individual that is domiciled in Hawaii or an individual that resides in Hawaii for other than temporary purpose. An individual domiciled outside Hawaii is considered a Hawaii resident if they spend more than 200 days in Hawaii during the tax year.
What documents do I need for Hawaii drivers license renewal?
- Complete a driver license application;
- Present original or certified copy of document(s) for proof of name and date of birth;
- Present proof of Social Security Number;
- Present original or certified copy of document(s) for proof of legal presence;
Can I keep my out of state license plates in Hawaii?
The out-of -state plates will be valid until their expiration date or for 12 months, whichever occurs first. You may also obtain Hawaii license plates under the above conditions instead of an out of state permit. If your vehicle is going to remain in the state this might be an easier alternative for you.
Do I need to make an appointment to renew my Hawaii drivers license?
Hilo and Kona Driver License Offices are accepting walk-ins for renewals. Those with appointments receive priority. All other offices will remain by appointment only. The Kapalama, Kapolei, Koolau and Waianae Driver Licensing Centers are offering extended hours (Mon – Fri 7 a.m. – 5 p.m.) for renewal services.
Dllicense (Driver License Information) – current
VIDEO: It is necessary to provide a valid address in order for the package to be delivered successfully. Also, do not throw the card away by mistake. It is necessary to phone (808) 768-9100 and leave a detailed message if you have renewed your driver’s license more than 8 weeks ago and have not received it.
Schedule an Appointment Graduation from the Learner’s Permit to the Graduated Driver Licensing Program (RDLP) (GDL)
GENERAL REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURES
Procedures for Requirements Form for obtaining a driver’s license with additional clearances aid in a foreign language
LICENSE RENEWAL AND DUPLICATES
Tips for Renewing Your Driver’s License that will be of assistance. Duplicates of a driver’s license or learner’s permit can be obtained online.
REAL ID INFORMATION
COMPLIANT WITH THE REAL ID Forms of Identification Acceptable by the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) include: Hawaii Driver LicenseState ID Limited Purpose Driver’s License
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Frequently Asked Questions about Obtaining a Driver’s License Frequently Asked Questions about the Commercial Driver’s License Office (CDL)
RECIPROCITY AGREEMENT WITH JAPAN, KOREA AND TAIWAN
Transfer of a foreign driver’s license
Out of State Transfer Requirements
- Complete an application for a driver’s license
- Present your valid out-of-state driver’s license that has not expired
- Please bring your original social security card
- And Proof of legal presence should be shown in the form of original or certified copy of the document(s). Bring in two (2) pieces of documentation to prove your residence address (if your post office box serves as your postal address, you must additionally bring in a piece of documentation that lists your actual address)
- Completing and passing a vision screening examination
- To be able to drive, you must have a clean driving record on the National Driver Registry.
Refer to the “List of Acceptable Documents” for more information. It is necessary for you to turn in your out-of-state driver’s license. Applicants for Instruction Permits who do not have their out-of-state license in their hands and do not turn it in will be forced to apply as new applicants and pass a written and road test as part of the process. The names on your driver’s license and social security card must be the same as on your passport. After completing a written exam consisting of 30 questions, you will be awarded an instruction permit that will enable you to drive with a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older.
Road testing are only available by appointment.
(Updated on 10/22/2019) HONOLULU DRIVER’S LICENSEIN EFFECTIVE Act 38, Session Laws of Hawaii 2010, was adopted on March 5, 2012, by the state Department of Transportation (DOT) and all county driver license offices, and it had an impact on driver licensing standards throughout the state. On September 4, 2013, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) sent a letter to Hawaii stating that the state had created a program that satisfied the requirements of the REAL ID Act and had obtained the Department of Homeland Security’s “Final Determination of Full Compliance.” In the following section, you will find answers to commonly asked questions concerning the changes in the way HawaiiREAL ID compliantdriver’s licenses, instruction permits, commercial driver’s licenses, and temporary driver’s licenses are issued in the state of Hawaii.
Limited purpose driving credentials, such as a non-REAL ID compatible driver’s license, instruction permit, and provisional driver’s license, may be found under the Information and Frequently Asked Questions on limited purpose driving credentials section of this website.
The following are links to the driver’s license issuing locations in each county, as well as contact information for each location: County Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Offices and Contact Information The Honolulu City and County government County of Maui Hawaii County is a county located in the state of Hawaii.
Everyone applying for a REAL ID compliant Hawaii instruction permit, provisional driver’s license, or driver’s license, including citizens of the United States (U.S.) and foreign-born applicants, is affected by the requirement for documentary proof.
When all paperwork criteria have been satisfied, a REAL ID compatible card may be provided to the applicant.
When applying for a REAL ID compliant Hawaii instruction permit, provisional driver’s license, or driver’s license for the first time, applicants must provide documentary proof of their legal name, date of birth, social security number, legal presence, and Hawaii principal residence address from:Applicants who are applying for their first REAL ID compliant Hawaii instruction permit, provisional driver’s license, or driver’s license.
- Whoever applies in person and provides documentary proof of legal name, date of birth, social security number, legal presence in Hawaii, and Hawaii principal residence address must be a first-time applicant for a Hawaii driver’s license or instruction permit.
- In order to make a link between different-named documents, all papers must have the same full name, or you must offer “connecting documents” to link any different-named documents together.
- Please refer to the section under “List of Acceptable Connecting Documents to Prove Legal Name Changes” for more information on this topic.
- Visit the following website if you require a Social Security card:Applicants renewing their REAL ID-compliant Hawaii instruction permit, provisional driver’s license, or driver’s license.
Individuals with legal names, dates of birth, social security numbers, legal presence, and Hawaii principal residence address who have previously presented documentary proof and who have been issued a REAL ID-compliant instruction permit, provisional driver’s license, or driver’s license are not required to present documentary proof again unless any information on these documents has changed, such as a change in social security number, change in address, or change in citizenship status.
- In contrast, a fresh photograph must be taken in-person by DMV employees at the time of renewal, no less often than every sixteen years, or at the time of application prior to the time when the sixteenth year comes within the period of the driving credential referred to before.
- A middle name (and suffix) are not regarded to be a part of the legal name for the purpose of obtaining a social security number and can thus be truncated, omitted, or misspelled.
- The document guide may be seen and printed by clicking here.
- citizens or immigrants admitted for permanent residence status in the United States;Applicants applying for a temporary legal length of stay – limited term driver’s licenses or permits;Applicants applying for a duplicate Hawaii driver’s license or permit who are U.S.
- Persons who have been granted permission by the federal government to temporarily reside in the United States will be awarded a limited-term driver’s license or permit with a shorter expiration period than usual.
- Do I have to provide documentation verification of my legal name, date of birth, social security number, legal presence in the United States, and Hawaii primary dwelling address on a regular basis?
- When filing for a renewal or duplicate of a Hawaii driver’s license, instruction permit, or provisional driver’s license, applicants who are temporarily permitted to be in the United States are required to produce in-person documentary verification of continuous legal presence.
Is it possible to renew my driver’s license and instruction permit over the mail?
For your convenience, you can renew your license in person at a county DMV office by presenting documentary proof of your continued legal presence.
It will not be necessary to provide documentary proof of legal name, date of birth, social security number, legal presence, and Hawaii principal residence address to applicants who are U.S.
Applicant’s who have made any changes to their personally identifiable information (such as a change in name) that is written on their driver’s license since their last card was issued will be required to produce in-person documented verification of those modifications.
In order to make a link between different-named documents, all papers must have the same full name, or you must offer “connecting documents” to link any different-named documents together.
The document guide may be seen and printed by clicking here.
Is it necessary for me to provide documented verification of my legal name, date of birth, social security number, legal presence in the United States, and Hawaii primary dwelling address in Hawaii?
For citizens of the United States or those who have permanent resident status, no documentation is necessary.
The driver’s license will be reprinted with the new information on the back of it.
If you are a citizen of the United States or have permanent resident status, you may submit an application for a duplicate driver’s license through the mail.
Any changes to your personally identifiable information displayed on the card, with the exception of your Hawaii primary residential address, will need the presentation of documented verification in person to the card issuer.
Is it possible for me to mail in my documents so that they can be reviewed and approved prior to my driver’s license renewal?
Prior to visiting the county DMV office, applicants are not permitted to send papers to the county DMV for examination.
My Hawaii driver’s license will be renewed in the near future.
I don’t have any living relatives who can verify my identity.
In order to submit your driver’s license renewal application, you must provide documentary verification of your legal name, date of birth, social security number, legal presence, and primary dwelling address, or demonstrate that you have done so.
As a result, it is suggested that you allow yourself ample time to renew your Hawaii driver’s license during the six-month period before it expires.
For further information, please contact the DMV office in your county.
My married name appears on both my Hawaii birth certificate and my current Hawaii driver’s license, which are both issued by the state of Hawaii.
Your Hawaii birth certificate will establish your legal name (as it existed at the time of your birth), and your certificate of marriage (or other legal name change document) will establish your name change from your birth name to your married name, which will appear on your driver’s license in Hawaii.
- Please refer to the section labeled “List of Acceptable Connecting Documents to Prove Legal Name Changes” for more information about this.
- What kind of papers are regarded lawful and acceptable in court?
- For certified copies, notarized copies or faxes are not admissible as proof of ownership.
- The document guide may be seen and printed by clicking here.
- Was wondering if there is anything I can bring in to establish I am a citizen of the United States and my identification.
- Click here to see and print the document guide, or call the DMV office in your county for further information.
- Several of my documents are quite ancient, fragile, and difficult to read.
Your local DMV employee will carefully analyze your papers to decide whether or not they are acceptable and will give you with any additional assistance that you may require.
Is it suitable as identification documentation?
I’d like to submit my state-certified birth certificate as proof of my legal name, date of birth, and legal presence in order to establish my legal identity.
My state-certified birth certificate bears a different name than the one on my out-of-state driver’s license, which is confusing.
When you offer documents as proof of legal name, date of birth, and legal presence, the names on the document(s) you present must be identical.
If you do not have such documentation, you will be refused entry.
My application has been received and acknowledged by Immigration.
Which of the following is true: My pending status will have an impact on my ability to get a Hawaii driver’s license or instruction permit?
My parents, who are both citizens of the United States, adopted me after I was born in a foreign nation.
You will be required to present your immigration documentation, such as your United States passport, immigrant visa, green card, or certificate of citizenship, among other things.
I am a foreign-born applicant with a valid driver’s license from the state of Hawaii.
Is it possible to renew my Hawaii driver’s license through the mail?
To renew in person, you must bring documentary proof of your continued legal presence along with you.
What is the validity term of a Hawaii driver’s license for those who are legally permitted to be in the United States on a temporary basis?
If the expiration date on the document used to verify legal presence cannot be checked electronically or by other allowed ways, the driver’s license will be valid for no more than one year after the date on the document was printed.
Look over Acceptable Documents For A REAL ID Compliant (Star) Hawaii Driver’s License, Instruction Permit, and Provisional Driver’s License carefully before you sign anything.
It is recommended that you contact your local DMV office if you don’t have any of the required documents.
They will collaborate with you to identify alternative documents that may be acceptable in lieu of the missing required documents.
You are only permitted to have one REAL ID compatible credential at a time.
We encourage you to review the information on how to obtain a restricted driver’s license, a provisional license, or an instruction permit.
There will be no refund or proration for any portion of the term that is not used.
The Department of Homeland Security has notified all states that they would begin enforcing REAL ID credentials in their entirety on October 1, 2021, unless they opt out earlier.
For a list of acceptable forms of identification recognized by TSA checkpoints at airports, please visit this page.
Before I renew my driver’s license, I plan to fly to the mainland or to another island on or after October 1, 2021, if not immediately after.
How can I acquire a Hawaii driver’s license that is REAL ID compatible and has the star marking on it?
It is the responsibility of the county DMV personnel to ensure that you have supplied all of the essential documentation in order to be eligible for the card with the star marking.
Keep in mind that the delivery of the driver’s license card could take up to 6 to 8 weeks at the most. How do I contact my county DMV office? Clickhereto go to their contact information in the INTRODUCTION.
Ultimate Guide to Getting Your Driver’s License in Hawaii
Are you considering receiving your driver’s license from the Hawaii Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)? You can find all of the information you need here to obtain your permit, pass your road test, and obtain your Hawaii driver’s license.
Here’s How to Get Your Hawaii Driver’s License:
- Provisional license and documentation demonstrating your lawful presence in the United States
- It is necessary to produce the original paperwork that proves your name change (for example, a marriage certificate) if you have undergone a name change.
Check the whole list of necessary paperwork and costs to avoid making a second trip to the DMV.
Here’s what you’ll need todo to getyour Hawaii license:
Learner’s (Instructional) Permit is the first phase. A minimum age of 15 and a half years is required for the application of an Instructional Permit. In order to be considered for admission, all candidates must submit originals or certified copies of the following documents:
- Proof of Legal Name – If your current name differs from the name listed on any document (for example, due to a marriage, divorce, adoption, name change, or naturalization certificate), you will be required to provide “connecting documents” to establish the link between the names on the two documents. Evidence of one’s legal presence
- Documentation of Social Security Number and documentation of date of birth For candidates under the age of eighteen, a birth certificate is required. An Affidavit form, which must be notarized and witnessed by the Driver Licensing Center staff in the following ways: If both the father and mother of the applicant have custody, both the father and mother must sign the affidavit
- If both the father and mother of the applicant have custody, both the father and mother must sign the affidavit
- If only one parent has custody of the applicant, the custodial parent must sign
- Otherwise, both parents must sign. If neither parent has custody of the applicant and the applicant has a custodial guardian, the custodial guardian must sign
- If neither parent has custody of the applicant and the applicant has a custodial guardian, the custodial guardian must sign
- A responsible person who is prepared to undertake the duty may sign on behalf of the applicant if neither parent has custody of the applicant and the applicant does not have a custodial guardian.
The presence of parents/guardians at the Driver License Center is encouraged; however, it is not required as long as the applicant has all of the necessary documents, including a notarized parental consent affidavit signed by the appropriate parent(s)/guardian(s) and the learner’s permit application (s). To obtain an Instructional Permit, you’ll need to complete the following steps:
- Proof of Principal Residence (a theaddress affidavit form can be utilized for this purpose) and two (2) other supporting papers. Pass the vision test that is required
- A 30 question multiple-choice written examination
- Please refer to the Hawaii Driver’s Manual and practice tests before taking the examination Fees must be paid as required.
To schedule an appointment for a written examination for a learner’s permit, please visit this website. Important Restrictions and Requirements Drivers who have a permit must comply with the following requirements:
- Maintain possession of the permit in the vehicle
- Drive with a companion who is at least 21 years old and possesses a valid driver’s license. From 11:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m., a parent or guardian must accompany the juvenile driver. Make sure that everyone in the vehicle is wearing their seat belts, and that children under the age of four are securely secured in a safety seat.
Keep the permit with them at all times in the automobile, and It is recommended that you travel with someone who is at least 21 years old and has a valid driver’s license. Between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m., the supervising parent or guardian must accompany the juvenile driver. Make sure that everyone in the vehicle is wearing their seat belts, and that children under the age of four are securely secured in a safety seat,
- It is necessary to be at least sixteen (16) years old, but not older than eighteen (18) years old. Possess an active learner’s permit that has been in effect for at least 180 days, and that individual does not currently have a pending infraction that might result in the suspension or cancellation of his or her learner’s permit
- Completion of an approved state driver’s education course with satisfactory results and possession of both classroom and hands-on training certificates successful completion of the road examination test administered by the Driver Licensing Center
- The payment of the necessary fees is required.
To make an appointment for a road-test examination, please clickhereormake an appointment with Skip. Before you take your road test, read the comprehensive Hawaii DMV road test guide to learn all you need to know about the driving test in Hawaii. Restrictions/Requirements The provisional license will expire on the applicant’s 19th birthday if it is issued after that date. The person who has been granted a provisional license must comply with the following requirements:
- They must have their provisional driver’s license in their hands at all times
- Make sure that everyone in the vehicle is wearing their seat belts, and that children under the age of four are securely strapped in a child safety seat in accordance with Hawaii State law
- Observe the Passenger Restriction Regulations.
Phase Three: Obtaining a Full Driver’s License A full driving license may be awarded to a provisional licence if the provisional licensee meets the following requirements:
- A minimum of six (6) months has passed without incident while holding the temporary license. There is no pending violation that could result in a suspension or revocation of their privileges. Is at least seventeen (17) years old
- And has satisfactorily complied with all of the requirements of Chapter 286 of the Hawaii Revised Statutes, as amended. Has completed an application and passed the eye test
- Has completed and passed the eye test The payment of the necessary fees is required.
Applicants who do not convert their provisional license to a full license by the time they reach the age of 19 will be required to reapply for a driver’s license as adults. For applicants whose provisional driver’s license expiration date occurs on a weekend or holiday, they must complete the conversion from provisional to full driver’s license by the end of the final working day before the deadline.
Need moreHawaiiDMV orHawaiidriver’s license help?
Search for Skip on the web or download the free Skip app from the App Store or Google Play to get started. You can get additional information, book services, and even ask questions to our team using the app’s chat feature.
Visible proof of residency in Hawaii includes a driver’s license, voter or vehicle registration, the display of a person’s name on a city or town street list, as well as rent, utility bills, a mortgage or telephone bills, among other things.
Please keep in mind that individual public or private agencies or institutions may have their own requirements for proof of residency, which you should check with them before proceeding.
Register Your Vehicle
The requirements for car registration will differ based on where you live on the island in question. For particular processes in your county, please select it from the drop-down menu below.
- If you reside on an island, the requirements for car registration will differ depending on where you live. For particular processes in your county, please select it from the drop-down list below.
In addition, please see our Transportation Vehicles page for more information on additional motor vehicle services and alternative modes of transport.
Get a Driver’s License
Select your county from the list below to learn more about driver’s license issuing facilities and processes in your area.
- Hawaii’s counties include the cities of Honolulu and Kailua-Kona, as well as Maui and Kauai.
Get a State ID Card
If you do not have a driver’s license or are ineligible to receive one, you may want to consider acquiring a Hawai’i State ID card, which may be used as an official identification document. The issue of State identification cards is the responsibility of each county. For further information, please see the website of the Hawaii Department of Transportation. Go to the next page
Register to Vote in Hawaiʻi
If a driver’s license application is being processed simultaneously, anyone who is interested in voting can do so as part of the application procedure.
While there is a single ferry that runs between Maui and Lnai, flying is the most common mode of transportation between the two islands. Flights are generally less than an hour each way, and the majority of flights pass via Daniel K. Inouye International Airport on the island of Oahu (HNL).
It is recommended that you investigate the quarantine protocols and legislation pertaining to exporting a pet to Hawai’i before bringing your pet here. As the only state without a rabies outbreak, the Hawai’i Department of Agriculture’s Animal Quarantine Branch is responsible for ensuring that this remains the case.
- In this section you can find information on pet quarantine, dog-friendly parks, dog-friendly beaches, animal welfare laws, and more.
Information on pet quarantine; dog-friendly parks and beaches; animal welfare laws; and more.
To examine demographic data for the state of Hawaii, select a county or city from the drop-down menu. The Census Bureau of the United States provided the information. Go to the next page
Hawaiʻi Census Data
See the most recent population estimates, census statistics, reports, and other information. Go to the next page
Hawaii Driver Licensing Laws & Regulations
For drivers under the age of 18, Hawaii has implemented a three-stage graduated licensing program. An applicant must be at least 15 years and 6 months old in order to be considered for the first phase of the Instructional Permit process. When filing for an Instructional Permit, the following documents must be submitted:
- Identification papers
- A properly completed driving license application Pass a vision screening test
- Pass a written test consisting of 30 questions
Identification papers; a fully completed driving license application Successfully complete an eye examination Pass a written test consisting of 30 questions.
- When driving, the teen must be in immediate possession of the Instructional Permit
- The teen must be seated next to a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old
- And the teen must be wearing a seatbelt at all times. A parent or guardian must accompany a minor driver between the hours of 11pm and 5am if the youngster is driving between these hours. All passengers in a car are expected to use their seatbelts at all times.
The Instructional Permit is valid for one year from the date of issue.
Obtaining a Provisional License
Driving privileges for Provisional Licenses may be granted to drivers between the ages of 16 and 18 who have held an instructional permit for at least 180 days without being involved in an accident. A successful completion of a state-certified driver’s education course, as well as possession of both the classroom and behind-the-wheel credentials, are required.
In addition, the candidate must pass a driving assessment test to be considered. Along with the need that they have the license in their immediate possession and that all passengers wear seatbelts, holders of Provisional Licenses are subject to the following driving restrictions:
- An individual under the age of 18 who is not accompanied by a licensed parent or legal guardian is prohibited from transporting more than one person under the age of 18. There is an exemption for siblings
- In general, license holders are not permitted to drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless they are accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian in the front passenger seat of their vehicle. Exceptions include travel to and from work or to and from an activity sanctioned by the school. In both cases, the driver is obliged to obtain a note from the passenger granting authorization.
Drivers who have had a Provisional License for at least six months without receiving a traffic citation will be eligible for a Full Driver’s License when they reach the age of seventeen.
Other Driving Laws for Teens
Increasing the number of people required to wear seat belts: Not only do those in the front seat need to “click it,” but now those in the rear seat are also required to buckle up. Zero tolerance: This is a no-brainer when you consider that you, as a teenager, are underage and should not even be drinking in the first place. In no way, shape, or form should you be drinking and then getting behind the wheel for a thrill ride. According to the zero tolerance rule, any motorist under the age of 21 who has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.02 percent or above will lose their driving privileges for 180 days and will be required to enroll in an alcohol education program as well as perhaps get various types of treatment.
Learn more about the laws that apply in your area.
If you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States who can assist you.
Renewal of Class 2 & 3 Hawaii Drivers License
It is the license holder’s responsibility to renew their Hawaii Driver’s License prior to the expiration date on the document. All Hawaii driver licenses expire at midnight on the day of expiration at 12:00 midnight in the state of Hawaii. After returning to the United States after being deployed outside the country, a member of any component of the United States Armed Forces who is on active federal service and whose driver license expired while on active federal service is entitled to have his or her driver license reinstated for a period of ninety days (90) after the service member’s return to the country.
All applicants must present original or certified copies of the following documents from ourHawaii Acceptable Documents Checklist in order to be able to renew their license and be eligible to do so:
- You must provide proof of your identity, including identification of your date of birth, Social Security Number, and proof of your legal presence, including proof of your primary residence. A Driver License Renewal Application is available at any driver licensing office and must be completed in its entirety. Successful completion of the requisite vision exam
- Payment of all applicable costs Refer to the Maui County Fee Schedule
- If the applicant has any outstanding citations, a clearance letter from theTraffic Violations Bureau must be submitted with the application. The Traffic Violations Bureau is located at 2145 Main Street in Wailuku, and it is open Monday through Friday. Toll-free number: (808)-244-2800
If your license has already expired, please see Renewing an Expired License for more information.
Hawaii Driver’s License Renewal Guide
The state of Hawaii requires you to renew your driver’s license every eight years, beginning on the day it was issued to you. If you are under the age of 25, this term is reduced to four years. The state of Hawaii does not yet permit online license renewals, but there are a few other ways for keeping your credentials up to date in the state.
What Documents Do I Need For Hawaii License Renewal?
Regardless of whatever method you use to renew your driver’s license, you will be required to submit the following documentation:
- Documentation of identity
- Documentation of birthdate
- Documentation of Social Security Number
- And documentation of legal presence Application for a Driver’s License Renewal that has been completed
How to Renew Your Hawaii License
In the event that your license has not yet expired, you may renew it by mail. Hawaii license renewal will only be available by mail for a total of two consecutive renewals before you will be required to renew in person. Follow these five steps to renew your membership via mail.
- Starting with a letter to your county’s driver licensing department seeking permission to complete your Hawaii driving license renewal by mail, follow up with a phone call to the agency. You’ll need to include the following information in your application:
- You are known by your legal name
- Your date of birth
- Your Hawaii driver’s license identification number
- Your contact information (phone number and/or email address)
- Your postal address
- Your signature
- And other information
- After that, you should mail your letter to the driving licensing bureau in your area.
|Hawaii County||Department of Finance Vehicle Registration and Licensing Division Driver License Section 349 Kapiolani Street Hilo, HI 96720|
|Maui County||Division of Motor Vehicle and Licensing 70 E. Kaahumanu Avenue Maui Mall, Suite A-17 Kahului, HI 96732|
|Honolulu County||Department of Customer Services P.O. Box 30340 Honolulu, HI 96820|
|Kauai County||County of Kauai Department of Finance Driver License Division 4444 Rice Street, Suite A480 Lihue, HI 96766|
Please keep in mind that residents of Kauai County must first check with the Kauai Driver’s License Division to ensure that they are eligible to renew their driver’s license via mail within the county.
- Upon receiving the letter, you will be sent a renewal packet to the address on the letter. Always be sure to fill it out completely and completely, following the directions and completing all of the documents in the package
- A cost will be assessed according on your age, your location, and the amount of time you will be in the country. The payment must be made by check or money order and must be included in the packet as well.
|County||Under 24||25 to 71||Over 72|
- You can return your package by mail to the driver licensing office in your county.
Renewal In Person
In addition, you may renew your driver’s license in person at any Hawaii DMV office. 6 months before to the expiration of your license, you may renew your license. Following the expiration date, a grace period of 90 days is also applicable. A reactivation cost of $5 per month for every 30 days that has gone will be levied if you wish to renew your license after the first 90-day period. You will be required to retake the written and road tests one year after your license expiration date in order for your license renewal to be processed.
Take a look at our practice exams for Hawaii!
- A driver’s license, identification documentation, proof of legal presence, and proof of Social Security Number are all required.
|County||Under 24||25 to 71||Over 72|
If you are on active military duty outside of the country, your driver’s license will be valid for 90 days after you return to the United States after your deployment.
If you are on active military duty outside of the nation, your driver’s license will be valid for 90 days after you return to the country.
Hawaii Driver License
In Hawaii, you’ll need a driver’s license. With this Hawaii Driver’s License, you have the freedom to study whenever and wherever you choose for your written test. No matter if you are applying for an Instruction Permit or transferring an out-of-state license, you must pass a written examination in order to obtain a Hawaii Driver’s License. This Study App offers all 171 questions and answers in one convenient location. The test requires you to properly answer at least 24 out of 30 questions in order to pass successfully.
Ratings and Reviews
This software is really useful since it has all of the same questions that appear on the permit, but they are presented in a different sequence. I strongly advise you to use this app because it ensures that you will pass. It is recommended that you complete the study mode component first, followed by the exam mode portion. This will ensure that you pass. Study all 171 questions in the study mode until you are confident that you have answered them all correctly, and then you will almost certainly receive your permit.
Past the test 100%
I would suggest this program to anyone who is interested in taking the written test for the Hawaii driver’s license. I received an answer that was 100 percent right. I only studied in the study mode, so I am familiar with all of the questions and answers; there were only two questions on the real test that were not in this app, but you would know how to answer them correctly because you already have an idea of the answers in your head from your previous studies. Once again, thank you so much.
I used this to study for my test, which was two days ago, and all of the questions on the exam were on the app, which helped me pass! I would strongly recommend using this app; it was quite helpful to me, especially because I had to rush to my appointment because I was the last one scheduled before they closed. Make use of the study mode because it has all of the questions. Kulana Media Productions LLC, the app’s creator, has stated that the app’s privacy practices may include the treatment of data in the manner mentioned below.
Data Used to Track You
I used this to study for my test, which was two days ago, and all of the questions on the exam were in the app, which helped me to pass with flying colors. I would strongly recommend using this app; it was quite helpful to me, especially when I had to rush to my appointment because I was the last one scheduled before they closed. Because it contains all of the questions, study mode should be used. Kulana Media Productions LLC, the app’s creator, has stated that the app’s privacy practices may include the treatment of data in the manner mentioned below.
Data Linked to You
The following information about you may be gathered and associated with your identity:
Data Not Linked to You
The following information may be gathered, but it will not be connected to your personal identity: You may be asked to provide the following information, which will not be used to identify you.
Kulana Media Productions LLC is the seller. Compatibility14.6 MB in size iPhone It is necessary to have iOS 9.0 or later. iPad It is necessary to have iPadOS 9.0 or later. iPod touch is a portable media player that allows you to listen to music on the go. It is necessary to have iOS 9.0 or later. Mac It is necessary to have macOS 11.0 or later installed on your computer, as well as an Apple M1 chip. Rating for those over the age of four Kulana Media Productions LLC owns the copyright. In-App Purchases are free of charge.
Motorists who have a driver’s license “stopper” on their record are not permitted to get or renew a driver’s license in the state of California. When an individual fails to pay the total amount ordered by the court for a civil moving or equipment traffic infraction within 30 days, the court may, under certain circumstances, place a “stopper” on the individual’s driver’s license record. It is also possible that a defendant’s license will be suspended in the event that the defendant fails to respond to or appear in court for a traffic crime; fails to appear in court after being arrested for a traffic-related crime and released to appear in court on a specific date and time; fails to fully comply with any court order; or fails to appear for a traffic infraction that requires a formal court appearance.
Defaulting on a court’s order to pay the total amount due will result in other penalties, in addition to a stopper, being imposed on the defendant, such as referral of the defendant’s case to a collection agency.
How to Clear a Driver’s License Stopper
If a license stopper has been placed on a person’s record, that person must: pay in full the total amount that he or she has been ordered to pay in all cases underlying the stopper; and fully comply with all court orders (for example, completion of a driver’s education class) entered in the underlying cases. In addition, if a default decision that resulted in the installation of a stopper is overturned, a clearing may be awarded in the case. (When a defendant who has been cited for a civil moving or equipment traffic infraction fails to timely respond to the citation or fails to appear at a scheduled hearing, the court enters a default judgment.) In order to have a default judgment set aside, an individual must file a “Motion to Set Aside the Default Judgment” with the court within 90 days of the default judgment’s entry and post an appearance bond secured by cash equal to the total amount that the individual was ordered to pay by the default judgment.
- A default judgment can be set aside only once.
- The individual must include an explanation as to why extraordinary circumstances transpired that prevented the individual from appearing and why the move was not submitted in a timely manner if the motion is filed more than 90 days after the entry of the default judgment.
- The motion will be reviewed by the court, and a decision will be reached.
- The court will then render a decision on the traffic infraction.
- Following that, if the individual has satisfied with any other pending court orders, a clearance might be awarded to them.
Hawaii Driver’s License Classifications (A Complete 2022 Guide)
Choosing the type of driver’s license to obtain in Hawaii might be a difficult decision. Furthermore, if you submit an application for the incorrect driver’s license, you will wind up squandering your time, money, and effort. So, in order to assist you, I’ve compiled a list of all of the different types of driver’s licenses. I’ll also provide you with step-by-step directions on how to obtain each one. That sounds delicious, doesn’t it? Then let’s get started!
The 7 Driver’s License Classes in Hawaii
In Hawaii, there are seven different types of driver’s licenses:
- Vehicles classified into four classes: Class 1 – mopeds, Class 2 – mopeds and motorcycles, Class 3 – regular vehicles, and Class 4 – non-commercial vehicles (with a gross vehicle weight rating of up to 26,000 pounds).
Let’s take a closer look at each of these license classes one by one.
Non-Commercial Driver’s License
Let’s start by getting acquainted with Hawaii’s non-commercial driver’s licenses.
Mopeds are the only vehicles that may be operated with the first driver’s license class. What exactly is a moped? In motorcycling, a moped is a 2- or 3-wheeled vehicle with an engine that produces little more than 2 horsepower.
With a Class 1 license, you have the ability to operate your moped on any roadway in Hawaii. In order to obtain this license, you must pass a moped knowledge test as well as an off-road abilities test.
A Class 2 driver’s license in Hawaii permits you to operate both mopeds and motorcycles on the state’s roads. The main distinction between a moped and a motorbike is the amount of power they have. Motorcycles with more than 2 horsepower would be permitted under Hawaii’s traffic regulations. This contains vehicles that are powered by a motor.
The most common sort of license is the Class 3 license, which is also the most expensive. This is due to the fact that this form of license is intended for non-commercial use of conventional automobiles. When I say “regular,” I mean that the vehicle’s gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) should be less than or equal to 18,000 pounds and should not be able to transport more than 15 passengers. Consider it to be the same as your ordinary personal automobile.
This is a less common type of license because it applies to non-commercial vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of up to 26,000 pounds. RVs, trailers, and motorhomes are examples of vehicles that fall into this category. Before applying for a Class 4 driver’s license, you must be at least 21 years old and already possess a Class 3 driver’s license. You must also submit a Class 3 application before scheduling your Class 4 application.
Commercial Driver’s License (CDLs)
Since this type of license applies to non-commercial vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of up to 26,000 pounds, it is a less common type of license. RVs, trailers, and motorhomes are all examples of vehicles that fall into this classification. A Class 4 driver’s license can be obtained if you are at least 21 years old and already possess a Class 3 license at the time of your application for a Class 4 license.
This is a less common type of license because it applies to noncommercial vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of up to 26,000 pounds. RVs, trailers, and motorhomes are examples of vehicles that fall under this category. To be eligible for a Class 4 driver’s license, you must be at least 21 years old and already possess a Class 3 driver’s license at the time of your application.
Class B permits are also available for vehicles of a commercial nature. The distinction between Class B and Class A licenses is that Class B permits are only issued to single cars with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) more than 26,000 pounds. Buses and other single-occupant vehicles fall under this category. Lastly and most importantly, you must be at least 21 years old in order to be eligible for this form of license.
In addition to passenger cars, Class B permits are also available for business vehicles. Although Class B licenses are similar to Class A licenses, the distinction is that Class B licenses are only available for single cars with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) more than 26,000. Buses and other single-occupant vehicles are included in this grouping. And, yes, you must be at least 21 years old in order to be eligible for this form of permit.
Basic Requirements for a Hawaii Driver’s License
Hawaii has a Graduated Licensing Program (GLP) that assures that each young driver gains the essential driving abilities and experience before being granted a full driving license on the island state’s roads. If you are under the age of eighteen, the procedures for obtaining a driver’s license are different than if you are already eighteen. For pupils under the age of 15, you will first be issued an instructional permit that will allow you to practice driving under the supervision of an adult.
The only time you will be eligible for a full driver’s license is after you have kept your provisional license for six months.
But what about the many sorts of licenses? There are various different sorts of licenses in Hawaii. The type of license you will be issued will be determined by the type of vehicle you will be operating and the weight of the vehicle.
Hawaii’s Licensing Requirements
Having become acquainted with the various license types available in Hawaii, here is a brief overview of the procedures for obtaining each of them.
How to Get a Class 3 Driver’s License in Hawaii
- If you are under the age of 15 and a half, you must first apply for an instruction permission. After that, you’ll need to obtain a provisional license. In the case of a first-time applicant who is over the age of 18 and applying for a license, you must first apply for a provisional license before being granted a full Class 3 license.
Apply for an Instruction Permit
The application for an instruction permit must be made when you are 15 12 years old. After that, you’ll need to obtain a temporary license. In the case of a first-time applicant who is over the age of 18 and seeking for a license, you must first apply for a provisional license before being granted a full Class 3 license;
- You must travel to the Hawaii Driver Licensing Office in order to obtain an instruction permit for driving. There are various branches located around the state, so you may always visit the one that is closest to you. Fill out an application form and submit it along with the necessary documents. Some prerequisites include your Social Security number, a valid ID, US citizenship, and a Hawaii address, among other things. Make sure your parent or guardian gives you written and signed permission
- Completing the vision exam and paying the application costs are required. Pass the written examination. On the day in question, you can complete this task or plan it for a later date. Take your picture and then wait for the results of your tests.
Following the completion of your photograph, you should wait for your instruction permission to arrive in the mail. This process takes around 2-4 weeks. Keep in mind that even if you already have an instructional permit, you are not permitted to drive without the supervision of your parents or guardians. You are also not permitted to drive someone who is under the age of eighteen.
Apply for a Provisional License
Once you’ve obtained your instruction permit, you’ll be able to enroll in a state-approved driver’s education course as well as behind-the-wheel training. The following are the steps to obtain a provisional license:
- Complete a driver’s education program. You have the option of taking this test online or in person. The most essential thing to remember about this program is that you will receive a Certificate of Completion. Completing the behind-the-wheel course is mandatory. This is the point at which you go behind the wheel and drive under supervision. In a driving school or with a certified guardian or parent, you can learn to drive. Make an appointment with the Hawaii Driver Licensing Office to take a road test. In order to arrange your road test, you must do it in advance because most branches do not accept walk-ins. Bring your instruction permit as well as your Certificate of Completion for both driver’s education and behind-the-wheel training with you when you go for your road test on the scheduled day. You must pass the road test and pay the associated expenses. If you pass the exam, all you have to do now is wait for your provisional license, which should arrive in 2-4 weeks.
How to Get a Class 4 Driver’s License in Hawaii
In order to obtain a motorbike license in Hawaii, you must first obtain an instructional permission from the state. An application form, as well as documentation establishing your identity, date of birth, place of residence, and legal presence, are required for an instructional permission. These should be forwarded to the local motorcycle vehicle office for processing. Following the clearance of your papers, you will be required to complete a vision screening as well as two written exams. If you get a score of at least 70% on both tests, you will be qualified to proceed to the skills test.
If you pass the skill exam, you will be able to obtain your Class 4 driver license.
How to Get a Commercial Driver’s License in Hawaii
An instructional permit is required in order to obtain a motorcycle license in Hawaii. An application form, as well as documentation establishing your identity, date of birth, place of residence, and legal presence, are required for an instructional permission to be granted. Your local motorcycle vehicle office should be notified of your submission. Following the clearance of your papers, you will be required to complete a vision screening as well as two written exams. The skills test will be administered if you receive at least 70 percent on both tests.
Your Class 4 license will be issued to you if you pass the skill evaluation.
Driver’s License Classifications in Hawaii Frequently Asked Questions
Do you have any queries concerning the categorization of driver’s licenses in Hawaii? For extra assistance, please see the following FAQs.
What is a Class 1 license in Hawaii?
A Class 1 driver’s license is required for the use of mopeds in a non-commercial capacity.
What is a Type 3 driver’s license in Hawaii?
The non-commercial use of mopeds requires a Class 1 driver’s license.
That’s all there is to it. In Hawaii, there are seven different types of driver’s licenses.
Once you understand the many sorts of licenses available and how to get the one you want, you will no longer be perplexed. You’ll know precisely what to buy and how to go about getting your hands on it. We hope you have found this article to be of great assistance!