To obtain your driver’s license, you must: Provide proof that you are a Maine resident. Provide proof that you are a U.S. citizen or are in the country lawfully (legal presence) Provide two forms of proof of identity; one must indicate your date of birth and the other must bear your written signature.
How do I transfer my driver’s license to Maine?
Maine – Transfer your OutOfState Driving License to Driver
- Go to any Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles office.
- Provide proof of legal presence and residency.
- Complete a vision screening.
- Turn in your out-of-state license.
- Pay the exam and license fees.
How do I become a Maine resident?
You are a statutory resident if: 1. you spent more than 183 days in Maine during the tax year (any portion of a day is counted as a full day), and 2. you maintained a permanent place of abode in Maine for the entire tax year.
Where do I get my Maine drivers license?
Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles: (207) 624-9000 or BMV Online BMV Branch Office Locations: Find the BMV office nearest you.
How do I prove residency in Maine?
Proving Maine Residency
- Recent Maine Driver’s License with a physical address.
- Maine Vehicle Registration or other credential.
- Utility Bill – electric bill, water/sewer bill, cell phone bill, etc.
- Maine Resident Hunting and or Fishing License.
Can I drive in Maine with an out-of-state license?
If you are moving to this state and have in your possession a valid out-of-state driver’s license, including a REAL ID credential issued by another state, you can obtain a Maine license or Maine REAL ID by: Visiting the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles office nearest you.
How long does it take to become a resident in Maine?
A Resident of Maine is an individual that was domiciled in Maine for the entire taxable year or maintained a permanent place of abode in Maine for the tax year and spent more than 183 days there.
What is accepted as proof of residence?
Examples of acceptable documents to prove California residency are: rental or lease agreements with the signature of the owner/landlord and the tenant/resident, deeds or titles to residential real property, mortgage bills, home utility bills (including cellular phone), and medical or employee documents.
How do I change my residency to Maine?
How to Establish Domicile
- Keep a log that shows how many days you spend in the old state and Maine.
- Change your mailing address.
- Get a driver’s license in Maine and register your car here.
- Register to vote in Maine.
- Open and use bank accounts in Maine.
- File a resident income tax return in Maine.
What do I need to get a Maine state ID?
You will need proof of identity, your social security number, and proof of Maine residency. Maine law says the Real I.D. is optional but, Muszynski encouraged those people to make sure they have a passport or passport card. For more information, visit the Maine Secretary of State’s website.
Do you need an appointment for the DMV in Maine?
Maine DMV driver’s license agencies are open 8 AM to 4 PM Monday through Friday and are closed on federal holidays. No appointment is necessary, though you can make one should you prefer to save time when choosing to renew in person.
What determines residency of a state?
Your physical presence in a state plays an important role in determining your residency status. Usually, spending over half a year, or more than 183 days, in a particular state will render you a statutory resident and could make you liable for taxes in that state.
Does Maine tax out of state income?
Wages, business income, and capital gains from sources within Maine are Maine income even if you received the income as a nonresident. All part-year residents, nonresidents and “safe harbor” residents must send a copy of their federal return with their Maine return.
What does it mean to be a resident of Maine?
Resident. “Resident” means, for individual income tax purposes, a natural person who is a Maine “resident individual” as that term is defined by 36 M.R.S. §5102(5).
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
For further information, please call 360.902.3900. (TTY: Call711)
- Contact us at 360.902.3900. (TTY: Call711)
If your social security number is not already on file with the Secretary of State, you must present your social security number to the Secretary of State. It is important to know that if you are unable to locate your social security number, you may be able to request a new SSN card online by opening a my Social Security account. You must have a valid driver’s license or state identification card in order to utilize the online replacement card service. You must also have a domestic postal address in the United States and not require a modification to your record (such as a namechange).
A marriage certificate, divorce decree, or other court papers will be necessary if you have had a legal name change as a result of your marriage or divorce, or as a result of a court order.
Age-based requirements may include successful completion of a driver education program, passing of a driver knowledge examination, and/or passing of an actual driving test.
Driver’s licenses are issued at all motor vehicle branch offices and mobile unit sites.
Driver’s licenses will be mailed to you within two to three weeks of the date of your order.
NEW DRIVERS: The permitting and license process
A three-step graded drivers licensing system is required for new drivers under the age of eighteen, and drivers under the age of twenty-one are subject to further limitations by state law. In order to provide Maine’s young people with essential driving experience in lower-risk situations, the state passed this legislation. The Learner’s Permit is a document that allows you to learn something new. The following section contains general information on the learner’s permit application procedure.
The learner’s permit is valid for one year.
Candidates for a learner’s permit must be at least 15 years old and pass a written driving examination before they may be issued one. These examinations are scheduled by the BMV using the following application process: The following documents must be submitted by applicants:
- Application form
- $35 application fee
- Two kinds of identification (see list of needed identity papers)
- Evidence of residence
- Certificate of completion of driver education (available only to candidates under the age of 18)
- A copy of one’s birth certificate (applicants underthe age of 23 ONLY). No notarized copies are permitted
- However, a photocopy with an embossed seal or stamp of the issuing body is permissible. You will receive a copy of this document back. Alternatively, copies of the identification papers may be sent through mail, with the originals being required to be shown at the time of the examination
It is possible to submit your application in person at your local Bureau of Motor Vehicles location or by mail to: Bureau of Motor VehiclesDriver License Services DivisionExamination Section29 State House StationAugusta, ME 04333-0029 Once the application has been completed, the BMV will schedule the applicant for the written exam at the site that is the most convenient for the applicant’s postal address within about three weeks of the application’s submission.
- The BMV will send a letter to the individual informing them of the situation.
- The scheduling notification includes contact information, and tests can be rescheduled without incurring a penalty fee if done at least 48 hours in advance.
- Prior to the issue of a learner’s permit, an eyesight examination is also necessary.
- Alternatively, you can have a doctor of your choosing do the test and fill out the eye form at your own at your expense.
- The learner’s permit is valid for two years and then expires.
- The individual must file a fresh application and pass the eye exam and writing exam again if his or her permit is about to expire.
- Even at the youngest age level, the prohibition on the use of a portable electronic device or mobile telephone remains in effect.
- Are you prepared for your road test?
- TheExams website has a study guide as well as a film that provides a first-person perspective on the complete road test experience.
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
In order to drive in Maine, you must get a new license within 30 days of becoming a permanent resident of the state.
A Maine driver’s license or a Maine REAL ID can be obtained by visiting the MaineBureau of MotorVehicles office in your area if you are relocating to this state and have in your possession a valid out-of-state driver’s license, including a REAL ID credential issued by another state.
- In order to drive in Maine, you must get a new license within 30 days of becoming a permanent resident. If you are relocating to Maine and have in your possession a valid out-of-state driver’s license, including a REAL ID credential issued by another state, you can get a Maine driver’s license or Maine REAL ID by:Visiting the MaineBureau of MotorVehicles location that is closest to you
- Presence in the legal system
- When applying for a social security number, you must present an undated immigration document, such as an I-94, to assist us in determining your eligibility
- If you believe you are ineligible, you must present an undated immigration document, such as an I-94 to assist us in determining your eligibility
- Completing the eyesight screening procedure. It is possible that you will not be needed to complete a written and road exam. Returning your out-of-state driver’s license
- Paying for the exam and licensing costs (which vary depending on the license class)
- If the name on your legal presence certificate differs from the name you presently use, you will be required to produce supporting documentation (such as a marriage license, court order, divorce decree, or other legal papers) to connect the two names together.
A handbook including detailed information on legislation, tests, and licenses is available for purchase. Class C motorcycle license holders should refer to theMotoristHandbook and Study Guide. The Commercial Driver’s Manual (CDM) serves as a guide for those who hold commercial driver’s licenses. These manuals are available online, at any of our branch offices, or by contacting ourMainOffice directly.
When applying for a license in another state, individuals who previously held a Maine Driver’s License and have either lost their Maine issued Driver’s License or have been asked to provide verification that their Maine Driver’s License is in good standing may be issued a clearance/verification letter. The clearance/verification letter must be less than 30 days old in order to be considered legitimate in most states. Please keep in mind that not all states accept clearance/verification letters.
Maine.gov: Residents: Driver’s Licenses
- BMV Branch Location Locations: Locate the BMV office that is most convenient for you. Forms and applications are available on the website. Save time at the BMV by bringing your own. Forms can be downloaded from this page first.
- Locating a BMV branch office is simple: just enter your zip code and click “Search.” Forms and applications are available on the internet. Take advantage of this opportunity to save time at the BMV! Before you begin, get the necessary paperwork from this page.
- Obtaining a Learner’s Permit and completing a driver education course The minimum age for obtaining a driver’s license is 15 years old.
- Driver’s License Information An online driving record report is available for $7 per record and may be ordered with a credit card. Personal Information about drivers is protected under the law. Find out how your personal information is safeguarded and who has access to it by visiting this website.
State ID Cards
- Identification Cards issued by the state Photo identification cards are required for non-drivers. Order a replacement identification card online
Obtaining a driver’s license is one of the first things that many new foreign students desire to accomplish after arriving in the United States of America. When it comes to timing, like with many things, timing is important. Following these six easy suggestions will help the procedure run much more smoothly and save you a significant amount of time:
- After you arrive in the United States, you must wait 10 days. You may be tempted to apply for a driver’s license straight soon, but patience is required. Make sure you are qualified for a drivers license before you leave the country. The 10-day waiting period enables time for all government databases to be updated with your arrival information. The State of Maine mandates that you remain in the state for a minimum of 120 days from the date on which you intend to obtain your driver’s license. This indicates that you intend to remain at USM for a minimum of one year in order to be eligible to obtain a driver’s license. The restrictions for Canadian students are different from those in the United States. As a Canadian student who holds a valid Canadian driver’s license, you should convert your driver’s license to a Maine driver’s license during your first semester at the university. If you’ve been in Maine for more than one semester, the Maine Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) reserves the right to deny you the privilege of converting your license. Make sure your record in the Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) is up to date and in the inActivestatus before applying. SEVIS is a database that provides information on all F, M, and J nonimmigrants who are currently living in the United States of America. When you report to the school or program, the Office of International Programs (OIP) must enter your information into the Activestatus database. Before you apply for a license, make sure that your record is active in SEVIS by contacting the Office of Immigration Policy. Your application will be denied if your record is not active at the time of submission. Check the information on your forms. Check all of your forms to ensure that the information you have entered is accurate and consistent. The DMV Fact Sheet provides additional information if the information on your Form I-94 (including handwritten information) differs from the information on your passport, Form I-20, “Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant Student Status,” or Form DS-2019, “Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status.” After the Office of International Programs has activated your record in SEVIS, you must wait two days before proceeding. It is recommended that you wait at least two federal business days after OIP activates your record in SEVIS before applying for a driver’s license in your state. This allows all of the databases to have enough time to update with your fresh data. Bring all of your documents with you. When you visit the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), make sure to bring all of your papers with you, including: -Form I-20 or Form DS-2019 -Form I-94, “Arrival/Departure Record” -Form I-94, “Arrival/Departure Record” -A valid passport (with visa, if applicable) -A letter from OIP verifying your legal presence or residency (please allow OIP 2-3 business days to execute this request)
- -A copy of your passport
Always consult with the Office of International Programs before attempting to submit an application. Read on to find out more Driving in the United States is a legal requirement. Maine Department of Motor Vehicles Fact Sheet DMV Listed below are the Maine DMV Practice Test Driver Education Schools organized by county (Portland and Gorham are in Cumberland county)
Maine Drivers License Renewal
On July 19, 2021, the information was updated.
Use eTags ©to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
July 19, 2021 was the most recent revision.
How to Renew a Maine Drivers License
In order to renew my Maine driver’s license, I need to know what I’ll need and how to do it. These are excellent questions. If you are looking for information on how to renew a Maine driver’s license, you have come to the correct location. Every state is a bit different, and the following FAQ will assist you in completing this task in the shortest amount of time. The Bureau of Motor Vehicles is responsible for issuing driver’s licenses in the state of Maine. There is a wealth of information on their website concerning your driver’s license, car registration, and identification processes.
Renewing Your Drivers License In Person
What is the procedure for renewing a Maine driver’s license? In addition to 13 branch sites around the state, you may also renew your driver’s license online. There is one in each county, so you won’t have to go all the way to Portland to complete this task. You may renew your license up to six months before it expires, and it will cost you $30 to renew your license for a period of six years at a time.
Required License Renewal Documents
To renew my Maine driver’s license or state identification card, what do I need to bring with me?
It is necessary for you to bring your current driver’s license, one evidence of residency, and documentation proving your legal presence in the United States. The following papers are acceptable by the Maine Department of Motor Vehicles as proof of residency:
- Utilities bills with your name and current address
- A W-2 or pay stub
- A current driver’s license with a Maine address
- Any other state-issued identification documents Recent tax legislation
- Agreement for rental or leasing
The following papers are acceptable by the Maine Department of Motor Vehicles as proof of citizenship and identity verification:
- Social Security card with Social Security Number
- Resident alien card that has not expired
- Valid I-94 form
- Birth certificate issued by the United States government
Click here for a comprehensive list of approved forms of identification.
Mobile Unit Driver’s License Renewal in Maine
Are license renewals accepted by the Maine DMV mobile units? It’s possible that you’ve spotted a DMV mobile unit around town. The use of these units is accessible for Maine license renewals in cases when you do not require a new photo or do not have any other restrictions on your Class C driver’s license. This mobile unit operates according to a timetable that may be seen here. Despite the fact that they are only available for a few hours once or twice a month, they might be a more convenient alternative than driving to one of the offices in another city.
Scheduling An Appointment For License Renewal
What are the Maine DMV hours for renewing a driver’s license in person? Offices of the Maine Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) are open from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and closed on federal holidays. There is no need to schedule an appointment, however you may do so if you wish to save time while renewing your license in person.
Maine Online Drivers License Renewal Options
In Maine, is it possible to renew my driver’s license online? Most likely, the answer is yes. Maine provides a user-friendly gateway that is convenient and straightforward. Even though you require a vision test in order to renew your driver’s license, it is feasible to have your doctor do the exam. If you need to make a change to your license or if you hold a commercial driver’s license, you will not be able to use the online renewal procedure. Even if there is an extra price for utilizing the online application, the savings in time, irritation, and travel might be well worth it in the long run.
AAA License Renewal in Maine
In Maine, is it possible to renew my driver’s license through AAA? Any AAA office in Maine may perform conventional driver’s license renewals in the same way that the mobile units do. Except for the Ellsworth site, which is closed on Saturday mornings, there are nine locations operating on Saturday mornings. It’s simply one more technique to get this small activity completed and off my plate.
Renewing an Expired Driver’s License
What is the validity of my Maine driver’s license? Your Maine driver’s license is valid for six years from the date of issue. After the age of 62, you must do an eye exam with each renewal until you reach the age of 65, at which point you must complete the exam with each renewal.
REAL ID Drivers License Requirements
Is Maine’s driver’s license consistent with federal REAL ID rules, or does it fall short? An official Maine drivers license does not yet function in conjunction with the federal REAL ID program. If modifications are made to your Maine ID to bring it into compliance with the program, there will be no additional charge to update your license. For the purpose of renewing my driver’s license, would I be required to undergo a vision test?
In order to renew your driving license, you will be required to have a vision examination if you are 62 years old or older. Only every other renewal is necessary for drivers younger than 62, unless they have a medical condition that necessitates the submission of extra medical proof.
Maine DMV Contact Information
Is Maine’s driver’s license consistent with federal REAL ID rules, or does it fall short of the standard? An official Maine drivers license is not yet compatible with the federal REAL ID program. Changing your license will not incur any additional costs if adjustments are made to bring your Maine ID in accordance with the program requirements. For the purpose of renewing my driver’s license, would I be required to do a vision examination? Those above the age of 62 will be required to take a vision exam each time their driver’s license is renewed.
Maine Driving Laws for Seniors and Older Drivers
Is Maine’s driver’s license consistent with federal REAL ID rules, or is it out of compliance? As of right now, a Maine driver’s license is incompatible with the federal REAL ID program. If modifications are made to your Maine ID to bring it into compliance with the program, there will be no additional price to update your license. For the purpose of renewing my driver’s license, would I be required to undergo a vision exam? If you are 62 years old or older, you will be required to submit to a vision examination each time you renew your driver’s license.
- Is the Maine driver’s license consistent with federal REAL ID regulations? At this time, a Maine driver’s license does not operate with the federal REAL ID program. If adjustments are made to put your Maine ID in line with the program, there will be no additional price to update your license. Will I be required to undergo a vision exam in order to renew my driver’s license? If you are 62 years old or older, you will be required to take a vision exam each time you renew your driver’s license. Only every other renewal is necessary for drivers younger than 62, unless they have a medical condition that necessitates extra paperwork.
Maine License Renewal Rules for Older Drivers
Drivers over the age of 40 who wish to renew their licenses are subject to additional requirements. Driving age restrictions: Every four years for drivers 65 and above, and every six years for those under the age of 65. Examining vision:A vision test is necessary at the first renewal after the age of 40, and subsequently at every second renewal until the age of 62 and older, at which point an examining vision is required at each renewal. Despite the fact that eye examinations are provided free at the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles, persons may also have them performed by a doctor of their choice within a year after submitting a renewal request; however, the doctor must complete anEye Form before doing so.
A road test is only required if the BMV obtains information indicating that the driver may be inebriated.
Possible License Restrictions
The Secretary of State of Maine has the authority to impose limits on a person’s driver’s license. The most prevalent type of limitation for elderly drivers is the requirement for corrective lenses like as glasses or contact lenses. Other common constraints are as follows:
- Drivers are only permitted to use their vehicles during daylight hours, within a certain geographic region, or under other restrictions set “in the interest of highway safety.”
207-624-9000 Bureau of Motor Vehicles 29 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333 For more information about obtaining a restricted license, call the following number: 207-624-9000
How to Request an Unsafe Driver Investigation in Maine
If you have reason to suspect that someone you know has a medical condition that impairs his or her ability to drive, you can make a complaint with the Maine Secretary of State; all such reports are kept strictly secret. Once the report has been received, the Secretary of State’s office may seek an additional medical report from a physician or other treatment professionals to confirm the information included in it. This report must be completed on the Driver Medical Evaluation Form provided by the BMV.
As a result, the license may be suspended, kept, or limited based on specific circumstances such as the hours and locations where driving is permitted to take place.
How to Get a License Reinstated
The following agencies can provide information on how to reinstate a license that has been suspended or revoked: Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles Driver License Services Division 29, State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333 207-624-9000 877-456-8195 (TTY) The driver’s name, date of birth, and current address should be included in the search query.
Maine Driver Improvement Programs
A driver’s education and training course designed exclusively for elderly drivers can help them enhance their driving abilities and safety. Maine Driving Dynamics maintains a comprehensive online listing of local course offers.
How to Get Parking Placards or License Plates for a Driver with a Disability
Drivers with restricted mobility may be eligible for disability parking placards and license plates provided their condition is certified by a licensed medical practitioner in good standing. Placards and plates are also available for persons who fall into the following categories:
- Cannot walk more than 200 feet without stopping
- Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assisting device
- People who have lung illness, need portable oxygen, have a serious heart condition, or who have severe walking limitations because of an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic issue should seek medical attention.
The following procedures must be followed in order to receive a disability placard or plate:
- An Application for Disability Plates/Placard must be completed and signed. Fill out the Medical Provider’s Statement section of the application with the help of a licensed physician, physician assistant, nurse practitioner, or registered nurse. Make an appointment at your local Motor Vehicle Office Branch, fax it to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles at 207-624-9204, or send it to: Disability Clerk, Bureau of Motor Vehicles, 29 State House Station, Augusta ME 04333.
A description of Maine’s legal requirements for drivers with disabilities may be found at “Disability Plates, Disability Placards, and Disability Parking,” which is located on the state’s website.
Learn More About Maine Driving Rules for Seniors
A description of Maine’s legal requirements for drivers with disabilities may be found at “Disability Plates, Disability Placards, and Disability Parking,” which is a link to a website that provides further information.
Where to Find a Lawyer for Help
It is possible to identify a local lawyer in Maine who has expertise defending older clients who have been involved in vehicle accidents or received traffic fines via Nolo’s Lawyer Directory.
Ultimate Guide to Getting Your Driver’s License in Maine
Consider receiving your driver’s license through the Maine Department of Motor Vehicles. You can find all of the information you need here to obtain your permit, pass your road test, and obtain your Maine driver’s license.
Here’s How to Get Your Maine Driver’s License
- Proof of residence and Social Security Number
- Documentation demonstrating that you are a citizen of the United States or that you are in the country legally (legal presence)
- A minimum of two (2) pieces of identification, one of which must include your date of birth and the other which must carry your written signature
Here’s what you’ll need to do to get your Maine license:
- Visit any DMV office in your area to submit your application in person, together with the appropriate documentation and costs. In order to be awarded a Learner’s permit, you must first pass the vision and writing tests. (Read the Maine Driver’s Manual and take written practice tests to prepare for the exam.) Make a DMV appointment or hire a line waiting concierge if you need to wait in line. Via the DMV website, you may arrange your road test, or you can schedule your road test on the Skip app. When scheduling a road test service, please specify if you require a car or a driver for your exam. Before you take your road test, review the most comprehensive Maine DMV road test guide to learn more about the Maine driving exam. To schedule a driving test, complete and send the road test request card to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles’ main office at 29 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0029, as soon as you are ready. If you are under the age of 21, you must submit a driving log that has been completely filled out. You will be booked at the testing facility that is most convenient for you. When you attend for your test, be sure to have your learner’s permit as well as the exam appointment notification with you. Following your successful completion of the road test, you will be awarded a provisional license that will be valid for one year.
Here are Maine driver’s license exceptions to note:
Age-based requirements for driver’s license applications may include completion of a driving education program, passing of a driver knowledge examination, and/or passing of a driver road test. The permitting procedure, as well as the restrictions associated with permits and licenses, are described in further detail below. If you are under the age of 21, you must complete 70 hours of practice driving, which must include 10 hours of night driving, and you must have held your learner’s permit for at least six months before you may take your driving test.
If you are traveling alone, you must be accompanied by a supervising driver who is at least 20 years old and has maintained a valid driver’s license for at least two years.
Need more Maine DMV or Maine driver’s license help?
Age-based requirements for driver’s license applications include completion of a driving education program, passing of a driver knowledge examination, and/or passing of a driver road test. In the next sections, you will learn about the permission procedure as well as permit and licensing limits. In order to obtain your learner’s permit, you must have held it for at least six months and have completed 70 hours of practice driving, which must include 10 hours of night driving. If you are under the age of 21, you must complete 70 hours of practice driving, which must include 10 hours of night driving.
Obtaining a learner’s permit is the first step towards completing the required 70 hours of practice time. If you are under the age of 20 and have not held a driver’s license for more than two years, you must be accompanied by a supervising driver.
How to Get a Driver’s License in Maine
Residents of Maine who wish to operate a motor vehicle on public highways must first get a license from the state before they are legally permitted to do so. Learning to drive is an exciting milestone that signals the beginning of a journey toward more independence. However, it is equally vital for new drivers to be aware of the responsibilities that come with operating a car on public roads, whether they are teenagers or adults. As a result, new drivers in Maine must undergo a licensing procedure that involves numerous fundamental conditions that must be completed before a state driver’s license may be awarded to an applicant.
Every Maine citizen should be aware of the following information on learning to be a safe driver and obtaining a driver’s license.
Individuals’ age at the time of application for a driver’s license in Maine is taken into consideration while determining the eligibility requirements. Adults over the age of 21 who are currently residing in Maine and who are either legal citizens of the United States or who have a legal presence in the nation are eligible to participate. A driver knowledge examination covering state rules and regulations that control the operation of motor vehicles on state highways will be needed for applicants classed as adults in the state of Maine, despite the fact that they are not required to undergo a driver’s education course in the state.
The knowledge exam will be followed by a road skills and eyesight test, which will be taken by both adults and teenagers, before they can progress to the next stage of the licensing procedure.
Additionally, those under the age of 18 must participate in a state-approved driver’s education course meant to inform them on safe driving practices and applicable state laws, among other things.
Teenage drivers must be accompanied by an adult who is at least 20 years old and has a valid Maine driver’s license at all times when practicing driving.
Costs and Fees
People who apply for a driver’s license in Maine must pay a variety of fees over the course of the application process and after they have obtained their license. Applicants who wish to apply for a Class C or motorbike instructional permit will be required to pay a $10 application fee. Amount paid to cover the cost of the written examination Individuals who are under the age of 65 who wish to apply for their Class C Photo Driver’s License will be required to pay $30 once they have completed the application process.
Every six years, a driver’s license in Maine is required to be renewed, which includes a $30 price for a Class C driver’s license, according to the state.
The following papers will be required when applying for a driver’s license, and they must be brought to the local driving office together with the application.
There are two types of identity that have been approved by the state.
Driver’s education certificate for minors who have completed a state-approved driver’s education program Fee for obtaining a driver’s license Proof of insurance and registration for the vehicle that will be used during the road skills evaluation Driver’s Practice Examinations For the vast majority of people who apply for a driver’s license in Maine, passing the driving knowledge exam proves to be the most difficult component of the whole licensing procedure.
- In order to check their grasp of Maine driving regulations, it is advised that teenage and adult drivers take a driver’s practice exam before to obtaining for their license.
- Driving Offices are located around the state.
- From Monday through Friday, each of these locations is open during regular business hours.
- A Maine driver’s license is required before a resident of the state is legally permitted to operate a motor vehicle on public highways.
- Following their preparation, a person will be ready to finish the process of acquiring their license, allowing them to continue to hone their safe driving abilities and have more freedom while doing so.
- Quiz 1 of the Maine DMV Practice Test (Signs) Quiz 2 of the Maine DMV Practice Test (Signs) Quiz 3 of the Maine DMV Practice Test (Rules) Practice Test for the Maine DMV – Quiz #4 (Rules) Practice Test for the Maine DMV – Quiz No.
5 (Rules) Practice Test for the Maine DMV – Quiz #6 (Rules) Quiz 7 on the Maine DMV Practice Test (Rules)
When your driver’s license expires, you have the option of renewing it on or before the expiration date, or as early as six months before the expiration date.
Things you will need to renew your driver’s license:
- Proof of your actual residence in Maine, such as your vehicle registration, utility bill, or Maine Resident Hunting/Fishing License are all acceptable documents. Proof of citizenship or legal presence in the United States, such as a birth certificate, passport, or Certificate of Naturalization are all required documents. It is possible that you will be needed to undergo an eye examination. You must supply your social security number if it is not already on file with the Secretary of State
- Otherwise, you will be refused entry.
Proof of your actual address in Maine, such as your vehicle registration, utility bill, or Maine Resident Hunting/Fishing License are all acceptable. Proof of citizenship or legal presence in the United States, such as a birth certificate, passport, or Certificate of Naturalization are all required. Depending on your situation, you may have to get an eye examination. It is necessary for you to supply your social security number if it is not already on file with the Secretary of State’s office.
Driving with a Learner’s Permit in Maine – The Restrictions and the Risks
Many young individuals consider obtaining a learner’s permit to be a watershed point in their life. It provides a novice driver with the opportunity to experience the freedom of the open road and the beginning of what it is like to be self-sufficient. But that’s all it is — a learner’s permit is merely the first step on the road to freedom. When it comes to getting a permit in Maine, like in other states, there are still a number of requirements that must be met before receiving a complete driver’s license.
- The majority of deaths among 13 to 19-year-olds occur in motor vehicle collisions every year; 56 percent of adolescents admitted to talking on the phone while driving; and the fatality rate for 16 and 17-year-old drivers increases with each additional passenger.
- Although it is true that a learner’s permit is more commonly associated with younger drivers, Maine permittees over the age of 18 are subject to certain limitations and are at risk of many of the same dangers as those under 18.
- Judkins was driving on a learner’s permit and had another passenger in the car, a 16-year-old man, at the time of the accident.
- Because of this occurrence, officials are questioning if Judkins’ lack of experience as a permittee driver was a contributing factor to the tragic accident.
What are the rules for learners’ permit holders in Maine?
The normal requirements for a young permittee may appear to be straightforward to remember. To be eligible for a Maine learner’s permit, you must be at least 15 years old. If you are between the ages of 15 and 17, you must finish a driver’s education course before applying for the permit. Once you have obtained your permit, you must keep it for six months and then log a set amount of driving hours (70 hours in total, with ten of those hours being spent driving after dark) before applying for a driving test.
- To keep these youthful permittees under control, a variety of limitations are in place.
- It is required that the supervisor be at least 20 years old, have held a valid driver’s license for at least two years, be licensed to operate in the same class of vehicle as the permittee, and be seated next to the driving permitte.
- The sort of passengers that permittees under the age of 18 may transport in their car is another limitation that is simpler to overlook than the others.
- For the purposes of this section, “immediate family members” is a pretty straightforward category: it comprises grandparents (including step-grandparents), parents (including spouses), children (including siblings), and siblings’ spouses (including step-grandparents).
- This includes foreign exchange students and some guardianships.
- A permittee must be at least 16 years old in order to even be considered for a learner’s permit, and the permittee is not permitted to transport any other passengers.
These limitations will be lifted once they have obtained their driver’s license. A conviction for any moving infraction within the 2-year temporary license period, on the other hand, will result in the suspension of the license.
Permittees ages 18-20
Licensees between the ages of 18 and 20 must meet the same time requirements as those between the ages of 15 and 17: they must have held their permit for six months before applying for the road test, and they must log the same amount of hours as those between the ages of 15 and 17. These permittees, on the other hand, are legal adults. Surely, that’s the extent of the resemblance, don’t you think? Drivers under the age of 18 are exempt from the restriction on driving between the hours of 12am and 5am, and they are also exempt from the requirement to complete a driver education course.
Additionally, the first license earned by a young person between the ages of 18 and 20 is subject to a two-year temporary term.
Permittees ages 21 or older
Permittees who are above the age of 21 appear to have the fewest limitations, at least on the surface. In order to earn their driver’s license, they do not need to wait six months to get their permit, nor do they need to record any driving hours. They may take the road test immediately after receiving their permit. However, the initial license they get is still considered a provisional license for a period of one year, and any conviction for a driving infraction would result in the suspension of their licenses.
Considerations for all ages
One limitation that applies to all learners permits is that a person with a learner’s permit is not permitted to operate a motor vehicle while using a portable electronic device. As opposed to the common misconception that the phrase “using” indicates that a permittee is forbidden from texting while driving, the term “using” is really considerably broader, preventing permittees from manipulating, talking into, or otherwise engaging with a portable electronic device. Moreover, whether stopped in traffic, at a traffic signal, or at a stop sign, permittees will not be granted a free pass to check their devices; they will only be permitted to use their devices once they have pulled off the road and parked in a safe location.
As previously stated, a permittee under specific age restrictions is prohibited from transporting passengers who are not immediate family members unless accompanied by a supervisor.
According to Maine law, it is a crime for someone to accompany a permittee who is driving if that accompanying person’s mental or physical functioning has been impaired as a consequence of the use of intoxicating liquor or narcotics.
This starts with parents and other responsible people upholding the laws of the road, which is especially important for teenagers. Visit cdc.gov/parentsarethekey/ for tactics you may use with your young permittee and for more information.
Driver’s License & ID Card Renewal
Online services are available from the Bureau of Motor Vehicles to renew your driver’s license or Maine ID card, or to purchase a replacement driver’s license or ID card at any time of day or night, seven days a week. The online method is simple, and credit card payments are rapid and safe.
Who can use this service?
This service is intended for the processing of a renewal or replacement credential that does not require any modifications. This service is available to any licensed driver in Maine who has an active digital license, digital motorcycle license, or digital motor driven cycle limited license, as well as any holder of a digital Maine ID card, to utilize. Please keep in mind that you will not be able to utilize this service if you have not yet given documentation of legal presence to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
You cannot use this service and will have to visit a BMV office unit if:
- This means that your operating privileges have been suspended or revoked. You are in possession of a commercial driver’s license It is possible that you have a driver’s license from another jurisdiction. You have failed to present the BMV with confirmation of your legal presence. You have an out-of-state address, post office box, mail drop, rural route, or general delivery address on your current Maine driver’s license or Maine ID card. The BMV will need you to submit evidence of residence. If you haven’t already, you should consider changing your name. You have moved since your last renewal
- Your address has been updated. You want to lose weight or dye your hair a different color
- It has been more than a year since your previous renewal, and you have developed a medical condition or an existing medical condition has altered. You should have your eyes checked. Once you reach the age of 40, you must have a vision screening performed every 2nd renewal thereafter, and every license renewal once you reach the age of 62.
What you will need
- You’ll need your Social Security number. Credit card (Visa or MasterCard) in good standing
- A printer is a device that prints. Make a renewal for your Maine driver’s license or Maine identification card.
We ask that you refrain from contacting the Town Office for assistance with our online service. All inquiries should be sent to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles at (207) 624-9000 x 52114 or via email.
Maine: Driver’s License & Learner’s Permit FAQs
If you are under the age of eighteen in Maine, you must attend driving school or receive driver’s training. Driver’s education will either be provided as part of your driver’s education course or will be something that you must enroll in on your own time and expense. If you are needed to attend driving school in order to obtain your license, the course will last 8 hours and will include behind-the-wheel training in a vehicle.
How much does it cost to get a Maine driver’s license?
For drivers under the age of 65 in Maine, a noncommercial driver’s license costs $30 for six years.
What are the different types of driver’s license and endorsements in Maine?
Maine driver’s licenses and endorsements are available in a variety of configurations, including:
- CDL Class A, B, and C licenses
- Standard driver’s license
- Motorcycle endorsement
What are the Maine driver’s license restriction codes?
Driving license restriction codes may be applied to your license to indicate that you are only permitted to drive under particular conditions or that you qualify for just certain sorts of driving. The following are examples of Maine driver’s license restriction codes:
- The following are prohibited: B: Corrective lenses
- C: Mechanical devices (such as hand controls or other Adaptive Devices)
- D: Prosthetic aid
- E: No CMV with manual transmission
- G: Daylight only
- J: Other – See Separate Card
- K: CDL for intrastate travel only
- L indicates that there is no CMV equipped with air brakes
- M indicates that there is no Class A passenger vehicle
- N indicates that there is no Class A and B passenger vehicle. O: There will be no tractor-trailer CMV
- P: There will be no passengers in a CMV bus. X: No cargo in a CMV tank vehicle
- Y: No CMV with full air brakes
- Z: No CMV with full air brakes
- T: Ignition Interlock Device
- V: Medical Variance
What are the Maine provisional license rules?
You will be subject to the following regulations if you have a provisional driver’s license issued in Maine:
- No driving between the hours of 12 a.m. and 5 a.m. Passengers other than immediate family members are not permitted unless you are under supervision.
What is the driving age in Maine?
The following are the minimum driving age restrictions in Maine:
- According to Maine law, the minimum driving age is as follows:
What is the Maine driving log?
New drivers in the graded driver license (GDL) program will be required to complete a Maine driving log as part of their supervised driving practice requirements while they are in possession of a learner’s permit. Before completing your road test, your parents or legal guardians will normally be required to complete and submit a driving log to the department of motor vehicles. To become a licensed driver, teens must complete 70 hours of supervised driving, with at least 10 hours of that time spent driving at night.
Do you have to retake the driving test if your license expires in Maine?
If you have had your Maine driver’s license expired for an excessive amount of time, you may be compelled to repeat the road test. It is possible that you could be fined a late fee and that you will be subject to further suspension and fines if you are caught driving with a suspended license after it has expired.
Can I drive alone with a Maine permit?
You cannot drive alone with a Maine learner’s permit; you must be accompanied by a licensed supervising driver, who is generally your parent, legal guardian, or driving instructor.
Can I drive with an out-of-state permit in Maine?
In most cases, you will not have any problems driving in Maine with your out-of-state learner’s permit as long as you are accompanied and supervised by a trained, licensed supervisor.
Does the DMV drug test you for your permit in Maine?
In most cases, you will not have any problems driving in Maine with your out-of-state learner’s permit as long as you are accompanied and supervised by a skilled, licensed driver.
How long do you have to have your permit in Maine?
When applying for a provisional license in Maine under the GDL program, you’ll need to have your learner’s permit for at least six months before completing the road test and receiving your temporary license.
How long is a Maine learner’s permit good for?
The validity of a Maine learner’s permit is two years.
How many times can you renew your permit in Maine?
In Maine, you are unable to renew your learner’s permit. You’ll have to reapply for a different one.
How much does a Maine permit cost?
A learner’s permit in Maine is $35 dollars.
What are the Maine learner’s permit rules?
During the time that you have a learner’s permit in Maine, you will be required to drive only under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and has at least 2 years of driving experience.
What do I need to bring to get your permit in Maine?
During the time that you have a learner’s permit in Maine, you will be required to drive only under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and has at least two years of driving experience.
- Driving with a learner’s permit in Maine is restricted to being supervised by a licensed driver who is 20 years old or older and has had at least two years of driving experience.
While you have a learner’s permit in Maine, you will be required to drive only under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and has at least two years of driving experience.
Maine DMV Test FAQ – DMV Permit Test
Any resident of the state who drives a motor vehicle is considered a driver.
I recently moved to Maine. Do I need a Maine driver’s license?
Yes. Your out-of-state driver’s license must be surrendered and a ME driver’s license must be applied for within 30 days after receiving it.
Who is not required to hold a Maine driver’s license?
- Anyone who resides in the state and possesses a valid learner’s permit Any non-resident who is at least 16 years old and who possesses a valid out-of-state learner’s permit or driver’s license is eligible
- Any military soldiers stationed in Maine on active duty
What is the age requirement for a Maine driver’s license?
If you have finished a driving education course, you can drive at the age of sixteen. Otherwise, you must be 18 years old.
How do I obtain a learner’s permit in Maine?
You must comply with the following requirements:
- In order to fulfill your obligations, you must
How long is my ME learner’s permit valid for?
It is not necessary; nevertheless, you must practice driving for at least 70 hours only while accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and has held a valid license for at least two years. Your parent or legal guardian must sign a form certifying that you have spent time behind the wheel.
How do I obtain a driver’s license in Maine?
- Maintain your learner’s permit for a minimum of six months
- At least 70 hours driving time (including 10 hours of night driving) is required
- Pass a driving test with flying colors
Do I have any restriction when driving with my ME driver’s license if I am younger than 18 years old?
Yes, during the first 270 days after passing your road test, you are prohibited from doing the following: Using any portable electronic device while driving; Drive between the hours of 12 am and 5 am; Passengers other than direct family members may be transported (unless accompanied by a licensed driver of at least 20 years of age, who has held a valid license for 2 years and is sitting beside you in the car).
What is a Maine provisional license?
Upon application, a provisional license is provided to every new applicant. It is valid for two years for drivers under the age of twenty-one and for one year for drivers beyond the age of twenty-one.
What topics does the Maine written test cover?
- Drunk driving and driving laws in Maine
- Maine traffic rules and regulations
- Driving abilities
- Vehicle handling
- Highway signage
Do I have to take a vision screening?
Yes. Both your visual acuity and peripheral vision will be assessed.
What do I have to do during my road test in Maine?
- Maintain control of your car
- Drive forward and backward
- Maintain correct lane position
- Turn left and right
- Drive straight ahead
- Maintain control of your vehicle React to other drivers and pedestrians on the road
- Follow all traffic signs, signals, and traffic conditions
I am moving to Maine and I hold a valid out-of-state driver’s license. Do I have to retake all the tests?
No, the written and road tests may both be waived depending on the circumstances.
I lost my license, what can I do?
If you want to apply for a duplicate driving license in Maine, you must contact the Maine BMV.
The name or address changed from that given on my Maine license, what should I do?
You must tell the BMV within 30 days of the occurrence.