How To Get An Alaska Driver’S License? (Question)

What do I need to get drivers license in Alaska?

  • Under Alaska drivers license guidelines, you must be at least 14 years old to apply for a AK learner’s permit. In order to be eligible for a provisional license, the driver must hold the permit for a minimum of 6 months of supervised driving. All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test in order to obtain the permit.

How do I get my drivers license in Alaska?

You can apply for an Alaska license at any DMV office, and you must:

  1. Surrender your out-of-state driver license.
  2. Pass a written knowledge test.
  3. Pass an alcohol and drug awareness test when you reach the age of 21.
  4. Pass a vision test.

How long do you have to live in Alaska to get a driver’s license?

You’ll be eligible for your unrestricted Alaska license after you’ve held your provisional license for at least 6 months, or until you turn 18. To upgrade before you turn 18, you’ll need to pay a $15 fee and present the DMV with a signed Parent/Guardian Consent for a Minor form (Form 433).

How much does it cost to get an Alaska driver’s license?

How much will does REAL ID cost? Regular card fees, plus a $20 REAL ID Fee. For example: Driver’s license fee ($20) + REAL ID fee ($20) = $40 for a REAL ID license.

How do I get a state ID in Alaska?

Alaska State ID/Driver’s license

  1. Complete the Application for State Driver’s License, Permit, or Identification Card (online or print)
  2. Proof of Citizenship: Birth certificate.
  3. AND one (1) of the following proof of Identity:
  4. Proof of Residence.
  5. Cost: $15 (cash, check or card)
  6. Submit your applications.

Is it easy to move to Alaska?

In other words, for many people Alaska is the happiest place in the country, and previously ranked among the five happiest states from 2009 to 2011. Moving to Alaska will be easy. If you do decide to make Alaska your home, you need to plan your move carefully.

When can you get your license in Alaska?

In Alaska, you may apply for your first Alaska Driver License after you turn 18; however, with your parent’s help you may qualify sooner. Additionally there are several requirements that you need to follow to ensure that you know the laws, are a proficient driver, and will conduct yourself safely on the road.

What makes you a resident of Alaska?

415(a): “resident” means a person (including an alien) who is physically present in Alaska with the intent to remain indefinitely and make a home here, has maintained that person’s domicile in Alaska for the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding this application for a license, and is not claiming residency or

Can you get your license at 19 without a permit in Alaska?

You must be at least 16 years old or older. You must have held a learner’s permit for a minimum of six (6) months. Completed Application for Alaska Driver License, Permit or Identification card Application (form D1).

How do I pass my driving test in Alaska?

Here’s what your testing vehicle needs to have in Alaska:

  1. Current registration and insurance.
  2. A windshield with no cracks or debris that would obstruct the view.
  3. At least 1/2 a tank of gas.
  4. Tires properly inflated.
  5. Driver and passenger doors that open and close properly from inside and outside.

How many questions are on the Alaska permit test?

The test will consist of 20 multiple-choice questions and you will need to answer 16 of them correctly to pass. The information covered on the test will come directly from the 2022 Alaska Driver’s Manual.

Can you drive alone with a permit in Alaska?

A provisional license holder can drive alone but with certain restrictions. The driver can’t operate a vehicle from 1: 00 a.m. until 5:00 a.m. unless supervised by an adult, guardian, or licensed adult who’s at least 21 years old. Exceptions are allowed for driving to, from, and during employment.

How long does it take to get a state ID in Alaska?

Your new card should arrive in approximately two weeks. However, your temporary card is valid for 60 days. You can find out where in the process you permanent card is by using the DMV’s online service https://online.dmv.alaska.gov/TrackMyCards/.

How long is a REAL ID good for in Alaska?

Your ID card will be valid for up to 8 (eight) years expiring on your birthday or 90 days after your 21st birthday, whichever occurs first. Renewing your ID card is the same steps as renewing your driver license with the exception of the vision, written or road tests which are not required.

What does the REAL ID look like in Alaska?

To determine if an Alaska driver license or identification card is REAL ID-compliant, look for a star within a black circle in the upper right-hand corner. The presence of this icon will indicate that the credential is REAL ID-compliant.

Your First Alaska Driver’s License, Division of Motor Vehicles, Department of Administration, State of Alaska

You are now in the following section: DMV Home/Licensing/Your First Alaska Driver’s License Congratulations! As a learner driver, the honor of being able to drive signifies a significant milestone in your life. It is possible to apply for your first Alaska Driver License after you reach the age of eighteen, but with your parent’s assistance, you may be eligible sooner. Additional conditions must be met to demonstrate that you are familiar with the rules, are a skilled driver, and will behave oneself in a safe manner while on the road, which are listed below.

How do I get my License?

It is necessary to visit your local Division of Motor Vehicles office in order to apply for a driver’s license. Form D1, which may be filled out and printed in advance, will be submitted by you. Please take notice of the following: The Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has established extra services to assist rural citizens with licensing concerns that are specific to isolated regions. Please take the time to read the handbook on rural driving.

What fees will I pay?

For further information about forfeitures, please see the following page.

What do I bring to the office to get a REAL ID License?

Residents of Alaska will be required to provide a REAL ID compliant license/ID, or another acceptable form of identification, beginning on May 3, 2023, in order to get access to Federal buildings, enter nuclear power plants, or board commercial airplanes after that date. The Alaska Real ID is not necessary, but if you want one, you must apply in person and present all of the appropriate documentation. Documents Required – Please See Below.

What do Ibring to the DMV office to get a Non Compliant License

In order to obtain your Alaska driving license, you must provide four or five pieces of documentation that establish your identity and date of birth, as well as proof of your current location and social security number. The following are the five sorts of documents, along with samples of each. If you are unable to receive any of these papers, you should contact the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles to discuss your alternatives. Please bring one of each kind to the DMV when submitting your application.

Primary Documents

Proof of your legal name, birth date, and citizenship are required (called the “primary document”) These documents are suitable for confirming your legal name and date of birth, as long as they are not altered. Please bring one of the following:

  • An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by the United States Department of Health and Human Services (Vital Statistics) (Certified Informational CopiesareNOTvalid for identity purposes.)
  • It is a passport card that has been issued by the United States or a US territory. The following documents: a foreign passport with the necessary immigration status papers provided by the United States Department of Homeland Security, United States Citizenship and Immigration Service
  • Documents issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service, including resident alien, temporary resident alien, and employment work authorization documents
  • An Alaska instruction permit or Alaska State Identification card
  • A Certificate of Citizenship, Naturalization, or Birth Abroad
  • And an Alaska instruction permit or Alaska State Identification card.

Please keep in mind that if your legal name differs from the name that appears on your primary document, you must produce document(s) that prove your name change. Before you may change your name with the DMV, you must first alter your name with Social Security.

Residential Address

You must provide proof of your primary home. To establish your primary residence, you may use any of the following documents. The address on the paperwork must be your primary residence, not a post office box or other mail storage facility. Please bring one of the following:

  • Utility bill
  • Alaska voter registration card
  • Alaska title and/or registration (issued at least 30 days prior to application)
  • Paycheck stub
  • Medical Assistance card
  • Public Assistance card
  • Canceled check or bank statement
  • Mortgage or rental paperwork
  • A letter on company letterhead confirming the applicant’s dwelling address
  • And a copy of the applicant’s birth certificate.

Social Security

You must provide proof of your Social Security Number. Applicants who have a Social Security Number are required to include it on their application. The information on your application must be consistent with the information in Social Security’s records. For information about your social security number or to request a duplicate Social Security Card (available only to current Alaska license or ID card holders), please visit the Social Security Administration website (www.socialsecurity.gov). The Social Security Administration must give proof that you have not been issued a Social Security Number if you do not have one.

Remember that you can use another document issued by the United States Social Security Administration or the United States Department of Treasury, Internal Revenue Service that shows both your name and social security number in lieu of a social security card.

Name Change

Evidence of a Name Change (if you have changed your legal name) You must provide one of the papers listed below if you have undergone a name change so that the DMV can establish a relationship between your previous and new names. An original or certified copy of the original document issued by a government agency must be shown as evidence of this requirement. Please bring one of the following:

  • Passport from the United States (must be current)
  • A certified birth certificate
  • Certified adoption documents
  • A certified marriage certificate
  • A certified court order
  • Or a certified divorce decree Certificate of Dissolution, Divorce, or Annulment of Marriage
  • • Naturalization certificates and name change certificates are both available.

If you have already acquired an Alaska instruction permit or Alaska State ID card in your present name, you are not needed to provide any of the extra papers listed above.

What tests do I take?

Before you may be awarded a driver’s license, you must first pass a written knowledge exam, a vision test, and/or a driving test on the road. Written Examination of Knowledge Each day, you are only permitted to take this test once. Test of Visual Acuity If your vision improves, you will be needed to repeat this exam in order to have the limitations lifted. Test on the Road Please see the following link for further information about the road test. Awareness of the dangers of alcohol and drugs Test of Your Knowledge When you turn 21, your driver’s license or identification card expires in 90 days.

Take this test as many times as you need until you pass it successfully.

Can I practice for the written knowledge test?

To see if you qualify, take our Online Knowledge Test.

Your Alaska ID and License in the News, Division of Motor Vehicles, Department of Administration, State of Alaska

For the first time on May 3, 2023, Alaska citizens will be required to show a REAL ID compliant license/ID, or another acceptable form of identity, when visiting Federal buildings, entering nuclear power plants, or boarding a commercial airplane. This will take effect immediately. The Alaska Real ID is not required to be used in Alaska.

Documents Required

Do you require a REAL ID Checklist to be printed? To learn more, please visit this page. Do you want to know which papers you should bring with you? Check out our onlineReal ID Checklist for more information.

Real ID FAQ

What is the process for applying for a REAL ID?

  • The procedure is comparable to Alaska’s present driver’s license/ID card application process, with the addition of a few more steps and prerequisites. Even if the following documentation has been previously supplied, all applicants for a compliance card, including current Alaska cardholders, must apply in person and furnish the DMV with source documents:
  • The procedure is comparable to Alaska’s present driver’s license/ID card application process, with the addition of a few more steps and requirements to complete. All applicants for a compliance card, including current Alaska cardholders, must apply in person and present the following documents to the DMV, even if it has already been submitted:
  • Listed below is a list of the current source papers that Alaska recognizes as acceptable for REAL ID cards.

What are the fees and how do I pay them? What exactly is REAL ID?

  • The REAL ID Act, which was passed by Congress in 2005, carried out the 9/11 Commission’s proposal that the federal government “establish criteria for the issue of forms of identity, such as driver’s licenses,” according to the commission. Among other things, the Act established rules for state-issued driver’s licenses and identity (ID) cards and prohibited federal agencies from recognizing licenses and identification cards from states that did not fulfill the requirements.

What is the current status of REAL ID rollout in Alaska?

  • As of April 17, 2019, the State of Alaska is in compliance with the REAL ID Act.

Is it necessary for me to have a REAL ID?

  • Are REAL IDs required in my situation?

Is it still possible for me to come on base and fly with my present driver’s license or identification?

  • Yes. Non-compliant credit cards will continue to be accepted until May 2, 2023. The use of a REAL ID compliant license/ID card or similar federally accepted form of identification will be needed for entry to government buildings, nuclear power plants, and commercial airplanes beginning on May 3, 2023. Please keep in mind that certain government sites, such as military bases, may have restrictions on the kind of identity documents that can be used to gain entry. It is recommended that you verify with the government facility or military post before you visit.

What are the advantages of having a license or ID that is REAL ID compliant?

  • People who have Alaska licenses and ID cards that are compliant will be able to use them as proof of identity while entering government facilities, including militaryinstallations and boarding commercial domestic flights* without the need for additional documents. Once federal facilities/bases and commercial planes reach their capacity in September 2021, old-style cards and standardcards with the phrase “federallimits apply” will no longer be accepted at the gates. * For international flight travel, a passport book issued by the United States is necessary.
See also:  How Much Does Alaska Charge For Bags?

Do I need to receive a REAL ID compatible commercial driver’s license if I already have a commercial driver’s license?

  • Beginning on January 2nd, 2019, state law will require all new commercial drivers’ licenses (CDLs) to be nationally compatible. The following are new methods:
  • Obtaining your first CDL
  • Transferring an out-of-state CDL (even if you previously held an Alaska CDL)
  • Getting your first commercial driver’s license An existing CDL is being upgraded
  • Adding or removing endorsements
  • Adding or removing limits
  • Seeking a higher class
  • And so on.

All normal CDL cards that are currently in circulation are still valid until they are no longer valid. However, this sort of CDL may only be used for official federal purposes while Alaska is covered by a DHS extension that expires on May 3, 2023, the date of the federal enforcement deadline. Unreal ID CDL duplicates that were granted prior to January 2019 for the purpose of replacing a lost CDL may still be available for purchase.

The decision to obtain a REAL ID CDL is entirely up to the individual. Current CDL holders are not obligated to do so until their licenses are renewed. Duplicate means the same as:

  • An identical replica of what was released prior to the passage of the legislation change
  • Upgrades or changes in commercial privileges are not considered with a card that has been reissued for the purpose of updating personal information. As an illustration:
  • Change of name
  • Change of residence
  • Addition or removal of general driving limitations (e.g., restriction 1 – corrective glasses)
  • And other changes are permitted.
  • In summary, CDL holders can choose from the following alternatives:
  • Briefly stated, CDL holders have the following choices:

How does the 5-year Hazardous Materials Threat Assessment Check requirement interact with a commercial driver’s license that is valid for up to eight years?

  • Regardless of how long a CDL holder has held his or her license, federal and state rules continue to need the check every five years. Beginning on December 20, 2018, the expiration date of the hazardous materials endorsement will be shown on the rear side of the commercial driver’s license. In order to keep the endorsement, a fresh threat assessment check, as well as the issue of a duplicate CDL, are necessary.

What is the reason for my school bus license expiring in five years?

  • It is required that a school bus license be renewed every five years in compliance with Alaska Statute 28.15.046.

Are you an Alaskan citizen who was born and requires a copy of your birth certificate?

  • To order birth certificates, go to the “Order Certificates” section and choose “Birth Certificates.” To obtain a copy of your certificate for a REAL ID-compliant driver’s license, complete and submit the request form along with the necessary papers and cost. To get a birth certificate in Alaska if you were born there but do not currently have one on file, call the Alaska Vital Records Office at (907) 465-3391 or visit our website at You will require the following items:
  • In addition to the application, you must provide documentary verification showing you were born in Alaska (such as school records, vaccination records, orother comparable paperwork). Order form for birth certificates, together with $60
  • A completed application for Delayed Birth
  • Documentary evidence indicating you were born in Alaska (such as school records, vaccination records, or comparable documents)
  • Order form for a birth certificate and $60

If you were born in another state and want a copy of your birth certificate, contact us.

  • You were born in another state and want a duplicate of your birth certificate.

What does the design of the REAL ID compatible cards appear to be?

  • Alaska’s ID cards have been totally updated to provide a more contemporary, safe, and long-lasting credential than they were previously. Both the normal ID card and the REAL ID card will have the same design, but they will differ in the marks they include. REAL ID cards will be distinguished by the presence of the REAL ID star in the upper right corner. In addition, standard cards will not have the star and will be labelled with the words “Federal limitations apply.” The lifespan of all five-year card kinds will be increased to eight years from their current five-year duration. Secure Card Features that have been added The Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is pleased to announce the availability of their newly updated driver license and identification cards. These credentials will now be manufactured utilizing a polycarbonate substrate, which is a very secure material. For usage as a card material, polycarbonate is the most durable substrate available today, and it contains the greatest number of level 1 security features, providing your card with the strongest possible barrier against counterfeiting and other threats. A number of cutting-edge security and other features are incorporated into this new design, including the following: Create an account and sign up for email or text notifications.

In order to provide a more contemporary, safe, and durable credential, the state of Alaska has entirely updated its cards. Both the conventional ID card and the REAL ID card will have the same design, but they will differ in the marks that are included on the cards. THE STAR OF REAL ID WILL BE APPEARING ON THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF REAL ID CARDS Federal limitations apply to standard cards, which do not have the star and are labelled “Federal limits apply.” All five-year card kinds will have their length extended to eight years.

It is currently planned to create these credentials using a polycarbonate substrate that is extremely secure.

A number of cutting-edge security and other features are included in this new design, which includes the following: Create a subscription to get email or text alerts.

  • Fees for the card as usual, plus a $20 REAL ID cost. As an illustration:
  • Fees for a REAL ID license are $20 for a driver’s license and $20 for a REAL ID card, for a total of $40. For a REAL ID Identification card, you must pay the identification card charge ($15) and the REAL ID fee ($20), which totals $35. A REAL IDCDL costs $120, which includes the CDL price ($100) and the REAL ID charge ($20). REALID charge ($20) plus senior ID cost ($0) equals $20 in total for a senior REALID.
  • *The validity of the remember card has been extended to up to eight years.

What is the maximum number of REAL ID cards I can have?

  • In accordance with federal and state requirements, an individual may only have one REAL ID compliant card and one driver’s license at any given time. Alaska individuals may have both an Alaska Driver’s License and an Alaska Identification card at the same time, but only one of them can be compliant with the law. Also permitted is the possession of two or more identity cards issued by different states, as long as only one of them is REAL ID compliant and the driver’s license is not REAL ID compliant. The legislation governing the issuance of certificates differ from state to state. While Alaska recognizes a variety of certification categories, many other states do not. The issuance of an Alaska REAL ID license or ID card may result in the cancellation of other states’ identity cards, depending on the legislation of the state that issued the license or ID card.

Is REAL ID only a means of establishing a national database?

  • Do you believe that REAL ID is simply a means of creating a national data warehouse?

Will the card be equipped with a chip? What does it mean when my REAL ID is labelled “Limited Term”?

  • “Limited Term” denotes that the REAL ID card expiration date of a temporary resident with lawful status is linked to the length of allowed stay in the United States, which is often less than the standard license period of up to 8 years. This indication does not apply to standard cards that have identical abbreviated expiration dates dependent on the length of time the card has been in use.

What resources can I use to learn more about the many sorts of cards? TSA stands for the Transportation Security Administration (TSA)

  • Forms of Identification Acceptable by the TSA
  • More information on the TSA may be found here.

9/13/2021 09:30 UTC (Revised)

Limited License, Division of Motor Vehicles, Department of Administration, State of Alaska

Limited license applications can be acquired online atAlaska.gov/dmv, where they can also be mailed. Make certain that you are using the proper form. There are no limited licenses available for driving a business vehicle, no driving privileges cancellations, and no refusals to submit to a chemical test accessible to you. You can apply for a limited license by filling out the necessary information on the application form and paying the $100 non-refundable processing fee, which is required. You can also contact Driver Services at (907) 269-5551 to talk with a customer service representative, or send an email to [email protected] if you have any more questions about limited licenses.

  • Misdemeanor DUI
  • Felony DUI
  • Mandatory Insurance
  • Frequently Asked Questions

Misdemeanor DUI Limited License

If your Misdemeanor DUI/Refusal case was dropped in court, you may not be required to obtain a restricted license. Please fill out Form 405 and mail it to the address indicated on the form. Thank you for your cooperation. Limited licenses are available after the first 30 days for the first offense and after 90 days for subsequent offenses, and you will be required to obtain an Ignition InterlockDevice (IID) just prior to the issuance of the limited license.

Limited licenses are not available for first-time offenders and are only available for those who have been convicted of a prior offense. In order to submit an application, you must go through numerous stages. The following are the steps to obtain a limited license:

  1. A limited license may not be required if your misdemeanor DUI/Refusal case was dropped in court. Please fill out Form 405 and mail it to the address indicated on the form. Thank you for your assistance. Limited licenses are available after the first 30 days for the first offense and after 90 days for subsequent offenses, and you will be required to obtain an Ignition InterlockDevice (IID) just prior to the issuance of the limited license. Limited licenses are not available for first-time offenders and are only available for those who have been convicted of a previous offense. When applying, there are a number of steps to do. A limited license can be obtained in the following ways: 1.
  • Form D1 (Application for a Driver’s License) must be completed. Pass the vision exam (which may be done for free at your local DMV)
  • Pass the general knowledge written test (which may be taken at your local DMV for no price, and a practice test can be taken online)
  • Installa car-specific ignition interlock device (IID) in each vehicle you will be operating (acquired from an interlock installation, with costs determined by the installer)
  • Provide a letter from the ASAP office stating that you are “in compliance” or “completed.” For further information, you can call the Anchorage ASAP office at (907)264-0735 or visit their website. Schedule and successfully complete a road test
  • In the previous five years, you have not held a valid driver’s license, you are ineligible. It is necessary to take the road test at a DMV office, if one is accessible. There is a $15 cost for this service. The road test must be conducted in a vehicle that has an IID equipped.
  • In Alaska, you must have filed a FinancialResponsibility Filing (SR 22 insurance filing form) within the past 30 days (you may get this form from your insurancecompany
  • The charge is specified by the insurance company). License fee of $20 (payable by check, money order, or credit card authorization form)
  • All restraining orders on your driving privileges, whether in-state or out-of-state, must be lifted.
  1. The Anchorage Driver Services office is responsible for issuing all restricted licenses. Your local DMV office can assist you with proving the eyesight, knowledge, and road test criteria, but they will not be able to award you a restricted license because of the licensing restrictions. Once you have completed all of the criteria, you may send the remaining paperwork to the DMV online at [email protected], by fax at 907-269-3774, or by mail at the address provided above. Please keep in mind that submitting your limited license application does not imply that you will have valid driving privileges. Do not get behind the wheel until you have received your limited license from the DMV
  2. The DMV will mail you the restricted license. Once you have been issued a limited license, you are authorized to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle with an ignition interlock device installed until the license’s expiration date, as long as the limited license is in your possession while driving and your driving privileges are still in effect.

Please Drive Safely!

The Anchorage Driver Services office is in charge of issuing all restricted licenses. In order to record the vision, knowledge, and road test criteria for a limited license, your local DMV office can assist you; but, they cannot issue the limited license. The remaining documentation required by the DMV may be submitted online [email protected], by fax to 907-269-3774, or by mail to the address provided above once you have satisfied all of the criteria indicated above. Remember that submitting your restricted license application does not imply that you will have valid driving privileges after receiving your license.

Once you have been issued a limited license, you are authorized to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle with an ignition interlock device installed until the license’s expiration date, as long as the limited license is in your possession while driving and your driving privileges are still in effect;

Steps to a limited license:

  1. Please contact the Alaska CourtSystem using the form CR-742 to ensure if you are eligible for the program. To be eligible to utilize this form, you must have completed Wellness or Therapeutic Court with the Alaska Court System and been successful. CR-741 should be used if you are in a location where Wellness or Therapeutic Court is not available to you. Following receipt of court-verified eligibility, submit the court form, felony limited license application, and $100 application fee to: Division of Motor VehiclesAnchorage Driver Services 3901 Old Seward Highway, Suite 101 Anchorage, Alaska 99503
  2. Or Following that, the DMV will analyze your record and send you a specific set of criteria for the restricted license depending on your drivinghistory and experience. These will include the following:
  • Verification of eligibility can be obtained from the Alaska CourtSystem by submitting Form CR-742. To be eligible to utilize this form, you must have completed Wellness or Therapeutic Court with the Alaska Court System and been awarded a favorable outcome. CR-741 should be used if you are in a location where Wellness or Therapeutic Court is not readily available. Once you have received court confirmation of your eligibility, you should submit the court form, felony limited license application, and $100 application fee to: Division of Motor VehiclesAnchorage Driver Services 3901 Old Seward Highway, Suite 101 Anchorage, AK 99503 Based on your driving history, the DMV will analyze your record and send you a specific set of requirements for the restricted license. Some examples will be:
  • In the previous five years, you have not held a valid driver’s license, you are ineligible. It is necessary to take the road test at a DMV office, if one is accessible. There is a $15 processing charge.
  • Install an ignition interlock device on every vehicle you will be driving (get this from theinterlock installer
  • Fees are set by theinterlock installer)
  • FinancialResponsibility Filing (SR 22 insurance filing form) for Alaska dated within the last 30 days (get this from your insurancecompany
  • Fees are set by the insurance company)
  • $20 licensing fee (payable by check, money order, or credit card authorization form)
  • All pending holds on your driving privileges, whether in or out of state, must be addressed
  1. Maintain your financial responsibility by obtaining an ignition interlock device for each vehicle you will be driving (available from theinterlock installer, fees determined by theinterlock installer)
  2. Obtaining a FinancialResponsibility Filing (SR 22 insurance filing form) for Alaska that is dated within the last 30 days (available from your insurancecompany, fees determined by the insurance company)
  3. And obtaining a FinancialResponsibility Filing (SR 22 insurance filing form) for Alaska that is dated within the last 30 days. There is a $20 license cost (payable by check, money order, or credit card authorization form)
  4. All holds on your driving privileges, whether in state or out of state, must be addressed
  5. And
See also:  How Much Are Alaska Airline Miles Worth?

Please Drive Safely!

Completed applications should be mailed or delivered to the Division of Motor Vehicles, Anchorage Driver Services, 3901 Old Seward Highway, Suite 101, Anchorage, Alaska 99503. Failure to complete all of the required portions of the application will result in a delay in the issuance of your limited license. If you have not been previously suspended for Failure to Maintain Mandatory Insurance in the past ten years, you may be eligible for a limited license to use for job or medical care purposes.

If you are under the age of majority in your state, you must submit a Parental Consent form that has been notarized or seen by a DMV official together with your registration application.

With order to submit the form, it must be filled in blue or black ink.

FAQ

Yes. Upon successful completion of the motorcycle knowledge and skillstest, in addition to completing all other conditions for a limited license under AS28.15.201(d) or (g), limited motorcycle privileges may be awarded if the motorcycle knowledge and skillstest is passed (bikes must be equipped with anIID). The charge for the skills assessment is $15. Appointments can be made either online or at a DMV office location. If your motorbike license is later added to your Class D (regular car) restricted license, you will be charged an extra $20 licensing cost.

Renew Your Alaska Driver License , Division of Motor Vehicles, Department of Administration, State of Alaska

When your license’s expiration date is less than a year away, it is time to renew your license.

You may renew your license in three ways: online, via mail, or in person. There are extra criteria to renew your Commercial Driver’s License if you possess a commercial driver’s license. Do you have any information on how I may renew my Alaska driver’s license via mail? If.

  • You have reached the age of 22. You have not altered any of your personal information
  • You did not renew your driver’s license by mail when it was due for renewal last year

We invite you to renew your membership online. What if I’m younger than 22 years old? In the event that you are under the age of eighteen, please inquire about your instruction permission or your provision license. You must renew your license 90 days after your 21st birthday if you are turning 21. If you are turning 20, you must renew your license 90 days after your 21st birthday. Your new license will be in a horizontal format rather than a vertical format, and it will no longer be restricted based on age limits.

  1. If I am out of state when I turn 21 and my license is about to expire, what should I do?
  2. The Driver Services Team can provide you with an alcohol awareness exam if you submit an email to [email protected] with your name and driver’s license number and a request that an alcohol awareness test be provided to you.
  3. Within 5 business days of successfully completing the assigned exam and returning it to the Driver Services team, you will be able to renew your driver’s license on the Driver Services website.
  4. What if I don’t have access to a DMV in my area?

How do I update my personal information?

Vision (sometimes known as eyes) is a term that refers to the ability to see. If you have undergone eye surgery and are able to pass the vision test without the use of glasses or contacts, you may be able to have the limitation lifted from your driving license. Change of Surname The change in your legal name must be documented if it has occurred since your last driver’s license wasissued. Gender Transitions If your gender has changed since your last license was granted, you must show documentation demonstrating that the new information is correct.

  • A certification from a healthcare provider
  • One of the following papers
  • And
  • A birth certificate that has been changed
  • A valid passport or passport card from the United States
  • A court ruling allowing the right to alter one’s sexual orientation or gender

Please read on for additional information on how to update your personal information.

Help! I’m out of state and I am not eligible to renew my license online.What do I do?

In the event that you are out of state and are not qualified to renew your license online, you can request for a licenseextension letter over the internet. A commercial driver’s license cannot be extended for more than 30 days after it has expired, and there is no extension allowed for licenses that have been expired for more than one year. A license extension letter can also be sought by completing a paper license extension request form, which must include the following information: Send your submissions to: [email protected] or send them to:

  • Driver Services, Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles, 3901 Old Seward Highway, Suite 101, Anchorage, AK 99503

11:22 a.m., Wednesday, March 3, 2020

How to get your Alaska Drivers License

Alaska, like many other states, has a tiered drivers license system, which is sometimes referred to as a graduated licensing system.

Your first Alaska drivers license will be a temporary license, which means it will have certain restrictions attached to it. But first, let’s look at what you’ll need to do in order to obtain a driver’s license in Alaska. We’ll get to that shortly.

Alaska Drivers Training Requirements

You’ll need to obtain your Alaska learners permit first before you can apply for your provisional Alaska license. Once you reach the age of fourteen, you will be able to take driving lessons, giving you plenty of time to learn. You must be 16 years old in order to obtain an Alaska driver’s license. While you’re waiting for your learners permit to be approved, you’ll need to spend some time behind the wheel practicing driving safely and in line with Alaska traffic rules. There is no requirement in the state of Alaska for you to complete a formal drivers education course.

Providing documentation that you’ve completed at least 40 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel instruction with a parent or legal guardian will be required before you may take your drivers license exam.

(It’s a good idea to do both at the same time.) Participation in the Parent Supervised Driving Program is voluntary for the state of Alaska.

As an added convenience for you (and your parent or legal guardian who will be acting as your teacher), the Alaska DMV provides the RoadReady app, which allows you to track your driving experience in real time.

Alaska Drivers License Requirements

What are the criteria for an Alaska driver’s license? Before you can take your driving test for your license, you must first complete the behind-the-wheel training requirements and have had your Alaska learners permit for a minimum of six months before you can take the exam. As soon as you’re ready, you may go to your local DMV office to take your road test. For information on how to obtain an Alaska drivers license if your community does not have a DMV office, please see the Alaska Rural Driver Information page.

The Alaska Driver’s Manual has all of the information you’ll need to prepare for this test.

You’ll also need to bring identification, so make sure you have the following documents with you:

  • Document proving the bearer’s legal name and date of birth (Primary Document)
  • Secondary document should be used in conjunction with the primary document
  • A copy of your proof of primary residence
  • You must provide proof of your Social Security number.

You will earn your Alaska temporary drivers license if you have passed both the road test and the written exam. Congrats! However, you should be aware that there are some constraints that you will need to adhere to. Unless you are accompanied by a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old, you are not permitted to transport passengers under the age of 21. This includes siblings, but does not include other relatives. Aside from that, you are not permitted to drive between the hours of 1:00 AM and 5 AM unless you are traveling to and from work, or whether driving is a necessity of your employment.

If you want to update your license before you turn 18, you’ll need to pay a $15 fee and provide a completed Parent/Guardian Consent for a Minor form to the DMV (Form 433).

REAL IDs / CDL / Driver’s Licenses

You will require (TWO) of the following papers.

  • The following papers are required (TWO).

PROVEYOUR SSN BELONGS TO YOU:

You’ll need at least one of the following papers.

  • Social Security card
  • W2 – with full name and SSN mentioned
  • 1099R – with full name and SSN listed
  • W2 – with full name and SSN listed

PROVEWHERE YOU LIVE:

You’ll need (TWO) of these documents to verify your actual residence, with one of the two documents having been issued within the previous 90 days. Here are a few suggestions:

  • The most recent utility bill (even if it is sent to a PO Box, it may list your physical address as the service address)
  • A copy of your driver’s license
  • A vehicle registration card that was issued more than 30 days ago is considered expired. Pay stubs, voter registration cards, and mortgage paperwork are all examples of what you could find.

Everything that is given must be original certified papers that have not been changed or true copies that have been authenticated by the issuing authority. A legitimate and unexpired document must be shown, and it may not be laminated. Foreign documentation must be accompanied by an official certified English translation. You may be unable to supply the goods specified above due to extenuating circumstances; but, don’t worry, there is a comprehensive list of alternative, acceptable papers given further down on this page.

It is possible that these recommendations will not apply in every scenario.

ACCEPTABLEPROOF:THE EXTENDED LIST

  • US passport or passport card that is valid and has not expired
  • Certified copy of US birth certificate (issued by a municipal, county or state vital statistics office)
  • And proof of residency in the United States. A certified copy of a birth certificate from a territory of the United States. Birth certificates from Puerto Rico that were issued on or after July 1, 2010
  • A valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card
  • A valid/unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) Card (I-766)
  • A valid REAL ID license or ID card from a compliant state (Note: documentation of U.S. citizenship or lawful status is required)

In addition, you must provide proof of citizenship or legal authorization to be in the United States.

  • US passport or passport card that is valid and has not expired
  • Certified copy of US birth certificate (issued by a municipal, county or state vital statistics office)
  • And proof of residency in the United States. A certified copy of a birth certificate from a territory of the United States. Birth certificates from Puerto Rico that were issued on or after July 1, 2010
  • A Consular Report of a U.S. Citizen’s Birth Abroad
  • A Certificate of Citizenship
  • A U.S. Adoption Order with birth information
  • A Certificate of Naturalization
  • An I-551 Resident Alien / Permanent Resident Card
  • An I-766 Employment Authorization Card
  • And a Certificate of Naturalization are all examples of documents that can be obtained.

AND, if appropriate, a change in the name If your given name has changed as a result of a marriage, divorce, adoption, or any other cause, please contact us. It is possible that multiple documents may be necessary to demonstrate all name changes.

  • In the case of adoption paperwork, the legal name of the adoptee is included as a result of the adoption. Name change documentation that includes the legal name before and after the name change is required. Certificate of marital union Documentation proving the establishment of a civil union or domestic partnership, such as a certificate, statement, or registration document Because of the court action, a document is created that provides the legal name of the couple who have decided to dissolve their marriage, civil union, or domestic partnership.

AS WELL AS YOUR SSN: These documents will serve as proof of your Social Security Number.

  • W-2 form
  • Social Security Administration (SSA) 1099 form
  • Non-SSA-1099 form
  • Social Security card (not laminated or metal)
  • Pay stub containing the employee’s complete Social Security number
  • If I am disqualified for a social security number, a letter from the Social Security Administration (SSA) may be necessary

OR AND Primary Residency: Two documents from the list below must be produced, with one of the two documents having a date within 90 days of the other document. Documents must be originals, and they cannot be scrawled on by hand. Account numbers and balances on resident papers may be blacked out or otherwise altered.

  • Additionally, two documents from the list below must be submitted, with one of the two documents being dated within 90 days of the other. Unless otherwise specified, all documents must be originals and cannot be written by hand. Account numbers and balances on resident paperwork may be blacked out.
See also:  When Does The Alaska State Fair Open?

Verification of the mailing address Documents intended for a parent can be used for a minor kid, and vice versa. Providing legal documentation demonstrating the reason for the difference in the minor’s last name is required if the minor’s last name is different. For example, a marriage license, a divorce decree, a legal name change, and so on and so forth.

REAL IDFAQS:

The REAL ID Act, which was passed by Congress in 2005, carried out the 9/11 Commission’s proposal that the federal government “establish criteria for the issue of forms of identity, such as driver’s licenses,” as recommended by the 9/11 Commission. State-issued driver’s licenses and identification cards must meet minimum security standards established by the Act, and Federal agencies are prohibited from accepting for official purposes licenses and identification cards issued by states that do not comply with the standards established by the Act.

  • Accessing government facilities
  • Boarding commercial flights that are subject to federal regulation
  • Entering nuclear power plants

When you want to use your driver license (DL) or identity (ID) card to board a domestic aircraft, visit military bases, or enter most government buildings, the Department of Homeland Security will require that it be REAL ID compatible starting on October 1, 2021. A REAL ID driver license or ID card in Alaska can only be obtained through the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

To help customers prepare, the DMV has developed an interactive checklist that lists the documents you will need to submit when applying for a REAL ID driver license or ID card in Alaska.

Alaska Driver’s License Classifications (A Complete Guide)

DrivingSchoolExpress has worked with some of the greatest online traffic and driver’s education schools available on the internet. If you sign up for something through one of our links, we may receive a small affiliate commission. You can find out more about how we perform our reviewshere. Did you know that Alaskan driver’s licenses are classified according to their use? Not only that, but the different classes of licenses govern what type of vehicle you are permitted to operate. Now, if you’re trying to obtain an Alaskan driver’s license, you might be a little overwhelmed by the number of classes and requirements.

In this post, we’ll provide you with a comprehensive overview to the many types of Alaska driver’s licenses.

You’ll know exactly what license you want and how to obtain it in this manner.

Types of Driver’s Licenses in Alaska

The following is a list of the numerous types of permits and licenses that are granted in Alaska. Types of instruction permits:

  • Provisional licenses (for ages 16-18)
  • Learner’s or Instruction Permit (for ages 14-16)

Types of driver’s licenses include:

  • Non-commercial driver’s license (Class D)
  • Commercial driver’s license (CDL)
  • And professional driver’s license (PDL).

Licensing requirements for non-commercial drivers (Class D); commercial drivers (CDL); and commercial passenger vehicles (CPV).

Non-Commercial Instruction Permit

Under the Graduated Drivers License (GDL) program established by the Alaska State Legislature, a young driver can get a learner’s permit (when they are 14-16 years old) or a provisional license (when they are 16 to 18 years old) before taking the driving test for a full Class D driver’s license. Teenagers in Alaska between the ages of 14 and 16 are entitled to apply for an instruction permit. This license permits individuals to practice driving with the assistance of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and has at least one year of driving experience with them.

To submit an application, you must complete the following steps:

  • Fill out the application form D1, as well as the parental consent forms 433 for autos and 433M for motorbikes. Pass the written knowledge test with flying colors
  • Pass a vision examination
  • Make payment for necessary fees ($15)
  • The following documentation is required: proof of legal name and date of birth, citizenship, home address, and social security number

Fill out the application form D1, as well as the parental consent forms 433 for autos and 433M for motorbikes (where applicable). Perform satisfactorily on the written knowledge test. Completion of a vision examination Make payment for any relevant fees ($15). Proof of legal name, date of birth, citizenship, residence address, and social security number; proof of marital status

  • It is not permitted to transport persons under the age of 21 (with the exception of siblings)
  • Driving is prohibited between the hours of 1:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m.

These driving limits are subject to the following expectations:

  • Unless they are accompanied by a 21-year-old who possesses the appropriate license
  • Unless you’re going to your place of employment using the most direct route possible

If you want to get a provisional license, you must first visit your local DMV and pass a road test.

Non-commercial Driver’s License (Class D)

The Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of a non-commercial motor vehicle must be less than 26,000 pounds in order to qualify for a Class D license. The following are included in this category:

  • Passenger automobiles, lorries, and vehicles with a maximum capacity of 15 people (including the driver)
  • Transportation for 15 or fewer passengers (including the driver) in passenger cars, trucks, or vehicles

When you reach the age of eighteen, you will be entitled to apply for your first Alaska driver’s license! Before you get too enthusiastic, there are a few standards you must complete in order to demonstrate that you are a competent and responsible driver.

Form 478, together with the requisite costs ($20 for regular licenses, $40 for actual IDs), and supporting paperwork (see below) must be submitted to your local DMV office in order to obtain your first driver’s license.

  • Proof of identity (including legal name, birth date, and citizenship)
  • The following documents are required: proof of residency, social security number, and proof of name change (if applicable).

It is necessary to pass the following exams in order to successfully finish your initial driver’s license application:

  • Written knowledge test, vision test, road test, and alcohol and drug awareness test are all part of the process.

Commercial Driver’s License (Class A, B, C)

You must first get a learner’s permit, which is valid for 14 days, before applying for a commercial driver’s license. Now, in order to apply for a CDL, you must be aware of the type and function of the vehicle you will be driving. Examples include:

  • What is the anticipated weight of the vehicle? (Class)
  • Do you know what kind of license you’ll require? (Endorsements)

Let’s have a look at the class first (size of the vehicle).

  • Class A– Trucks and Trailers (combination vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001lbs or more, and a towed unit weighing up to 10,001lbs or more)
  • Class B– Trucks and Trailers (combination vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001lbs or more, and a towed unit weighing up to 10,001lbs or more)
  • Class C– Trucks and Trailers (combination vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001lbs or more, and Class B– Motorcoaches, box trucks, and dump trucks (heavy straight vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001lbs or more)
  • Class C– Buses (small trucks with a GVWR of 26,000lbs or less, and for vehicles designed to transport no more than 16 people)
  • Class D– Trucks (heavy straight vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001lbs or more)
  • Class E– Trucks (heavy straight vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001lbs or more)
  • Class F

What about the endorsements, do you think? It is necessary to have endorsements in order to operate certain types of automobiles. Additionally to the general knowledge test, you will be needed to take a knowledge test in order to obtain an endorsement on your driver’s license. Examples of endorsements granted in Alaska include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • What about the endorsements, do you think they are important? It is necessary to have endorsements in order to operate certain cars. Additionally to the general knowledge exam, you will be needed to take a knowledge test in order to obtain an endorsement on your driver’s licence. Examples of endorsements granted in Alaska include, but are not limited to, those listed below.

With that out of the way, let’s take a look at the prerequisites for obtaining a commercial driver’s license. To apply for your CDL, you must complete the following steps:

  • To get this out of the way, let’s have a look at what it takes to earn your Commercial Drivers License (CDL). Following are the steps you must do in order to apply for a CDL.

With that out of the way, let’s take a look at the prerequisites for obtaining a commercial driver’s license (CDL). To be eligible to apply for your CDL, you must meet the following requirements:

Motorcycle License (Class M1, M2, M3)

Motorcycle license types are determined by the size of the engine and the arrangement of the wheels.

  • The following motorcycles are allowed to be operated: M1:Any motorcycle with an engine displacement of 50cc (for those 16 years old and older)
  • M2:May operate a motor-driven cycle (scooter or motorized bicycle) with an engine displacement of less than 50cc (for 14 and 15-year-olds only)
  • M3:May operate a motor-driven cycle (scooter or motorized bicycle) with an engine displacement of less than 50cc (for 14 and 15-year-olds only)
  • M4:May operate a motor-driven cycle (scooter or motorized bicycle) with an engine displacement of less than 50c M3:Permits the operation of a three-wheeled motorcycle with an engine displacement more than 50cc (for those aged 16 and older)

Please keep in mind that candidates under the age of 18 must have their guardian’s permission. If the motorized cycle has an engine that is smaller than 50cc, it can be used by someone with a Class D license. The following are the conditions for applying for this sort of license:

  • SubmitForm D1
  • SubmitForm 433M (if you are under the age of 18)
  • Bring four out of five pieces of identification, proof of residency, and your social security number with you. Obtaining a pass on the road, a vision exam, a motorcycle knowledge test, and a written knowledge test are required.

Conclusion

That’s all there is to it! The following are the sorts of licenses that may be obtained in Alaska. Before you can be out on the open road, you must first determine which classes of Alaska driver’s license you will be using. The one you pick will be determined by your age, the sort of vehicle you drive, and the reason for which you are driving. We hope that this information has been useful in understanding the many sorts of licenses available in Alaska. We also hope that this information has assisted you in determining the criteria, fees, and training you will need to complete in order to obtain your Alaskan license type.

Alaska Driver Licensing Laws & Regulations

An instruction permit or learner’s permit cannot be obtained until the applicant is 14 years old. To get an original or duplicate permission, as well as to renew a permit, a minor under the age of 18 must have the approval of his or her parents. All permits are valid for two years from the date of issuance or for 90 days following the applicant’s 21st birthday, whichever comes first. They can only be renewed once per person. Residents of remote areas can take use of additional services. In order to apply for an original learner’s license, the applicant must meet the following requirements:

  • Must pass both the written and visual tests as well as pay the appropriate cost before a permit may be given to them. The Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles does not accept checks. If you have a learner’s permit from another state, you must first get an Alaska learner’s permit before you may drive in the state. It is necessary to submit proof of legal name and date of birth, as well as a secondary item that serves as a verification of the first item. Along with that, they’ll need to provide their Social Security card. Applicants are required to submit their current residential address.

Driving with a permit necessitates the presence of a companion who is 21 years or older and has a minimum of one year of driving experience.

A valid driver’s license must be held by that individual at all times, and he or she must sit in the passenger seat beside the driver.

Obtaining a Provisional License

Drivers in Alaska who are under the age of 18 but over the age of 16 and who have had a valid instruction permit for at least six months are eligible to apply for a provisional driver license. In addition to passing a road test successfully, this permit requires the completion of the following requirements:

  • A parent, legal guardian, or employer must produce documentation demonstrating that the applicant has completed at least forty hours of driving experience before the application may be processed. In addition, there should be at least ten hours of driving in difficult conditions, such as severe weather or at night. While practicing, the adult accompanying you must have had a valid license for at least a year and be at least 21 years old. If a motorist receives six or more traffic penalties in a 12-month period or nine or more traffic citations in a 24-month period while driving with an instruction permit, the driver is required to complete a nationally recognized defensive driving course. The motorist must wait six months after being found guilty of violating a traffic law before applying for a provisional driver’s license. A knowledge exam on alcohol and drug awareness must be passed by the applicant in order to renew their permission or upgrade from a permit to a license.

Drivers with temporary licenses are required to adhere to the following rules and regulations:

  • Unless accompanied by a person who is at least 21 years old and who is licensed to drive the kind or class of vehicle being driven, traveling to or from your place of employment, or driving within the scope of your employment, it is not permitted to drive between the hours of 1 AM and 5 AM. The driver is not authorized to transport passengers under the age of 21 unless they are siblings
  • The driver is required to travel the shortest route possible

When a person reaches the age of eighteen, these limitations are no longer in effect. At that point, the motorist can apply for a standard license, which will include passing a vision exam and paying replacement licensing costs, among other requirements. Do you require further information about state laws? Learn more about the laws that apply in your area. Please keep in mind that our attorneys are licensed to practice law in the states of Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, and Virginia. If you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States who can assist you.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *