What Do You Need To Get A Driver’S License In Texas? (Solved)

How to Apply for a Texas Driver License

  1. U.S. Citizenship or, if you are not a U.S. Citizen, evidence of lawful presence.
  2. Texas Residency.
  3. Identity, and.
  4. Social Security Number.
  5. Evidence of Texas Vehicle Registration* for each vehicle you own. Registration must be current.
  6. Proof of Insurance* for each vehicle you own.

What documents are required for Texas drivers license?

  • Documents Required for Texas Adult Drivers License. You will need documents from each of the following groups in order to apply for a Texas driver license. You will need to present proof of identity. The DPS categorizes these types of documents into primary, secondary, and supporting identity documents.

What documents do I need to get a driver’s license in Texas?

What You’ll Need to get your Texas Driver License

  1. Proof of identity, proof of Social Security number, proof of lawful U.S. presence, and proof of Texas residency.
  2. Proof of Texas vehicle registration and vehicle insurance OR a signed affidavit stating that you do not own a vehicle.
  3. Out-of-state license (if applicable)

What are the steps to get a driver’s license in Texas?

All new drivers in Texas are required to complete the following:

  1. Pass a written exam.
  2. Pass a behind-the-wheel test.
  3. Pass a vision exam.
  4. Provide proof of identity.
  5. Provide proof of U.S. citizenship or residency.
  6. Supply valid vehicle registration.
  7. Show proof of valid and adequate auto insurance.

What is proof of residency in Texas?

Documents That Prove Residency Current deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet or a residential rental/lease agreement. Valid, unexpired Texas voter registration card. Texas motor vehicle registration or title. Texas boat registration or title.

Do you have to take a driving test to get your license in Texas?

The Written Exam and Road Test To obtain a Texas driver’s license, you’ll have to pass two tests: A written knowledge exam. A behind-the-wheel road test.

What do I need to bring to DMV for driving test?

Checklist: What to Bring to the DMV Drivers Test in 2021

  • Proof of identity. You must be able to prove who you are.
  • Driver license application.
  • Proof of residency.
  • Proof of financial responsibility.
  • Behind-the-wheel completion certificate.
  • Type of DL.
  • Applicants’ legal status.
  • Application fee.

How much does it cost to get a driver’s license in Texas?

The fee for a standard driver’s license in Texas is $25 (which includes a $1 administrative fee). You will pay this fee upfront, before taking your driving test.

Can I take the written driving test online in Texas?

Taking the written driving test online in Texas is the most convenient way to take the exam. Virtual Drive offers an approved six hour course that includes the Texas Driving Test Online, as the final test. The six hours of training includes everything you will need to know, to pass the written Texas driving test.

How long does it take to get your license in Texas?

It usually takes two to three weeks from the date of your transaction for a driver license or identification card to be mailed to you.

How many hours of driving do you need to get your license in Texas?

Learn Teen Licensing Process Texas law requires teens to complete a 32 hour theory course, 7 hours of driving & 7 hours of observation. An additional 30 hours of driving must be logged before you can get your license.

What are two forms of proof of residency?

A utility bill, credit card statement, lease agreement or mortgage statement will all work to prove residency. If you’ve gone paperless, print a billing statement from your online account.

What counts as proof of residence?

Any one of the following valid documents reflecting your name and physical residential address will be sufficient as proof of residence: Utility bill, e.g. municipal water and lights account or property managing agent statement. Bank statement. Telephone or cellular telephone statement.

What do I need to get a Texas ID for the first time?

To apply for an ID card, you will need to provide proof of the following:

  1. U.S. Citizenship or, if you are not a U.S. Citizen, evidence of lawful presence.
  2. Texas Residency.
  3. Identity and.
  4. Social Security Number.

What documents do I need to get a driver’s license in Mississippi?

Here’s the ultimate guide to getting your driver license at the Mississippi DMV. What You’ll Need to Get your Mississippi Driver License

  • Electric or Water Bill.
  • Lease or Rent Agreement.
  • Car Tag Registration Permit.
  • Mortgage Papers.
  • Homestead Exemption Receipt.
  • Bank Statement with Physical Address (no blank checks accepted!)

How do I get my license in Texas at 25?

If you’re over 25 years old, you don’t need a certificate from an adult drivers ed course. Just make an appointment for a Texas learners permit over 25 at the DPS. There, you will take your written licensing exam, and vision and hearing tests, before getting behind the wheel for your road test.

Can I drive myself to my driving test Texas?

Do I have to provide my own vehicle for the driving test? Yes, you will need to provide a vehicle along with proof of insurance for that vehicle for the road exam.

How to Apply for a Texas Driver License

You may like to utilize our interactiveREAL ID Document Check Application to aid you in preparing for your Driver License Office Visit. Please see the instructions below. Simply follow the instructions, and at the conclusion of the process, you will receive a tailored checklist of the papers you need to bring with you to your appointment. Residents of Texas who are 18 years of age or older can obtain a driving license that is valid for up to eight years from the Department. The Texas Driver’s Handbook is accessible online to assist you in determining whether or not you qualify for a Texas driver license.

  1. Citizenship in the United States For those who are not citizens of the United States, you must provide proof of lawful presence, Texas residency, identification, and a Social Security number
  2. As well as proof of Texas vehicle registration* for each car you possess. The registration must be up to date. For further information, go to TexasDMV vehicle registration (applicable solely to new residents who are relinquishing an out-of-state driving license)
  3. Proof of insurance* for each car you possess
  4. And proof of residency.

Citizenship in the United States of America evidence of lawful presence; proof of Texas residency; proof of identity and Social Security number; and evidence of Texas Car Registration* for each vehicle you possess, if you are not a citizen of the United States. It is necessary to have updated registration information. If you have any questions, you may contact the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. Proof of Insurance* for each car you possess (this is only for new residents who are surrendering an out-of-state driver’s license).

  1. If you will be taking a driving exam for the purpose of obtaining your driver license**, you should consider using Impact Texas Driver (ITD). The completion of a six-hour adultDriver Educationcourseif you are between the ages of 18 and 24. (This requirement does not apply to new residents who are 18 years of age or older and who are surrendering a valid, unexpired out-of-state driving license.)

Having collected all of the relevant documentation and successfully finished the appropriate courses, you will need to complete the following steps:

  1. Before visiting your local driver license office, complete the driver license application (this form is also accessible at all driver licensing offices). Appointments should be made at a driving licensing office
  2. The following paperwork should be provided to the licensing and permit specialist:
  1. Applicants must submit an application for the issue of a driving license, as well as proof of U.S. Citizenship or, if they are not U.S. Citizens, evidence of lawful presence in the country. Residency in the state of Texas
  2. Identification as well as a Social Security Number
  1. Provide your signature on a driver’s license or identification card
  2. Provide your thumbprints
  3. Get your photo taken
  4. Pay the application fee
  5. Pass the vision exam
  6. And take and pass the knowledge and driving tests are all requirements. The testing criteria can be completed in person at the DL office by making an appointment online or through a third-party service provider. More information may be found at: testing in other languages and driving test requirements

Additionally, the applicants listed below must meet certain qualifications. For further information, please see the links below: ** The certificate of completion must be dated within 90 days of the date on which the driving skills test is to be administered. Newcomers to the state of Texas The material on ourNew Texas Residentspage is intended for new residents who have just relocated to Texas and who possess a valid, unexpired driving license from another state or nation. Applicants for Teen Driver Licenses (Under 18 years old) Individuals under the age of eighteen who wish to get a Texas driving license must complete extra conditions as outlined below.

  • Visitors on a temporary basis and international students The application for a Texas driver license for temporary tourists and international students is subject to extra criteria.
  • Applicants who ride motorcycles For candidates seeking a motorcycle license, please see ourMotorcycle Licensepage for additional information on how to get a Class M license.
  • For veterans who meet the requirements, a veteran label on their driver’s license is also available.
  • In order to obtain further information on the Address Confidentiality Program, please see theAddress Confidentiality Programpage.
  • Before you leave the driver license office, double-check that the information written on your temporary driver license is correct before you leave.
  • Your replacement card will be delivered to you in the mail within 2 – 3 weeks after ordering it.

Our mailing statusweb page may be accessed to see the current status of your card. If you currently have an identity card, you will not be able to apply for a driving license until you give up your identification card at the time of application.

Driver License

Additional criteria apply to the candidates listed below: For further information, please see the links below: ** The certificate of completion must be dated within 90 days of the date on which the driving skills test will be administered. People that have just moved to Texas The material on ourNew Texas Residentspage should be read by new residents who have just relocated to Texas and who possess a valid, unexpired driver’s license from another state or foreign nation. Applicants for Teen Drivers (Under 18 years old) In order to be eligible for a Texas driving license, applicants under the age of eighteen (18) must satisfy certain criteria.

  1. Students from other countries who are on temporary visas Additional criteria apply to temporary visitors and international students who wish to get a Texas driver’s license.
  2. Applicants who own motorcycles Please see ourMotorcycle Licensepage for further information on how to get a Class M motorbike license for those who are interested in riding one.
  3. For veterans who meet the requirements, a veteran designation on their driver’s license is available.
  4. Address Confidentiality ProgramFor more information on the Address Confidentiality Program, please see theAddress Confidentiality Programpage.
  5. Make sure that all of the information on your temporary driver license is correct before you leave the office of the driving license.
  6. You should get your replacement card in the mail within two to three weeks after placing your order.
  7. If you currently have an identity card, you will not be able to apply for a driving license until you relinquish your identification card at the time of application.

Online Services

Was it ever brought to your attention that most Texas driving licenses (DLs) and identification cards (IDs) can be renewed for up to two years before and after their expiration date? Did you know that you may replace or update your address or emergency contacts on your driver’s license, commercial driver’s license, identification card, or motorcycle license without having to visit a driver licensing office? You may also be able to renew your driver’s license, commercial driver’s license, or identification card online.

Also available are the ability to retrieve your driving record, check your driving status, and pay reinstatement fees. You can also complete a DL or ID transaction over the phone or in the mail.

Identification Card Services

Individuals residing in Texas can get identity (ID) cards that are valid for up to six years from the Texas Department of Public Safety. They are official identification cards that are used to verify a person’s identify in a variety of situations. It is important to note that you cannot have both a driver’s license and an identification card.

Commercial Driver License Services

Residents of Texas can get identity (ID) cards from the Texas Department of Public Safety, which are valid for up to six years. In order to confirm a person’s identification, these photo ID cards are utilized as official government papers. You may not have both a driver’s license and an identification card at the same time.

How Can We Help?

The Texas Department of Public Safety is devoted to making the process of obtaining a driver’s license faster, easier, and more enjoyable. Customers frequently question about the following topics, which you may find by selecting them from the drop-down menu.

Step-by-step guide to getting a Texas drivers license

Are you a resident of Texas who is ready to obtain your driver’s license? Great! It is now time to understand the fundamentals of obtaining a Texas drivers license. It might be difficult to grasp all of the criteria for a Texas driving license at times. But don’t worry, we’ve assembled a team of specialists to assist you in making sense of it all. We’re going to break it down into a simple step-by-step process that everyone can grasp. That way, when you go to the Department of Public Safety (which is Texas’ version of the Department of Motor Vehicles, or DMV), you’ll know precisely what to do and won’t waste time.

The Basics of Getting Your Texas Learners Permit

Is it necessary to obtain a permission in order to obtain a license in Texas? Yes! Driving in Texas begins with the acquisition of a learners permit. You might wonder, at what age can you obtain a driver’s license in the state of Texas. The following is a breakdown of the timeline:

  • Is it necessary to obtain a permit in order to obtain a Texas driver’s license? Yes! The learners permit is the first step toward driving in Texas. When can you receive your Texas driver’s license? You might be wondering. The following is a breakdown of the timetable.

So you’ll spend one year learning without driving, then one year learning while driving with a licensed driver, and eventually one year driving on your own without the assistance of a qualified driver will be required. However, there are still certain limits on where and when you can drive in the United States. Participating in a drivers education course is the first step in receiving a Texas learners permit. Courses in both types of state-approved programs are available via Aceable!

Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed (PTDE)

After only six hours of instruction, you will be able to sit in the driver’s seat with your permit in your hand! The course includes a written test from the Texas Department of Public Safety, a parent account, and behind-the-wheel instructional materials.

Texas Instructor Taught Drivers Ed

Obtain your Texas driver’s license quickly with this course if you do not have a parent who is willing to serve as the course instructor. The course includes your Texas Department of Public Safety written test, as well as the ability to select your own behind-the-wheel instructor.

The Basics of Getting Your Drivers License in Texas

What steps must you take to become eligible for a Texas driver’s license?

aceable.com provides everything you need to get your license, including all the courses, checklists, and practice exams that will make the process of getting your license much simpler.

If You’re Under 18 and Have a Learners Permit

In Texas, what age do you have to be to drive a car? You’re undoubtedly aware that having a learner’s permit, also known as an instruction permit, restricts your driving privileges to only driving with your parents or another licensed adult over the age of 21. How can I acquire a Texas drivers license while I’m 16 years old? Following the completion of six months with your permit as well as passing the driving exam, your Texas driver’s permit will be upgraded to a provisional license. If you’re already 16 years old, you might be under the impression that you can bypass the full permission process.

If You’re Over 18 Years Old

What about folks who want to learn how to drive but don’t have the time? When applying for your Texas driver’s license as an adult, the procedure is very identical. People between the ages of 14 and 17 attend Texas Teen Drivers Ed, and those between the ages of 18 and older take Texas Adult Drivers Ed.

How do you get your Texas learners permit over 25?

Those above the age of 25 are exempt from taking drivers education, while it is still strongly advised that they do. As a result, taking drivers education is the first step toward obtaining a Texas driver’s license. If you are above the age of sixty-five, you will have various prerequisites for the course you need to take. The following is a breakdown by age group:

  • Teen driving instruction is available to those between the ages of 14 and 17. Adult driving instruction is available to those aged 18 and over. Driver education is not mandatory for anyone above the age of 25 (but it is highly encouraged).
See also:  What Is Alaska Airlines Elite Status?

All About Driver Education in Texas

In Texas, there is no shortage of opportunities for drivers education. It is available to everyone, and in some cases, it is required. You should be aware of the following information before to enrolling in a driver’s education course:

Teen Drivers Ed Courses

Let’s take a look at the drivers education requirements for minors between the ages of 14 and 17. Teen drivers education is comprised of two distinct components of drivers education learning:

  • Instruction in the classroom: 32 hours (with a maximum of two hours per day)
  • At the wheel: 44 hours (with a maximum of one hour per day)

You are only allowed to spend a total of two hours each day on both sorts of learning together. In other words, if you spend one hour behind the wheel, you can only spend one more hour in the classroom on the same day you took the first hour.

Behind-the-Wheel Training

What precisely does it mean to be “behind the wheel” in the first place? It is the part of driver education in which you get the opportunity to put into practice everything you have learned in the classroom. The following are examples of behind-the-wheel instruction:

  • The following requirements: 7 hours of observation (when observing a parent or teacher)
  • 7 hours of instruction (while driving while a parent or instructor guides you)
  • 30 hours of practice (driving with a licensed driver). Ten of the practice hours must be completed throughout the night

Block vs Concurrent Method for Drivers Ed

Some teen drivers education programs use the block approach, which means that you must complete all 32 hours in the classroom before you are allowed to touch a steering wheel. The concurrent technique is used by other programs, which means that you may acquire your learner’s permit in Texas after six hours of classroom instruction and complete both stages of driver education at the same time. Aceable employs the concurrent mode of operation. It is possible to complete your 32 coursework hours while also putting in some time behind the wheel for practice.

3 Ways to Take Teen Drivers Ed

You may be required to attend teen drivers education in Texas, but you will have a choice as to when and where the classes will be held at.

Teen driver education classes are available in three main formats:

Drivers Ed Course at a Public School

This is something that is taught in high schools, although it is not available everywhere. Some schools just provide classroom instruction, while others provide both classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction. Classes are normally held at night or during the summer months, but space is always limited, so sign up as soon as possible if this is the route you want to take!

Drivers Ed at a Driver Training School

These are driving schools that are specifically designed for behind-the-wheel training. Some schools let you to complete both the behind-the-wheel and classroom portions at the same time, while others allow you to complete the behind-the-wheel component at your school and complete the classroom coursework at an online drivers education partner.

Parent-Taught Driver Education (PTDE)

Parental training for driving education (PTDE) eliminates the need for parents to teach their children drivers ed, but they are still responsible for supervising all 44 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. This implies that the parent just has to choose the supplier of the classroom course. When it comes to driving education, online drivers ed is becoming increasingly popular among youths who choose for PTDE. You will be able to finish drivers ed on your own timetable in this manner. Why isn’t everyone taking advantage of parent-taught drivers education if it’s so affordable and convenient?

  • In order to teach drivers education, you must not have had your Texas driving license revoked within the past three years or been convicted of a DUI during the last three years.
  • Parent Taught Drivers Education (PTDE) includes one additional important component: the PTDE Packet.
  • This is available for purchase through the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) for the price of $20.
  • To find out if it is the correct decision for you, have a look at our Step by Step Guide.

Texas Adult Drivers Ed

In Texas, you must be 18 years old (or older) to obtain a driver’s license. If you’re 18 or older, you’re still obliged to take drivers ed, but the course is different from the one necessary for teens. Adult drivers education is a significantly shorter course, lasting only six hours. You have the option of doing adult drivers education online with Aceable or at a traditional brick-and-mortar school. If you go to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation website, you may see a list of all driver education schools in Texas, allowing you to choose the one that is best for you.

The method is different from teen drivers ed in that you do not need to obtain a learners permit or complete behind-the-wheel instruction before you can enroll. It’s a far more straightforward and expedient procedure.

Texas Learner Permit Requirements

You must pass a written test in order to obtain your learner’s permit, which is also known as an instruction permit. Depending on whether your drivers ed course uses the concurrent or block technique, you may be able to take the exam after only six hours of instruction. The written exam may be administered during your drivers education class, or if you are participating in an online program, you may be able to complete the test while still enrolled in the course. Following your successful completion of the exam, you will be issued a certificate of completion, which you may present to your local Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) office.

A parent or guardian must accompany you to the appointment in order to sign all of the papers.

What to Give the DPS to Get a Texas Learners Permit

You’ll be need to complete some documentation when you visit the Department of Public Safety to pick up your driver’s license. Let’s talk about what you need bring with you to the DPS in order to obtain your learners permit:

  • Proof of one’s own identity
  • Two pieces of documentation proving your Texas residency
  • A copy of your social security card
  • Proof of your identity. Proof of attendance or graduation from school, such as a Voe form, a high school diploma, or a GED
  • And You must provide proof that you are enrolled in/completed PTDE, as well as paperwork from your PTDE package The charge for a learner’s permit is $16.

Make sure you have original copies of all of these papers, since photocopies will not be accepted as proof of your identity or residency.

Texas Teen Driver License Requirements

What are the prerequisites for obtaining a Texas driver’s license, and how long do you have to wait after receiving your permit before applying for your license? So you’ve completed drivers education, you’re at least 16 years old, and you’ve had your permit for at least six months. Now what? You’ve completed the necessary steps to obtain your driver’s license. Attending the Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) course is the final step you must take before taking your driving test. ITTD is a free, two-hour video course that must be completed no more than 90 days before you appear at the DPS to obtain your driver’s license.

To finish the ITTD course, visit the Texas Department of Public Safety website and register.

Then you’ll receive a certificate that confirms that you’ve completed the course.

The purpose of the driving exam is to ensure that all of your study and practice have resulted in you becoming a safe driver who understands the regulations of the highway.

What to Bring to the DPS for the Texas Driving Test

Examine the Department of Public Safety documents and other papers that you’ll need to submit before you can sit for the driving examination.

  • Proof of automobile insurance, either yours or your parent’s, is required. The proof of your Texas motor vehicle registration or that of your parent’s registration
  • Documentation demonstrating attendance in/graduation from school, such as a VOE form, a high school diploma, or a GED For Driver’s Education and ITTD, certificates of completion are issued.

You’ll also require the following items:

  • Instructor for your parents
  • Your driver’s license
  • A car that can pass the safety check
  • And other necessary documents.

Bring those with you, pass your driving test, and you’re finished. You’ve earned your driver’s license and are ready to take to the broad highways of Texas! You’ll start off with a limited license until you become 18 years old, after which you’ll be eligible to upgrade to an unrestricted license.

Texas Adult Driver License Requirements

How do you receive your driver’s license in Texas when you are 18 years old?

If you’re considered an adult in the eyes of the law, you don’t have nearly as many licensing requirements as a teen driver under the age of majority in Texas. However, there are still a few tasks that need to be completed before you may obtain a Texas drivers license.

Impact Texas Young Driver Course

Impact Texas Young Drivers (ITYD) courses, in addition to drivers education, are compulsory for people between the ages of 18 and 24 as of January 1, 2017. It’s a one-hour film that’s been divided into four segments for your convenience. This must be completed upon the completion of your 6-hour driving education course. Taking the course may be done on the ITYD’s website.

The Written Exam and Road Test

Once you have completed your academic requirements, you can proceed to the testing process. To earn a Texas driver’s license, you must pass two examinations: the written and driving tests.

  • Written knowledge examination
  • Behind-the-wheel road examination.

Depending on your drivers’ education program, you may be able to complete the written exam while still enrolled in it, making the driving test the only thing left to accomplish when you arrive to the Department of Public Safety. That’s just one of the benefits of attending drivers’ education classes with Aceable.

What to Bring to the DPS for Your Tests

What you’ll need to bring to the DPS while applying for your adult driver’s license is as follows:

  • Application for a driver’s license (available at the DPS)
  • Proof of one’s own identity
  • A copy of your social security card
  • Proof of your identity. Two pieces of documentation proving your Texas residency
  • Proof of name change (only if your name has changed from what is on your proof of identity certificate – for example, as a result of marriage or divorce)
  • Proof of address change (only if your address has changed from what is on your proof of identity document). Certificate of completion for driver’s education classes
  • $25 price for a driver’s license

Here’s where you can get a comprehensive, printable checklist! Once again, only legally obtained originals will be accepted; photocopies will not be accepted. However, if you have those and pass your driving test, you will be legally recognized as a licensed driver with full driving privileges!

Other Drivers License Options in Texas

You’re not quite ready to take the wheel on your own yet? If you aren’t totally sure in your driving abilities, it is advisable to play it cautious and ease your way into the driver’s seat. In order to get more driving experience before taking your driving test, you can choose from one of two options:

  • This is where you may receive your Texas adult permit, which is for those between the ages of 18 and 24 who have never driven before
  • You can obtain your Texas driving license with a B-Restriction, which is only available to drivers over the age of 25.

The use of either of these methods is a simple approach to get valuable driving experience with other licensed drivers present in the car before taking the wheel solo. Bring $25, the appropriate DPS documentation, and be able to pass a vision test for each of these. Are you ready to begin your Texas drivers education course? Sign up now and get started on fulfilling your educational requirements.

Applying for a Texas Driver’s License

The use of either of these methods is a simple approach to get valuable driving experience with other licensed drivers before taking the wheel alone. Bring $25, the appropriate DPS documentation, and your vision test results for each of them. Ready to begin your Texas drivers ed training program? Become a member and begin working toward fulfilling your educational requirements right away!

What You’ll Need to Bring

Both of these are simple ways to get valuable driving experience with other licensed drivers in the car before taking the wheel on your own. Bring $25, the appropriate DPS documentation, and the ability to pass a vision exam for each of these. Are you prepared to begin your Texas drivers education course? Sign up today and get started on fulfilling your educational requirements.

  • You must provide your entire name, residence and mailing addresses (if different from your real residential address), birthday, and place of birth. Identification documents, such as a passport or military identification card, or other acceptable documents as specified by the DPS
  • A Social Security card or other proof of having a Social Security number is required. Evidence of financial responsibility, such as proof that you have enough insurance on any vehicles registered in your name, or a declaration stating that you do not own a car that would need the purchase of insurance
  • And An original or photocopy of the registration for any vehicle that is owned, or a receipt for registration issued by the court tax assessor-collector
  • If you are between the ages of 18 and 24, you must provide a copy of your certificate of completion from an authorized Driver Education course. Input into the application in response to medical questions that pertain to your ability and willingness to drive safely
  • Thumbprints
  • A description of your physical appearance
  • The name of the county in which you presently legally reside as well as your current citizenship status in the United States
  • Money to cover the costs of the application and testing
  • If you hold a driver’s license from another state, you must bring it with you to the DPS to be processed.

Driver Education Age Requirements

It is required that you successfully finish an approved Driver Education course, such as our online adult driver education course, if you are under the age of 25. Once you have successfully completed the course, you will be given a certificate of completion, which you will need to bring with you when you apply for your professional license. It is optional for anyone 25 and older to take this course, however it is strongly recommended for all first-time and inexperienced drivers. Given the fact that you can complete it at your own pace and that all of the material is available online, it provides convenient access to essential driving topics such as Texas traffic laws, driving in adverse conditions, car safety features, motor vehicle basics, accident prevention, high-speed environments, road rules, and a variety of other topics.

Driving Tests

A Texas driver’s license may only be obtained after passing three examinations.

Test 1 — The Knowledge Test

This test, which is also known as the Written Test, assesses a driver’s understanding of the regulations of the road as written forth in the driver’s handbook. If you have successfully completed a driving education course, you are excused from taking this exam.

Test 2 — The Vision Test

At the DPS office, you will be subjected to a basic visual examination. If you regularly use corrective lenses, you may be able to attempt to pass the vision test without them; but, if you require them to pass the vision test, you may be advised that they are required for you to be able to drive. If this is the case, you will be unable to legally drive unless you have corrective glasses on your eyes.

Test 3 — The Driving Test

The driving test is the last component of your driver’s license application. You will drive your car with a customer service representative from the Department of Public Safety in the passenger seat. Check to see if your vehicle has passed a Texas inspection and is in compliance with the law. The CSR will provide you with specific steps to follow. For additional information, please see our page outlining the specifics of the driving examination. If you pass the driving exam, you will be issued a driver’s license for the state of Texas.

See also:  How To Lose Your Driver'S License?

How to Apply for a Learner’s Permit

A learner’s permit can be obtained by students who are at least 15 years old and who have started or finished an online driving education course. Students who finish the first module of our Parent-Taught Driver Education and Texas Online Driver Education courses will be able to take their permit exam online once they have completed the first course module. Students will be given a certificate that they should bring with them when they apply for their Texas learner’s permit at the Department of Public Safety.

Choose a TexasDrivingSchool.com Course:

  1. Those interested in obtaining a Texas Learner’s Permit can select from one of two courses: Texas Drivers Education Online or Parent-Taught Drivers Education are also options. Learn more about which course is best for you by visiting our website. Students who are at least 15 years old and have completed Module 1 of either course may apply for their Texas learner’s permit online after completing Module 1.

Apply for a Texas Learner’s Permit

Those interested in obtaining a Texas Learner’s Permit can select from one of two options: Driver’s Education Online in Texas or Parent-Taught Driver’s Education in Texas are available. Identify which course is best for you by learning more about it; Students who are at least 15 years old and have completed Module 1 of either course may apply for their Texas learner’s permit online once Module 1 is completed in either course.

  • Documentation of identification
  • Documentation of Social Security number
  • Documentation of United States Citizenship
  • Documentation of Texas Residency To verify school enrollment (or the possession of a high school diploma or GED), aVerification of Enrollment and Attendanceform must be completed. Any forms contained inside the PTDE Program Guide (for PTDE students exclusively)
  • Any forms contained within the PTDE Student Handbook

NOTE: If the student does not pass the online permit test, he or she will be required to retake it at the Department of Public Safety (DPS). The student can begin behind-the-wheel (BTW) training once he or she has received a learner’s permit (or equivalent). Once the course and behind-the-wheel training requirements have been satisfied, the student will be eligible to apply for a provisional driver’s license in Texas. If you have any questions while taking the course, our customer service department is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

So you need a driver’s license in Texas?

It was last updated on January 2022.

Here’s all you need to know about acquiring your driver’s license in Texas. We’ve made the procedure as simple as possible for you so that you can save time.

What You’ll Need to get your Texas Driver License

License or identification card application for a driver’s license or identification card (Form DL-14A) Proof of identification, proof of Social Security number, proof of authorized residence in the United States, and proof of Texas residency are all required. a signed declaration declaring that you do not own a car in Texas OR proof of Texas vehicle registration and insurance Obtaining an out-of-state license (if applicable) Permission to Learn (Learner’s Permit) (if under age 18 or receiving your license for the first time and wish to practice driving before the road test) Both a completed driver’s education course and proof of completion of theImpact Texas Young Driversprogram are required for eligibility (if between 18 and 24 years old) For your Learner’s Permit, you will be charged a price of $25 for a Class C driver’s license.

  • Texas Driver Education Certificate (Form DE-964)
  • Classroom Instructor Driver Education Affidavit (Form DL-90A)
  • Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE Form)
  • GED or diploma
  • Verification of Enrollment and Fee for a Learner’s Permit is $16.

What You’ll Do to get your Texas Driver License

  • Preparation for a Learner’s Permit begins with a visit to the DMV (optional: schedule an appointment!).
  • Provide all of the necessary documentation and identity
  • Take and pass a written test (if one was not taken during a driver’s education course)
  • Pay the $16 price for a Learner’s Permit. You will be given your Learner’s Permit.
  • Step 2: Be some driving practice in to get ready for the road test (optional).
  • Please submit all of the necessary documentation and identification. Pass the driving test (if one is required)
  • Obtain a replacement driver’s license if you have one from another state. Make a payment of $25
  • Obtain a temporary driver’s license receipt (if applicable)
  • Obtain your new Texas Class C driver’s license in the mail within three weeks after completing Step 4.

Caveats and Exceptions

  • Hold a legal driver’s license from another state that you want to use? Then you’ll be able to bypass both the written and driving examinations. Are you under the age of eighteen? Before you may sit for the written exam for the Learner’s Permit in Texas, you must finish a driver’s education course that has been recognized by the state. Are you over the age of 18 and do not require any driving practice before taking your road test? If this is the case, you do not require a Learner’s Permit. Have you failed your written or road tests? You’ll have two more opportunities to pass the test within 90 days
  • Otherwise, you’ll have to start the driver’s license application procedure again from the beginning.

Need a car or driver for your road test?

Make use of our #1 rated car and driver service to improve your chances of passing your exam!. As the leading road test concierge service in the United States, we’ve assisted tens of thousands of customers in passing their road test in Texas. Take advantage of this link to receive a 25% discount on the road test concierge service.

More Texas DMV Questions?

Make use of our #1 rated car and driver service to improve your chances of passing your exam! As the leading road test concierge service in the United States, we’ve helped tens of thousands of customers pass their road test in Texas. Take advantage of this link to receive a 25% discount on the road test concierge service!

How to get your Driver’s License at 18 in Texas

In the process of getting a new Texas driver’s license Obtaining a driver’s license in Texas is less difficult than you may expect. We’ve covered all of the Texas driver’s license criteria you’ll need to meet in order to go on the road in the Lone Star state, whether you’re a young driver, a new resident, or an adult seeking your first license. If you have any concerns regarding how to acquire a drivers license in Texas while you are 18 years old, please contact us right away! Making an appointment to apply for a drivers license with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) comes with a wide variety of expectations.

  • A written exam must be passed, as well as a behind-the-wheel examination. Pass a vision test with flying colors
  • Provide identification as proof of your identity. Provide proof of citizenship or residence in the United States
  • Please provide a valid car registration
  • Provide proof of current and appropriate automobile insurance
  • Fill out and submit a completed drivers license application
  • Pay the cost for a driver’s license
  • Accept the necessity of submitting a thumb print and having your image taken.

A written exam must be passed, as well as a behind-the-wheel examination. Pass a vision test with flying colors. Identify yourself and provide confirmation of your citizenship. Proof of citizenship or presence in the United States is required. Please provide a current car registration; and Proof of current and appropriate car insurance is required. Complete and submit a driver’s license application; In order to drive, you must pay a drivers license cost. Confirm that you are willing to give a thumb print and have your picture taken;

Drivers Age 17 and Under

Aside from the standards given above, Texas teenagers must also meet a few extra requirements before they may apply for a new drivers license in the state.

Teen drivers between the ages of 15 and 17 are obliged to finish a teen drivers education course that has been authorized by the state. You must complete 32 hours of driving education, which can be completed either online or in a classroom environment, to obtain your license.

What do I need to get my license?

Completing a drivers education course is only the first step on the road to obtaining your license. Teens in Texas are also needed to receive a learners permit and to practice driving with an adult who is licensed to drive in the state. In order to obtain your learners permit, you must complete the following requirements:

  • Enroll in and successfully finish the first two chapters of your drivers education course. Pass the DPS written test for a driver’s license

The behind-the-wheel training phase begins as soon as you pass the permit examination. Parent-taught drivers education is available, and parents of teens can apply to serve as drivers education instructors, assisting new drivers in meeting their driving practice requirements. The following are the requirements for behind-the-wheel driving:

  • Driver education includes seven hours of driving practice with an approved instructor or parent-instructor
  • Seven hours of practice with a licensed adult over the age of twenty-one
  • Thirty hours of documented driving practice, including 10 hours spent at night

Driver education includes seven hours of driving practice with an approved instructor or parent-instructor; seven hours of practice with a licensed adult over the age of twenty-one; thirty hours of documented driving practice, including 10 hours at night; and

  • Your certificate of completion from your drivers education course
  • Your drivers training log, which certifies that you have completed the mandatory behind-the-wheel instruction
  • And • A completed “Verification of Enrollment and Attendance” form (CDD-104) from your school, or an official letter from a school administrative staff member confirming that you are presently registered

Drivers Ages 18-24

In Texas, can I receive my driver’s license at the age of 18 without a permit? Consider yourself cautioned if you believe you are free of responsibility after you turn 18. New drivers in Texas are obliged to complete a drivers education course until they reach the age of 25. What are the Texas driver’s license requirements for those under the age of eighteen?

  • Completion of a 6-hour adult driving education course Pass the final exam (which serves as the written portion of the drivers license exam)
  • When you go to take your driving test, bring your certificate of completion with you to the DPS office.

Texas Driver’s License Requirements for 18-Year-Olds

In order to receive a Texas driver’s license while under the age of 18, you must complete a number of Texas driver’s license criteria, which are detailed below. The regulations for obtaining a driver’s license in Texas varies based on whether you’ve just relocated from another state, whether you’ve previously held a driver’s license, or if you’re applying for your first driver’s license. Here is some information to assist 18-year-olds in learning how to obtain a driver’s license in the state of Texas.

Six-Hour Adult Driving Course

People between the ages of 18 and 24 who are applying for their first driver’s license in Texas must complete a six-hour adult driver education course that has been certified by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). The course covers a wide range of safety topics, such as right-of-way regulations, traffic control devices, traffic patterns, and the impacts of drugs, alcohol, and distracted driving on the road. In order to finish the six-hour course, you must pass a final written exam; however, if you want to take the course online, most providers will provide an online test that will serve in place of the written exam.

Aim of the course is to promote safe driving behaviors among younger drivers, particularly adolescents, who have one of the highest rates of automobile accidents in the United States.

“Often, simply driving with the parent is not enough to accomplish this goal. That can only be accomplished by greater education.”

Impact Education

To complete the requirements for your Texas driver’s license, you will also be required to watch an Impact Texas Drivers instructional film about the hazards of texting and driving. Those between the ages of 18 and 24 who have completed a teen driver education course will be required to see the free two-hour Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) film produced by Impact Texas. The free one-hour Impact Texas Young Drivers (ITYD) informative film is required viewing for 18- to 24-year-olds who have completed the six-hour adult education course and are eligible to drive.

After You Finish the Course

You must fill out the driver’s license application (Form DL-14A) when you have finished your educational requirements before bringing it to a local DPS office where you will be scheduled for a driver’s examination. The Department of Public Safety (DPS) will seek documentation of:

  • The following documents prove your Texas residency: your current year high school or college report card, a paystub dated within the last 90 days, or a W-2 tax form for the current year
  • And your U.S. citizenship. An identity document, such as a driver’s license or identification card issued by another state or nation in the past, or an initial permanent resident card
  • Number of Social Security cards
  • Evidence of car registration (currently exempted owing to the COVID-19 outbreak)
  • Proof of citizenship (if applicable). a copy of your automobile insurance policy

If you do not possess a car, you will be required to sign a declaration stating that you do not own a vehicle. If you meet the following criteria, your residence requirements may be waived:

  • Subject to the Attorney General of Texas’s Address Confidentiality Program (ACP), which protects personal information. If you’re a judge, or the spouse of a judge, A member of the military on active duty, their spouse, or a dependant of a member of the military on active duty (who may disclose a residence address outside of Texas)
  • The Texas Department of Criminal Justice facility where he is being held

The documentation requirements for temporary residents and international tourists will be varied.

Exceptions, Other Requirements

If you’ve just relocated from another state, are between the ages of 18 and 24, and have previously had a driver’s license in another state, you are exempt from doing the six-hour adult driver education course. All you have to do now is apply for a Texas driver’s license and supply the necessary documentation, such as verification of your identification, domicile, citizenship, and other details listed above. Additionally, you are not required to take the driver’s exam. Once you arrive to the DPS, you will be required to pay an application fee, produce thumbprints, have your picture taken, and pass a vision exam before you can sit for the driving exam.

You can take the driver’s exam at a DPS office or through a third-party provider who has been approved by the DPS.

Texas Adult Driver Education

Prepare for your driver’s license appointment by bringing the following items with you to your local Department of Public Safety (DPS): All applications must be completed in person at the DPS office, and you will be required to bring a number of documents and paperwork with you to complete your application. The application form will be accessible at the Department of Public Safety’s office.

Bring with You

As part of your application, you will be required to provide the following documents:

  • You must provide your entire name, residence and mailing addresses (if different from your real residential address), birthday, and place of birth. Identification documents, such as a passport or military identification card, or other acceptable documents as specified by the DPS
  • A Social Security card or other proof of having a Social Security number is required. Evidence of financial responsibility, such as proof that you have enough insurance on any vehicles registered in your name, or a declaration stating that you do not own a car that would need the purchase of insurance
  • And The original or a duplicate of the registration for any car that is owned, or a receipt for registration provided by the county tax assessor-collector a copy of your certificate of completion from a driver education course that has been authorized
  • A copy of your Texas Impact Teen DriverCertificate (you will not be allowed to sit for your driver’s examination until you have one)
  • A response to any medical issues that are asked on the application and that are relevant to your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely
  • Thumbprints
  • A description of your physical appearance
  • The name of the county in which you presently legally reside as well as your current citizenship status in the United States
  • Money to cover the costs of the application and testing
  • If you have a driver’s license from another state, you will need to bring it with you to turn in as well.
See also:  What Country Is East Of Alaska?

Driver Education

To become a licensed driver, anybody under the age of 25 must finish an approved driver education course, such as our online adult driver education course.

You will receive a certificate of completion at the conclusion of the course, which you must bring with you when you submit your application.

Texas Impact Teen Driver

The Texas Impact Teen Driver(ITTD) course must be completed by all students wishing to take their driver’s examination who are 16 or 17 years old in order to be eligible to sit for the exam. This two-hour training is provided at no cost, however the certificate is only valid for 90 days after completion. For further information, please see our ITTDpage.

Tests

It is necessary to pass three examinations in order to obtain a Texas driver license.

Test 1 — The Knowledge Test

This test, which is also known as the Written Test, assesses a driver’s understanding of the regulations of the road as written forth in the driver’s handbook. The completion of a Driver Education course successfully exempts you from taking this exam.

Test 2 — The Vision Test

At the DPS office, you will be subjected to a basic visual examination. If you regularly use corrective lenses, you may be able to attempt to pass the vision test without them; but, if you require them to pass the vision test, you may be advised that they are required for you to be able to drive. If this is the case, you will be unable to legally drive unless you have corrective glasses on your eyes.

Test 3 — The Driving Test

The driving test is the last component of your driver license application. You will be required to drive your car with a customer service representative from the Department of Public Safety in the passenger seat. Check to see if your vehicle has passed a Texas inspection and is in compliance with the law. The CSR will provide you with specific steps to follow. For additional information, please see our page outlining the specifics of the driving examination. If you pass the driving exam, you will be issued a driver’s license for the state of Texas.

Occupational Driver’s License

Warning: The information and forms contained in this handbook are not intended to be a substitute for the advice and assistance of an attorney. It is possible to drive even if your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked if you obtain an occupational driver’s license, which will allow you to do so under specified conditions (ODL). When you have an occupational driver’s license, you have a specific limited license that allows you to drive a non-commercial vehicle for work, school, or to do necessary home tasks.

It might take many weeks to finish the procedure, and it can become tricky.

Consider consulting with an attorney to discover whether you are eligible for an occupational driver’s license in your state.

Research Tips

Chapter 521, subchapter L of the Texas Transportation Code; Texas Transportation Code chapter 601; and Section 469.009 of the Texas Health and Safety Code. Title 7, Subtitle B, Chapter 521, Subtitle I, Chapter 708 of the Texas Transportation Code

Common questions about Occupational Driver’s License

What exactly is a “Occupational Driver’s License,” sometimes known as an ODL?

ExpandCollapse It is possible to obtain a limited occupational driver’s license (ODL) that allows you to drive only during particular hours, on specific days, and under specific conditions when you have a “important need to drive.” If you have a “important necessity,” you will need to drive there:

  • Carry out your responsibilities
  • Getting to and from work or school, or doing necessary domestic responsibilities are all examples of transportation.

Is it possible to obtain an ODL? ExpandCollapse No. You will not be eligible for an ODL if you do any of the following:

  • It is possible that you lost your driving privileges due to a mental or physical handicap. Your driving privileges were revoked because you failed to pay child support
  • If you’re driving a commercial motor vehicle, you’ll need it. In the opinion of the judge, you do not have an important necessity. The judge is concerned about the safety of the general public. You have obtained two ODLs in the last ten years following a conviction for a crime. Because of a past DWI arrest or conviction, you are subject to a “hard suspension” waiting time.

Was your driver’s license revoked because you failed to pay a surcharge? ExpandCollapse On September 1, 2019, the fee program came to an end. This implies that any levies that were in force on September 1, 2019 were no longer in effect in Texas. The automatic reinstatement of your license should occur if your license was suspended only as a result of surcharges. Will the State be represented by an attorney during the hearing? ExpandCollapse If your license is suspended for any of the following reasons:

  • If you are under the age of 21 and your license has been suspended under Texas Transportation Code 521.342, you have been charged with criminal homicide or an intoxication offense under Penal Code 49.04-49.08
  • If you have been charged with a criminal homicide or an intoxication offense under Penal Code 49.04-49.08

Is it safe for me to drive once the Judge signs the Order? ExpandCollapse Once the Order for ODL becomes effective, you may drive with a certified copy of the order for a period of 45 days. Read your Order to find out when it goes into effect. It is not possible to drive until you either receive your actual ODL from DPS before the 45th day, or unless you either go back to court and obtain an Amended Order for ODL that extends the deadline for receiving your actual ODL from DPS. What is the procedure for obtaining a Certified Abstract (Type AR) of my driving record?

If you have confirmed that your driving records have been consolidated, you may purchase your driving record online with a credit card and print it off immediately afterward.

If your records are CONSOLIDATED, you will need to input your driver’s license number and license audit number from the most recent DL (or ID, if your records are CONSOLIDATED) as well as the last four digits of your social security number at: www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm.

Send the completed form, together with a $20 check or money order, to the Texas Department of Public Safety.

The waiting period is defined as follows: If an Order is signed by the Judge, why wouldn’t it take effect immediately?

For the following reasons, your license will not be reinstated if you were arrested for DWI and refused or failed a blood or breath test; you were arrested for any other alcohol or drug-related driving or boating violation; or you were arrested for any other driving or boating offense.

  • If your license was suspended because of an alcohol or drug-related offense within the five years prior to your arrest, you must reinstate your license within 90 days after your arrest. In the five years prior to your arrest, if your license was suspended as a result of a DWI, Intoxication Assault, or Manslaughter conviction, you must serve 180 days of the suspension period on your license. You have 365 days from the date on which your license was suspended if your license was suspended because of a second (or more) DWI, intoxication assault, or manslaughter conviction within the five years prior to your arrest.

InstructionsForms

InstructionsForms

InstructionsForms

Checklist Steps

Step 1: Go to www.Texas.gov/driver and check the status of your license to see whether you actually need an Occupational Driver’s License (ODL) or whether you can restore your license. ExpandCollapse Some people believe they require an Occupational Driver’s License when in fact they only need to restore their driver’s license. Before requesting an ODL from the court, be sure that you are eligible to receive one. Select “Drivers License Reinstatement and Status” from the drop-down menu. Using this free website, you may find out whether you are eligible to drive with your present license and, if you are not, what you must do in order to qualify.

  • The conditions that must be fulfilled
  • The fees that you will be required to pay

You can pay fees through this website and receive instructions on how to send proof that you have complied with the DPS’s compliance requirements. Continue to monitor the website because it is updated on a daily basis. Additionally, you can call the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) at 512-424-2600 (in English) or 512-424-7181 (in Spanish) to determine your eligibility or qualification status. Precautions must be taken! The results of recent court actions, out-of-state infractions, and child support arrearages submitted to the AG may not be reflected in your current eligible status.

See if you qualify for an ODL by filling out this form.

  • Your driving privileges were revoked because of a medical condition
  • It was because you owing child support that you were denied driving privileges. After being convicted of a crime, you have gotten two ODLs in the last ten years. You are ineligible to get a Texas driver’s license because you are in the United States illegally and so do not meet the requirements. The Texas Department of Public Safety website contains a list of the papers that must be shown to prove that you are a citizen of the United States or that you are lawfully present in the country.

Step 3: Compile the documents and information you’ll need to submit to the court in order to request that DPS give you an ODL. ExpandCollapse

  1. The Application for an Occupational Driver’s License (PDF) TheOrder for Occupational Driver’s License (ODL) requests that the Court issue an order
  2. TheOrder for Occupational Driver’s License (ODL) directs the Department of Public Safety to issue you an ODL. (Once you have clicked on the link, make sure to scroll down to see the Order.) The Order is included on page 6 of the ten-page PDF file.)

You may download the Petition and the Order from this page.

  • Certification of your driving history (Type AR): Caution is advised: If you want to order your certified Abstract online, you must first make sure that all of your DPS records (DL, ID, and unlicensed record) have been CONSOLIDATED, otherwise you risk acquiring information that is insufficient and having to acquire more records. If you have confirmed that your driving records have been consolidated, you may purchase your driving record online with a credit card and print it off immediately afterward. The fee is $22 if you order online. If your records are CONSOLIDATED, you will need to input your driver’s license number and license audit number from the most recent DL (or ID, if your records are CONSOLIDATED) as well as the last four digits of your social security number at: www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm. Obtaining a Certified Abstract by mail requires printing the DR-1 form, which is titled “Request for a Certified Abstract of a Driver Record” and may be found at (see Resources). Send the completed form, together with a $20 check or money order, to the Texas Department of Public Safety. Neither the audit number nor your social security number are required to complete this form.
  • Proof that you need to drive in order to get to and from employment, education, or to execute vital home tasks, among other activities. Proof might include your school calendar or registration, a current pay stub, a letter from your employer, or an affidavit (sworn declaration) stating your need to drive. Proof of insurance in the form of an SR-22 from your insurance carrier. The SR-22 (also known as a “Financial Responsibility Certifi­cate”) can be obtained from your insurance provider. It verifies that you have the bare minimum liability insurance needed by law, which is SR-22. In the event that you do not have access to a car, you can obtain a Texas Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance Policy. DPS will be notified by your insurance carrier if your SR-22 coverage expires, terminates, or is terminated, and your driver’s license will be revoked. A Declaration of Inability to Pay Court Fees. You should only use this form if you have limited resources, receive public assistance because of your limited resources, or are unable to pay the court filing cost. For further information, see Court Fees and Fee Waivers.

Step 4: Submit your forms to the Clerk of the Court for processing. ExpandCollapse As a result, when you file your Petition for Occupational Driver’s License with the Court, you are requesting that the court order the Department of Public Safety to award you an Occupational Driver’s License.

  • It is necessary to submit the Petition in the same court as the one where you were convicted if your license was suspended or terminated automatically as a result of your conviction. You should file the Petition in the county where you live or where the offense that is presently suspending your license happened if your license has not been suspended or terminated as a result of a conviction in the previous year. You may be able to file your lawsuit in either District Court, County Court-at-Law, or Justice of the Peace (JP) court depending on your location. If this is the case, you may choose to investigate local processes, court expenses, and court scheduling in order to determine which court is the most appropriate for your scenario.

Inquire with the court clerk about when you should return for the hearing. It is possible that you will need to book an appointment for your hearing. Step 5: Take the Order to Court and ask the Judge to sign it. ExpandCollapse When you appear in court, bring the following items:

  • The Order for Occupational Driver’s License form is available for download. Fill out the form completely, with the exception of the limits and the judge’s signature. An Abridged Certified Abstract of your whole driving history (Type AR)
  • The SR-22 insurance certificate from your insurance carrier
  • One or more copies of the court order suspending your license as well as a copy of your DPS notice of suspension may be required by some courts. Evidence that you are required to drive
  • A copy of the Petition that has been filed

Please keep in mind that if you submitted a form to seek that the court filing costs be excused, the court may ask verification of your income and expenses. During the hearing, the following was said:

  • The judge will go over your Petition and any other paperwork you have submitted. A decision is then made by the judge on whether or not to sign the Order awarding an occupational license. As soon as a court approves the order, he or she will indicate which limits apply, such as when and where you are allowed to drive. Get a certified copy of your filed Petition as well as at least two certified copies of the Order from the clerk once the judge signs your order.

For 45 days following the day on which the Order for Occupational Driver’s License is issued, you may drive with a certified copy of the order. Read your order to find out when it goes into effect. See the frequently asked questions regarding waiting times. It is not possible to drive if you do not receive your ODL from TxDPS by the 45th day. You will be unable to drive until you either receive your ODL or go back to court to obtain an Amended Order for ODL that extends the deadline. Lastly, there is a step six.

ExpandCollapse The occupational driver’s license Order issued by a court is not the actual license.

Following receipt of the court order, you must visit the Department of Public Safety to obtain the genuine occupational driver’s license. Send the following papers to the Department of Public Safety as soon as possible!

  • It is necessary to provide a certified copy of your Petition for ODL, a certified copy of the Order for ODL that was signed by the Judge, your SR-22 proof of insurance certificate, and your SR-22 proof of identity. A check, money order, or cashier’s check made payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety in the amount of the Occupational License fee. Submit a check for $10 for a one-year license or $20 for a two-year license. The amount of any reinstatement costs you due, as well as a check, money order, or cashier’s check made payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety To find out how much you owe, call the Department of Public Safety at 512-424-2600.

You should send all of your documentation to the Texas Department of Public Safety Central Cash ReceivingBox 15999Austin, Texas 78761-5999 via certified mail with return receipt requested (so that you have confirmation that you mailed them).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *