How old do you have to be to get drivers license in Alabama?
- Get your AL Driver’s Permit. Under Alabama driver’s license guidelines, you must be at least 15 years old to apply for a Learners Permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months prior to applying for a driver license.
What forms of ID do I need to get my license in Alabama?
Primary IDs Including Photo
- Alabama Driver’s License.
- Out-of-State Driver’s License.
- State-Issued Non-Driver ID.
- U.S. or Foreign Passport.
- U.S. Certificate of Naturalization.
- Certificate of Citizenship.
- U.S. Military ID.
- Work ID (If applicant is employee of agency/company making request)
How do I change my out-of-state drivers license to Alabama?
I’ve Got a Valid Out-of-State Driver License
- Visit your local ALEA office to transfer to an AL license. To locate a nearby office, use this map.
- Please bring the following: Your out-of-state driver license.
- Surrender your out-of-state license.
- Pay the transfer fee of $5.00 and the license fee of $36.25 (no checks).
What counts as proof of residency in Alabama?
Valid Alabama Driver License or Identification Card displaying applicant’s current address. Voter Registration Card. Residential Mortgage Contract. Current Lease or Rental agreement for housing.
How much does an Alabama driver’s license cost?
Driver or Learner License (age 16 and older) $5 test fee (no checks). Applicants 18 or older who wish to complete all testing for a license must have a licensed driver, proof of car insurance and a vehicle that will pass inspection. $36.25 to purchase license (no checks).
Can I get my driver’s license online Alabama?
Online driver license renewal, digital licenses available for first time in Alabama. The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency today unveiled new initiatives, including online driver license renewals, which it says will reduce wait times for residents and help it do more with a shrinking budget.
Who is not required to have an Alabama driver’s license?
The following persons may drive a motor vehicle upon the streets or highways in Alabama without an Alabama driver license: Any person in the employ or service of the United States Federal Government while driving or operating a motor vehicle owned or leased by the United States Federal Government.
How can I get ID online?
How to apply for a Smart ID online
- Step 1: Go on to the e-Home Affairs website and register.
- Step 2: You will receive an OTP (one-time pin) to confirm your cellphone number.
- Step 3: You will receive another OTP to login to your profile.
- Step 4: Complete your application form for a smart ID card.
Can I apply for a state ID online?
1. You must apply for an original non-driver ID in a DMV office. This cannot be done online, by mail, or by phone.
Can you register a car in Alabama with an out of state license?
If an Alabama license has not yet obtained, he/she must provide valid out of state license and proof of residency PLEASE NOTE: When registering a vehicle with an out-of-state title, you must bring the vehicle to the office for inspection.
How long do you have to change your license after moving to Alabama?
Alabama requires that you update your driver’s license within 30 days with your new address when moving within the state (and no, changing your address with the post office doesn’t cut it).
How do I become a resident of Alabama?
In order to establish residency in Alabama for purposes of tuition and fees, you must have the legal ability to establish a permanent domicile in the United States, meaning that you must be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States or hold a valid, qualifying non-immigrant visa as indicated in the
Do you need an Alabama license to register a car in Alabama?
A valid Alabama DL proving residence in the county where you are registering the vehicle. Proof of insurance, if the licensing office cannot confirm your insurance online. Any license plates you may wish to transfer to the new vehicle.
How long do I have to live in Alabama to be a resident?
Your domicile is where you live permanently. A person can only have one domicile. Individuals not domiciled in Alabama that maintain a permanent home in Alabama, or spend more than seven months of the taxable year in Alabama are considered to be residents.
What do you need to prove residency?
Some of the documents that can be used to establish proof of residency include:
- Utility bills.
- W-2’s and other tax forms or tax returns.
- Paycheck or pay stub.
- Military papers.
- School records.
- Vehicle registration card or title.
- Mortgage or lease papers.
- Property tax statement.
Document Requirements And Fees
- There must be at least two forms of identification, at least one of which has a photograph (one form must be from the “primary” list, in addition to the Social Security card), or three forms of non-photo identification (one form must be from the “primary” list, in addition to the Social Security card)
- * Identification card such as a social security card **If you are younger than 19 and applying for the first time, you must submit an acceptable school enrollment document or evidence of graduation. 2 proofs of primary residence *** are required. $5 testing fee (no checks accepted)
- To complete the licensing tests, applicants must be at least 18 years old and have a valid driver’s license as well as proof of automobile insurance and a vehicle that will pass inspection. $36.25 for the license purchase (no cheques accepted)
- A certified and issued by the Bureau of Vital Statistics birth certificate in the United States
- A Social Security card *
- Acceptable proof of school enrollment or graduation **
- 2 proofs of primary residence *** are required. $5 testing fee (no checks)
- $36.25 license purchase price (no checks)
- $5 testing charge (no checks).
- A valid driver’s license, a Social Security card*, and two proofs of primary residence are required. If the applicant is moving from out of state, he or she must produce one document from the “main” list (in addition to the document containing the Social Security number)
- In order to travel, you must fill out the Department of Transportation’s extensive medical form (unless you are excused due to a medical condition). The following fees and requirements apply: A $25 testing charge (no checks)
- A Transportation Security Administration background check if transferring or receiving a hazardous materials endorsement
- If the applicant is not a citizen of the United States, he or she must have legal permanent residence in the United States and be domiciled in Alabama. If you are updating your license or are a first-time applicant, you must take a skills exam (tests are only available by appointment
- A $20 skills test charge applies). a copy of the insurance certificate Purchase of a class “A” license costs $66.25
- Purchasing a class “B” license costs $56.25
- Purchasing a class “C” license costs $36.25
- Purchasing a commercial learner license costs $36.25
- A valid driver’s license, a Social Security card*, and two proofs of primary residence *** If the applicant is moving from another state, he or she must produce one document from the “main” list (in addition to the document containing the Social Security number). If you are not exempt from medical requirements, you must complete the current Department of Transportation lengthy medical form. Transportation Security Administration background check if transferring or acquiring a hazardous materials endorsement
- $25 testing fee (no background checks)
- If the applicant is not a citizen of the United States, he or she must be in legal permanent residence in the United States and have his or her primary residence in Alabama. If you are updating your license or are a first-time applicant, you must take a skills exam (tests are only available by appointment
- A $20 skills test fee is required). Documentation proving coverage
- Purchase of a class “A” license costs $66.25
- Purchasing a class “B” license costs $56.25
- Purchasing a class “C” license costs $36.25
- Purchasing a commercial learner license costs $36.25.
- It is necessary to be at an ALEA office. In addition to the Social Security card, you’ll need an out-of-state driver’s license and a piece of identification from the primary list. If you are younger than 19, you must provide proof of school enrollment or graduation**, as well as two proofs of your primary residence***. $5 transfer charge (no checks)
- $36.25 license purchase cost (no checks)
- $5 transfer fee (no checks).
- One additional item from the “secondary” list
- A certified and issued by the Bureau of Vital Statistics birth certificate (NO PHOTOCOPIES)
- A Social Security card *
- And one other item from the “primary” list 2 proofs of primary residence ***
- $5 for the test or transfer fee (no cheques accepted)
- $36.25 for the license purchase
- One document from the primary list that proves the individual’s name and date of birth
- And * Identification card such as a social security card It is necessary to provide a third form of identification from either the primary or secondary identification lists (this is required only when the primary identity document is not a photo)
- 2 proofs of primary residence *** are required. Purchase of a non-driver identity card costs $36.25
- The possession of a valid foreign passport, with an appropriate visa or resident alien card
- Verification of Social Security number * or a letter from Social Security saying that you are not eligible
- Document from the “secondary” list granting permission to remain in the United States for more than 160 days
- $5 test or transfer charge in addition to the purchase of the license (no cheques accepted)
Acceptable Forms of Documents
- U.S. passport
- Alabama identification card
- Alabama driver license
- Certificate of naturalization
- Certificate of citizenship
- U.S. birth certificate issued by an agency designated by state or federal authority
- Resident alien card
- Valid foreign passport combined with valid U.S. immigration document
- State-issued driver license or non-driver ID card issued by the United States
- Current international driver license/permit issued by the United States
- United States military DD-214
- Professional license issued by a state or federal agency
- Selective Service card
- Veterans Administration card
- Current medical insurance identification card
- United States military ID card
- ID card issued by the school with a photo
- School enrollment form (DL-1/93)
- School enrollment form (DL-1/93). a certified copy of one’s school record
- A letter from school that has been certified
- A GED certificate
- A certificate of graduation
- In addition to a copy of the previous year’s filed forms (tax return), documents from the court of record should be submitted:
- A divorce decree, an adoption decree, a name-change decree, a bankruptcy decree, and other similar documents
- Probation or release documentation produced by a state or federal department of corrections, along with a picture ID card issued by the same authority, or a felon ID card issued by the sheriff of the county in which the applicant is being released are acceptable.
- A valid Social Security card and an employment authorization papers are required. It is necessary to have a valid visa (together with supporting documentation) in order to be present in the United States for more than 160 days. A valid I-94 arrival/departure record provided by the United States Customs and Border Protection. DHS stands for Department of Homeland Security. The original I-797 (notice of action) issued by the United States government. Document from the Department of Homeland Security confirming approval of the change of status or extension of stay
- The original I-797 (notice of action) issued by the United States government. Department of Homeland Security, demonstrating that a petition for an extension was filed on time
- Applicants who have been assigned and/or are eligible for the assignment of a Social Security number by the Social Security Administration are needed to submit an original copy of their Social Security card. Form DD 214 from the United States military
- Medicare/Medicaid identity card (if your Social Security number is preceded by the letter “A”)
- W2 tax form
- Form DL1/93
- A diploma or GED certificate
- A certified letter from school officials verifying that the student is currently enrolled
- A voter registration card
- A residential mortgage contract
- A current lease or rental agreement for housing
- Proof of payment of residential property taxes (Homestead exemption)
- And Previous year’s tax returns that include the address of the applicant
- The registration of a vehicle with the applicant’s name and address
- Bill from a utility company (such as water, gas, or electric) that is less than 90 days old
- Any State or Federal Court records that provide the address of the person’s domicile
- Documentation proving enrollment at a school
- Form 214 (Report of Separation) from the Department of Defense
- Paperwork pertaining to sexual offenders registry
- A copy of your current homeowners insurance policy, with your name and address
- Military orders proving duty station and place of residence
- Social Security benefit statements/summaries addressed to physical address
- U.S. or state government check or other document mailed to physical address
*If the applicant’s spouse or parent’s name appears on utility bills or other similar papers, the applicant must submit a marriage certificate or birth certificate that shows the applicant’s residential address.
Driver License Information
Every individual (with a few exceptions) who wishes to operate a motor vehicle on public streets or highways must get a valid driver’s license from the state of Alabama. ALEA is in charge of issuing driver’s licenses. This chapter explains who may be eligible for an Alabama driver’s license as well as the steps you must take to receive one. It is also recommended that you go through the motorbike operator’s manual before applying for a motorcycle driving license.
To operate a motor vehicle on public streets and highways in Alabama, every individual (with few exclusions) must possess a valid driver’s license. ALEA is in charge of issuing driver’s permits. To receive an Alabama driving license, you must first determine whether or not you are eligible. Then, you must complete the necessary paperwork. It is also recommended that you go through the motorcycle operator manual before applying for a motorcycle driver’s license.
- Any individual when driving or operating a motor vehicle owned or leased by the United States Federal Government who is in the employ or service of the United States Federal Government
- When operating or moving a farm tractor or other agricultural implement on a public roadway, any individual is prohibited from doing so. A non-resident who is at least 16 years old and who has in his immediate possession a valid driver’s license issued by his native state or nation may drive in the United States. Included in this category are service members from other states and their families who are stationed in Alabama, even if their deployment in Alabama is for an extended period of time. In any calendar year, a non-resident who is at least 16 years old and whose home country does not require driver licensing may operate a motor vehicle in the capacity of a driver for a total of no more than 90 days if the vehicle operated is properly registered for the current year in the non-home resident’s country
- A non-resident who possesses a valid driver’s license from his or her previous state of residency is permitted to drive without obtaining an Alabama driver’s license for the first 30 days after becoming a resident of the state. Any non-resident full-time student who is officially enrolled and registered in a school, college, university, or trade school in this state and who possesses a valid driver’s license from his or her native state or country is eligible to participate.
An Alabama driving license will not be granted to any of the following individuals:
- Persons under the age of sixteen (16). (Except in the cases specified on Pages 2-4.) If your driving privileges or rights are suspended or revoked in any state, you are considered to be in violation of the law. Persons afflicted or suffering from a physical or mental handicap that, in the judgment of either the Director of Public Safety or an examining officer, will prohibit them from exercising reasonable and ordinary control over a motor vehicle
- Any individual who fails to pass the examination when it is necessary
- A regular drinker or someone who is addicted to the usage of narcotic narcotics is considered a criminal. Who is considered to be under the age of 19 if they are not in accordance with Alabama Act 93-368, which requires secondary school graduation or current enrollment, with certain exceptions
The Learner’s License and Restricted License
The minimum driving age in Alabama is sixteen years old. There are, however, several exceptions and limits, which include: 15-year-olds can obtain a learner’s permit. A limited Learner’s License may be obtained for the purpose of learning how to operate a motor vehicle in a safe and effective manner. The material in the Alabama Driver’s Manual is used to create the examination for the driver’s license. Following successful completion of the necessary examination, the applicant will be awarded a standard Alabama driving license with the letter “Y” restricted on the back of the license.
This Learner’s Permit is good for a period of four years.
Any individual 16 years of age or older who, but for his or her lack of instruction, is otherwise qualified In the event that you are operating a motor vehicle and would otherwise be qualified to receive a driver’s license, you may be eligible to obtain a Learner’s License upon completion of the necessary examination.
Following successful completion of the necessary examination, the applicant will be awarded a standard Alabama driving license with the letter “Y” restricted on the back of the license.
This license is valid for four years from the date of purchase.
Both Learner’s Licenses and Driving’s Licenses may be suspended or revoked in the same manner and for the same reasons as a driver license. They may also be revoked if the learner’s license or driver license holder violates the terms and conditions under which it was given.
Veteran License Designation
Veteran drivers in Alabama have had the option of posting proof of military service on their driving licenses since May 1, 2013. An Alabama veteran must visit one of the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency’s Driver License examining offices, or one of the state’s license commissioner’s offices or probate offices, and present a DD-214 form from the United States Department of Defense indicating that he or she served in a “honorable” or “general under honorable conditions” capacity. Other papers that can be used to get a veteran designation include:
- “honorable” or “general under honorable conditions” on Form 22 (Report of Separation and Record of Service) of the National Guard Bureau
- ID Card for Active Duty (green)
- DD Form 2 (green Active Duty ID card)
- ID card that has been retired (in the colors blue and pink)
“honorable” or “general under honorable conditions” appears on NGB Form 22 (Report of Separation and Record of Service); (green Active Duty ID card) DD Form 2 (Department of Defense Form 2). ID card that has been retired (in the colors blue and pink)
Getting Your Alabama Driver’s License: Requirements and FAQ
When you read the Alabama Driver’s Manual, acquiring your driver’s license may appear to be a difficult and time-consuming endeavor. If you know which license you want, it is, on the other hand, a reasonably basic process. Today, we’ll go over everything you need to know about getting your Alabama driver’s license as quickly as possible!
Do I Need a Driver’s License?
In the majority of cases, absolutely! When driving on public roads in Alabama, drivers are required to have a government-issued driver’s license. However, there are certain exceptions, such as in the following instances:
- Yes, in the majority of cases! When driving on public highways in Alabama, drivers are required to hold a government-issued license. Select instances, such as the ones listed below, are exempt from the rule.
Each exception is accompanied by a set of requirements. The whole list may be seen here.
Who Can NOT be Licensed in Alabama?
Each exception is accompanied by a set of prerequisites that must be fulfilled. To see the entire list, click here.
- If you are under the age of sixteen
- If you fail your written, vision, or driving examinations when they are necessary, you will be disqualified. If your driving privileges have been suspended or revoked, you must not drive. If you have a history of alcohol or drug misuse, you may be barred from participating. A mental or physical ailment that the examiner believes will prohibit you from safely operating a motor vehicle is grounds for a denial of your application. If you are under the age of 19 and have not graduated from high school or are still enrolled as a high school student
- If you are unable to present evidence of citizenship or documentation of legal immigration into the United States
The Three Stages to the Alabama Driver’s License
The state of Alabama has a Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program (GDL). If you are 19 years old or younger, you must provide documentation of either High School graduation or attendance in order to be considered. Your age has an impact on the sort of license you receive.
Stage I 8211; Learner8217;s Permit
A permission can be obtained by anybody who is 15 years old. The learner8217;s permit (a Class D License with a “Y” restriction) will be awarded to you whenever you pass both the Written Knowledge Test and the Vision Test. To drive, you must have a driving instructor or another licensed adult over the age of 21, among other requirements that we8217;ll explain later down the page. The Written Test consists of 30 questions, with a passing score of at least 24 required to pass. It8217;ll put you through your paces on traffic rules, road signs, and Alabama traffic regulations and legislation.
You may learn more about this aspect of the procedure by reading our in-depth Alabama learners permit handbook, which is available online.
Stage II 8211; Restricted License
The license can be awarded to anybody 16 years or older who is competent of operating a motor vehicle safely and legally. Following successful completion of the road skills exam, you will be issued a limited license.
Despite the fact that this license will allow you to drive unattended, it is subject to a number of restrictions, including limitations on the number of people you may transport and the number of hours you can drive. Stages I and II are subject to constraints, which are detailed further below.
Stage III 8211; Unrestricted Alabama Driver’s License
Anyone between the ages of 16 and 18 who has held a valid driver’s license for at least six months (including a permit from another state) is eligible to apply for an Unrestricted Driver’s License. It is mandatory that you pass the road skills test (often known as the “behind-the-wheel exam”) as part of Stage II or you will be disqualified.
- If you are under the age of 18, you must have had a limited license for at least six months before you may apply for an unrestricted license
- Otherwise, you must wait until you are 18. If you are above the age of 18, you can bypass the restricted license and proceed straight from a learner’s permit to an unrestricted license
- Otherwise, you must go through the restricted license process.
The Steps to Getting Your Alabama Driver’s License
It is necessary to have had a limited license for at least 6 months before applying for an unrestricted license if you are under the age of 18; otherwise, you must wait until you become 18 before applying. It is possible to skip the limited license and proceed directly from a learner’s permit to an unrestricted license if you are older than 18 years old.
- Evidence of citizenship in the United States (or proof of lawful residency)
- Identification as a resident of Alabama Identifying documents such as your birth certificate, passport, or Alabama State Id Card are recommended.
- You must submit two forms of identification, one of which must have a photograph. If you are unable to give a photo identification, you must present THREE forms of identification: In both circumstances, one of the IDs must be from the “Primary” list
- However, the other does not have to be.
- You’ll need to know your social security number. The car registration (which has been waived as a result of Covid-19) as well as insurance information
Step 2: Schedule an appointment with a Driver’s License Office in your area. Step 3: If you already have an out-of-state license, you will need to turn it in so that you may get your Alabama driver’s license. If you do not pay the $5 charge, you will be required to take a written test, a vision test, and a behind-the-wheel exam.
- You must pass the written test to be able to operate a vehicle safely on a public road. The written exam includes state laws, road safety guidelines, and traffic signs that you must be familiar with. The test comprises of 30 questions, and you must correctly answer 24 of them in order to pass. In order to prepare for the test, the material was obtained directly from the Alabama Driver’s Manual. We provide a condensed version of the guidebook as well as practice exams that are rich in graphics and easy to understand. Today is the day to put your knowledge to the test. In order to demonstrate your understanding of state laws and safe driving behaviors, you will be required to drive on public roads with an examiner during the road test portion of the process. In most cases, it lasts roughly 20 minutes. You must furnish your own car, as well as evidence of insurance in your own name, in order to participate. We recommend that you get your car inspected by a professional technician first. When a vehicle is determined to be unsafe for safe travel, you will be required to reschedule your driving exam.
Step 4: After passing your driver’s examinations, you will be required to pay a licensing fee that is determined by the type of license you hold. The current licensing fees for the state of Alabama may be found atALEA.gov.
Restrictions on a Permit and Restricted License
- It is not permissible to drive with more than one non-family person in the car
- Driving between the hours of midnight and 6am is not permitted unless you are with a parent or guardian unless you meet one of the following criteria:
- You’re on your way to or from the office. You’re on your way to or from a school-sponsored activity. Your journey to or from a religiously sponsored event is taking place
- It is necessary for you to drive because of a medical, fire, or law enforcement emergency
- In any case, you are not permitted to use a portable communication device while operating a vehicle.
Paperwork Needed For Identity Verification
You must give either the original document or a copy that has been certified by the organization that issued it. If any of the following conditions are met, the document will be ruled unacceptable:
- Even if the document is an original, you obstruct important information from being seen. Any indication of manipulation, such as erasure markings over critical information, should be investigated. If any important information is missing, such as the date of birth being left blank on the birth certificate, it is important to notify the authorities. It is impossible to read the content because to damage caused by water, wear and tear, creases, and other faults. A staple, paper clip, or other type of binding can completely obliterate or distort important information. For example, making it difficult to distinguish if a date is written in 1987 or 1997
- If the document is not correctly signed, it is considered forged.
When applying for an Alabama driver8217;s license, you must submit two pieces of identification to confirm your identity. At least one of them must be an authorized picture identification card, and at least one of them must be a main identification card. If you are unable to present a valid picture identification card, you will be required to provide THREE different forms of identification, one of which must be from the primary list. You can view the whole list of documents that have been accepted here.
- It is necessary to produce two pieces of identification in order to apply for an Alabama driver8217
- S license. At least one of the identification cards must be an authorized picture identification card, and at least one of the identification cards must be a main identification card. If you are unable to offer a valid picture identification card, you will be required to provide THREE forms of identification, one of which must be from the primary list, in addition to your identification card. This link will take you to the whole list of documents that have been authorized. The following are examples of primary documents.
The following are examples of secondary documents:
- A driver’s license issued by a state in the United States
- A marriage certificate
- A GED letter from school
- A graduation certificate
- A US military identification card
- A W2 tax form
- An adoption decree
Frequently Asked Questions
No. Drivers education is not required. However, completing the course increases your chances of passing both the written and behind-the-wheel examinations, and consequently of receiving your license in the end.
How do I Renew My Driver8217;s License?
An Alabama driver’s license is good for four years, and you have a 60-day grace period after it expires before you must renew your license again. It is possible to renew your driver’s license online, in the mail, or in person at your local Department of Public Safety office. Check out our instructions to renewing your membership.
What if I have a License from Another State?
You have a 60-day grace period after your license expires to renew your license if you have an Alabama license for four years. It is possible to renew your driver’s license online, in the mail, or in person at your local DPS office. Check out our advice to renewing your membership.
How do I Handle a Change of Address?
You must notify the Department of Public Safety of your new address within 30 days after moving.
You can complete this process online, in the mail, or in person at the registrar’s desk.
You must notify the Department of Public Safety of your new address within 30 days of your relocation date. The registrar’s office accepts applications online, via mail, and in person.
Alabama Drivers License
Congrats! Following your successful completion of the requirements for your Alabama Stage I license (also known as the learner license), it’s time to consider obtaining your Stage II license. There are a number of states, including Alabama, that have implemented a graduated driver licensing scheme, which means that your first drivers license will have some restrictions. After that, we’ll move on to the next item on our list. First, let’s have a look at what you’ll need to accomplish in order to satisfy the requirements for your drivers license.
Alabama Drivers License Requirements
Before you can sit for your Alabama drivers license exam, you must first complete some behind-the-wheel instruction. It is possible to go behind the wheel with a certified adult riding beside you for the purpose of driving practice and training while holding your learners license. The state of Alabama does not need you to finish a state-approved drivers ed course; but, doing so will ensure that you fulfill the minimum 30 hours of behind the wheel time in the state. TheAlabama Graduated Driver Licenseform (Form DL-31) must be completed and signed by your parent or legal guardian if you want to have them teach you how to drive.
Alabama Drivers License Test
In order to be eligible to take the drivers license exam in Alabama, you must have held your learners permit for a minimum of six months and completed the training requirements listed above. Your driving test can be scheduled at your local DPS testing office once you’ve completed the necessary preparation work. You’ll need to bring the following items with you to your driving test:
- Your learners permit is still valid
- A copy of your high school enrollment or graduation certificate One of the following papers is required:
- You will need to submit a completed and signed Alabama Graduated Driver License form (DL-31) demonstrating that you have completed 30 hours of supervised driving. Documentation of successful completion of a state-approved drivers education course
- Two pieces of identification: your Social Security card and one other type of primary identification
- And It is necessary to have the vehicle’s registration and evidence of insurance before taking the exam. Payment of the $36.25 driver’s license application cost
A parent or legal guardian must accompany anyone under the age of 16 who is not a minor.
Alabama Stage II Restricted License
Your Stage II license will be provided to you once you have successfully completed your test. After then, the real fun begins! However, before you go behind the wheel without supervision, you should be aware that the Stage II license comes with a number of limitations.
- You are not permitted to drive between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m. unless you are:
- It is necessary that you travel with your parent or guardian, or with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and has been designated by your parent or guardian. You’re traveling to or from school, work, church, or for any other reason that requires your attention
- You may only have 1 passenger other than your immediate family in the car
- While driving, you are not permitted to use a mobile phone or any other portable electronic device.
You may only have one passenger in the car who is not a member of your immediate family. Cell phones and other portable electronic devices are not permitted while driving.
Alabama Driver’s License Requirements (A Complete Guide)
Calling all residents of Alabama who are interested in obtaining their first driver’s license. Is it difficult to know where to begin? What exactly are the step-by-step requirements? We’ve taken care of everything. We’re going to provide you a step-by-step guide to the criteria for an Alabama driver’s license. To ensure that everyone can benefit from this guide, we’re going to include instructions for both teenagers and adults. In addition, we’ll include a section with frequently asked questions at the conclusion.
What are the Requirements to Get a Driver’s License in Alabama?
Anyone between the ages of 15 and 17 in Alabama must complete the state’s Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) program. This curriculum is divided into three stages:
- Permit for a learner
- License that is restricted or transitory in nature
- License with no restrictions or a normal license
Let us examine each stage in further detail.
Stage 1. Learner’s Permit
Now, let’s take a closer look at each step.
- Set up an appointment with the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) on their website (click here). You must pass a vision test, pass a written exam, and pay the expenses. Learn how to drive by getting your learner’s permit.
Don’t forget to bring the following items with you when you come at the office:
- There are two ways of identification. It is necessary to provide one main identification card, an original Social Security card or Medicare/Medicaid card, proof of school enrolment (which can be either a completedform DL1/93 or a GED or graduation certificate), and $41.25 in costs ($5 for the exam and $36.25 for the permit). It is important to note that payment must be made in cash or by check. The DMV does not take checks
- Instead, it accepts cash.
When it comes to the written test, what can you expect? Alabama Driver Manual is the source of the information for all of the questions in this quiz. To pass, you must answer all 24 questions correctly. Tip: If you wish to pass the exam on your first attempt, it’s a good idea to study the Alabama Driver Manual beforehand. If this is the case, you may also take advantage of a FREE permit practice exam available here. Once you have your learner’s permit in hand, you may begin practicing driving right away!
Stage 2. Restricted or Provisional License
As soon as you reach the age of 16, you can convert your learner’s permit to a limited license, provided that you have had the permit for at least six months and have completed 30 hours of behind-the-wheel training. Please bear in mind that you can maintain your learner’s permit until you turn eighteen. If this is the case, you can skip stage 2 and proceed directly to stage 3. Your driving, on the other hand, will be severely restricted until you reach the age of eighteen. Now that you have a limited license, you may drive with greater freedom.
These are the ones:
- You are accompanied by your parent, legal guardian, or a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old (with the approval of your parent or legal guardian)
- It is necessary for you to drive to and from school or a religious function. If you’re traveling to and from work, consider the following: You’re driving because of a medical, fire, or law enforcement emergency
- You are accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old (with the approval of the parent or legal guardian). While travelling to and from school or religious events, consider the following scenarios: You’re on your way to and from work. A medical, fire, or law enforcement emergency has prompted your driving.
The following are the procedures you must do in order to obtain this license:
- Submit a behind-the-wheel verification form that is valid for 30 hours. It must be signed by a parent, grandparent, legal guardian, or a professional driving instructor before you may get behind the wheel. If you do not have a verification form, you can submit a certificate of completion form declaring that you have finished a driver’s education course that has been approved by the State Department of Education (SDE). Provide a completed and signed ‘permission to drive without supervision’ form signed by your parent, grandparent, or legal guardian.
All of the necessary forms may be found here.
- Pass the road skills test
- Pay the associated expenses. Your learner’s permit must be surrendered. Obtain your restricted or provisional driving permit
As a reminder, if you have finished a Private High School Driver and Traffic Safety Education program at your high school, you are no longer required to take a road skills exam. You may make an appointment for your road skills examination online (click here). However, walk-ins are also welcome at any Driver’s License Office location. When you come at the office, you need bring the following items:
- All of the paperwork described above (verification or certificate of completion form, as well as a form granting authorization to drive without supervision)
- There are two ways of identification. One should serve as the principal identification
- Original Social Security card, Medicare/Medicaid card, or Medicare/Medicaid card
- Form DL1/93 or a GED or graduation certificate as proof of school enrolment (either a fully filled form or a GED or graduation certificate is acceptable)
- Anyone under the age of 17 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian
- For the road skills exam, you’ll need a vehicle (which should be in excellent condition and have evidence of auto insurance)
- Payment of $36.25 for the licensing fee (cash or cheques are not accepted)
If you pass, then congratulations! You have now progressed to the second stage! But what happens if you don’t succeed? Don’t be concerned. You can always go back and retake the test. Do you want to obtain a better understanding of how the road skills exam works? Take a look at this video:
Stage 3. Unrestricted or Regular License
We’ve reached the final step of Alabama’s Graduated Driver’s License program, which will be completed in the coming weeks. This is the point at which you can ultimately obtain a normal driver’s license in the United States. Once you reach the age of 17 and have had your limited license for at least six months, you may simply visit your local Driver’s License Office, pay a cost of $31.25 (which may be more in other counties), and exchange your restricted one for an unrestricted license. That’s all there is to it!
- Make an appointment for a road skills exam online or simply come into your local Driver’s License Office
- Pass the driving skills test
- Pay the $36.25 license cost (no checks allowed)
- And complete the application process. Your learner’s permit must be surrendered. Acquire your unrestricted or standard driver’s license
What happens if you are 18 years old or older and are just getting started with the driver’s license process? To do so, you must first obtain a learner’s permit and maintain it for six months before proceeding with the requirements outlined above.
So that brings us to the conclusion of our guide to the Alabama driver’s license requirements. Alabama’s graduated driver’s license scheme is quite clear, as seen by the numerous levels that it has to provide.
Alabama Driver’s License Requirements FAQs
Do you have any questions? Our goal is to address the most often asked questions here in the hopes that we can answer yours as well.
What forms of ID do I need to get my license in Alabama?
For identity forms, you’ll need one primary identification card with a photo and one secondary identification card. Here is a list of some of the most common identification numbers in Alabama:
- Passport of the United States
- Certified birth certificate of the United States
- Alabama identification card
- Certificate of Citizenship
- United States Certificate of Naturalization
- Alabama voter identification card
Listed below are several supplementary identification numbers in Alabama:
- School identification card with photo
- Voter registration card
- Health insurance card
- Immunization (shot) record
- Utility bill (no more than 6 months old)
- Social Security correspondence
- DMV receipt for fines paid (must be recent)
- And other documents as required by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
How many questions are on the Alabama driving test?
There are 30 questions in total, all of which are multiple choice and are based on the Alabama Driver’s Handbook. To pass, you must get at least 24 of your questions accurate (80 percent ).
Can you take the written driving test online in Alabama?
Unfortunately, taking the driving test online in Alabama is not an option for residents of the state. To obtain it, you will need to attend in person at your local Driver’s License Office.
Can you get your license at 20 without a permit in Alabama?
Unfortunately, taking the driving test online in Alabama is not an option for residents. For this, you must attend in person at your local Driver’s License Office.
Who is NOT allowed to get a driver’s license in Alabama?
In Alabama, you will not be able to obtain a license if you:
- You are under the age of fifteen
- It has been determined that your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked in another state. You suffer from a physical or mental handicap that makes it impossible for you to operate a motor vehicle safely
- You have a drinking problem or are hooked to narcotic substances on a regular basis. You were born before you reached the age of 19 and did not complete your secondary education.
That’s all there is to it. You should now be familiar with the criteria for an Alabama driver’s license. The following comprehensive information will assist you in obtaining your full, normal license, regardless of your age (whether you are 15 or 35). To give you a short review, here’s what happened:
- A learner’s permit should be obtained by those who are 15 years old or older. They must have held their permit for six months, turned sixteen years old, and completed 30 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction (the last two hours are not required for 18-year-olds and older), among other requirements. 16 and 17-year-olds can then apply for a limited driving permit. They must have this license for a minimum of six months before applying for an unrestricted or general license. Anyone above the age of 18 can obtain a standard license, regardless of whether they already hold a restricted license.
We really hope that this post has been of tremendous assistance! Wishing you the best of luck! This post is part of a series on Alabama Driving Laws that you can find here. All of these laws may be found right here!
Ultimate guide to transferring your out-of-state driver’s license to Alabama
Updated on March 20, 2022
We have updated this page – visit the latest version here.
Here’s all you need to know about transferring your out-of-state driver’s license to Alabama. We’ve made the procedure as simple as possible for you so that you can save time. This article is intended for those who have relocated to Alabama but have a driver’s license from another state in the United States.
What You’ll Need to Transfer your Out-of-State Driver License to Alabama
- Social Security card (original)
- US military form DD214
- Medicare/Medicaid identity card (if SSN is preceded by the letter “A”)
- W2 tax form
- And other documents as needed.
- Social Security card (original)
- US military form DD214
- Medicare/Medicaid identity card (if SSN is preceded by the letter “A”)
- W2 tax form
- And other documents as required.
- Form DD214 from the United States military
- Medicare/Medicaid identity card (if SSN is preceded by the letter “A”)
- W2 tax form
- A copy of your school enrollment or graduation certificate (if you are younger than 19)
- Form DL1/93
- A diploma or GED certificate
- A certified letter from school officials verifying that the student is currently enrolled
- $5 for the transfer fee
- $36.25 for the cost of the license
What You’ll Do to Transfer your Out-of-State Driver License to Alabama
- Consult with a DPS representative at your local DPS office (you may also book an appointment online).
- You have two options at this point: you may either receive a learner’s permit or proceed with your driving test. Once you have passed your driving test and paid your license cost, you will be issued a temporary license that will allow you to drive lawfully.
Caveats and Exception to Transferring your Out-of-State Driver License to Alabama
- When relocating to Alabama, you must apply for a driver’s license in the state within 30 days of establishing resident in that state. The Alabama Department of Public Safety does not require driving testing for newcomers to the state unless their out-of-state license has been expired for more than one year. The DPS examiner has the authority to determine the testing requirements. It is possible that you will be needed to pass one or more exams based on the mitigating circumstances
- If you meet the following criteria, you do not require an Alabama driver’s license:
- You’re at the wheel of a farm vehicle. You are employed by the United States Federal government and driving a vehicle that is owned or leased by the government
- Your enrollment in any Alabama institution, college or university is contingent on your possession of a valid out-of-state driver’s license. It is required that you are at least 16 years old and possess a valid driver’s license from your native state or nation. You must be at least 16 years old and come from a nation where a driver’s license is not required. If the car is officially registered in your home country, you will be able to drive for at least 90 days in this situation.
More Alabama DMV Questions?
Visit our website on the Alabama Department of Motor Vehicles for more information. Save time by skipping the DMV queue! Get a line waiting concierge if you’re in a rush. Get a DMV appointment as soon as possible. All of this information is available for free on the Skip app (and you can earn a $10 credit for the app if you use this link).
Ultimate Guide to Transferring your Driver License to Alabama
Ryder The 23rd of December, 2020 2 minutes to readALABAMA Find out how to convert your out-of-state driver’s license to an Alabama driving license in this comprehensive tutorial. This is particularly for people who already hold a United States driver’s license from another state and wish to convert it to an Alabama driving license. If you have a driver’s license from another nation, you should investigate the process of obtaining a driver’s license in the state of Alabama.
What You’ll Need to Transfer your Driver License to Alabama
- Ryder on the 23rd of December, 2020 alabama 2min read Transferring your out-of-state license to an Alabama driver license is made simple with our comprehensive tutorial. This is particularly for people who already hold a United States driver’s license from another state and wish to transfer it to an Alabama driver license number. Consider acquiring a driver’s license in Alabama if you have a driver’s license from another nation.
What You’ll Need To Do
- Make an appointment or pay a visit to your local DPS facility
- And Please submit all of the relevant documentation. ID: Your driver’s license from another state, One kind of main identification, such as a birth certificate or passport, is required by most employers. Card of Identification (Social Security Number) (original), Alternatives include a Medicare/Medicaid identity card (if your SSN is preceded by the letter “A”), a United States military form DD 214, or a W2 tax form. You must surrender your out-of-state driver’s license. Pay the transfer charge of $5.00 as well as the licensing price of $36.25 to complete the transaction (no checks). At this stage, you have the option of obtaining a learner’s permit or continuing with your driving test as scheduled. Once you have passed your driving test and paid your license cost, you will be issued a temporary license that will allow you to drive lawfully.
Do you need to transfer your driver’s license from another state to Alabama?
Caveats and Exceptions
- Is it necessary for you to transfer your driver’s license from California to Alabama?
Need other Alabama DMV help?
We’re here to assist you. Start a free 15-day trial of Skip Plus to receive one-on-one guidance and support right away. We’ll even assist you in obtaining DMV appointments and obtaining priority access to our line waiting service if necessary.
Let’s stay in touch
Subscribe to our newsletter to stay up to speed on the latest news and interesting updates.
We guarantee not to bombard you with emails. Drivers license transfer to the Alabama Department of Motor Vehicles
Alabama Driver License Step-By-Step Guide
Are you prepared to obtain your Alabama driver’s license and begin cruising through the Heart of Dixie? Allow Aceable to guide you through the procedure. If you’re between the ages of 15 and 17, you’re in the perfect age range to participate in a program known as the Graduated Driver License (GDL) system. If you’re an adult, scroll down to the bottom of this page to learn about the adult licensing procedure.
Obtain Your Alabama Driver License in Four Steps
- Drivers education or 30 hours of supervised driving must be completed. Pass the vision and knowledge exam administered by the Department of Public Safety
- Practice driving
- And pass the behind-the-wheel driving test
Step 1: Enroll in Driver’s Ed (Or Don’t)
Learn to drive choices are available in the lovely state of Alabama when it comes to getting your driver’s license. Although driver’s education is not legally compulsory in Alabama, you can enroll in a course certified by the Alabama State Department of Education to get more familiar with the road laws. In lieu of completing a class, you can complete 30 hours of supervised driving with a parent if you want to merely practice driving with your parents. Please be patient, my friend.
Step 2: Vision and Knowledge Tests
Make an appointment with your local Department of Public Safety (DPS) office to take a vision and writing knowledge exam. You’ll need to bring original or certified copies of your birth certificate and Social Security card from the United States, as well as documentation of your school attendance or graduation, if applicable. Examples of approved papers can be found here. They will issue you a learner’s license if you have satisfactorily identified yourself and demonstrated that you possess the eyes and intellect of a competent motorist.
Step 3: Practice Driving
You must keep your learner’s permit in your possession for six months while you gain behind-the-wheel experience with your parent or another licensed adult who is 21 or older. It is necessary for your parent or guardian to sign a verification form from the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency if you want to practice for 30 hours rather than enroll in an approved drivers education course.
Step 4: Ace the Driving Test
To obtain your limited driver’s license, you must pass the behind-the-wheel driving exam. If you are under the age of 16, you must be accompanied by a parent or adult (17 and older can roll up solo). To book an appointment, contact the DPS office by phone or online in advance of your visit. Oh, and don’t forget to bring your own insured car to the testing facility. In this case, you will need to BYOC (Bring Your Own Car). You’re up to the task.
Step 5: Enjoy the Licensed Life!
Be a good sport and comply with the curfews and passenger limits imposed on you as a result of your limited driving privileges. When you reach the age of eighteen, those regulations will no longer apply. You can also apply for an unrestricted license at the age of 17 if you’ve had your restricted license for at least six months and have completed the required training. Soon enough, you’ll be able to live without restrictions.
Driver’s License Process for Adults
It is a little simpler to obtain your first Alabama driver’s license if you are over the age of eighteen (which is excellent because you have a slew of other adult responsibilities to attend to). Make an appointment with your local DPS office to pass a vision and knowledge exam. Remember to bring your Social Security card as well as at least two kinds of identification. Examples of approved papers can be found here. In addition, you’ll be required to pay the DPS a $5 testing cost and a $36.25 licensing fee.
After you’ve completed all of the necessary documentation, you’ll be able to take the road test to demonstrate your driving abilities.
In order to participate, you must have a valid driver’s license with you as well as an insured car that will pass inspection. That’s all there is to it. You’ll get your driver’s license and be ready to hit the road as soon as you get it.
Basic Terms and Definitions
The term “driver license” refers to any license to operate a motor vehicle granted under the statutes of the state of California. A driver license or driving privilege in Alabama can only be issued, suspended, cancelled, or revoked by the Department of Public Safety, which has exclusive and exclusive power under Alabama legislation and case law1. Driver licenses in Alabama are granted according to their categorization. The standard, or general, driver license is a class D license that enables the bearer to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle on public roadways in this state, subject to certain limitations that may be in place.
An applicant for a CDL must first possess a valid class D driver’s license, be at least 21 years old3, possess a valid medical certificate that meets the requirements of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, and pass the written and driving examinations designed for the class of CDL being sought, among other requirements.
When a 14 or 15-year-old applies for a class M license with a ‘B’ limitation, the license is created specifically for motor-driven bikes.
Suspension of a driver’s license is a serious offense.
A driver’s license can be reinstated after it has been suspended if certain compliance requirements are met, such as paying a fine for an unpaid or ‘outstanding’ traffic violation or serving a limited duration license removal following a conviction, as well as the payment of an administrative fee to the Department of Public Safety.
It is almost typically the outcome of a significant traffic crime conviction that results in a revocation, and it is generally considered a necessary responsibility of the Director of Public Safety4.
Additional requirements for re-licensing following revocation include compliance with the Safety Responsibility Law5, payment of the necessary reinstatement costs, and passing the driver license examination.
According to Section 760-X-1-.02 of the Alabama Administrative Code, Reinstatement of Driving Privileges After Revocation, “The Director of Public Safety may, at any time after the expiration of six months from the date of revocation, reinstate a person’s driving privilege who has had his or her driving privilege revoked.”.
Any subsequent license removal actions must be served in sequence, with the first license removal action being completed in its entirety before the second removal action can be initiated, even if the second (or third) license removal action is entered before the first removal action is completed in its entirety.
Barbour, which was a first-of-its-kind decision in this state, that driving license suspension periods should be counted sequentially rather than continuously, rather than concurrently.
Cancellation of Driving License: The annulment or termination of a person’s driver license by official action of the Director of Public Safety as a result of a mistake or fault in the application procedure.
Cancellation is neither a suspension nor revocation; rather, it is a sort of license removal that requires the disqualified licensee to clear the prior state before being able to possess an Alabama driving license.
Driver License Compact (now in use): There are several interstate compacts in place, including the Driver License Compact (DLC), which allows the various states to exchange information about license suspensions and traffic violations of non-residents and forward that information to the state where the motorist’s license is issued, also known as the home state.
As of right now, 45 of the 50 states are participants in the Driver License Compact.
Since 1966, Alabama has been a member of the Democratic Leadership Conference.
Nonresident Violator Compact (currently in effect): There are 45 states that have signed on to the Non-Resident Violator Compact (NRVC), which allows for the processing of traffic citations that transcend state lines.
Whenever a motorist is cited for a traffic violation in another member state and fails to respond to the citation (for example, by failing to appear in court or by settling the case prior to court), the state where the violation occurred notifies the driver’s home state, which in turn suspends the driver’s license until the driver resolves his or her case in the other state.
Sixth, the DLA’s objectives are to require each state to recognize licenses issued by other member states, to require each state to report traffic convictions to the licensing state, to prohibit a member state from confiscating an out of state drivers license or from jailing an out of state driver for a minor violation, and to require each state to maintain a complete driver’s history, including withdrawals and traffic convictions from non-DLA states.
- Any report about a licensee that is received by a DLA member state from a non-DLA member state shall be treated as if it had come from a member state.
- Foreign nations will not be subject to the Drivers’ Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), which means that other jurisdictions will be able to access motor vehicle information and transmit the driver’s history if the driver switches his or her license.
- Individuals who have lost their driving privileges or who have been convicted of a serious traffic violation are identified by the National Driver Registry (NDR), which receives this information from state driver license agencies.
- This is a repository of information on problem drivers that has been provided by all 51 jurisdictions in the United States.
- Working in collaboration with the Commercial Driver License Information System (CDLIS), the PDPS will notify licensing authorities that the subject of the inquiry has previously been subjected to a license revocation proceeding in another state.
- The Administrative License Suspension Act of Alabama went into force in 1996 and was rewritten in 1999, with the majority of the changes being in the licensee’s favor.
The Administrative License Suspension Act’s intended purpose is to expeditiously remove the arrested subject’s driver’s license through an informal, non-judicial administrative process, thereby eliminating the incentive for the arrested motorist to delay license removal while waiting for the final disposition of a criminal prosecution.
The law was enacted as a means of ensuring compliance with the state’s Chemical Test for Intoxication Act.
The Administrative License Suspension Act has rendered most of the Implied Consent statute obsolete in terms of applicability; nonetheless, many of the fundamental principles have survived, including the following:
- The Implied Consent Law applies exclusively to alcoholic beverages
- The Implied Consent Law does not have any relation to restricted drugs. If a driver refuses a blood, breath, or urine sample, the sole penalty is an administrative license suspension
- The motorist cannot be physically coerced into providing a sample. The driver can legitimately decline to submit to a blood draw and instead seek a breath test or urine sample without incurring any consequences to his or her driving privileges if law enforcement authorities demand one. Motorists must be informed that refusing the breath test will result in a 90-day suspension of their driving privileges or their license or permit (or one year, if the second refusal in the past five years). If the motorist has an out-of-state license or is driving without a license, the Director has the authority to suspend the motorist’s ability to drive a vehicle on public roadways for refusing to take the exam.
One caveat: Section 32-5-316 of the Code of Alabama (1975) authorizes “any court of competent jurisdiction” trying a case involving the operation of a motor vehicle and the violation of any criminal statute or ordinance to enter an order, in its discretion, prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle on any public road or highway for a period specified by the court or for an indefinite period of time, as the court may decide.
In the more than three decades that this editor has worked in traffic law and law enforcement, I have only witnessed one such court-ordered entry, which occurred in the case of a DUI-related death that was prosecuted as murder, and upon conviction, the trial court entered a lifetime revocation of the defendant’s driver’s license.
- a “combination” vehicle with a gross combined weight rating (GVWR) of 26,000 pounds or more is needed to have a class A license.
- In most cases, the car being towed cannot weigh more than 10,000 pounds.
- CDL endorsements are necessary for unique transportation needs such as double/triple trailers, hazardous products, and other special transportation requirements.
- For the hazardous materials endorsement, federal regulations provided by the Department of Homeland Security/Transportation Safety Administration demand a background check and fingerprints, which is performed by the Transportation Safety Administration.
- 4 See, for example, Section 32-5A-195 (j) of the Code of Alabama, which states: It is the Director of Public Safety’s obligatory obligation to terminate a driver’s license or privilege upon obtaining information about a previous criminal conviction for any of the following crimes:
- Automobile-related homicide or manslaughter
- In the case of a second or subsequent conviction for driving under the influence within a five-year period
- Any offense in which a motor vehicle was utilized
- Any felony in which a firearm was used
- An individual’s failure to stop (also known as ‘Leaving the Scene of an Accident’) results in the death or serious harm of another. In any driving license or registration requirement, perjury or the submission of a false affidavit to the Director of Public Safety is prohibited. Verdicts on three (3) accusations of reckless driving during a 12-month period An unauthorized use of a motor vehicle that does not result in the conviction of a felon is defined as follows:
5According to Section 32-7-31 of the Code of Alabama, 1975, the Director of Public Safety must obtain proof of financial responsibility for a period of three years from the date of any revocation order. In most cases, this is referred to as the SR-22 requirement, and it necessitates the motorist posting a certificate of SR-22 insurance with the Department of Public Safety’s Safety Responsibility Unit prior to being eligible for re-licensing. 6 As a tax-exempt, non-profit organization, the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) is responsible for developing and coordinating model programs in motor vehicle administration, law enforcement, and highway safety.
The American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) was established in 1933 to represent state and provincial authorities in the United States and Canada who administer and enforce motor vehicle regulations.
The activities of the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) promote standardization and reciprocity across the states and provinces. The organisation also acts as a point of contact for various levels of government as well as the private industry.