The Class E license is the standard driver’s license for people who drive personal vehicles. It allows you to drive a noncommercial vehicle that weighs less than 26,001 pounds. Recreational vehicles (RVs) Mopeds, scooters and other two- to three-wheeled vehicles that are not motorcycles.
What does class E mean?
CLASS E: Any non-commercial motor vehicles with Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) less than 26,001 pounds, including passenger cars, 15 passenger vans including the driver, trucks or recreational vehicles and two or three wheel motor vehicles 50 cc or less, such as mopeds or small scooters.
What does e mean on driver’s license?
A Class E license is for drivers of cars, trucks, vans or other specialized vehicles who drive for both commercial and noncommercial purposes. It is generally a license for passenger vehicles rather than a commercial driver’s license (CDL) for tractor trailers and other large commercial motor vehicles or school buses.
How do I get a Class E license in Florida?
You must meet several requirements to obtain your Florida driver’s license, officially known as a Class E Driver license:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Complete a drug and alcohol course.
- Pass a vision and hearing test.
- Pass the Class E Knowledge Exam.
- Pass the Class E Driving Skills Test.
What are the classes of driving Licence?
NTSA Driving License Categories, requirements and fees
- Category A. AM (Moped)
- Category B. B1 (Light Vehicle Automatic)
- Category C. C1 (Light Truck)
- Category D. D1 (Van)
- Category E. Age: 21 – 65 years (Licensed as EC1, EC, ECE, ED, ED1, ED2 and ECD3)
- Category F (Persons with Disability)
- Category G.
What are Class E premises?
Class E will cover a broad range of uses including: retail, cafes and restaurants; financial and professional services; indoor sport and recreation; medical or health services (to visiting members of the public); crèche, day nursery and day centres, offices, research and development and light industrial.
What is e usage?
The New Use Class E: Commercial, Business and Service Anything from a bank to a bowling alley will be covered by Class E, and the owners of won’t have to get planning permission to change the use of their building.
How do I take the E restriction off my CDL?
You must visit the DMV and submit the application to remove the “E” Restriction and pay the proper fee. You will also need to retake again the Road Test (known as the Commercial Driving Test) on a truck with manual transmission. Makes sure to bring a manual transmission truck, the DMV will not provide one for you).
What is a Class E license in Missouri?
The for-hire license is also called the Class E driver’s license. Reasons for applying for a Class E driver’s license include driving for delivery, such as pizza or flowers, driving 14 passengers or fewer, or driving freight or merchandise. Applicants for the Class E driver’s license must be at least 18 years old.
What does E None mean on driver’s license?
Turns out “END” stands for “ endorsements,” which to the DMV translates into what other driving privileges we might have. For example, virtually all motorcycle riders would have an “M” there, telling a cop he or she is allowed to also ride motorcycles.
What is the Florida Class E knowledge exam?
The Class E Knowledge Exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions about Florida traffic laws, safe driving practices and identifying traffic controls. To pass, a customer must answer 40 out of 50 questions correctly, or score 80 percent.
At what age may a Florida resident obtain a Class E driver’s license?
Be at least 15 years old. Pass vision, road signs and road rules tests. Have the signature of one parent (or guardian) on the consent form if under age 18.
What are Category C and E vehicles?
A category C + E license is the most comprehensive HGV license you can hold. With this license, drivers can drive and handle a drawbar or articulated vehicle. The E part of the category C and E license stands for entitlement and means that the bearer can go up to or over 750kg in weight.
What is a Class A and B vehicle?
A class A license is considered the “universal” CDL, providing the opportunities for driving several different types of commercial trucks and tractor trailers. A class B license also allows operation of different types vehicles such as straight trucks and dump trucks, but it is more limiting than a class A CDL.
What Is a Class E License?
We can assist you with this. The BMV provides an Express Credential service, which allows you to receive your credential in as little as a few days. To Find Out More Some credentials can be renewed online, while others must be renewed in person at a branch location. Examine the qualifications necessary for each sort of certification. With a learner’s permit, Indiana residents may get some practice behind the wheel before applying for their driver’s license. Learn more about the prerequisites for acquiring a learner’s permit in this article.
Learn about the prerequisites for applying.
Do you have a valid driver’s license from another state or from a foreign country?
See an overview of the criteria for acquiring your driver’s license for the first time, renewing your license, or replacing your driver’s license.
- To identify particular operational power or to impose constraints on a driver’s authority to operate a motor vehicle, endorsements and restrictions can be placed on a credential (driver’s license, learner’s permit, or identity card).
- In order to determine if you have a driver’s license, learner’s permit, or identity card from another participating state, the BMV employs the State Pointer Exchange Service (SPEXS).
- Beginning on May 3, 2023, a driver’s license, permit, or identity card that complies with the Real ID Act will be needed to board commercial airlines and visit some federal sites.
- See the instructions on how to upgrade your license.
TL;DR (Too Long; Didn’t Read)
A Class E license is required for drivers of automobiles, trucks, vans, and other specialty vehicles who use their vehicles for both commercial and noncommercial reasons in the United States. This license can be either a conventional license in one state, as is the case in Florida, or it can be a specialized license for drivers of for-hire cars, as is the case in New York.
Definition of Class E License
When it comes to this licensing designation, there is no such thing as a one size fits all solution. A Class E license is required for drivers of automobiles, trucks, vans, and other specialty vehicles who use their vehicles for both commercial and noncommercial reasons in the United States. It can be a conventional license to drive in a single state, as it is in Florida, or a specific license for drivers of commercial vehicles, as it is in New York, depending on the jurisdiction. It is often used for passenger cars rather than commercial vehicles such as tractor trailers and other big commercial motor vehicles or school buses, which require a commercial driver’s license (CDL).
For further information on what a Class E license covers and how to obtain one, drivers in the states mentioned above should contact their local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office.
Florida Class E License Designation
A Class E driver’s license is the most common type of license in Florida for those who drive personal automobiles on a regular basis. Vehicles that weigh less than 26,001 pounds fall under this category, and they include:
- When it comes to driving personal automobiles in Florida, a Class E driver’s license is the most common option. Vehicles that weigh less than 26,001 pounds fall into this category, and they include the following models:
Drivers in the state of Florida who wish to get a regular driver’s license must meet the following requirements:
- Take and successfully finish drug and alcohol education classes. You must be at least 16 years old. Completion of a hearing and vision examination
- Pass a written examination as well as a driving test. Obtain identification and any other documentation necessary from the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) agency.
New York Class E License Designation
The Class E license in New York is intended for drivers who carry passengers in taxis, limos, and vans. When applying for a Class E license, a motorist must surrender their regular or Class D license to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles, which will then process the application (DMV). Driving exams for a normal license are not required to be retaken; instead, drivers must reapply for the Class E classification if they have previously passed the written, road, and eye examinations.
Drivers applying for a Class E license in the state of New York must meet the following requirements:
- Taxi, limousine, and van drivers in New York must hold a Class E license, which is issued by the state. The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles must be notified that a motorist has surrendered his or her regular or Class D license in order to get a Class E license (DMV). Driving exams for a standard license are not required to be retaken
- Instead, drivers must reapply for the Class E classification if they have previously passed the written, road, and visual examinations for the standard license. If you do not have a standard license, you will be required to take the necessary examinations. Class E license applicants in the state of New York are required to meet the following requirements:
- Pay the fees that the DMV has set forth. Considering that the department calculates these depending on the expiration date of the driver’s present license, the motorist will not be aware of the exact amount of costs until they attend their DMV appointment.
Louisiana Class E License Designation
Louisiana has many characteristics with Florida in terms of its Class E categorization, but its standards are different. In this basic license, drivers are permitted to operate personal cars weighing less than 10,000 pounds and agricultural vehicles owned and maintained by a farmer. As an endorsement, a motorbike license can be added to your driving record. Its prerequisites are as follows:
- Completion of a driving education course approved by the Louisiana Department of Public Safety is required. This comprises 30 hours of classroom instruction as well as eight hours of behind-the-wheel training.
- Six hours of pre-license instruction, as well as eight hours of behind-the-wheel instruction are required.
- Identification documentation, such as a birth certificate, current passport, or military identification
- Identification based on the driver’s Social Security card, a W-2 form, or an official printout or letter from the Social Security Administration
- Social Security number verification
- Identity verification with the use of a supplementary identification document
Candidates seeking a Class E license in Louisiana must first complete and pass a vision exam, a written test, and a road test before they may be issued a license. The applicant must also provide proof to the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) that their car registration and insurance are up to date, among other requirements. This license is valid for a period of six years.
Missouri Class E License Designation
In the state of Missouri, a Class E license is exclusively available for hire. People who desire one must meet the following requirements:
- Drive a vehicle that can transport 14 or less passengers, such as a shuttle driver
- Driver of a vehicle that transports merchandise on behalf of a company, such as a florist driver To operate a commercial vehicle for the transportation of freight or other commodities. The vehicle must have a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,000 pounds or less, and it must not be required to carry a placard for hazardous items.
In Missouri, some for-hire drivers are exempt from holding a Class E license. A commercial driver’s license is not required for individuals who operate a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of less than or equal to 12,000 pounds and transport people for a transportation network or taxi firm, as well as those who transport fast food or deli items. Passing the written exam, eye test, and road test are all required for drivers who want to get their Class E license. For drivers under the age of eighteen who currently hold a Class F or standard license, there is no need to take the road test for a Class E license; nonetheless, they must complete the requirements for a full license if they are under the age of eighteen.
New York State driver license types and classes
|ACommercial (CDL)||Age 21 or olderLegal presence in the United States||Most single unit vehicles and vehicle combinations up to legal weight limits depending on endorsements and restrictions.||H, M, N, P, S, T, W, X Commercial Learner Permit (CLP) Limited to: M, N, P, S, W|
|BCommercial (CDL)||Age 18 or olderLegal presence in the United States||Most single unit vehicles that a Class E driver can drive plus buses and trucks that have a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 26,001 lbs. or more depending on endorsements and restrictions.||H, M, N, P, S, W, X Commercial Learner Permit (CLP) Limited to: M, N, P, S, W|
|CCommercial (CDL)||Age 18 or olderLegal presence in the United States||Most single unit vehicles that a Class E driver can drive plus buses and trucks that have a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR)of 26,000 lbs. or less depending on endorsements and restrictions.||H, M, N, P, S, W, X|
|DOperator||Age 18 or over, or age 17 with Driver Education.|
- Passenger automobiles and trucks having a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 26,000 pounds or less
- And Towing a vehicle with a maximum gross weight of less than 10,000 pounds (for example, a trailer) is considered to be a towing vehicle. Is capable of towing a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) greater than 10,000 pounds, provided that the aggregate weight rating of the two vehicles is 26,000 pounds or less
- Motorcycles (mopeds) with a restricted use
- Vehicles that pull another vehicle (for example, a trailer) with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 3,000 lbs. or less
- Passenger cars and trucks with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 10,000 lbs. or less Motorcycles (mopeds) with a restricted use
- See the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Law and the restrictions on drivers under the age of 18 for further information.
|EFor-hire: Taxi, Livery, Limo||Age 18 or older||The same type of vehicles as Class D, plus for-hire vehicles that carry 14 passengers or less.||F, G, R, W|
|MMotorcycle||Age 18 or over, or age 17 with Driver Education. Can be combined with other Classes, for example Class DM||Motorcycles|
|MJJunior Motorcycle||Age 16-17 with Driver Education. Can be combined with Class DJ (DJMJ)||Motorcycles, with restrictions for drivers under age 18.Seethe Graduated Driver License (GDL) Law and the restrictions on drivers under age 18.|
Difference Between a Class D & Class E Florida Driver’s License
Class D licenses were phased out in Florida in 2005. Photograph courtesy of oneinchpunch/iStock/Getty Images The Class E driver’s license is the only type of non-commercial driver’s license that is still available in Florida.
Prior to 2005, there were two types of non-commercial licenses available in the state: class D and class E. An owner of a class E license is authorized to operate vehicles with a gross weight of less than 26,001 pounds, such as 15-passenger vans, recreational vehicles, and compact trucks.
Non-Commercial Driver’s Licenses
Class D licenses were abolished in Florida in 2005 as a result of a traffic safety statute. Originally, the class D license was meant for commercial drivers who were exempt from the need of holding a commercial driver’s license. This kind of license, often known as the chauffeur’s license, covered drivers of emergency vehicles and farmers who transported supplies or equipment within 150 miles of their farms. When Florida discontinued the class D application process, 20 examination questions that were previously exclusively asked of class D candidates were introduced to the class E application process.
Types of Driver’s Licenses: What Do They Mean?
While most people associate a driver’s license with standard two- or four-door automobiles, there are many other types of vehicles on the road that require a certain sort of driver’s license in order to operate. In actuality, the several sorts of driver’s licenses are arranged into classes that range from A through E, as well as specific versions such as MJ and DJ licenses. In the United States, the criteria for and types of driver’s licenses might differ somewhat from one state to the next.
Different Driver’s License Types
While most people associate a driver’s license with standard two- or four-door automobiles, there are many other types of vehicles on the road that require a certain sort of driver’s license in order to be used safely. In actuality, the many sorts of driver’s licenses are classified into classes that range from A to E, as well as specific versions such as MJ and DJ. It is also possible to find modest variations in the criteria for and types of driver’s licenses in different states around the United States.
Although it may seem strange to begin with a license that is in the middle of the alphabet, a Class D license is the most popular sort of driver’s license available. It is the most common type of vehicle on the road. People who have a valid Class D license can lawfully drive passenger automobiles, but it is less well-known that they can also legally drive trailers and towing vehicles that weigh less than 10,000 pounds if they have a valid Class D license. This can include hauling a boat, an RV, a landscaping trailer, and other similar items.
Junior License (DJ)
The Class DJ license is quite similar to a Class D license in many ways. The DJ license differs from state to state, although it is primarily intended for new or younger drivers who have recently completed their driver’s examination. When it comes to driver safety, it often includes stricter weight limitations, prohibitions on the use of hand-held devices, and even driving curfews during specific periods of the day.
Commercial Driver’s License (Class A, B, and C)
It is necessary to hold a commercial driver’s license in order to operate cars with a gross vehicle weight rating more than 26,000 pounds. In light of the distinctions between big commercial vehicles and conventional passenger vehicles, CDL training programs such as ours may assist in preparing people to operate these vehicles and give them with career training to become a professional truck driver. A CDL is divided into several classes, each of which differs in terms of weight and vehicle specifications.
A Class B commercial driver’s license has additional criteria that must be met.
Some people may opt to enroll in Class B driver’s license training in order to get more prepared for this sort of driver’s license. For people who intend to drive a vehicle with 15 or more passengers or carry hazardous material, a Class C commercial driver’s license is usually necessary.
Taxi and Livery (Class E)
Taxis were a key factor in most metropolitan regions prior to the introduction of Uber and Lyft. They are still popular today, despite the fact that they are not as visible, and drivers must have a specific license to operate one. Drivers must be at least 18 years old in order to operate these for-hire cars, however there is often a passenger capacity restriction.
Taxis were a key factor in most metropolitan regions prior to the arrival of ride-sharing services such as Uber and Lyft. They are still popular today, despite the fact that they are not as visible, and drivers must have a specific license to operate them. For-hire car drivers must be at least 18 years old, however there is often a limit on the number of passengers allowed in the vehicle.
- Our team, equipment, and ability to give hands-on professional tractor trailer and HVAC technician training are all backed by more than 50 years of career training expertise at NETTTS. For more information on new job training or upgrading your present abilities, contact your nearest school at (800) 333-2888 now.
SUBMIT A REQUEST FOR MORE INFORMATION
Classes begin soon, learn more!
When people talk about acquiring a Missouri driver’s license, they’re typically referring to the Class F driver’s license, which is the most basic type of license available. In actuality, there are multiple distinct sorts of licenses available for purchase. The state of Missouri offers four different types of licenses: a Class F license, a for-hire license, a motorcycle license, and a Commercial Driver’s License, sometimes known as a CDL license. When it comes to driver’s licenses, the Class F license is the one that most people think of when they talk about them.
- A Class F driver’s license also does not grant you the ability to operate a motorbike unless you pass a separate motorcycle driving exam.
- Drivers are eligible for this license after they reach the age of sixteen.
- All driving licenses are built on the foundation of these driving lessons.
- While we do not provide driving training for the following sorts of licenses, it is beneficial to be aware of them.
- The written test for this license includes questions from across the driver’s handbook, with a heavy emphasis on the Commercial Driver Licenses part of the guide.
- Drivers providing delivery services such as pizza or flowers, as well as those who transport 14 people or less, may be eligible for a Class E driver’s license.
- Class E driver’s license applicants must be at least 18 years old in order to be considered.
- Applicants must be at least 16 years old.
- The regulations governing a Class A, B, or C license are included in a separate handbook, and candidates are tested in accordance with the rules contained in the manual.
Applicants must be at least 18 years old to be considered for a CDL, and they must be at least 21 years old to be considered for a CDL with a hazardous materials or school bus endorsement.
What Are the Different Types of Driver’s License Classes?
When individuals talk about acquiring a Missouri driver’s license, they are typically referring to the Class F driver’s license, which is the most basic type of license available in Missouri. In actuality, there are numerous distinct sorts of licenses available to applicants. The state of Missouri issues four different sorts of licenses: a Class F license, a for-hire license, a motorcycle license, and a Commercial Driver’s License, sometimes known as a CDL license. Generally speaking, when people talk about driving licenses, they are referring to the Class F license.
- Unless you pass a separate motorcycle driving exam, a Class F driver’s license does not permit you to operate a motorbike.
- The driving test covers the general laws of the road.
- Driving instruction for student drivers in preparation for the Missouri Class F driver’s license is provided by our instructors.
- Call us at (314) 849-4590 or send us an email to arrange your driving lessons.
- It is sometimes referred to as a Class E driver’s license when it is used for hiring.
- As with a Class F driver’s license application, an applicant would need to possess all of the same knowledge as a Class F license.
- To be eligible for a Class E driver’s license, applicants must be at least eighteen years of age.
- It is required that applicants be at least sixteen years old.
- A separate handbook contains the regulations for obtaining a Class A, B, or C license, and candidates are tested in accordance with those standards.
Class M – Motorcycle
Driving a motorbike or moped requires a Class M driving license, which is available for purchase. Other motorized two-wheel vehicles that require an operator’s license are included in this category as well.
A Class M license may only be obtained by drivers who are at least 16 years old in the majority of states. Every state, on the other hand, has its own set of regulations governing the acquisition of a Class M license.
Class MJ – Junior Motorcycle
The Class MJ driver’s license, like the Class M license, is exclusively valid for motorized two-wheel vehicles such as motorcycles, mopeds, and other similar vehicles. However, it is only available to junior drivers, as indicated by the letter ‘J’. Aside from that, Class MJ permits are only available in the state of New York.
Class DJ – Junior Driver
Class DJ driver licenses are similar to Class MJ driver licenses in that they are exclusively issued to junior drivers under the age of twenty-one. They are not just for motorbikes, but for all passenger automobiles and trucks as well. The state of New York will require all underage drivers to receive one of these licenses at some point over the course of their driver’s license application process. Despite the fact that the licensing class has some limits, it is for many pupils their first experience driving on their own.
Class E – TaxiLivery
The majority of Class E licenses are awarded to persons who are 18 years old or older and want to operate in the taxi and livery industries. The designation of Class E driver’s license allows the holder to operate passenger automobiles, lorries, and big vans that can accommodate up to 14 passengers. Rider-hailing drivers are free from the Class E requirement in the majority of states, and will simply need to get a basic operators license in order to provide this service.
Class CClass D – Standard Driver’s License
If all you want to do is drive a conventional vehicle or truck around for school and work, a class D or class C license is most likely the best option for you. Depending on where you are in the country, the two can be used interchangeably rather easily. The average age varies depending on where you live. In jurisdictions such as Maine, drivers as young as 16 years old are able to apply for a driver’s license.
Class B – Buses and Recreational Vehicle
An operator’s license for buses and recreational vehicles (class B commercial driver’s license) is required. It also permits drivers to tow another car that does not weigh more than 10,000 pounds behind their own vehicle.
The class A license provides drivers with the advantages of both the class B and class C/D licenses. Distinct states have different criteria and processes for getting different types of driver’s licenses, and each state has a somewhat different approach. You are, however, permitted to own more than one if the situation calls for it. Whether you’re in the market for a new automobile, motorbike, or moped, be sure to read our guide to establish which license class is best for you before making your purchase.
You’ll have everything you need to ace your test.
Depending on the kind and weight of vehicles that may be driven by the individual to whom the license is granted, a Georgia Driver’s License is assigned a classification.
Explanation of Classes
When towing a vehicle, Class A (Commercial) refers to any combination of vehicles (power unit and trailer) with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more, provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed exceeds 10,000 pounds. This category includes automobiles classified as B and C. Exams in both knowledge and driving ability are necessary. Must be at least 18 years old, yet they are only permitted to drive on interstate highways until they reach the age of 21. Class B (Commercial) includes any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more, as well as any such vehicle pulling another vehicle weighing no more than 10,000 pounds.
Exams in both knowledge and driving ability are necessary.
Class CP (Permit)– This permit is available to any individual who is at least 15 years old and who passes a knowledge test as well as a vision assessment, as well as meeting the conditions for school enrolment.
Class C (Non-Commercial and Commercial) includes any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of not more than 26,000 pounds; or any such vehicle towing a vehicle with a GVWR of not more than 10,000 pounds; or any such vehicle towing a vehicle with a GVWR of more than 10,000 pounds, provided that the combination of vehicles has a gross combined vehicle weight rating of not more than 26,000 pounds; and any self-propelled or towed vehicle that is Three-wheeled vehicles with a steering wheel are included in this category.
Licences for Class C (Commercial) vehicles are provided only if the vehicle is meant to transport sixteen or more people (including the driver), or if the vehicle is being used to transport hazardous items in amounts that need the use of a placard for transportation.
Driver’s Education course consisting of classroom and hands-on training for Class C vehicles – available to 16-year-olds who have held a Class CP license for at least one year and one day; have not been convicted of any serious traffic violations; meet school enrollment requirements; and have completed a Driver’s Education course consisting of classroom and hands-on training.
It is necessary to pass a road test. Holders of a Class D license are restricted to the following restrictions:
- You are not permitted to operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m.
- During the first six months after issuance, you are not permitted to operate a motor vehicle with any passenger who is not a member of the driver’s immediate family (defined as the license holder’s parents and step-parents, grandparents, siblings and step-siblings, children, and any other person who lives at the license holder’s residence)
- During the second six months
A vehicle combination with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more, providing the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is greater than 10,000 pounds, is classified as Class E (non-commercial). This category includes cars classified in Classes F and C. When applying, you must be at least 18 years old, pass a knowledge and competence exam, and have a valid Class C driver’s license in your possession. Vehicles in Class F (non-commercial) have a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more, or they are towing another vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of not more than 10,000 pounds.
When applying, you must be at least 18 years old, pass a knowledge and competence exam, and have a valid Class C driver’s license in your possession.
Riders must be at least 16 years old and have completed the driver’s education program described for Class D license, or they must be 17 years old.
A person at least 21 years of age who is licensed for the class of vehicle being operated, who occupies the front seat alongside the driver, and who is fit and capable of exerting control over the vehicle are required to be present when a class A or B vehicle is driven.
- Mopeds – A moped is any motor-driven cycle with an engine with a cubic capacity of less than 50 cubic centimeters (3.05 cubic inches) that is capable of propelling the cycle at a speed of not more than 30 miles per hour (MPH) and does not need clutching or shifting. Mopeds are free from the requirements for registration and licensing that apply to other types of motor vehicles.
- The following are the rules for riding mopeds on Georgia’s roads and highways:
- Regulations for riding mopeds on Georgia’s roads and highways include the following provisions:
- A low-speed vehicle is any four-wheeled electric vehicle whose top speed attainable in one mile is greater than 20 miles per hour but not greater than 25 miles per hour on a paved level surface, and which is manufactured in accordance with the federal motor vehicle safety standards for low-speed vehicles set forth in 49 C.F.R. Section 571.500 and in effect on January 1, 2001
- The following are the rules for driving low-speed vehicles on Georgia roads and highways: Drivers of low-speed vehicles must follow the Uniform Rules of the Road, with the exception of those that cannot apply to such vehicles because of their nature:
- A lane is reserved for all low-speed vehicles, and no motor vehicle should be operated in such a way that any low-speed vehicle is denied the full use of a lane
- In order to avoid overtaking and passing in the same lane as the car being overtaken, a low-speed vehicle must be driven at a slower pace. It is unlawful for anybody to operate a low-speed vehicle across lanes of traffic, or between neighboring lines or rows of automobiles. The operation of low-speed vehicles in a single lane should not be done more than two abreast
- Low-speed vehicles are only permitted to be used on highways when the official speed limit does not exceed 35 miles per hour. When operating a low-speed vehicle on a highway with a stated speed limit greater than 35 miles per hour, the operator must comply with the following requirements:
Note that drivers of such cars must possess a current driver’s license.
Get a Non-Commercial Class E or F
- It must be managed and/or operated by the farmer, his or her family, or his or her staff
- And Farm equipment, farm machinery, and farm supplies must be utilized to move agricultural goods between farms or to and from farms. The business must be located within 150 miles of the farm. It is not permitted to operate as a common carrier (for profit or for trade/barter purposes)
Firefighter/ Emergency Vehicles
- It is required to be equipped with lights and a siren a vehicle required for the preservation of human life or property, or the conduct of emergency governmental operations. Be able to perform functions such as fire truck, hook and ladder truck, foam or water transportation truck, police special operations vehicle, or ambulance
- And When operating as an approved emergency vehicle, the vehicle must be exempt from all usual traffic restrictions. If the driver is accompanied by another person who is licensed to drive that class of vehicle, who is physically fit and capable of exercising control of the vehicle, and who is occupying a seat alongside the driver, the driver must operate the appropriate class of vehicle.
NOTE: Volunteer Firefighters may be able to receive their class E or F licenses for free if they meet certain qualifications.
- Volunteer Firefighters should go to a Customer Service Center and have the following items with them:
- Volunteer firemen must provide proof of current certification by completing and printing DDS FormDS-517 on business letterhead or by sending a letter from the Chief Executive Officer on company letterhead.
- Driver’s licenses in class E or F will be provided to volunteer firefighters for a period of eight years.
- Those in charge of the operation must be military personnel or civilians who are compelled to wear military uniforms.
- If a person is not needed to have a commercial driver’s license, but drives a Class A or B motor vehicle for one of the uses stated in the requirements and limits, the resident must get a non-commercial Class E or F driver’s license. There are no endorsements available for Class E or F driver’s licenses that are not used for business purposes.
Florida Driving Record
- Driver’s licenses for commercial and noncommercial vehicles, motorcycles, CDL exemptions, restrictions, and endorsements, as well as additional information including acronyms and abbreviations
Commercial Driver License (CDL)
Tractor/Trailer combinations with an actual weight, stated weight, or GVWR of 26,001 lbs. or more are classified as CLASS A, providing the towed vehicle has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than 10,000 lbs. CLASS B: Any single motor vehicle with an actual weight, stated weight, or gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 LBS or more, or any single motor vehicle towing a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 10,000 LBS or less. CLASS C: Any motor vehicle with an actual weight, declared weight, or gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of less than 26,001 LBS when endorsements “H” or “P” would be required on the driver license OR any combination of motor vehicles where the towing vehicle is less than 26,001 LBS when endorsements “H” or “P” would be required on the driver license.
The towing vehicle has a GVWR of 10,000 LBS or less, and the towed vehicle has a GVWR of 10,000 LBS or less, but the combined weight of the two vehicles is 26,001 LBS or more.
Non-Commercial Driver Licenses
CLASS D: Any truck or truck tractor with an actual weight, stated weight, or gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 8,000 lbs or more but less than 26,001 lbs, or with a width of more than 80 inches. An individual residing in Florida who currently possesses a valid chauffeur license may continue to operate cars for which a CLASS D driving license is required until the chauffeur license is no longer valid. Farmers and emergency vehicle operators are among those who are excluded from the law. CLASS E: Automobiles weighing less than 8,000 lbs.
- 16-year-olds are not permitted to drive between 11 p.m.
- unless they are accompanied by a 21-year-old licensed driver or are traveling to and from employment.
- CLASS E-Learner: Vehicles weighing less than 8,000 lbs.
- When a resident’s Florida learner license expires, he or she may continue to operate cars that require a CLASS E learner license until the license expires again.
- and 7 p.m.
- Once a learner’s license has been issued for three months, drivers with learner’s licenses may operate a vehicle from 6 a.m.
- with a licensed driver who is 21 years or older occupying the closest seat to the driver’s right at all times.
- It is not possible to operate a motorcycle under these conditions.
In the case of people who are permitted to operate a motorbike, the following abbreviation will be printed on the front of their driving license beneath the expiration date: IN ADDITION TO MOTORCYCLE OR MOTORCYCLE ONLY
The following individuals are excluded from the criteria for obtaining a commercial driver’s license in the state of California: Driving authorized emergency vehicles equipped with extraordinary audible warning devices that flash red or blue lights and who are on call to respond to emergencies; or Military personnel who are driving military vehicles; or Farmers transporting farm supplies or farm machinery, or transporting agricultural products to or from the first place of storage or processing, or transporting agricultural products directly to or from market, within 150 miles of their farm; or Drivers of recreational vehicles who are on the road because they are having a good time.
When an employee of a publicly-owned transportation system has been assigned to move automobiles solely for the sake of maintenance or parking, he or she is known as a restricted-access confinement employee.
|A. Corrective Lenses||P. Probation-Interlock Device|
|B. Outside Rearview Mirror||S. Other Restrictions|
|C. Business Purposes||T. No Passengers|
|D. Employment Purposes||X. Medical Alert Bracelet|
|E. Daylight Driving Only||Y. Education Purposes|
|F. Automatic Transmission||1. Vehicles Without Airbrakes|
|G. Power Steering||2. (CDL) Intrastate Only|
|I. Directional Signals||3. (CDL) Bus Only|
|J. Grip on Steering Wheel||4. CMV26,001 LBS. GVWR|
|K. Hearing Aid||5. No Tractor/Trailers|
|L. Seat Cushion||6. No Class A Passenger Vehicle|
|M. Hand Control or Pedal Extension||7. No Class B Passenger Vehicle|
|N. Left Foot Accelerator|
|H.||Any vehicle used to transport hazardous materials in placardable amounts.|
|N.||A tank vehicle designed to transport any liquid or gaseous material with designed capacity of 1,000 gallons or more.|
|P.||Any vehicles, public or private, designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver|
|T.||Combination vehicles with double/triple trailers|
|X.||Any tank vehicle used to transport placardable amounts of hazardous materials|
In order to operate the type of vehicle for which the exemption is given, a resident who is exempt (farmers/emergency vehicle operators) must have a Class D license with this endorsement, unless the operator already has a valid Florida chauffeur license.
Each of the 50 states will have their “CDL,” or “Commercial Driver License,” printed on the front of their CLASS A, B, and C licenses. All commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers, regardless of where they live, must hold the appropriate class of license granted by their state of residence on or after April 1, 1992.
|CDL||Commercial Driver License|
|CMV||Commercial Motor Vehicle|
|GVWR||Gross Vehicle Weight Rating|
|MTCY ALSO||Motorcycle Also|
|MTCY ONLY||Motorcycle Only|
***While the information on this website is thought to be correct, no guarantee can be given. In order to acquire comprehensive information, please contact the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles if you have any concerns or would like more information.
Classes of Driver Licenses
The following factors determine the class of a Texas driving license:
- The type of vehicle that is driven on a Texas highway
- The gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed, or the gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of the vehicles being hauled The maximum number of people that the vehicle can accommodate
To the extent that it is not banned by the Commercial Driver License Act, the owner of a valid driver license is permitted to operate any vehicles in the class for which the license was granted, as well as all smaller classes, with the exception of motorbikes.
Class of Non-Commercial Driver License
The following classes of driver licenses are granted: Class A, Class B, Class C, and Class M. Class A, B, C, and M driver licenses are issued to persons who are exempt from acquiring a commercial driver license (CDL) or who are not obliged to acquire a CDL. Individuals who are exempt from acquiring a CDL may nevertheless be required to obtain a Class A or B driving license if the kind of vehicle they drive fulfills the weight requirements for a Class A or B vehicle, as described in the following section.
- Those who operate recreational vehicles that are used for personal purposes
- There are certain farmers who satisfy specific requirements
- Cotton burrs and cotton seed module operators
- Cotton seed module operators Operator of a fire engine or other emergency vehicle Operators of military transport vehicles Vehicles that are owned, leased, or managed by an airline company.
Those that operate recreational vehicles that are used for personal transportation; There are certain farmers who satisfy specific requirements; cotton burrs or cotton seed module operators; cotton seed module operators operator of a fire engine or other emergency vehicle Operators of military vehicles Automobiles that are either owned, leased, or managed by an airline
|Class A||Authorizes an individual to drive:|
- A single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of at least 26,001 pounds
- A combination of vehicles with a combined gross vehicle weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the GVWR of the vehicle(s) towed is greater than 10,000 pounds
- A single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of at least 26,001 pounds
- A single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more that is towing a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less, or a farm trailer with a gross vehicle weight rating of 20,000 pounds or less
- In addition to the driver, a bus with a seating capacity of 24 people or more is defined as follows:
- A single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of at least 26,001 pounds If you’re towing an automobile with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more, and you’re not hauling a tractor trailer with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or more, you’re not allowed to use this category. In addition to the driver, a bus with a seating capacity of 24 people or more is defined as
|Class M||Authorizes an individual to drive a motorcycle.|
Class of Commercial Driver License (CDL)
a single vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or greater; A single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more that is towing a vehicle with a GVWR of not more than 10,000 pounds or a farm trailer with a GVWR of not more than 20,000 pounds; In addition to the driver, a bus with a seating capacity of 24 people or more is considered.
|Class A CDL||Authorizes an individual to drive any combination of vehicles with a GCWR of 26,001 pounds or more if the GVWR of the vehicle(s) towed exceeds 10,000 pounds.|
|Class B CDL||Authorizes an individual to drive any:|
- A single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of at least 26,001 pounds
- A single vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more that is towing a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of not more than 10,000 pounds
- Vehicle capable of transporting at least 24 passengers, including the driver
|Class C CDL||Authorizes an individual to drive any single vehicle or combination of vehicles that is not a Class A or B if the vehicle is:|
- Designated for a passenger capacity of 16 to 23 people, including the driver. In the transportation of hazardous chemicals, it is necessary to have a placard attached to the vehicle.
Driver License Classes
- 2-axle vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of no more than 26,000 pounds (lbs. )
- A three-axle vehicle with a gross weight of 6,000 pounds or less
- Housecar with a length of 40 feet or less
- Motorcycle with three wheels, two of which are in the front and two in the back
- Vehicle meant to transport more than ten people, but no more than fifteen people, including the driver
Although a vanpool driver may operate with a Class C license, he or she must also provide proof of the medical examination necessary for a Class B license when operating vanpool cars on public roads.
Keeping a statement signed under penalty of perjury in the vanpool vehicle stating that they have not been convicted of reckless driving, drunk driving, or hit-and-run in the previous five years is required under California Vehicle Code Section 12804.9(j).
- A single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 10,000 lbs. or less, including a tow dolly if one is employed
- If you have a vehicle that weighs 4,000 lbs. or more unloaded, you can tow the following:
- When towing is not for compensation, a trailer coach or fifth-wheel travel trailer under 10,000 lbs. GVWR is permitted
- A fifth-wheel travel trailer surpassing 10,000 lbs. but under 15,000 lbs. is permitted. When towing is not for profit and with endorsement, the GVWR should be considered.
- Vehicle combinations with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds or less, if they are employed purely in agricultural operations and not for hire or remuneration
- Class C licenses are not permitted to tow more than one vehicle. Towing more than one car is prohibited by law for any passenger vehicle, regardless of weight. A motor vehicle with an unladen weight of less than 4,000 lbs. may not tow a vehicle with a gross weight of more than 6,000 lbs. (CVC 21715(b))
Other classes of driver licenses/endorsements are:
- Commercial Class A
- Commercial Class B
- Commercial Class C
- Motorcycle Class M1
- Motorcycle Class M2
- Commercial endorsements:
- Doubles and triples
- Hazardous materials
- Passenger transportation
- Tank vehicle
- Driver’s license with ambulance endorsement, school bus endorsement, tow truck endorsement, driver’s license with transit training verification, driver’s license with ambulance endorsement, and firefighter endorsement are all available.
Driver’s license with ambulance endorsement, school bus endorsement, tow truck endorsement, driver’s license with transit training verification, driver’s license with ambulance endorsement, and firefighter endorsement are all required.
Driver’s License Class Codes – Pages
|Driver License Class||You May Drive:||You May Tow:||Exceptions|
|A||Any single combination of vehicles||Any trailer||MotorcyclesEndorsements may be required|
|B||Motor vehicles 26,001 or more pounds (GVW)||Trailers 10,000 pounds or less||Combination of Class F (tractor) and Class G (trailer) MotorcyclesEndorsements may be required|
|C||Motor vehicles under 26,001 pounds (GVW)||Trailers 10,000 pounds or less||MotorcyclesEndorsements required|
Endorsements for Commercial Driver’s License
|TPXS||All CDL Endorsements|
|S||School Bus Authorized|
|X||N and H Combined|
Classifications of Non-Commercial Driver’s Licenses
|Driver License Class||You May Drive:||You May Tow:||Exceptions|
|A||Any non-commercial vehicle||Any non-commercial trailer||Commercial Motor Vehicles Motorcycles|
|B||Any single or combination of non-commercial motor vehicles||Any non-commercial trailer||Commercial Motor Vehicles Motorcycles Combination of Class F (tractor) and Class G (trailer)|
|C||Any non-commercial combination of motor vehicles with a GVW less than 26,001 pounds||Any non-commercial||Commercial Motor Vehicles Motorcycles|
|M||Motorcycles||Motorcycle trailer||Commercial Motor Vehicles|
Codes of Restriction
|A||May not be used to purchase a firearm|
|C||Special brakes, hand controls or other (see restriction card)|
|E||Automatic Transmission or No Manual Transmission equipped CMV (Commercial Motor Vehicle)|
|G||Limited to Daylight Only|
|H||Limited (see restriction card)|
|I||Limited (see restriction card)|
|J||Other (see restriction card)|
|K||CDL Intrastate Only|
|L||No Air brake Equipped CMV (Commercial Motor Vehicles without airbrakes)|
|M||No Class A passenger vehicle|
|N||No Class A and B passenger vehicle|
|0||No Tractor-Trailer CMV (Commercial Motor Vehicle)|
|P||No Passengers in CMV (Commercial Motor Vehicle) bus|
|R||Warning – ID Theft Victim – Verfiy ID|
|T||Limit Term Temporary|
|U||Not Acceptable for Federal Purposes|
|X||No Cargo in CMV (Commercial Motor Vehicle) tank vehicle|
|Z||Organ Donor, Hearing/Speech Impaired or No Full air brake equipped CMV (Commercial Motor Vehicle without full airbrakes)|
Driver Licenses – Classes, Endorsements, and Restrictions
- The term “Class A” refers to any combination of vehicles having a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 11,794 kilograms (26,001 pounds) or more, providing the GVWR of the vehicle or vehicles being towed is greater than 4,536 kilograms (10,000 pounds). Class B — Any single vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 11,794 kilograms (26,001 pounds) or more, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle with a GVWR of not more than 4,536 kilograms (10,000 pounds). Group A and Group B are defined in this section as any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Group A or Group B as defined in this section, but that is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or that is used in the transportation of materials that have been determined to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which necessitates the placarding of the motor vehicle under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 1). Motorcycle
- Class M – Private Passenger
- Class V – Water Vessel
- Class D – Private Passenger, Regular Operator
- The letters T and X represent double and triple trailers, P and N represent passenger vehicles, H represents hazardous materials, and S represents school buses.
Old Restrictions(On applicable licenses issued before July 15, 2017):
- A – corrective lenses b – motor driven cycle d – outside mirror – left E – daytime only driving a – daytime only driving a – daytime only driving F — Controls with the hands
- G represents automatic transmission
- H represents right outside mirror
- I represents both right and left outside mirror
- And J represents right and left outside mirror. J – Hard of Hearing
- K – Hard of Hearing
- L – Hard of Hearing K denotes a vehicle without air brakes
- L denotes a vehicle with just power steering
- M denotes a vehicle with only power brakes. N – Pedals that have been built up
- O – Seat that has been built up
- P – Left Foot Accelerator
- Mechanical Signals are denoted by the letter R. Commerce within the state alone
- W – Intrastate Commerce Only Y stands for Learner’s Permit.
New Restrictions(On applicable licenses issued on or after July 15, 2017):
- In the case of a CMV, A stands for Corrective Lenses, B stands for Motor Driven Cycle, C stands for Daylight Driving Only, D stands for Outside Mirror – Left, and E is for No Manual Transmission CMV. F — Controls with the hands
- G is for Automatic Transmission
- H is for Right Outside Mirror
- I is for Left and Right Outside Mirrors
- J stands for Hearing Impaired
- K stands for Intrastate Only. L – CMV without an air brake system
- M indicates that there is no Class A passenger vehicle
- N indicates that there is no Class B passenger vehicle. O – There will be no tractor trailer CMV. P – No Passenger in CMV Bus (Only for CLP)
- P – No Passenger in CMV Bus (Only for CLP)
- Q – Only use power brakes
- Mechanical Signals are denoted by the letter R. T – Pedals that are built in
- U – Seat that is built in
- V – Medical Variance
- X – There is no cargo in the CMV tank (only for CLP)
- Y represents a learner’s permit
- Z represents a vehicle that does not have full air brakes.