“REST” is short for “Restricted”, and “B” is for Corrective Lenses (meaning glasses or contacts). Therefore, if someone’s license says “REST: B” they need to be wearing glasses or contacts to be able to legally drive.
- What does restr mean on license? A restriction on your driver license limits when you can drive or requires that you meet specific conditions when you drive. For example, the most common driver license restriction is the “corrective lenses” restriction.
What does rest b mean on Illinois drivers license?
c) A Type B restriction requires corrective eye lenses. This restriction is added when a person needs corrective eye lenses to meet visual acuity standards as provided in Section 1030.70. This restriction includes eye glasses and contact lenses in one or both eyes, pursuant to Section 1030.75.
How do I reinstate my suspended license in Nevada?
Generally, to reinstate your license you will need to:
- Satisfy court requirements, if applicable.
- File an SR22 or proof of insurance and maintain coverage for 3 years.
- You may also be required to take the vision, written and driving skills test.
What is restriction code?
Drivers are assigned with restriction codes that designate which type of vehicle they can operate. These are numbered from 1 to 8, and each code signifies the kind of vehicle you can drive. It is not a measure of driving skill. Restriction codes are based on the kind of vehicle and their Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW).
What does F restriction mean?
F restriction. Allows ONLY the operation of a motor vehicle equipped with both left and right outside rear view mirrors.
What does G mean on a driver’s license?
(a) The person has satisfactorily completed a driver education program that is approved by the department of transportation. Except as provided in subsection D of this section, a class G driver license entitles the licensee to drive a motor vehicle that requires a class G license on the public highways.
What does class D mean on Illinois drivers license?
Class D — Any motor vehicle with a GVWR of 16,000 pounds or less. Does not include A. B, C, L or M vehicles. Class L — Any motor-driven cycle with less than 150cc displacement.
How long does an accident stay on your driving record in Illinois?
In Illinois, for example, chargeable accidents come off your record after 4 to 5 years. If the accident resulted in a DUI conviction, however, it never comes off and counts against you for the rest of your life.
How much does it cost to reinstate a suspended license in Nevada?
The fee to reinstate Nevada driver’s licenses depend on why they were suspended. In general, the fee to reinstate a Nevada driver’s license following a DUI is $120 plus a $35 victim fee. For non-DUI cases, the Nevada DMV license reinstatement fee is $75.
Why is my license suspended in Nevada?
The Nevada DMV suspends driving privileges for various traffic offenses. Common ones include: Collecting 12 or more demerit points in a year. A first- or second-misdemeanor DUI arrest.
How do you check if your license is suspended in Nevada?
If the license holder does not request a DMV hearing in time (or at all), then the DMV will suspend the license on the date indicated in the letter. Additionally, people can always call the Nevada DMV at (702) 486-4368 to check on the status of their license.
Can restriction 1 drive a car?
1) Restriction 1: This allows you to ride motorcycles and tricycles of any engine displacement. But having a license that indicates only this restriction code prohibits the holder to operate cars and, more so, buses and trucks.
How many restrictions does a license have?
There are eight restrictions implemented by the LTO that you can find on your driver’s license. LTO has also implemented condition restrictions alongside vehicle restrictions.
Can restriction 2 drive a motorcycle?
If you have “1”, you can drive a motorcycle. If you have “2”, you can drive anything with 4 wheels (except trucks). Generally speaking, Restriction Code 2 will legally allow you to drive light commercial vehicles (LCVs) so long as you don’t exceed 4500 kilograms GVW, or Gross Vehicle Weight.
What does rest on my license mean? – SidmartinBio
“REST” is an abbreviation for “Restricted,” and “B” is an abbreviation for Corrective Lenses (meaning glasses or contacts). As a result, if someone’s driver’s license states “REST: B,” they must be wearing glasses or contacts in order to be able to drive lawfully.
How do you read a Florida driver’s license?
It is always necessary to have 13 digits on a Florida driver’s license: one letter followed by 12 numbers. The number is divided into five fields, which are as follows: xxxxxx – xxx – xx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – xxx – The first field contains the Soundex code (a letter and three digits) for the driver’s last name, which is entered in the second field.
Why do I have restriction B on my license Florida?
B = OUTSIDE REARVIEW MIRROR (LEFT SIDE) specifies that the vehicle in which the person is driving must be equipped with an outside rearview mirror on the left side of the vehicle. Only driving for employment purposes (D = EMPLOYMENT PURPOSES ONLY) denotes that the person can only drive to and from work.
What do the numbers on a Florida license mean?
Your driver’s license in Florida is printed with a single digit overflow number. Therefore, the last digit of your Florida license number represents the total number of individuals who had the same license number as you (ignoring the last two digits) when you obtained your license at the time of your application. The star signifies that your driver’s license complies with Real ID requirements.
What does 12 Rest mean on Florida drivers license?
An overflow number of one digit is printed on your driver’s license in the state of Florida. Thus, the last digit of your Florida license number represents the total number of people who had the same license number as you (ignoring the last two digits) at the time that you obtained your license. It is indicated with a star whether your license complies with Real ID requirements.
What does DD mean on Florida drivers license?
Discriminator is an acronym for Document Discriminator, which stands for Document Discriminator. Several states began including this piece of information on driver’s licenses a few years ago, and more are expected to follow. This is a security code that identifies the location and date on which the license was obtained. As a result, each card for a certain individual is individually identified by this method.
What do driving Licence numbers mean?
849339 – The year of birth is represented by the first and last numerals. The second and third digits reflect the month and day of the person’s birth. (Please note that in the case of female driving license holders, a digit is added to the second digit, resulting in a second digit of 5 or 6. The fourth and fifth digits represent the month and day of your birth, respectively.
What does rest a mean on a Florida driver’s license?
When it comes to Florida driver’s licenses, what does the term “rest a” mean? In the case of A = CORRECTIVE LENSES, a person is required to wear corrective lenses at all times when operating a motor vehicle. B = OUTSIDE REARVIEW MIRROR (LEFT SIDE) indicates that the vehicle in which the person is driving must be equipped with an outside rearview mirror on the left side of the vehicle.
When is a restriction placed on a driver’s license?
A limitation is imposed on the driver’s license of a person whose size, in the opinion of the examiner, makes it impossible for him or her to see out of the windows or reach the control pedals sufficiently while behind the wheel. This
Where can I find list of Florida drivers license restrictions?
There is a list of Florida drivers license restriction codes in the drivers license handbook, but you will need to contact the DMV directly if you want to find out how to remove a specific restriction code from your current license. You can find the DMV’s contact information in the drivers license handbook. Be aware, however, that this is not a comprehensive list of Florida driver license restriction codes.
What is on the front of a Florida drivers license?
The following personal identifying information may be found on the front of each Florida driver license and ID card: Individual’s photograph overlaid on a line drawing of the Florida State Seal; The number on your driver’s license or identification card; Type of license (for example, Class E); Names of family members and given names; cardholder’s address; and date of birth Sex;
Drivers License Restriction Codes TX
The state of Texas may impose limits on your driving privileges in order to ensure that the roadways are safe for everyone – including you and your passengers. When it comes to driving, there is always the possibility of being in a dangerous situation. If the DPS determines that you pose a particular risk due to the type of driving you do, they may decide that your license should be restricted.Don’t worry, most restrictions codes in Texas are temporary and can be lifted if you follow the proper procedures.
Many of these restrictions are only applicable to commercial drivers.
It is a component of the graded licensing scheme, which is intended to minimize teen driving deaths, which are the primary cause of death among those under the age of 25.
Provisional licenses contain many of the same restrictions as class B licenses, but they are automatically lifted after a year.
Restriction Codes Are as Follows:
- A: When using corrective glasses
- B: When a licensed driver 21 years of age or older is in the front seat
- C: When driving during the day only
- D: No more than 45 miles per hour
- E: No driving on the expressway
- F: You must have a valid learners permit till (date) to participate. I M/C: Not to be more than 250 cc. J: A licensed M/C operator who is at least 21 years old is in sight. K: A motorcycle
- L: Vehicle without air brakes – this classification applies to vehicles requiring a CDL. CDL Intrastate Commerce only
- M: CDL Intrastate Commerce only N: The use of an ignition interlock is necessary. Occupation-specific license
- P: This is stated on the license
- The following terms are used: Q: Licensed Operator in Front Seat (LOFS) 21 or over vehicle above Class B
- R: Licensed Operator in Front Seat (LOFS 21 or over vehicle above Class C)
- S: An external mirror or a hearing aid
- T stands for automatic transmission. U: Prosthetic devices that are applicable
- V: Vehicle devices that are applicable. Power steering is represented by the letter W.
How to Remove Restrictions from Your Drivers License
Each kind of limitation has its own set of requirements that must be met in order for it to be lifted. It is only with the passage of time that the condition of youth may be met, and those with permanent impairments will have to learn to live with a restricted license. Others, on the other hand, can meet the requirements with a little amount of effort and documentation. Using the example of Restriction T, which needs an automatic gearbox, it is possible to get the restriction lifted if the driver passes the Texas drivers test while properly using the clutch.
Similarly, if older drivers are able to improve their driving abilities via the use of a drivers ed course, they may be able to remove limitations such as D or E from their licenses by passing a test and getting re-authorized by the Department of Public Safety.
License Restriction Code
|2||Medical Log/ Glucose Required|
|A||Use with Certified Driving Instructor Only|
|B||Corrective Lenses||This restriction is required when the driver uses glasses, contact lenses, or bioptic telescopic lenses to operate a motor vehicle.|
|C||Mechanical Aid||This restriction is required when the driver needs a mechanical aid (such as hand controls, spinner knob, parabolic mirror, directional extender, etc.) to operate a motor vehicle. It must be added if so directed by a medical professional or Registry of Motor Vehicles Road Test Examiner. This restriction applies to all permit/license classes.|
|D||Prosthetic Aid / Personal Medical Aid||This restriction is required when the driver must wear a prosthetic aid. It must be added if so directed by a medical professional or Registry of Motor Vehicles Road Test Examiner. This restriction applies to all permit/license classes.|
|E||CMV Automatic Transmission||If the driver takes the Skills Test in a vehicle that has an automatic transmission, then an “E” no manual transmission restriction is placed on their license.|
|F||Outside Mirror||This restriction is required when so directed by a medical professional or a Registry of Motor Vehicles Road Test Examiner. This restriction applies to all permit/license classes.|
|G||Daylight Only||This restriction is required when the driver passes the vision screening test with between 20/50 – 20/70 distant visual acuity in either eye, with or without corrective lenses, and meets the horizontal peripheral field of vision standards, with not less than 120 degrees combined horizontal peripheral field of vision. This restriction applies to a Class D or Class M permit/license, or a Class D/M license only. A Commercial Driver’s License should be downgraded if this restriction is applicable.|
|H||Limited to Employment|
|I||JOL Limited / Other||This attribute is used for a variable that is not addressed by the previous attribute options.If this attribute is used, an explanation in the narrative is recommended.|
|K||CDL – Intrastate Only|
|L||CDL – Vehicles without Airbrakes||If the driver does not pass the Air Brakes Knowledge Test, does not correctly identify the air brake system components, does not properly conduct an air brake systems check, or does not take the Skills test in a vehicle with a full air brake system, the driver must have an “L” no full air brake restriction placed on their license.|
|M||CDL – Except Class A Bus||If a driver possesses a class A CDL, but obtains his or her passenger or school bus endorsement in a Class B vehicle the State must place an “M” restriction indicating that the driver can only operate Class B and C passenger vehicle or school buses.|
|N||CDL – Except Class AB Bus||If a driver possesses a Class B CDL, but obtains his or her passenger or school bus endorsement in a Class C vehicle; the State must place an “N” restriction indicating that the driver can only operate Class C passenger vehicles or school buses.|
|O||CDL – Except Tractor / Trailer||If the driver takes the Skills Test in a Class A vehicle that has a pintle hook or other non-fifth wheel connection, they will have an “O” restriction placed on their license restricting them from driving any Class A vehicle with a fifth wheel connection.|
|P||No Passengers in CMV Bus|
|Q||Class D Automatic Transmission|
|R||Bioptic Telescoping Lens||This restriction is required when the driver must wear eyeglasses with a bioptic telescopic lens when operating a motor vehicle. This restriction applies to Class D permits/licenses only.|
|S||Proof of Blood Sugar Level||This restriction is required when the customer must carry a glucose monitor, check blood sugar prior to driving, and have proof of blood sugar check (e.g. the log from a blood glucose meter) if requested by a law enforcement official. It must be added if so directed by a medical professional and the restriction is maintained by the Medical Affairs. This restriction applies to all permit/license classes. A Commercial Driver’s License will also have a W restriction or V restriction added.|
|T||Ignition Interlock||An ignition interlock device or breath alcohol ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer for an individual’s vehicle. It requires the driver to blow into a mouthpiece on the device before starting the vehicle.|
|U||3 Wheeled Motorcycle|
|V||Medical Variance||If the State is notified by the FMCSA that a medical variance has been issued to the driver, the State must indicate the existence of such a medical variance on the CDLIS driving record and the CDL document using a restriction code “V” to indicate that there is information about the medical variance on the CDLIS record.|
|W||Intrastate Medical Waiver|
|X||CDL – No Cargo in CMV Tanker|
|Y||Restrict to 14 Passenger Capacity|
|Z||CDL – Air Over Hydraulic||If the driver takes the test in a vehicle with an air over hydraulic brake system, then they will have a “Z” no full air brake restriction placed on their license. In either case the driver is not authorized to operate a CMV equipped with full air brakes.|
|97||Other||This attribute is used for a variable that is not addressed by the previous attribute options.If this attribute is used, an explanation in the narrative is recommended.|
|99||Unknown||If this attribute is used, an explanation in the narrative is recommended.|
License Restriction Codes
License and permit restrictions codes are provided below in alphabetical order according to the type of license being applied for.
|A||None (no restrictions)|
|B||Corrective Lenses Required|
|C||Vehicle mechanical Aids Required|
|D||Prosthetic Aids Required|
|F||Right Exterior Mirror Required|
|G||Daylight Hours Only|
|I||Left Exterior Mirror Required|
|J||Automatic Transmission Required|
|Q||No Passengers Allowed|
|S||Power Req, Brakes or Steering|
|U||Visually Impaired Parent or Driver= 21|
|W||Valid Farm Waiver Required|
|1||Bioptic lenses Required|
|E||No manual transmission-equipped CMV|
|K||Intrastate commerce only|
|L||No air brake equipped CMV|
|M||No Class A passenger buses|
|N||No Class A or B passenger buses|
|O||No Tractor Trailer CMV|
|X||No Cargo in CM tank vehicle|
|Y||Hearing Aid required|
|Z||No Full Air Brake|
|H||Employer vehicle only|
|LP2 with Interlock|
|2||Personal vehicle only|
- Employment, medical care, school, driver education, court-ordered driver improvement, the court system, probation, community service, and a drug and alcohol treatment program are all responsibilities. Meetings of groups for those who are addicted to or abusing alcohol, drugs, or both are scheduled on a regular basis. It should be noted that an Ignition Interlock device is necessary.
- Employment, medical care, school, court-ordered driver improvement, driver education, a drug and alcohol program, and scheduled meetings of groups for people with alcohol/drug addiction/abuse problems are all examples of responsibilities.
|5||Business purpose only|
|6||To and from medical-only|
|7||To and from school only|
|8||Ignition Interlock required|
|9||All except HV PL|
- Employment responsibilities, medical care/prescriptions, school/college, alcohol and drug treatment, and driver education are all covered. Driver improvement, court appearances, probation, and community service are all options. The transportation of unlicensed close family members for employment, education, medical appointments, or medications
Driver License Endorsements and Restrictions
In order to operate a certain type of commercial motor vehicle and transport specific commodities, you must obtain an endorsement. If you want to get an endorsement, you will need to take extra testing and, in certain situations, you will need to hold a commercial learner permit (CLP) for that endorsement for at least 14 days before being eligible to add it to your CDL. After February 7, 2022, further training, referred to as the Entry Level Driver Training, will be necessary. You can apply for the following sorts of endorsements, which are mentioned in the table below:
|H||Authorizes the transportation ofhazardous material(CDL only)|
|N||Authorizes the operation of a tank vehicle (CDL or CLP)|
|P||Authorizes the operation of a vehicle transporting passengers (CDL or CLP)|
|S||Authorizes the operation of aschool bus(CDL or CLP)|
|T||Authorizes towing two (double) or three (triple) trailers over a specified weight (CDL only)|
|X||Authorizes the operation of a combination of hazardous material and tank vehicle (CDL only)|
There is no limit to the number of restriction codes that can be placed on any sort of driver license, including commercial driver license. This is not intended to interfere with your driving, but rather to assist you in becoming a better driver. If you want to have a restriction code removed from your driver’s license, you need go to a driver licensing office. The following chart outlines the several sorts of limitations that can be imposed on a driver’s license:
|A||With corrective lenses|
|B||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat|
|C||Daytime driving only|
|D||Speed not to exceed 45 mph|
|E||No manual transmission equipped CMV|
|F||Must hold valid learner license to MM/DD/YY|
|G||TRC 545.424 applies until MM/DD/YY|
|H||Vehicle not to exceed 26,000 lbs. GVWR|
|I||Motorcycle not to exceed 250cc|
|J||Licensed motorcycle operator 21 or over in sight|
|L||No air brake equipped CMV|
|M||No Class A passenger vehicle|
|N||No Class A and B passenger vehicle|
|O||No tractor-trailer CMV|
|P||Stated on license|
|Q||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat (vehicle above a Class B)|
|R||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat (vehicle above a Class C)|
|S||Outside rearview mirror or hearing aid|
|U||Applicable prosthetic devices|
|V||Medical variance documents required|
|X||No cargo in CMV tank vehicle|
|Y||Valid Texas vision or limb waiver required|
|Z||No full air brake equipped CMV|
|P1||For Class M TRC 545.424 until MM/DD/YY|
|P5||To/from work/school or a licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat|
|P6||To/from work or a licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat|
|P7||To/from school or a licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat|
|P8||With telescopic lens|
|P9||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS 21), bus only|
|P10||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS 21), school bus only|
|P11||Bus not to exceed 26,000 GVWR|
|P12||Passenger CMVs restricted to Class C only|
|P13||A license driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) in vehicle equip with air brake|
|P14||Operation Class B exempt vehicle authorized|
|P15||Operation Class A exempt vehicle authorized|
|P16||If CMV, school buses (interstate)|
|P17||If CMV, government vehicles (interstate)|
|P18||If CMV, only transporting personal property (interstate)|
|P19||If CMV, transporting corpse/sick/injured (interstate)|
|P20||If CMV, privately transporting passengers (interstate)|
|P21||If CMV, fire/rescue (interstate)|
|P22||If CMV, intra-city zone drivers (interstate)|
|P23||If CMV, custom harvesting (interstate)|
|P24||If CMV, transporting bees/hives (interstate)|
|P25||If CMV, use in oil/water well service/drill|
|P26||If CMV, for operation of mobile crane|
|P27||HME Expiration Date MM/DD/YY|
|P28||FRSI CDL valid MM/DD/YY to MM/DD/YY|
|P29||FRSI CDL MM/DD/YY–MM/DD/YY or exempt B vehicles|
|P30||FRSI CDL MM/DD/YY–MM/DD/YY or exempt A vehicles|
|P31||Class C only; no taxi/bus/emergency vehicle|
|P33||No passengers in CMV bus|
|P34||No express or highway driving|
|P35||Restricted to operation of three–wheeled MC|
|P37||Occ/Essent need DL-no CMV–see court order|
|P38||Applicable vehicle devices|
|P39||Ignition Interlock required|
|P40||Vehicle not to exceed Class C|
Florida Driver Handbook
On every form of driver license or commercial driver license, a restriction code can be written on it. However, the goal is not for you to be a better driver, but rather to improve your driving skills. To get a restriction code removed from your driver’s license, you must go to the DMV office where it was issued. The sorts of limitations that can be imposed on a driver’s license are described in the table below.
2. The Florida Driver License
- 2.1. Define the terms
- 2.2. Who is required to have a Florida license
- 2.3. Who is not required to have a Florida license 2.4. Classified Driver Licenses in the State of Florida
- The following are the requirements for identification: 2.5
- And 2.7. Parental Consent for Minors. 2.7. Substance Abuse Education in the Context of Traffic Law
- Testing (section 2.8)
- Requirements for Physical and Mental Fitness 2.10 Codes for Restriction and Endorsement on Florida Driver’s Licenses 2.11 Military Service with Distinction
- 2.5.12 Sexual Offenders and Sexual Predators
- 2.6.13 Career Offenders
- 2.7.14 Voluntary Contributions
2.10.1 – Restriction Codes
The requirement to wear corrective glasses when operating a motor vehicle is known as the ACorrective Lenses requirement. BOutside Rearview Mirror (Left Side) indicates that the vehicle in which the person is driving must be equipped with an outside rearview mirror on the left side of the vehicle. The term “Business Purposes Only” refers to a driving privilege that is restricted to driving that is necessary to maintain one’s livelihood, such as driving to and from work, driving while on the job, driving for educational purposes, driving for church, and driving for medical reasons.
- A person who is only permitted to drive during daylight hours is referred to as an EDaylight Driving Onlyperson.
- GPower Steeringindicates that the individual must operate a car with power steering.
- If the car is provided with a knob or grip on the steering wheel, this indicates that the vehicle must also be equipped with this feature.
- In this case, the driver is required to use a seat cushion at all times while driving.
- It is required that the vehicle be equipped with a left foot accelerator if the term NLeft Foot Accelerator is used.
The term “Other Restrictions” refers to the fact that this license is subject to other restrictions. The term “Medical Alert Bracelet” refers to the fact that the individual is wearing a medical alert bracelet.
2.10.2 – Restriction Codes Appearing on Commercial Driver Licenses Only
- Vehicles without air brakes- issued to individuals who have not completed the appropriate written and/or abilities examinations for the operation of vehicles with air brakes
- Vehicles without air brakes Those who are permitted to operate commercial motor vehicles exclusively within the state of Florida will be awarded a CDL-Intrastate Only (CMV). Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) – granted to those who are only permitted to operate a commercial vehicle that is a bus
- CMV Gross Vehicle Weight Rating: 26,001 lbs
- No tractor/trailers
- No Class A Passenger Vehicles
- No Class B Passenger Vehicles V. CDL Medical Variance
- No Tractor/Trailers
- No Class B Passenger Vehicles
Drivers having a limitation on their license who do not adhere to the conditions of the restriction may be issued a citation for breach of restriction and their license may be suspended as a result of their actions. Except for violations of limitation code X, offenses of this nature are classified as second-degree misdemeanors.
2.10.3 – Endorsement Codes
These endorsements can be added to commercial driver licenses in the classes A, B, and C. Individuals who have passed the requisite written examinations and who will be transporting placarded hazardous items are granted the H Placarded Hazmat designation. People who have completed the requisite written examinations and will be driving tank vehicles are given the designation of N Tank Vehicles. People who have completed the requisite written and skills examinations and who will be driving passenger cars are assigned the letter P.
Passengers Drivers of double or triple tractor trailer vehicles who have passed the requisite written examinations will be given a T double or triple trailer license.
HazmatTank vehicles with X placards are granted to those who meet the requirements for endorsements H and N.
TITLE 92: TRANSPORTATIONCHAPTER II: SECRETARY OF STATEPART 1030 ISSUANCE OF LICENSESSECTION 1030.92 TITLE 92: TRANSPORTATIONCHAPTER II: SECRETARY OF STATE RESTRICTIONS Section 1030.92 of the Revised Statutes Restrictions are in place. If a driver services facility representative has the ability to set license limits, that person shall do so. Unless the limitation is due to a visual or hearing impairment, no additional restrictions may be imposed until the driving test, if one is necessary, has been administered.
b) b) Corrective eye lenses are required for people with Type B restrictions.
In accordance with Section 1030.75, this limitation covers the use of eyeglasses and contact lenses in one or both eyes in one or both eyes.
In order to operate a motor vehicle, a driver must employ one or more prosthetic aids (such as artificial legs, artificial hands, a hook on either the right or left arm, or a brace on each leg) while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs.
According to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (49 CFR 383.95(c), effective October 1, 2014), an automatic transmission restriction is imposed when a driver of a commercial motor vehicle uses an automatic transmission during the pre-trip, skills, and road portions of a commercial driver’s license test.
- A driver may be required to utilize both left and right rearview mirrors if the minimum peripheral criteria may be fulfilled by using just one eye in line with Sections 1030.70 and 1030.75 of the Motor Vehicle Safety Standards Act.
- This restriction is imposed when a driver’s binocular visual acuity does not reach the 20/40 minimum requirement set out in Section 1030.70(a), but is not worse than 20/70 as determined by the Department of Transportation.
- It is possible that a Type J limitation with proper numerical indicators has additional restrictions that are not stated in this Section.
- 2) IVC Section 6-106.2 authorizes the operation of a religious organization bus by a J02 driver who meets the requirements of the classification.
- It is possible that the driver holds a Class A, B, or C license and was driving a Class D vehicle for the religious organization bus test.
- Despite the fact that he drove a Class C vehicle for the religious organization bus test, he may also have a Class A or B license.
- IVC Section 6-106.3 states that the driver drives a vehicle that is only for the purpose of transporting older adults.
It is possible that the driver held a Class A, B, or C license when he or she took the senior citizen transportation vehicle exam in a Class D vehicle.
The driver took the senior citizen transportation vehicle exam in a Class C vehicle, although he or she may also have a Class A or B license, depending on the circumstances.
Driver who is 16 or 17 years old and who is entitled to operate either Class L motor-driven cycles or Class M motorcycles, as stipulated in IVC Section 6-103, is classified as J09 (2).
11) J11 Indicates that the driver took the road test on a three-wheel motorcycle (Class M) or a three-wheel motor-driven cycle (Class L) and that the driver is only permitted to operate a three-wheel cycle of the appropriate classification.
12) J14 13.
These unique limits may only be applicable when the applicant is driving that specific motor vehicle, according to the circumstances.
For the applicant to be granted permission to remove a particular limitation or drive another motor vehicle, he or she would be required to take another road test in the new vehicle.
15) J17 allows a person having a Class L or M motorcycle or motor driven cycle license to operate a motorcycle or motor driven cycle with rear wheel extensions while keeping a single front wheel on the vehicle.
17) J50 Farm Waived Non-CDL Farm Vehicle Driver FVD (only for Class A truck/tractor and semi-trailer combination vehicles).
Farm products, equipment, and supplies can be transported to and from a farm by using a truck/tractor semi-trailer, provided that it is utilized within 150 air miles of the farm and does not serve as a common or contract carrier’s vehicle.
Those who qualify may operate a truck/tractor, semi-trailer, or other agricultural vehicle to transport farm products, equipment, or supplies to or from a farm if the vehicle is used within this State or interstate within 150 air miles of the farm and is not used in the operations of a common carrier or contract carrier, respectively.
19) J60 Automatic Transmission When a driver is unable to operate a standard shift noncommercial vehicle due to the limited use of one or both arms and/or legs, an automatic transmission restriction is added to the vehicle.
21) J72 Out of country at the time of issuance A driver’s license issued to a driver who is temporarily residing outside of the United States of America at the time of the expiration of his or her driver’s license is known as a J72 license.
23) J74 Military deferral card issued at the expiration of the driver’s license to allow the licensee, spouse, and dependent children who are living with the licensee while on active duty serving in the Armed Forces of the United States outside the state of Illinois to have their licenses extended while in the military.
- Alternative modes of communication are required for J88 Deaf and Hard of Hearing.
- 27) J90 BAIID only needs the driver to operate motor vehicles equipped with a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) and no other vehicles (BAIID).
- j) A Type K limitation indicates that the driver is only permitted to operate a commercial motor vehicle inside the state.
- m) A Type N restriction indicates that a P endorsement is only valid in a vehicle classified as Class C or lower in classification.
- An exemption from a Type P restriction is provided by 49 CFR 383.153(b)(9), which allows a commercial learner’s permit holder to operate an automobile designed to transport passengers without any passengers aboard (October 1, 2014) .
- (October 1, 2014).
- In accordance with 49 CFR 383.153(b)(10), a Type Z restriction prohibits a commercial motor vehicle driver from operating a commercial motor vehicle equipped with an air over hydraulic braking system (October 1, 2014).
- 2) To challenge any other sorts of limitations that have been imposed on the driver’s license as a result of this Section, an appeal must be filed with the Department of Administrative Hearings in accordance with IVC Section 2-118.
3) In accordance with the Administrative Examination Law, the courts will conduct an additional review of any limitations imposed. (Source: 45 Ill. Reg. 732, effective December 23, 2020; amended at 45 Ill. Reg. 732, effective December 23, 2020)
Drivers License Classifications
It follows the definition of a Non-CDL license classification, together with the endorsements and limitations that appear on the operator licenses issued by the state of Connecticut. If you need more information about commercial driver licenses, check CDL categories, endorsements, and limits (in English). Driver’s License for Non-Commercial Use: Class D – Any motor vehicle that does not necessitate the use of a commercial driver’s license. Endorsements: Motorcycle is abbreviated as M. V= Vehicles for student transportation, which include activity vehicles, taxis, liveries, service buses, and motor coaches, among others.
- F stands for taxi, livery, service bus, and motor coach.
- B stands for Corrective Lenses.
- E stands for Automatic Transmission.
- G= Driving is only permitted during daylight hours.
- U = Requires the use of a hearing aid W = Medical Waiver Is Necessary Y = For the Purposes of Driving Only A Medical Certificate (MCSA-5876) must be on file with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in order to operate the following vehicle weights with a Class D license:
|Driving Intrastate||18,000 GVWR to 26,000 GVWR|
|Driving Interstate||10,000 GVWR to 26,000 GVWR|
What does rest a mean on a Florida driver’s license?
Having A = CORRECTIVE LENSESmeans that when operating a vehicle, a person is required to wear corrective glasses at all times. B = Exterior REARVIEW MIRROR (LEFT SIDE) indicates that the vehicle in which the person is driving must have an outside rearview mirror on the left side of the vehicle. G = POWER STEERINGindicates that the individual must operate a car with power steering. The state of Florida prints a single-digit overflow number on your driver’s license. Therefore, the last digit of your Florida license number represents the total number of people who had the same license number as you (ignoring the last two digits) at the time of your license issuance.
When you renew your driver’s license, the limitation on wearing corrective glasses will be lifted.
What does the term “Safe Driver” on a Florida driver’s license imply in this context?
When a motorist has no points on his or her driving record for the previous three-year period, he or she is designated as a safe – driver.
The year of birth is represented by the first and last numerals of the number 849339.
(Note: In the case of female driving license holders, the second digit is increased by a factor of 5, which implies that the second digit will be either 5 or 6.) The fourth and fifth numbers of your birthdate reflect the day and month of your birth.
Driver Licenses – Classes, Endorsements, and Restrictions
- The term “Class A” refers to any combination of vehicles having a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 11,794 kilograms (26,001 pounds) or more, providing the GVWR of the vehicle or vehicles being towed is greater than 4,536 kilograms (10,000 pounds). Class B — Any single vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 11,794 kilograms (26,001 pounds) or more, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle with a GVWR of not more than 4,536 kilograms (10,000 pounds). Group A and Group B are defined in this section as any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Group A or Group B as defined in this section, but that is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or that is used in the transportation of materials that have been determined to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which necessitates the placarding of the motor vehicle under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 1). Motorcycle
- Class M – Private Passenger
- Class V – Water Vessel
- Class D – Private Passenger, Regular Operator
- The letters T and X represent double and triple trailers, P and N represent passenger vehicles, H represents hazardous materials, and S represents school buses.
Old Restrictions(On applicable licenses issued before July 15, 2017):
- A – corrective lenses b – motor driven cycle d – outside mirror – left E – daytime only driving a – daytime only driving a – daytime only driving F — Controls with the hands
- G represents automatic transmission
- H represents right outside mirror
- I represents both right and left outside mirror
- And J represents right and left outside mirror. J – Hard of Hearing
- K – Hard of Hearing
- L – Hard of Hearing K denotes a vehicle without air brakes
- L denotes a vehicle with just power steering
- M denotes a vehicle with only power brakes. N – Pedals that have been built up
- O – Seat that has been built up
- P – Left Foot Accelerator
- Mechanical Signals are denoted by the letter R. Commerce within the state alone
- W – Intrastate Commerce Only Y stands for Learner’s Permit.
New Restrictions(On applicable licenses issued on or after July 15, 2017):
- In the case of a CMV, A stands for Corrective Lenses, B stands for Motor Driven Cycle, C stands for Daylight Driving Only, D stands for Outside Mirror – Left, and E is for No Manual Transmission CMV. F — Controls with the hands
- G is for Automatic Transmission
- H is for Right Outside Mirror
- I is for Left and Right Outside Mirrors
- J stands for Hearing Impaired
- K stands for Intrastate Only. L – CMV without an air brake system
- M indicates that there is no Class A passenger vehicle
- N indicates that there is no Class B passenger vehicle. O – There will be no tractor trailer CMV. P – No Passenger in CMV Bus (Only for CLP)
- P – No Passenger in CMV Bus (Only for CLP)
- Q – Only use power brakes
- Mechanical Signals are denoted by the letter R. T – Pedals that are built in
- U – Seat that is built in
- V – Medical Variance
- X – There is no cargo in the CMV tank (only for CLP)
- Y represents a learner’s permit
- Z represents a vehicle that does not have full air brakes.