B. Corrective Lenses. This restriction is required when the driver uses glasses, contact lenses, or bioptic telescopic lenses to operate a motor vehicle.
What does this drivers license restriction mean?
- A restriction on your driver license limits when you can drive or requires that you meet specific conditions when you drive. For example, the most common driver license restriction is the “corrective lenses” restriction.
What is AB restriction on a Texas driver license?
Restriction Codes Are as Follows: A: With corrective lenses. B: A licensed driver 21 years of age or older must be in the front seat. C: Daytime only.
Does a restriction B on a Texas drivers license mean anything if you are over 21?
A “B” Restriction in Texas means a licensed driver 21 or older must be in the right hand seat. Individuals may apply for an endorsement to be placed on their driver license.
What is AB restriction on a Maine driver’s license?
Restriction Codes: B: Corrective lenses must be worn. C: Mechanical Aid.
What is AB restriction on an Oregon driver’s license?
Restrictions on Driving Privileges (2) B Restriction — Corrective Lenses — When a person uses corrective lenses to meet the vision standards as set forth in OAR 735-062-0050. (3) F Restriction — Outside Mirror — When a person has no usable vision in the person’s left eye.
How do I remove a restriction B on my Texas drivers license?
The B restriction in Texas is a provisional “learners” permit. It requires a fully licensed driver to be in the front passenger seat. This restriction usually means you have only taken the written test portion of the exam and will be removed when you successfully pass the driving portion of the exam.
How do I remove K restrictions from my CDL?
To remove this restriction you may have to pass an air brakes written test, the pre-trip inspection, as well as the basic skills and driving tests with a vehicle that has a full or partial brake system.
How do I know if my license is suspended in Maine?
The Maine BMV will mail you a suspension/disqualification notice when your CDL is suspended or pending suspension. For specific information about your suspended license, refer to your suspension notice or contact the Maine BMV at (207) 624-9000.
Can you drive barefoot in Maine?
Driving While Barefoot: LEGAL If you come off the beach and start driving barefoot, that’s cool, no law broken. But you can be held responsible if you’re barefoot-ness causes you to lose control or be distracted while driving. Have some shoes handy.
How late can a 17 year old drive in Maine?
While considered a valid driver’s license, a license issued to a minor holds certain restrictions for the first 270 days. The holder is not permitted to drive between midnight and 5 a.m. and cannot transport any non-family member passengers unless accompanied by an authorized supervisor.
What are the rules for a 16 year old driver in Oregon?
You cannot drive between midnight and 5:00 AM unless you are:
- Driving between home and work.
- Driving between home and a school event for which there is no other transportation available.
- Driving for employment purposes.
- Accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 25 years old.
Why does my Oregon license say provisional?
The first step toward obtaining a driver’s license in Oregon is obtaining a Provisional Instruction Permit. The permit is available to drivers between 15 and 17 years old and allows them to practice driving while accompanied by a licensed driver, at least 21 years of age, in the front passenger seat.
What does restriction J mean on a Washington state driver’s license?
restriction J means you, ” Can’t operate a motor vehicle in the statewithout a monitoring device capable of immobilizing the vehicle when equipped with an approved version of a properly-calibrated, state-registered breathalyzer.”
Drivers License Restriction Codes TX
The state of Texas may impose limits on your driving privileges in order to ensure that the roadways are safe for everyone – including you and your passengers. Motor vehicles have the potential to be harmful at any time, and if the DPS determines that you pose a particular risk due to the type of driving you undertake, they may decide that your license should be limited. It is not need to be concerned because most Texas limitations codes are just temporary and may be removed if you do the necessary measures.
Many of these are only applicable to commercial drivers.
It is a component of the graded licensing scheme, which is intended to minimize teen driving deaths, which are the primary cause of death among those under the age of 25.
Provisional licenses are subject to many of the same criteria as class B licenses, however they are automatically revoked after one year of use.
Restriction Codes Are as Follows:
- A: When using corrective glasses
- B: When a licensed driver 21 years of age or older is in the front seat
- C: When driving during the day only
- D: No more than 45 miles per hour
- E: No driving on the expressway
- F: You must have a valid learners permit till (date) to participate. I M/C: Not to be more than 250 cc. J: A licensed M/C operator who is at least 21 years old is in sight. K: A motorcycle
- L: Vehicle without air brakes – this classification applies to vehicles requiring a CDL. CDL Intrastate Commerce only
- M: CDL Intrastate Commerce only N: The use of an ignition interlock is necessary. Occupation-specific license
- P: This is stated on the license
- The following terms are used: Q: Licensed Operator in Front Seat (LOFS) 21 or over vehicle above Class B
- R: Licensed Operator in Front Seat (LOFS 21 or over vehicle above Class C)
- S: An external mirror or a hearing aid
- T stands for automatic transmission. U: Prosthetic devices that are applicable
- V: Vehicle devices that are applicable. Power steering is represented by the letter W.
How to Remove Restrictions from Your Drivers License
Each kind of limitation has its own set of requirements that must be met in order for it to be lifted. It is only with the passage of time that the condition of youth may be met, and those with permanent impairments will have to learn to live with a restricted license. Others, on the other hand, can meet the requirements with a little amount of effort and documentation. Using the example of Restriction T, which needs an automatic gearbox, it is possible to get the restriction lifted if the driver passes the Texas drivers test while properly using the clutch.
Driver License Endorsements and Restrictions
In order to operate a certain type of commercial motor vehicle and transport specific commodities, you must obtain an endorsement. If you want to get an endorsement, you will need to take extra testing and, in certain situations, you will need to hold a commercial learner permit (CLP) for that endorsement for at least 14 days before being eligible to add it to your CDL. After February 7, 2022, further training, referred to as the Entry Level Driver Training, will be necessary. You can apply for the following sorts of endorsements, which are mentioned in the table below:
|H||Authorizes the transportation ofhazardous material(CDL only)|
|N||Authorizes the operation of a tank vehicle (CDL or CLP)|
|P||Authorizes the operation of a vehicle transporting passengers (CDL or CLP)|
|S||Authorizes the operation of aschool bus(CDL or CLP)|
|T||Authorizes towing two (double) or three (triple) trailers over a specified weight (CDL only)|
|X||Authorizes the operation of a combination of hazardous material and tank vehicle (CDL only)|
There is no limit to the number of restriction codes that can be placed on any sort of driver license, including commercial driver license. This is not intended to interfere with your driving, but rather to assist you in becoming a better driver.
If you want to have a restriction code removed from your driver’s license, you need go to a driver licensing office. The following chart outlines the several sorts of limitations that can be imposed on a driver’s license:
|A||With corrective lenses|
|B||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat|
|C||Daytime driving only|
|D||Speed not to exceed 45 mph|
|E||No manual transmission equipped CMV|
|F||Must hold valid learner license to MM/DD/YY|
|G||TRC 545.424 applies until MM/DD/YY|
|H||Vehicle not to exceed 26,000 lbs. GVWR|
|I||Motorcycle not to exceed 250cc|
|J||Licensed motorcycle operator 21 or over in sight|
|L||No air brake equipped CMV|
|M||No Class A passenger vehicle|
|N||No Class A and B passenger vehicle|
|O||No tractor-trailer CMV|
|P||Stated on license|
|Q||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat (vehicle above a Class B)|
|R||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat (vehicle above a Class C)|
|S||Outside rearview mirror or hearing aid|
|U||Applicable prosthetic devices|
|V||Medical variance documents required|
|X||No cargo in CMV tank vehicle|
|Y||Valid Texas vision or limb waiver required|
|Z||No full air brake equipped CMV|
|P1||For Class M TRC 545.424 until MM/DD/YY|
|P5||To/from work/school or a licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat|
|P6||To/from work or a licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat|
|P7||To/from school or a licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat|
|P8||With telescopic lens|
|P9||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS 21), bus only|
|P10||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS 21), school bus only|
|P11||Bus not to exceed 26,000 GVWR|
|P12||Passenger CMVs restricted to Class C only|
|P13||A license driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) in vehicle equip with air brake|
|P14||Operation Class B exempt vehicle authorized|
|P15||Operation Class A exempt vehicle authorized|
|P16||If CMV, school buses (interstate)|
|P17||If CMV, government vehicles (interstate)|
|P18||If CMV, only transporting personal property (interstate)|
|P19||If CMV, transporting corpse/sick/injured (interstate)|
|P20||If CMV, privately transporting passengers (interstate)|
|P21||If CMV, fire/rescue (interstate)|
|P22||If CMV, intra-city zone drivers (interstate)|
|P23||If CMV, custom harvesting (interstate)|
|P24||If CMV, transporting bees/hives (interstate)|
|P25||If CMV, use in oil/water well service/drill|
|P26||If CMV, for operation of mobile crane|
|P27||HME Expiration Date MM/DD/YY|
|P28||FRSI CDL valid MM/DD/YY to MM/DD/YY|
|P29||FRSI CDL MM/DD/YY–MM/DD/YY or exempt B vehicles|
|P30||FRSI CDL MM/DD/YY–MM/DD/YY or exempt A vehicles|
|P31||Class C only; no taxi/bus/emergency vehicle|
|P33||No passengers in CMV bus|
|P34||No express or highway driving|
|P35||Restricted to operation of three–wheeled MC|
|P37||Occ/Essent need DL-no CMV–see court order|
|P38||Applicable vehicle devices|
|P39||Ignition Interlock required|
|P40||Vehicle not to exceed Class C|
What is restriction AB on Texas driver’s license?
|A||With corrective lenses|
|B||Alicensed driver21 years of age or older must be in the front seat|
|C||Daytime driving only|
|D||Speed not to exceed 45 mph|
LOFS is an abbreviation for Licensed Operator in Front Seat. According to the Texas Driver’s Handbook, restrictionB stipulates that drivers must be at least 21 years old. That is, you must have a licensed operator in the front seat with you who is at least 21 years old. In the same way, why do I have a limitation B on my driver’s license? BA Corrective lenses are lenses that are used to correct vision problems. If a person’s eyesight does not satisfy the minimum levels of acceptable vision specified in NAC 483.341, the driver’s license of that person will be restricted to driving solely with the assistance of corrective glasses.
If you are over the age of 21, does the limitation B on your Texas driver’s license indicate anything?
What is the procedure for removing a limitation B off my Texas drivers license?
It is necessary for the front passenger seat to be occupied by a fully licensed driver.
License Restriction Codes
License and permit restrictions codes are provided below in alphabetical order according to the type of license being applied for.
|A||None (no restrictions)|
|B||Corrective Lenses Required|
|C||Vehicle mechanical Aids Required|
|D||Prosthetic Aids Required|
|F||Right Exterior Mirror Required|
|G||Daylight Hours Only|
|I||Left Exterior Mirror Required|
|J||Automatic Transmission Required|
|Q||No Passengers Allowed|
|S||Power Req, Brakes or Steering|
|U||Visually Impaired Parent or Driver= 21|
|W||Valid Farm Waiver Required|
|1||Bioptic lenses Required|
|E||No manual transmission-equipped CMV|
|K||Intrastate commerce only|
|L||No air brake equipped CMV|
|M||No Class A passenger buses|
|N||No Class A or B passenger buses|
|O||No Tractor Trailer CMV|
|X||No Cargo in CM tank vehicle|
|Y||Hearing Aid required|
|Z||No Full Air Brake|
|H||Employer vehicle only|
|LP2 with Interlock|
|2||Personal vehicle only|
- Employment, medical care, school, driver education, court-ordered driver improvement, the court system, probation, community service, and a drug and alcohol treatment program are all responsibilities. Meetings of groups for those who are addicted to or abusing alcohol, drugs, or both are scheduled on a regular basis. It should be noted that an Ignition Interlock device is necessary.
- Employment, medical care, school, court-ordered driver improvement, driver education, a drug and alcohol program, and scheduled meetings of groups for people with alcohol/drug addiction/abuse problems are all examples of responsibilities.
|5||Business purpose only|
|6||To and from medical-only|
|7||To and from school only|
|8||Ignition Interlock required|
|9||All except HV PL|
- Employment responsibilities, medical care/prescriptions, school/college, alcohol and drug treatment, and driver education are all covered. Driver improvement, court appearances, probation, and community service are all options. The transportation of unlicensed close family members for employment, education, medical appointments, or medications
Texas Drivers License Restrictions: Codes, Provisional Curfew
The Department of Public Safety may opt to impose one or more restrictions on your Texas drivers license in order to improve the overall safety of your driving. Some of the Texas driver’s license limitations are only temporary, and they can be lifted by passing further examinations or satisfying the standards established by the Department of Public Safety (DPS). Provisional driver’s license limits in Texas are an example of temporary limitations, since they are eliminated after the licensee has met all of the criteria for a graduated license in the state of Texas.
Texas Drivers License Restriction Codes
Here is a list of the Texas driver’s license restriction codes that are included in the official Texas drivers license manual (PDF). Because the handbook is amended and republished every year, you should always refer to the most recent edition of the manual.
- B LOFS must be 21 years or older
- C only during the day
- D not to exceed 45 miles per hour
- E no highway driving
- I M/C should not be more than 250 cc
- J Licensed M/C Operator of at least 21 years of age in the vicinity
- CDL Intrastate Commerce only
- P Stated on license
- K Moped
- L Vehicle without air brakes (applicable to vehicles needing a CDL)
- M CDL Intrastate Commerce only
- P Q LOFS 21 or higher vehicle above Class B
- Q LOFS 21 or higher vehicle above Class B
- Vehicle above Class C
- R LOFS 21 or higher
- S Outside mirror or hearing aid
- T Automatic transmission
- R LOFS 21 or higher U Prosthetic devices that are applicable
- V Vehicle devices that are applicable
- W Power steering
C Daytime only; D Not to exceed 45 MPH; E No expressway driving; B LOFS must be above the age of 21; C No more than 250 cc of I M/C is permitted. The presence of at least one Licensed M/C Operator age 21 or older K Moped; L Vehicle without air brakes – applicable to vehicles needing a CDL; M CDL Intrastate Commerce only; P Stated on license; P Stated on license; P Stated on license vehicle above Class B; Q LOFS 21 or greater vehicle; Q LOFS 21 or greater vehicle; Q LOFS 21 or greater vehicle; Vessels above Class C that have LOFS 21 or above are designated as S.
S Outside mirrors or hearing aids are designated as T Automatic transmission.
Texas Provisional License Restrictions
As part of the Texas graduated driver’s license scheme, provisional driver’s license limitations are in place. Those who get a driver’s license before the age of eighteen should be aware of these limits, while those who are already above the age of eighteen should not be concerned about them. Teenagers should be aware that the limits on a provisional license are distinct from the restrictions on a Texas drivers permit that are applicable to your Texas drivers permit. In Texas, the following temporary licensing limitations are in effect at the time of writing:
- Curfew. Between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m., you are not permitted to drive. Any journey you are compelled to undertake during this time must be monitored in the same way that any learners permit holder must be supervised. Passenger restrictions are in effect. You are not permitted to transport more than one person who is under the age of 21 unless the passenger is a member of your immediate family. Cell phones are becoming increasingly popular. The limits on using a mobile phone while holding a temporary driving license are the same as those for a learners permit.
However, you may be required to violate these licensing limits in specific circumstances; however, this is only permitted in emergency cases. In the event that you violate these regulations without a compelling justification, you will lose your driving privileges in a short period of time.
Removing License Restrictions
You may be required to violate these license limitations in specific circumstances; however, this is only permitted in extreme circumstances. In the event that you violate these regulations without a compelling justification, you will lose your driving privileges within a short period of time.
LOFS 21 or Over
If you have a Texas driver’s license, this is one of the most prevalent limitations you may encounter. Accordingly, there is an extremely long list of LOFS restriction subtypes that prevent some vehicle classifications from being operated at all. If you have a LOFS 21 or Over limitation on your drivers license, the rationale is pretty simple: you are a student who does not have adequate experience for operating a specific type of vehicle and who requires supervision, making your drivers license more of a “learners license.” It is required that another driver with an unrestricted drivers license that permits for the operation of this vehicle type be present in the front seat next to you while you are driving.
- This driver will be offering direction and ensuring that you are doing the correct thing.
- Unsupervised driving is permitted under some types of LOFS limitations if the motorist is traveling to or from a certain destination, such as to or from school.
- Now that you know what LOFS stands for on a driver’s license, how do you go about getting rid of it for good?
- A little more effort will be required to get your LOFS 21 or older limitation removed off your Texas drivers license than simply calling the DPS office nearest you would.
- As a result of the wide variety of LOFS limitations, the circumstances for eliminating them may vary.
Are you unsure of the requirements for your license? Instead, phone or visit the DPS in person, and they will be able to clarify the situation for you; nevertheless, do not anticipate the limitation to be lifted immediately after your visit!
Driver Licenses – Classes, Endorsements, and Restrictions
- The term “Class A” refers to any combination of vehicles having a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 11,794 kilograms (26,001 pounds) or more, providing the GVWR of the vehicle or vehicles being towed is greater than 4,536 kilograms (10,000 pounds). Class B — Any single vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 11,794 kilograms (26,001 pounds) or more, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle with a GVWR of not more than 4,536 kilograms (10,000 pounds). Group A and Group B are defined in this section as any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Group A or Group B as defined in this section, but that is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or that is used in the transportation of materials that have been determined to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which necessitates the placarding of the motor vehicle under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 1). Motorcycle
- Class M – Private Passenger
- Class V – Water Vessel
- Class D – Private Passenger, Regular Operator
- The letters T and X represent double and triple trailers, P and N represent passenger vehicles, H represents hazardous materials, and S represents school buses.
Old Restrictions(On applicable licenses issued before July 15, 2017):
- A – corrective lenses b – motor driven cycle d – outside mirror – left E – daytime only driving a – daytime only driving a – daytime only driving F — Controls with the hands
- G represents automatic transmission
- H represents right outside mirror
- I represents both right and left outside mirror
- And J represents right and left outside mirror. J – Hard of Hearing
- K – Hard of Hearing
- L – Hard of Hearing K denotes a vehicle without air brakes
- L denotes a vehicle with just power steering
- M denotes a vehicle with only power brakes. N – Pedals that have been built up
- O – Seat that has been built up
- P – Left Foot Accelerator
- Mechanical Signals are denoted by the letter R. Commerce within the state alone
- W – Intrastate Commerce Only Y stands for Learner’s Permit.
New Restrictions(On applicable licenses issued on or after July 15, 2017):
- In the case of a CMV, A stands for Corrective Lenses, B stands for Motor Driven Cycle, C stands for Daylight Driving Only, D stands for Outside Mirror – Left, and E is for No Manual Transmission CMV. F — Controls with the hands
- G is for Automatic Transmission
- H is for Right Outside Mirror
- I is for Left and Right Outside Mirrors
- J stands for Hearing Impaired
- K stands for Intrastate Only. L – CMV without an air brake system
- M indicates that there is no Class A passenger vehicle
- N indicates that there is no Class B passenger vehicle. O – There will be no tractor trailer CMV. P – No Passenger in CMV Bus (Only for CLP)
- P – No Passenger in CMV Bus (Only for CLP)
- Q – Only use power brakes
- Mechanical Signals are denoted by the letter R. T – Pedals that are built in
- U – Seat that is built in
- V – Medical Variance
- X – There is no cargo in the CMV tank (only for CLP)
- Y represents a learner’s permit
- Z represents a vehicle that does not have full air brakes.
Endorsements and Restrictions
To identify particular operational power or to impose constraints on a driver’s authority to operate a motor vehicle, endorsements and restrictions may be placed on a credential (driver’s license, learner’s permit, or identity card). Chart for Converting Restriction Codes
An MDC endorsement is added to an ID card in order to allow the holder to operate a Motorized Cycle. The MDC knowledge exam must be passed by the applicant and the applicant must be at least 15 years old in order to have this endorsement added to their ID card.
Endorsement L – Motorcycle Endorsement
Providing documentation of completion of a Ride Safe Indiana motorcycle safety training course OR passing both the motorcycle knowledge exam and the motorcycle skills exam are required in order to add a motorcycle endorsement to your Indiana driver’s license. Learn more about the motorbike endorsement by visiting their website.
Endorsement 2 – For Hire – Non-CMV Only
When applying for a motorcycle endorsement on your Indiana driver’s license, you must either present documentation of successful completion of a Ride Safe Indiana motorcycle safety training course OR pass both the motorcycle knowledge examination and the motorcycle skills examination. Learn more about the motorbike endorsement by visiting the website listed below.
When driving, the driver is required to wear glasses or contact lenses.
Restriction C – Mechanical Aid (Adaptive Devices)
When a learner’s permit or driver’s license holder states that they are driving with the use of a mechanical aid (special brakes, hand controls, spinner/steering knob, or other adaptive devices), the limitation C is applied to the permit or license.
Restriction D – Prosthetic Aid
In the case of a learner’s permit or driver’s license, the limitation D is applied when the motorist specifies that they use a prosthetic device and that they desire for the device to show on their learner’s permit or driver’s license.
Restriction F – Outside Rearview Mirror
When driving, the driver is required to utilize an outside rearview mirror. According on the findings of the visual exam performed at the time of application, this restriction may only be imposed to and withdrawn from learner’s permits and driver’s licenses in certain circumstances.
Restriction G – Daylight Driving Only
The motorist is only permitted to use his or her vehicle during daytime hours. According on the findings of the visual exam performed at the time of application, this restriction may only be imposed to and withdrawn from learner’s permits and driver’s licenses in certain circumstances.
Restriction H – M/C Three Wheel Bike Only
When the motorcycle skills examiner states on the motorcycle skills exam results that the examination was passed on a three wheel motorbike, the limitation H is applied to a driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement. Upon successful completion of a standard motorcycle skills exam or completion of an approved motorcycle safety course, the driver will be able to ride without limitation once more.
Restriction J – Other
A restriction J is placed on a driver’s license when the license holder’s driving privileges are restricted in some way due to their driving abilities or a recommendation from the Department of Motor Vehicles.
There may be requirements for a driver to comply with one or more of the following restrictions:
- In addition to the accompanying driver, the following services are available: annual drive skills exam, annual medical review, automatic transmission, biennial vision screening, bioptic lenses, annual drive skills exam, or annual vision screening. Spot mirrors mounted on the fender
- Used solely for training purposes
- Less than 5, 10, or 20 miles from home
- Must adhere to medication regimen
- No interstate or highway driving
- Power steering
- Training purposes/night evaluation
Learner’s permit holders are required to adhere to all existing state rules, including those governing the ages and number of vehicle occupants, when practice driving can begin, and driving limits based on the time of day.
Restriction S – M/C with Side Car Only
When the motorcycle skills examiner states on the motorcycle skills exam result that the examination was passed on a motorbike with a side vehicle, the limitation S is applied to a driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement. Upon successful completion of a standard motorcycle skills exam or completion of an approved motorcycle safety course, the driver will be able to ride without limitation once more.
Restriction 2 – Habitual Traffic Violator (HTV) Conditional
The presence of a Restriction 2 implies that the motorist is subject to breathalyzer (alcohol) testing if asked by a law enforcement official while driving. In addition, the driver is prohibited from operating a motor vehicle if his or her blood alcohol concentration is 0.02 or above. When applying for a credential, the driver will be asked to sign an affidavit stating that he or she has agreed to submit to blood alcohol testing in the future.
Restriction 3 – Photo Exempt
It is possible that this limitation will be imposed on a driver’s license or learner’s permit if the client requests that the license or permit be photo-exempt due to religious or medical concerns, among other things. An identity card is restricted when a consumer specifically wants a photo-exempt identification card for religious reasons solely, in which case the card is restricted. A motorist must visit a BMV branch and have his or her photo taken in order to obtain a new driver’s license, learner’s permit, or identity card in order to have the exemption removed.
Restriction 5 – Conditional
When driving privileges are confined to the limitations of a court order providing specialized driving privileges, this restriction is placed on a driver’s license and is effective immediately. A valid SR22 is needed to be on file with the BMV for the period of the specialized driving privileges awarded by a court. If specialized driving privileges are granted by a court, an effective SR22 is required to be on file with the BMV. A copy of the court order granting specialized driving rights must be kept in the vehicle in which the person with a Restriction 5 is operating.
The driver must also have a valid driver’s license with a Restriction 5 on it that has been granted by the state.
Restriction 6 – Ignition Interlock Device
When there is probable cause to believe that a driver was operating a vehicle while intoxicated prior to conviction, a court may order the use of an ignition interlock device in lieu of a suspension for a driver who has been convicted of operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated or in lieu of a suspension. According to the court or Indiana legislation, the limitation will be in effect for a certain amount of time.
A driver’s license restriction will be automatically deleted from his or her driving record when the motorist applies for an updated or renewed driver’s license after the restriction has expired.
Restriction 7 – Seat Belt Exempt
It is necessary for an individual to produce to a BMV branch a physician’s declaration indicating that the individual should not be required to wear a seat belt while driving. The declaration must be written on the letterhead or prescription form of the physician’s office. It is necessary to obtain a fresh doctor’s statement each time the certification is renewed. Visiting a BMV branch and certifying that he or she is no longer exempt from wearing a seat belt will be sufficient to lift the limitation on driving privileges.
Individuals re-applying for their credentials who do not offer a physician’s note confirming that they are exempt from wearing seat belts will have the limitation removed from their credentials.
Restriction 8 – Medical Condition
It is necessary for an individual to produce to a BMV branch a physician’s declaration declaring that the individual should not be required to wear a seat belt while traveling. Statements made on the letterhead or prescription form of the physician’s office are not acceptable. Each time a credential is renewed, a new doctor’s statement is required to be submitted. Visiting a BMV branch and certifying that he or she is no longer exempt from wearing a seat belt will be sufficient to lift the restriction on driving.
Upon renewal of a credential, if the individual fails to present a physician’s statement verifying that he or she is exempt from wearing a seat belt, the limitation will be lifted.
Restriction 9 – Temporary Lawful Resident
If you have a credential with this limitation, it means that the bearer of that credential has temporary legal status in the United States. Before receiving a secure credential, the individual must show identification and legal status documentation to the credentialing authority.
How do I remove restriction B from my license?
Instructions on how to get around a driver’s license limitation for corrective lenses (B Restriction) Toremovetherestriction In order to renew your license, you must first pass a vision exam with 20/40 or better vision in either or both eyes without corrective lenses, and then you must have your vision care checked. Instructions on how to get around a driver’s license limitation for corrective lenses (B Restriction) Toremovetherestriction In order to renew your license, you must first pass a vision exam with 20/40 or better vision in either or both eyes without corrective lenses, and then you must have your vision care checked.
- The following are the restriction codes: A: With the use of corrective lenses, of course.
- C: Only available throughout the day.
- Apart from that, why do I have a limitation B on my driver’s license?
- Most of the time, the B limitation will be lifted once you have finished the required driver’s education courses and achieved the age of seventeen.
What does the letter t on a driver’s license indicate exactly? T- It is not permitted to transport persons for rent. This means that you are not permitted to operate a taxi, limousine, or TNC (rideshare) car for hire.
License Classes, Endorsements & Designations
In this class are noncommercial motor vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of less than 26,001 pounds, which includes automobiles and vans that seat 15 people or fewer, trucks, and recreational vehicles, as well as two or three wheel motor vehicles with a capacity of 50cc or less, such as mopeds or small scooters. CLASS E: (See the section below.) Those who are exempt from acquiring a commercial driver’s license, such as farmers and drivers of certified emergency vehicles, must obtain a Class E driver’s license instead.
- Unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat, or unless the driver is traveling to or from work, 16 year olds are only permitted to drive between the hours of 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. The driving hours for 17-year-olds are restricted to between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m. unless they are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat, or the driver is commuting to or from employment.
Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of less than 8,000 pounds are classified as Class ELearner’s License.
- Must have a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old in the closest seat to the driver’s right
- Can only drive during daylight hours for the first three months following the initial issuance date and until 10:00 p.m. after that
- And Are not permitted to operate motorbikes during this time period.
MOTOCYCLE ALSO or MOTOCYCLE ONLY will show on the front of a driver’s license under the expiration date for people who are permitted to operate a motorcycle: MOTORCYCLE ALSO or MOTOCYCLE ONLY Qualifications in the past If you have a motorcycle license, the following abbreviation will show on the front of your driving license under the expiration date: “MOTORCYCLE ALSO,” “MOTORCYCLE ONLY,” or something similar.
The introduction of a new credential Unlike on the current Florida driver license, which will be accessible in certain regions starting in August 2017, the new credential will not have motorcycle endorsements shown on the front of the license.
Motorcycle Only endorsements are denoted by a ” O ” in the endorsement field (“END”).
For additional information on how to earn a motorcycle endorsement, please visit this page.
Important information and help for military servicemembers and their families may be found on this website.
Commercial Driver Licenses (CDL)
trucks or truck combinations weighing 26,001 lbs. or more and having a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 26,001 lbs. or more, as long as the towed vehicle weighs more than 10,000 lbs. Straight trucks weighing 26,001 lbs. Gross Vehicle Weight Rating or more are classified as CLASS B. Transportation of placardable quantities of hazardous chemicals or vehicles designed to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver, with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of less than 26,001 lbs are classified as Class C vehicles.
The following individuals are excluded from the criteria for obtaining a commercial driver’s license in the state of California:
- The following drivers are exempt: drivers of authorized emergency vehicles equipped with extraordinary audible warning devices that flash red or blue lights and who are on call to respond to emergencies
- Or, military personnel driving military vehicles
- Or, farmers transporting farm supplies or farm machinery, or transporting agricultural products to or from the first place of storage or processing, or directly to or from market, within 150 miles of their farm
- Or, drivers of recreation vehicles.
Driver License Restrictions, Endorsements and Designations
|Current Restriction Codes to New Restriction Codes Conversion|
|Current Standard||Added to driver licenses prior to 2019||New Standard||Added to driver license on or after 2019||Explanation|
|1||Vehicle W/O Air Brakes||L||No Air Brake Equipped CMV||(CDL) Vehicles without Air brakes: Restricts a CDL holder from operating any commercial vehicle with air brakes.|
|2||(CDL) Intrastate Only||K||CDL Intrastate Only||(CDL) Intrastate Only: The CDL holder is limited to operating a commercial vehicle within the state of Florida.|
|3||(CDL) Bus Only||N/A||No longer issued as of 10/06/17|
|4||CMV26,001 LBS GVWR||N/A||No longer issued as of 10/06/17|
|5||No Tractor / Trailer||O||No Tractor – Trailer CMV||(CDL) No Tractor/Trailer: Restricts a CDL holder from operating a Class A tractor-trailer vehicle.|
|6||No Class A Passenger Vehicle||M||No Class A Passenger Vehicle||(CDL) No Class A Passenger Vehicle: Restricts a Class A CDL holder from operating Class A passenger vehicles.|
|7||No Class B Passenger Vehicle||N||No Class A or B Passenger Vehicle||(CDL) No Class B Passenger Vehicle: Restricts Class A or Class B CDL holders from operating Class B passenger vehicles.|
|A||Corrective Lenses||B||Corrective Lenses||Corrective Lenses: The driver must wear contact lenses or glasses to meet vision requirements.|
|B||Outside Rearview Mirror||F||Outside Mirror||Outside Rearview Mirror: An outside rearview mirror must be affixed to the left side of any vehicle driven by a driver with this restriction.|
|C||Business Purpose Only||1||Business Purposes Only||Business Purposes Only: The driver is limited to driving which is necessary to maintain livelihood, including driving to and from work, necessary on-the-job driving, driving for educational purposes, driving to and from church, or for medical purposes.|
|D||Employment Purposes||H||Limited to Employment||Employment Purposes Only: The driver is limited to driving to and from work and any necessary on-the-job driving required by an employer or occupation.|
|E||Daylight Driving Only||G||Limited to Daylight Only||Daylight Driving Only: The driver is limited to daylight driving only.|
|F||Automatic Transmission||4||No Manual Transmission||Automatic Transmission: The driver is restricted from operating a standard transmission vehicle.|
|G||Power Steering||5||Power Steering||Power Steering: The driver is limited to operating vehicles with power steering.|
|I||Directional Signals||6||Directional Signals||Directional Signals: The driver may not operate any vehicle without functioning turn signals.|
|J||Grip on Steering Wheel||7||Grip on Steering Wheel||Grip on Steering Wheel: The driver is limited todriving a vehicle that has a grip or knob affixed to the steering wheel|
|K||Hearing Aid||9||Hearing Aid||Hearing Aid: This restriction is placed on a commercial driver license (CDL) and requires the driver to wear a hearing aid during the operation of a vehicle.|
|L||Seat Cushion||N/A||No longer issued as of 10/06/17|
|N||Left Foot Accelerator||8||Left foot Accelerator||Left Foot Accelerator: The driver is required to use a left foot accelerator.|
|P||Probation Interlock Device||2||Probation Interlock||Probation-Ignition Interlock Device: The driver is limited to operating a vehicle that has an ignition interlock device installed.|
|R||Restricted||N/A||No longer issued as of 10/06/17|
|T||No Passenger on Motorcycle||N/A||No longer issued as of 10/06/17|
|S||Other Restriction||I||Limited Other Restriction||Other Restriction|
|X||Medical Alert Bracelet||3||Medical Alert Bracelet||Medical Alert Bracelet: The driver must wear a medical alert bracelet while operating a motor vehicle.|
|Y||Educational Purposes||N/A||No longer issued as of 10/06/17|
|Q||No Class A School Bus Vehicle|
|R||No Class A or B School Bus Vehicle|
A number of limitations on Florida driver licenses have been lifted, including the following:
- Seat Cushion
- No Passengers on Motorcycle
- Education Purposes
- (CDL) Bus Only
- CMV26,001 LBS. GVWR
- Seat Cushion
It is only for educational purposes that there are no passengers on the motorcycle. The CMV has a GVWR of 26,001 lbs. There are no passengers on the motorcycle and it is only for educational purposes that it is used.
|A||A–MTRCL Also||Motorcycle Also: Allows a rider, holding a valid Florida driver license, to operate a motorcycle, in addition to any other motor vehicles for which they are already licensed.|
|H||H–HazMat||(CDL) Placarded HazMat: Allows a CDL holder to operate a vehicle transporting hazardous materials in placardable amounts.|
|N||N–Tanker||Tank Vehicle: Allows CDL holder to operate a tank vehicle designed to transport any liquid or gaseous material with designed capacity of 1,000 gallons or more.|
|O||O–MTRCL Only||Motorcycle Only: Specifies that a rider is restricted to operating a motorcycle only.|
|P||P– 15 Passengers||(CDL) Passengers: Allows a CDL holder to operate any vehicle, public or private, designed to transport more than 15 persons, including the driver.|
|S||S–School Bus||(CDL) School Bus: Allows a CDL holder to operate a commercial motor vehicle designed to transport pre-primary, primary or secondary school students from home to school, from school to home, or to and from school-sponsored events. This endorsement does not include the operation of a bus used as a common carrier.|
|T||T–Dbl/Trpl Trailers||(CDL) Combination Vehicle with Double/Triple Trailers: Allows a CDL holder to operate vehicles with double or triple trailers.|
|X||X–HM+Tanker||(CDL) Endorsement H and N: Allows a CDL holder to operate any tank vehicle and/or transport|
Designations Other designations may be mentioned on Florida driver licenses and identification cards in a variety of places.
License Types & Restrictions
In Pennsylvania, driver’s licenses are given based on the class and kind of vehicle that you operate, rather than your age. So the sort of driver’s license you need relies on the type of car you drive, and not the other way around. In general, the vast majority of people who apply for a Pennsylvania driver’s license will be drivers of normal passenger automobiles, pickup trucks, or vans, according to statistics.
Classes of Driver’s Licenses
- When it comes to driver’s licenses in Pennsylvania, they are given based on the kind and class of vehicle you operate. As a result, the sort of driver’s license you should hold is determined by the type of vehicle you operate. Most applicants for a Pennsylvania driver’s license will be regular passenger vehicle operators, such as those who drive sedans, pickup trucks, or vans, according to statistics.
According to Section 1512 of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code, the Department has the authority to impose driving restrictions that are appropriate for the licensee’s driving ability when special equipment is required to be installed on a motor vehicle or when other restrictions are necessary to ensure the safe operation of a motor vehicle. Medical Restrictions and how they are applied: 1 -When driving, the license holder is required to wear corrective lenses (glasses or contacts). Two mirrors on either side of the vehicle are required for compliance with this requirement.
In order to operate a vehicle equipped with dual controls (right side brake pedal), a permit holder must have a licensed driver trainer in the passenger seat at all times.
Commercial Driver’s Licenses
- CLASS A (minimum age 18): A Class A license is issued to those individuals who have demonstrated their qualifications to operate any combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the gross vehicle weight rating of the vehicle or vehicles being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds, and who have demonstrated their qualifications to operate any combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more. Holders of Class A licenses are permitted to operate cars for which a Class B or Class C license has been given. It is necessary to secure suitable endorsements when they are required. Classes A and B licenses are issued to those who have demonstrated their qualifications to operate any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more, or any such vehicle towing another vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 10,000 pounds, and who are at least 18 years old. It is possible for the bearer of a Class B license to operate cars for which a Class C license has been given. It is necessary to secure suitable endorsements when they are required. Classes A and B vehicles are exempt from the requirement for a Class C license. A Class C license is issued to individuals 18 years of age or older who have demonstrated their qualifications to operate any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of not more than 26,000 pounds or any combination of vehicles, except combination vehicles that include motorcycles, that does not meet the definition of a Class A or Class B vehicle. It is necessary to secure suitable endorsements when they are required.
NOTE:To operate a Commercial Motor Vehicle on an interstate highway, you must be 21 years of age or older, whichever is greater (traveling between two or more states). This applies to ALL levels of education.
Commercial EndorsementsThe following authorizations are required when operating vehicles of the type listed:
H- Permits the driver to operate a vehicle that is transporting hazardous chemicals on public roads. N- Approves the use of tank vehicles. P- Approves the operation of vehicles transporting people.
Drivers of school buses are given the authority to operate them under the letter S. T- Permits a Class A driver to tow double and triple trailers with one vehicle. An X represents a combination of approvals for hazardous chemicals and tank vehicles.
You are not permitted to operate the following types of vehicles due to the following restrictions: A- Restricts the motorist to only driving in accordance with 49 CFR 391.62(c) (relating to limited exemptions for intra-city zone drivers). Driving a commercial motor vehicle with a manual transmission is prohibited under Section E of the Code of Criminal Procedure. G- Indicates that the individual meets the requirements of 49 CFR 391.62. (e). K– Restricts the driver’s ability to drive only within the state.
Driving a class A passenger vehicle is prohibited under M*.
(This was previously a “C” restriction) Truck tractor-trailer combination driving is prohibited for Class A drivers under the code O.
Q- Requires the driver to use corrective lenses while behind the wheel.
X– Prohibits the transportation of cargo by tank vehicles (will appear on commercial learner permit only).
Z– It is unlawful to operate a commercial motor vehicle with fully compressed air brakes.