Restriction T, for example – which requires an automatic transmission – can be lifted if the driver passes the Texas drivers test with proper use of the clutch.
- A restriction on your driver license limits when you can drive or requires that you meet specific conditions when you drive. For example, the most common driver license restriction is the “corrective lenses” restriction. What does restriction t mean on driver’s license? You can only ride motorcycles that are 400ccs or under.
What restriction T means?
T – Right Outside Mirror. U – Uncoded Restriction. W – 3-Wheel Motorcycle Only. Y – Left Outside Mirror. Z – More than 5 Restrictions.
What does restriction t mean on driver’s license in NJ?
R – Bus Mechanics – No Passengers. M – Motorcycle. T – Class Provisional Auto. F – Moped.
How do I remove corrective lens restrictions from my license NJ?
Will the MVC remove the vision restriction? Yes. An online screening report should be submitted. If the report indicates that the driver does not need corrective lenses, the MVC will remove the restriction from the driver’s record and send the driver a notice confirming the change.
What does restriction a mean on driver’s license in Ohio?
Restriction A Motor Driven Cycle Class A A Class A restriction is applied to a driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement when the skills examiner indicates on the motorcycle skills exam results that the driver passed the skills exam on a Motor Driven Cycle Class A. Ohio 3 Day Temp Tag riskmania.
What does restriction 1 mean on a driver’s license NJ?
Drivers License Restriction Codes 1- Corrective lenses required. 2- Prosthetic device. 3- Mechanical device. 4- Hearing impaired.
Can you drive alone at 17 in NJ?
The student must be at least 17 years of age to take the NJ road test. When a student passes their NJ road test, they will receive a probationary NJ drivers license. That means they can drive alone from 5:01 am – midnight. They may only have one passenger, unless a parent or guardian is in the vehicle.
What is the penalty for driving after 11pm in NJ?
May not drive between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. Face a fine of $100 for a violation under the GDL THE GDL IS A THREE STAGE LICENSING PROCESS THAT IS DESIGNED TO GIVE NEW DRIVERS INCREASED, STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTION AND DRIVING EXPERIENCE ON THE ROAD TO OBTAINING A BASIC DRIVER LICENSE.
What does BJ mean on driver’s license?
B. Corrective Lenses. This restriction is required when the driver uses glasses, contact lenses, or bioptic telescopic lenses to operate a motor vehicle. C. Mechanical Aid.
How do I remove corrective lens restrictions from my license in Maryland?
How can I have my driving restriction removed? You may inquire about removing a restriction in person or by mail, fax, or e-mail to the MVA division or branch office that imposed the restriction. The Request For Removal of Alcohol/Drug Restriction, Form DC-226 is available to use when you submit your inquiry.
What does restriction BJ mean on a driver’s license Maryland?
After having my Maryland State driver’s license suspended, it was reinstated with a code J “ alcohol restriction ”. A DUI alcohol restriction prevents you from driving with alcohol in your system. It does not prevent you from drinking at a bar or restaurant.
Can restriction 1 drive a car?
1) Restriction 1: This allows you to ride motorcycles and tricycles of any engine displacement. But having a license that indicates only this restriction code prohibits the holder to operate cars and, more so, buses and trucks.
Can restriction 2 drive a motorcycle?
If you have “1”, you can drive a motorcycle. If you have “2”, you can drive anything with 4 wheels (except trucks). Generally speaking, Restriction Code 2 will legally allow you to drive light commercial vehicles (LCVs) so long as you don’t exceed 4500 kilograms GVW, or Gross Vehicle Weight.
How do you put restrictions on your license?
Step-by-Step in the LTO Office
- Request for the Application for Driver’s License (ADL), along with the queuing number.
- Submit the accomplished ADL to the receiving personnel.
- Once the evaluator determines the applicant fulfills the qualifications, the information shall then be encoded.
Missouri Drivers License Restrictions – MO Driver License Restriction Codes – Education4Drivers.com
If the Department of Revenue is obliged to impose a limitation on your Missouri drivers license, you will be notified as soon as possible. This type of restriction generally specifies limits in your driving abilities, which may be caused by a medical condition or a lack of sufficient driving instruction. Teenagers should also be aware of the Missouri intermediate drivers license requirements that are a part of the state’s graduate licensing program, which can be found here.
Drivers License Restriction Codes
A complete list of Missouri drivers license restriction codes is accessible in the officialMissouri drivers license manual, and you are more than free to look it over there for further information. Listed below are the restriction codes that we have been able to collect thus far:
- Auto Transmission/Power Steering (D)
- A – Corrective Lenses
- B – Outside Rearview Mirror
- C – Daylight Driving Only
- D – Auto Transmission/Power Steering
- E – Seat Cushion
- F – Front Seat Cushion
- G – Back Seat Cushion F is restricted to 45 miles per hour
- G is restricted to a 25-mile radius. H – Hand-held special devices
- I – Intermediate License
- J – Electrical Turn Signals
- K – Intrastate Commercial Driver’s License Only
- L – Non-Airbrake Commercial Driver’s License M – Foot Device Extension
- M – Foot Device Extension N – Leg Brace(s)
- O – Foot Operated Emergency Brake
- N – Leg Brace(s)
- O – Foot Operated Emergency Brake On the steering column, there is an accelerator (P). R – Reclining Back Cushion
- S stands for School Bus. T – Outside Mirror on the right
- U – Uncoded Restriction
- W – Three-Wheel Motorcycle Only
- U – Uncoded Restriction
- W – Three-Wheel Motorcycle Only Y – Left Outside Mirror
- Z – Right Outside Mirror Z – There are more than five restrictions
An uncoded limitation can be any restriction that is not included in the preceding list of restrictions. Most of these restrictions may apply to either your driver’s license or your permit, depending on your situation. In most cases, you will be awarded a driving license after passing your Missouri permit test or licensing test and before being imposed a limitation on your license. It is normally necessary to demonstrate that the condition that was the basis for the limitation no longer exists in order to have it removed from your license.
Intermediate License Restrictions
In today’s world, almost every state has some type of graduated drivers license program in place, and Missouri is no different. Several new limitations and criteria, collectively known as theMissouri graduated driving license program, have been implemented by the Missouri Department of Revenue in an effort to minimize the number of young drivers who are injured on state roadways each year. The graduated license program divides the licensing procedure across a number of levels, rather than offering the applicant full driving rights immediately away as is the case with other programs.
If you adhere to all Missouri permit requirements, you will be able to take a driving test in six months and will be given an intermediate drivers license, which must be retained for at least 12 months before being eligible to advance to the next level.
These are the limits:
- Passenger restrictions are in effect. For the first six months, no more than three passengers under the age of 19 are permitted. After the first six months, no more than three passengers under the age of 19 are permitted. Immediate family members are exempt from the regulation
- There is a restriction on nighttime driving hours. Unless you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older, you are not permitted to drive between the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. under any circumstances.
This set of intermediate license limitations must be adhered to for a minimum of 12 months before you may apply for and obtain a full, unrestricted Missouri driver’s license with no restrictions.
This means that you may not have any alcohol-related charges or traffic convictions during this time period.
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission – MyMVC
|DRIVER HISTORY INFORMATION|
|Event Type Codes||Event Responsibility Codes (MVC)|
|A- Accident||ACP- Alcohol Countermeasures (Health Dept.)|
|B- Billing||CIS- Compulsory Insurance/ Accident Reporting|
|C- Conference||COO- Certificate of Ownership|
|D- Fee Due||CON- Conference Unit|
|E- Reexamination Activity||DIP- Driver Improvement Program|
|F- Fee Payment||DMV- Commission Chief Administrator|
|I- Initial Medical Request||DRT- Driver Testing|
|J- Referral||DVR- Driver|
|K- Referral with Interval Reporting||FAR- Fatal Accident Review|
|L- Limitation||FRJ- Financial Responsibility/Judgment|
|M- Memo Entry||ISS- Insurance Surcharge|
|N- Advisory Notice||MFR- Medical Fitness Review|
|O- Suspension Order||OAL- Office of Administrative Law Liaison|
|P- Program Activity||PDP- Probationary Driver Program|
|R- Restoration||RES- Restoration Authorization|
|S- Scheduled Suspension||RSU- Reexamination Scheduling|
|V- Violation||SEC- Security Responsibility|
|W- Warning Notice||SUS- Suspension Authorization|
|Z- Point Credit||UCJ- Unsatisfied Claims and Judgments|
|UMS- Uninsured Motorist System|
Drivers License Restriction Codes TX
The state of Texas may impose limits on your driving privileges in order to ensure that the roadways are safe for everyone – including you and your passengers. Motor vehicles have the potential to be harmful at any time, and if the DPS determines that you pose a particular risk due to the type of driving you undertake, they may decide that your license should be limited. It is not need to be concerned because most Texas limitations codes are just temporary and may be removed if you do the necessary measures.
Many of these are only applicable to commercial drivers.
It is a component of the graded licensing scheme, which is intended to minimize teen driving deaths, which are the primary cause of death among those under the age of 25.
Provisional licenses are subject to many of the same criteria as class B licenses, however they are automatically revoked after one year of use.
Restriction Codes Are as Follows:
- A: When using corrective glasses
- B: When a licensed driver 21 years of age or older is in the front seat
- C: When driving during the day only
- D: No more than 45 miles per hour
- E: No driving on the expressway
- F: You must have a valid learners permit till (date) to participate. I M/C: Not to be more than 250 cc. J: A licensed M/C operator who is at least 21 years old is in sight. K: A motorcycle
- L: Vehicle without air brakes – this classification applies to vehicles requiring a CDL. CDL Intrastate Commerce only
- M: CDL Intrastate Commerce only N: The use of an ignition interlock is necessary. Occupation-specific license
- P: This is stated on the license
- The following terms are used: Q: Licensed Operator in Front Seat (LOFS) 21 or over vehicle above Class B
- R: Licensed Operator in Front Seat (LOFS 21 or over vehicle above Class C)
- S: An external mirror or a hearing aid
- T stands for automatic transmission. U: Prosthetic devices that are applicable
- V: Vehicle devices that are applicable. Power steering is represented by the letter W.
How to Remove Restrictions from Your Drivers License
Each kind of limitation has its own set of requirements that must be met in order for it to be lifted. It is only with the passage of time that the condition of youth may be met, and those with permanent impairments will have to learn to live with a restricted license. Others, on the other hand, can meet the requirements with a little amount of effort and documentation. Using the example of Restriction T, which needs an automatic gearbox, it is possible to get the restriction lifted if the driver passes the Texas drivers test while properly using the clutch.
Driver’s License Class Codes – Pages
|Driver License Class||You May Drive:||You May Tow:||Exceptions|
|A||Any single combination of vehicles||Any trailer||MotorcyclesEndorsements may be required|
|B||Motor vehicles 26,001 or more pounds (GVW)||Trailers 10,000 pounds or less||Combination of Class F (tractor) and Class G (trailer) MotorcyclesEndorsements may be required|
|C||Motor vehicles under 26,001 pounds (GVW)||Trailers 10,000 pounds or less||MotorcyclesEndorsements required|
Endorsements for Commercial Driver’s License
|TPXS||All CDL Endorsements|
|S||School Bus Authorized|
|X||N and H Combined|
Classifications of Non-Commercial Driver’s Licenses
|Driver License Class||You May Drive:||You May Tow:||Exceptions|
|A||Any non-commercial vehicle||Any non-commercial trailer||Commercial Motor Vehicles Motorcycles|
|B||Any single or combination of non-commercial motor vehicles||Any non-commercial trailer||Commercial Motor Vehicles Motorcycles Combination of Class F (tractor) and Class G (trailer)|
|C||Any non-commercial combination of motor vehicles with a GVW less than 26,001 pounds||Any non-commercial||Commercial Motor Vehicles Motorcycles|
|M||Motorcycles||Motorcycle trailer||Commercial Motor Vehicles|
Codes of Restriction
|A||May not be used to purchase a firearm|
|C||Special brakes, hand controls or other (see restriction card)|
|E||Automatic Transmission or No Manual Transmission equipped CMV (Commercial Motor Vehicle)|
|G||Limited to Daylight Only|
|H||Limited (see restriction card)|
|I||Limited (see restriction card)|
|J||Other (see restriction card)|
|K||CDL Intrastate Only|
|L||No Air brake Equipped CMV (Commercial Motor Vehicles without airbrakes)|
|M||No Class A passenger vehicle|
|N||No Class A and B passenger vehicle|
|0||No Tractor-Trailer CMV (Commercial Motor Vehicle)|
|P||No Passengers in CMV (Commercial Motor Vehicle) bus|
|R||Warning – ID Theft Victim – Verfiy ID|
|T||Limit Term Temporary|
|U||Not Acceptable for Federal Purposes|
|X||No Cargo in CMV (Commercial Motor Vehicle) tank vehicle|
|Z||Organ Donor, Hearing/Speech Impaired or No Full air brake equipped CMV (Commercial Motor Vehicle without full airbrakes)|
License Restriction Codes
License and permit restrictions codes are provided below in alphabetical order according to the type of license being applied for.
|A||None (no restrictions)|
|B||Corrective Lenses Required|
|C||Vehicle mechanical Aids Required|
|D||Prosthetic Aids Required|
|F||Right Exterior Mirror Required|
|G||Daylight Hours Only|
|I||Left Exterior Mirror Required|
|J||Automatic Transmission Required|
|Q||No Passengers Allowed|
|S||Power Req, Brakes or Steering|
|U||Visually Impaired Parent or Driver= 21|
|W||Valid Farm Waiver Required|
|1||Bioptic lenses Required|
|E||No manual transmission-equipped CMV|
|K||Intrastate commerce only|
|L||No air brake equipped CMV|
|M||No Class A passenger buses|
|N||No Class A or B passenger buses|
|O||No Tractor Trailer CMV|
|X||No Cargo in CM tank vehicle|
|Y||Hearing Aid required|
|Z||No Full Air Brake|
|H||Employer vehicle only|
|LP2 with Interlock|
|2||Personal vehicle only|
- Employment, medical care, school, driver education, court-ordered driver improvement, the court system, probation, community service, and a drug and alcohol treatment program are all responsibilities. Meetings of groups for those who are addicted to or abusing alcohol, drugs, or both are scheduled on a regular basis. It should be noted that an Ignition Interlock device is necessary.
- Employment, medical care, school, court-ordered driver improvement, driver education, a drug and alcohol program, and scheduled meetings of groups for people with alcohol/drug addiction/abuse problems are all examples of responsibilities.
|5||Business purpose only|
|6||To and from medical-only|
|7||To and from school only|
|8||Ignition Interlock required|
|9||All except HV PL|
- Employment responsibilities, medical care/prescriptions, school/college, alcohol and drug treatment, and driver education are all covered. Driver improvement, court appearances, probation, and community service are all options. The transportation of unlicensed close family members for employment, education, medical appointments, or medications
License Restriction Code
|2||Medical Log/ Glucose Required|
|A||Use with Certified Driving Instructor Only|
|B||Corrective Lenses||This restriction is required when the driver uses glasses, contact lenses, or bioptic telescopic lenses to operate a motor vehicle.|
|C||Mechanical Aid||This restriction is required when the driver needs a mechanical aid (such as hand controls, spinner knob, parabolic mirror, directional extender, etc.) to operate a motor vehicle. It must be added if so directed by a medical professional or Registry of Motor Vehicles Road Test Examiner. This restriction applies to all permit/license classes.|
|D||Prosthetic Aid / Personal Medical Aid||This restriction is required when the driver must wear a prosthetic aid. It must be added if so directed by a medical professional or Registry of Motor Vehicles Road Test Examiner. This restriction applies to all permit/license classes.|
|E||CMV Automatic Transmission||If the driver takes the Skills Test in a vehicle that has an automatic transmission, then an “E” no manual transmission restriction is placed on their license.|
|F||Outside Mirror||This restriction is required when so directed by a medical professional or a Registry of Motor Vehicles Road Test Examiner. This restriction applies to all permit/license classes.|
|G||Daylight Only||This restriction is required when the driver passes the vision screening test with between 20/50 – 20/70 distant visual acuity in either eye, with or without corrective lenses, and meets the horizontal peripheral field of vision standards, with not less than 120 degrees combined horizontal peripheral field of vision. This restriction applies to a Class D or Class M permit/license, or a Class D/M license only. A Commercial Driver’s License should be downgraded if this restriction is applicable.|
|H||Limited to Employment|
|I||JOL Limited / Other||This attribute is used for a variable that is not addressed by the previous attribute options.If this attribute is used, an explanation in the narrative is recommended.|
|K||CDL – Intrastate Only|
|L||CDL – Vehicles without Airbrakes||If the driver does not pass the Air Brakes Knowledge Test, does not correctly identify the air brake system components, does not properly conduct an air brake systems check, or does not take the Skills test in a vehicle with a full air brake system, the driver must have an “L” no full air brake restriction placed on their license.|
|M||CDL – Except Class A Bus||If a driver possesses a class A CDL, but obtains his or her passenger or school bus endorsement in a Class B vehicle the State must place an “M” restriction indicating that the driver can only operate Class B and C passenger vehicle or school buses.|
|N||CDL – Except Class AB Bus||If a driver possesses a Class B CDL, but obtains his or her passenger or school bus endorsement in a Class C vehicle; the State must place an “N” restriction indicating that the driver can only operate Class C passenger vehicles or school buses.|
|O||CDL – Except Tractor / Trailer||If the driver takes the Skills Test in a Class A vehicle that has a pintle hook or other non-fifth wheel connection, they will have an “O” restriction placed on their license restricting them from driving any Class A vehicle with a fifth wheel connection.|
|P||No Passengers in CMV Bus|
|Q||Class D Automatic Transmission|
|R||Bioptic Telescoping Lens||This restriction is required when the driver must wear eyeglasses with a bioptic telescopic lens when operating a motor vehicle. This restriction applies to Class D permits/licenses only.|
|S||Proof of Blood Sugar Level||This restriction is required when the customer must carry a glucose monitor, check blood sugar prior to driving, and have proof of blood sugar check (e.g. the log from a blood glucose meter) if requested by a law enforcement official. It must be added if so directed by a medical professional and the restriction is maintained by the Medical Affairs. This restriction applies to all permit/license classes. A Commercial Driver’s License will also have a W restriction or V restriction added.|
|T||Ignition Interlock||An ignition interlock device or breath alcohol ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer for an individual’s vehicle. It requires the driver to blow into a mouthpiece on the device before starting the vehicle.|
|U||3 Wheeled Motorcycle|
|V||Medical Variance||If the State is notified by the FMCSA that a medical variance has been issued to the driver, the State must indicate the existence of such a medical variance on the CDLIS driving record and the CDL document using a restriction code “V” to indicate that there is information about the medical variance on the CDLIS record.|
|W||Intrastate Medical Waiver|
|X||CDL – No Cargo in CMV Tanker|
|Y||Restrict to 14 Passenger Capacity|
|Z||CDL – Air Over Hydraulic||If the driver takes the test in a vehicle with an air over hydraulic brake system, then they will have a “Z” no full air brake restriction placed on their license. In either case the driver is not authorized to operate a CMV equipped with full air brakes.|
|97||Other||This attribute is used for a variable that is not addressed by the previous attribute options.If this attribute is used, an explanation in the narrative is recommended.|
|99||Unknown||If this attribute is used, an explanation in the narrative is recommended.|
Driver License Endorsement and Restriction Codes
Endorsements provide you the ability to drive more freely. On your license’s front, on the line below the “Expiration date” box, immediately below the letter “E,” are the endorsement codes for your particular state.
The back of your picture license paper includes a description of any endorsements that you may have earned over time. Examine example licensing paperwork to see where the endorsement code should be placed.
|F||Farm Class A Vehicles|
|G||Farm Class B Vehicles|
|R||Recreational Vehicles GVWR over 26,000 lbs.|
License Restriction Codes for Non-Commercial and Commercial Drivers
Your driving constraints are explained by your license restrictions. License restriction codes are displayed on the front of your license on the line below the “Expiration date” and “E” Endorsement Fields, immediately after the letter “R,” on the line after the letter “R.” A description of any limitations you may be subject to is stated on the reverse of your picture identification document (photo license). Check out some sample licensing paperwork to see where the restriction codes should be placed.
|A||Accel Left of Brake|
|A2||Problem Driver (Class D Only)|
|A3||Med Cert Exemption (Commercial Class Only)|
|A4||Ignition Interlock Device(The interlock device is not required in a motor vehicle owned by the licensee’s employer if the vehicle is used in the course of the licensee’s employment.The employer must consent to the use of the vehicle without the device.)|
|E||No Manual Transmission Equipped CMV (Commercial Class Only)|
|F1||Hearing Aid or Full-View Mirror|
|G||Daylight Driving Only|
|H||Limited to Employment|
|I||Limited Use Auto MAX 40 MPH|
|I1||Limited Use MCY MAX 40 MPH (Motorcycle Class Only)|
|I2||Limited Use MCY MAX 30 MPH (Motorcycle Class Only)|
|I3||Limited Use MCY MAX 20 MPH (Motorcycle Class Only)|
|I4||Three Wheel MCY (Motorcycle Class Only)|
|K||CDL Intrastate (No operation outside NYS for commerce) Only (Commercial Class Only)|
|L||No Airbrake Equipped CMV (Commercial Class Only)|
|L1||No Airbrake Equipped Class A CMV (Commercial Class Only)|
|L2||No Airbrake Equipped Class B CMV (Commercial Class Only)|
|M||No Class A Passenger VEH (Commercial Class Only)|
|N||No Class A and B Passenger Veh (Commercial Class Only)|
|N1||No Vehicle Designed for 15 or More Adult Passengers (Commercial Class Only)|
|N2||No Vehicle Designed for 8 or More Adult Passengers (Commercial Class Only)|
|O||No Tractor/Trailer CMV (Commercial Class Only)|
|O1||No Tractor/Trailer CMV/Truck Not Over 26,000 GVWR (Commercial Class Only)|
|O2||No Tractor/Trailer CMV/Truck Not Over 18,000 GVWR (Commercial Class Only)|
|P||No Passengers in CMV Bus (Commercial Learner Permit Only)|
|R||Built Up Seat/Ped/Shoe|
|V||Medical Variance (Commercial Class Only)|
|V1||Foot Oper Parking Brake|
|W||No Vehicle Over 18,000 lbs|
|X||No Cargo in CMV Tank Vehicle (Commercial Learner Permit Only)|
|X1||Full Hand Control|
|Y||Shoulder Harness Use|
|Z||No Full Airbrake Equipped CMV (Commercial Class Only)|
|4||Telescopic Lens 4|
|5||No Limited Access Rds|
Driver License Endorsements and Restrictions
In order to operate a certain type of commercial motor vehicle and transport specific commodities, you must obtain an endorsement. If you want to get an endorsement, you will need to take extra testing and, in certain situations, you will need to hold a commercial learner permit (CLP) for that endorsement for at least 14 days before being eligible to add it to your CDL. After February 7, 2022, further training, referred to as the Entry Level Driver Training, will be necessary. You can apply for the following sorts of endorsements, which are mentioned in the table below:
|H||Authorizes the transportation ofhazardous material(CDL only)|
|N||Authorizes the operation of a tank vehicle (CDL or CLP)|
|P||Authorizes the operation of a vehicle transporting passengers (CDL or CLP)|
|S||Authorizes the operation of aschool bus(CDL or CLP)|
|T||Authorizes towing two (double) or three (triple) trailers over a specified weight (CDL only)|
|X||Authorizes the operation of a combination of hazardous material and tank vehicle (CDL only)|
There is no limit to the number of restriction codes that can be placed on any sort of driver license, including commercial driver license. This is not intended to interfere with your driving, but rather to assist you in becoming a better driver. If you want to have a restriction code removed from your driver’s license, you need go to a driver licensing office. The following chart outlines the several sorts of limitations that can be imposed on a driver’s license:
|A||With corrective lenses|
|B||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat|
|C||Daytime driving only|
|D||Speed not to exceed 45 mph|
|E||No manual transmission equipped CMV|
|F||Must hold valid learner license to MM/DD/YY|
|G||TRC 545.424 applies until MM/DD/YY|
|H||Vehicle not to exceed 26,000 lbs. GVWR|
|I||Motorcycle not to exceed 250cc|
|J||Licensed motorcycle operator 21 or over in sight|
|L||No air brake equipped CMV|
|M||No Class A passenger vehicle|
|N||No Class A and B passenger vehicle|
|O||No tractor-trailer CMV|
|P||Stated on license|
|Q||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat (vehicle above a Class B)|
|R||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat (vehicle above a Class C)|
|S||Outside rearview mirror or hearing aid|
|U||Applicable prosthetic devices|
|V||Medical variance documents required|
|X||No cargo in CMV tank vehicle|
|Y||Valid Texas vision or limb waiver required|
|Z||No full air brake equipped CMV|
|P1||For Class M TRC 545.424 until MM/DD/YY|
|P5||To/from work/school or a licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat|
|P6||To/from work or a licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat|
|P7||To/from school or a licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) must be in the front seat|
|P8||With telescopic lens|
|P9||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS 21), bus only|
|P10||A licensed driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS 21), school bus only|
|P11||Bus not to exceed 26,000 GVWR|
|P12||Passenger CMVs restricted to Class C only|
|P13||A license driver 21 years of age or older (LOFS) in vehicle equip with air brake|
|P14||Operation Class B exempt vehicle authorized|
|P15||Operation Class A exempt vehicle authorized|
|P16||If CMV, school buses (interstate)|
|P17||If CMV, government vehicles (interstate)|
|P18||If CMV, only transporting personal property (interstate)|
|P19||If CMV, transporting corpse/sick/injured (interstate)|
|P20||If CMV, privately transporting passengers (interstate)|
|P21||If CMV, fire/rescue (interstate)|
|P22||If CMV, intra-city zone drivers (interstate)|
|P23||If CMV, custom harvesting (interstate)|
|P24||If CMV, transporting bees/hives (interstate)|
|P25||If CMV, use in oil/water well service/drill|
|P26||If CMV, for operation of mobile crane|
|P27||HME Expiration Date MM/DD/YY|
|P28||FRSI CDL valid MM/DD/YY to MM/DD/YY|
|P29||FRSI CDL MM/DD/YY–MM/DD/YY or exempt B vehicles|
|P30||FRSI CDL MM/DD/YY–MM/DD/YY or exempt A vehicles|
|P31||Class C only; no taxi/bus/emergency vehicle|
|P33||No passengers in CMV bus|
|P34||No express or highway driving|
|P35||Restricted to operation of three–wheeled MC|
|P37||Occ/Essent need DL-no CMV–see court order|
|P38||Applicable vehicle devices|
|P39||Ignition Interlock required|
|P40||Vehicle not to exceed Class C|
License Types & Restrictions
In Pennsylvania, driver’s licenses are given based on the class and kind of vehicle that you operate, rather than your age. So the sort of driver’s license you need relies on the type of car you drive, and not the other way around. In general, the vast majority of people who apply for a Pennsylvania driver’s license will be drivers of normal passenger automobiles, pickup trucks, or vans, according to statistics.
Classes of Driver’s Licenses
- In order to operate any combination of vehicles with a gross weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more, and if the vehicle(s) being towed is/are in excess of 10,000 pounds, a CLASS A (minimum age of 18) is required. Using the following example: Recreational Vehicle, the towing vehicle has a weight rating of 11,000 pounds and the vehicle being towed has weight rating of 15,500 pounds (for a total combined weight of 26,500 pounds)
- CLASS B (minimum age of 18): This class is required to drive any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating in excess of 26,000 pounds. As an illustration, motor homes weighing at least 26,001 pounds are permitted. CLASS C (requires a minimum age of 16): People 16 years of age or older who have proved their credentials to operate any vehicle, with the exception of those needing a Class M qualification, and who do not fulfill the requirements of Class A or Class B will be awarded a Class C driver’s license, which will be valid for one year. Firefighters and members of rescue or emergency squads who have a Class C driver’s license and a certificate of authorization from a fire chief or the head of the rescue or emergency squad will be authorized to operate any fire or emergency vehicle registered to their respective fire department, rescue or emergency squad, or municipality (emergency use only). Class C driver’s license holders are authorized to operate a motor-driven cycle with an automatic transmission and cylinder capacity of 50 cubic centimeters (ccs) or less, a 3-wheeled motorcycle with an enclosed cab, or an autocycle. CLASS M (minimum age 16): A Class M driver’s license will be issued to those individuals 16 years of age or older who have demonstrated their ability to operate a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle. Someone who is certified to operate only motorcycles or motor-driven cycles will receive a Class M driver’s license, which is the most restrictive type of license available. If you take your driving test on a motor-driven cycle, you will have a “8” limitation placed on your driver’s license. You are not permitted to operate a motorbike due to this limitation. If you take your driving test on a three-wheeled motorbike, you will have a “9” limitation placed on your driver’s license. You are not permitted to operate a two-wheeled motorbike under this limitation.
According to Section 1512 of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code, the Department has the authority to impose driving restrictions that are appropriate for the licensee’s driving ability when special equipment is required to be installed on a motor vehicle or when other restrictions are necessary to ensure the safe operation of a motor vehicle. Medical Restrictions and how they are applied: 1 -When driving, the license holder is required to wear corrective lenses (glasses or contacts). Two mirrors on either side of the vehicle are required for compliance with this requirement.
In order to operate a vehicle equipped with dual controls (right side brake pedal), a permit holder must have a licensed driver trainer in the passenger seat at all times.
The bearer of a Z-Motorbike learner’s permit is only permitted to operate a motorcycle during daylight hours, which are from dawn to sunset (no night riding)
Commercial Driver’s Licenses
- CLASS A (minimum age 18): A Class A license is issued to those individuals who have demonstrated their qualifications to operate any combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the gross vehicle weight rating of the vehicle or vehicles being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds, and who have demonstrated their qualifications to operate any combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more. Holders of Class A licenses are permitted to operate cars for which a Class B or Class C license has been given. It is necessary to secure suitable endorsements when they are required. Classes A and B licenses are issued to those who have demonstrated their qualifications to operate any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more, or any such vehicle towing another vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 10,000 pounds, and who are at least 18 years old. It is possible for the bearer of a Class B license to operate cars for which a Class C license has been given. It is necessary to secure suitable endorsements when they are required. Classes A and B vehicles are exempt from the requirement for a Class C license. A Class C license is issued to individuals 18 years of age or older who have demonstrated their qualifications to operate any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of not more than 26,000 pounds or any combination of vehicles, except combination vehicles that include motorcycles, that does not meet the definition of a Class A or Class B vehicle. It is necessary to secure suitable endorsements when they are required.
NOTE:To operate a Commercial Motor Vehicle on an interstate highway, you must be 21 years of age or older, whichever is greater (traveling between two or more states). This applies to ALL levels of education.
Commercial EndorsementsThe following authorizations are required when operating vehicles of the type listed:
H- Permits the driver to operate a vehicle that is transporting hazardous chemicals on public roads. N- Approves the use of tank vehicles. P- Approves the operation of vehicles transporting people. Drivers of school buses are given the authority to operate them under the letter S. T- Permits a Class A driver to tow double and triple trailers with one vehicle. An X represents a combination of approvals for hazardous chemicals and tank vehicles.
You are not permitted to operate the following types of vehicles due to the following restrictions: A- Restricts the motorist to only driving in accordance with 49 CFR 391.62(c) (relating to limited exemptions for intra-city zone drivers). Driving a commercial motor vehicle with a manual gearbox is prohibited under Section E of the Code of Criminal Procedure. G- Indicates that the individual meets the requirements of 49 CFR 391.62. (e). K– Restricts the driver’s ability to drive just inside the state.
- Driving a class A passenger car is prohibited under M*.
- (This was once a “C” limitation) Truck tractor-trailer combo driving is prohibited for Class A drivers under the code O.
- Q- Requires the driver to use corrective glasses while behind the wheel.
- X– Prohibits the transportation of goods by tank vehicles (will appear on commercial learner permit only).
- Z– It is unlawful to operate a commercial motor vehicle with fully compressed air brakes.
Endorsements and Restrictions
To identify particular operational power or to impose constraints on a driver’s authority to operate a motor vehicle, endorsements and restrictions may be placed on a credential (driver’s license, learner’s permit, or identity card). Chart for Converting Restriction Codes
An MDC endorsement is added to an ID card in order to allow the holder to operate a Motorized Cycle. The MDC knowledge exam must be passed by the applicant and the applicant must be at least 15 years old in order to have this endorsement added to their ID card.
Endorsement L – Motorcycle Endorsement
Providing documentation of completion of a Ride Safe Indiana motorcycle safety training course OR passing both the motorcycle knowledge exam and the motorcycle skills exam are required in order to add a motorcycle endorsement to your Indiana driver’s license. Learn more about the motorbike endorsement by visiting their website.
Endorsement 2 – For Hire – Non-CMV Only
Obtaining a chauffeur’s or public passenger chauffeur’s license that has not expired for more than 180 days is required if you want to add a for-hire endorsement to your Indiana driver’s license.
Learn more about the for-hire endorsement by clicking here. It has no effect on your ability to operate a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) if you have only a base license endorsement. These endorsements simply provide you with extra operating authority on top of your existing driving authorization.
When driving, the driver is required to wear glasses or contact lenses.
Restriction C – Mechanical Aid (Adaptive Devices)
When a learner’s permit or driver’s license holder states that they are driving with the use of a mechanical aid (special brakes, hand controls, spinner/steering knob, or other adaptive devices), the limitation C is applied to the permit or license.
Restriction D – Prosthetic Aid
In the case of a learner’s permit or driver’s license, the limitation D is applied when the motorist specifies that they use a prosthetic device and that they desire for the device to show on their learner’s permit or driver’s license.
Restriction F – Outside Rearview Mirror
When driving, the driver is required to utilize an outside rearview mirror. According on the findings of the visual exam performed at the time of application, this restriction may only be imposed to and withdrawn from learner’s permits and driver’s licenses in certain circumstances.
Restriction G – Daylight Driving Only
The motorist is only permitted to use his or her vehicle during daytime hours. According on the findings of the visual exam performed at the time of application, this restriction may only be imposed to and withdrawn from learner’s permits and driver’s licenses in certain circumstances.
Restriction H – M/C Three Wheel Bike Only
When the motorcycle skills examiner states on the motorcycle skills exam results that the examination was passed on a three wheel motorbike, the limitation H is applied to a driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement. Upon successful completion of a standard motorcycle skills exam or completion of an approved motorcycle safety course, the driver will be able to ride without limitation once more.
Restriction J – Other
A restriction J is placed on a driver’s license when the license holder’s driving privileges are restricted in some way due to their driving abilities or a recommendation from the Department of Motor Vehicles. There may be requirements for a driver to comply with one or more of the following restrictions:
- In addition to the accompanying driver, the following services are available: annual drive skills exam, annual medical review, automatic transmission, biennial vision screening, bioptic lenses, annual drive skills exam, or annual vision screening. Spot mirrors mounted on the fender
- Used solely for training purposes
- Less than 5, 10, or 20 miles from home
- Must adhere to medication regimen
- No interstate or highway driving
- Power steering
- Training purposes/night evaluation
Learner’s permit holders are required to adhere to all existing state rules, including those governing the ages and number of vehicle occupants, when practice driving can begin, and driving limits based on the time of day.
Restriction S – M/C with Side Car Only
When the motorcycle skills examiner states on the motorcycle skills exam result that the examination was passed on a motorbike with a side vehicle, the limitation S is applied to a driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement. Upon successful completion of a standard motorcycle skills exam or completion of an approved motorcycle safety course, the driver will be able to ride without limitation once more.
Restriction 2 – Habitual Traffic Violator (HTV) Conditional
The presence of a Restriction 2 implies that the motorist is subject to breathalyzer (alcohol) testing if asked by a law enforcement official while driving. In addition, the driver is prohibited from operating a motor vehicle if his or her blood alcohol concentration is 0.02 or above. When applying for a credential, the driver will be asked to sign an affidavit stating that he or she has agreed to submit to blood alcohol testing in the future.
Restriction 3 – Photo Exempt
It is possible that this limitation will be imposed on a driver’s license or learner’s permit if the client requests that the license or permit be photo-exempt due to religious or medical concerns, among other things. An identity card is restricted when a consumer specifically wants a photo-exempt identification card for religious reasons solely, in which case the card is restricted.
A motorist must visit a BMV branch and have his or her photo taken in order to obtain a new driver’s license, learner’s permit, or identity card in order to have the exemption removed.
Restriction 5 – Conditional
When driving privileges are confined to the limitations of a court order providing specialized driving privileges, this restriction is placed on a driver’s license and is effective immediately. A valid SR22 is needed to be on file with the BMV for the period of the specialized driving privileges awarded by a court. If specialized driving privileges are granted by a court, an effective SR22 is required to be on file with the BMV. A copy of the court order granting specialized driving rights must be kept in the vehicle in which the person with a Restriction 5 is operating.
The driver must also have a valid driver’s license with a Restriction 5 on it that has been granted by the state.
Restriction 6 – Ignition Interlock Device
When there is probable cause to believe that a driver was operating a vehicle while intoxicated prior to conviction, a court may order the use of an ignition interlock device in lieu of a suspension for a driver who has been convicted of operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated or in lieu of a suspension. According to the court or Indiana legislation, the limitation will be in effect for a certain amount of time. A driver’s license restriction will be automatically deleted from his or her driving record when the motorist applies for an updated or renewed driver’s license after the restriction has expired.
Restriction 7 – Seat Belt Exempt
It is necessary for an individual to produce to a BMV branch a physician’s declaration indicating that the individual should not be required to wear a seat belt while driving. The declaration must be written on the letterhead or prescription form of the physician’s office. It is necessary to obtain a fresh doctor’s statement each time the certification is renewed. Visiting a BMV branch and certifying that he or she is no longer exempt from wearing a seat belt will be sufficient to lift the limitation on driving privileges.
Individuals re-applying for their credentials who do not offer a physician’s note confirming that they are exempt from wearing seat belts will have the limitation removed from their credentials.
Restriction 8 – Medical Condition
In order to inform drivers that they are taking medicine to treat seizures or fainting episodes, or because they have a pre-existing medical condition that may lead them to seem inebriated, this limitation is added to their learner’s permit and driver’s license. At the time of application, the driver must produce aPhysician’s Certificate of Medical Impairment – State Form 50018, which is issued by the state. The form must be completed by a licensed physician within 30 days of the date on which the learner’s permit or driver’s license application is to be submitted.
A Physician’s Certificate of Medical Impairment-State Form 50018, prepared by a licensed physician, must be shown to the DMV in order to have the limitation lifted.
If the medical condition has been resolved, the motorist may drive without restriction. ** CDL holders who have a restriction 8 must additionally get a CDL Medical Exemption in addition to their regular exemption.
Restriction 9 – Temporary Lawful Resident
If you have a credential with this limitation, it means that the bearer of that credential has temporary legal status in the United States. Before receiving a secure credential, the individual must show identification and legal status documentation to the credentialing authority.