What Is A Vertical Driver’S License? (Question)

The vertical driver license (portrait-style) has been adopted by most states to designate that the person may be under 21 years of age. This format was created to help better identify minors and prevent underage drinking. Most states use the vertical format for a minor driver license or ID card.

What is a vertical driver’s license?

  • Vertical Driver’s License Helps with Age Verification! The “We Check to Protect” vertical identification program reminds teens, parents, businesses and law enforcement that identification is required and will be checked on all purchases that are restricted by age, such as alcohol and tobacco products.

What does a vertical ID mean?

In most jurisdictions in the United States, a vertical (or portrait) license is issued to individuals under the age of 21, so that it is apparent at a glance that they are not legally able to purchase alcohol. After 21, they are able to be issued a horizontal (or landscape) license.

Is driver’s license vertical or horizontal?

cards. I.D. cards in California—intended for minors, the elderly, or any non-driver needing a basic I.D.—used to look nearly identical to drivers licenses. The new I.D.s and licenses make a simple change to make it immediately clear if someone is underage: if you’re not 21, the card is vertical.

Can you use your vertical ID when you turn 21?

The vertical IDs simply mean, the person is under 21. Nothing more, nothing less.

Can I use vertical license?

“You can’t get horizontal license online in California.” A state law enacted in July bans the use of vertical IDs for buying alcohol 30 days after the ID holder turns 21, even if the date of birth on the ID indicates the holder is old enough.

Are all 21 IDs horizontal?

Only the horizontal format license is issued for those 21 years of age and older. BOTH vertical and horizontal formats with yellow border are acceptable forms of ID. BOTH vertical and horizontal formats with red border are acceptable forms of ID. RED BORDER means the customer is 15-17 years of age.

Why is my California driver’s license vertical?

“If you are under 21 your license is now vertical,” DMV spokeswoman Jan Mendoza said. “This is so that bar owners, grocery stores, law enforcement, etc., can easily identify” people under 21 years old and hence underage for consuming alcohol.

Does Texas accept vertical IDS?

Texas’ new DL/ID cards are valid for up to a 6 year period from the date of issuance. Minor (under 21) DL and ID cards will be presented in a vertical format. Validity periods on ID’s only for individuals 60 and over will have an indefinite expiration date.

Can you buy alcohol with a vertical license Illinois?

Those who have vertical driver’s licenses cannot purchase alcohol even if they are 21 years of age. But it depends on where they are trying to buy. Both Colonial Pantry and Super Pantry, which each have multiple locations on or around campus, are the only alcohol vendors with such a policy.

Are vertical IDS accepted in Vegas?

Re: Will I be able to use my ID? You’ll be fine. Lots of people celebrate their 21st birthday in Vegas, so the issue is quite common (as it is in bars throughout the United States). These bouncers see licenses from all states all the time, so they’ll probably find your birthdate on the license before you do!

Can you buy alcohol with a vertical ID in New Mexico?

A. A licensee or a licensee’s agent or employee shall not sell, serve or provide alcoholic beverages to a person who has a New Mexico driver’s license or an identification card that is printed in a vertical format.

Can I drink on my 21st birthday?

The law in the US says you cannot possess or consume alcohol until you are 21 (yes there are some exceptions in some states to the consumption part, but let’s not dwell on those for now).. You are 20 the day before your 21st birthday, so yes, you could be in trouble.

Why does Walmart ask if you’re under 40 when buying alcohol?

“In order to ensure that alcoholic beverages and tobacco are not sold to minors, Walmart is testing point-of-sale age checks in some locations across the country,” the statement read. In the case of alcohol, policy requires that workers card buyers who don’t look at least 40 years old.

What is vertical and horizontal?

Horizontal is the opposite of vertical. As vertical is the opposite of horizontal, anything that makes a 90-degree angle (right angle) with the horizontal or the horizon is called vertical. So, the horizontal line is one that runs across from left to right.

Can I show a picture of my ID at a bar?

A bar is less likely to accept a picture, since they are legally bound to verify the age of anyone consuming alcohol, and a picture does not meet the legal standard. A police officer would be breaking the law himself if he accepted a picture when a real license is required.

Can I use my vertical ID when I turn 21 Colorado?

In Colorado, it’s generally 20 days after their birthday. So in other words, Lauren, who’s from Georgia, can use her vertical I.D. for up to eight years after her 21st birthday, but in Colorado, you only have 20 days to get a new one after your 21st birthday — despite when it was issued.

Vertical Driver’s License Helps with Age Verification!

The Vertical Identification Program (VIP) is something we check to protect. The Michigan Department of State started its “We Check to Protect!” public awareness campaign on July 1, 2003, to raise knowledge of a new legislation aimed to keep Michigan’s youngsters safe on and off the roadways, as well as in schools. With leadership from Secretary of State Terri Lynn Land and the assistance of an extensive coalition of government, retail and safety professionals and law enforcement officials, the campaign communicates a powerful message of personal responsibility and public safety to the community.

In conjunction with the vertical identification program “We Check to Protect,” the program reminds teens, parents, businesses, and law enforcement that identification is required and will be checked on all purchases that are restricted by age, such as those involving alcoholic beverages and tobacco products.

The peculiar vertical shape of these licenses and ID cards draws attention to the fact that the possessor is under the legal drinking age.

State identity cards and driver’s licenses that had previously been issued merely stated that the cardholder was “under the age of 21.” It also has a tamper-resistant design, which provides citizens, law enforcement, retailers, and financial institutions with a cutting-edge age verification and licensing system that is second to none.

  • Furthermore, it is a vital tool that assists merchants and retailers in avoiding the potentially financially catastrophic liability worries that can arise if a kid attempts to purchase an item that is not appropriate for their age.
  • 7-Eleven Stores are a chain of convenience stores.
  • The Lansing Police Department is a law enforcement agency in the city of Lansing, Michigan.
  • The Michigan Association of Police Organizations is a non-profit organization that promotes law enforcement in Michigan.
  • Michigan Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking (Michigan Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking) The Michigan Distributors and Vendors Association is a trade organization that represents distributors and vendors in Michigan.
  • Michigan Association of Licensed Beverage Establishments Michigan Liquor Control Commission (Michigan Liquor Control Commission) MPA stands for the Michigan Petroleum Association.
  • Michigan Retailers Association is a trade association that represents retailers in Michigan.
  • Michigan Sheriffs’ Association (Michigan Sheriffs’ Association) Miller Brewing Company (Miller Brewing Company) Mothers Against Drunk Driving is a non-profit organization dedicated to preventing drunk driving.
  • The National Association of Service Station Dealers Student Leadership Services is a non-profit organization dedicated to assisting students in becoming leaders in their communities.

Thomas Husband and Associates, Inc. It is required that state identity cards and driver’s licenses be issued in a vertical (portrait) style for citizens under the age of 21 per Public Acts 553 and 554 of 2002, which changed Michigan law. We Check to Make Sure the Brochure Is Safe (PDF File)

Ohio driver’s licenses turn vertical for some

As a result, the 19-year-old freshman at Ohio State University did what any other person would have done. After paying the $7.25 for a replacement at one of the nearby Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles sites, she was on her way. Dino DiSanto contributed to this article. a member of the writing staff Wendy Lo was unable to drive since she had lost her driver’s license. As a result, the 19-year-old freshman at Ohio State University did what any other person would have done. After paying the $7.25 for a replacement at one of the nearby Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles sites, she was on her way.

  • “It was vertical,” the Mentor resident described the situation.
  • “I had to inquire as to if this was a joke from the lady.” This isn’t a joke.
  • The new license is vertical, and it features a line that displays when a person becomes 21 and 18 years old, as well as other information.
  • In a statement, Lt.
  • Maureen O’Connor, director of the Ohio Department of Public Safety, stated that data support the need to amend the license in order to make it simpler for store clerks and anyone who sell both goods to identify underage children.
  • “We’re prepared to attempt everything that might be able to assist lessen it,” O’Connor stated.
  • During the late 1980s and early 1990s, the BMV took profile images of persons under the age of 21 to be used for identification purposes.

Individuals under the age of 21 were issued licenses with a red backdrop, while older adults were issued licenses with yellow backgrounds.

Doug White, R-Manchester, who requested the state to look into making the modification in order to assist businesses and bars around the state, resulted in this newest license amendment.

When compared to the present Ohio driver’s license, which is horizontal and looks like a credit card, the new licenses have a vertical orientation.

See also:  How To Difference A Driver'S Permit From License In Texas?

In the backdrop, you can see the state seal as well.

Those who applied for a driver’s license before March 1 and are under the age of 21 will obtain the updated version.

According to the BMV, the horizontal-style driver’s license for adolescents will be phased away over the following five years.

The state of Ohio is not the first to experiment with vertical licenses.

In order to identify underage adolescents, “the majority of states have attempted to do something with driver’s licenses at some point,” according to Melissa Savage, policy expert for the National Conference of State Legislatures.

Prior to the introduction of the vertical license in Iowa, businesses that sold tobacco products to minors had a compliance rate of only 28 percent.

Iowa anticipates a decrease to single digits in the coming year.

As Bill Lewis, legislative liaison for the state branch of Mothers Against Drunk Driving, explained, “Clearly, there is an issue with underage drinking in Ohio, and the existing (horizontal) design of licenses hasn’t been accomplishing what it needs to do.” Lewis believes that vertical licenses will “not completely eliminate the problem of underage drinking,” but they will “assist.” The Ohio Licensed Beverage Association, the Wholesale Beer and Wine Association of Ohio, the Ohio Council of Retail Merchants, and the Ohio Grocers Association have all expressed their support for the new license already.

According to Jason King, a representative for the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators, “it doesn’t rule out the possibility of somebody attempting to avoid the new license.” “However, it makes it much simpler for store employees to detect minors under the age of majority.” In many circumstances, because their license is entirely different, they don’t have to worry about checking the expiration date.” Some teenage drivers believe that the new driving style will have no influence on their usage of illegal alcoholic beverages.

We could acquire alcohol from other individuals if we wanted to,” Timothy Liu, a Lakeland Community College student in Kirtland, told NBC News in an interview.

California’s New Vertical Driver Licenses Solve (Part of) a Problem

I appear to be (and am) far older than 21. In spite of this, I continue to find myself detained at the checkout counter as the clerk searches through my driver’s license for my birthday. With California’s innovative new drivers licenses and identification cards, the “birthdate quest” may become a thing of the past. Identification cards in California, which are designed for use by youngsters, the elderly, or any non-driver who need a basic identification card, used to be almost identical in appearance to drivers licenses.

  • The search for a birthdate was exhausting for clerks, bartenders, and bouncers, and I’m confident that more than a few kids were able to purchase beer and smokes from a preoccupied checker at the supermarket.
  • To be honest, it’s a fairly great answer to a very frequent problem.
  • Additionally, the cards are equipped with the necessary arsenal of high-tech tricks, including images that are only visible under UV lamps, a bar code that replaces the magnetic stripe, and anti-forgery artwork.
  • However, before we begin that discussion, we should increase public transportation choices in order to limit the number of intoxicated drivers.
  • Perhaps, after those issues have been resolved, confirming identification will not be such a significant matter in the first place.

ON THE ROAD: Vertical driver’s licenses help ID younger drivers

In an email, Grand Terrace resident Stephanie Sotelo stated that her nephew, who is 20 years old, had gotten his new driver’s license, which had been issued in “portrait position,” which means that one has tilt the license vertically in order to view the information printed on it. The landscape (horizontal) orientation of my licenses has always been the norm for me. “Is this the new method of printing that they will be using?” Approximately a year ago, the California Department of Motor Vehicles changed the appearance of driver licenses in the state.

  1. “If you are under the age of 21, your license will now be vertical,” DMV spokesperson Jan Mendoza explained in an email.
  2. The license does include a red line on it that indicates the year in which the license holder will turn 21.
  3. “However, you will be required to surrender your other driver’s license and pay the $25 duplicate price.” Q:During his most recent visit to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Riverside resident Walter Andrews had a pleasant surprise.
  4. “I was informed that my new license will be required to display ‘corrective lenses.'” Question: Why do I require corrective glasses to drive when I was told at the DMV office that a motorist with just one eye (who can read the eye chart) does not require corrective lenses?

According to Garza, “Applicants who do not satisfy the screening criterion without corrective lenses, but who are given corrective lenses such that they do, must wear corrective lenses while driving.” Applications from those who do not satisfy the screening criteria, and whose eye doctors have refused to provide prescriptions for corrective lenses, may be required to participate in a driving test to demonstrate that they can compensate for their visual defect.

  • According to Andrews, this regulation would provide him with an opportunity to demonstrate that he can drive safely without the need of corrective glasses.
  • Among other things, California Vehicle Code Section 12805 states that the state “must refuse to grant or renew a driver’s license to, or renew a driver’s license to, any individual who:.
  • The use of a bioptic telescopic or similar lens to achieve the 20/200 visual acuity criteria is strictly prohibited.
  • It is established by examination or other evidence that the individual is unable to drive a motor vehicle on a public roadway in an appropriate manner.
  • Are you concerned about the state of the traffic?

Questions should be sent to [email protected] or called in to 951-375-3720 with your e-mail address, phone number, complete name, and city in the subject line. Please keep in mind that owing to the large number of inquiries submitted, only those that have been published may be answered.

Vertical ID ban has unintended consequences

The prohibition on vertical ID has unforeseen implications. There are two types of licenses: a horizontal license and a vertical license. UA art student Melissa Arrillagare had just celebrated her 21st birthday when she returned to Tucson following a summer break in California last year. They went out to the bars on Fourth Avenue in early September, only to be turned away by bouncers who told her that her vertical California driver’s license was not an accepted form of identification for purchasing alcoholic beverages at the entrance.

  • “It’s a huge hassle, especially for those who are traveling from out of state,” Arrillaga, who is now 22 years old, said.
  • According to Lee Hill, communications director for the Arizona Department of Liquor, the rule is meant to discourage young persons from drinking by using someone else’s identification.
  • It alienates people like Arrillaga, an out-of-state student who had to wait until winter break to return to California in order to apply for a horizontal license, as well as visitors from places where they would not otherwise be required to switch to horizontal licenses, according to Hill.
  • According to Hill, “everything was occurring in the state.” “It was quite difficult at first,” she said.
  • According to Bill Nugent, proprietor of the Shanty restaurant, which is located at North Fourth Avenue and East Ninth Street, “it is what it is.” “There’s a learning curve,” says the author.
  • And then there are those guests who are completely unaware of the legislation and who tell him that they are just here for a short period of time, pleading with him to let them in with a vertical ID.
  • The Shanty has posted posters informing customers of the law and quoting the specific laws.

“You’re still required to follow it.” Horizontal driver’s licenses from any state or territory in the United States or Canada, as well as valid passports, resident alien cards, and military identification cards, are all acceptable forms of identification for purchasing alcoholic beverages.

Consular cards, Mexican identification cards, and border-crossing cards are not accepted for the purchase of alcoholic beverages.

Businesses who accept fraudulent identification face a $500 punishment for their first infraction, $1,000 for their second offense, and $1,500 fine for their third offense, according to her.

That is not what a law is intended to do, and it never will be.

Others will eventually catch on to the idea of prohibiting vertical licenses for the purchase of alcoholic beverages.

“We’re hoping that word will spread within a one-year cycle,” she added. For more information, contact reporter Yoohyun Jung at 573-4224 or [email protected] Yoohyun Jung may be found on Twitter as @yoohyun jung. Become a subscriber to our daily email, Daily Headlines.

Tennessee unveils new vertical license design for those under 21

In a press release issued on Monday, the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security announced a new vertical design for driver’s licenses and identity cards for those under the age of 21. The vertical design is based on the idea of making it easier and more effective to identify people under the age of twenty-one. Police and sellers are hoping that it will aid in their efforts to keep alcoholic beverages away from children under the age of majority. Multiple officials, including Lieutenant Governor Randy McNally and Department of Safety and Homeland Security Commissioner David W.

“As a former state trooper, I can speak from experience.

The announcement was made in front of a crowd that included state senators and representatives, as well as members from the Tennessee Hospitality and Tourism Association.

Pushed through

State Sen. Becky Duncan Massey, R-Knoxville, was the driving force behind the legislation that resulted in the vertical licensing program. Massey began working on the law after being made aware of the situation, which was first handled through a different proposal, which he later dropped. “We actually had a piece of legislation in the works that was going to try to remedy the problem, but it wasn’t the correct approach,” Massey explained. Consequently, when we returned with the vertical driver’s license bill last year, we were confident that it was the proper approach.” Bill Dunn, a Republican from Knoxville, served as the legislation’s primary sponsor in the House, shepherding it through a number of committees before it was finally approved.

See also:  How Do I Get A Digital Driver'S License In Alabama?

I was able to get it passed through the House, and we were successful in our efforts “Dunn expressed himself in this way.

Replacement not required

The new design has already gone into effect, with the new licenses going on sale on Sunday, which was the official launch day for the new look. If a person under the age of 21 already has a driver’s license, they will not be needed to get another one unless they experience an usual replacement event, such as a loss or a change of address. Vertical licenses, on the other hand, will be provided to new license-carriers who are under the age of 21. When a person reaches the age of 21, he or she is eligible to apply for the regular horizontal license.

Purkey, on the other hand, predicts that it won’t be long until the vertical license becomes the new standard for underage transporters.

“The licenses are renewed on an eight-year basis,” Purkey explained. “But you’d be astonished at what you find. During those eight years, a variety of events occur that need the issuance of a new license. As a result, it will not take the full eight years to complete the cycle.”

‘The right thing to do’

  • Tennessee is neither the first state to adopt vertical licenses, nor is it the first to implement them. The state of Colorado was the first to implement the concept in 1994. Tennessee will become the 48th state to embrace the vertical license idea. Tennessee will be the first state to do so. Mr. Dunn is certain that people who appreciate the concepts underlying the vertical licensing concept will be satisfied with the final result. According to Dunn, “I believe that adults, as well as anyone who is responsible and understands that young people and alcohol do not mix,” will be quite thrilled about the new law. Those who sell (alcohol) are overjoyed and delighted about the change, since it makes it easier for them to card customers when they walk through their doors. Underage drinkers who are attempting to consume alcohol will be the only ones who will be dissatisfied and frustrated, in my opinion. Massey is hopeful that her efforts to get the law enacted would be successful in the long run. “There are times when you do things because it is the correct thing to do,” Massey explained. If it will save even one life, it will have been worth every minute of effort that I have put into it.

Lawmaker hopes vertical driver’s license reduces underage alcohol sales, but will it?

Almost everyone, it appears, favors the notion of a vertically oriented driver’s license, which would allow alcohol retailers to identify underage customers more quickly and easily. But, more importantly, does the concept truly work? Until the end of next year, or in July 2018, all Tennessee licenses given to minors in the state will be in a vertical orientation. Because the rule is not retroactive, teenage drivers who already hold a license will not be required to seek another one. Mothers Against Drunk Driving, law enforcement, and alcohol-related industry groups have all endorsed the vertical driver’s license, which is an alternative to the horizontal driver’s license that adult drivers now have.

With the passage of legislation pushed by state Sen.

Minor drivers in Minnesota and Oregon are not required to drive in a vertical posture.

At least one “discussion paper” published in 2011 questioned whether vertical licenses would be a long-term deterrent to underage drinking in the long run.

National model for licenses

According to Sgt. Rob Madden, public information officer supervisor with the Colorado State Patrol, “it’s so prevalent here that we don’t even talk about it.” The acquisition of a horizontal license when you reach the age of 21 is considered a rite of passage. Madden, on the other hand, claims that he is unaware of any examination of the policy to see if it has resulted in a reduction in either access to alcohol or use by individuals under the age of 21. The American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators advised the use of a vertical license for children more than a decade ago, and it is still in use.

The organization produces model programs in the fields of motor vehicle administration, police traffic services, and highway safety, as well as serving as a conduit for information in those areas of expertise.

According to Geoff Slagle, director of Identity Management at the American Association of Medical Examiners (AAMVA), which is situated in Arlington, Va., “I’m unaware of any particular studies that have been performed to quantify the success of this.” In response to a question about when each state implemented the measure that his group had proposed as a model driver’s license for children, Slagle stated that his organization did not have such a list.

I can tell you firsthand that our community (the division of motor vehicles and law enforcement) and our stakeholder partners (safety-centered organizations and retailers) have all expressed appreciation for what this has done to draw attention to the fact that a vertical cardholder who possesses a driver’s license/identification card that complies with the AAMVA standard is not eligible to purchase or consume alcoholic beverages in the United States,” Slagle said in a statement.

Vertical licenses for minors, according to Slagle, “are not intended to be the exclusive technique” for determining the age of the cardholder.

In addition, organizations concerned with underage drinking and public safety, such as the Governors Highway Safety Association, the National Conference of State Legislators, the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, and Mothers Against Drunk Driving, were unable to locate any evidence of a study to determine whether or not the vertical license for minors is effective in reducing underage drinking, highway crashes, and fatalities among young motorists.

Lawmaker discovers concept

Massey isn’t bothered by any of this. “I hope it will save some lives,” the senator expressed his optimism. The cost is worth it if it saves just one life, says the author. Massey stated that she became interested with the notion of better recognizing underage drivers after being approached by a local eatery about the issue. In the opinion of the restaurant owner, verifying the identification of everyone who orders an alcoholic beverage, as required by law, was a time-consuming process for waiters that was prone to mistakes during peak hours.

Massey’s initial attempt to address the issue was a measure introduced in 2016 that required drivers to obtain a new license upon reaching the age of 21.

Her idea, on the other hand, was killed after a budgetary study determined that it would cost $200,000 to execute the law.

“I said to myself, ‘This is it.'” While conducting my study, I was startled to see that so many states had previously implemented it, and I questioned why we hadn’t done so sooner.” The idea, according to Massey and the state Department of Safety and Homeland Security, had not been submitted to legislators before Massey discovered it, and there is no evidence to support this.

Clear legislative sailing

As a result of Massey’s vertical licensing plan receiving a “no-cost” classification on its fiscal note, the measure received little attention from lawmakers. In the House of Representatives, her measure received the support of ten co-sponsors. The measure was unanimously approved by the Senate Transportation and Safety Committee, on which Massey serves, and passed the Senate. Two senators voted against the bill in the Senate Finance, Ways, and Means Committee on Tuesday. Todd Gardenhire, a Republican from Chattanooga, eventually came around to supporting the legislation.

  • Gardenhire stated that he did not vote for the bill in committee because he was unclear of the potential expenses to the state of California.
  • Hensley stated that he was aware of overwhelming support for the bill and that it will become law.
  • “I truly believe that driver’s licenses should be used for driving alone, and that we are using them for all kinds of other things,” Hensley remarked.
  • Senate.
  • In the House of Representatives, the measure passed by a vote of 83 to 1.
  • Tim Rudd (R-Murfreesboro) was the lone dissenting vote.
  • “I believe that if you are old enough to serve as a police officer or in the military and die in the service of your nation, you are an adult who should not be denied the rights or treated differently than any other 18-21 year old adult in the same situation.

That is one of the reasons why I voted against the law.”

‘2 a.m. knocks on the door’

Deputy Sherriff Terry Ashe, executive director of the Tennessee Sheriff’s Association, said the idea of vertical licenses was “a no-brainer.” “The most difficult thing I’ve ever done in my 47 years was to knock on someone’s door at 2 a.m. and tell them their child had died in a car accident,” Ashe said. “That’s something that sticks with you. “I can recall every single one of them.” This is fantastic if it can save a child’s life by preventing an unlawful transaction from taking place.” He stated that the Sheriff’s Association was not engaged in the formulation of the legislation, but that it supported it.

Ashe retired from the Wilson County Sheriff’s Office in 2012 after 30 years of service and assumed the post of executive director of the Sheriff’s Association of North Carolina.

Duncan, executive director of the Tennessee Association of Chiefs of Police, the Tennessee Association of Chiefs of Police supported Massey’s legislation but did not actively push for it.

See also:  How Early Can You Renew A Minnesota Driver'S License?

“We believed it would be beneficial to personnel working in convenience shops and other companies that provide alcoholic beverages,” she explained.

However, while the University of Tennessee Police Department did not push for the law, Assistant Chief Keith Lambert stated the department supports “any legislation that makes it more difficult for young kids to get alcoholic beverages.” Knoxville Police Chief David Rausch endorsed Massey’s legislation, stating that it will assist clerks in identifying minor customers and deter drivers with vertical licenses from attempting to purchase the goods in question.

However, the chief stated that “it will not prevent the use of counterfeit identifications or the use of someone else’s identification.”

Does it work?

After five years, the Michigan secretary of state declared that the policy had been a success. Vertical licenses for minors were implemented in the state in 2004. Officials from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) stated the rule had resulted in a drop in the number of prosecutions for young drivers who had any amount of alcohol in their systems. In 2004, the first full year of giving vertical licenses, there were 1,700 convictions, according to him. In 2007, there were 1,340 convictions. Nonsense, academics declared in 2011 while creating a “discussion paper” regarding the efficiency of vertical licensing.

According to the two writers, Michigan had not followed statistical methodologies that may have been used to support its assertion.

Knoxville Police Department Underage Alcohol Stings 2015-17

  • Employee checked ID percent sold after checkingID2015624774 percent 2016594271 percent 2017 Businesses CitedEmployee checked ID (as of May) 241985 percent of the total Knoxville Police Department is the source of this information. According to the findings of the study, law enforcement sting operations in states that have vertical licenses have tended to diminish after the policy was implemented. According to the stings analyzed, 50 percent of shops didn’t ask undercover operators for identification, and in the 30 percent of cases when sellers did check identity, the employee nevertheless sold to an underage consumer. According to figures provided by the Knoxville Police Department, the percentages were significantly higher when purchasing alcoholic beverages from establishments in the community. The employee checked the driver’s license and sold it to the undercover agent in as much as 85 percent of the cases investigated. Furthermore, according to the experts, kids rapidly learn which establishments don’t care about verifying their identities. The design tweak, on the other hand, “undermines the credibility of businesses who claim ‘human mistake’ when determining a consumer’s age,” according to the researchers. The greatest deterrent impact of a recently implemented vertical license, according to the researchers, was shown among 16-year-old drivers. They came to the conclusion that the young drivers had not yet learnt the lessons that their 17-year-old counterparts had learned about obtaining alcoholic beverages from establishments that did not need proof of age. Ultimately, the researchers found that “our data show that the design adjustment had only a short-run influence.”

‘Vertical’ license? Some Yakima Valley merchants say ‘No beer for you’

THE TOWN OF YAKIMA, Wash. — Do you want to get someone 21 years old or somewhat older to get up and speak on their behalf? Refuse to provide them alcoholic beverages because their driver’s license is “vertical.” You can be sure that you’ll receive a good earful. When it comes to serving alcohol to 21-year-olds who do not have a conventional driver’s license, which is defined as one with a horizontal layout, bars, restaurants, and other connected establishments frequently turn away the uninitiated (aka the older population).

  1. Persons under the age of 21 in Washington and other states are granted a driver’s license or identity card with a vertical layout, which is intended to make it easier to identify underage people while selling alcoholic beverages in such jurisdictions.
  2. Many people are surprised by this development, according to Mikhail Carpenter, a spokesperson for the state Liquor and Cannabis Board.
  3. As Carpenter points out, this occurs more frequently in the autumn when college students return to school, which isn’t all that unpredictable.
  4. “Because no one understands their business better than (retailers), the regulations are written to allow for the existence of these in-house policies,” says the author.

In the event that they disobey the law, Carpenter explained, “it is their business and their (liquor) license that is at danger.” Because the state Liquor and Cannabis Board often undertakes targeted enforcement in situations where a person under the age of 21 with a vertical driver’s license enters a business and attempts to purchase alcohol, there is significant reason for worry.

  1. The penalties get more severe with each consecutive infraction, with a fourth offense within a two-year period culminating in the revocation of a liquor license.
  2. The outcome is that Yakima Sports Center will no longer offer alcoholic beverages to anyone who does not possess a horizontal driver’s license.
  3. In the midst of all of this debate, it’s worth asking: Why do 21-year-olds have vertical licenses in the first place?
  4. However, the majority of the time, the individual reached the age of 21 before their vertical driver’s license expired and needed to be reissued.

Fortunately, there is yet hope. Christine Anthony, a state Department of Licensing spokesperson, stated that a simple trip to the Department of Licensing and the payment of a $20 fee is all that stands between a disgruntled 21-year-old and his or her dream of obtaining a horizontal license.

Underage California Drivers Will Now Get a Vertical License

LAist is reliant on the support of its readers. Your tax-deductible contribution today helps to power our reporters and ensures that we remain independent. We rely on you, our reader, rather than paywalls, to keep our doors open because we think that essential news and information should be freely available to all people on the internet. It was revealed today that the Department of Motor Vehicles will be making significant changes, but they won’t be making your visit to their offices any more pleasant.

A vertical layout for people under 21 years old, images that can only be seen under ultraviolet lights, and a 2D bar code on the back of the licenses and state IDs were among the changes introduced earlier this week.

The Department of Motor Vehicles’ Director, George Valverde, stated that “the enhanced security measures, along with sophisticated technology, make California driver licenses and identity cards one of the most secure identifying credentials in the country.” “We are convinced that citizens, businesses, and law enforcement authorities will welcome them.” The DMV stressed that cardholders do not need to be concerned about replacing their license or identification card.

Officials advised people to just wait until it was time to renew their licenses.

There is also an outline of the California Brown Bear, which can be seen when a flashlight is held against the back of the card and is visible from the front of the card when a flashlight is held against the back of the card.

Types of Licenses & IDs

It is possible to utilize a Real ID license for both driving and identification reasons. A real ID program, in general, refers to new federal legislation aimed to combat terrorism by enacting a slew of new homeland security measures. In order for a state-issued driver’s license or identity card to be accepted by the federal government for official purposes, the regulations outline the minimum criteria, processes, and requirements that must be satisfied. »

Enhanced Driver’s License (EDL)

An EDL is a Real ID-compliant license that also serves as a handy border crossing document for citizens of the United States who are coming home from Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean, or Bermuda, whether by land or by water. You must be a Vermont resident and a citizen of the United States. »

Driver Privilege Card (DPC)

A DPC is intended to be used purely for the purpose of driving.

A DPC is labeled “Not for Federal Identification” and is therefore not compatible with Real ID standards. »

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)

According to federal regulations, if the vehicle you drive has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more, or if it is designed to carry 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or if you transport hazardous material in an amount that must be placarded, you are required to hold a Commercial Driver License (CDL). »

Non-Driver Identification (NDR)

A Non-Driver ID is a form of identification that does not provide driving rights. A Non-Driver ID can be obtained by any Vermont resident, regardless of age. It is not possible to hold a Vermont Non-Driver Identification Card if you have an active driver’s license in another state. A Non-Driver ID can be Real ID compliant, Enhanced (EDL), or Non-Real ID compliant, depending on the circumstances (DPC). »

Download the PDF form to your computer and then open it with Adobe Reader

  • In a vertical format, the license is shown
  • The licensee’s “Under 21” status is stated next to the photo
  • The license also includes a date that indicates when the licensee will reach the age of 21

Conversion of Graduated or Under 21 License

When you reach the age of eighteen, you may continue to utilize your graduated driving license (Class G). You will, however, be allowed to get a replacement license indicating a Class D operator status, which will still bear the peculiar vertical orientation that shows you are under the age of twenty-one, if you so choose. If you want to change your existing license with one indicating a Class D operator status when you turn 18, please go to AZMVDNow.gov to complete the process. Following the age of 21, you may continue to use your driving license or identity card in the particular vertical orientation that was issued to you before.

Please visit AZMVDNow.gov to replace your current license if you wish to receive one with horizontal orientation once you reach twenty-one (21).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *