An occupational driver license, also called an essential need license, is a special type of restricted license issued to you when your driver license has been suspended, revoked or denied for certain offenses, other than a medical reason or delinquent child support.
What is an occupational LIC?
- An occupational license authorizes the operation of a non-commercial motor vehicle in connection with an individual’s: Work, School-related activities, or Performance of essential household duties.
How much does an occupational license cost?
The total cost for an Occupational License can run from $700 – $1,000 or even more in some circumstances.
Who needs an occupational license in Texas?
Occupational License, also called an essential-need license, is a special type of restricted license issued to individuals whose driver license has been suspended, revoked or denied for certain offenses other than medical or delinquent child support. 3.
How much is an occupational license in Texas?
Mail the following documents to DPS as soon as possible! ✓ your SR-22 proof of insurance certificate, ✓ A check, money order or cashier’s check payable to the Texas DPS for the Occupational License fee. Send $10 for a 1-year license or $20 for a 2-year license.
How many hours can you drive with an occupational license in Wisconsin?
Your occupational license will state the specific hours you are permitted to operate a motor vehicle. Your total driving time is limited to: 12 hours driving per day (need not be consecutive hours) 60 hours total driving for the week.
What do I need for an occupational license in Wisconsin?
If eligible, you will need to:
- Complete form MV3027.
- Complete form MV3001.
- Complete any required tests, including vision screening.
- Provide proof of your identity.
- Provide documentary proof that you are legally present in the United States.
- Provide an SR22, proof of insurance.
- Pay the nonrefundable application fee
Do I need a lawyer to get an occupational license in Texas?
To get an occupational driver’s license you must first get a court order that authorizes the Texas Department of Public Safety to issue the license. The process can take weeks to complete and can get complicated. You may need to hire an attorney to help you reach your goal.
How long are occupational drivers license in Texas?
An occupational license is typically issued for one year or less; the maximum length of issuance is two years. The court must grant the issuance of an occupational license beyond one year.
How do I get my occupational therapy license in Texas?
To learn more about how to become an Occupational Therapist or Occupational Therapy Assistant in Texas, please follow these steps.
- Step 1: Graduate from an ACOTE Accredited School.
- Step 2: Complete Clinical Work Requirement.
- Step 3: Pass the National Certification Exam.
Can you get a driver’s license in Texas if you are suspended in another state?
Suspension in a Different State or Jurisdiction If your driver license status is suspended, revoked, denied, or cancelled in another state, you are not eligible to apply for Texas driver license.
Can I get an ID with a suspended license in Texas?
Can you get an ID card with a suspended license in Texas? YES, you can get an ID card even if you have a suspended license in Texas.
Does Texas require sr22?
A Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) is required by the Texas Transportation Code Chapter 601 to verify that you are maintaining motor vehicle liability insurance. A SR-22 can be issued by most insurance providers and certifies that you have the minimum liability insurance as required by law.
How do I get my driving record without an audit number in Texas?
If you do not have your audit number or cannot answer your security questions, it will be necessary for you to request your driver record by mail by completing and mailing the Application for Copy of Driver Record (DR-1) along with the appropriate fee.
Can you register a car with a suspended license in Wisconsin?
Most reasons for suspended or revoked driving privileges do not affect your ability to title and/or register a vehicle.
How much does it cost for an occupational license in Wisconsin?
How much does it cost to get an occupational license in Wisconsin? After an OWI, to get an occupational license in Wisconsin, you need to fill out the application, pay $50, submit to required tests, and submit an SR-22.
Occupational Driver License
Because certain states’ laws must be changed to comply with the REAL ID Act, this timeline takes this into consideration. Also intended to provide an opportunity for members of the public to learn more about the ramifications of not having a REAL ID-compliant license, and to ensure that individuals have ample opportunity to replace their pre-REAL ID licenses with new compliant licenses or to obtain another acceptable form of identification before the implementation of REAL ID.
- Work, vital home responsibilities, or school-related activities are all examples of obligations.
Request an Occupational Driver License
To get an occupational driver’s license, you must file a petition with the Justice of the Peace, county or district court where you presently reside, or with the court of original jurisdiction where the infraction occurred, whichever is applicable. The Travis County Law Library provides a free example of an occupational driver license petition, which may be downloaded here. Due to the fact that each court has its own set of regulations, you should check with the court with which you want to file a petition for an occupational driving license to see if the petition on theTravis County Law Librarywebsite is suitable before filing it.
Unlike the occupational driving license, this court order is not valid.
Issuance of an Occupational License
Before an occupational license may be given, the DPS must receive a copy of the court order as well as any other relevant documents. During the time that the request for an occupational license is being handled, the court order may be utilized as a driver’s license for up to 45 days from the date of the judge’s signing. You must submit the following things to the Department of Public Safety:
- The petition, as well as a certified copy of the court ruling awarding the occupational license
- If a judge decides to issue an occupational order, this is what happens. If you are a participant in a special drug court program, you are not obliged to file a petition.
- Obtaining a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22)
- Making a payment for the occupational licensing cost
- An occupational license is normally granted for a period of one year or less
- The maximum period of two years may be granted
- And When an occupational license is needed for more than one year, the court must grant the request.
DPS Mailing Address, Fax Number and Email Information
Send all of the needed papers, together with any costs, to the postal address shown below so that they can be processed as quickly as possible. On each piece of documentation you provide, you must include your full name, date of birth, and driver’s license number. If you have a copy of your suspension notice, please attach it with your application so that your driving record may be verified. Please allow for a processing time of 21 business days. Texas Department of Public SafetyEnforcement and Compliance ServiceP.O.
Box 15999Austin, TX 78761-5999 In the event that you are not paying any fees, you can alternatively send these papers via fax or email.
Phone: (512) 424-2848 Fax: (512) 424-2848 Email:[email protected] It is required that all documents be supplied in the PDF format.
A peace officer may request that you show them your court order, which you must carry in your vehicle at all times. You must also show them your occupational driver’s license if asked.
Denial of Issuance/Waiting Period
Unless one of the following scenarios occurs and the court has not ordered the waiver of the waiting time, an occupational license will be given once the request has been completed. These instances include:
- It is possible that your driver’s license has been suspended in the past due to an alcohol or drug-related infraction. Because of an intoxication-related conviction, you were required to serve a 90-day waiting period before you could reapply for your driver’s license. If you have at least two administrative license revocations on your driving record, you must wait 180 days before you may get your license back. There is an obligatory one-year waiting time before obtaining an occupational driving license, which is required in order to operate a commercial vehicle. During a time of license suspension, revocation, cancellation, or rejection, an occupational driver license cannot be issued for the purpose of operating a commercial motor vehicle.
Occupational Driver’s License
Warning: The information and forms contained in this handbook are not intended to be a substitute for the advice and assistance of an attorney. It is possible to drive even if your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked if you obtain an occupational driver’s license, which will allow you to do so under specified conditions (ODL). When you have an occupational driver’s license, you have a specific limited license that allows you to drive a non-commercial vehicle for work, school, or to do necessary home tasks.
It might take many weeks to finish the procedure, and it can become tricky.
Consider consulting with an attorney to discover whether you are eligible for an occupational driver’s license in your state.
WARNING: The information and forms included within these pages do NOT replace the advice and assistance of an attorney. It is possible to drive even if your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked if you get an occupational driver’s license under specific conditions (ODL). When you have an occupational driver’s license, you have a specific limited license that allows you to drive a non-commercial vehicle for employment, school, or to fulfill necessary home responsibilities. A court order authorizing the Texas Department of Public Safety to grant an occupational driver’s license must first be obtained before the license may be obtained.
To achieve your aim, it is possible that you may require the assistance of an attorney.
If you like, you can also engage an attorney to examine your paperwork before they are submitted to the court.
Common questions about Occupational Driver’s License
What exactly is a “Occupational Driver’s License,” sometimes known as an ODL? ExpandCollapse It is possible to obtain a limited occupational driver’s license (ODL) that allows you to drive only during particular hours, on specific days, and under specific conditions when you have a “important need to drive.” If you have a “important necessity,” you will need to drive there:
- Carry out your responsibilities
- Getting to and from work or school, or doing necessary domestic responsibilities are all examples of transportation.
Is it possible to obtain an ODL? ExpandCollapse No. You will not be eligible for an ODL if you do any of the following:
- It is possible that you lost your driving privileges due to a mental or physical handicap. Your driving privileges were revoked because you failed to pay child support
- If you’re driving a commercial motor vehicle, you’ll need it. In the opinion of the judge, you do not have an important necessity. The judge is concerned about the safety of the general public. You have obtained two ODLs in the last ten years following a conviction for a crime. Because of a past DWI arrest or conviction, you are subject to a “hard suspension” waiting time.
Was your driver’s license revoked because you failed to pay a surcharge? ExpandCollapse On September 1, 2019, the fee program came to an end. This implies that any levies that were in force on September 1, 2019 were no longer in effect in Texas.
The automatic reinstatement of your license should occur if your license was suspended only as a result of surcharges. Will the State be represented by an attorney during the hearing? ExpandCollapse If your license is suspended for any of the following reasons:
- If you are under the age of 21 and your license has been suspended under Texas Transportation Code 521.342, you have been charged with criminal homicide or an intoxication offense under Penal Code 49.04-49.08
- If you have been charged with a criminal homicide or an intoxication offense under Penal Code 49.04-49.08
Is it safe for me to drive once the Judge signs the Order? ExpandCollapse Once the Order for ODL becomes effective, you may drive with a certified copy of the order for a period of 45 days. Read your Order to find out when it goes into effect. It is not possible to drive until you either receive your actual ODL from DPS before the 45th day, or unless you either go back to court and obtain an Amended Order for ODL that extends the deadline for receiving your actual ODL from DPS. What is the procedure for obtaining a Certified Abstract (Type AR) of my driving record?
If you have confirmed that your driving records have been consolidated, you may purchase your driving record online with a credit card and print it off immediately afterward.
If your records are CONSOLIDATED, you will need to input your driver’s license number and license audit number from the most recent DL (or ID, if your records are CONSOLIDATED) as well as the last four digits of your social security number at: www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm.
Send the completed form, together with a $20 check or money order, to the Texas Department of Public Safety.
The waiting period is defined as follows: If an Order is signed by the Judge, why wouldn’t it take effect immediately?
For the following reasons, your license will not be reinstated if you were arrested for DWI and refused or failed a blood or breath test; you were arrested for any other alcohol or drug-related driving or boating violation; or you were arrested for any other driving or boating offense.
- If your license was suspended because of an alcohol or drug-related offense within the five years prior to your arrest, you must reinstate your license within 90 days after your arrest. In the five years prior to your arrest, if your license was suspended as a result of a DWI, Intoxication Assault, or Manslaughter conviction, you must serve 180 days of the suspension period on your license. You have 365 days from the date on which your license was suspended if your license was suspended because of a second (or more) DWI, intoxication assault, or manslaughter conviction within the five years prior to your arrest.
Forms and Instructions for Obtaining an Occupational Driver’s License ExpandCollapse Warning: The information and forms contained in this handbook are not intended to be a substitute for the advice and assistance of an attorney.
Step 1: Go to www.Texas.gov/driver and check the status of your license to see whether you actually need an Occupational Driver’s License (ODL) or whether you can restore your license. ExpandCollapse Some people believe they require an Occupational Driver’s License when in fact they only need to restore their driver’s license. Before requesting an ODL from the court, be sure that you are eligible to receive one. Select “Drivers License Reinstatement and Status” from the drop-down menu.
Using this free website, you may find out whether you are eligible to drive with your present license and, if you are not, what you must do in order to qualify. If you are not eligible, you will be informed as follows via the website:
- The conditions that must be fulfilled
- The fees that you will be required to pay
You can pay fees through this website and receive instructions on how to send proof that you have complied with the DPS’s compliance requirements. Continue to monitor the website because it is updated on a daily basis. Additionally, you can call the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) at 512-424-2600 (in English) or 512-424-7181 (in Spanish) to determine your eligibility or qualification status. Precautions must be taken! The results of recent court actions, out-of-state infractions, and child support arrearages submitted to the AG may not be reflected in your current eligible status.
See if you qualify for an ODL by filling out this form.
- Your driving privileges were revoked because of a medical condition
- It was because you owing child support that you were denied driving privileges. After being convicted of a crime, you have gotten two ODLs in the last ten years. You are ineligible to get a Texas driver’s license because you are in the United States illegally and so do not meet the requirements. The Texas Department of Public Safety website contains a list of the papers that must be shown to prove that you are a citizen of the United States or that you are lawfully present in the country.
Step 3: Compile the documents and information you’ll need to submit to the court in order to request that DPS give you an ODL. ExpandCollapse
- The Application for an Occupational Driver’s License (PDF) TheOrder for Occupational Driver’s License (ODL) requests that the Court issue an order
- TheOrder for Occupational Driver’s License (ODL) directs the Department of Public Safety to issue you an ODL. (Once you have clicked on the link, make sure to scroll down to see the Order.) The Order is included on page 6 of the ten-page PDF file.)
You may download the Petition and the Order from this page.
- Certification of your driving history (Type AR): Be cautious: in order to obtain your certified Abstract online, you must first ensure that ALL of your DPS records (DL, ID, or unlicensed record) have been CONSOLIDATED
- Otherwise, you run the risk of purchasing insufficient information and may be required to purchase additional records.If you have determined that your records have been consolidated, you may purchase your driving record online with a credit card and then print it. The fee is $22 if you order online. In order to obtain a Certified Abstract by mail, you must complete the DR-1 form, which is available at:www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm and send it along with a $20 check or money order.
- Proof that you need to drive in order to get to and from employment, education, or to execute vital home tasks, among other activities. Proof might include your school calendar or registration, a current pay stub, a letter from your employer, or an affidavit (sworn declaration) stating your need to drive. Proof of insurance in the form of an SR-22 from your insurance carrier. The SR-22 (also known as a “Financial Responsibility Certificate”) can be obtained from your insurance provider. It verifies that you have the bare minimum liability insurance needed by law, which is SR-22. In the event that you do not have access to a car, you can obtain a Texas Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance Policy. DPS will be notified by your insurance carrier if your SR-22 coverage expires, terminates, or is terminated, and your driver’s license will be revoked. A Declaration of Inability to Pay Court Fees. You should only use this form if you have limited resources, receive public assistance because of your limited resources, or are unable to pay the court filing cost. For further information, see Court Fees and Fee Waivers.
Proof that you need to drive in order to get to and from employment, education, or to conduct critical home tasks, among other reasons. Proof may include your school schedule or registration, a current pay stub, a letter from your employer, or an affidavit (sworn declaration) stating your need to drive. Your insurance carrier must provide you with an SR-22 proof of insurance. The SR-22 (also known as a “Financial Responsibility Certificate”) can be obtained from your insurance company. It verifies that you have the bare minimum liability insurance coverage mandated by law.
If your SR-22 coverage expires, terminates, or is terminated, your insurance carrier will notify DPS, and your ODL will be canceled.
For further information, seeCourt FeesFee Waivers.
- It is necessary to submit the Petition in the same court as the one where you were convicted if your license was suspended or terminated automatically as a result of your conviction. You should file the Petition in the county where you live or where the offense that is presently suspending your license happened if your license has not been suspended or terminated as a result of a conviction in the previous year. You may be able to file your lawsuit in either District Court, County Court-at-Law, or Justice of the Peace (JP) court depending on your location. If this is the case, you may choose to investigate local processes, court expenses, and court scheduling in order to determine which court is the most appropriate for your scenario.
Inquire with the court clerk about when you should return for the hearing. It is possible that you will need to book an appointment for your hearing. Step 5: Take the Order to Court and ask the Judge to sign it. ExpandCollapse When you appear in court, bring the following items:
- The Order for Occupational Driver’s License form is available for download. Fill out the form completely, with the exception of the limits and the judge’s signature. An Abridged Certified Abstract of your whole driving history (Type AR)
- The SR-22 insurance certificate from your insurance carrier
- One or more copies of the court order suspending your license as well as a copy of your DPS notice of suspension may be required by some courts. Evidence that you are required to drive
- A copy of the Petition that has been filed
Please keep in mind that if you submitted a form to seek that the court filing costs be excused, the court may ask verification of your income and expenses. During the hearing, the following was said:
- Take note that if you submitted a form to seek that the court filing costs be excused, the court may want proof of your income and expenses to be considered. During the hearing, the following were said:
For 45 days following the day on which the Order for Occupational Driver’s License is issued, you may drive with a certified copy of the order. Read your order to find out when it goes into effect. See the frequently asked questions regarding waiting times. It is not possible to drive if you do not receive your ODL from TxDPS by the 45th day. You will be unable to drive until you either receive your ODL or go back to court to obtain an Amended Order for ODL that extends the deadline. Lastly, there is a step six.
ExpandCollapse The occupational driver’s license Order issued by a court is not the actual license.
Following receipt of the court order, you must visit the Department of Public Safety to obtain the genuine occupational driver’s license. Send the following papers to the Department of Public Safety as soon as possible!
- It is necessary to provide a certified copy of your Petition for ODL, a certified copy of the Order for ODL that was signed by the Judge, your SR-22 proof of insurance certificate, and your SR-22 proof of identity. A check, money order, or cashier’s check made payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety in the amount of the Occupational License fee. Submit a check for $10 for a one-year license or $20 for a two-year license. The amount of any reinstatement costs you due, as well as a check, money order, or cashier’s check made payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety To find out how much you owe, call the Department of Public Safety at 512-424-2600.
You should send all of your documentation to the Texas Department of Public Safety Central Cash ReceivingBox 15999Austin, Texas 78761-5999 via certified mail with return receipt requested (so that you have confirmation that you mailed them).
Occupational Limited License
If your Pennsylvania driving license has been or will be suspended, you may be eligible for an Occupational Limited License (also known as an OLL). An OLL is a Class C (Non-commercial Driver’s License) or Motorcycle Limited Driver’s License that is granted to you. It is a Class C (Non-commercial Driver’s License) or Motorcycle Limited Driver’s License issued to a driver whose Pennsylvania driving privilege has been, or will be, suspended. An OLL authorizes you to drive a designated motor vehicle under certain conditions when it is necessary for the driver’s occupation, work, trade, medical treatment, or study(PDF).
- An OLL is valid for one year.
- The fact that you have never been licensed by Pennsylvania or any other state, or that you have been awarded an OLL during the previous five years, disqualifies you from applying.
- Your restoration requirements letter should only mention term suspensions (your Requirements letter will inform you if the suspension is not a term suspension), evidence of financial responsibility, learners permit requirements, and Ignition Interlock requirements, if applicable.
- You can submit an online request for your repair needs letter.
- For additional information on the requirements for Ignition Interlocks, please see our Ignition Interlock Section.
- It is also necessary to print and amend the aDL-15A(PDF) with the new information.
To Apply for an OLL:
- You must complete FormDL-15(PDF), Occupational Limited License Petition, before you may submit your application. Comply with the petition’s specific instructions
- Send it to the address on the form, along with the required cost, and it will be processed. Once you have gotten the DL-15A(PDF) section, be sure to retain it with your OLL. In order to decide whether or not you are eligible, PennDOT will check the offenses on your driving record and evaluate your petition. If you are not eligible for an OLL, you will be issued a letter stating that your application has been denied. After determining whether or not you are eligible for an OLL, you will be provided with an OLL camera card, which you will be required to present at the nearest Photo License Center in order to be photographed and get your OLL.
Occupational Driver’s License
A review and approval of all occupational license applications submitted in the JP courts and the Hood County Court at Law is performed by the Hood County Attorney’s Office on a case-by-case basis. An occupational license, also known as an essential need license, is a sort of limited license that is provided to those whose driver’s license has been suspended, revoked, or rejected for reasons other than medical need or delinquent child support.
A person may still qualify for an occupational license even if their driver’s license has been suspended due to surcharges on their driving record. If you have an occupational license, you are allowed to use a non-commercial motor vehicle in conjunction with the following activities:
- Job tasks, school-related activities, or the fulfillment of necessary domestic responsibilities
Contact Marisa Rebelloso at (817) 579-1120, ext. 5422 for information on the courses available if you have applied for an occupational driver’s license and the Court has ordered that you attend a program designed to provide counseling and rehabilitation services to people who are addicted to alcohol. Directions for Occupational Licenses from the Hood County Attorney’s OfficeDepartment of Public Safety Information on Occupational LicensesChapter L of the Texas Transportation Code
Contact Marisa Rebelloso at (817) 579-1120, ext. 5422 for information on the courses available if you have applied for an occupational driver’s license and the Court has ordered you to attend a program designed to give counseling and rehabilitation services to those who are addicted to alcohol. Directories of the Hood County Attorney General’s OfficeOccupational License Information from the Department of Public Safety (DPS)Chapter L of the Texas Transportation CodeSubchapter L of the Texas Transportation Code
- It is necessary for the petitioner to reside in Tarrant County, although he or she may also file in the county where the suspension occurred. It is not permissible for a petitioner to have more than one occupational license in any one state within the previous ten years before the filing of this petition. The license that has been suspended must be a Texas license. Applicants seeking Occupational Licenses in Texas who have never had a Texas license are unable to apply. If a petitioner’s license has been suspended in Tarrant Jurisdiction, he or she may live outside of the county. Suspension for DWI, medical advisory concerns, mental health difficulties, or unpaid child support are not matters that fall within the authority of justice courts.
FILING FEES AND DOCUMENTS FOR JUSTICE COURT 1 ARE REQUIRED: No case will be accepted, and no action will be taken on the application until all of the necessary papers have been presented to the Court for consideration.
- If the court order is approved, there will be a $54 filing charge, as well as fees for copies (which will include certified copies). Petition for an occupational license
- Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22)
- And other documents. Driving Record (Type AR-Certified Abstracts of Driving Record) – For further information, see the website of the Texas Department of Public Safety.
CLICK HERE TO COMPLETE AN ONLINE APPLICATION FOR AN OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE – For more information about filing electronically, please see E-File. THE FOLLOWING AWARDS WILL BE GIVEN TO THE PETITIONER BY THE COURT:
- Certified copies of the petition and the court order
- Certified copies of the petition and the court order Trip log sheet
- A copy of the SR-22
- And other materials
Certification of the petition; certification of the court order; and certification of the petition. Logbook for the trip; an SR-22 copy
- The petition, as well as a certified copy of the court ruling awarding the occupational license
- And An SR-22 (Statement of Financial Responsibility Insurance)
- • The payment of the occupational licensing fee Payment of the reinstatement cost as well as any additional fees and levies
MAIL TO:Texas Department of Public SafetyCentral Cash ReceivingP.O. Box 15999Austin, TX 78761-5999 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY CENTRAL CASH RECEIVING The Austin Department of Public Safety is comprised of the following individuals: Phone: (514) 224-2600 (English) Español:512-424-7181 According to the Austin Department of Public Safety, you should obtain your occupational driver license in approximately 45 days. THE COURT WILL KEEP THE FOLLOWING:
- A copy of the SR-22
- An original court order
- An original petition
- A driving record
Due to the intricacy of the previous materials, these documents have been digitized and made available as digital pictures for your convenience. In the event that you require assistance in gaining access to the information, please call Justice Court One at 817-884-1395.
WA State Licensing (DOL) Official Site: Restricted Driver License
Even if your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked, you may still be eligible for an Occupational/Restricted Driver License at this time (ORL).
You may use an ORL for:
- Work, including self-employment, WorkFirst, apprenticeships, and on-the-job training are all acceptable options. If you’re enrolled in an educational institution and pursuing a certificate, degree, or other credential, you’re considered to be in school. Community service that has been required by the court
- If no public transportation is available, substance abuse therapy or a 12-step meeting should be attended. Carrying on with your own healthcare while travelling to a healthcare provider Providing ongoing care for a person who is reliant on your assistance
- I’m interested in pursuing an apprenticeship or on-the-job training. This sort of ORL allows you to apply for these job programs within 14 days of receiving it.
How to apply for an ORL
- Create an account or join to apply online, fill out aRestricted Driver License Application, or visit a driver licensing office location. 1of the following documents must be submitted as proof of financial responsibility:
- A certificate of insurance is required (SR-22). For assistance, speak with an auto insurance representative. A certificate of deposit from the State Treasurer in the amount of $60,000 or authorized collateral in the same amount
- A surety bond issued by the person providing proof and a surety firm allowed to do business in the state of Washington, or by the person providing proof and two individual sureties
- To apply, you must submit your application along with proof of financial responsibility and a non-refundable $100 fee. If you meet the requirements, we will send you an ORL by mail.
In the event that you complete all of the conditions, you’ll be given a temporary printed copy of your limited license. Your permanent license will be mailed to you at a later date.
- Unless your limited license has been in force for more than 45 days, you will not be issued a permanent license card.
Please keep in mind that we will hold your application for 30 days to allow you to get the necessary documentation. After 30 days, you will forfeit any costs you have paid and will be required to begin the process again with a new application and pay.
ORL driving restrictions
An ORL prohibits the following:
- You may drive at any time of day (although not for more than 12 hours in a 24-hour period)
- You may drive on certain days of the week
- Areas where you are permitted to drive
- Vehicles that you are permitted to drive (but only those for which you have submitted proof of financial responsibility)
Who’s eligible to get an ORL?
Individuals with a valid Washington driver license or an out-of-state driving license are the only ones who may obtain an ORL.
If you wish to apply for an ORL and you live in Washington, you’ll need to obtain a driver’s license from the state of Washington. This will include passing all examinations as well as paying all costs.
Who’s not eligible to get an ORL?
You are ineligible if you meet any of the following criteria:
- A conviction for vehicular assault or vehicular homicide during the past seven years prior to the present occurrence
- Your driver’s license has been suspended for the following reasons:
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) is a criminal offense. Control over one’s physical actions (connected to drugs or alcohol)
- Possession by a minor Vehicular assault or vehicular homicide are two terms used to describe the same thing. Infractions on the intermediate (teen) license
- While you hold an intermediate license, you have committed an excessive number of traffic offenses. Failure to make child support payments
- The following grounds: fraud
- Medical or eyesight issues
- Infraction of a court-ordered probationary period
- Status as a habitual traffic offender
- Failure to comply with the following requirements:
- Pass a medical or vision test
- Pass a driving skills exam
- Pass a background check Complete the necessary alcohol and substance addictions therapy
- ORL regulations were violated, resulting in the cancellation of SR-22 insurance (which serves as evidence of financial responsibility).
It is not possible to get an ORL in order to operate a commercial motor vehicle. However, if you already hold a commercial driver’s license, you can apply for an ORL to allow you to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle on public roads.
If you are denied an ORL
To operate a commercial motor vehicle, you must have an ORL. A commercial driver’s license, on the other hand, does not preclude you from applying for an ORL to operate a motor vehicle that is not intended for business transportation.
If any of the following conditions are met, we will revoke your ORL and tell you in writing:
- Upon conviction of driving a vehicle in violation of the ORL limits, you will be sentenced. When you violate the ORL, we are obligated to suspend or withdraw your driving privileges until you have paid the appropriate fine. You no longer fulfill the eligibility requirements
- You decide to terminate your SR-22 insurance (which serves as evidence of financial responsibility)
- And You detach an ignition interlock device (IID) that is necessary
- Fee under RCW 46.20.380
- The provisions of RCW 46.20.391 are as follows: Application — Eligibility — Restrictions — Cancellation. In violation of RCW 46.20.394, detailed limitations are imposed. RCW 46.20.400: Obtaining a new driver’s license — surrender or order of existing license
- RCW 46.20.410: Penalty for failure to surrender or order current license
Please contact us at 360.902.3900. (TTY: Call711)
The Occupational Licensing (OL) section of the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is responsible for licensing and regulating a diverse variety of motor vehicle-related companies and persons in California. The car industry in the United States is one of the most important in the world. In California, there are presently more than 31 million automobiles on the road, with more than 24 million licensed drivers behind the wheel. The sale and usage of vehicles in California has resulted in a plethora of sectors that cater to the diverse demands of California drivers, including vehicle production and sales, driver instruction, vehicle registration, and a variety of other services.
Apply for an Occupational License
Learn about the process of applying for an occupational license, as well as the requirements, documents, and costs involved. As part of the application process, OL inspectors conduct background checks and physically examine places of business to ensure that they are in conformity with applicable laws and rules and regulations. In addition, we constantly monitor companies to ensure that they are in compliance with the law and conduct periodic evaluations of commercial premises.
Products That Require an Occupational License
You must be licensed as a dealer in order to sell automobiles, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), commercial vehicles, motorbikes, trailers, and other types of vehicles. Find the entire list of items that must be sold with the assistance of an occupational license.
Employer Testing Program (ETP)
Employers can give the driver’s license exam to workers who are seeking their commercial driver’s license instead of needing them to visit the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Having trouble with a driving school, traffic violator’s training school, car dealer, salesman, dismantler, registration service, or other licensed business? Contact the Better Business Bureau (BBB) for assistance.
Find out whether or not a company in the automobile sector has a license.
New Motor Vehicle Board
The New Motor Vehicle Board is a program of the California Department of Motor Vehicles that is overseen by the California State Transportation Authority.
Within the Board, there is a Consumer Mediation Services Program, which aims to settle issues between customers and new motor vehicle dealers, as well as between consumers and a manufacturer or distributor, through informal mediation.
Online Vehicle Salesperson Renewal/Reinstatement
You may renew or restore your automobile salesperson license by logging onto our Virtual Office website. Find out more about the steps and get started right now.
Occupational Licensing Inspector Offices
Business license applicants can take use of the services offered by OL Inspector Offices.
Need something else?
If you have any queries concerning applying for occupational licenses, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are here to assist you!
Make use of these useful resources to discover answers to your queries concerning occupational licensing and services provided by the car manufacturing sector.
Vehicle Industry Services
The California Department of Motor Vehicles offers a variety of services to the automotive sector. These include motor carrier services, autonomous vehicle laws and certification tests, as well as the Business Partner Automation Program.
What Is an Occupational Driver’s License?
You require the ability to drive, but your license has been suspended for an unknown cause, which may or may not have anything to do with your driving record. What steps can you take to get back on the road for vital transportation to and from work, school, medical appointments, and other destinations? You can apply for an occupational driver’s license via the Department of Motor Vehicles. For a period of up to two years, an occupational license allows you to regain part of your driving rights.
What Is An Occupational Driver’s License?
It is imperative that you are able to drive; yet, your license has been suspended for a cause that is unrelated to your driving history. Can you tell me what you can do to get back on the road so that you can get to work, school, medical appointments, and other important destinations? An occupational driver’s license can be obtained through a petition. Up to two years after obtaining an occupational license, you can regain part of your driving rights.
- Refusing to do a breathalyzer or blood alcohol test, as well as a field sobriety test
- A DUI/DWI conviction
- A drug conviction
- A felony conviction Excessive use of citations Failure to comply with the terms of a court ruling, and you do not have liability insurance to cover the losses for which you are accountable
- Failure to make a surcharge assessment payment
An occupational license is usually only valid for a period of one year or less. It may be renewed for a total of two years at a given time. Have you ever had your Texas driver’s license revoked? Make contact with attorney Greg Tsioros right away»
Who Is Eligible For An Occupational License?
Unless you are a participant in a specific drug court program, you must petition the court to be considered for eligibility. In the meanwhile, there are a variety of reasons why your petition may not be approved. Take, for example, the case when your driving privileges have already been revoked, suspended, refused, or terminated for whatever reason prior to the occurrence of your present difficulty. In other words, if your license had already been suspended at the time of the most recent grounds to revoke your privileges, you were out of luck at that point.
You will be liable to the following denials of issuance or waiting periods if you do not comply with the requirements:
- If your driver’s license was previously suspended for an alcohol or drug-related infraction, you must wait 90 days before applying. It is necessary to wait 180 days if your driver’s license was suspended as a consequence of an intoxication-related offense. If you have at least two administrative license revocations on your driving record, you must wait a necessary one-year term before applying for a license.
You will not be able to obtain an occupational license in order to operate a commercial vehicle. A person under the age of 21 who fails an intoxication test is ineligible for an occupational license if they have been convicted of two or more alcohol-related offenses in the previous five years. It is necessary to wait 90 days after getting an administrative license suspension before filing a petition for an occupational license if you have had a prior conviction in your criminal record.
You must still wait 30 days after getting an administrative license suspension before submitting a petition for an occupational license, even if you have no previous alcohol-related offenses on your record.
How To Obtain An Occupational License
The first step is to determine whether or not your driver’s license is valid. In lieu of filing a petition for an occupational license, it may be feasible to have your license reinstated. Go to the state of Texas. Go to www.driverslicensereinstatementandstatus.gov and click on Driver’s License Reinstatement and Status. It is necessary to petition one of the following authorities if your license has not been restored:
- A Justice of the Peace court
- The county or district court where you live if you have no legal convictions that have resulted in your license being suspended
- Or a court of appeals if your license has been suspended. The court of the original jurisdiction in which the offense happened and in which you were subsequently convicted
You will need to acquire a number of papers, some of which may need you to pay a charge in order to get.
- An Order for Occupational Driver’s License form that has all of the information except for the limitations and the judge’s signature completed. Certified abstract of your driving records, type AR
- A certified abstract of your driving records, type AR
- Financial responsibility can be demonstrated by anSR-22 from an insurance provider. You must provide proof that you require driving rights. a copy of the petition that was submitted
With the exception of the limitations and the judge’s signature, an Order for Occupational Driver’s License form is completed. Type AR for a certified abstract of your complete driving records; A certified abstract of your complete driving records Financial responsibility can be demonstrated with anSR-22 from an insurance provider. Identification demonstrating that you require driving rights; and The petition that was filed, as well as a copy of it
- There is a filing cost, which varies depending on where you live. A county court cost might be in the neighborhood of $250. A fee charged by the insurance provider for the issue of an SR-22 certificate
- A charge of around $22 for your certified abstract of driving history
- You may be charged for notarization if you are unable to locate a free notary public service. The cost of two certified copies of the court order is around $20. The price for an occupational license is ten dollars.
A filing fee for the court, which varies depending on where you are submitting your case; The cost of a county court appearance might be around $250; however, The insurance company charges a cost for issuing an SR-22 certificate. A price of around $22 for a verified abstract of driving record; An additional cost for notarization, in the event that you cannot locate a free notary public service; For two certified copies of the court order, the charge is around $20. There is a $10 cost for occupational licensing.
- A filing fee, which varies depending on where you live. The cost of a county court appearance might be about $250. A cost charged by the insurance provider for the issuing of an SR-22
- A charge of around $22 for your certified abstract of driving record
- You may be charged for notarization if you are unable to locate a free notary public service
- The cost of two certified copies of the court order is around $20
- The $10 cost for an occupational license
All forms should be submitted to the Clerk of the Court. Make an appointment for a free consultation with attorney Greg Tsioros».
In the case of an occupational license, the permission to drive is restricted to the following circumstances:
- When traveling for business or school-related activities
- When seeing doctors
- When performing critical domestic responsibilities
- When traveling abroad.
You may also be restricted to driving just within a specified 12-hour period, such as between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m., if you have a restricted license. Alternatively, you may be forced to keep a driving log and to limit your driving time to a total of 12 hours out of each 24 hour period. If you are convicted of an alcohol or drug-related offense, you may be forced to participate in an alcohol or drug treatment program and to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. An interlock device is only necessary if you have been convicted of an alcohol-related crime, not if you have been arrested.
Obtaining an occupational license requires a great deal of effort and might take a long period. Alternatively, you may try just driving around without a license instead. This is very discouraged since, if you are detected, you will be taken into custody and arrested. If you are arrested, you will be charged with a Class B Misdemeanor, and you will be required to pay penalties, post bond in order to be released from jail, and then be placed on probation. In addition to all of this, you will need to hire an attorney to assist you in resolving the situation.
Take our word for it. If your driver’s license has been suspended, it is less complicated and less expensive to be patient and acquire an occupational license rather than renewing it. If you have any questions or want assistance, please call our office immediately.
How to Get an Occupational License in Texas
When may you find yourself in need of a Texas occupational driver’s license? There are a number scenarios that might lead to the requirement for this service:
- Your driving privileges have been revoked due to a DUI/DWI offence. Your surcharges, which are fines you must pay for receiving an excessive number of points for traffic offences or being convicted of particular offenses such as a DUI, have not been paid. These charges are in addition to any current fines or penalties that may be imposed for each individual offense. There is a judgment against you that has not been paid for, and you do not have liability insurance to pay damages for which you are accountable. You already have an excessive number of citations
- It is your decision whether or not to submit to chemical testing or a field sobriety test.
What can You Do with an Occupational Driver’s License?
If you require an occupational license, you can use it to do the following:
- Work, participate in school-related activities, and take care of basic domestic chores are all required.
In order to carry out any of these activities, you must use a noncommercial vehicle.
What Documents do You Need, and How Does the Process Work?
The actual process of obtaining an occupational license is the most difficult component. You’ll need the following documents to be able to obtain your license:
- If you are a participant in the special drug court program, you do not need to provide an official copy of your petition for a license. A certified copy of the court order awarding the license is required. Certificate of insurance/financial responsibility (SR-22 form)
In addition, you’ll be needed to pay the price for the occupational license itself, as well as any additional payments that may be necessary for reactivation. Can you drive while you wait for the Department of Public Safety to get your occupational license? The answer is yes, but be sure you have the court order with you at all times since that will serve as your license until you receive your occupational license from the Department of Labor. The court order serves as an occupational license for a period of up to 30 days following the day on which the judge signed the order.
Waiting Periods that Apply
In the courts, things aren’t always as clear as they appear. It is possible that you will not be able to just walk out and obtain your occupational license and have it in your possession within a couple of weeks (that requires the help of a professional). In the event that you fulfill any of the following requirements, you may be required to wait to obtain your occupational license:
- The suspension of your driver’s license was caused by an infraction involving drugs or alcohol in the past. In this instance, a 90-day waiting period is applicable since your driver’s license had previously been suspended at the time of the current offense, and the suspension had been due to driving while drunk at the time of the violation occurred. There is a 180-day waiting period in this circumstance since you have already had two administrative license revocations recorded on your driving history. An additional one-year waiting time is imposed in this situation.
Are There Any Situations Where You’re Not Eligible for an Occupational License?
This occurs when your driving permission is now refused, revoked, suspended, or cancelled in the state of Texas, among other reasons. And this applies to any and all of the reasons why you are now unable to use your driving rights.
What if You’re Under the Age of 21?
This occurs when your driving permission is currently refused, revoked, suspended, or terminated in the state of Texas, among other circumstances. Moreover, this applies to any and all of the reasons for which you are now unable to drive.
- To obtain an occupational license if you have no previous convictions linked to alcohol, you must wait 30 days after the administrative license has been in force before applying for one. If you have a past conviction connected to alcohol, you must wait 90 days after receiving an administrative license before applying for a new one. If you have been convicted of two or more alcohol-related offenses, you are ineligible for an occupational driver’s license.
What Other Requirements Must be Met?
As a condition of receiving an administrative license suspension connected to alcohol, you must also attend counseling and rehabilitative programs for those who are addicted to alcohol. This is in addition to the different waiting periods.
What Happens If You Try to Just Drive Without a License Anyway?
So far, it appears like this will be a lot of labor and annoyance. The thought process would go something like this: “Well, I’m aware of where the cops are always stationed, so I’ll just make sure I respect the law and don’t get pulled over.” “I’m certain that I’ll be alright driving without a license.” It’s simple to think that way, and you could even get away with it, but driving without a license is a serious danger that you should avoid. If you decide to do so and are apprehended, you will face the following consequences:
- You are arrested, and your vehicle is hauled away. You will be required to post bond in order to be released from jail. You have been charged with a Class B Misdemeanor by the court. You pay penalties and are placed on probation as a result of your actions. It will be necessary for you to retain the services of an attorney in order to address this scenario.
It is preferable not to take the high risk and instead go through the legal procedures necessary to obtain your occupational driver’s license, which will be less stressful in the long run.
Enough Already! How do You Get an Occupational License?
If you’re not sure about the status of your license, you may check your driving record in Texas via the Texas Department of Public Safety License Eligibility System, which is operated by the Texas Department of Public Safety (TDPS). It’s a convenient resource that allows you to pay fines associated with your driver’s license suspension and also provides information on what you must do in order to regain your driving privileges. If your license has been suspended for years, you can still request a hearing relatively immediately and receive a court order allowing you to drive your car.
File the lawsuit with the appropriate court or justice of the peace court in your area.
Our FREE consultations allow us to learn about the intricacies of your case and demonstrate how we can assist you.
Please contact us at 214.219.8440 and we will assist you in obtaining your occupational license as soon as possible.
Occupational Driver License
In the case of a suspended driver’s license, an Occupation Driver’s License (ODL) is a limited license that is accessible to those who can establish an urgent necessity to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle in their line of work. According to the statute, “vital necessity” is defined as a person’s requirement to drive a motor vehicle, which includes the following: When engaged in the execution of an activity or trade, or when traveling to and from the location where the individual engages in the occupation or trade.
Code of Conduct 521.241 (1) (B)In the course of carrying out necessary home responsibilities Code of Federal Regulations 521.241(1) (C)
Who is Eligible for an ODL?
It is possible for a person who has had their license suspended for any reason other than a physical and mental handicap or impairment or a conviction under Section 49.04 of the Penal Code to apply for an occupational license. Trans Code 521.242(a)An ODL for a commercial driver’s license CANNOT be issued under any circumstances. Code of Conduct 521.242 (f) In any given ten-year period, no more than two ODLs may be awarded to any one individual.
What are the requirements to get an ODL?
Upon receiving a verified petition, the individual must file it in the county or justice court precinct where the person resides or where the offense for which the license has been suspended happened. The individual has not been granted more than one ODL following a conviction under the laws of this state in the ten years preceding the date of the filing of the petition in question. a hearing was held and a court order was issued Upon hearing the petition, the court will issue an order determining whether or not an essential necessity exists.
Order Granting ODL
Those who are granted an ODL must be given specific instructions as to what hours of the day and what days of the week they are authorized to operate a motor vehicle, what reasons they are permitted to operate a motor vehicle, and what places or routes of travel they are permitted to use. Unless the person can demonstrate a compelling need, the court may grant the person permission to drive for a time not exceeding 12 hours in any 24-hour period if the person can demonstrate that they need to drive for more than 4 hours in each 24-hour period.
Code of Conduct 521.248 The ODL does not exist in the form of a court order. The Department of Public Safety (DPS) is authorized to issue the ODL according to a court order.
Notice to Department
An official copy of the petition, as well as the court order setting down the judge’s findings and limits, will be forwarded to the department by the court clerk. A copy of the order may be used as a restricted license by the individual until the 31st day after the date on which the order becomes effective.
Court Order in Operator’s Possession
A person who has been given an occupational license must have in his or her possession a certified copy of the court order awarding the license at all times while operating a motor vehicle under the control of the person. It is the person’s responsibility to enable a peace officer to inspect the order upon request. Code of Conduct 521.250
The court that issues an order granting an occupational license has the authority to issue an order canceling the license at any time if there is good reason to do so. The court is required to provide a certified copy of the order to the Department of Transportation. Code of Federal Regulations 521.252(a) (b) If a person who holds an occupational license commits one of the following offenses: operates a vehicle in violation of the restrictions imposed on the license; or fails to have a certified copy of the court order as required, this is a Class B misdemeanor.
521.2532(a)(1)(2)(b) of the Transportation Code (c)
The installation of an ignition interlock device on a vehicle is necessary if an individual obtains an ODL and the following conditions are satisfied:
- They have two or more DWI convictions on their record, or their license has been suspended following a DWI conviction that was penalized as an upgraded DWI violation. Code 521.246 for the transmission
A program designed to provide counseling and rehabilitation services to those suffering from alcohol dependency must be attended by the petitioner if his or her license has been suspended under Chapter 524 or Chapter 724 of the Revised Statutes.
Individuals who have committed specific offenses are ineligible to acquire an ODL, and those who have received a suspension must wait a certain length of time before they are eligible to receive an ODL. If the petitioner has had any of the following during the past five years:
- There have been no previous contact bans and there is no waiting period. In accordance with Trans Code 521.251 (a), a prior ALR interaction within the previous 5 years is subject to a 90-day waiting period. Individuals who have been convicted of two or more DWI charges during the preceding five years must wait one year following the effective date of the license suspension, according to Trans Code 521.251 (b)
- And Trans Code 521.251 (c)
- Code of conduct 521.251
Waiting periods for persons under 21?
In accordance with Trans Code 524.022, a juvenile under the age of 21 who fails an intoxication test must wait the following periods before being eligible for an ODL:
- If there have been no prior alcohol-related offenses, the administrative license will expire 30 days after it has been in force. If you have had one prior alcohol conviction, you must wait 90 days after the administrative license has been in force.
If a juvenile has been convicted of two or more driver’s license suspensions, they are ineligible to apply for an occupational driver’s license.