Get an Illinois Driver’s License if I am a first-time driver? You must be at least 16 years of age and have successfully completed an approved driver education course (see Graduated Driver’s License section) or be at least 18 years of age.
- Illinois Initial Driver’s License. Once you are at least 16 years old and have held your IL instructional permit for at least 9 months without any traffic violations, you are eligible for your initial Illinois provisional license. You will need to have completed your Driver’s Ed course, and you’ll take and pass a DMV road test at the time that you apply.
Can you get your license at 15 in Illinois?
As soon as you turn 15, you can start on your way to getting your Illinois drivers license! To get your permit, you will either need to be enrolled or no more than 30 days from taking a course. If you are age 17 and 3 months or older, you are not required to take a driver education course to apply for your permit.
Can you drive by yourself at 16 in Illinois?
Parental Consent — Drivers ages 16-17 must have the written consent of a parent/legal guardian to obtain a driver’s license. The parent/legal guardian who gave initial consent may cancel the minor’s license at any time, for any reason, until the driver turns 18 by contacting the Secretary of State’s office.
How do I get my license at 16 in Illinois?
To apply for a driver’s license at age 16, a student who has held an instruction permit for nine months must visit a Driver Services facility and provide the following: 50 hour certificate verifying practice driving time; written parental consent; acceptable identification verifying full legal name, written signature,
When can a teenager get their license in Illinois?
Provided the teen successfully completes an approved driver education program and the instruction permit phase, he or she may obtain a license at age 16.
What states can you drive at 14?
You can obtain a learner’s permit in Alaska, Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, North and South Dakota at just 14 years old.
Can you get your permit at 14 in Illinois?
To receive a Learner’s Permit, a student must: ∎ Be at least 15 years of age. ∎ Be enrolled in an approved driver education program and obtain a permit application from a certified driver education school such as Top Driver.
Is there a curfew in Illinois?
Curfew hours are 11:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. during the week, and 12:01 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. on weekends. Curfew violation is considered a minor offense punishable with a fine of $500, and in some cases, community service for the parents of the minor who violated curfew.
What is the curfew for 16 year olds in Illinois?
The general law affects kids 16 and under, and starts an hour later: Midnight – 6 AM on Friday and Saturday nights and 11 PM – 6 AM all other nights. Excluding the Safe Rides program exception, the same exceptions apply to the Illinois general curfew law.
Can 16 year olds drive friends?
Minors under 18 are issued a provisional license. During the first 12 months after getting a license, they cannot drive other teens unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, a licensed driver age 25 or older, or a licensed or certified driving instructor. But they cannot drive friends.
How do you get your license at 21 in Illinois?
Driver License Requirements For Illinois Adults
- Complete an approved Adult Driver Education 6-hour course.
- Visit a Secretary of State Driver Services facility with First Time Issuance services for Drivers Licenses.
- Show the required identification documentation and have your photo taken.
- Pay the appropriate fees.
How late can a 17 year old drive in Illinois?
Rules for Drivers Ages 16-17 (Initial Licensing Stage) Must obey nighttime driving restrictions. The teen driver is prohibited from driving Sunday through Thursday between the hours of 10:00 P.M. and 6:00 A.M. and Friday through Saturday between the hours of 11:00 P.M. and 6:00 A.M. Must obey the local curfew law.
Can I get my license at 17 without a permit in Illinois?
An applicant under age 18 is issued an instruction permit valid for two years, and the permit must be held for at least nine months prior to obtaining a driver’s license. If you are age 17 years and 3 months or older, you may apply for a permit without taking a driver education course.
Getting Your Illinois Driver License
Adults over the age of 18 can apply for a driver’s license in the state of Illinois with little difficulty and with just a few restrictions imposed by the state’s Graduated Drivers License legislation. If you are over the age of eighteen, here’s how to apply for your first Illinois driver’s license in Illinois.
Driver License Requirements For Illinois Adults
- Complete a 6-hour Adult Driver Education course that has been authorized
- If you have not previously completed any driver education and will be applying for your driver’s license after the age of eighteen, you may take advantage of our easy online course. Adults between the ages of 18 and 20 are not needed to complete any formal behind-the-wheel instruction before applying for their driver’s license
- Nonetheless, Applicants between the ages of 18 and 20 must have successfully completed this adult driving education program. Students can complete the course as early as age 17 and 3 months, allowing them to be finished and ready to apply when they turn 18
- Students can complete the course as early as age 17 and 3 months.
- In order to obtain a driver’s license for the first time, you should visit a Secretary of State Driver Services location. You can use the convenient Facility Finder on the Secretary of State’s website to locate the SOS Driver Services location that is closest to your area. You must present the necessary identity paperwork and have your photograph taken. Fees should be paid in whole. Pass the requisite examinations, which include:
- Vision screening, written examination, and behind-the-wheel driving test are all required.
Driver License Requirements For Illinois Teens
A adolescent driving education course certified by the state will be required of all teens under the age of 18 who wish to apply for their first instruction permit (also known as a learner’s permit) before applying for their license. In these teen driver education classes, students will receive 30 hours of classroom training and 6 hours of on-the-road driving instruction. In Illinois, there is no online teen driving education program available at this time. Teens must also adhere to the rules and regulations of the Illinois graduated driver license (GDL) program.
- In order to obtain a driver’s license for the first time, you must visit a Secretary of State Driver Services location that offers First Time Issue services. You can use the convenient Facility Finder on the Secretary of State’s website to locate the SOS Driver Services location that is closest to your area. Provide a roof over the possibility of enrolling in a Driver Education program
- You must present the necessary identity paperwork and have your photograph taken. Fees should be paid in whole. Pass the requisite examinations, which include:
In order to obtain a driver’s license for the first time, you must visit a Secretary of State Driver Services location that offers this service. The convenient Facility Finder on the Secretary of State’s website can help you locate the SOS Driver Services facility that is nearest to you. Allow for enrolment in a Driver Education program under the cover of night; You must present the proper identity documents and have your photograph taken. Fees must be paid in whole. Pass the necessary examinations, which include:
Learner’s Permit Age Requirements: 15 years old and above.
All drivers in Illinois are required to have a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit, according to state law. It might be time-consuming to read through and understand all of the criteria. Regardless of whether you are a kid or an adult wanting to obtain your license, don’t worry – we will explain down the entire procedure for you so that you know exactly what to anticipate.
Instruction Permit (15-17 years old)
The Illinois instruction permit, often known as a learner’s permit, is the first step on the road to obtaining your driver’s license.
- The Illinois instruction permit, often known as a learner’s permit, is the first step on the road to getting your license.
Please review our in-depth guide if you would want to learn more about the process of obtaining a learner’s permit as well as the requirements and limits associated with it.
Illinois Initial Driver’s License (Ages 16-17)
It is important to note that the initial driver’s license in Illinois is a more limited version of the adult driver’s license. It gives you the freedom to drive unattended, with the exception of a fixed curfew. It also restricts the amount of non-family individuals you may have in the vehicle with you when you are learning to drive your first automobile.
Initial License Requirements
- Successfully finish a driver’s education course that has been approved by the state 50 hours of practice driving must be completed and verified. To pass the Driver’s License Exam, you must pass all three sections. A parent or guardian gives their permission for you to drive and takes financial responsibility for your actions. Provide documentation of identification, residence, and allowed presence if requested. You may discover a list of papers that have been authorized by the state here.
The Steps to Getting Your Initial License
- Before you may apply, you must practice under your permission for nine months. Visit the SOS office in your neighborhood in Illinois. In some cases, depending on the location, you may be required to arrange an appointment in advance. Make sure you have the following paperwork with you:
- Your Illinois learner’s permit
- Forms of identification that are acceptable
- If you are under the age of eighteen, a parent or guardian must provide their approval before you may obtain your first driver’s license. The fact that they are legally and morally answerable for what you do while driving means that they have the authority to cancel that permission at any moment. If appropriate, a Certificate of Completion of Cooperative Driver Testing
- A 50-hour driving log with all of the necessary signatures
- In addition, you must have a mark on your driving record indicating that you completed driver’s ed successfully. Check the status of your Illinois driving record right here.
- Prepare to pay the required fees when the time comes. Pass a vision examination
- Pass your driving exam, unless you are excused from doing so because you have completed the criteria of the cooperative driver testing program. It is not assured that you will receive an exemption, therefore you should bring a roadworthy car to the exam and brush up on your road knowledge just in case
- Take a photo of yourself
- You will be issued a temporary paper license. Your real license will be mailed to you in roughly 15 days after purchase.
What are the Initial License Restrictions?
Although your initial driver’s license in Illinois allows you to drive alone, there are still a number of regulations that must be followed. In general, you will not be permitted to drive because of the following reasons:
- Sunday through Thursday, between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m.
- Friday and Saturday, between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m.
You are also restricted in the number of passengers that you may transport. You are not permitted to transport more than one non-family person under the age of 20 in your vehicle for the first year or until you reach 18 (whichever comes first). As soon as the time period expires, you can transport one person under the age of 20 in the front seat and up to as many as there are seatbelts available in the rear. If you are under the age of 18, you are not permitted to operate a commercial vehicle or a for-hire vehicle that is used to transfer real estate (like delivery vans and moving trucks).
Unless you are above the age of 21, you are not permitted to operate any commercial vehicle for hire that transports more than 10 passengers, such as a church bus or a commuter van. This is also true if you hold a driver’s license that is valid for adults.
Class D Adult Driver’s License (18+)
If you are over the age of 18, you can proceed directly to obtaining your complete Illinois driver’s license. If you did not finish the graduated driver’s license program, you will still be required to take a six-hour Adult Driver’s Education course. If you are over the age of 21, you are not required to take the course, however it is strongly recommended.
Adult Driver’s License Requirements
- Please submit documentation proving your identification, residence, and allowed presence. You may discover a list of papers that have been authorized by the state here. Pass all of the necessary tests
- Any other permits or licenses you have, including out-of-state ones, must be surrendered. The court has not determined that you are a mental invalid, an alcoholic, or a chronic user of illicit narcotics
- A six-hour state-approved Adult Driver Education Course is required if you are between the ages of 18 and 20 and you meet the following criteria:
- You are a first-time applicant who has never held a driver’s license and who has never completed an approved drivers education program
- You meet all of the requirements.
The Steps to Getting Your Full Illinois Driver’s License
- Visit the SOS office in your neighborhood in Illinois. In some cases, depending on the location, you may be required to arrange an appointment in advance. Make sure you have the following paperwork with you:
- Identification that is acceptable for use with your IL instruction permit If you are under the age of eighteen, a parent or guardian must provide their approval before you may obtain your first driver’s license. The fact that they are legally and morally answerable for what you do while driving means that they have the authority to cancel that permission at any moment. If appropriate, a Certificate of Completion of Cooperative Driver Testing
- A 50-hour driving log with all of the necessary signatures
- In addition, you must have a mark on your driving record indicating that you completed driver’s ed successfully. Check the status of your Illinois driving record right here.
- Prepare to pay the required fees when the time comes. Pass a vision examination
- Pass your driving exam, unless you are excused from doing so because you have met the conditions of the cooperative driver testing program
- It is not assured that you will receive an exemption, therefore you should bring a roadworthy car to the exam and brush up on your road knowledge just in case
- Take a photo of yourself
- You will be issued a temporary paper license. In roughly 15 days, you will get your official Illinois driver’s license in the mail
- However, this may take longer.
Take our whole course, which includes exams and theory550+ exam-like questionsEverything you need to ace your testPerfect for first-time test takers, renewal candidates, and seniors
Illinois Learners Permit Guide
As soon as you reach the age of 15, you may begin the process of obtaining your Illinois drivers license. It is necessary to obtain an Illinois instruction permit as a preliminary step. In order for it to occur, the following steps must be taken:
- Obtain parental permission
- Enroll in a driving education course that has been authorized
- If you are interested in getting your permit, you must be enrolled or no more than 30 days away from starting a course. If you are 17 years and 3 months or older, you are not obliged to complete a driving education course in order to apply for your driver’s license.
- Pay a visit to the Secretary of State’s office in your area. Provide identity documents that are up to date. Pass a written exam as well as a visual screening test. Make the needed payment
What Happens After I Get My Permit?
It’s time to start practicing behind the wheel as soon as you have your Illinois instruction permit! However, before you get behind the wheel, you should be aware of the following rules:
- It is mandatory that you have your permit on you at all times when behind the wheel, whether you are with an instructor or a supervising driver. You must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice, with at least ten of those hours taking place at night. It is required that your supervising driver be at least 21 years old, have a valid driver’s license for the type of vehicle you are driving, and have at least one year’s driving experience. If you want to receive an Illinois driver’s license, you must have held your permit for at least 9 months before applying for one. Your permit is good for two years.
- If you are 18 or older, your permission will be valid for one year
- Otherwise, it will be valid for six months. In some cases, if you obtain your license before the expiration of your instruction permit, you may not be forced to pay an extra cost.
What Are the Driving Restrictions?
While you have an instruction permit, you are only permitted to drive at night for a restricted number of hours. Local curfews may vary, but in general, you are not permitted to drive after midnight.
- Sunday-Thursday: 10 p.m.-6 a.m.
- Friday-Saturday: 11 p.m.-6 a.m.
- Sunday-Thursday: 10 p.m.-6 a.m.
While you are the proud owner of an Illinois learner’s permit, there are a few more considerations to keep in mind. We’ve put up the Illinois learners permit guide, which you may see further down on this page:
- Additionally, although you’re the happy owner of an Illinois learner’s permit, there are a few things you should keep in mind. Please see below for further information on the Illinois learners permit guide we’ve created:
After completing the required nine-month term, you can begin working toward obtaining your driver’s license! For drivers under the age of eighteen, the state of Illinois needs both an initial licensing phase and a complete license phase–but don’t worry, we’ll assist you through all phases of the procedure as needed.
Ultimate guide to getting your driver’s license in Illinois
This page was last updated on January 20, 2022.
We have updated this page – visit the latest version here.
The following is a step-by-step guide to obtaining your driver’s license through the Illinois DMV. We’ve made the procedure as simple as possible for you so that you can save time.
What You’ll Need to Get your Illinois DMV Driver License
In order to obtain your Illinois driver’s license, you’ll need the following documents:
- Payment of $30 for the Class D driver’s license cost ($5 if you are between the ages of 18 and 20)
Illinois DMV Driver License: What You’ll Do
- The first step is to read the Illinois Driver Manual and take online practice examinations to prepare for the written test (optional). Step 2 is to take the practical test. 2. Go to your local Driver Services Facility (optional: schedule an appointment! )
- And 3.
- Present the relevant identification documents
- Pass the eyesight examination Pass the written test with flying colors
- Pass the driving test (a road test car and driver are provided upon request)
- And Make the needed payment
- You will be issued a temporary driver’s license.
- Present the relevant identification documentation
- Pass the eyesight screening examination. Completion of a written examination
- Complete a successful road test (a road test car and driver are available upon request)
- You must pay the appropriate charge. A temporary driver’s license is provided.
Caveats and Exceptions to Getting your Illinois Driver License
- Do you need to get some driving practice done before your road test? Then you’ll need to apply for a Learner’s Permit. Are you under the age of eighteen? Then you’ll have to follow the requirements of the Graduated Driver’s License program, which includes taking Driver’s Education and acquiring a Learner’s Permit first. Are you between the ages of 18 and 20? A mandatory Adult Driver Education course must be completed before you can take the road test
- Otherwise, you will be denied permission to drive. Have you failed your written or road test? Within a year, you will have two additional chances to pass the test.
More Illinois Questions?
Visit our Illinois Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) information page. Save time by skipping the DMV queue! Get a line waiting concierge if you’re in a rush. Get a DMV appointment as soon as possible. All of this information is available for free on the Skip app (and you can earn a $10 credit for the app if you use this link).
Getting an Illinois Driver’s License When 18 or Older
Many drivers do not begin the process of obtaining their license as soon as they are eligible to do so (15 years old). Some students choose not to participate in driving instruction throughout high school or college and instead wait until they are older to obtain their license. Fortunately, prospective drivers 18 years old and older who want to postpone their driver’s license application can still learn the necessary skills and obtain their Illinois driver’s license by completing an Illinois adult driver education program.
Continue reading to find out more about how to obtain an Illinois driver’s license if you are 18 years old or older, as well as some of the major advantages of enrolling in adult driver education.
How to Get an Illinois Driver’s License
The prerequisites for obtaining your Illinois driver’s license differ based on your age. A driver education course (30 hours of classroom instruction), supervised driving (at least 50 hours behind the wheel), and a road test are all required before a driver license may be issued to someone under the age of eighteen. Illinois also has a graded licensing system, which places different limits on drivers once they receive their license while they are still gaining experience behind the wheel, such as when they are permitted to drive and how many passengers are allowed to accompany them on their journey.
They must finish a 6-hour adult driver education course, and they are encouraged but not obliged to complete the 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice required by Illinois law.
What’s Included in Adult Driver Education
The Adult Driver Education Program in Illinois is meant to give prospective drivers with the information they need to assist them drive safely on the roads of the state. The course is available in both a live classroom setting and an online version. The simplicity and adaptability that the internet format provides are the most compelling arguments in favor of using it. There are no restrictions on when and how you can access the course. You may access the course 24 hours a day, seven days a week from any device that has internet connectivity.
- Laws governing traffic
- Road etiquette
- Traffic signs and dangers
- Defensive driving
- Impaired driving and substance misuse
Adult driver education courses take six hours to complete and need the user to pass a test at the conclusion consisting of 20 multiple choice questions, which may be found here. Driver education must be completed with a passing score of at least 70%, and students are allowed two chances to finish the course. Successful completions of the online course are reported electronically to the Illinois Secretary of State’s office (SOS). When the SOS receives a report, the user will get an email from the SOS with their completion certificate.
Steps for Getting Your License After the Course
As previously stated, after finishing the adult driver education course, student drivers are strongly advised, but not necessary, to undergo some supervised driving (50 hours is suggested) in order to better prepare themselves for the SOS driving exam. If a student is driving under the supervision of a licensed driver 21 years of age or older with at least one year of driving experience, the student must keep their learner’s permit on their person at all times. Students can apply for a driver’s license at their local Secretary of State Driver Services site after successfully completing the adult driver education course and putting in adequate behind-the-wheel practice time.
A vision screening exam will be administered to prospective drivers once they have provided identification and paid the proper costs.
They will be needed to pass both written and behind-the-wheel driving tests as well as a vision screening test. After passing these examinations, the student will be granted an Illinois driver’s license!
Benefits of Taking Adult Driver Education
Taken in conjunction with a regular classroom setting, taking an adult driver education course online has a number of advantages. The most significant advantage is flexibility: students may access and finish the six-hour course on their own time schedule. This implies that customers may complete the course from the comfort of their own homes. Ticket School can provide you with more information on an Illinois adult driver education course, including how to enroll now. Call (800) 558-9887 for more information on an Illinois adult driver education course and how to enroll today.
Illinois DMV Test FAQ – DMV Permit Test
In order to lawfully drive in Illinois, you must have a valid Illinois driver’s license on your person. If you want to get your driver’s license, you must first pass the vision screening exam, followed by the written and/or driving tests.
Illinois driver’s license applications must be submitted by applicants who are at least 18 years old. An Instruction Permit can be obtained if you are 15 years old or older.
What documents are required to apply for an Illinois driver’s license?
- Form of identification that demonstrates your legal name and date of birth
- And Social Security number
- Proof of Illinois residence
- And signature are required.
The whole list of authorized papers may be found at www.cyberdriveillinois.com, which also has a video tutorial.
Can undocumented immigrants apply for an Illinois driver’s license?
Yes, illegal immigrants are eligible to apply for an Illinois driver’s license if they present the necessary papers. To be considered for admission, applicants must provide identifying paperwork, such as an unexpired foreign passport or consular identification document from their place of citizenship, along with proof of their current status in Illinois.
Do I have to pass a vision screening to apply for an Illinois driver’s license?
Yes. You must pass a vision screening or submit a document signed by an optometrist, ophthalmologist, or physician who is licensed in the state in which you live (issued no more than six months prior to your application). You must have a vision score of 20/40 and a peripheral vision range of at least 140 degrees, whether or not you wear corrective glasses.
Is a physical test required?
No, however you must notify the authorities if you have any medical or mental disorders that might jeopardize your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely.
I failed my vision screening/written/driving test. What do I have to do?
While you are not required to record any medical or mental problems that might jeopardize your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely, you must report any such conditions.
- You must be at least 15 years old
- You must successfully finish a state-approved driving education course
- And you must have a valid driver’s license. You must complete 50 hours of practice driving (of which 10 hours must be done at night)
- The vision screening, written, and driving examinations must all be passed before you may move on.
Driver education courses are not available to those under the age of seventeen years and three months and older.
I attended an accredited driver education course of classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction at my high school. Do I have to take a facility administered driving exam?
No, it’s possible that you’re exempt.
Who can accompany me during the practice driving?
If you qualify, you may not have to pay anything.
How long is my Illinois Instruction Permit valid?
Your permission is valid for 24 months from the date of issue. You can obtain a driver’s license if you are 16 years old and have had your learner’s permit for at least nine continuous months.
I am under age 18 and I have held my Illinois Instruction Permit for at least 9 months. Which documents are required to apply for a Driver’s License?
- Instruction Permit
- Form of identification
- Affidavit/Consent for Minor to Drive
- Cooperative Driver Testing Certificate
- 50-hour driving log signed by the driver’s instructor
Do I have any restrictions while driving with my Instruction Permit?
- You are not permitted to drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. on Sunday through Thursday, and between the hours of 11 p.m. and 6 a.m. on Friday and Saturday
- Any driving or underage alcohol convictions must be avoided at all costs
- While driving, you are not permitted to use any wireless device or smartphone
- You are not permitted to operate any for-hire car with more than ten people on board.
It is illegal to have more than one passenger under the age of 20 in your automobile during the first 12 months of your license, or until you turn 18 unless the passenger(s) is/are your sibling, step-sibling, kid, or step-child.
I am 18, 19 or 20 years of age and I have not held an Instruction Permit. What do I have to do?
You must finish a six-hour Adult Driver Education Course before you may get your license.
ILLINOIS WRITTEN TEST
The test consists of 35 multiple-choice questions.
What is the score required to pass the test?
In order to pass the test, you must answer properly at least 28 out of the 50 questions.
What am I required to know in order to pass the written test?
You should be able to recognize traffic signs, traffic lights, and pavement markings on the highway.
Along with traffic regulations and safety guidelines, you should be ready to answer questions concerning collision prevention techniques and vehicle equipment.
In order to be eligible for a driver’s license classification, your vehicle must be legally licensed and equipped for the classification you are seeking for.
Can anyone ride in the car with me during the driving exam?
No, only the examiner is permitted to accompany you throughout the examination. There are no exceptions for minors or pets.
What am I expected to do during my driving test?
- Properly starting your car
- Backing the vehicle
- Performing turnabouts
- Parking on and downhill slopes
- Beginning on and downhill slopes
- Being in command of your car
- Remember to always wear your safety belt.
I HAVE A DRIVER LICENSE, BUT…
You must pay the proper cost at a Driver Services center within 30 days after receiving your license. Make sure to provide the necessary documents confirming the modification.
The address on my valid Illinois driver’s license is out of date. What do I have to do?
If you want to make a change, you must contact the Secretary of State’s office within 10 days.
I have to renew my Illinois driver’s license. Which documents are required?
You must go to the Driver Services office and submit only your current, valid driver’s license in order to complete the process. In the event that you have a clean driving record, you may renew your license from home and only visit the Driver Services facility once every eight years, rather than every four.
Driver’s License – UICOIS
Illinois issues a temporary visitor’s driver’s license to visitors (TVDL). This is meant for persons who are not qualified to receive a social security number for various reasons. For additional information, contact the Illinois Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or read the Department of Homeland Security’s Fact Sheet on applying for a driver’s license for more information. Is it possible to apply for an Illinois driver’s license without providing my Social Security number? A Social Security Number is not necessary in order to receive an Illinois Drivers License from the State of Illinois.
If you want to apply, you must go to the Social Security Administration and get a letter indicating that you are not qualified for a Social Security number (this is known as a Form L-676).
Permit to Drive in a Foreign Country Only when accompanied by a valid driver’s license may an individual drive a private motor vehicle in another country under the terms of an International Driving Permit.
Using a driver’s license from your home country while in Illinois You can get help from the Illinois Secretary of State’s Office if you have questions about using your home country’s driver’s license while you are in Illinois.
Illinois Secretary of State White extends driver’s license, ID card expiration dates until March
CHICAGO (WLS) – The city of Chicago is preparing to host the World Cup. The Secretary of State of Illinois, Jesse White, stated on Friday that the expiration dates for driver’s licenses and identification cards had been extended for an extra three months in Illinois. The expiration dates of driver’s licenses and identification cards have previously been extended until January 1, 2022. Driver’s licenses and identification cards that have expired will now be valid until March 31, 2022. There are certain exceptions, however, including commercial driver’s licenses (CDL) and CDL learner’s permits.
“This extension is important as my office continues to meet the high amount of customers brought on by the COVID-19 epidemic, which has resulted in increased online services and the introduction of appointments at certain Driver Services locations,” said the governor.
The Secretary of State’s Office has announced that remote renewal for drivers’ license and identification card holders has been expanded.
The deadline for obtaining a federal REAL ID has been extended until May 3, 2023, according to the Department of Homeland Security.
WLS-TV retains ownership of the copyright until 2022. All Intellectual Property Rights are Reserved.
Illinois Driver Licensing Laws & Regulations
The Illinois Graduated Driver License is divided into three phases: the Permit Part, the Initial Licensing Phase, and the Full Licensing Phase. The Permit Phase is the first phase of the Illinois Graduated Driver License.
It is divided into three phases: the Permit Part, Initial Licensing Phase, and Full Licensing Phase. The Permit Phase is the first phase of the Illinois Graduated Driver License.
- To get a permit, permit holders must practice driving for a minimum of 50 hours, including 10 hours at night, under the supervision of a licensed parent or other adult who is at least 21 years old. Permit holders are not permitted to drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. Sunday through Thursday, and between the hours of 11 p.m. and 6 a.m. Friday and Saturday. The number of passengers in the front seat is restricted to one, and the number of safety belts in the back seat is also limited.
- If a motorist wants to be under the supervision of the court for a traffic infringement, they must appear in court with a parent or legal guardian and attend traffic safety school as well. For significant driving infractions, only one court supervision should be granted. For those convicted of a traffic offence, the state requires that they wait nine months before reapply for a driver’s license. I am ineligible for any type of hardship permission. Anyone who is discovered driving without a permit will be ineligible to receive a driver’s license until they reach the age of eighteen. It is prohibited to provide a driver’s license to anybody under the age of 18 who has unpaid traffic violations on their record.
Initial Licensing Phase
Permit holders will be entitled to apply for the Initial Licensing Phase whenever a parent or guardian confirms that the required minimum practice hours have been fulfilled and nine months have passed since the permit was issued. This necessitates the completion of a driving education course certified by the state. During the application process, a parent or guardian must accompany the driver in order to offer written authorization for the driver to receive a license or to complete and notarize a document entitled Affidavit for Minor to Drive.
- Permit holders are not permitted to drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. Sunday through Thursday, and between the hours of 11 p.m. and 6 a.m. Friday and Saturday. It is prohibited to transport more than one person under the age of 20 in a single vehicle for the first year unless the passengers are siblings, step-siblings, children, or stepchildren of the driving instructor. After one year, or until the driver reaches the age of eighteen, the number of passengers is restricted to one in the front seat and the number of seatbelts in the rear seat
- Drivers under the age of 19 are not permitted to use their cell phones while driving, including hands-free devices, except in an emergency. Texting and driving are strictly forbidden.
On Sunday through Thursday, permit holders are prohibited from driving between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m.; on Friday and Saturday, permit holders are prohibited from driving between the hours of 11 p.m and 6 a.m. Unless the passengers are siblings, stepsiblings, children, or stepchildren of the driver, the number of passengers is limited to one person under the age of twenty for the first year. After one year, or until the driver reaches the age of eighteen, the number of passengers is limited to one in the front seat and the number of seatbelts in the rear seat; and In all cases, unless in an emergency, drivers under the age of 19 are not allowed to use their cell phones while driving, including hands-free devices.
- If a motorist wants to be under the supervision of the court for a traffic infringement, they must appear in court with a parent or legal guardian and attend traffic safety school as well. For significant driving infractions, only one court supervision should be granted. A moving violation conviction before the age of 18 results in a warning letter from the Secretary of State to the parent and the youngster. In the event of a moving infraction conviction within the first year of license, the passenger limitation, which permits just one unrelated passenger under the age of 20, will be extended for six months
- In the event of two moving infraction convictions happening within 24 months of each other, a minimum one-month driver’s license suspension is imposed. The severity of the violations and the driver’s past driving history are taken into consideration when determining the duration of the suspension. Following the initial driver’s license suspension, any subsequent moving infraction will result in an additional driver’s license suspension. Suspended drivers are required to complete a remedial education course, may be retested, and pay a $70 reinstatement fee, among other requirements.
Do you require further information about state laws? Learn more about the laws that apply in your area. Please keep in mind that our attorneys are licensed to practice law in the states of Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, and Virginia. If you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States who can assist you. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia.
Getting a driver’s license if you never had one
Submitted byAnonymous (not verified) (not verified) on Monday, March 5, 2021 – 19:58 I took driver’s education in high school and graduated with a permit. I never sought a driver’s license, despite the fact that I am now 21 years old. Is it necessary for me to take another driver’s education course? The following was submitted byKarla Baldwinon Thursday, May 6, 2021 – 09:53 Hello. A driver’s education course is not required for those who are 21 years old or older. We hope this has been of assistance.
Getting IL state id without birth certificate
Anonymous has submitted a submission (not verified) at 19:58 UTC on Mon, March 5, 2021 When I was in high school, I took driver’s education and graduated with honors. Although I am now 21 years old, I have never attempted to obtain a driver’s permit.
Are there any more driver’s ed courses I need to take? KARLA BALDWIN has submitted an entry. 04:53:53 GMT on Thursday, May 6, 2021 Hello. Anyone above the age of 21 does not need to take a driver’s education course. Thank you for your time.
Which Secretary of State facilities are open now?
It is necessary for me to replace an expired out of state driver’s license with an Illinois driver’s license on Wednesday, March 24th, 2021 – 21:34, however all of the facilities I checked in the city center are closed because to the pandemic. Which of the following sites is the most convenient for me to obtain an Illinois driver’s license right now? Please visit to see if any facilities are available.Submitted byAnonymous (not verified)on Sat, 03/13/2021 – 12:04I have a driver’s license from the state of Wisconsin.Please visit to see if any facilities are available.
Is it necessary for me to take a written or driving exam in order to receive an Illinois drivers license?
You may be required to take…
The following was submitted byKarla Baldwinon Tuesday, March 30th, 2021 – 07:04 An automobile road test may be needed of you. For further information, please see the website. A anonymous (not confirmed) submission was made on Saturday, February 27, 2021 at 13:34. Since before the epidemic, I’ve had a learner’s permit on my record. Unfortunately, I have not been able to complete my behind-the-wheel exam, and I have been forced to temporarily migrate to another state as a result of this delay. However, I’m wondering if I’ll be able to get behind the wheel again now that I’m returning to school to acquire my license.
Unpaid traffic fines might result in the suspension of your driver’s license, depending on the procedure followed. How-To Utilize this form to demonstrate that you are a person with a disability in order to be eligible for a free Illinois person with a disability identification card. link to the form Use this form to submit a request to the state for a birth certificate. link to the form Detailed instructions on how to obtain a driver’s license step by step. How-To This video explains how to regain your driving privileges if your license has been suspended or revoked for whatever reason.
- Video This article explains how to obtain a formal hearing to get your driver’s license reinstated, as well as what to expect during the hearing.
- Link Revocation and suspension of Illinois driver’s licenses are described in detail in the following section: Manuals for Lawyers You can use this form to request a hearing for a traffic offense you have committed.
- Video Illinois Secretary of State’s Office employee Ira Maimon demonstrates how to read and analyze the contents of a driver’s license abstract in this training session for attorneys.
- How-To Use this form to demonstrate that you are a person with a handicap in order to qualify for a free state identification card.
The following text article provides information on how to obtain a new or replacement Social Security card. In this text piece, Diane O’Connell of the Chicago Coalition for the Homeless discusses the value of obtaining a state identification card, as well as how to obtain one in Illinois. Video
Illinois Driving Laws for Seniors and Older Drivers
Even while the various laws and regulations enforced by the Illinois Secretary of State apply to drivers of all ages and stages, the state imposes some unique requirements and limits on senior drivers, which are detailed below. Several Illinois state regulations are discussed in further depth below, but a number of them are concerned with detecting and dealing with elderly drivers who may have become risky. To be more specific, Illinois:
- Requires drivers 75 years and older to renew their licenses in person
- Requires drivers 75 years and older to renew their licenses in person to pass a vision test as well as a road test
- Requires drivers 81 to 86 years and older to renew their licenses every two years, and those 87 years and older to renew their licenses annually
- Accepts requests for an unsafe driver investigation from physicians, members of law enforcement, or members of the judicial system
Illinois License Renewal Rules for Older Drivers
Older drivers who wish to renew their licenses are subject to additional requirements. Drivers above the age of 75 are not permitted to renew their licenses via mail. Limitations on time: Drivers between the ages of 21 and 80 are awarded licenses that are valid for four years and expire on the same day as their birthdays. Those between the ages of 81 and 86 are required to renew their licenses every two years. Drivers above the age of 87 must also renew their licenses on an annual basis. Super Seniors is an optional mobile program run by the Illinois Secretary of State that visits libraries, senior centers, and park districts to assist seniors ages 74 and under renew their driver’s licenses by providing them with Rules of the Road classroom instruction as well as a vision-screening exam.
Drivers can have an exam performed by a licensed optometrist, ophthalmologist, or physician, who must complete a Vision Specialist Report and conduct the exam within six months of the renewal request.
Drivers above the age of 75 must take a written test every time they renew their license.
Possible License Restrictions
Older drivers who wish to renew their licenses must adhere to specific requirements. No mail-in renewals will be accepted from drivers above the age of 75. Limitations on how much time you can spend on something: Licensed drivers between the ages of 21 and 80 are awarded licenses that are valid for four years and expire on the same day that they were born. Licenses must be renewed every two years for those between the ages of 81 and 86. Drivers above the age of 87 must also renew their licenses on a yearly basis, unless they are exempt.
Renewal is subject to a vision exam.
Licensing personnel will conduct the test at no cost, or drivers can have an exam performed by a licensed optometrist, ophthalmologist, or physician at no cost.
Drivers above the age of 75 must take a written exam at the time of renewal. Drivers above the age of 75 must undergo a road test at the time of renewal.
How to Request an Unsafe Driver Investigation in Illinois
In contrast to the majority of state licensing bodies, the Illinois Secretary of State will only take information concerning potentially risky drivers from law enforcement officials. Doctors, on the other hand, are required to inform their patients of their own responsibilities, which include notifying the Secretary of State of any medical conditions that may cause them to lose consciousness or impair their ability to drive safely within 10 days of becoming aware of the circumstances. Drivers who are required to record their medical issues are also required to submit a Medical Report Formeach time their licenses expire or are renewed by the state.
Illinois Driver Improvement Programs
Residents of Illinois can enhance their driving abilities and confidence by enrolling in a driver education and training course that has been designed exclusively for senior drivers. Rules of the Road Review Courses are a type of course that is offered in your area.
How to Get a License Reinstated
Contact the local driver’s licensing facility for information on how to reinstate an Illinois driver’s license that has been suspended or revoked.
How to Get Parking Placards or License Plates for a Driver with a Disability
Contact the local driver’s licensing facility for information on how to reinstate an Illinois driver’s license that has been revoked or suspended.
- Contact the local driver’s license facility for information on how to reinstate an Illinois driver’s license after it has been suspended or revoked.
In order to receive a disability placard or plate, you must do the following:
- Individuals with disabilities must fill out and sign a paper titled “Persons with Disabilities Certification for Parking Placard/License Plates.” Assign the Medical Eligibility Standards section of the certification to a licensed physician, advanced practice nurse, optometrist, or physician’s assistant. Include a $29 processing charge. Original application should be mailed to the address shown on the form.
Learn More About Illinois Driving Rules for Seniors
Driving information is available on the Secretary of State’s website for Illinois drivers. The Senior Citizens page, which offers links to necessary forms and publications pertaining to driving and parking, is particularly noteworthy for senior citizens.
Where to Find a Lawyer for Help
Use Nolo’s Lawyer Directory to discover a local attorney that specializes in defending elderly clients who have been involved in vehicle accidents or received traffic citations in the state of Illinois.